reviews for: listing #84946 - Manhattan, New York Studio rental

Great Cntrl Locale Apt -No Stairs-Walk to T-Square & Subways
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Midtown
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $75 - $195 /nt
    $515 - $1,355 /wk

sort by:

Perfect Stay

Review submitted: October 12, 2009   Date of arrival: September 3, 2009

The apartment was perfect for our stay. It was very clean and comfortable. The location was the best. Short walking distance to Times Square, Broadway Shows, Central Park, major subways/transportation and many sights and attractions. The apt had everything we needed. The neighborhood was very safe filled with great shops and restaurants. Very close to grocery stores and laundromats. The host was very friendly, helpful and available and was waiting for us at the apt after our flight arrived late. The entire process was very easy and stress free. We definitely recommend to other travelers!!! Thanks again.
Mike & Alice, George & Karen-Chicago

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am very glad you enjoyed the apt. I always try my best to make it as good as possible. Please feel free to tell your friends and relatives about it. I get many repeat guests. Thanks for your business and your great comments and take care.

Helpful votes: 37 / 38

 

Great Stay in NYC!

Review submitted: April 1, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

Very nice little place in a top location. You have everything you need in the appartement and you can reach Times Square and lots of restaurants within a short walk. Thank you for having us. We were happy staying there.

Owners response: Thanks so much Sara for your great review. I'm so glad you loved the apt. I hope you can stay again. Take care.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Hospdaje del 11/3 al 21/3

Review submitted: March 22, 2014   Date of arrival: March 11, 2014

Sin palabras.Nos hospedamos 3 personas. Excelente departamento, con todos los servicios. Toallas y sabanas limpias en cantidad. Vajilla completa. Cerca de todo. El propietario siempre a disposicion, super amable. La verdad 100% recomendable. Cuando viaje de vuelta sin dudas tratare de hospedarme de vuelta aca. Gracias por todo Gary y un abrazo a Alan!!!
Facundo

Owners response: I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay Facundo and loved the apt. Hope you can stay again. Take care.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fantastic Apartment

Review submitted: March 9, 2014   Date of arrival: February 13, 2014

The apartment exceeded our expectations. Minutes from everything. Very safe and comfortable.
Highly recommended for travelers. The heating is a little noisy but nothing major.
Gary is the best host, very helpful. I traveled with a friend and Gary helped us whenever we need it.
I hope to return soon to this beautiful city and I would stay in that apartment.
Some friends are planning to go to NY and I recommended this apartment to them staying.

Thank you very much Gary!

Owners response: Guillermo, I'm so glad you loved the apartment and I was able to make it more enjoyable for you. I enjoyed meeting you and your friend and hope you will stay again. Thanks for staying, the great review and the recommendations to your friends.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great Apartment, Great Location

Review submitted: December 26, 2013   Date of arrival: December 11, 2013

My wife and I just got back from staying here. I would highly recommend this apartment to anyone who is looking to stay close to Times Square. Gary was amazing and very easy to work with. He met us at the apartment and went over everything with us as well as gave us some suggestions as to where to eat and shop. Like I said, the location is great. It's roughly a block and a half from the subway / Times Square. It was very easy to get anywhere we wanted by either walking or jumping on the close subway. The apartment itself is very cozy and clean. We actually found ourselves staying in one night and just watching TV and relaxing. All in all, this is a great apartment and I would recommend it to anyone due to its great location and how great and easy Gary is to work with.

Owners response: Thanks so much Matt and Jodi for the great review of my apt. It was a pleasure to have you stay there. I hope you can stay again. Take care.
All my best, gary

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Perfet Location and really nice apt.

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2013

I highly recommend this studio for travellers who visit NYC and wants to be in the center of it all.
The apartment was cozy and quiet, and exactly as it is shown on this site.
The owner is very friendly too.
You can rest and feel at home even after long days of walking and visiting the big apple, best deal.

Owners response: Thanks Marco for your great review. So glad you loved the apt and the location. I enjoyed meeting both of you. Hope you can stay again. Take care.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Best location ever!!

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 2, 2013

This is a really good and cheap possiblity to live like a real Now Yorker in the middle of manhattan. The appartement has a perfect location, only a few minutes to walk to times sqare, a few feets to port authority and subway and - very important- just around the corner of Rudys Bar :-)). My husband and me stayed one week with our son ( 21) there, and it was enough room fur us. The beds are comfortable, just the bath is a little bit old fashioned and the air condition a little bit noisy. But everything you need ist there, many towels, linens, the appartement ist clean and we felt secure all the time. Gary was really nice and a perfect host. We can highly recommand this flat if you need a real home in the city, that never sleeps!Thanks, Gary!

