reviews for: listing #85377 - Pigeon Forge, Tennessee Cabin rental

FREE night at Hunker Down!!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Bluff Mountain
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $89 - $125 /nt
    $534 - $594 /wk
    $2,136 - $2,376 /mth

sort by:

Hunker down and stay forever!

Review submitted: July 21, 2014   Date of arrival: July 13, 2014

My husband, son and I just returned from our week long stay at this aptly named and beautifully appointed cabin. Mary is fantastic to work with and her cabin is just as wonderful as she is. From the gorgeous furnishings to the wonderful "guide book" (back road shortcuts were spot on!!!), she has thought of everything to make this cabin special. My son loved the jacuzzi (kid was all pruney and refused to get out) and the loft room (which he had all to himself) and we loved the pub table on the porch (nightly cut throat matches of spades and uno). And the one day of rain during our vacation meant we got to stay put and veg out to cable TV (FREE movies in HD) and play on the Wii! Truly we had a perfect vacation. And did I mention the wildlife you get to see? Raccoons and foxes visited us a few times and the boy thought it was the best thing. Ever! Husband was pretty stoked too. :P

Hunker Down is perfectly located on the mountain near enough to the sights and action of Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg (easy 15 minute drive..again SHORTCUTS) without having to stay on the main drag in an over priced hotel. And because of the kitchen and grill, we even saved some money by cooking at "home" rather than eating out every night! Hunker Down was our home away from home last week and we loved every minute of it. So much so that we didn't want to leave yesterday!

If you are looking for a quiet retreat nestled in the heart of all that Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg have to offer, without the hustle, bustle and noise of hordes of people, then this is the place you must stay! We definitely want to stay here again if Miss Mary will have us!! Thank you Mary for helping to make our vacation memorable!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I apologize for not responding sooner. It has been a bit nuts at work!

Thank you so much! Knowing a family enjoyed Hunker Down as much as I do truly made my day. However, I am jealous.... I have never seen a fox there!

You are most very definitely welcome to make Hunker Down your vacation destination again.

Our cleaner sent me the picture of the letter you left. Thank you so much for taking the time and writing it! I will get it from them when I get up there, block out the personal info, and add it to the binder.

Hope you mastered the tricks in your Spades Master competition! LOL (love that game).

Thank you again so much for your kind words and hope to hear back from you soon.

Regard,
Mary & Mason

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Rest and Relaxation in a Peaceful setting!

Review submitted: June 11, 2014   Date of arrival: June 4, 2014

The property was exactly as described. We enjoyed the quiet location yet we didn't have far to go for shops and activities.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

my wife my dog and I

Review submitted: May 22, 2014   Date of arrival: May 4, 2014

The place was as perfect as could be. It had a yard for our dog and the perfect seclusion for us. Every thing was as advertised and we would not only recommend but come back our selves. The hill leading to the cabin is not as bad as I've read and the other road through the trailer park was just up dated and worked just fine. The owner and maintenance man were wonderful people.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great time!

Review submitted: May 7, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

Cabin was nice & as shown in the pictures. Could have been a bit cleaner/fresher, but I would imagine it's a tough upkeep. Everything worked & we enjoyed staying there very much! The owners were very nice, helpful, & accessible. We would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great getaway cabin! The fireplace and hot tub are perfect for winter weather! The owners are great!

Review submitted: January 15, 2014   Date of arrival: January 10, 2014

This cabin is cozy, clean and rustic. We never left the cabin! If you love the imenities at home like big flat screen TVs in every room and wifi, this cabin has it! My husband and I played wii for the first time, and now we want one! It was fun. We read, I knitted, and we ate. The kitchen is just right for cooking and everything was very clean. :0) you need to bring a fire starting log (it was raining, so no kindling) and our 4-wheel drive was helpful to get to the cabin. The stairs are steep to the loft bedroom (if you have weak legs) but, this is the perfect place. It's close to all kinds of activities and shops that Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg have to offer, but we decided to stay in and do those things another time. We had the BEST anniversary and will definitely be going back. It is a simple cabin in the woods, with TV, wifi, netflix, wii, and a great hot tub, fireplace, and a great front-loading washer and dryer. We couldn't have been more pleased. We wish we could have stayed for a week instead of a weekend. And we could have brought our dog, and wish we would have.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: December 17, 2013   Date of arrival: December 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hunker Down! I highly recommend staying there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Peaceful!

