reviews for: listing #85232 - Poipu Beach, Hawaii Condo rental

Luxury 2 Bedroom Ocean Front Condo with Heated Pool + A/C !
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Poipu Shores
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $330 - $440 /nt

sort by:

best Condo in Kauai

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

we have been coming to Poipu Shores every March for the past 8 years...we will continue to come to this condo because it clearly has everything one could wish for!! Everything about our stay has been wonderful. And our relationship with the owner could not be better. All communication, questions, recommendations from the owner has been excellent. We are even extending our stay next year and in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We treasure our repeat guests and are honored to have you back each year. Getting to know you through the years has been such a bonus. You are the best!!!! Lynn

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Condo!

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

Hi Lynn,
Just wanted to let you know that your condo was absolutely lovely! We had a fabulous time and didn't want to leave! The listing and photos perfectly reflected what we found when we arrived! Thanks for all of your helpful hints and for calling to check on us when we go there! To be able to see the breathtaking sunsets right from the lanai was fabulous! We also saw many whales frolicking as we relaxed in the living room or the lanai! The kitchen was well equipped for whatever we felt like making and the rest of the condo was well kept and nicely decorated. We would definitely recommend this condo to friends and family! The beach is just a short walk away, as were several restaurants. It was a very good location - close to shopping, the airport, Old Koloa Town (lots of nice shops and restaurants), and luaus!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: HI L, and thank you so very much for your kind review. We, too, feel this is a very unique and most special slice of Kauai. The experience of the waves crashing on the lava below is hard to describe, we are thankful to have our Heavenly retreat.

We do hope you can come back again soon. So pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Happy and fond memories will keep you going for awhile, then you will have to return. Until then: Mahalo, Lynn and Bob.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

FANTASTIC!

Review submitted: September 27, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

Hi Lynn,

Hope you are well!

I know this is absurdly late, but have been meaning forever to write to thank you soo much for the use of your fantastic condo at Poipu.
We absolutely loved it! We were so happy with the location, the place was beautiful, and we found the kitchen to be very well equipped and made some fantastic meals!
The jeep rental went off without a hitch, and the entire vacation was just a dream.

Thanks again,

Terry

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Poipu paradise!

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

We recently stayed in this condo, from April 20-April 29 2013, and to say it was everything we expected it to be, would be an understatement. Looking at this pictures on this listing, they don't look real, but the pictures dont even do it justice. This condo location is the best in this complex. You are STEPS from the pool, which is never loud or obnoxious, but makes it convenient when you forget things and need to go back to your condo. I got hit with ocean spray while at the pool, that's how close you are to the water! I was a little unsure about not staying right on a beach, but you can walk to poipu beach in maybe 5 minutes. And the beach is gorgeous! There is a place to eat right across the street, which is also very convenient.

Lynn was VERYhelpful! She answered my countless emails leading up to the trip, about things not even necessarily related to the condo, just about Kauai in general. What types of clothes I should pack, best places to eat on the island, etc. And she even called to check on us while we were there. She was extremely friendly and helpful! I would definetely recommend staying here for you visit to Kauai!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sarah, thank you for the wonderful review. I am glad you love our location as much as we do, it is very unique and special. Having our guests enjoy our condo is so gratifying, it makes sharing it with others a true pleasure. We hope to have you back again one day. Best to you. Lynn

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect in every way

Review submitted: December 7, 2012   Date of arrival: September 9, 2012

My wife and I and another couple found this beautiful slice of heaven on the internet and contacted the owner.........she was amazing to work with. She was extremely helpful and took a great deal of time with us. We had high expectations prior to our arrival, but the place exceeded those expections in every way. It was spotless and very well appointed with everything we needed. The view is stunning with the pool just steps away from our new home for the next few days. We watched huge turtlles swimming in the ocean from the pool deck.
The condo is perfectly located on the "sunny" side of the island, the weather was perfect during out stay (yet there was rain on other parts of the island). Unlimited things to do within a very short distance, but we found ourselves not wanting to leave our "new home".
I would rate the facilities, the owners and our overall experience a 10 star if it were available. Thank you for an amazing vacation!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the wonderful compliments! We agree, there is no better location, anywhere.