Owners response: Thanks so much Anne for your great review of the apt. I'm so glad you loved the apt and the location. I enjoyed meeting all of you and hope you will stay again.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fantastic Apartment on West 44th

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

This apartment was above and beyond our expectations. I have rented a few apartments in New York for holidays and this one was by far the best. It was extremely clean and well stocked. He really thought of everything you would need. Although I never met Gary in person I did talk to him and he was very helpful. His friend Bill met us at the apartment and he was very nice and helpful as well. The area is great and close to everything. I have and would recommend this apartment to anyone and plan on renting it again the next time I am in New York.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your great review Heather. I'm so glad you and your friends enjoyed the apt and it had everything you needed and was close to everything. I hope you can stay again. Take care.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place to stay!!!

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 13, 2012

My 20 year old daughter and I stayed here Dec 13-17 and just loved this little very clean & cozy apt.. It had everything you needed. We really liked having the coffee pot and everything we needed to make coffee too. Great location!!! Block & 1/2 from Time Square and tons of restaurants . We felt very safe walking around there day & night. Gary was a huge help telling us how to get there from JFK airport and spending time with us once we got there telling us how to get to different places. We walked to everything. We felt that was the best way to see everything. Once you know how the streets & ave run, then it's easy to find whatever you are looking for. The first couple of times we went somewhere I used the GPS on my phone and followed those directions. After that we didn't need to use it. This was our first time to NY and will be back and stay here again. Gary was great to communicate with from start to finish.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Place to stay!!!

Review submitted: December 20, 2012   Date of arrival: December 13, 2012

My 20 year old daughter and I stayed here Dec 13-17 and just loved this little very clean & cozy apt.. It had everything you needed. We really liked having the coffee pot and everything we needed to make coffee too. Great location!!! Block & 1/2 from Time Square and tons of resturants . We felt very safe walking around there day & night. Gary was a huge help telling us how to get there from JFK airport and spending time with us once we got there telling us how to get to different places. We walked to everything. We felt that was the best way to see everything. Once you know how the streets & ave run, then it's easy to find whatever you are looking for. The first couple of times we went somewhere I used the GPS on my phone and followed those directions. After that we didn't need to use it. This was our first time to NY and will be back and stay here again. Gary was great to communicate with from start to finish. I have never used VRBO before and wasn't sure what to expect. But I am really glad we did and will use it again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so glad you loved the apt, the location and it had everything you needed. Hope you can stay again. Enjoyed meeting both of you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location, perfect stay!

Review submitted: November 6, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2012

We couldn't have asked for more with this apartment! It was in such a great location - close to tourist attractions, close to a subway station and walking distance to most of the sites that we wanted to visit, including all of the broadway shows that we wanted to take in. The kitchen was ideal for those days that we wanted to dine in and step out later. We would definately come back here in a heartbeat :)

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for the great review and staying at the apt again.
I'm glad it worked out so well for you.
I hope you can stay again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

MUY BUENO

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 16, 2012

Hola a todos!! acabamos de llegar de nuestro viaje a EEUU, nos alojamos en el apartamento de Gary durante unos dias y fué genial. En cuanto al apartamento ,repito lo dicho en los comentarios anteriores, la localización es inmejorable, a 5 minutos de la mayoria de los musicales y a 10 minutos andando de Times square. la zona es muy segura con muchos restaurantes y locales al rededor, pero justo la calle en la que se ubica el apartamento es mas tranquilita, nosotras nos movimos andando a casi todos los sitios, sólo cogimos el metro un par de veces.

Muy recomendable , el único defecto, por poner algo es que el apartamento es antiguo y se escucha ruido de la calle, pero para el tiempo que se pasa en el apartamento no es ningún problema.

Gary muy amable, siempre dispuesto a ayudar con cualquier cosa y muy accesible. es un chico muy majo.

eso es todo, espero que esto os sirva de ayuda a la hora de decidiros por el apartamento.

yo personalmente lo recomiendo.


Un saludo,

Sara Y Virginia.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Brigitte

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: August 14, 2012

nous sommes restés 10 jours a new york. L'appartement est idéalement situé car il est tout prés de Time square et des principales stations de métro et bus.Gary est très gentil et trés serviable,aussi je vous recommande cette adresse pour vos prochaines vacances!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much Brigitte for your great review and I'm so glad you enjoyed the apt stay.
I enjoyed meeting all of you and I hope you can stay in the apt again.
Take care.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

GRADUATION TRIP

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

This aprt. was perfect for our trip. The location is very safe and is so close to everything. We walked everywhere and never took the subway or taxi. We will be back and will certainly rent from Gary again. He was so helpful and made us feel like his apartment was ours. We felt like locals. This is the only way to get the real fel on NYC. Thanks, Gary!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much Karen for your great review and I'm so glad you enjoyed the apt stay.
I enjoyed meeting all of you and I hope you can stay in the apt again.
Take care.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location.