Review submitted: November 25, 2013   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

Cabin was exactly as described. The owners must have updated the water because there was no smell at all for my family. It was a very cozy and comfortable cabin and felt like home. I have stayed in others where it was just plain uncomfortable. Wish we could have stayed longer and hopefully can book again in April. Thanks for considering pets as my lab Charlie loved smelling every inch of grass!! Oh and the electronics are great!! As I said, the other cabin I stayed in was in one of those "resorts" and I paid almost double and didn't even have a flat screen led! Great owners and great cabin. The location is a tad bit remote but I like it that way. We had no problems getting up or down the hills but they are steep so be mindful of that.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Yes ma'am.... Water system was upgraded in October 2013!

We are pleased Hunker Down met your expectations and our goal to make you feel at home and comfortable.

See you next year!

Regards,
Mary and Mason Pace

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Birthday Vacation

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 8, 2013

My friends and I came to Hunker Down for my 24th birthday. Besides some trouble upon arrival with the hot tub and new pipes in the Cabin (the people working on them were still there). We had a pleasurable stay. My 7 month old puppy enjoyed the yard and large deck while we were in the hot tub. We used the fire place every night and once everything with the hot tub was taken care of, we were in it almost every night.

My real only concern is the access to the cabin. If I had brought a car, I fear that I would not of been able to get to it easily. A few of the hills to the cabin were very steep. We did find a shorter way to the cabin with out taking the steep hill through the nearby trailer park through Wicks Ln. Was a little more bumpy, but it cut down the drive by 2-3 miles.

Regardless, we had loads of fun and would consider coming back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Getaway trip

Review submitted: October 8, 2013   Date of arrival: September 26, 2013

Cabin was very nice we had a good stay everything was in the cabin we needed, but the water was bad the odor was like rotten eggs from well water and was not fixed while we was there. Used bottle water for everything other than that was good vacation

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you for your review. We have put in 2 systems since purchasing in 2005 and then told it was the water heaters, which were replaced in November. Couple of months ago had the anode rods removed to eliminate some of the odor.

A new 3rd system was installed on October 8th. It is Culligan and has a chlorination system which is guaranteed by them to remove ALL odor from the water.

Regards,
Mary Pace

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hunker Down

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 12, 2013

Great place; central enough for motorcycle rides through TN, NC, then come back to the quiet serene cabin with butterflies flying around the porch and the mama turkey with her babies casually grazing through the yard. Various great activities to do in both Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. All the amenities of home, very comfortable, will come back/rent again when in the area. Great communication with owners.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you and I am so glad you enjoyed your vacation at Hunker Down. Also for confirming to my husband that I was not crazy when 15+ turkeys came into the yard. He is yet to see a group of them!

PS We were going to bring the bike next week to the cabin but it is booked :(. Will try again next time for the cabin. Thank you for all the great maps. See you next time.

Regards,
Mary and Mason

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

bdub

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

had an excellent time here. plenty of room for just 2. nice hot tub on back deck... only problem we had was the water smells terrible. very very nice place with all the things you would need or use at home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Happy you enjoyed Hunker Down!

As soon as I received your review I was on the phone with the company who services the water equipment. They went out yesterday. The timer was off 8 hours so this could have caused the smell due to it regenerating during the day instead of at night when there is low use. In November we replaced the water heaters because the old water heater's anode rods, which are coated with magnesium, caused the smell. The plumber told me he removed these rods from the new water heaters.... Yesterday, the well equipment folks advised they were still in. They went out there today and removed them.

The cabin is on an artisan well and because it is on a well will have a slight sulfur odor unlike "city" water.

