reviews for: listing #8495 - Dana Point, California Condo rental

Walk to Monarch Beach Condo, Dana Point Laguna Beach Area
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Monarch Beach
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $142 - $250 /nt
    $990 - $1,790 /wk
    $2,900 - $6,600 /mth

sort by:

Comfortable, pleasant, quiet

Review submitted: July 29, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

Our family of six adults stayed comfortably here. Pleasant setting in a gated community. Quiet nights afforded plenty of sleep for fun-filled days at nearby beaches. We did have one middle-of-the-night disturbance when the carbon monoxide detector went off (it was faulty), but those kinds of things happen (but for some reason, only in the middle of the night!). Plenty of hot water for showers. AC for when it gets too toasty. Never heard a peep from any neighbors. Handy washer and dryer. All in all, a great headquarters for our family vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

5 Star Location

Review submitted: June 23, 2014   Date of arrival: June 15, 2014

Our family was so happy when we alked into this lovely condo. After a long flight to California, it accomodated us in every way. It had enough bedding for a family of 6 and had all of the amenities tht you would want in a vacation home.

The full kitchen had enough supplies for all of us. The grill on the balcony worked great.

This location in Dana Point is adjacent to one 5 star resort, and walking distance to another one. So the area is really well maintained and has a resort feel.

We walked to the beach a couple times at sunset. But when we mostly drove their since we had beach chairs and other things to carry. Parking at Salt Creek Beach is very easy, and there are other easy access beaches too.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for our family of 6

Review submitted: June 19, 2014   Date of arrival: June 1, 2014

We are a family of 6 that traveled from Arizona to escape the heat. We were very happy with the accommodations. The property has all the necessities for a family of 6 to enjoy a week or 2 at the beach. It is a large condo with 2 bedrooms, 2 full baths, separate living and dining areas, and a large kitchen. There is also a large balcony with a BBQ grill and seating area. The washer and dryer in the condo was also a great feature. The owner, Jason, was very helpful and quickly answered any questions we had.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Inside is Better Than the Outside

Review submitted: May 25, 2014   Date of arrival: May 21, 2014

We've spent time up and down the California coast and wanted to try something different. So, this review is of the location and the property.

First, the property:
- It's well-appointed and very comfortable inside. It's newly painted and all the furniture is well-chosen.
- The internet worked well.
- It says it sleeps six but there were no sheets for the pull-out bed and there were only 4 beach towels.
- None of the remotes worked properly even after changing out the batteries.
- There are just enough dishes and silverware if you wash constantly, but the dishwasher doesn't wash very well so make sure you are prepared to use the sponge.
- The AC is set for 85, so make sure you're prepared to stand guard by the thermostat and keep setting it for 70 or so or you will be too warm in the spring and summer.
- The bath controls were very difficult for even teenagers to figure out.
- They have a 4 o'clock check in and a 10 o'clock check out, and according to the owner, these times are strict. This seems unreasonable. I realize the owner has to work with the cleaning crew, but these times really cut into ones time in the condo.
- The pool is great. It's pretty basic and rectangular, but most days we were the only people there. Maybe that's why one of the residents stopped by to inform us there was "NO HORSEPLAY" in the pool. Okay, we'll stop making splashes.

Second, the area:
- Like I said, we've stayed in multiple places in SoCal. Dana Point was very clean, very planned, and very boring. Everything is gated and private. We rented a nice late-model SUV but it felt like if we were driving something older we might be escorted to the city limits.
- Don't expect Huntington, Newport, or Laguna. Everything here is planned to look like everything else.
- The restaurants are mostly in strip malls, which was very strange.
- However, the beach that you can walk to is one of the best in CA, period. It's secluded, clean, and the sand is super soft. There are surfers everywhere.

