reviews for: listing #84914 - Key West, Florida Condo rental

Key West's Truman Annex Poolside & Ocean Peek with 2 Bikes
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Truman Annex
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,300 - $2,700 /wk
    $4,400 - $6,600 /mth

sort by:

Almost Heaven!

Review submitted: June 22, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

I'm originally from West Virginia and this was almost heaven, too! What a great place to stay. Close to everything!
The bikes were perfect, as we either walked or rode the bikes all over the island! I would come back in a heartbeat! Thank you for your hospitality!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

25th Anniversary Trip

Review submitted: June 14, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

This was our first trip to Key West, and this condo was great for our 25th Anniversary trip. The location is great. You are walking distance to most things, and the bikes were great for anything that wasn't within walking distance. We couldn't have found a better place. The books and puzzels were great for the one rainy afternoon that we had. Thank you Susan for a great stay.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Such a perfect vacation

Review submitted: April 28, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

We stayed for just a week but it was perfect. Everything you need is in the condo. Everything else is within walking or biking distance. Fun fun fun. Key west is just a perfect mix of relaxation and exploration of this wonderful island. Loved this condo!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Love the Keys

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

Excellent for 2 people. Very comfortable. We are older and it took a while to get up the nerve to use the bicycles. After we re-learned how to ride a bike it was a great way to get around. The owner is one of the nicest people you'd ever want to meet. She was waiting on us when we arrived (late due to traffic). Just a very nice time, great views on the deck and a very nice and secure facility.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Book It! Perfect condo, location, owner...and bicycles

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

After a one week stay I was hooked on this place. Susan is so friendly, efficient and easy to work with. Her condo is just right --- 2nd floor with huge lanai/balcony end unit with lots of windows. It has easy access to the beach and just a few blocks to the main strip. the bicycles were so convenient for exploring the island, and especially for beach hopping. the complex is an interesting mix ranging from modern condos to historic homes and lofts. It's a nice quiet hideaway walking distance to the parties and noise of town. Thanks Susan!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

FABULOUS LOCATION, PRIVATE LARGE BALCONY OVERLOOKING LUSH LANDSCAPING, GREAT CONDO!!!

Review submitted: February 25, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

We have rented from Susan 5 times and every time is better than the last! Susan is a FANTASTIC person to rent from and goes out of her way to make sure that you have EVERYTHING that you need in order to enjoy your time in paradise :)

We just returned after spending a month in this condo. It is stocked with all of the things you need to just walk in and enjoy your stay in Key West. Lots of living space for two with nice size living room, bedroom with walk out to deck, all supplies you would need in the kitchen.

The deck is THE BEST! You can sip your coffee (or bloody mary's) in the morning, stretch out and enjoy a great book on the lounges in the afternoon, and watch the sunset in the evening sitting in very comfortable outdoor furniture on the spacious back deck.

My husband and I believe that this condo (and Shipyard) is in one of the best locations that you can find in Key West. It is a wonderfully quiet, serene area inside Shipyard but walk a few steps and you are in the midst of all of the excitement of Key West. Walk straight down Emma and you at Mallory Square and the far end of Duval. Walk out the door, grab the bikes and you are minutes from Fort Zach State Park and the ocean. You are a five minute walk from the Navy Pier which is an awesome place to sit on the benchs watching the cruise ships come in and out of port. The very best part is that you are just a few blocks off Duval and so close to all of the great bars, entertainment, restaurants, shopping. We never used our car while in Key West. You can walk to Faustos and get groceries and you can bike or walk (or rent scooters) and get to anything else that you want to do.