Thank you for letting me know about this!

Regards,
Mary Pace

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Hunker Down

Review submitted: September 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

This was our second year back to TN. This time was for our 1 year wedding anniversary. The rd to the cabin in very rough and I'm sure we need new brakes now. We didn't have any cell service inside the cabin itself.. which is both a positive and negative. The cabin was very cozy and we loved that it was pet friendly. Although, a water softener would be a good investment for the cabin. Well water is very strong. Very affordable and owners gave great advice and directions! Thanks again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Absolutely Amazing!

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

We LOVED our stay at Hunker Down! Our children loved it too! It was so nice to be out of the city & away from the "resort" cabins but still close enough to enjoy all that Pigeon Forge & Gatlinburg have to offer. This cabin offers so many amenities & extras that most others do not & that made our stay so much more enjoyable. Everything was exactly as described. We are looking forward to staying here again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Jennifer! Wonderful to hear about your vacation. Thank you so much for your kind words on Hunker Down. We try to provide the amenities while still keeping it affordable for families. I was hoping to get there in time to meet you but we got a late start. Hope to hear from you soon. Regards, Mary and Mason Pace

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Another GREAT Get-Away!!

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

Thanks Marian and Mason for making your Smoky Mountain cabin available on VRBO! Deb and I had a great time staying at the cabin. What a beautiful setting, well landscaped, quite and private. We easily found the cabin just a short distance from Pigeon Forge. It is so neat and clean with everything you need for a carefree vacation! We really loved spending time on the wrap around porch with its swing and hot tub. It was just right for us and we would recommend Hunker Down to anyone looking for the perfect Pigeon Forge experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dean and Deb. We are so happy that you had a great vacation and found our little hideaway enjoyable and relaxing! That is our goal. We hope to hear back from you soon! Regards, Mary and Mason

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Couldn't have been any better! Perfect.

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2012

When we first arrived at the Hunker Down cabin we were thrilled at how everything was exactly as it appeared in the listing and then some. You will have EVERYTHING you need, especially in the kitchen, it is stocked with everything you could possibly need. We rarely left the cabin, we didn't need to. All of the decor is charming and the cabin is perfect for relaxing. Mary was so helpful and went above and beyond for anything we needed. We are already planning a trip back in the next couple of years, hopefully we will make it back soon, missing it already! The stay couldn't have been any better, it was perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Couldn't have been any better! Perfect.

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2012

When we first arrived at the Hunker Down cabin we were thrilled at how everything was exactly as it appeared in the listing and then some. You will have EVERYTHING you need, especially in the kitchen, it is stocked with everything you could possibly need. We rarely left the cabin, we didn't need to. All of the decor is charming and the cabin is perfect for relaxing. Mary was so helpful and went above and beyond for anything we needed. We are already planning a trip back in the next couple of years, hopefully we will make it back soon, missing it already! The stay couldn't have been any better, it was perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful cabin

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

Dawn, Garek, Donna, Faye & Hope

Mary & Mason, Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful cabin! This is the perfect way to relax & enjoy our vacation! (in which we all needed!) It was a very homey feeling & beautifully decorated, words can’t describe how nice it all is! Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We relaxed, kicked back and hunkered down!

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

Cathy, John and Hollywags

Mary and Mason! We relaxed, kicked back and hunkered down! We appreciated all of your homey and cozy touches. We felt right at home. We stayed relatively close. John has a knack for finding secluded and serene setting in nature & we believe we explored some of the most beautiful spots in The Great Smoky Mtns. Thank you again for opening your home to us. Warm regards.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was the perfect “jumping off point”

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

Paul, Betsy & Angel *paw print*

We thoroughly enjoyed out stay in your cozy cabin. It was the perfect “jumping off point” for some may fun adventures – lots of exploring, fly fishing, hiking in SMNP, the 8-mile arts & crafts loop, trips to the Apple Barn and a show at the Dixie Stampede! It was also the effect place to come back to in the evening & enjoy the deck, hot tub, Wii and Netflix! We hope to be able to come back this way again someday!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

All the comforts of home

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 22, 2012

Ted, Jessica, Sophie & Allie

We enjoyed our time at your cabin. All the comforts of home. The dogs enjoyed the area as well.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Cabin

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 22, 2012

Stan & Jackie

We really enjoyed ourselves. Great Cabin. Fun to drive back to. We’re already planning to come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you so much for the perfect weekend getaway!

