reviews for: listing #84952 - Turtle Bay, Hawaii Condo rental

Number Nineteen. Kuilima Estates East
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  estates@turtle bay
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,600 - $3,300 /mth

sort by:

2 Weeks and Wanting more!

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 13, 2013

First off I want to Thank Mike for letting us stay at your home, It was immaculate and exactly as described.You made it very simple to gain access with your instuctions.The kithchen had 1 or 2 of everything needed to cook full meals and we did. The screened in lanai was perfect for coffee time. My 11 yr old son stayed on the futon and said he loved it. We used the pool and Bbq several times and really enjoyed them.We have stayed at a couple other condos in the west estates and by far prefer Mikes.I will most definitely book here again.We spent most of our time outside or in the water surfing- V-land 3min drive from condo, Sunset-5min Waimea-10min etc. made for multi sessions everyday.In between surf sessions we would take a short walk to Turtle bay and go snorkeling and lay out and recharge.If you are up for a little hike head west towards the horse stables and keep going to the old bunker and then continue to Kawela Bay for a semi private beach(lots of Hanu).Another great snokeling place is Hanauma Bay and if going early I would take the eastside there (very beutiful) favorite drive to town and no HNL traffic.As far as restraunts, when we go out we go to LeiLei's. It's a nice short walk from the unit and when you have a Maitai (DA Best eva)or two you will be glad you walked. Ahi ,fish of the day and prime rib always cooked to perfection. For lunch I must say you are correct about Poke @ the Kahuka superette straight Broke da Mout! Went so much she knew what we wanted! Also cackle fresh eggs in Laie is the spot to go for a flat at great price. After 12 days of surfing, snorkeling, hiking etc. my Wife and I went to North Shore Therapeutic Massage in Haleiwa and got a well deserved massage.It was very peacful and they are very skilled at what they do. If in Haleiwa on Sat.and Sun. must get Rays chicken in the Malama Parking lot(ono Grindz).This condo gives you easy access to all on the island and if you are like us it made for the perfect North Shore Home Base. My only complaint is that I did not book it for a month! Anyhow my Wife,son and I really had the time of our lives staying at this property,and will be back year after year. Mahalo Mike letting us create life long memories in your paradise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! You certainly hit all my favorites, with exception of Maui Mikes in Wahiawa. But, then that's not really on the NS. Enjoy your Hawaiian memories, and we'll see you next year. Mahalo :-)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The perfect Get-Away :)

Review submitted: January 22, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

From the first step into the apartement we felt like being at home.

It has quite a lot of space and all the things you need. You could see that the owner treats the rental very well and everything is well organized.

Great kitchen with many equipment, two big sofas, a very comfortable bed and a nice bathroom.
We also enjoyed the terrace a lot, epecially when a golfing flight was performing right in front of you on the golf course. It is quite calm to sit there and you don't feel the strong North Shore wind so much.

It takes you about 3mins (by bike) to the hotel and the beautiful and noncrowded beaches. We also liked the pool (clean and easy to reach)
The rental itself but also the surounding is just a great place to spend a nice time at Turtle Bay Resort.

Also the personal contact with the owner was very easy and open.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: They certainly did enjoy their stay, just hanging out, relaxing and enjoying the quiet peaceful atmosphere of the North Shore.

Just so you know, I don't have a set of bikes at the condo, they brought their own :)

Aloha, Mike

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great local feel

Review submitted: December 24, 2012   Date of arrival: December 13, 2012

This rental was more than what we could have hoped for in our vacation to the north shore. We were so happy to have a home away from home. The rental comes with a parking spot (greatly needed for the rental car.) The condo is very clean and spacious with a washer and dryer that comes in handy for washing wet beach towels and clothes. The condo is within walking distance to Turtle Bay Resort. Mike, the owner, is very easy to get ahold of and is very reliable. He installed wifi in the condo so that was a huge plus. I would absolutely stay here again. Thanks, Mike!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

HIGHLY recommend and will book here again

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 5, 2012

This condo was a great choice for us. It was comfortable, clean and cozy. It was fully stocked with cookware, and even had laundry detergent, dishwasher soap, paper towels, etc. Not only did it have a pack-n-play for our baby, but he had a couple boogie boards there we could use.

We had a small issue with the keys to the lock on the house and the owner was incredibly quick to respond and very helpful!

I ran into a lady who was renting another condo in the same complex closer to the resort who had terrible things to say about the place they were staying in (that there were fleas, and it was dirty, and uncomfortable furniture, etc.) All I could think of was "I am so glad we rented from Mike!"

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha, We're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and look forward to your return.
Mike :)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

a pleasant surprise - not beachfront but great loc

Review submitted: February 9, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2012

The ground level condo itself is very nice - modern, spacious, private, with a full kitchen (and a BBQ by the gated pool), even a washer/dryer in unit. One parking spot right next to the condo was handy. For the price we were extremely please with the size, and it just felt comfortable and clean. The lanai facing the golf course/trees was nice. There are TVs but hopefully you wont be needing those except for maybe the weather forecast. We found the two foldout couch/futons to be quite comfortable.