Owners response: Brian,
Thank you for your review.
-I am sorry you did not find the extra bedding for the sofa bed in the hall cabinet. Had you called me about this, I could have directed you to the bedding and even given you the code to access the owner's closet where there is additional bedding and supplies.
-I personally test all the remotes and light bulbs after each guest departs. When you departed today, they all were working properly. In addition to the remote instructions in the information folder, I could have helped you had you called me about the remotes.
-There are 7 large plates, 6 bowls, 12 forks and 10 spoons. However, I have doubled the dishes thanks to your feedback. Again, if you would have called, I would have provided you the code to the owner's closet for additional supplies.
-I am sorry you didn't see the instructions in the informational folder regarding how to place the AC on "hold" so that you don't have to keep adjusting it. Just open the panel door on the thermostat and press "hold." Had you called me, I could have explained this to you.
-Since you agree to the arrival and departure times when you booked the reservation, I feel it unfair that you complain to what we agreed to. Since it takes 4 hours to clean, there is only 6 hours in between renters, which gives us the opportunity to make sure everything is in order.
Thanks again for all of your review. Your feedback will help me improve the experience of future guests. I also encourage you to call and address these items during your stay so that your stay will meet your expectations.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beaches, Restaurants, Watersports, Golf, Spa!

Review submitted: December 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

We had such a great time in Dana Point. This was our last vacation as a family before my oldest son headed off to college. It could not have been better. From the moment we checked in, we knew we had selected the right place. The condo is beautiful and clean and had everything a family needs to vacation comfortably for a week. There was plenty of room for all of us. We walked to nearby restaurants, including the adjacent St. Regis resort and Ritz Carlton. Monarch Beach Golf Links is also adjacent to the property. The spa at St. Regis was wonderful. Laguna Beach is 10 minutes away. The Dana Point Harbor is 5 minutes away with kayak, boat, sea doo, and paddle board rentals. What a great vacation destination. Thank you for a wonderful time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a great vacation!

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

My family of 6 stayed here for a week in the fall and had the time of our lives. The condo had everything we needed and was very clean. The location was less than a mile from a great beach as well as many other beaches within minutes. Dana Point is truly a hidden gem on the Orange County Coast. Not crowded like other Southern California Beaches. We loved this condo and hope to return soon.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Location - Clean and Modern

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

Our family had the vacation of a lifetime at this condo near the beach. It was very clean and modern and in a gated community surrounded by beautiful homes and communities. We loved being next door to the St. Regis hotel where we could walk to and enjoy the spa and restaurants. We also played golf next door at Monarch Beach Golf Links which was a great course with stunning views of the ocean.

The location is also less than a mile from many restaurants and grocery stores. We even walked to Brio Tuscany Grille and Danakai Sushi one block away. Monarch Beach Market is also a block away with a great wine selection.

There was a beach closet in the condo with beach chairs, boogie boards, beach towels, and toys. The kitchen had all of the plates and utensils our family of 6 needed.

Before we left, we booked another week for next year and cant wait to return to this great property!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good stay

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

The condo worked fine for a family of 5 persons. One kid had to stay in the living room. We had a to run the dishwasher frequently as there were only plates for 6 persons. We had a fine stay in Dana Point, nice and quiet area. We payed 1790, which is a bit high compared to friends that stayed in th area.
Else, all worked fine and we had a great week.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Great apartment

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

We are a family of 4 from the UK and stayed at Jason’s apartment for a week in June 2012. It was very clean and well-appointed and ideal for our visit. It is extremely secure in a gated community and very quiet – ideal after the hustle and bustle of Hollywood, Disney parks and Universal Studios, all of which are within 1 hour’s drive. Highly recommended!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautifully decorated and clean

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

My family had a wonderful stay at this condo in Monarch Beach. It is decorated very nicely and was very clean. We loved the 20 minute stroll to the beach during sunset and early morning walks. Parking at nearby Salt Creek Beach and Aliso Creek Beach made beach days easy. There are dozens of restaurants and shops nearby, including grocery stores. Cooking dinner on the bbq grill and eating at the table on the large balcony was our favorite meals. We walked to the brand new movie theater Cinepolis less than a mile away and is the nicest theater I have ever been to. Can't wait to come back next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Ireland

Review submitted: June 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

This was a lovely start to a great holiday, fully equipped and well appointed the owner had supplied some additional equipment as requested. The apartment was in a quiet and well maintained area and the communal facilities such as the pool were excellent.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great condo!!