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 20, 2012

Dustin & Sumita

Thank you so much for the perfect weekend getaway!! Your home is so special and allowed us to relax, sit back & enjoy. You have every amenity you could wish for on vacations. Thanks again for sharing your home! Can’t wait until next time *smiley face*.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We really enjoyed this cozy cabin!!

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 13, 2012

Keith & Laura

We really enjoyed this cozy cabin!! We look forward to staying here again. Owner note: Keith and Laura returned 3 weeks later for another weekend.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a blast

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 5, 2012

Joe & Tina
Thanks for allowing us to celebrate me turning 50 in your beautiful home. We had a blast. Love the layout. We will treasure this memory. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The cabin is amazing!

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: January 30, 2012

Mitchell, Becky & Braylin

The cabin is amazing! We had a great time here. Thanks for everything! You made our trip fun and stress free! We plan on staying again in the future. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This cabin is beautiful!

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: December 4, 2011

Corrina and Mark

This cabin is beautiful! We had a great stay. Here for my husband’s birthday weekend. Thanks so much for keeping the place so nice and keeping you’re affordable. Merry Christmas.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely Amazing!

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 26, 2011

Kelly, Dave, Gabriel & Gracie

Absolutely Amazing! This is exactly what we needed – too bad such a short trip. We are already plotting and planning our next trip. Probably for April. The babies had such a wonderful time exploring. At least as much as their protective momma will let them. Mary & Mason you have created a perfect oasis in the mountains. Whaley’s was awesome – got steaks and hot dogs tonight. Will send pictures and refer EVERYONE we know *smiley face*. Can’t wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks so much for sharing Hunker Down with us

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 25, 2011

Thanks so much for sharing Hunker Down with us, Mary and Mason! My husband and I had a wonderful time exploring the Smoky Mountains and relaxing in the cabin in the evenings. I really enjoyed the hot tub on the chilly nights and my husband couldn’t get enough of the MLB channel *smiley face*. Happy Thanksgiving.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hunker Down is a very special place.

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

Hunker Down is a very special place. We did just that. Never felt a need to really go anywhere. We slept, ate and were lazy as could be. We will be returning. Thank you! Happy Holidays!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome time – Peaceful, quiet and beautiful

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 31, 2011

Awesome time – Peaceful, quiet and beautiful. We plan to come again next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This was perfect!!!

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

This was perfect!!! Mary you were a dream. I don’t think I’ll ever get my husband to the beach again as he is in love with this place. Thank you for making this so awesome!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved our stay here

Review submitted: April 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 16, 2011

We loved our stay here. Our only wish was that we had time to stay longer.; I loved all your “wood” decorations especially, the deer over the fireplace. Thanks for sharing your cabin with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to Hunker Down

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

This place is a little piece of heaven...great views...close to everything and between the hot tub, view and games we didn't need to leave for anything. Mary is the nicest person you'll ever meet and great to work with...very helpful!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much Carrie for taking the time to review your stay at Hunker Down. I am so pleased that the cabin and our customer service met your expectations! Regards, Mary

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Weekend getaway

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

My husband and I arrived Friday, January 13, 2012 and departed on Monday, January 16, 2012. The three days at Hunkerdown was very relaxing. The cabin was very clean and comfortable. The drive to the cabin was paved the whole way. We enjoyed the hot tub and the indoor jacuzzi. We only left the cabin twice. I highly recommend Hunkerdown to anyone looking for a quiet getaway.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We were very glad to accommodate your relaxation needs! Mason and I love to stock up on food and not leave while we are there. Would look forward to having ya'll back!

