reviews for: listing #85130 - Franklin, North Carolina Cabin rental

Mammy's Cabin
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $100 - $100 /nt
    $600 - $600 /wk
    $1,000 - $1,000 /mth

sort by:

Close to Heaven!

Review submitted: October 22, 2013   Date of arrival: October 14, 2013

I rented this sweet little cabin for 5 days. I didn't want to leave. This rental place was surreal. I forgotten how wonderful it was to have silence and a sense of peace. When you walk up to this cabin the view is just breath taking. It overlooks mountains from every angle. Then when you walk in the front door you feel like you have just walked into a "home" from the past. It is very quaintly decorated and everything is 'real'. It is very clean and warm. The fireplace warms up the whole home and if you are still cold there are heaters to help. The kitchen has everything you need and then some! The bathroom is a standard tub/shower and has enough room to move in. Not like other cabins that I have stayed at. The beds are great to sleep on. The back porch is wonderful. Part of it is covered and the other not. Sitting under the covered part in the early am hours was great. I was able to watch the birds feed at the feeder. There is a very nice gas grill for grilling and a heater hot tub at 102 degrees just waiting to be used. I personally loved crawling up on the sofa with a fire in the fireplace and napping! Mammy (Mrs. Linda) couldn't have been nicer. She is a spitfire and I sure hope to be like her when I am her age. She made you feel right at home. The history of the cabin is incredible and so was the restoration work that was put into this cabin to restore it. Not to mention that this little cabin is pet friendly and my dogs loved it. They loved the walks up and down the road and the porches on the cabin. If you are looking for a cabin that feels like "home" and brings a smile to your face and warms your heart...This is your cabin. Now with that being said...please don't schedule your renting time when I schedule mine! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We strive to keep our little cabin clean, warm and friendly. It is true that children and pets really enjoy Mammy's Cabin. There is much to do in the area, but many of our guests just like to relax in the peaceful atmosphere of Mammy's. Most of our guests return time after time. See you at Mammy's!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Precious Moments

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 8, 2012

Our amazing expierience begins with the owner's, Mammy and Charlie. The two of them are the most welcoming, appreciative, kind and generous people we have ever met. Mammy and Charlie definately have the art of southern hospitality perfected. It is no wonder Mammy's cabin has such a warm, welcoming, tranquil feel to it. If you desire flashy, glamourous surrondings in the lime-light than this is definately not your ideal match. However, if you desire warmth, tranquility, relaxation with magnificant views in total silence and privacy than you have reached your perfect destination. This cabin's best feature is the view and scenery around it. The secluded, but covered porch and jacuzzi hangs over a ledge with a view of the peaks of the mountains in the horizon. The mornings are filled with the Great Smoky Mountain's famous "smoke" flowing over top the cabin then across all the visible mountain peaks in your view; meanwhile birds chirp all around and leaves flow in the breeze. Inside you will find everything you could possibly need including the warm fire place that you may keep going throughout your entire stay with plenty of pre chopped wood stored down stairs. We have visited many places in our lives, however; never any as marvelous as this and from such wonderful owner's. This cabin is centrally located between Franklin and Highlands, leaving every diversity on entertainment at your disposal. We found Mason Mine (not Mason Mountain Mine) to be a fabolous dig your own mine deep in the mountains. Also, Cafe Rel is a french cuisine restaurant in Franklin that is linked to Hot Spot (yes a gas station, lol) best food you will ever eat (including culinary in New York City, Chicago and even Paris) I am convinced, due to the reasonable expense of such a speacial, one of a kind expierience that Mammy and Charlie provide; they must rent this cabin out to recieve the pleasure of others smiles and stories. YOU WILL NOT FIND A BETTER BARGAIN!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow! That makes us feel all fuzzy inside. What a wonderful review. Yes, there really is a Mammy's Cabin as well as a real Mammy. Yes, the little village of Franklin really does have some great eat places. If you are looking for a really different type of vacation, come to Franklin and stay at Mammy's. We have just added Wi-fi due to several request.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Peace and Quiet

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

Mammy's Cabin is a cozy cabin high in the mountains. It has spectacular views that melt away all the stresses of every day life. You could easily get carried away admiring the majestic mountains while seated in a rocking chair, listening to the wind chimes and watching the hummingbirds.
That's pretty much how I spent the time there, but I was joined by my semi-rambunctious pup and my thrill seeking father, so we took advantage of the hiking that the mountain offers. We picked wild strawberries along the road and took a hike through a Christmas tree nursery -- all walking from Mammy's!

The cabin is very well stocked, clean, and comfortable. At night we sat by the fireplace and read, but TV was an option as well. I saw lots of family movies on the shelf. We had no trouble cooking all our meals there as the walls are lined with cast iron pans and all the cabinets are full of basic ingredients and lots of supplies. I slept in the loft area very comfortably, and my dad said the main bedroom was great as well. The water is really fresh, pumped from a well, so showering is a treat and great for your hair.

