reviews for: listing #84966 - Big Bear Lake, California House rental

Fun at Forest
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  11
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $450 /nt
    $800 - $1,400 /wk
    $1,800 - $3,200 /mth

sort by:

Everything you need

Review submitted: December 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 6, 2013

This place is very big and affordable. It was Able to accommodate the four couples during our stay. The hot tub and game room were a plus. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars was because the game room was super cold because the heater is broken and the master bedroom tv didn't work. Also the living room tv kept jumping. Therefore we weren't able to enjoy television unless we went to the game room which was very cold even while using the fireplace. Also upon arrival the code that was given to unlock the door didn't work so we sat in the car awaiting a call back from the owner. However, we had a great time and I've already recommended this property to friends. Please treat this place like your home as I will probably be renting it again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay! Had so much fun there!

Review submitted: January 24, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

This place is AWESOME. The cabin is a lot bigger than what we expected. It was clean and with enough space for everyone. The location is very convenient too, close to snow summit and everything we needed. Pros: convenient location, clean, large space, game room n jacuzzi, great service. Cons: only 2 bathrooms with shower, and would run out of hot water after 2 girls taking shower. Only portable heater available for the rooms on 2nd floor which wasn't enough for night time. It was freezing. TV size is ok but not very big. What I love the most is that the owner stayed in touch and each to reach. She was very nice on the phone also in the e-mail. Great attitude even if we asked so many questions. First night at the cabin, we wanted to replace the hot tub water but it required professional technical support. So the owner contacted with the technician and had them do it first thing in the morning which was very impressed. We had so much fun at the cabin. All of my friends asked me how I found this place and thank me for inviting them to this winter trip. They even asked me to send the website link of this cabin rental list to them. Plan to rent the cabin again next year and would definitely recommend it to other people. Thumbs up! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great stay! Had so much fun there!

Review submitted: January 24, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

This place is AWESOME.
The cabin is a lot bigger than what we expected.
It was clean and with enough space for everyone.
The location is very convenient too, close to snow summit and everything we needed.

Pros: convenient location, clean, large space, game room n jacuzzi, great service.
Cons: only 2 bathrooms with shower, and would run out of hot water after 2 girls taking shower. Only portable heater available for the rooms on 2nd floor which wasn't enough for night time. It was freezing. TV size is ok but not very big.

What I love the most is that the owner stayed in touch and each to reach.
She was very nice on the phone also in the e-mail.
Great attitude even if we asked so many questions.

First night at the cabin, we wanted to replace the hot tub water but it required professional technical support.
So the owner contacted with the technician and had them do it first thing in the morning which was very impressed.

We had so much fun at the cabin.
All of my friends asked me how I found this place and thank me for inviting them to this winter trip.
They even asked me to send the website link of this cabin rental list to them.
Plan to rent the cabin again next year and would definitely recommend it to other people.
Thumbs up! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

We had a great time here. Everything was very clean and cozy and worked well. The cabin was close to the ski resorts, shopping, the lake and had some good areas to go sledding nearby. The game room and jacuzzi were just what we needed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT FAMILY VACATION

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2012

We had a great time on this long awaited family reunion! The cabin was spacious with more than enough room for everyone. My 19 year old slept in he downstairs (separate) game room bedroom and enjoyed having his privacy down there. Everyone enjoyed playing pool and foosball and building fires in the various fireplaces. It was very close to skiing, village shops and grocery store. The spa did not work when we got there but we were very pleased with the fact that the owners kept in touch until it was repaired. I would definitely recommend this cabin and hope to rent it again in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing trip

Review submitted: December 21, 2012   Date of arrival: December 16, 2012

I want to thank the owners once again for sharing their beautiful home with us. My group had a wonderful time despite the car problems we had getting there. We were a group of first timers going up to big bear and we all enjoyed our first experience in the snow. The seperate game room was just as described, having two beds and half a bathroom made it comfortable to stay there all night. The jacuzzi was big enough to accomodate multiple people at once. In the main house there was enough room for everyone to be spread around the house. The full bath room is next to the door to the outside so its accesiable to everyone in the living room. The master bedroom located on the first floor had its own bathroom and the washer machine/ dryer is located there too. Upstairs there are two bedrooms with a half a bathroom in the middle for people upstairs to use. A cozy home for a large family or even a group of college friends to spend a winter escape. Just be careful with spilling anything as there is carpet throughout the whole house. Bring your own firewood and enjoy watching a movie on their HDTV. If you have a laptop and an HDMI cable it makes it easy to watch netflicks since they have wi-fi. The house is located in a nice quiete neighborhood and a small liquor/convienient store located on big bear blvd. that sells water, bread, milk and almost anything you might need. The lake is not that far either so people can go for walks and play in the snow.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great experience!

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

What a great place to stay - perfect location (close to alpine slide for the kids, a nearby marina with all kinds of boat rentals, and just a few moments from both the Big Bear Lake Village with its fun shops and Boulder Bay for fishing). The game room is out the door and down the stairs from the main house, which is great if you want to send the kids away to play. There is ample room, and while nothing is fancy, it is clean and comfortable, and there is wi-fi for those who can't be without it.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lots of room House

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

House has plenty of space for everyone. bedroom on main floor was wonderful. bring dvd's to watch or rent there, Kari and Tim were wonderful on staying in touch for any questions that may have come up. My teen loved having his own space in the seprate room downstairs, the spa on the deck was a nice way to unwind after a day at the lake which is close by, we walked to the little market at the end of the street. ( which comes in handy) I sugest that you go up to Big Bear city to Thelmas and get an apple dumpling it was to die for, and their homemade chicken pot pie..yummmmm.. I would recommend to any one go and have a great time. Planning to rent again in Dec,and I will bring a table,my pizza pan, my electric grille and my big warm fuzzy blanket

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Holiday Weekend Retreat

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

This place was great! It is very spacious and has all of the essentials.The jacuzzi was an added bonus.The decor is not very modern, but it gave us the retro/cabin look that we were looking for. This place is in a great location, the owner was good about communicating with me quickly, and the place was clean when we got there. I would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

It wourths trying

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

The cabin is a nice old one. We enjoyed being there for 3 days. One of the bedrooms does not have heating system which caused a couple of us to get sick. I wish it was mentioned in your advertising so we could bring a heather with us. One of the bathroom has a leak from the tub and the carpet is wet. Looks like this problem existed for long time. There are a list of extra charges on the Refrigerator wich we did not know until we got in. We wish it was mentioned before. The owner seems to be nice and understanding person.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome house

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 19, 2011

This place is awesome. They give you the full privacy and the house is fully equipped with all your needs.. A++++++++

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cabin stay

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

LOVE the place. Peaceful yet provides allthenecessities for a fabulous weekend!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Awesome blossom Cabin

Review submitted: May 16, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

We stayed at this cabin for our winter getaway, one of our best vacation ever. The children learnt how to snowboard, made smores. A jacuzzi is really nice, almost everyone get to try it. All the cooking utensils made our food preps a breeze, very convenient. We brought WII and were able to dance, sing and exercise, it was amazing. The children loved the master bedroom so much, it's cozy and they stayed there had a ball. It's centrally located, made it easy for us to get around.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Value and lots of Space

Review submitted: May 15, 2011   Date of arrival: January 6, 2011

Wow, we were really happy with our stay. This is not a brand new home and the owner was very frank that it is dated but that made us feel even more comfortable. Everything was clean and neat and worked well, really had a great time and the price is hard to beat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review