Regards,
Mary & Mason Pace

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The cabin was amazing!

Review submitted: December 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 25, 2011

We are planning on coming back in April sometime! I did have an issue with driving down the steep roads but I covered my eyes (I wasn’t driving :o) and I made it. The kids had such a great time! Thank you so much!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you Kelly and I am so glad you had a great time! We look forward to having you back in the spring. Have a wonderful holiday season! Mason and Mary Pace

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spectacular cabin, location and mountain views!

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

Forget 'rustic', this cabin, close to Pigeon Forge, Gatlinburg, Dollywood and the Great Smokey Mountain National Park is modern, inviting, full of charm and VERY clean. Being from Florida, I was concerned about the roads since I stayed in January. No worries - they are paved, and very convenient to all the sights in the nearby towns.
It was so quiet and relaxing! Again, this was the winter season, but that made the views even better. The cabin layout is ideal; the master bedroom and bath are in a loft, with a large sleeper-sofa in the living room. There are two hot tubs (inside and out), and two baths (upstairs and down). The fireplace worked well, as did the TV's, DVD player and Wii gaming system.
With all this, we skipped many of our planned day trips and stayed close to the cabin. Walking up the steep hills in the neighborhood was very rewarding. In the daytime the mountain vistas are awesome, and on clear nights you can see the lights from the nearby towns. Since I've stayed in hotels in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge before, we wanted to skip the traffic and tourist traps and just relax. This turned out to be a great plan, and you will leave with far less stress than when you arrived!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

My escape from reality

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2010

I and a friend escaped from work for a few days and booked our stay at Hunker Down. The cabin was just darling. The living room was warm and cozy. The kitchen had everything we needed when we were to tired to eat out, and the bed was so comfortable, I slept like a bear. In the mornings, we sat on the porch, read our books, while enjoying the fresh mountain air. Everything was perfect. I can hardly wait to plan my next escape. I am definintely going back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful time!

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2011

My family and I had such a wonderful time in the cabin,it was so homey and decorated so cute. The location was perfect for all our travels.Thank you for all the great advice on what to do in the area. We especially enjoyed Cades Cove,white water rafting,ziplining and of course the Apple Barn Yum! We also appreciate your helpfulness in certain matters. We hope to return again soon.

Love Lorrie,Kevin,Elizabeth and Caroline

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nothing short of PERFECT!

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

The only thing we had any regrets over about this cabin was the fact that we had to leave. It was perfect in every way from the cleanliness, to the flat screen tv's strategically placed throughout. The jacuzzi in the living room could not have been more romantic, the bed was extremely comfortable and the surroundings were almost too quiet. Mary (the owner) was a pleasure to deal with and easy to work any issues out that may arise. We would not hesitate to stay here again and hope we have an opportunity to do so.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hunker Down was fabulous!!!

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

Hunker Down was fabulous!!! Better than home. Very cozy & clean. Owners have done a great job. There is a guide book that tells you where everything is in the cabin and how it works, as well suggestions of things to do and places to go. We took the water tubing suggestion and Whaley's Market. Both are awesome! We enjoyed coffee in the mornings in the rockers and gin rummy tounaments on the porch one evening. We were also able to take our pup. He loves TN now! We will definitely be coming back!! Thank You!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Clean!

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed the cabin thoroughly. It is very clean, has all the tools you need to cook out for a cozy night indoors, and has 3 nice flat screen TV's - perfect for not missing a moment of the football game! The jacuzzi and hot tub are also nice additions and are private. The cabin is furnished with nice furniture inside and out. And it's only minutes from the center of town.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

My Family and friends had so much fun in this cabi

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

We are probably coming back next summer! Thank you so much! Love Barb, Jess, Ansley, Donna & Sue.

Love the Rocking Chairs nice to rock & read. Very quiet here. Love the fireflys. Enjoyed the time hear. B Hampton

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great time.