We look forward to hosting you in your "new home" in the future. Warmest aloha!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Vacationer

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 8, 2012

Couldn't have found a nicer location or property ... beautiful views and wonderfully kept (clean, maintained, up-to-date). Walk out the door to see the ocean, flora and wildlife ... enjoy views from the pool. Close to restaurants, stores and shops and yet in a quiet neighborhood with private beaches. Fantastic exploring in every direction from the coast to the mountains to the botanical gardens. Owners knowledge of the island and it's many attractions was very helpful in planning a great stay. Best activities: sailing, hiking, fresh seafood, R&R.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Kauai Trip

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

The pictures do not do this unit justice. The unit was beautiful, exceptionally clean and stocked with needed items. We have been to this condo now several times and this is no exception. We look forward to our yearly visit. The owner takes pride in their unit and it shows. Truly paradise.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best property for watching ocean wildlife

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

It doesn't get any better than this! The views are unbelievable. The ocean wildlife seen from the grassy area in front of the condo was fantastic. Sunsets here are some of the best on the island. Great spot!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Location!

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 29, 2012

Our party of four were more than comfortable in the amazing unit. Lynn was the best! She constantly replied back to every email. I never once had a concern go unanswered.
We traveled all over the beautiful, breathtaking island and found the best snorkeling for calm waters, beautiful fish (including the gorgeous humuhumunukunukuapua'a), sea turtles and resting Monk Seals was just a couple minute walk at Poi'pu Beach. The condo sits at the edge of the raging Pacific waves, a billion times better than if on the beach. It's private, relaxed location is top notch. The constant breeze from the coast made us so comfortable, we didn't use the AC not even once. The pounding of the waves provides the best sleep ever! We also loved the privacy inside. The condo has pocket doors and they are placed so conveniently in the bathrooms to allow lots of room to shower and dress without being crammed and steamed to death in a typical bathroom space. The kitchen is huge and we ate as if we were in our home; even grilled out on the grills.
I simply can't say enough great things about the perfect location, roomy home, and breathtaking sunsets. The Island of Kauai is an unbelievable dream. We have been all over the world and the USA and this island will certainly take your breath away. It's better than you've been told.
Oh, and I would totally recommend renting your snorkling gear from Lynn's link (vacation rentals). The quality is top notch and it saves you the hassle of bringing yours...we did and our friend's U.S. Divers rental equipment was even better than ours. And Lynn's unit has a cooler (which we used a lot) and three beach chairs. The first beach you come to, on the short walk from the unit, is like a huge wave pool. After that is the calmer beach for the awesome snorkeling. There is a deli across the street from the beach and they have delicious and huge salads with hard boiled eggs, huge yummy freshly baked brownies and the must have Shave Ice.
In closing the unit is clean with starter sets of detergent and no need to even pack shampoo and soap. Plenty of towels (including beach towels) are also provided. I highly recommend this unit!

Princeville Ranch Adventures Zipline (super fun), Wiamea Canyon (breathtaking), Kalalau Hiking Trail and Hanakapi'ai Falls (incredible), Smith's Family Luau (awesome), PoPo's Cookies in Kapa'a (the best ever), The Flea Market in Kapa'a and Hawaiian Trading Post had best prices. Everywhere we ate was incredible.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review and suggestions for luau, hiking, etc. We are thrilled you have as much love for that island as we do. It truly is amazing. We hope to hear from you again!!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Location, location, location...