YOU CANNOT GO WRONG RENTING FROM SUSAN AND THIS IS ABSOLUTELY ONE OF THE NICEST 1-BEDROOM CONDOS YOU WILL FIND IN SHIPYARD CONDOS. (If you need 2-bedrooms, Susan's other 2 condos are also fantastic.)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Excellent Location

Review submitted: December 17, 2013   Date of arrival: December 7, 2013

Comfortable for two people - fabulous location. You can tailor this location to do what you like. Close enough to the beach (bikes included) and close enough to town (walking distance to everything) in a quiet secluded neighborhood. This was our third time we stayed here and it was a fun and relaxing vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: November 8, 2013   Date of arrival: November 2, 2013

My wife and I are finishing up a great week....the condo is in a super location - the Truman Annex is excellent. It is very near a public pool and the area is quiet and is just a short block from Fort Zachary State Park. The amenities are very nice with special kudos to a robust wifi connection and the nice bicycles that come with the unit. We also enjoyed the washer and dryer, and the ability to open the doors and windows to a nice breeze...we went days without the need for the air conditioner. All in all, we had a superb experience and we plan on returning.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely Stay

Review submitted: September 27, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

Location, location, location!!! Rode your bikes till my fanny was sore. Explored old and new towns. Walked to Zachary Taylor Park, Eco Center, Coast Guard Cutter Ingram and the pool was so handy and refreshing! Loved the gardens around the condo and the condo was very comfortable. We loved being able to walk to restaurants, Faustos Grocery Store, and to Mallory Square. Be sure to take small bills with you to Mallory Square at sunset to tip the street performers with. It may be their only salary. Thank you Susan and Brucie.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Anniversary!

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

Returning after 25 years, we saw Key West in a new light! The condo was cozy and perfect for our stay. The bicycles were awesome! We rode everywhere and loved being able to say "that's where we met!" and "that's where we got married!" Sunsets at Ft. Taylor were wonderful and we ventured to the top of La Concha for a breathtaking view. I read all the recommendations for restaurants and we always had a great meal. Sadly, Blue Heaven was closed for vacation (of all things!) but we'll get there next time. Everything we needed was in the condo or a bike ride away. Loved, loved, loved being able to return and we won't wait another 25 years!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely, peaceful, convenient

Review submitted: September 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

This has been a sweet, comfortable place to stay. Kitchen implements are very basic -- not suitable for guests or big meals -- but hey, that's not why we came! We had enough space to prepare simple dinners and loved some of the places we ate out. We really relaxed here -- long, slow mornings reading, enough floor room to do yoga and the bikes are great for scooting around. Our first night we heard great Latin music at the Green Parrot! We liked the proximity to Fausto's for supplies. The cleanliness and ease of the condo felt very good, with a few areas to hang out. We splashed around in the pool, biked to the beach and saw family in the evenings. Loved the Karma liquor and amenities cabinets. We'd definitely come back. Thanks for making it so homey and cozy.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Key West visit

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

The condo was conveniently located near downtown Key West and helped make for an enjoyable stay. The unit is close to the common pool which added to a great social atmosphere. The unit did offer two bikes that were nice for use around the island. After our stay, we discussed with the owner the inclusion of a few additional kitchen and guest service amenities to which she was very receptive.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We'll be Back!

