reviews for: listing #85241 - Lake Lanier, Georgia House rental

Secluded Lakeside Cottage with Deep Water Boat Dock
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Bennetts Landing
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $135 - $250 /nt
    $750 - $1,500 /wk
    $2,000 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Great Vacation

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

It was an easy trip from the airport to get to this wonderful, lakeside cottage. It was comfortable, cozy and had everything we needed for a great vacation. We had fun with the canoe, kayak and firepit, and many games of ping pong. We were never bored and our kids did not ask to play computer games because they were having so much fun outside! Rich and Melanie are great hosts and have created an awesome vacation home! We will definitely return in the near future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My family summer vacation! AWESOME

Review submitted: July 16, 2014   Date of arrival: June 30, 2014

WOW! This was the greatest family vacation we have ever had. The place was awesome. The house was cute, The outside is somewhat rustic, but from the second you walk in you see the very modern updates. The real feature is the lake of course. The dock is a short walk down a trail from the house. Once there the U-shaped dock is great. I think we were there 15 minutes before the kids were jumping off the dock and swimming like fishes. Bring your water shoes, the dock (as are most all wooden docks) is a little splintery. The water at the dock is very deep (they provided several life jackets, but for fun floating bring them.)
The location was great, close enough to local shopping, and a decent ride to the bigger towns of Gainsville and Cumming where if you can't find it there you don't need it.
I could go on for hours about this vacation, but I will end it here with Rich and Melanie were the best neighbors. They were a great resource of local knowledge, but never intrusive. One of the best days we had in the water at the dock was when they were down there on their dock. They are great people, there is a sign on the wall when you first walk in that says "Walk in as strangers, leave as friends" This couldn't be more true. I highly recommend this rental. We plan to return in the fall for a mountain, leaf peeping get away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: We love that so many have enjoyed our cottage and we look forward to our guests that are planning to visit again! Autumn is right around the corner, book your stay with us soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Memorial Day Weekend

Review submitted: June 3, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

My wife and I rented this property for the extended weekend prior to Memorial Day. The Madden's were very quick to respond to our request and offered great customer services.

The location of this property on the water was a big selling point for us. It is conveniently located between Gainesville and Cumming near Port Royal Marine. The dock, only a few short steps from the house, is in great shape in a deep water (no ski) cove. The dock was also very clean and offered ample seating for all our guest.

We really enjoyed the layout of the house with all the bed rooms on the main floor and living/entertaining area on the terrace level near the water. This made trips to/from the dock/house quick and easy. In addition, the concrete patio and screened in porch were very well maintained and offered ample space and seating for entertaining.

Overall, we found the house to be exceptionally clean and well maintained. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return before the end of summer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are just a few short bends in the creek to the big open water so our location never disappoints.
We welcome family and friend gatherings for a great time and look forward to many returning visitors. We've made a priority to maintain a perfectly clean and well stocked home for your arrival.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Memorial Day Weekend

Review submitted: June 3, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

My wife and I rented this property for the extended weekend prior to Memorial Day. The Madden's were very quick to respond to our request and offered great customer services.

The location of this property on the water was a big selling point for us. It is conveniently located between Gainesville and Cumming near Port Royal Marine. The dock, only a few short steps from the house, is in great shape in a deep water (no ski) cove. The dock was also very clean and offered ample seating for all our guest.

We really enjoyed the layout of the house with all the bed rooms on the main floor and living/entertaining area on the terrace level near the water. This made trips to/from the dock/house quick and easy. In addition, the concrete patio and screened in porch were very well maintained and offered ample space and seating for entertaining.

Overall, we found the house to be exceptionally clean and well maintained. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return before the end of summer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Please Read

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 30, 2013

Rich and Melanie were quick to respond by e-mail but I found it easier and more pleasurable to talk with them in person. The conversations were short, Melanie just kept answering "yes" to all my questions.
I found out why when we finally arrived at their cottage. We arrived to a VERY CLEAN, BEAUTIFULLY DECORATED, MODERN, QUIET and RELAXING lake house! The only thing we could have asked for was more vacation time!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great Getaway with Owners who Couldn't be Nicer!

