reviews for: listing #85352 - Lake Lanier, Georgia House rental

Cabin on Lanier, with dock
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $195 /nt
    $895 - $1,195 /wk

sort by:

Great place

Review submitted: May 26, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

We had a great time at the lake and the house was all that we needed. The kids loved swimming in the lake by the dock. It was very quiet the whole time that we were there. The hot tub was great! The house was very clean and well kept.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fall Break

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

We live nearby and thought that spending time at the lake for our fall break would be a great way to relax. We booked this home and were pleased with the decision.

My husband met the owner in the afternoon and got a run down on the home, location of items in the home, and some information about nearby places to eat. The home was easy to find both from the street and the lake. By the time I arrived with the kids my husband had started unpacking and had our boat at the dock (normally kept at Port Royale). The dock was large enough to accommodate the owners boat (which is kept there) and our 21ft ski boat.

Our daughter loved riding in the paddle boat, and our son enjoyed using the canoe. There were also several lounge chairs on deck if you like to catch some rays. If you need a life jacket you can probably find one in your size (they had lots) we have our own. We also enjoyed the hot tub every night that we were there- It was CLEAN and sanitary.

The home was clean and comfortable. The kitchen was fully stocked with pots, pans and dishes. We enjoyed our meals on the deck overlooking the lake. They also had plenty of towels and extra blankets if needed.

The driveway is steep but not too bad. The home is not new, but is not showing its age in a bad way. It was nice, comfortable and we enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Long weekend rental

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

We rented the cabin for a long weekend, and we were pleased with the accommodations. The place was clean and we had no issues with bugs in the cabin. The hot tub worked fine and we used it on several nights. We enjoyed spending time at the dock, swimming and fishing.We rented the jet ski and even though it was an older model, it worked fine. We had a great time cruising around tubing.

The owner provided good service, meeting us at the agreed upon time to check in, and promptly refunding our deposit after our stay.

I would rent this cabin again, and I would recommend it a friend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect lake location for relaxation and fun

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

We loved the location. Jet ski, hot tub and WIFI was great. Nice tri-level provided
private bedrooms for everyone. There were games, fishing, tubing, etc.... Owner was very friendly and helpful. Great location for dining out, shopping and exploring nearby Lumpkin County.We did not see a single bug. The place was clean and the kitchen provided everything that we needed. We would love to rent this nice home again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Horrible Stay

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

My family and I rented this property and was very dissapointed; needless to say i should have followed my first mind. The pictures alone were very discouraging. However, there were no other properties available during the weekend we rented this property therefore, we settled. The home was beyond filthy and smelled like it had been closed up for a year. We immediately opened the living room patio glass doors just so that the "basememt" smell could air out. The furniture was filthy as if the cloth, dated couches, have never been steam cleamed. Bugs were all over the place. I get that its a "cabin" or "hut" as i would call it, but the bugs were as if the home had never been exterminated. The bed and bedding was cheap and dated, the kitchen was the size of a closet and the the kitchen drawers had food left over from a previous stay-absolutely gross. The owner stalked the home as if it were a mansion, and the outdated, half-functioning hot tub should be removed from the advertisement. The owner will tell you that he has a ton of "lake" activities for your enjoyment but will either want to charge and (not refund) your money or forget to tell you that the John Boat and paddle boat looks as if they were purchased from a garage sale and would serve better in the trash. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY OR TIME! Trust me, there are a lot of other properties you should consider that will be well worth your time, effort and money. Let the owner keep using this filthy home for him and his family- spare yours!

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Summer Vacation 2011

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

Our summer vacation at this cabin was excellent. Our family and my brother's family with kids from age 7 thru 20 had lots of fun swimming and fishing from the dock. We also rented the jet ski and had a blast tubing and knee boarding. The jet ski rental was resonable compared to what other places on the lake charge. We had no problems with any of the provided boat, canoe, or paddle boat. We brought kayaks with us, but the kids really enjoyed the paddle boat.

As far as bugs, and wasps, I think it's a little crazy not to expect to run into a few when staying in a cabin on a lake in the woods.

Everyone had such a great time that we have booked this summers family vacation here again. This year we are staying longer, because it was so hard to leave last year.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

cabin on lanier with dock

Review submitted: December 5, 2011   Date of arrival: October 16, 2011

I was very disappointed with our stay. There was problems with the master bathroom and it took several days for the owner to get back to us. There were alot of bugs- we were constantly spraying the house. We rented the jet ski's from the owner for $150.00 and we used it for maybe 5 minutes and the owner WOULD NOT work with us about getting some of our money back. There was a huge wasp nest on the roof. The house was dirty and I had to clean when we arrived. I left the house cleaner than when we got there. The boats and jet ski's are not registered so we could not go far and the row boat had a hole so we could not use it. I will not be coming back to this house ever again or recommend it to anyone. Someone should of told us that the driveway to the house was VERY steep. Yes the house had a hot tub but it did not work properly. The jets did not work. We went with the more expensive place because of the hot tub, boats, jet ski's, and paddle boat.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: This is our personal vacation home, not just a rental- it is very well kept as evidenced by other reviews and pictures. I meet each guest at the house prior to their stay for walk-through and approval. Every dishonest remark invented by Rich stems from the 1 Jet Ski, which I rented to them for less than half of any rental available from anyone. They ran into the dock, then asked for all the money back. There is an hour meter which reveals that they used it for more than the one day they paid for. There was no deposit, as they left an “uncashable” check instead of what was required per agreement. No wonder they left the house in such disrepair. They cleaned nothing.

As to “problems with the master bathroom”-There are no problems with the master bathroom. It functions normally and looks just as pictured (notice his lack of specifics). I am always available by cell phone to assist our guests.
As to “boats not registered”-Paddle boat, canoe and row boat require no registration and are provided free to our guests… yes, there is a “hole in the row boat”, it’s for a drain plug! Take out the plug, the boat sinks; put the plug in, the boat floats; we did not rent them our new motor boat, thankfully.
As to hot tub “jets did not work”- They left sand and mud and a plastic toy rake/shovel in it (it is not a kids’ sandbox) and lotion and chlorine granules spilled all over and not cleaned up. It had to be drained, cleaned thoroughly and refilled. We had to replace the filter and motor as a result. Perhaps this is why they did not call me about the hot tub when the jets stopped working. Additionally we have switched to Bromine sanitizer because spilled chlorine leaves a bleached ring even after the spill is cleaned up. We don’t want that again.
As to the “driveway very steep”- It’s somewhat steep. It gives us great views! No one has ever had trouble driving down it(including them). You can’t have much of a lake without hills to hold the water.
As to:“bugs, wasps”- There are no bugs in this house, and most of it has been newly renovated. Wasps don’t make nests on roofs; there is no wasp nest active or otherwise at our house.

I'm sorry that his brother in law did not come along as expected to split the cost, however this does not mean that we should offer amenities for free to compensate him, or be coerced into refunding money under the threat of a false review.
That about covers it. I won't rent to Richard B from Lakewood OH 44107.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great Family Time

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

My family had a great time. We wanted to be able to spend time with our children and grand children. There was plenty of room for everyone and the bedroom were perfect. The lake was just a few steps from the house and the views were unbelievable. We are looking forward to many more trips and plan on staying there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review