reviews for: listing #85419 - Mission Beach, California Condo rental

Wonderful NEW Family Retreat w/ Patio, steps to the beach!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  South Mission Beach
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $195 - $275 /nt
    $1,295 - $2,485 /wk

sort by:

Great place!

Review submitted: July 9, 2014   Date of arrival: June 29, 2014

This is a great place for families! I had my hubby and two teenagers with me and this place was perfect. It was clean and spotless upon arrival and very comfortable. As other people commented, the parking is very tight but not impossible. We rented bikes for the week and ended up either walking or biking everywhere to visit the shops and restaurants. There is some airplane noise, but I'm not sure you'd be able to avoid it completely anywhere on Mission Beach. I will also point out that it seemed like the area/rentals north of Belmont Park had more of a 'party' atmosphere. The area south (where this place is located) seemed to be more families, which was perfect for us. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. As a matter of fact, my hubby already wants to start planning for next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

perfect location

Review submitted: July 7, 2014   Date of arrival: May 20, 2014

we had a fabulous trip in San Diego. The house was nice and clean and meeting all our expectation. The location of the place was great (just steps away from the beach, short drive to seaworld, etc). The bedrooms are in good size, bed in the master bedroom is comfortable. I love the little hallway space area inside the master bedroom leading to the washroom esp when we have our little one with us. we can use the bathroom and the area outside the bathroom without waking our son who is sleeping in the bedroom. The owner is so considerate too to have some baby gears in the house, such as the highchair and eating utensil, pack n play (I won't need to bring ours if I know in advance though).

Anyways we are very satisfied with our stay in this place and would highly recommend it to our friends

thanks

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: June 29, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

Our vacation in San Diego and the house were wonderful. The vacation home absolutely met the descriptions and pictures we saw online, it was great!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

EXCELLENT PROPERTY

Review submitted: May 2, 2014   Date of arrival: April 18, 2014

We spent a week in this property and were more than satisfied with what we found. The property was a 30mt walk from the beach through a quiet residential area, the house itself was very clean and well equipped. We found some nice places to eat both breakfast in the morning and dinner in the evening close by. I would have no problem renting this property in the future, the owners were more than helpful in answering any questions we had and providing us with all we needed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spring breaK

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

Had visited PB the previous year and wanted to return for Spring Break. Had a wonderful time and the distance to the beach was perfect. Loved having coffee on the porch every morning.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

good place and location

Review submitted: March 31, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

Enjoyed the weather, location and unit. The unit is as advertised. My only complaint is being under the flight path at times.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Condo in a great area

Review submitted: March 16, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

My wife and I recently spent a week in San Diego, a way to escape the cold of the Northern Winter. We discovered Pacific Sands Vacation Rentals through a web search and were very pleased when we arrived.
The Condo is located in a great location, with the Ocean beach just steps away from the front door. The Condo itself was very clean and very comfortable. It truly felt like a home away from home. We also enjoyed the location based on how close it was to all of the attractions we wanted to check out.
The Condo was equipped with everything we could have asked for, given that we wanted to cook a few meals at home and relax on the patio.
I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking to relax near the beach in San Diego.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Tucson travelers

Review submitted: December 8, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2013

Overall, our experience was very positive. There were two couples that shared the unit. The location was great. Five minutes to Sea World and about 20 minutes to the San Diego Zoo. The Mission Beach area has many great restaurants and we ate at several of them.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

3 generations on vacation

Review submitted: November 13, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

location is great 3 houses to ocean and block to the bay
house clean when we arrived and had all essentials u need in a house
linens were nice and beds comfortable
we found a bakery and mini market and pizza place within 3 blocks of house
parking is difficult at mission beach so u have to park on property
we rented chevy cruz and had 12 inches on each side when we backed into property but all houses in this area have tight parking
pretty central location
able to get to airport, la jolla, torey pines, ocean beach area
when u go make sure u go to capistrano monument
beautiful views of san diego
my favorite place
and everyone u see is rollerblading, jogging or biking

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great beachside property

Review submitted: September 29, 2013   Date of arrival: September 12, 2013

Situated just a short stroll from both the beach and the bay, this apartment was perfect for our stay in San Diego. It had everything we needed, included all beach needs (towels, boards, and sand play equipment). The front patio was perfect for evening BBQs. There were a range of shops and cafes within walking distance, including a great take out Mexican. The location was easy to get into the city (fifteen to twenty minutes) and just five minutes to Seaworld. communication with the owner was excellent in the lead up to our stay. They also provided a contact number in case there were issues during the stay. There are two drawbacks worth mentioning(which were relatively minor). the first is that the apartment is under the flight path, so it is noisy particularly outside. However, it was not very obvious inside, or later at night. Our two year old also loved looking at the planes. The parking for the apartment is also very tight, even for a small SUV. It is doable, but required a lot of effort and turns. I would definitely recommend this apartment, particularly if you want to combine the sights of San Diego with the beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy beach retreat