Review submitted: July 26, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Where to begin?.....Started out looking for a reasonably close, reasonably priced house to rent that would accept our large dog. Expectations were not high of finding the perfect spot but boy did we ever. The house is so comfortable and plenty of room for our family and friends. Melanie and Rich could not have been nicer or more accommodating to us. The dock is wonderful with great fishing and nice and deep for diving and jumping. There is a marina very close by for renting a boat or having a drink. The fire pit is great for s'mores and hotdogs. Loved the screened in porch and had games of ping pong going on most nights. A great week for us and wonderful that it was close enough for friends to come up for the day. We loved the bed, I'm now on the hunt for that topper and pillows Thanks so much Melanie and Rich! We will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: This is such a great location for a "staycation". The lake is full and beautiful and the fire pit awaits you for autumn bookings!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Relaxing Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by how wonderful this cottage was for our family vacation. We were 5 adults and we took our dogs along. Our son is in the military, stationed at Fort Benning and we live in North Carolina. Our son and his wife are avid "fishing lovers" and the have their own boat. He loved the fact that he could dock his boat right at the cottage in very deep waters. Right from the start we felt very "at home" with the comfortable cottage, the dock at the doorstep, ease of parking and the ability to have our dogs with us. This cottage is stocked with every possible necessity that we really did not have to have any extra things like utensils, pots & pans, bottle/wine openers etc - all the things that you might need. And it did not hurt that the beds are extremely comfortable. Close by is the town of Gainsville with all the possible shopping you would need as well as a very cute town center and very excellent restaurants. All in all I would highly recommend this house as a great destination. Thank you so much Rich and Melanie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Come and experience a relaxing get -a-way that will have something for everyone. World class bass fishing or just swimming in the clear waters at our deep water dock awaits you and your guests on beautiful lake Lanier!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great Get Away

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

What a great way to spend a relaxing weekend. We arrived to a fully stocked home. No hotel check in, no calling housekeeping for towels, no calling maintenance to fix the A/C. Just arrive and begin relaxing! Rich and Melanie are very personable and welcoming. If you normally stay in hotels, you have to try this. We did not stay in a "house", we stayed in a "home". Thanks again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We like to treat our guests to a memorable visit as our way to say thank you for choosing us. Come try us , you will surely have a relaxing stay that will be appreciated by all!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful cottage on the lake!

Review submitted: December 8, 2012   Date of arrival: November 22, 2012

Our family had a wonderful stay in this lake cottage! The house was very welcoming, clean, and cozy -- with a fire going in the fireplace the night we arrived. The cottage was just as described with many "extras" like a fully equiped kitchen, big gas grill, and fire pit. Our family and little dogs felt right at home! We also enjoyed the private feel of the dock and the wooded area surrounding the cottage. The location felt secluded, but was right off the main road -- with shopping and restaurants within a few minutes drive. Great value!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Holidays, family get-togethers, or a romantic getaway awaits at our secluded cottage. The lake level may have lowered but our dock still has deep water so try your luck at fishing. Ask about or reduced winter rates and come enjoy!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A lovely Labor Day weekend on the lake!

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

Many thanks to Rich and Melanie for their hospitality over Dabor Day weekend. My husband and I, as well as two other couples, enjoyed a wonderfully relaxing three days in this ideal cottage on the lake. We were able to dock our boat here all weekend - Rich and Melanie were more than accommodating, anything we needed was there; they were even kind enough to bring a power supply down to the dock for our air pump, so we could pump our oversize raft up easily :-) Most of our time was spent down on the dock in the sun. The screened in porch and patio were also favorite spots that weekend. The gas grill was all ready to go for our cookouts and wood was readily available for a fire and s'more making in the fire pit. We couldn't have asked for a better stocked house or nicer landlords. Would LOVE to get back here at our earliest opportunity! Thanks again to Rich and Melanie for everything - if you're thinking about a lakeside getaway this cottage will be PERFECT for you. Enjoy!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: The cottage has almost everything you'll need for that quick getaway or an extended stay-over. If there's something we've forgotten or our guests think of something they need, we try to accomodate!
Let us know if you're interested in a nice relaxing place, or want something close to lots of activities, or if you decide to just getaway from it all, give us a call!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Hosts and a great place to stay!