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We had a wonderful week at the Poipu Shores unit with our German friends, and this particular condo is ideally located in the warm sunny Poipu area of Kauai. Literally 10 steps from the pool, it was especially convenient and nice to be on the ground floor, to be able to enjoy the lawn right off our lanai. The rocky lava bay by the pool was favored by the green sea turtles and we were fascinated watching them cavort in the big crashing waves, never seeming to mind the surf. It was also nice to be able to walk to several beautiful beaches nearby, which we did daily. Brenneke's Beach was great for sunning, swimming and the snorkeling wasn't too bad there either. The Hawaiian monk seals would often come onto the sandy beaches to rest and digest after their night's hunting and feeding, volunteers would rope off the beach so the seals could rest undisturbed.
We found the condo suited our needs well, we had our fifth guest sleep on the inflatable bed, which worked out fine. We did our share of BBQ ing and found the kitchen to be well supplied with cooking needs. We also appreciated the use of the washer and dryer, which came in handy.
Lovely golf courses located nearby, kayak adventures in Kauai's rivers, snorkeling, Waimea Canyon,(Hawaii's Grand Canyon), swimming and just enjoying the 83 degree sunshine...what's not to love in Kauai? It is so beautiful and scenic there. I rather regret not taking in a helicopter ride to get the full effect of the spectacular NaPali coast...hopefully next time. My advice, pay the $$$ and go!
We found several outstanding restaurants in the area, Lynn provides a good list. Had some wonderful fish tacos at Merriman's Downstairs Cafe, casual downstairs, fine dining upstairs. For a special treat, make reservations at The Beach House Restaurant. Fresh fish prepared beautifully. Outstanding!
This property may not be the newest around, but we settled in and appreciated the great location, the sound of the surf and the views from our unit. I had to stop myself from taking sunset photo after sunset photo...The unit itself has nice marble bathrooms and a lovely kitchen. It was a treat to be there, and we appreciated Lynn's availability to help with any questions that came up. She was 'johnny on the spot!' Thank you Lynn!
We would recommend this condo to anyone wishing to enjoy sunny Poipu, Kauai. Two couples would be ideal, but it worked out fine with five....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the nice review! I am so glad you enjoyed the location and condo. It sounds like you fell in love with the island, too. It is stunning! We hope to hear from you in the future. Warm Mahalo, Lynn

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great location - near beaches and a playground

Review submitted: December 22, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

This property was wonderful. We travelled for a family vacation during mid- September, 2011. My husband, 3 year old son and I stayed in the front master bedroom and my parents in law stayed in the back bedroom. You can hear the waves crashing against the rocks and the unit is steps away from the swimming pool, which was consistantly warm everyday the two weeks we were there. You can see the sea turtles swimming around in the ocean pretty much every afternoon from the pool deck. The location cannot be beat anywhere on the island. There are a few grocery stores nearby, but I recommend the grocery store in Koloa Town for better selection and the prices seemed a little lower. The condo unit is about a 10 minute walk to the beaches and a nearby playground. If you have too much stuff to carry or family members who don't want to walk that far, parking was ample and free near Brennecke Restaurant. The property owners were very helpful during our vacation planning and also responded quickly to our inquiries while were we staying in the unit. This is a great condo for families and families with young children. Kauai is a beautiful island and this is an awesome condo to use as a home base during your stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the great review! We are thrilled to know that our condo worked well for your home base. We, too, feel that our location, next to the pool is ideal. We warmly welcome you back anytime.
Warmest Aloha,
Lynn

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

25th Anniversary

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

My wife and I and our best friends just returned from a wonderful vacation. This was our first time to Kauai and Hawaii for that matter. This condo was exactly like the photo's and was not a disappoinment. The owner Lynn was wonderful to work with and made our trip very stress free. We very much enjoyed relaxing watching the sunsets and getting up in the morning drinking coffee, listening to the ocean crash against the cliff. We enjoyed ourselves so much, we are already talking of returning. After staying at this condo, I don't know if anything else can compare!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing rental in a great location! Just steps away from the ocean - GREAT owner and responsive!

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

My family and I just finished an 8 night stay at this property. We booked it last year and it was a true pleasure dealing with the owner, Lynn. From the first contact, she was VERY responsive always emailing back typically within minutes. I work the same way so it was refreshing to deal with someone so professional.

My wife and I and our two young children spent the entire month of June in Hawaii and Kauai was our last stop as we were saving it for last. We truly enjoyed our time in Lynn's property.