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

To say that Brucie's Ocean Peek is amazing is an understatement. Brucie's Ocean Peek far exceeded our every expectation. From the moment my husband & I set foot inside the condo, we knew we were home. We couldn't wait to get upstairs to explore our new home away from home! Aside from being immediately taken by the views, the layout, the nice furniture, etc., the thing that immediately brought a smile to our faces was the large karma collection; other visitors left behind useful things such as sunscreen, tape, coffee, etc. for others' use. There is even a karma liquor cabinet! We did our part and left wine, beer, and nuts. :) While putting things away in the closet, I noticed something in the corner of the closet. Upon closer inspection, I realized it was a rolling shopping cart! We were *thrilled* to discover this, and in no time, we were off to Fausto's, where we stocked up on groceries for the week. Susan thought of everything - what a thoughtful thing to provide for her guests! Throughout the house, the furntiure is lovely, inviting, and comfy. Our favorite "room" in the condo, though, was the balcony. How delightful it was to enjoy our morning coffee & an after dinner glass of wine; the views were spectacular. Perhaps our next favorite "room" was the pool, which was so close it should be considered part of the condo! The pool is open from dawn to dusk; it was never crowded while we were there. One of our favorite things about going to the pool was the people we met. Many were guests, but some full-time residents were enjoying the pool, too. Everyone was very friendly & chatty, which made our time in Key West all the more enjoyable; everywhere we went, we felt so welcome! When you come to Brucie's Ocean Peek, I can't stress this enough: PACK LIGHT. The washer and dryer meant so much to us; another one of Susan's wonderful touches for her guests. The next time we visit (and I can promise you we'll be back!), I will barely pack anything. There is simply no need. Between the casual attitude of Key West, and Susan's washer & dryer, you're all set! Brucie's Ocean Peek is just a short walk to everything, but feels so far away; it is very peaceful and quiet (except for the occasional rooster!). We came to Brucie's & Key West to celebrate my 50th birthday. I expect we'll be back to celebrate again and again. Thank you for an unforgettable week, Susan; your condo was such an important, vital part of our stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful place.

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2013

Brucies Ocean Peek is a fabulous condo in the quiet heart of Truman Annex, yet so close to downtown Key West, with Duval only two blocks away, and Fort Zachary Taylor State Park even closer. The property, just a stones throw away from the lovely communal pool, was clean and well-maintained, with a comfortable double bed, well-equipped kitchen, comfortable, spacious lounge, TVs in lounge & bedroom and great decked area with sun loungers, table & chairs & BBQ. Susan was very helpful in the whole booking and information gathering process and even let us stay on a while longer on the day we left since our flight back to UK was not until the evening. Our week here was a welcome bit of relaxation after spending the previous two weeks touring and hiking round Nevada, Arizona & Utah.The two bikes included were very useful for getting around, although we were both a bit wobbly, having not ridden a cycle for over 40 years! So many bars & restaurants to choose from, but we tended to home in on Kellys for Happy Hour (huge margaritas and micro-brewed beer), The Green Parrot, Captain Tonys or Schooner Wharf for live entertainment and Agave 308 Tequila Bar for excellent cocktails. Also pushed the boat out and went to Latitudes over on Sunset Key one night for a fabulous all-round dining experience. Unfortunately, one week is nowhere near long enough to explore and enjoy Key West properly so next time we will come for longer, hopefully staying in Brucies Ocean Peek again!

Thanks again Susan.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect vacation!

Review submitted: May 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

This was our second visit to Key West and we will return! This little condo is perfectly located in the midst of Key West. A car is not needed, since bikes are included with the condo. You're just a short bike ride from a perfectly, beautiful and relaxing beach, with clear deep water to swim and snorkle in. The sunset is also beautiful from this location. This condo is clean, compfortable and tastefully decorated, surronded by lush tropical foliage......A perfect place to get away and decompress.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Loved this Place!

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

Susan, your condo is such a treasure! We just returned home from a week there to celebrate our anniversary. The location in the beautiful Truman annex could not be better. Such easy walking to everything, and the bicycles make it even more fun. We absolutely loved Fort Zachary Taylor for the beach, the stunning sunsets and even the delicious food selection at their snack bar and beach-front deck! And it is all just a 5 minute bike ride from the condo! It was our 35th anniversary, but we both felt like kids again!

To have breakfast on your deck surrounded by the tops of gorgeous palm trees was absolutely heavenly! We've never seen such amazing landscaping. When we first walked into the area from our car, we knew we were in paradise. The condo itself was extremely comfortable and has all the modern conveniences. I especially appreciated the excellent wireless connection. It was very helpful in making plans for all the activities we enjoyed. Susan, your recommendations were spot-on. Yay for Blue Heaven Restaurant! We also had wonderful times at Schooner Wharf Bar, two glorious cruises with Danger Charters and an incredible day in the water with dolphins at the Dolphin Research Center in Marathon!