I wasn't exactly clear where the condo was located going into our trip - but it is on the Turtle Bay resort grounds, except not near the hotel, and thus not on the water. It is in a group of condos more near the entrance to the resort, by the golf course. We found it more comfortable to drive to the Turtle Bay beach from the condo rather than make the 10 minute walk, as it was not an easy walk with a cooler, towels, chairs, etc. But in all honesty we preferred to drive to other beaches nearby on the north shore (pipeline, waiamea, sunset, etc) so that was just fine. If you do decide to drive into the resort beach/hotel area, the parking is easy and free.

For the money this was a great place for a quiet, relaxing getaway. No nightlife here of course. There is no ocean view from the condo but you get what you pay for - I am pretty sure the actual resort hotel rooms are 4 or 5 times as expensive. Working with Mike was straightforward and pleasant. We would be happy to return one day!

P.S. we went at the end of January and the waves at pipeline were HUGE! It was amazing to watch surfers ride the 25-30 footers right offshore!

Thanks
-jeff

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

a pleasant surprise - not beachfront but great loc

Review submitted: February 9, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2012

The ground level condo itself is very nice - modern, spacious, private, with a full kitchen (and a BBQ by the gated pool), even a washer/dryer in unit. One parking spot right next to the condo was handy. For the price we were extremely please with the size, and it just felt comfortable and clean. The lanai facing the golf course/trees was nice. There are TVs but hopefully you wont be needing those except for maybe the weather forecast. We found the two foldout couch/futons to be quite comfortable.

I wasn't exactly clear where the condo was located going into our trip - but it is on the Turtle Bay resort grounds, except not near the hotel, and thus not on the water. It is in a group of condos more near the entrance to the resort, by the golf course. We found it more comfortable to drive to the Turtle Bay beach from the condo rather than make the 10 minute walk, as it was not an easy walk with a cooler, towels, chairs, etc. But in all honesty we preferred to drive to other beaches nearby on the north shore (pipeline, waiamea, sunset, etc) so that was just fine. If you do decide to drive into the resort beach/hotel area, the parking is easy and free.

For the money this was a great place for a quiet, relaxing getaway. No nightlife here of course. There is no ocean view from the condo but you get what you pay for - I am pretty sure the actual resort hotel rooms are 4 or 5 times as expensive. Working with Mike was straightforward and pleasant. We would be happy to return one day!

P.S. we went at the end of January and the waves at pipeline were HUGE! It was amazing to watch surfers ride the 25-30 footers right offshore!

Thanks
-jeff

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location - comfortable condo!

Review submitted: January 31, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

This condo is located within walking distance of the gorgeous Turtle Bay Resort. During our stay we enjoyed playing tennis and golf at the resort and the adventure center offers lots of other activities like moped, bike and kayak rentals. You can walk the Fazio course for $15 after 3:00 pm. We had dinner at Leonardo's (delicious food and lovely views of the bay) and drinks at the beach-side restaurant. It's hard to beat this location for access to all the north shore has to offer! (Surfing beaches, Polynesian Cultural Center, etc.)

This condo is a great choice if you enjoy having a kitchen, washer and dryer, trade winds for cross ventilation and lovely views of the golf course. The owner is easy to work with and communicates quickly and efficiently. The condo was clean and well-equipped. This is a lower unit so you do hear a little noise from the upstairs condo but this did not bother us. The futons in the living room would be great sleeping spaces for kids/teens.

This condo is affordable and in a great location. Mahalo for a wonderful vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo for you review, you are so welcome glad to have you, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. These are some of the many reasons we like it so much ourselves. Aloha, Mike :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great stay

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: January 3, 2012

Thank you for the excellent place to stay. Communication with owner was great, place as described, beach is close and very nice. The pool in the community is amazing. Overall experience is more than positive and I would definitely stay at the same place if I go again on Oahu. Initially I was considering Waikiki, but rented this property and do not regret at all. We drove through Waikiki and couldn't even find a place to park. The beaches were thousand of people next to each other, nothing like the great Turtle bay resort beach - nice palms, quite and warm water, protected by riffs, save for the kids to play for hours on the sand and in the water.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: You're so welcome, we certainly enjoy it as much as you do. I look forward to your return, please book early. We hope you new year is off to a great start!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Kuilima Estate East

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

We had a very good stay at this place. The property is clean and well thought for people who are away from home. We will come back to stay in the future if we go to Hawaii again.
Ann

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Christmas in Hawaii!
There's nothing else quite like it. Thank you for your nice comments, we'll be looking forward to your next visit. :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing Home Away from Home

Review submitted: June 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

Ten days on the North Shore of Oahu were made all the more wonderful by the comforts of this excellent Kuilima Estates condo adjacent to the Turtle Bay resort. Tile floors, granite countertops, well-equipped kitchen, a screened lanai, comfortable furniture, and ground-level accommodations were tastefully decorated and in excellent condition. In the evenings we opened up the screened front door and the back patio doors allowing the heavenly ocean breeze to gently wash across us as we enjoyed the relaxing view of the nearby beautifully landscaped golf course. We've stayed at other Kuilima Estate locations, and this one is the best. In fact we are already planning a month-long stay in this same great condo.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Bob,
I'm glad you enjoyed your visit, and I know your next extended stay will be even more relaxing.
Aloha,
Mike

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review