reviews for: listing #85069 - Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri House rental

The Big Easy Lakefront Estate, Hot Tub, Specials!
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Hendrix Haven
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $625 - $625 /nt
    $3,750 - $3,750 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

From St Louis Bunko Group of 16 Gals

Review submitted: October 5, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

"We had an awesome time, Betsy. We spent the majority of the time out on the deck. The breeze felt so wonderful, I didn't want to leave! If you had had a hammock out there, I wouldn't have left! And the hot tub was fabulous. Our thanks."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

unforgettable labor day

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

Betsy was so helpful from the very beginning . Any questions I had were answered promptly. As she said just bring your clothes that's all you need. We brought a boat and jet ski having the dock was a blessing. Also having Frank and louies at end of cove was great. Great people and fun atmosphere and great food. We had a large group and Did not feel cramped. I recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Big J, thanks for your five star guest review. You were ideal guests and we appreciate the confidence you placed in us for your holiday weekend getaway. You are welcome back anytime to any of our five vacation rental homes. Our thanks again, Betsy!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Big Easy is top notch1

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 22, 2013

We recently had a group of 11 adults stay at the Big Easy and I honestly cannot say one bad thing about the place. For starters the house is very spacious and had plenty of room for all of us. We took full advantage of the amenities like the hot tub, game room, and boat dock. The back deck is great for hanging out and has a great view of the lake. The boat dock was perfect for the pontoon we rented and for doing a little fishing. The kitchen and grills worked great even for a large group of 11 hungry guys. There are several good size tables in the living room that are great for a card game. The owner Betsy is a pleasure to deal with. She is very friendly and honest. Every interaction with her was seamless. I would recommend this place to anyone with a large group who is looking for a roomy place at a very reasonable price. If we are ever back in the area we will definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Awwwww......you can't see it thru cyberspace but I'm blushing. Thank you Mr. C for your rave review. You know it's tough to keep eleven fellas happy on a vacation, but we always try to get the job done and ensure all our guests have a great time. Sure sounds like you and your group did. We appreciate your honesty, integrity and respect for our home. Please come back to any of our five vacation rental homes soon -- you make ideal guests. Our thanks again!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Big Easy is a Memorable Vacation!

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 8, 2013

Our stay at the Big Easy was truly a memorable one. There were fourteen of us ranging in age from twelve to seventy two and the house size was more than adequate. Having a supermarket (Woods) so close was a tremendous asset as every day someone seemed to be in need of something. I cannot say enough good things about the owner, Betsy. She could not have been more accommodating or helpful. She truly was a joy to work with. In fact, by the end of our visit I felt that we had become good friends. Her slogan of ‘Pack your toothbrush and a bathing suit and come on down’ was not an exaggeration. I highly recommend this property.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Big Easy Vacation

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

The house was very spacious and comfortable for our group of 11. There were no surprises upon our arrival and everything was clean and well organized. We had little ones, rented a pontoon and went to Frankie & Louies's for lunch. The little ones loved playing at their "beach". JJ's at the Copper Pot was very good for a nice dinner, again little ones were welcome. Betsy was the perfect person to organize our fun, fun, time at the Big Easy.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Big Easy is Awesome!

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 18, 2013

This place was awesome. A huge house sitting right on the lake in a beautiful cove. The house had a great sound system, pool table, ping pong table, TV's all over the place, a great boat dock, a slide to go into the water, and the view was unbelievable. The house held my entire family which consisted of 5 bedrooms, numerous baths, and a laundry room, plus a bar. This was a great experience, plus the location on the lake is great.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: You made our day with your FIVE STAR review! We appreciate your happy comments so much -- your positive experience will help others decide which vacation home to rent when they make their own vacation plans. You make ideal guests so please come back soon to any of our FIVE vacation rental homes! Thanks for placing your vacation confidence in us! - Betz

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Experience

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

The Big Easy was easily one of the best places I have ever stayed for a vacation. We went this past Memorial Weekend for my bachelor party. There were 14 of us and the house easily accommodated all of us and not once did we feel cramped.