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 28, 2012

We stayed here for 13 nights. We're a family of 5 & there was plenty of room for everyone. Two very nice bedrooms with tv & dvd. There was a big closet & dressers in both bedrooms. We ate most meals in the condo as it has a nice big dining area seperate from the kitchen. The living room is large & comfortable with a big tv. We enjoyed our stay & would recommend staying here. We can't wait to come back! Disneyland is about 30 mins away. John Wayne airport was less than 30 mins away. We also went to SeaWorld & that took about 1 hour. This location was perfect for us. We walked to the beautiful beach from the condo a few times. We drove to several others in just a few mins. One of our kids slept on the sofa bed in livingroom. She was cold the first night, so I text the owner & he said if we bought a blanket he would reimburse us(& he even told me where Bed, Bath & Beyond was). Great customer service.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

An Unforgettable Vacation!!

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

This was our first time staying in a vacation rental for our annual visit to Orange County and I will definitely be doing it again. It was an incredible experience. The condo provided such a home away from home atmosphere that made it easy to relax and enjoy ourselves. The home was beautifully decorated and the surrounding communities were gorgeous. It was only a quick drive away to several beaches and shopping. I am anxiously awaiting our next visit and I definitely recommend this particular condo for anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Dana Point

Review submitted: February 26, 2011   Date of arrival: January 17, 2011

The condo is beautifully decorated and immaculate. The immediate area had a nice selection of inexpensive family restaurants plus high end. The convenience of the supermarket and other stores made it really easy to set up housekeeping. There were so many beautiful beaches. We loved walking around the harbor.

We stayed in January 2011 and were delighted to escape the cold, snowy New England weather.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Condo worked out beautifully

Review submitted: November 29, 2010   Date of arrival: November 15, 2010

We were in Dana Point for our daughter's wedding. Your condo worked out great--it was only minutes away from our daughter who was staying over at the St. Regis Hotel. It had everything we needed to enjoy our stay in California. We would definitely stay here again if we are out this way. Thanks

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect, felt like home the moment we walked in

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

The best vacation I have had for a long time. The area is superb with beautiful landscaping and excellent neighborhood. The owner was very responsive to our needs and had everything in the condo that a family of 4 would need on vacation. We stayed there for 30 days and it was heart breaking leaving the place.

During our stay we did not have one single complaint about anything that was provided by the owner.


We will rent this place again for sure.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great location, Very clean and nicely decorated.

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2009

I have had the pleasure of renting this property two years in a row. This is the definition of “Turn-Key.” The location is close to everything with easy freeway access. The beach is minutes away, along with shopping and dining along the beautiful coast line Dana Point has to offer. The residence is well maintained and the complex is manicured. The interior welcoming and gives you the at home feeling. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful vacation!!

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 21, 2010

I visited the condo with my 2 children and my friend and her 2 children. The condo is super clean and had everything we needed for our stay.
It was comfortable and was close driving distance to Fashion Island, Crystal Cove Beach and downtown Laguna. I will definitely rent again when we need a "break". The owner was super quick in our communication via email and answered all my questions before we booked. I really appreciated the wireless internet. I would recommend this condo to anybody!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 25, 2009

Had a great time at this condo. Spent two weeks here and had a blast. It is situated within a short walk of the beach and the St. Regis Resort. Did a lot of cycling and running on the coast. The weather was great and the condo was very clean and well equipped. The owners are very nice people and accommodating. I can't wait to return!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

April stay

Review submitted: May 29, 2010   Date of arrival: April 7, 2010

Rented Condo to come out for son's wedding. Gtreat location, close to beach. We visted the beach, Disneyland, Legoland, Universal and Seaworld. Area around condo was also great and easy to navigate. Very close to shopping and movies. Would love to go back sometime.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review