Obviously I highly recommend Susan and her condo to all who read this. We've been vacationing for many years and this week was among the very best. Susan and Bruce obviously take great pride in their properties. They love Key West and do everything possible to ensure you have a fantastic experience from your initial contact to check-out. There are many places to stay in Key West, but I am certain we found a truly special one this time.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Just delightful!

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

My stay in this condo was just delightful. It's close to everything that you need to see or do in Key West...sight-seeing, dining, shopping, relaxing on the beach or by the pool. The unit itself is lovely and Susan provided all the necessary information to make things easy. Hope to be a repeat visitor!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Key West 2012

Review submitted: December 31, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

This was our second time renting with Susan and she did a wonderful job-again! We flew in from Ft. Lauderdale and drove to KW and Susan not only provided the pertinent condo rental info, she included a list of interesting places to stop on our drive down. We stopped for lunch on Marathon Key at one of her suggested places and that was a wonderful kickoff to a great week in KW.
Susan's rentals are consistently clean and as advertised. We had a wonderfully relaxing week. The condo is located in a very quiet community, just away from the hustle and bustle of KW, yet easily within walking distance.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Tropical Paradise

Review submitted: December 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

Nothing but great things to say about this condo. Everything is as advertised and you could not get nicer people to work with. If you get a chance to meet Brucie do it. We really enjoyed the bikes that came with the condo and rode them everywhere. The free wi-fi comes in handy also. As far as location it could not get any better,just steps from the heated pool. If you are looking for a great place to stay look no farther than this condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful Paradise

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

Our stay at Brucie's Ocean Peak was perfect. Even before we arrived Susan (the owner) made everything very simple and painless. The condo itself has a great location. It is within walking distance of so much. Only two blocks to Duval Street! Mallory Square is also within walking distance. The condo is as close to the best beach in Key West (Fort Zachary Taylor) as you can be. The bikes that were included with the condo came in very handy. We rode them almost everywhere. The condo itself had everything we could have needed. The pool was a mere 25 steps from the front porch. We cannot stop telling friends and family about this place and plan to come back soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best vacation HANDS DOWN

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Brucie's Ocean Peek was a great hide-away! Walking distance to everything...no car needed!!! The condo was very clean and tidy. The deck and pool provided hours of relaxation!! There were so many great restaurants that there is no way to mention them all. I must say, if you have a sweet tooth, make reservations at "Better Than Sex". It's a dessert restaurant that is very fun and romantic. How can one not fall in love with Key West with all it has to offer!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fell in love with everything.....

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

The condo was perfect and within walking distance to everything. The property was clean. Sue and her husband (cleaning staff), were very helpful. The pool is just steps away, although we didn't spend much time there. There are so many great restaurants that have great food that it's impossible to list them all. A MUST TRY is Better Than Sex, dessert restaurant. Also, go see Georgia at the bar at nine one five. There are so many things to experience in Key West, and the people are so wonderful. How can you not fall in love with it all. I will definitely be back.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxed in KWF

Review submitted: May 20, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

Brucie's Ocean Peek is a wonderful base from which to explore KW or just relax. The closeness to Fort Zachary Tyler Park offered easy bike access to the best beach we saw during our visit. The Coast Guard dock offered a great site for watching the beautiful sunset. The bikes made exploring KW easy and fun. The deck was a great place to get lost in a book or plan the next adventure. The dining suggestions provided by Susan were very helpful, as were the comments in the guest log. Aside from the recurring favorite sites of visitors (Ricky's Blue Heaven), a guest log comment led us to the Hog Fish Bar & Grill (Stock Island), a fun alternative site. And, we had the pleasure of meeting and visiting with Brucie during our stay. Truman Annex is a lovely place to relax. Our thanks to Susan for her friendly help in arranging our stay and to Brucie for the helpful suggestions and good conversations.