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your cottage with us. The home is beautifully decorated and so comfortable! Everything you could possibly need was there. It was a great place to have family and friends come and help me celebrate my birthday. This is my favorite way to enjoy "camping" including easy access to the lake and even a fire pit to roast some hot dogs and marshmallows. Loved it and we will be back! Thanks again!!

Owners response: Family reunions, birthdays, anniversaries, and other celebrations are welcome at our secluded lakeside cottage. With close proximity to the North Georgia Mountains and all the Fall festivals, what a great location to stay and enjoy it all!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Stay - Perfect!!

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

My family and I had a wonderful experience at this lakeside cottage on Lake Lanier. Communication before the trip with the owners was extremely helpful in our planning. They were so helpful! Everything we needed was in the cottage (and I mean everything!). Rich and Melanie have thought of everything a family could ask for in their beautiful cottage. Swimming, fishing and relaxing were all perfect here! The house is perfectly clean and the property is extremely well maintained. The beds are also very comfortable!! My family and I had a perfect vacation. I highly recommend this property. Thanks for the wonderful stay and hospitality!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Fantastic Week

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

This lakeside cottage was over and above what we expected from the website description. It was the perfect place to re-connect with our daughter and her family from Florida. Atlanta was close enough for us all to spend a day a the aquarium and also a day with our grandaughter at her ballet school near Georgia Tech. We had plenty of time visiting, playing ping-pong, watching the Olympics on TV and a day on the lake tubing, water skiing and swimming. Melanie and Rich have done such a good job with the cottage that it was the perfect "Home Away From Home" with us not needing to bring anything other than food with us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An amazing month on Lake Lanier

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 12, 2012

This is a perfect location for a getaway on Lake Lanier! We spent 5 weeks at this lake cottage this summer and enjoyed every moment. The cottage was the perfect match for our family of four including 2 busy boys who couldn't get enough of the lake. The cottage is equiped with everything you could ever want/need throughout your vacation and is a fatastic location for little fishermen. There are plenty of places to eat and shop nearby as well as Port Royale Marina right down the street for any watersports needs. Melanie and Rich were fantasic 'hosts' and our boys enjoyed spending time with them fishing and loving their beautiful lab Pete. We just can't say enough about what a wonderful time we had here. Thanks Melanie and Rich for the most fantstic time!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Lake Lanier Cottage

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

What a great family vacation! The home was perfect - clean, comfortable, well-stocked and with great amenities (pool table, rocking chairs, fire pit, grill, etc.). Melanie was more than accommodating and kind! Our two young daughters (age 6 & 9) loved swimming right off of the dock. The water location was perfect as our boat was safe and stable on the dock. Also, the fishing right off the dock was active...lots of memories were made! Let's not forget our two goldendoodles who loved the quiet, safe surroundings to explore and just be dogs (they have entered a state of depression since returning to reality:). We will definitely enjoy more family vacations in the Madden's home. P.S. Of course we forgot a few items in the home after leaving and Melanie immediately texted me that she had them and then shipped them to us...it doesn't get any better than this place!!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We really welcome families as there is something to do for all from fishing, swimming, boating, shopping, ping-pong (no pool table, sorry), and much, much, more!
Our recent guests had 2 wonderful daughters who seemed never bored and were always finding something new to do.
Fall festivals are just around the corner, so book now!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Feel The Love

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

Rent this great lake "home" from Rich and Melanie.It is not a house, when you drive up and especially when you walk in you "FEEL THE LOVE". Don't worry about what you may need to bring because Melanie has thought of everything. Quality comfortable beds and with so many TV's and WiFI we were able to satisfy our diverse crowd. This home will pamper you so much you will forget about Lake Lanier. Our daughter is expecting our first grandchild and we used the home to gather our family together from Birmingham to Savannah. It is so peaceful, private and quiet, we loved it.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This is the perfect getaway!