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

Great time. Cades Cove was spectacular. Cabin is like a home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved this cabin!

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 17, 2011

Review submitted: September 23, 2011 Date of arrival: August 17, 2011

We loved this cabin! It It feels just like home, but Better! than you so much for all the helpful tidbits on places to go & thinks to do. We went to the park one day & tubed Piegeon River another. And yes this portchh is perfect for coffee in the morning and rummy game in the evening. Our pup now loves TN too. Thanks for the wonderful stay! Anne, Jon & Tuck

We recommend:Whaley's store @ corner of Goose Gap and Walden's Creek Road, River Rat tubing in Townsend.

NOTE: This guest did post an on-line review but wanted to make sure their recommendation were posted for future guests!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This was the most beautiful cabin I've ever stayed

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

This was the most beautiful cabin I've ever stayed in. This was the most beautiful cabin I've ever stayed in.
We all had such a great time! The decorations and the furniture are absolutely beautiful and quirky. Loved the peace and quiet. We will definately come back soon :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our second visit - Looking forward to more!

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 25, 2011

I agree with everyone here that raves about Hunker Down's comfort, cleanliness and creature comforts. The location is perfect too, and there are so many things to do. With perfect weather and the leaves just starting to change, this trip we cooked out and hiked many of trails that start nearby. If you time it right, you can see some incredible sunrises and sunsets. Thanks to the owners for the suggestion. It was a great alternative to the crowds!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Post stay at Hunker Down

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

The cabin was very nice, we had a good time while we were there. The decor was very cozy. The road to the cabin was steep and narrow for our vehicle, but we managed.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful, clean, and comfortable!,

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 24, 2011

What a gorgeous setting for a cabin, and it is more than a cabin. It is a little home away from home in the mountains. We had an incredible time, and enjoyed ourselves immensely. The decor is lovely, and the love that has been put into this home is very evident. Comfortable bed and furniture, lots of kitchen utensils, pans, and other necessary items. Three flat screen televisions made my husband extremely happy. We have never stayed in a cabin before, and this was so much fun. Swings and rockers on the porch rested us in the morning and the evening. I can't recommend this lovely place more highly!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful, clean, and comfortable!,

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: October 12, 2011

What a gorgeous setting for a cabin, and it is more than a cabin. It is a little home away from home in the mountains. We had an incredible time, and enjoyed ourselves immensely. The decor is lovely, and the love that has been put into this home is very evident. Comfortable bed and furniture, lots of kitchen utensils, pans, and other necessary items. Three flat screen televisions made my husband extremely happy. We have never stayed in a cabin before, and this was so much fun. Swings and rockers on the porch rested us in the morning and the evening. I can't recommend this lovely place more highly!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Post stay at Hunker Down

Review submitted: October 7, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

The cabin was very nice, we had a good time while we were there. The decor was very cozy. The road to the cabin was steep and narrow for our vehicle, but we managed.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you for posting a review Tabatha. Glad you had a good time and hope to see you back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our second visit - Looking forward to more!

Review submitted: October 1, 2011   Date of arrival: September 25, 2011

I agree with everyone here that raves about Hunker Down's comfort, cleanliness and creature comforts. The location is perfect too, and there are so many things to do. With perfect weather and the leaves just starting to change, this trip we cooked out and hiked many of trails that start nearby. If you time it right, you can see some incredible sunrises and sunsets. Thanks to the owners for the suggestion. It was a great alternative to the crowds!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you again Mark! I am tickled that you liked the changes since ya'lls last visit. I really wished our paths would have crossed as we were leaving and you were coming in.

You need to let me know where the trails are by the cabin.