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Wonderful vaction, we will be back

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful week at Brucie's Ocean Peak in Key West. The condo was even better than described. We loved sitting on the porch having our breakfast and lunch. The condo was in a great complex, very quiet but only steps to Duval Street where we enjoyed supper each night and of course, the beautiful sunset at Mallory Square. There are 2 bikes included in the price, but I broke my foot a couple of days prior to arriving, therefore, we did not use the bikes this time. The condo is within walking or cycling distance to the beautiful beach of Fort Zarachery. We cannot wait to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Cozy, Clean, and Comfortable

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

We have been going to Key West for well over twenty years. This is one of the nicest places we have stayed. It is close to everything we love to do - eat, drink, walk, sunbathe, relax! The condo was extremely clean, well kept, and had everything we needed to make our trip pleasant. The VRBO description was accurate, and the owner was very helpful in responding to our inquiries promptly. We used the grill a few times for dinner and spent every afternoon out on the deck. We visited two of our very favorite restaurants - Cafe Sole and Blue Heaven - and tried some new ones, too. We liked Santiago's Bodega for tapas and discovered Kelly's Caribbean Bar and Grill late in our trip. We spent the last three nights there for happy hour. They have super margaritas for $3.50 and fabulous half price appetizers. Be sure to visit "The Mojito Man" in front of the Westin when you go down to Mallory Square for the sunset celebration. He has been there for as long as I can remember and makes great mojitos. It was a 15 minute walk from the condo to the beach at Fort Zachary Taylor State Park. We took the beach chairs, sunscreen, some water, and spent many relaxing hours enjoying the breeze and watching the boats. It was truly a very relaxing vacation for us and we will be renting this place again!.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for enjoying a truly wonderful vacation destination You found all the true treasures in Key West.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Key West Vacation

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

We had a wonderful time as usual. This was are second year here and a possible change in plans leaves it open for next year

Helpful votes: 1 / 5

 

Week in paradise

Review submitted: January 29, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

Had a wonderful time in KW. Could not have ordered better weather for our week. The condo was perfect for our stay. Had everything we needed. Really enjoyed the deck and the grill. Had morning coffee and evening "happy hours". Grilled some wonderful yellow snapper on the grill provided. Rode the bikes that are also included just about every day and once to Stock Island to the Hogfish Bar & Grill. Would definitely recommend this condo and the Truman Annex, as is within walking distance to everything. Hope to get back next year.

Owners response: Thank you for enjoying the bikes, grill and balcony in paradise! Will ride over to Hogfish Bar and Grill on our next trip. Thanks for the tip!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Relaxing week

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: November 26, 2011

Stayed at Susan's condo from 11/26 through 12/3/11. Truman Annex is a lovely complex, the condo was well kept and everything you needed was there including 2 bicycles which were perfect for exploring the island everyday. One bike had a flat tire but with one phone call to Susan, arrangements were made to have another bike delivered later that afternoon while the other one was being repaired. It was nice to come home in the late afternoon and jump in the pool (which was literally steps away) and relax. It was a wonderful week and would not hesitate to recommend this condo to family and friends. I look forward to getting back to KW soon and hopefully staying at one of Susan's condos. Cheers!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Exploring the island by bike is also my favorite activity and I have been doing so for the last 30 years. Looking forward to sharing paradise with you again someday!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Just wonderful

Review submitted: December 17, 2011   Date of arrival: November 17, 2011

This rental was had everything we needed for our week-long trip. We loved sitting out on the porch for morning coffee or late at night staring at the stars. The lounge chairs were super comfortable; we fell asleep in them a couple times! We used the bikes to go everywhere. The condo is a perfect location; a quick bike ride or walk to restaurants, sightseeing, and the beach or you can easily catch a bus or cab to other parts of the island.

The condo owner was absolutely lovely. The rental process went smoothly. I highly recommend Brucie's Ocean Peak to anyone looking for a great home-base during your time in KW.