Did I mention my dog loved it here? Great place to bring a dog and wander the mountain together enjoying the fresh air. We didn't get in our car except to drive away, but there seemed to be a lot of activities in Franklin on our way out. We were personally seeking the peace and solitude of the mountains, and we sure got it. Also, driving up is slightly difficult, but I have a Jeep so it was no problem.

I probably shouldn't go on because I want to be able to reserve this cabin often, but the owners deserve a great review. They brought us a truckload of fire wood and fresh organic eggs!
Very special, beautiful place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

So peaceful, hard to leave...

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

Mammy's Cabin is a cozy cabin high in the mountains. It has spectacular views that melt away all the stresses of every day life. You could easily get carried away admiring the majestic mountains while seated in a rocking chair, listening to the wind chimes and watching the hummingbirds. That's pretty much how I spent the time there, but I was joined by my semi-rambunctious pup and my thrill seeking father, so we took advantage of the hiking that the mountain offers. We picked wild strawberries along the road and took a hike through a Christmas tree farm -- all walking from Mammy's!

The cabin is very well stocked, clean, and comfortable. At night we sat by the fireplace and read, but TV was an option as well. I saw lots of family movies on the shelf. We had no trouble cooking all our meals there as the walls are lined with cast iron pans and all the cabinets are full of basic ingredients and lots of supplies. I slept in the loft area very comfortably, and my dad said the main bedroom was great as well. The water is really fresh pumped from a well, so showering is a treat and great for your hair.

Did I mention my dog loved it here? Great place to bring a dog and wander the mountain. We didn't get in our car except to drive away sadly, but there seemed to be a lot of activities in Franklin. We were personally seeking the peace and solitude of the mountains, and we sure got it. Also, driving up is slightly difficult, but I have a Jeep so it was no problem.

I probably shouldn't go on because I want to be able to reserve this cabin often, but the owners deserve a great review. Very special, beautiful place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Amazing

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 24, 2011

Unreal. Absolutely stunning views. Quiet. The experience of Mammy's Cabin is like something out of a book. Between kicking back in the hot tub, photographing the local wildlife (that includes hummingbirds that got within a foot of my nose LOL), and just standing in awe of the panoramic views...I honestly haven't felt so relaxed in years.

Part of me wants to give a "bad" review so I won't have as much competition for dates the next time I want to rent it :) but having experienced just a brief amount of time at Mammy's, I can say without reservation that I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a getaway.

The cabin is comfortable, cozy, fairly well-stocked with odds and ends that you might forget at home. Bring food, a camera (or two), and be prepared to forget the outside world even exists. I could sit and watch the birds, squirrels, and other visitors come and feed for hours on end. Wasn't crazy-happy about the raccoon that visited overnight. I can honestly say I now know first-hand what raccoon poop looks like, and let me tell ya, I was better off three days ago not knowing :)

If you stay at Mammy's and are looking for a few hours' adventure, I wholeheartedly suggest driving down towards Highlands. It's a bit of a curvy, tight drive, but there are some spectacular views of several waterfalls along the way. The town of Franklin also is a meanderer's paradise. Tons of shops, galleries, and eateries abound.

The only two drawbacks/issues to Mammy's I can forewarn about: One, the drive up the mountain (1.7 miles from the main road, mostly gravel, steep, and tight turns) that is not very two-wheel-drive friendly (although my girlfriend's Toyota Camry made it just fine several times). Two, inside the cabin, if you're over six-and-a-half feet tall (as I am), for the love of God, watch your head when you go from the kitchen/dining room area back towards the bathroom/master bedroom part of the cabin. The archway separating the two is around 6'6"-7" or so. I, unfortunately, am 6'8", and will be pulling splinters from my forehead for a little while :) I concede that most of you will not experience the difficulties I did in that respect....just warning you tall folks to be careful.

I don't know what else to say. The place captured my heart within moments of our arrival, and I'm sure I left a big piece of it there when we left this afternoon. Mammy, I promise, I'll be back. And soon...

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: If you like really getting away from it all; if you like wildlife all around you; if you like hiking; if you like being lazy; if you like being in a warm and cozy cabin, then you will love "Mammy's Cabin." If you are a very tall person (over 6'6") be prepared to know how to duck. Yes, the roads up the mountain are steep and curvy, but are good roads and 2-wheel drives can do it! Mammy's is am authenic log cabin that has been renovated by the owners to reflect a warm and homey atmosphere. Enjoy those cool evenings relaxing in front of a roaring fire in the big fireplace. So quiet and peaceful. If this sounds like the vacation you have been searching for in Western North Carolina at an altitude of 4,000 ft, book now for next season. Open April 1 through Dec. 15. Our prices are very reasonable, pets and children are most welcome.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review