reviews for: listing #85292 - San Diego, California Houseboat rental

Dockside Yacht Lodging
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Houseboat
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $179 - $299 /nt
    $1,250 - $2,500 /wk
    $3,000 - $5,000 /mth

sort by:

Christmas aboard the Narnie O"Shea

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

My family of 3 (myself, husband, and 17 year old daughter) came to San Diego to spend Christmas with our eldest daughter(22). We wanted to stay somewhere special for Christmas and the Narnie O'Shea fit the bill perfectly. It is a beautiful yacht, fully outfitted with everything you would need....kitchen, bathroom, televisions, and, most importantly, VERY comfortable beds. The marina it's moored in is beautiful and walking distance to many great restaurants and stores. The interior of the main cabin was spacious and beautiful and ended up being the perfect spot to celebrate christmas.

We, too, like previous posts had small issues with the electrical outlets as well as the bathrooms needing to be pumped, but our host Chalium was awesome, catering to our needs even on Christmas Eve.

This experience is really a once in a lifetime and was certainly worth it. We plan to return as soon as we can.


We are planning to post Christmas pics soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Christmas aboard the Narnie O"Shea

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

My family of 3 (myself, husband, and 17 year old daughter) came to San Diego to spend Christmas with our eldest daughter(22). We wanted to stay somewhere special for Christmas and the Narnie O'Shea fit the bill perfectly. It is a beautiful yacht, fully outfitted with everything you would need....kitchen, bathroom, televisions, and, most importantly, VERY comfortable beds. The marina it's moored in is beautiful and walking distance to many great restaurants and stores. The interior of the main cabin was spacious and beautiful and ended up being the perfect spot to celebrate christmas.

We, too, like previous posts had small issues with the electrical outlets as well as the bathrooms needing to be pumped, but our host Chalium was awesome, catering to our needs even on Christmas Eve.

This experience is really a once in a lifetime and was certainly worth it. We plan to return as soon as we can.


We are planning to post Christmas pics soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

10 Days of fun on the Narnie O'Shea

Review submitted: January 8, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

My family of 3(Myself,my Hubby and our 12yr old son) were visiting San Diego for the second time.Instead of a run of the mill hotel we were searching for something a little different.We certainly found this in the Narnie O'Shea.We spent 10 days on board this comfortable yacht.The bed in the main cabin was very comfortable and our son said his bed in the other bedroom was comfortable too.The kitchen was well equipped for the few times i chose to cook, but most of all our host Chaluim Muir was very helpful and accommodating to our needs.He lent our son a fishing rod so he could sit on the dock and fish, and much to his delight he caught his first catch.Chaluim also offered us the use of the two kayaks tied up on the yacht and was always happy to receive phone calls from us whenever we had concerns.We enjoyed the gentle rocking of the boat,the sound of the ducks quacking,the ospreys flying around,the sailing trip with Captain Jack, but most importantly the peace and quiet the marina had to offer us.The marina was very safe and secure with the gate entry and there were restaurants and bars within walking distance of the yacht.All of these were family friendly if you ate early.
I will however be honest now and say that my family and i own our own travel trailer and are used to confined spaces. We found the bathroom off the main bedroom to be a little frustrating to use as it was at an angle and you couldn't really stand up straight in it to comb your hair in the mirror,the toilet was a little tight to use and we found that every 2-3 days the tanks on the boat filled up and were getting a little smelly. Chaluim was on this very quickly and although he arranged for the tanks to be pumped once a week we all learned that if you stay on the yacht for longer they need emptying more frequently.He will have this problem under control for the next long term guests.He also arranged for our tanks to be pumped as soon as the smell started.So you see it is similar to a travel trailer experience just with a few more low ceilings in places.Watch out for the stove, if the pins aren't in properly it will suddenly tip forward which is a little scary when handling hot food. The Microwave is small but adequate.The kettle on the stove sprays hot water everywhere as the weighted base seems to aid this.Overall we had a wonderful time on the Narnie O'Shea and will certainly recommend her to all of our friends. Thank you so much Chaluim and we appreciate your hospitality.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A weekend on the Narnie O'Shea

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

I surprised my landlubber family on there visit from our home in Denver to SoCal with a visit to SeaWorld and 2 nights on the Narnie O'Shea, a 46' Hunter sailboat moored on Shelter Island. And surprised they were.
The owners were gracious even on our late arrival on Friday night because of the typical traffic from LA. The Narnie O'Shea is a beautiful boat with 3 staterooms and 2 heads including showers. Clean, comfortable and peaceful. I could have spent a year on her. Take the owners up on there offer for a 3 hour trip out to with a licensed captain. I wish that I had the time for that this trip. The Narnie O'Shea would have been nice to see under sail. Even to stay in port it is the finest. Thank you for the experiences my granddaughters had.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our only regret: not being able to stay longer

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

My family of 5 only had one night to get away so we wanted to make the most of it. We chose to stay on the Narnie O Shea for the unique ambiance and the opportunity to go for a sail. None of us had ever been sailing before--what a thrill! We sailed past tall ships and a military sub as we cruised out of the harbor. We barked at seals lounging on the buoys and they answered back! In the evening we dined at a restaurant right there in the harbor, just a short walk away, then we sipped drinks on the deck and enjoyed the peaceful beauty of the harbor at night. The lights from the houses on the hills above the bay and the glow from the surrounding boats reflected in the water was just magical. We all slept comfortably on board. I had no trouble making us a nice breakfast in the well-appointed kitchen. We spent the remaining hours just lounging on deck watching the many sailboats and powerboats leaving the harbor for the day. It was a perfect relaxing stay. We will be coming back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a great experience

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

I am very happy with the our stay at the Yacht. We arrived ealier than we had expected and the staff worked with us to allow us to chec in early. Other places we have stayed in the past have always refused to allow this. The location was great for the wide age range we had with us. My 14 year old daughter and 5 year old son loved the experience staying in such a beautiful marina with tons of activities. There was something for everyone. Thank you for the great experience this is a place I would love to return to and will suggest to my family and friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review