The location was great just literally a few feet from the ocean. It was amazing falling asleep each night to the sounds of the crashing waves. Also, here apartment was one of the only ones to have Air conditioning in the bedroom which is a definitely MUST. Kauai is so humid that even at night without AC I don't think we could have survived. The AC unit in the master bedroom was very strong and typically was enough to cool the living room as well. Our kids don't need AC so they stayed in the 2nd bedroom and the ceiling fan was sufficient for them.

The property was in GREAT condition and had everything we needed. There was high speed wireless internet that worked flawlessly. Also, the kitchen was well stocked and had plenty of things to cook. We went out to eat most nights but we did stay in a few times and cooked dinner. The building also has a BBQ grill if you want to grill out. We never did but they have 2 available very close to the apartment.

The bathrooms were both marble and really comfortable with great water pressure and lots of hot water. The hot water heater was big and we never had problems with hot water.

One of the best things was the location because it was right on the ground floor so if you wanted to go out to the pool you could and it was a few feet away! The pool was great and we used it a few times. It's so amazing because we saw gigantic turtles swimming overlooking the ocean from the pool. Also, the first day we saw a school of Dolphin swimming. It was amazing!

There were plenty of towels and beach towels and she even had a portable baby crib. The best thing is Lynn was so available. She called to make sure we got in ok and she also helped us arrange tours and beach gear and umbrellas. The company she uses is GREAT and even printed out our tickets the last day when we returned our gear.

I'd highly recommend her apartment. She is really amazing to deal with and the property is great. 5 Stars!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Paradise

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 8, 2011

We just got back from 10 days at this condo. Very nice, it was even better than the pictures! I have been coming for Kauai for about 30 years and thought I would miss having direct beach access. However, the pool being seven steps away from the Lanai was so convenient, we did not miss the beach. The amenities were very nice and all the info Lyn sent prior to us coming was handy to have. We would highly recommend this unit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 31, 2007

Hi Lynn, WOW! Pretty much sums up our vacation and our stay at Poipu Shores. I can't believe how unbelievably beautiful the ENTIRE island is, you are blessed to own such a fantastic condo in such a beautiful location. We were very happy staying in your unit, it was clean, nicely furnished, and oh the view! Both my children loved eating breakfast on the patio and would sneak out of the condo early in the morning to gawk at the waves breaking on the lava rocks (my favorite part of the trip was watching the kids do this and just seeing their joy and appreciation for all the natural beauty.) It really was quit spectacular. We feel very fortunate to have stumbled upon the website which led to our rental of 101A in the Poipu Shores condo complex. The unit was beautifully kept, nicely furnished, and sat on the most picturesque location. Other perks in renting this unit is that it is just steps away from the complex's pool, the beautiful gardens accessed from the patio, the view of miles and miles of beautiful coastline, and the terrific sunsets from it's location. Our family had the most wonderful time staying here and would jump at the chance to stay here again. We recommend it highly to everyone! The Contes California

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Location

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

What a beautiful location. Wrong season for whales but we did see turtles and monk seals. Got a lesson on the seals from a state veterinarian. That was a treat. The weather was great, the accomadations were well furnished and clean and the scenery great. We can not wait to go back. Mike and Grace Vick

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfection !!!

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

This lovely condo is everything advertised and more. With the sound of the nearby surf to sooth and invigorate us, we enjoyed having a very comfortable base from which to explore the island. More, the owner is excellent at facilitating the stay with many fine suggestions for island activities. We want to return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceptional

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: January 25, 2008

this is an email i recieved from John after his departure: --------------------------------------------------- Sent: Tuesday, January 22, 2008 5:03 PM To: Lynn Hufschmid Subject: Re: Poipu Shores Aloha, We are back in Montana-5 below with snow when we arrived-but we had a wonderful trip. Thanks for checking with Susan while we were there. The condo was beautiful and so was the view. I never looked out without seeing a whale. Our grandson had a ball. We will recommend your place to anyone who is looking for an exceptional place to stay. I hope your cleaning folks found everything to be OK. Thanks again. Your condo made our trip a wonderful memory. John