Review submitted: February 26, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

My family and I stay to Gary apartment one week. It is in a wonderful position, 5 minutes walk from Times Square and from the main subway lines, served by many restaurants, take away and supermarkets.
Gary is very friendly and helpful. I raccomand this property!
We'll hope to be back in new York next year, in Gary's apt, obviously!!!!

Owners response: Thanks Elena so much for the great review.
I'm so glad you loved the apt.
I enjoyed meeting you and your family very much.
I look forward to seeing you again when you come back in July.
Until then, take care. Gary

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Location! Location! Location!

Review submitted: February 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 18, 2012

This apartment provided me with one of my best visits to New York ever. It was amazing to be so close to Times Square and all the Broadway theatres and yet be on such a charming, peaceful block. Fantastic restaurants, bars, and markets all around. Not to mention being just one block away from the subway and two blocks from Port Authority, which made for easy and affordable airport transportation.

The apartment is clean, secure, very comfortable, and fully equipped. I especially appreciated having a computer with internet access so I could leave my laptop home on this trip. As other reviewers have already stated, Gary made the booking process very easy and was also extremely helpful about recommending laundries, transportation, etc. Highly recommended!

Just beware that the Shubert Alley branch of Junior's, with their legendary cheesecake, is only two blocks away and has takeout available until midnight!

Blair, San Francisco CA

Owners response: Thanks Blair for the great review. I'm so glad the apt was perfectly
what you needed to help make such a great vacation.
I hope you can stay at my apt again. Take care.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

A Great Place to Stay!

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

It is a perfect place to stay and enjoy New York. All public transports are easily accessible (subways, busses, taxis, etc.) as well as theaters, restaurants, coffee shops, shoppig establishments, Times Square and Central Park. The apartment itself is spacious, neat and clean and completely equipped with all amenities. But most important of all, Gary is awesome! He is the most helpful person I have ever meet! thanks very much for everything, Gary. I immensely enjoyed my stay in your apartment.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much Ernie for your great review. I'm glad the apt worked great for you. I enjoyed meeting you and hope you can stay again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Esther (Spain)

Review submitted: October 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 3, 2011

We stayed 11 nights in NYC, and the holidays were fantastic. The apartment is perfectly located (close to Times Square), and it is full-furnished. If you want a cheap apartment next to the City´s center, this is the place. Thank you Gary (the owner) for all.

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Esther for the great review.
I enjoyed meeting you and your party.
I'm glad the apt was exactly what you needed to have a fantastic vacation.
I hope you can stay at the apt again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A perfect place to stay.

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

My family and I stood in Gary’s apt for a week last April and no doubt it was a great choice. Everything was perfect for us, because we had everything we needed just a short walk distance from there.The owner is really friendly and trustable. It was great to do business with him. I really recommend!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for the wonderful review Shirlei.
I enjoyed meeting you and your family. I'm so glad the apt was perfect for you.
I hope you can come again.

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

The Perfect Place To Stay!

Review submitted: May 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

This apartment is the perfect place to stay if you're looking for somewhere convenient in the city!
You can't beat the location! It is very close to subways, theaters, shopping, and many, many wonderful places to eat!
The apartment itself is spacious and very well kept with all the amenities you could possibly want and Gary is so helpful and friendly and will go out of his way to make sure that your stay is nice.
I could not ask for a better experience or recommend this place highly enough.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review Sheri.
It was so nice to have you stay at my apt again.
I'm glad it worked so well for you.
I enjoyed seeing you again.
I look forward to having you at the apt again.
Take care, gary

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Place To Stay!

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

This apartment is the perfect place to stay if you're looking for somewhere convenient in the city! You can't beat the location! It is very close to subways, theaters, shopping, and many, many wonderful places to eat! The apartment itself is spacious and very well kept with all the amenities you could possibly want and Gary is so helpful and friendly and will go out of his way to make sure that your stay is nice. I could not ask for a better experience or recommend this place highly enough.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review Sheri.
It was so nice to have you stay at my apt again.
I'm glad it worked so well for you.
I enjoyed seeing you again.
I look forward to having you at the apt again.
Take care, gary

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: January 7, 2011

In addition to agreeing with other reviewers' comments, I found the apartment to be accessible, safe, and have an owner who is great to do business with.