The property is beautiful, kept up very well, and is right in the heart of things down at the Lake. We had no trouble getting our boat in and out of the slip and we found that we were not far from several great bars and restaurants. It was the ideal location for us.

Finally, dealing with Betsy made our experience great. From the get go, she was very easy to contact, great about answering any questions, provided us with a ton of information about the lake and places to go, and even kept in contact during our stay to make sure everything was going well. Cannot give her enough compliments on her hospitality and professionalism.

I would highly recommend a stay at the Big Easy if you are looking for a great property at the lake with plenty of room for large groups or even smaller gatherings. You cannot go wrong!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Your comments made our day! Thank you so much for placing your confidence in us as your vacation destination. The home itself is ideal, but add the lake, friends, sun, boating, fishing and swimming and what a package! There's nothing better. We welcome you back anytime to any of our five vacation rentals. With sincere appreciation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We had a great time at the Big Easy!

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

We had an excellent time at the Big Easy! 16 members of my collegiate a cappella singing group and I stayed at the house for the weekend of our fall break. We definitely made use of the double kitchen, the stereo, and the back deck. The house was nicely furnished and comfortable. The house was very open and there was room for all 17 of us to hang out together. Betsy was wonderful to work with--very helpful--and gave us many tips on activities and fun things to do in the Ozarks. I'd highly recommend staying at the Big Easy.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Dear U of Mo Singers Extra-ordinaire: Thank you for your positive feedback. In sharing your experience in this review forum, you'll help others make their vacation decision easier since they'll know The Big Easy is a fabulous waterfront estate at the Lake of the Ozarks. You and your fellow singers were perfect guests and we want to welcome you back for singing practice, sunsets and super fun times at the lake soon. Thanks again for your business. We wish your group all the best! - Betsy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Jensen 50th

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Our family celebrated our (Grandma and Grandpa's)50th anniversary at the "Big Easy". The home more than took care of the needs of 8 adults and 6 children. We had plenty of room to spread out in the evenings, the grandchildren went fishing off the sea wall every evening and no came up empty handed. The swimming area was great,if we were not in the boat tubing, everyone was in the water cooling off. We all appreciated the few steps to the dock and water, the pink slide was a big hit, not to mention a beacon when trying to find home after a boat ride. Betsy was great to work with and very helpful with any questions or concerns we had. Thank you for making our celebration a huge success.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Hello friends and thank you for this kind review. The Big Easy has seen its share of vacation celebrations thru the years, so we are grateful to add your happy family to its rich history. Our hope is that you'll come back again and again......why not make plans to make this an annual family trip? No reason that we can't celebrate Grandma and Grandpa's 51st next July, right? You're welcome back anytime with our thanks! - Betz

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation at Lake of The Ozarks

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

We booked the property several months in advance and Betsy was awesome to work with! The home is very large and is perfect for family get togethers. We loved that the home had large windows overlooking the lake and a huge sitting area in the kitchen. We were also able to rent a boat with the info that Betsy provided from a company that delivered and picked up the boat. It made the boat rental so easy. The dock and the pink slide made it perfect for the kids and the deck was perfect for watching the kids play. We would recommend this property to everyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you Husker Family! We appreciate your business very much. We also understand that you had a number of places where you could have spent your family vaca.....and yet you chose us. We are grateful for the confidence you placed in our vacation home when making your plans. And with this summer's heat, for some reason that pink slide is about the most popular amenity we offer!! You are welcome to come back anytime. Remember to ask about your FREE nite as a returning guest. Wishing you many happy family memories from this Big Easy vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Big Easy Family Reunion