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Location There Is

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

Lynn, We arrived the night of 6/30/2008. Your description and pictures seemed to good to be true. Our family was amazed at the location and view from your condo. When you said steps from the pool you weren't lying. We loved the walkout to Lanai (I think your unit is in best location of condo complex...ability to walk to Brenneke Beach a huge plus. Very clean and ammenities were perfect. The Weber gas grills for guest use a huge plus. Can't wait to go back! Mahalo! Paul Queenan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Five Stars

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

This condo was everything that was advertised and more. You begin to relax the minute you walk in the door. Very comfortable with all the amenities necessary for a wonderful vacation. Beautiful views, sunsets, and sea turtles swimming in the surf daily. We only wish we could have moved in! Five Stars!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cant Wait To Go Back

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: September 14, 2008

Date of Stay: 09/01/08 Review Submitted: 09/07/08

Our family vacationed at Poipu Shores 101A for a week beginning August 19, 2008. From my first inquiry, Lynn, the owner, took the time to give helpful advice about the condo and Kauai that helped make our vacation so special -- including a tip about the nearby Koloa Fish Market, from which we enjoyed fresh fish dinners at the condo quite often. If you are looking for an oceanfront location with a beautiful view, the sound of the ocean crashing below you, the pool steps from your door, facinating sea turtles to view from the pool deck, and a lanai to have your meals and view the sunsets, all within walking distance to the beach, this is the place for you. We enjoyed renting snorkel equipment at the beginning of the week, and keeping it (and the condo-provided beach chairs) in the trunk as we spent time at Poipu beach, near the Beach House restaurant, and around the island. It was nice to be close to the Hyatt for golf and the children's hula show. This is a special condo in paradise. Enjoy your vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Condo and location

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2009

Just back yesterday and trying to get back in the groove again. Wanted to let you know we had an absolutely fabulous time. Your condo is truly the best location in Kauai. The sound of the surf every day all day was a dream come true. Lynn, I cannot thank you enough for all your kindness in helping us to have a memorable holiday. I thought I was looking for a condo but now feel I have made a friend. Kindest regards, Laurie H and the crew

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely wonderful !!

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2009

Very helpful owners which made the whole process easier and stress-free. They answered questions before we went which made planning much easier. The condo is clean, tidy, and well stocked. The internet and television and iPod docking station are nice tech touches. The kitchen had lots of supplies, the closet had beach and pool goodies, and bedrooms had linens and towels. Those are the logistics - the location is great. The pool couldn't be closer and the waves crashing against the rocks are a constant visual and audible treat. Great sunsets from the lanai too. Seemed like there were always sea turtles swimming nearby. The beach is a short walk away. Poipu has the best weather on the island, so the sun always seems to shine at the condo. Had a great trip and look forward to a future visit

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

..Poipu Beach Condo, 35' from the Ocean in Poipu,

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 10, 2010

My husband and I and another couple stayed at this condo in sunny Poipu last week and we had a fabulous vacation. The location is perfect and we had sunny weather the entire week. Watching the sea turtles every day was a real treat. The unit's location within the complex was ideal. Steps to the pool and the ocean is right outside. It was a short walk to a beach with great snorkeling. This condo was especially ideal for two couples traveling together. Lynn was very helpful with information and planning. We had such a great time that we are already planning our next trip and will rent this condo again. Relaxing vacation with all the amenities of home. We already miss the sound of the waves.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hard to Stay someplace else!

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: January 6, 2011

We have visited Kauai many times and just love staying at this condo. We took our twins when they were 10 months and 18 months and will be coming back in April. They are now 5 and we are really excited to show them the island we love. Lynn has been wonderful and very receptive to suggestions. The condo is beautiful, a great location and perfect for families. The pool is quiet, the BBQ close, and you can not beat hearing the waves crashing below. Perfect views and close walking to beach. Land, make a Costco run and you are ready to start your perfect vacation. We have referred this condo to friends and they just loved it. We can't wait until April! Aloha!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hard to Stay someplace else!