I found the apartment to be perfect in accommodating my moderate mobility limitations. There are only 3 steps to get past the foyer and none to get into the apartment. The bathtub also has a low profile so is not difficult to
step into. The nearby subway station is accessible (no stairs required) so is also convenient for easily maneuvering luggage.

I also felt safe at all times in the neighborhood, with people around at all hours. I felt safe in the apartment building as well, as it is well-lit and has a keyed foyer entrance. The apartment door also has two locks.

Additionally, Gary, the owner, is very nice. He promptly and courteously addresses inquiries, is very patient, and keeps the availability calendar updated. His friendliness and helpfulness make the vacation stay even better.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much Judy for your great review and I'm so glad you enjoyed the apt stay.
I enjoyed meeting all of you and I hope you can stay in the apt again.
Take care.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: January 7, 2011

In addition to agreeing with other reviewers' comments, I found the apartment to be accessible, safe, and have an owner who is great to do business with.

I found the apartment to be perfect in accommodating my moderate mobility limitations. There are only 3 steps to get past the foyer and none to get into the apartment. The bathtub also has a low profile so is not difficult to
step into. The nearby subway station is accessible (no stairs required) so is also convenient for easily maneuvering luggage.

I also felt safe at all times in the neighborhood, with people around at all hours. I felt safe in the apartment building as well, as it is well-lit and has a keyed foyer entrance. The apartment door also has two locks.

Additionally, Gary, the owner, is very nice. He promptly and courteously addresses inquiries, is very patient, and keeps the availability calendar updated. His friendliness and helpfulness make the vacation stay even better.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Hi Judy,

I am really happy that the apt was so good for you. Since you visit Manhattan often and have stayed in many places here, I'm glad that my apt favored well from you.

I enjoyed meeting you and look forward to having you stay in the apt again.

Take care, gary

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Loved the Apt!!!

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 29, 2010

We thoroughly loved the apt. My three girl friends and I stayed here and had a great stay.

It was really close to the major subways and buses which was really important to us.

The area was super safe to walk around at night and had great food places, grocery stores and bars close by.

We could walk to many attractions including Times Square, shopping and museums.

It was super close to Broadway shows so we easily walked to and home from them which was important because there are few cabs after the shows.

The apt was very clean, roomy and had everything we needed including a computer with internet, cable tv, kitchen utensils and a coffee maker.

There were plenty of towels and linens and the apt even had a hair dryer.

Gary, the host was super friendly and met us upon our arrival and gave us great information about the area.

I can totally recommend this apt and would not hesitate to stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Debbie,

I'm so glad your group enjoyed the apt and your stay. I enjoyed meeting you and look forward to having you back at the apt soon.

Take care.

Best regards, gary

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great New York Experience

Review submitted: October 23, 2010   Date of arrival: September 28, 2010

My sister and I booked this apartment for our first trip to New York. It was in a great location, a 5 minute walk from times square, shows, shopping, food and very easy to grab transportation to anywhere else in city. Apartment was well taken care off and had everything we needed! Would definately book again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much for your great review. I am so glad you enjoyed the apt. I hope you can stay again. Take care.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great Apt and Location

Review submitted: February 25, 2010   Date of arrival: January 10, 2010

Great apt and location. Clean and comfortable. Very close to subways, Times Square, Broadway shows, museums, shopping, etc.... Apt has everything needed including towels, linens, hair dryer, cooking stuff, wi-fi, cable tv, phone. Very safe neighborhood full of great restaurants, bars and shops. Very friendly owner met us at apt to give us keys and answer questions. Recommend highly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Colleen for your great review. So glad you loved the apt. Hope you can stay again. Take care.

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Cozy and Warm

Review submitted: January 26, 2010   Date of arrival: January 12, 2010

This apartment, being a small studio, was actually quite roomy. 4 of us stayed here while in NYC and it was perfect for us. If those beds were queen size, they are a small queen. I would say there are 2 full size beds. But we were fine with it as we are all close friends. The heater worked GREAT and that was oh so important as it was about 25 degrees outside, the shower was hot even for all 4 of us back to back taking showers. The apt was very close to all the action in NYC, perfect for people that want to walk the city. The only negative thing I could note would be that there was a mysterious leak in the kitchenette where there was a puddle of water that got the kitchen floor mat all wet, we dont know where it came from, but by the morning it was pretty much dried up, so that was a little odd, but not major. The owner was very friendly and waited for us when our flight landed, he was open to give us advise for places to eat and visit, etc. The building was super quiet though you do hear the street noise on occasion.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: I'm so glad you liked the apt and thank you for your great comments. It is roomy apt and the beds are full-size (double) as stated in the website. Also, I fixed a small leak under the sink right after your stay. I hope you stay at the apt again. Take care.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review