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

Our 5 day lake vacation was a success. The Big Easy was a perfect location for our family reunion. Easily accommodated all 15 guests. The lake was right out our front door which was prefect for our regular swims to cool off. Betsy was fantastic to work with and provided us with valuable information for local stores, boat rentals, etc.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Dear Colorado Guests: Thank you for spending your family reunion with us at The Big Easy. We are so pleased you were able to gather your three generations from Colorado, Michigan and beyond to all intersect at this incredible estate. I know it made for enduring memories. Please come back and stay with us at any of our vacation rental properties soon! Wishing you all the best!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Location & Great Time

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 21, 2012

We got family together at The Big Easy for a reunion, and it couldn't have gone smoother. The house slept all of us comfortably and it was a short drive from KC. Proximity to golf courses, shooting ranges, and restaurants/bars was a huge bonus also. The owners were great to work with and answered any and all of our questions in a timely manner. They even gave us suggestions for activities to do locally. I would highly recommend The Big Easy!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Dear Wildcats 13.....I bet you didn't know that as the owner of The Big Easy, I'm a Wildcat too! Graduated from KSU in 1980. But I digress.....thank you so much for being an outstanding group of Wildcat guests. We aim for a five star vacation experience at this lovely estate, and from you glowing review, looks like we hit the mark. Come on back and see us here -- or at any of our vacation properties -- very soon. And thanks again for your business!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay in an Amazing House!

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 31, 2012

This house was everything we were hoping for and more! We comfortably slept 10 people for three nights and had a great time! All the beds are very comfortable and the included bedding was great quality. The views of the lake from the house and balconies were amazing especially around dawn and dusk. On our trip we rented a tritoon from Lake Toons who came highly recommended from Betsy, they were great in that they dropped off and picked up right from the dock, and their prices were unbeatable. We were thankful we didn't have to spend an afternoon diving around the lake to rent a boat. Betsy was especially helpful and more than accommodating in anything we needed. She pointed us to a grocery store and meat market before we arrived to make sure we were well stocked for the weekend. The home was very clean and well kept when we arrived, we made good use of the hot tub and pool table for the first night or two then found it very easy to navigate to the hot spots on the lake right from our dock. I would recommend this house to anyone looking to have a great lake vacation, whether you want to relax on the dock with a cup of coffee or glass of wine or take in the nightlife of Lake of the Ozarks this is the right place and is phenomenal for large groups with plenty of room for everyone to stretch out and relax. I am looking forward to my next stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Time at the Big Easy

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

My friends and I rented out The Big Easy House on Memorial Day weekend for my brother's bachellor party. We were very pleased when we arrived to see a very spacious and well kept home for us to spend the duration of our trip. When we stepped outside we were even more pleased to see a very large outdoor covered deck with fans to keep us cool during the hot weekend. The house is located in Frank and Louie's Cove, so it is very close to bars and restaurants.

Not only was the house spectacular, but the property owner, Betsy, was very easy to work with. She made it very easy for me to organize a large party of 13 guests, and she was always able to answer and questions that I had. If you want to enjoy a long weekend at the Lake of the Ozarks, I would definitely recommend The Big Easy House.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Chase, it is you and your great group of responsible friends that we thank. Your comments are appreciated and will help others make their decision to rent this waterfront estate an easy one.....in fact, a BIG EASY one! Come on back down anytime.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Big Fun at The Big Easy!

Review submitted: September 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

Our stay at The Big Easy on Lake of the Ozarks was nothing short of a perfect family vacation. The house is spacious, clean and very comfortable. Our favorite feature was the private dock. Swimming and fishing for the kids and a great relaxing lounge for the adults. The slide was great too. It kept the kids busy for a long time and you parents know how great that is!

We spent a day at Franky and Louies which was just down the road and even closer by boat. The kids played at their private beach while the adults sipped on some margaritas. I highly recommend checking out Franky and Louies.

Can't wait to go back. Thanks Big Easy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We thank you for your kind words. Come back and see us this fall - it's the very best time of the year for Lake of the Ozarks leaf looking......spectacular colors by land and water. And, you don't have all the boat traffic. It's far more peaceful, tranquil and relaxing.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review