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Just spent 1 week at this beautiful beach condo on Capistrano, South Mission Beach. Away from the crowds in central Mission Beach, just on the east side of Strandway on the little court of Capistrano. Clean, modern, roomy. Perfectly stocked with everything you would need for a week of doing nothing but ride bikes (no bikes but we rented them) on the boardwalk, sit on the front porch and read, or hang out at the beach. 2 car parking, but let me warn you, it is a TIGHT fit. Tandem spaces, you have to back in. We parked our Prius and only left once so it wasn't that much of an ordeal, but if you have an SUV or a larger car, it won't be pretty trying to park here. We are long time "Zonies" and the kids are grown so we don't do a lot of the tourist attractions, have done it all, but we always have fun at Belmont Park which is walking distance. We don't eat out much but there are plenty of local restaurants along the boardwalk which are crowded and expensive! Are planning to return next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great beach & bay condo

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

Great location steps from Mission Beach ocean and 2 blocks from Mission Bay. South end of Mission Beach is quieter and less traffic, but still dclose enough to more activity if you want it. Very clean and well maintained. Property managers, Pacific Sands, Nicole, did excellant job of service and availability. Location was minutes to downtown San Diego, Coronado, LaJolla and north beach towns and 5 minutes to Sea World. We preferred being slightly off the boardwalk rather than right on it with hundreds of people walking and biking by and thus enjoyed the sunny patio. Also nice to return the rental car to the airport in a 15 minute drive. Carport in rear will only allow mid-sze car or smaller. We would highly recommend this property and will come again. We especially enjoyed a classic sunset on the ocean while dining at World Famous restaurant on the beach in Pacific Beach.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice,clean, quiet place - good location

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 17, 2013

I stayed here for a week with my husband and our 2 kids (4 and 6). The house was very clean and comfortable with everything we needed. The pictures and description were very accurate. The parking spot is tight as others have mentioned - but we managed to park our mid sized car without problem by backing in (with a bit of back and forth). One review mentioned the plane noise. The whole of Mission Beach is on the flight path, so you can hear planes, but we did not find it bothersome, and it didn't affect our sleep or enjoyment of the place at all. The house is on a quiet street but so nice to be so close to the beach. 5 minutes from Sea world, 45 mins from Legoland, and 20 minutes from the zoo - it was a great home base for our day trips. Property manager was prompt, organized and courteous. We would definitely stay here again if we are back in San Diego. We found a great children's playground at Mission Bay Park (at Clairmont) about a 10 minute drive away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Home and Location

Review submitted: November 23, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

We had a great vacation at this mission beach house. The house is in a great location, with the beautiful beach and bay on either side of you and plenty of activates, bars and restaurants close by. The photo's and listing very accurately describe the property and i would have no problems recommending it. The owners Pacific Sands Vacations were a pleasure to deal with and and helped us with all our queries.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mission Beach Condo

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: October 2, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in San Diego very much. The condo is close to the beach and within walking distance to a few pizza places and Belmont Park. The place was very clean and well maintained. The kitchen has everything you need for meal preparation. Plenty of bath towels, beach towels, paper towels and t.p. on hand, too. The main drawbacks were parking and lack of air conditioning. The two parking spots in front of the condo were taken up by one car that had obviously been parked there for quite some time, leaving us to wiggle into a tight carport in back. Parking on Mission Beach is at a premium so this is something to consider. When we made our plans to rent this unit, I never even thought about air conditioning being an issue. It was unseasonably warm during our stay and the place was quite hot when we returned in the evening. There are two small floor fans in the unit that helped. Frequent planes taking off from the nearby airport were a noise issue if the windows were open. Everything in SD is within a 10 minute drive from this location, which is a big plus. A second television would be nice as well.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Summer Vacation July 2012

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this property. Parking was extremely tight. We could not park in front at all. We understand that it was the 4th of July week. I would recommend another couch or chair in the living room. Couch was not big enough for family of four. Everything else was very nice, close to beach and restaurants and shopping. We had a great stay and would recommend this property to all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome condo!!

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

We rented this condo for a week and it was everything it was promised and more. Such a cute place so close to both the beach and the bay. All other vacationers around us were quiet and friendly. The condo was in excellent condition and the place was very clean.