Peace and Light!

Owners response: Peace and Light to you Leila. This condo is a magnet to wonderful guests like you who seem more like friends.

Helpful votes: 2 / 7

 

Lacks NOTHING

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 21, 2010

Convenient to everything on Key West Old Town. We walked everywhere or rode the 2 bicyles that came with the unit.
Well cared for and nicely equipped.
We hope to return to this unit in the next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for enjoying the Brucie's. You arrived as a guest and left as a friend!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

The Best of Everything

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

Great location, great amenities, great owner! Couldn't have asked for more in a condo location or amenities. We loved having the bikes and went all over the island. The condo deck was such a plus even though we had 10 plus inches of rain during 4 days of our visit. Rain didn't keep us from doing anything we wanted. Susan's tips and Brucies notebook were really helpful.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for coming down and enjoying Key West despite the intense rain. You were a joy to plan a trip with!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Relaxing and Hassle free vacation

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2011

We had a wonderful time at Brucie's condo. Susan has done a fantastic job making the whole process easy and hassle free. You can tell that she is a stickler for detail in making sure that all the guests have little to do in the tasks of staying in a private condo. the condo is very clean with all the basic necessities and even some little extras are provided that make your stay comfortable and free of stress. The bicycles available for guest use are terrific and everyone should take advantage of these, as you can really get everywhere you need to go on the island without the hassle of driving and parking, especially in the old town section. We will be longing to return as the cold days of winter approach.. Thank you Susan and Bruce for our wonderful time. You are the best!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Perfect location, perfect amenities

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Brucie's peek is perfect in every way. From Susan(home-owner) reassuring personality when booking the week to teh thorough details of the rental and inclusions. The condo has by far the best location in the entire shipyard complex. Rediculously close to the pool but not to close that you hear the people. Awesome deck where you can relax and shake off the morning hangover in a quiet tropic atmosphere. This was a perfect place for myself and fiancee to a spend a week in paradise.
Thank you Susan for everything, we absolutely look forward to staying at your condo next time we come down.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You were a joy to plan a vacation with Sean! Here for you when you and your fiancee are ready to HONEYMOON!

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Paradise in Key West

Review submitted: July 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Our stay at Brucie's Ocean Peek Condo was terrific. The accommodations were perfect. Having a washer and dryer readily available was a godsend. The condos location to Mallory Square, Fort Zachary Park , and Duval street couldn't have been better. Having the bikes available with the condo was a plus. Rode the bikes everyday and traveled every inch of the island. All communication with Susan was a pleasure being she is a very gracious host. Looking forward to visiting Key West next year and staying at Brucie's Ocean Peek Condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for being a top notch guest! As you know, you seem like more of a friend than a guest! Look forward to hosting you again next year!

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

AWESOME

Review submitted: June 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Susan & Brucie, we just got home from the most wonderful week. A week in PARADISE!! The condo was perfect in every way. The location to the nightlife, Ft. Zachery St Park [which was really nice] and all the attractions, you could not ask for better. Meeting both of you was a plus. Two very genuine people, who we hope to see again. We enjoyed the pool every day, the pass to the state park was great and the bikes were FUN. The washer and dryer were a very nice addition. The only thing that was missing was another week but we are going to get that next year! Thank you both for a wonderful condo in PARADISE!! It was our 26th Wedding Anniversary and there's no better place to enjoy it like a week in Key West!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 26 / 27

 

Excellent KW Condo in a Perfect Location

Review submitted: May 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

This condo is absolutely perfect. The location is very close to Mallory Square and Ft. Zachary. The grounds are maintained on a daily basis and the pool is located only a few steps from the front door. The area is quiet and allowed for peaceful naps during the day. The interior of the condo is laid out nicely and is perfect for two people. Also, it was nice to have the bicycles available and not have to worry about renting/returning.