Glad Jake liked the treats we left him!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This was the most beautiful cabin I've ever stayed

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

This was the most beautiful cabin I've ever stayed in. We all had such a great time! The decorations and the furniture are absolutely beautiful and quirky. Loved the peace and quiet. We will definately come back soon :) Tara S, Candia R, Michelle B, Jane C

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a awesome time

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 30, 2011

We had a AWESOME time much needed break from our busy lives. Cabin was very clean and nice. Made a bunch of memories we will never forget. Thanks Vito & Kristen. PS Hills were killer on a motorcycle

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cozy Cabin

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

Cozy Cabin, Spectacular scenery, good company, lots of memories. Mary & Jeremy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook comment

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

Had a wonderful time. Very comforable. Thanks for being so helpful. T Sander

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook comment

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

Great time. Cades Cove was spectacular. Cabin is like a home. Howard, Helen, Jasmine & Rascal

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook Comment - B Hampton - 2 entries

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 19, 2011

My Family and friends had so much fun in this cabin! We are probably coming back next summer! Thank you so much! Love Barb, Jess, Ansley, Donna & Sue.

Love the Rocking Chairs nice to rock & read. Very quiet here. Love the fireflys. Enjoyed the time hear. B Hampton

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We Took The Advice . . .

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

The owners of this property advise you to "Hunker Down" and relax and we did just that and had a wonderful time! This is an outstanding cabin for two folks . . . more if you don't mind being really close. We were happy with just the two of us in the cabin but would not have wanted to share with four more people! But that's just us. The amenitites on this cabin are First Class! The queen bed in the loft is very comfortable with excellent bed linens. We slept well from the first night and that is not always the case when we vacation! The hot tub on the porch was top-notch and worked well. The rockers there were inviting as well and were great to welcome the sunrise with a cup of fresh coffee. Speaking of coffee... "Hunker Down" offers you a choice of a standard drip brewer or, for the K-Cup addicts, a Keurig maker as well. The other kitchen amenities were also very good. The only thing I found would have been better is a small fry pan for cooking eggs. It's hard to scramble two eggs softly in a 12" skillet. The entertainment ameneties here were far better than I ever expected! I am one of those gadget freaks and I was thrilled! The living room offers a 42" Vizio flat panel TV with Comcast HD cable and on-demand, a Vizio Blu-Ray player with several blu-ray movies and a Wii Game system! The "Mountain Room" is where you enter the cabin. That is a long narrow room with a futon bed and a 32" flat panel TV mounted on the wall. There, too you will find a blu-ray player and a Comcast Cable box (non-HD) as well as a new high-efficenty washer and dryer. Topping it all off is free Wi-Fi and unlimited local and long distance calling. The owners are excellent to work with. All duing the rental process, they provided excellent commuincation and information often responding to e-mail messages in an hour or two. Fortunately, there were absoutely no problems to resolve so I cannot comment on how they would handle those but I have every expectation they would bend over backward to be sure their customers have a great stay. Great cabin location, outstanding amenities, excellent owners and a great rate . . . I can't think of much more you could ask for in a cabin rental! If you can't "Hunker Down" and relax here, ain't no cabin get-away gonna loosen you up!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review. I appreciate your praise and recommendations. There will be a smaller skillet in the cabin! Honestly, I thought I had 3 sizes, but it will be corrected. Without our guests input we cannot improve for the future!

We have stayed with a total of 4 adults and was comfy. I do agree with you. We have the max at 5 but the systems don't allow for you to elaborate between the recommended number of adults and children.

Thank you again and I truly appreciate your recommendations!

Regards,
Mason and Mary Pace

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hunker Down was fabulous!!!

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

By Anne Montgomery (Waynesburg, KY)
Hunker Down was fabulous!!! Better than home. Very cozy & clean. Owners have done a great job. There is a guide book that tells you where everything is in the cabin and how it works, as well suggestions of things to do and places to go. We took the water tubing suggestion and Whaley's Market. Both are awesome! We enjoyed coffee in the mornings in the rockers and gin rummy tounaments on the porch one evening. We were also able to take our pup. He loves TN now! We will definitely be coming back!! Thank You!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest review from our other site

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

By Anne Montgomery (Waynesburg, KY)
Hunker Down was fabulous!!! Better than home. Very cozy & clean. Owners have done a great job. There is a guide book that tells you where everything is in the cabin and how it works, as well suggestions of things to do and places to go. We took the water tubing suggestion and Whaley's Market. Both are awesome! We enjoyed coffee in the mornings in the rockers and gin rummy tounaments on the porch one evening. We were also able to take our pup. He loves TN now! We will definitely be coming back!! Thank You!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nothing short of PERFECT!