It is within walking distance to the boardwalk-like park as well as a few markets and restaurants. It is 5 minutes from Sea World and about 15 from the zoo.

The property is maintained by Pacific Sands Vacation who answered all of our questions right away and were extremely helpful. I would highly recommend this condo to anyone looking for a great vacation spot in a quiet area "away from it all" while being close to "it all"!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic place!

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: February 13, 2012

We loved our stay here. It was so clean, very comfortable and had everything we needed. We loved being able to just walk or bike everywhere. We hardly had to get in the car. Thanks for a great stay!! The place was also fairly child proof, our very young child did quite well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2012

Me and a friend were looking for somewhere to base ourselves midweek which had more of a homely appeal than 2 hotel rooms. This place was perfect for our needs. The beds were as comfortable as beds can be. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, cooking facilities, TV, BBQ area, literally a stones throw from the beach, what more could we have wanted! If we’re in the San Diego area again we will book this same place again for sure.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Adorable Beach House

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 25, 2012

We loved this 2 bedroom beach house. It is so cute with its older house charm but completely updated finishes. It was perfect for me, my husband and our 18 year old daughter. It is very close to the beach but far enough away to have a little privacy and peace and quiet. The vegetation on the west side of the patio sheltered us from the cool ocean breeze and also provided nice shade and privacy. The neighbors are friendly and quite funny. The location of the house near the end of the peninsula makes it quieter but still close to lots of shopping. There are a ton of cute shops all along Mission Blvd. and up towards Pacific Beach off of Garnet. We took daily walks down the boardwalk or on the beach. It was safe enough for my daughter to venture out on a few shopping trips on her own. We would definitely rent this home again. The management was excellent, polite and friendly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2012

This condo was a perfect getaway for me & my husband along with our teenage daughter and her girlfriend. We were less than a two minute walk from the beach. We enjoyed the courtyard for coffee in the morning and cocktails in the evening. The surrounding neighborhood was quiet and friendly. If you like fish tacos you will find excellent fish tacos at Roberto's . . just a 10 minute walk from the condo.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Terrific location and value!

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

Our family of 4 spent a week here and loved every minute! The condo is so close to the ocean that we could walk barefoot to the beach, yet the street was quiet and off the beaten path. Everything was in great condition, and we appreciated the good internet connection. We particularly loved the big patio--the tiles warmed up during the day and made a perfect sunbathing spot. The kids enjoyed the boogie boards that were in the condo, and my husband and I enjoyed having our own big bathroom with lovely changing area and shower. Highly recommended and great value for your money!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A home away from home!

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 6, 2012

This was a super place to stay while in San Diego! Excellent location - close to attractions, dining, shopping and only a block off the beach. Quaint, extremely well appointed and very clean. It was wonderful to have a "home" while on vacation, especially with kids in order to give all of us some space which this place provides. When they tell you parking is tricky they are right but it certainly did not detract from the overall experience. Person we dealt with in regard to booking was extremely prompt, courteous and helpful. If we ever get a chance to return to San Diego we will definitely seek out the same or similar accommodations with this company. Highly recommended!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mission Beach Paradise

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: January 20, 2012

This is the 1st time I rented someone's home for a vacation and I was extremely cautious looking at reviews and multiple sites. I wanted to find a property that was convenient, roomy and stylish and this property met all this criteria and more!

The home is beautifully decorated the kitchen is more than fully stocked with every necessity and the beds are fantastic. Having laundry and WIFI made the trip even more enjoyable! The whole unit really adds to the beach feeling and I definitely recommend the place!

You are 2 minutes from your door to the beach, 5 minutes from Belmont Park and 15 minutes by car from Seaworld. It is easy to get anywhere in San Diego from Mission Beach but you don't need to go far to have an amazing vacation.

The only thing I would mention is to make sure you have a vehicle no larger than a mid-sized SUV. The parking in the back is very tight and it is unlikely to find parking in front of your place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Beach Rental....Will stay again.

Review submitted: February 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 8, 2012

Perfect place to stay. It was clean and in great condition. The rental company was amazing, they answered all of our questions. I recommend this place to our friends and family. We will stay there again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

February Vacation

Review submitted: February 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 8, 2012

My family and I stayed at this condo from Feb. 8th to Feb. 12th 2012. The location right near the beach and the bay is perfect. We found the accomodations spotless and the condo had everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable. The property management company was very attentive and they were great to work with (Nicole).
I would absolutely stay here again given the opportunity! The only two minor issues were that the Wi-Fi was not working and there was not enough seating in the living room both of which we addressed with the property management and they were planning on correcting. Thanks for a great time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review