Susan is a great owner and she made the rental process completely painless. I would highly recommend this condo to any couple seeking the perfect KW accomodation.

Thank you Susan for helping to make our first KW vacation perfect! It seems you have thought of everything to make your place homey and perfect.....loved the personalized conch shell. We hope to return in the near future. Thanks again for everything!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

A lovely relaxing week in Paradise

Review submitted: May 14, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

I had a fabulous weeks stay in Key West, I went on the Danger full day sailing, and had a sunset dinner cruise with Dream Chaser, both absolutely fab, and I would highly recommend. Also ate over on Sunset Key at Lattitudes, the best meal I had all week. The condo is very comfortable, and the bed is very nice, but I didn't like the plastic undersheet on the bed, made for very hot nights. Equipped to a high standard, other than no kettle for making my tea, which being English is fairly important, but no other complaints, it was lovely, the chairs on the deck are great, really comfortable. Everything is within walking distance, and its very quiet at night. Susan is the most attentive landlord I've come across. I would definately retiurn to this condo, when next visiting Key West. Thankyou Susan and Bruce, for a fab week.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: There will be a teapot and mattress pad that is more luxurious for your next visit. Thank you for the excellent suggestions and for coming all the way to Key West from England!

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Wonderful time

Review submitted: March 25, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

This is the perfect condo for your KW vacation--great location and very comfortable...Susan is very patient and responsive to questions or requests....we are planning to return next year!!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Great Location

Review submitted: January 29, 2011   Date of arrival: December 4, 2010

We stayed here in December. It was the coldest Key West had been in a decade, but still better than the Ohio temperatures we left behind. We had a great time, the condo is in a great location, easy walking distance the anything in town. The provided bikes are an extra plus, we rode through the park, out to Stock Island and all over town. We also found it really easy to catch the bus out to the airport the morning we left, instead of getting a cab.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So happy you loved the condo and bikes! Nothing better than riding around the 2 by 4 mile island after a piece of Key Lime Pie?!

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

The best place to stay in Key West!

Review submitted: October 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

The condo was perfect and the Shipyard complex is luscious with gorgeous landscapes. I felt like I was living in a huge, private garden! Susan's attention to detail made it one of the most enjoyable vacations I've ever had. She responded immediately to my inquiries both before and during my stay and took care of all my needs. The bed is extremely comforable, best sleep I've ever had on any vacation. I loved being able to wash my clothes (I won't be bringing so many clothes next time!) Rode the bike many hours each day. I did use my car when I went to the east part of the island and Stock Island. So many wonderful experiences.... meals on the huge porch off the living room (felt like I was in a tree house!); The free pass to Fort Zachary beach and picnic area was wonderful, gorgeous sunsets. (Hint: the right end of the beach is best for going in the water because no big pieces of coral). The Butterfly and Nature Conservatory is a must, take your camera to see colorful butterflies and small tropical birds. If you want to see shore birds & raptors up close, go to the Key West Wildlife Rescue Center across from the White Pier. Also many beautiful large tropical birds (macaws, etc.) at Nancy Forrester's Secret Garden. Besides the restaurants Susan recommends, I highly recommend a fantastic restaurant called "Salute on the Beach" (sister restaurant to Blue Heaven). It's right on Higg's beautiful white sand beach overlooking the Atlantic. Two of the best meals I've ever had. Their Yellowtail Snapper and seafood salad specials were exquisite. Stone Crabs just came into season and were fresh & delectable at Half Shell Raw Bar on the waterfront. Had Spiney Lobster benedict breakfast special at the one & only Blue Heaven. Next time I'm booking for 2 weeks instead of just one! I want more time to just "be" and chill on the beach, and there's so much more I want to do and see. Thank you Susan for offering such a wonderful condo in a great location and for all your tips of restaurants and places to see. Again, one of the best vacations I've ever had!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Felt like Home

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

The condo was simply fantastic! It was like walking into a home not a rental. The location was the best, walking distance to anything and everything. We are already talking about when we can go again! Thank you Susan for a fantastic getaway.....we will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Michele! Planning a vacation in Key West with you is a joy!