Review submitted: December 30, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

This was the perfect place for our Christmas getaway! Owner had it decorated for Christmas including the tree! There was not one thing we were in need for the 4 days we were there, owners thought of everthing. The firepit was awesome and we spent the evening with local family and friends there. The two grandchilden loved the lake and all the large rocks to climb on. It was hard to tear them away. They told us that this is where they want to stay everytime we visit Gainesville. Thank you Meline and Rich for making our stay so enjoyable, we had the best Christmas ever! The Tuckers

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So great that your family enjoyed Christmas at the cottage!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

Thanks to Rich and Melanie, we had a great family vacation and enjoyed many of the area attractions, especially the shopping and horseback riding. Even though the fish weren't biting, the guys had a great time drowning worms. We had a great time in the water, especially our water dogs, Seager and Harry. Our evenings on the patio roasting marshmellows in the fire pit and enjoying a glass of wine with Melanie were great; and Rich went over and beyond by hooking up a special cable so we could watch the UNC game on Saturday. All in all, it is a great place for a great vacation, and we look forward to coming back again in the future. Thanks again to Rich and Melanie for being very genial and accommodating hosts.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Come back this fall for leaf peeping and cozy fires on the patio.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Mini Reunion

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

Rich and Melanie have a sweet cottage on Lake Lanier! The cottage was half way for my sister in Florida and me (in Indiana) to meet with our young families. We made great memories (cousins meeting for the first time) and have the pictures to prove it! We enjoyed swimming from the dock, making smores in the fire pit, and relaxing in the beautifully decorated and clean cottage. All the amenities (hair dryer, books, games, rafts, lawn chairs, dishes, etc.) made our stay very comfortable. Melanie was available if needed, but not at all intrusive seeing that she lives next door. Melanie--Thank you so much for the directions via text. We would definately stay there again if our families don't out grow the cottage!
Matt, Jenn, Dylan and Paige

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Having great guests enjoying themselves and making memories
is what is it all about. Come back for more family time!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Comforts of home

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 4, 2011

We truly enjoyed our stay in your very charming home. You have provided all of the comforts of home combined with the relaxation of a vacation on the lake. We had a wonderful time and appreciate your true hospitality.
Bob, Mary Jean, Chris, Brad, Heather & Sophia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Lake Cottage

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2011

This is an incredibly well equipped and attractive lake cottage. The photo's don't quite do it justice. The place is immaculate and it is well stocked with linens, towels, dishware, coffee machine, utensils, etc. You really don't need to bring anything for your lake vacation.

Additionally, the location on the lake is perfect. It's snuggled inside 2-mile creek and in very deep water (35' off the dock). You're on the South end of the lake and very close to the big marinas and Sunset Cove. If you're a fisherman, you will love this location as there are tons of bass (largemouth and spots) all in 2-mile creek and stripers like to frequent the deep water at the mouth of 2-mile (60-80 feet deep). You can also catch crappie, bream and catfish from the dock.

The outdoor amenities include a gas grill, manicured patio, hammock and a fire pit... in addition to being right on the lake. Overall, this is an ideal Lanier cottage for a family vacation or a weekend get-away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are ready for cooler weather, great fishing and leaf peeping!
So come visit again and again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderfully accommodating!

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

What wonderfully accommodating owners! This home is shiny clean and furnished with everything---games, books, any possible kitchen utensil/gadget, washer/dryer! It is so wonderfully decorated that it makes you instantly at home. I particularly liked that this home was pet friendly, making it perfect for our trip, and yet everything inside and outside was spotlessly clean without any sign of pets. The dock was excellent for swimming and docking our rental pontoon. Port Royale Marina is very close and very accommodating as well. We planned to fish, so we made a quick trip to the local bait shop--with directions from our VRBO owners, who lived next door. I was pleasantly surprised at how close the house was to the lake! I would recommend this house for almost everyone! It is a two-story home with 3 bedrooms, laundry, and restroom upstairs and then a living room, screened porch, kitchen, and restroom downstairs; therefore, it is necessary that everyone can use steps. It was a perfect spot for meeting with my son's family and dog. It was roomy enough to add all that baby stuff--swing, pack and play, etc.--and still feel uncrowded. The screened porch was spectacular during the rain, and the patio was just as welcoming with the hammock, fire ring, etc. surrounded by beautifully landscaped gardens. I almost hate to tell the truth about this home because it will probably be filled when I want to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: We are so glad you loved our cottage as much
as we do!Thank you so much for the great review!
We look forward to your return visit!

Autumn leaf peeping, great fishing and relaxing
at our cottage. Come and enjoy Lake Lanier this fall!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review