Review submitted: January 6, 2011   Date of arrival: January 6, 2011

We have visited Kauai many times and just love staying at this condo. We took our twins when they were 10 months and 18 months and will be coming back in April. They are now 5 and we are really excited to show them the island we love. Lynn has been wonderful and very receptive to suggestions. The condo is beautiful, a great location and perfect for families. The pool is quiet, the BBQ close, and you can not beat hearing the waves crashing below. Perfect views and close walking to beach. Land, make a Costco run and you are ready to start your perfect vacation. We have referred this condo to friends and they just loved it. We can't wait until April! Aloha!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great vacation rental

Review submitted: May 18, 2010   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

My husband and I and another couple stayed at this condo in sunny Poipu last week and we had a fabulous vacation. The location is perfect and we had sunny weather the entire week. Watching the sea turtles every day was a real treat. The unit's location within the complex was ideal. Steps to the pool and the ocean is right outside. It was a short walk to a beach with great snorkeling. This condo was especially ideal for two couples traveling together. Lynn was very helpful with information and planning. We had such a great time that we are already planning our next trip and will rent this condo again. Relaxing vacation with all the amenities of home. We already miss the sound of the waves.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 4, 2009   Date of arrival: June 4, 2009

Very helpful owners which made the whole process easier and stress-free. They answered questions before we went which made planning much easier. The condo is clean, tidy, and well stocked. The internet and television and iPod docking station are nice tech touches. The kitchen had lots of supplies, the closet had beach and pool goodies, and bedrooms had linens and towels. Those are the logistics - the location is great. The pool couldn't be closer and the waves crashing against the rocks are a constant visual and audible treat. Great sunsets from the lanai too. Seemed like there were always sea turtles swimming nearby. The beach is a short walk away. Poipu has the best weather on the island, so the sun always seems to shine at the condo. Had a great trip and look forward to a future visit!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 25, 2009   Date of arrival: February 25, 2009

Just back yesterday and trying to get back in the groove again.

Wanted to let you know we had an absolutely fabulous time. Your condo is truly the best location in Kauai. The sound of the surf every day all day was a dream come true.

Lynn, I cannot thank you enough for all your kindness in helping us to have a memorable holiday. I thought I was looking for a condo but now feel I have made a friend.

Kindest regards,

Laurie H and the crew

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 7, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

Our family vacationed at Poipu Shores 101A for a week beginning August 19, 2008. From my first inquiry, Lynn, the owner, took the time to give helpful advice about the condo and Kauai that helped make our vacation so special -- including a tip about the nearby Koloa Fish Market, from which we enjoyed fresh fish dinners at the condo quite often. If you are looking for an oceanfront location with a beautiful view, the sound of the ocean crashing below you, the pool steps from your door, facinating sea turtles to view from the pool deck, and a lanai to have your meals and view the sunsets, all within walking distance to the beach, this is the place for you.
We enjoyed renting snorkel equipment at the beginning of the week, and keeping it (and the condo-provided beach chairs) in the trunk as we spent time at Poipu beach, near the Beach House restaurant, and around the island. It was nice to be close to the Hyatt for golf and the children's hula show.
This is a special condo in paradise. Enjoy your vacation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 16, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

This condo was everything that was advertised and more. You begin to relax the minute you walk in the door. Very comfortable with all the amenities necessary for a wonderful vacation. Beautiful views, sunsets, and sea turtles swimming in the surf daily. We only wish we could have moved in! Five Stars!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 24, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

Lynn,

We arrived the night of 6/30/2008. Your description and pictures seemed to good to be true. Our family was amazed at the location and view from your condo. When you said steps from the pool you weren't lying. We loved the walkout to Lanai (I think your unit is in best location of condo complex...ability to walk to Brenneke Beach a huge plus. Very clean and ammenities were perfect. The Weber gas grills for guest use a huge plus.

Can't wait to go back!

Mahalo!
Paul Queenan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 30, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

This lovely condo is everything advertised and more. With the sound of the nearby surf to sooth and invigorate us, we enjoyed having a very comfortable base from which to explore the island. More, the owner is excellent at facilitating the stay with many fine suggestions for island activities. We want to return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 31, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

What a beautiful location. Wrong season for whales but we did see turtles and monk seals. Got a lesson on the seals from a state veterinarian. That was a treat. The weather was great, the accomadations were well furnished and clean and the scenery great. We can not wait to go back.