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Great Condo!

Review submitted: July 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

We've been coming to Key West for many, many years. This is by far the nicest place we have ever stayed in! Rode the bikes throughout the Annex and out to the Fort. Lunch at the new restaurant at Sunset Key. Ate at Caroline's. It was always a delight to return to this oasis. So peaceful and quiet. Thanks for sharing it with us. Bert & Dave

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Bert & Dave: Thank you for enjoying Brucie's Ocean Peek. We went to Sunset Key for lunch too and found it to be the lunch ever. Hope you tried the Grouper sandwich! Glad you enjoyed the peace and quiet!

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Great Getaway!

Review submitted: June 26, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

5/29/10
Susan - Thank you so much for letting us stay here! The place is perfect - close to the pool and all the excitement of Duval St.!!!!
Ft. Zachary beach was great - just wear shoes!!!
After our wonderful experience with dealing with Susan - we hope to come back soon and won’t stay anywhere else but here!!
Karen & Adam
Doylestown,PA
(Bucks County)
PS Mangia Mangia has great homemade pasta.
6/25/10 -P.S.S. We are already booked our flights to stay here again! Cant possibly say enough good things about dealing with Susan and staying at Brucies condo...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for being not only the very first to book Brucie's Ocean Peek but also the first to come back a second time! Grateful you found Brucie's Ocean Peak and I look forward to having you stay many more weeks in Key West!

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

GREAT Condo In GREAT Location!

Review submitted: May 31, 2010   Date of arrival: May 19, 2010

My husband, David, and I just got back from a wonderful week in Key West. We loved staying at Brucie's Ocean Peek condo and are so thankful we got the opportunity to do so. The condo is beautiful and just perfect for a couple. The condo is in the beautiful Truman Annex and is close to everything, but very quiet (a big win-win!!). Susan is wonderful and is always available for any questions or concerns that may arise. Susan even bought us a juicer and coffee maker for the condo so we'd have it to use during our stay - amazing!!! This experience far exceeded our expectations and seriously we don't have one negative thing to say. David and I loved the wonderful balcony this condo has, the bikes that are included with the rental, the free Ft. Zachery Taylor Park & Beach pass and the washer/dryer in the condo (very convenient!). We highly recommend this condo and wouldn't hesitate staying here our next trip to Key West! Thanks so much for a great experience Brucie & Susan! Sincerely,

David & Lori P.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you David and Lori for being such fun loving wonderful guests. Key West attracts the most WONDERFUL people like YOU!
Susan

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Great Location and Value

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 22, 2010

We had a great time in Key West at Brucie's Peek Condo. Susan does an amazing job of taking care of every detail and being responsive to your needs. Having a parking space is invaluable (although we figured out we didn't need a car!), having bikes and the free pass to Ft. Zachary Taylor Park were additional bonuses that we enjoyed. The beach and sunsets at the park are awesome. The condo being an end unit made it even more private and enjoyable, we had many dinners on the deck and felt right at home. The brand new bed (literally-it was deilvered the day we arrived) was incredibly comfortable. The location is close to everything, we enjoyed eating and drinking our way around Key West, and there are many more places to do that than we were able to get to in one short week. The property is very clean and well maintained, and any request or concern was addressed immediately. Once again, Susan made the whole stay enjoyable and easy. We would highly recommend this property, it is all it says and more! We will definitely tell our friends, and will stay there again on our next trip to Key West. Now go! Have fun!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Paul and Don: Thank you for being the very first guests at Brucie's Ocean Peek! Your review was so sweet. Thank you for choosing Key West over Paris! It was such a joy to plan a vacation for such nice guys coming all the way from Sacramento. I am sending you thoughts of excellent health, prosperity and joy.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review