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

The only thing we had any regrets over about this cabin was the fact that we had to leave. It was perfect in every way from the cleanliness, to the flat screen tv's strategically placed throughout. The jacuzzi in the living room could not have been more romantic, the bed was extremely comfortable and the surroundings were almost too quiet. Mary (the owner) was a pleasure to deal with and easy to work any issues out that may arise. We would not hesitate to stay here again and hope we have an opportunity to do so.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow! Thank you so much. Reviews like this make the work soooo worth it. I am so pleased that you had a great vacation. Let us know when you want to head back to the Smokies!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderfu time!

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2011

My family and I had such a wonderful time in the cabin,it was so homey and decorated so cute. The location was perfect for all our travels.Thank you for all the great advice on what to do in the area. We especially enjoyed Cades Cove,white water rafting,ziplining and of course the Apple Barn Yum! We also appreciate your helpfulness in certain matters. We hope to return again soon.Love Lorrie,Kevin,Elizabeth and Caroline Polak

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow! You all really did it all. You need to let me know how the zipline was. I am so happy that you all had a great vacation and especially for the little one's birthday. I would love to have a picture of you vacation to add to our scrapbook.

I really appreciate your enthusiasm about coming the GSM and our phone calls discussing what to do!

We will be happy to have ya'll back!! Give me a ring anytime. Ya'll were the best.

Right back atcha!
Marian and Mason

Add on: Miss Caroline, Thank you so much for the wonderful personalized "Thank you note". We have put it in our guest information book!! I am pleased that your mom and dad chose our cabin to celebrate your birthday!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest email review

Review submitted: July 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 4, 2011

The cabin was really comfy and we really enjoyed it. Hope we left it in an acceptable condition. It was great and when we come back we will be contacting you to see if it is available.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular cabin, location and mountain views!

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

Forget 'rustic', this cabin, close to Pigeon Forge, Gatlinburg, Dollywood and the Great Smokey Mountain National Park is modern, inviting, full of charm and VERY clean. Being from Florida, I was concerned about the roads since I stayed in January. No worries - they are paved, and very convenient to all the sights in the nearby towns.
It was so quiet and relaxing! Again, this was the winter season, but that made the views even better. The cabin layout is ideal; the master bedroom and bath are in a loft, with a large sleeper-sofa in the living room. There are two hot tubs (inside and out), and two baths (upstairs and down). The fireplace worked well, as did the TV's, DVD player and Wii gaming system.
With all this, we skipped many of our planned day trips and stayed close to the cabin. Walking up the steep hills in the neighborhood was very rewarding. In the daytime the mountain vistas are awesome, and on clear nights you can see the lights from the nearby towns. Since I've stayed in hotels in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge before, we wanted to skip the traffic and tourist traps and just relax. This turned out to be a great plan, and you will leave with far less stress than when you arrived!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I are very pleased that you had a great vacation and was able to enjoy the winter environment and the cabin! Please let us know when you would like to come back. We will give you a repeat guest discount! Thanks again, Marian and Mason

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

My escape from reality

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2010

I and a friend escaped from work for a few days and booked our stay at Hunker Down. The cabin was just darling. The living room was warm and cozy. The kitchen had everything we needed when we were to tired to eat out, and the bed was so comfortable, I slept like a bear. In the mornings, we sat on the porch, read our books, while enjoying the fresh mountain air. Everything was perfect. I can hardly wait to plan my next escape. I am definintely going back.

Owners response: Thank you Liz for your review! We appreciate you comments and very pleased that the cabin accommodated your goals! So...where are you going to hike next time? Can't wait to have you back. Regards, Marian and Mason

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review