Mike and Grace Vick

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 25, 2008   Date of arrival: January 25, 2008

this is an email i recieved from John after his departure:
---------------------------------------------------
Sent: Tuesday, January 22, 2008 5:03 PM
To: Lynn Hufschmid
Subject: Re: Poipu Shores

Aloha,

We are back in Montana-5 below with snow when we arrived-but we had a wonderful trip. Thanks for checking with Susan while we were there. The condo was beautiful and so was the view. I never looked out without seeing a whale. Our grandson had a ball. We will recommend your place to anyone who is looking for an exceptional place to stay. I hope your cleaning folks found everything to be OK.


Thanks again. Your condo made our trip a wonderful memory.


John

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 31, 2007   Date of arrival: August 31, 2007

Hi Lynn,

WOW! Pretty much sums up our vacation and our stay at Poipu Shores. I
can't believe how unbelievably beautiful the ENTIRE island is, you are
blessed to own such a fantastic condo in such a beautiful location.

We were very happy staying in your unit, it was clean, nicely
furnished, and oh the view! Both my children loved eating breakfast on
the patio and would sneak out of the condo early in the morning to gawk
at the waves breaking on the lava rocks (my favorite part of the trip
was watching the kids do this and just seeing their joy and
appreciation for all the natural beauty.) It really was quit spectacular.

We feel very fortunate to have stumbled upon the website which led to our rental of 101A in the Poipu Shores condo complex. The unit was beautifully kept, nicely furnished, and sat on the most picturesque location. Other perks in renting this unit is that it is just steps away from the complex's pool, the beautiful gardens accessed from the patio, the view of miles and miles of beautiful coastline, and the terrific sunsets from it's location. Our family had the most wonderful time staying here and would jump at the chance to stay here again. We recommend it highly to everyone!

The Contes
California

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 15, 2007   Date of arrival: May 15, 2007

Paradise found “Poipu Shores Condo 101A, Kauai .” Land at the airport in Lihue, stop at the grocery store for food and drink then go to your paradise and settle in. Don’t waste your time, like I did, driving to Hanalei or Waimea, the most beautiful spot is right at your condo. Just a few steps from the lanai is the freshwater pool, perched right over the ocean the waves crashing on the rocks, watch the sea turtles surf, take a dip in the pool to cool off. A few steps back to the lanai and watch dolphins jump and frolic in the rolling sea, look a little to the right and watch the most beautiful sunset ever. Brennecke beach just a short walk down the path from the condo, if you need a little snorkel time that is the place. Just a little farther is Waiohai and Poipu beach, both white sand beaches - great for swimming or surfing. This ground floor condo is fantastic, two master bedrooms with king-sized beds, one with A/C for those warm tropical nights. The kitchen is more than adequate, lots of room to cook gourmet meals or BBQ from several gas BBQs in the complex. Lynn, the condo owner is wonderful to deal with; she shares the joy of her condo like she is your best friend. Why would anyone want to vacation anywhere else? I cannot get that view of the green-green grass, lush bushes, palm trees and the bluest water and foamy white spray splashing up from the rocks out of my mind; oh I want to go back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 15, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

Paradise found “Poipu Shores Condo 101A, Kauai .” Land at the airport in Lihue, stop at the grocery store for food and drink then go to your paradise and settle in. Don’t waste your time, like I did, driving to Hanalei or Waimea, the most beautiful spot is right at your condo. Just a few steps from the lanai is the freshwater pool, perched right over the ocean the waves crashing on the rocks, watch the sea turtles surf, take a dip in the pool to cool off. A few steps back to the lanai and watch dolphins jump and frolic in the rolling sea, look a little to the right and watch the most beautiful sunset ever. Brennecke beach just a short walk down the path from the condo, if you need a little snorkel time that is the place. Just a little farther is Waiohai and Poipu beach, both white sand beaches - great for swimming or surfing. This ground floor condo is fantastic, two master bedrooms with king-sized beds, one with A/C for those warm tropical nights. The kitchen is more than adequate, lots of room to cook gourmet meals or BBQ from several gas BBQs in the complex. Lynn, the condo owner is wonderful to deal with; she shares the joy of her condo like she is your best friend. Why would anyone want to vacation anywhere else? I cannot get that view of the green-green grass, lush bushes, palm trees and the bluest water and foamy white spray splashing up from the rocks out of my mind; oh I want to go back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 4, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

We stayed in this condo on April 1st, and loved it!!! The interior is perfect and well furnished. The lanai is soooooo close the water, you can't really fathom it until you are there.

The beds are great, they even have memory foam pillow tops. The condo has lots of extras that aren't even mentioned. It was equipped with everything from a crock-pot to beach umbrellas, games and more. It would be a perfect place for families with children. The pool was great(it seemed to be heated). There were turtles and whales out in the water the whole time we were there.

The owner has really good taste and the condo is very clean. We didn't use it, but I noticed there was a high speed internet connnection, which could be handy!

If this place doesn't please you, nothing, and I mean nothing, will. It's a bargain for what you get, and the photos don't do it justice.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 4, 2007   Date of arrival: March 4, 2007

Hi Lynn,

We had a gret time! Your place was just perfect !!

Let us know when you are ready to sell !!!

Cant wait to go back!
Regards, Nancy

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 4, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

Hi Lynn,

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your lovely condo. Could there possibly be a better location than that? We saw sea turtles and humpback whales just from the lanai. It just all seemed to end too quickly but we'd love to come back again.

Thank you for sharing your lovely condo. It had all the amenities we could want.
Sincerely, Sue

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 19, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

My husband and our 8 month old twins stayed in this until last Aug/Sept 06' and loved it. This was our third visit to the Condo's and will be staying in this unit again this May. I highly recommed this unit and location.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 13, 2007   Date of arrival: January 13, 2007

Aloha and Happy New Year Lynn!

We so thoroughly enjoyed your little nest in Paradise. Eberhard and I felt you have the best location in Poipu. The thundering surf was spectacular, and we found the amenities very agreeable. We would definitely stay there again. Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 13, 2007   Date of arrival: January 13, 2007

Traveler rating:
Poipu: Castle Poipu Shores: "Only One Thing We Would Have Changed"
Jan 8, 2007 JBREVIEW, Ft. Lauderdale, FL




My experience with this property took place in:
January, 2007
Would I recommend this hotel to my best friend? absolutely!
My ratings for this hotel are:
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Business service
I recommend this hotel for: Young singles, An amazing honeymoon, A romantic getaway, Girlfriend getaway, Older travelers, Great pool scene, Families with young children, Families with teenagers, Tourists

I do not recommend this hotel for: People with disabilities, Pet owners
I selected this hotel because ... Beach / Sun, Outdoor / Adventure, Shopping
My age: 35-49
Traveling group: Family with teenagers
My visit was for: Quality time with family
The only thing we would have changed was the length of our stay. We wish we could have been there much longer than four nights! Our unit was superb. It was clean, comfortable, tastefully decorated, and even had a nice washer and dryer (took care of our towels, etc.). We loved the view and the sound of the ocean waves. There was an a/c unit available in the ocean front bedroom, but we never needed it, the breeze was so perfect.

The owner, Lynn, was very helpful and gave us a lot of good advice for restaurants, etc. Poipu Beach is a wonderful beach, and restaurants such as the Beach House are very close. The next time we go to Kauai, we will definitely want to stay in the same unit.

We found this condominium to be a great headquarters for our island exploration. Its pretty close to the canyon, Port Allen, and Lihue. Further details about the unit can be found at [--]. It was also nice that it was the last unit in the building, right by the pool. We leave it behind, but will always cherish the wonderful memory of our stay in 101A

This TripAdvisor Member:
Liked: The location
Disliked: Leaving
Tips/Secrets: Try tubing, and whale watching (in season)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review