reviews for: listing #85445 - Lake Arrowhead, California House rental

Jake & Judy Mountain Retreat
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Lake Arrowhead
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $198 - $298 /nt
    $1,188 - $1,698 /wk

sort by:

A True Mountain Getaway!

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

Looking for a place to get away from it all? This is it! Beautiful mountain home with all the amenities and plenty of room. Whether you want to lounge in a soft leather chair with a good book, or watch the sunset while relaxing in a hot tub overlooking a spectacular hillside garden, this retreat is just the place for some R&R. Of course, if you don't want to completely unplug, TV with premium channels and Internet were also available, and mobile phone reception was good.

The whole house was so nice you may not want to ever leave, but if you do, it's close enough to all the action around Lake Arrowhead (complete with use of lake association pass) but far enough away from all the traffic to enjoy the sounds of nature. Well situated so that you're only a short drive from the many different mountain activities from Crestline to Big Bear. We particularly liked the visit to the Forest Service watch towers at Keller Peak and Strawberry Peak, and some early morning fishing at nearby Lake Gregory. Just make sure you get a Forest Service Adventure Pass (available at a number of stores and ranger stations) if you want to stay and park your vehicle on any National Forest property, like trail heads and campsites.

Plenty of great places to eat around Lake Arrowhead too (We recommend Aturo's Restaurant and the Cedar Glen Malt Shop... but avoid the malt shop on Wednesday afternoons when the local camp kids come in), but if you don't want to go out the kitchen in this home is large and well equipped for preparing just about any type of meal. Grocery shopping is easy at either Stater Bros. or Jensen's. (the Jensen's we went to had a really nice deli), either just a short drive into town.

Jake and Judy have gone out of their way to make this a warm and inviting place to get away from it all... and they've succeeded! My wife and I, along with our two daughters (ages 10 and 7) felt right at home. If you take care of their place, they'll take care of you.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: John & Pat Thanks so much for your time letting us know how you enjoyed your stay and some of your activities in our community in Lake Arrowhead that you enjoyed. Judy and I will be looking forward see you next year. Have a wonderful summer.
Judy & Jake

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Excellent

Review submitted: April 22, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

This was an ideal place. We loved the large kitchen and the wonderful beds! The decor was so cute! Great location and enjoyed the backyard and jacuzzi! Great vacation place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Linda & Brian,
Thanks so much for your time letting us know how you enjoyed your stay and some of your activities in our community in Lake Arrowhead that you enjoyed. Judy and I will be looking forward see you next year. Have a wonderful summer.
Judy & Jake

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our stay

Review submitted: April 18, 2014   Date of arrival: August 8, 2013

We had a lovely time at this home. Jake and Judy are wonderful hosts....warm, accommodating and caring.
The furnishings are top notch, done in a warm, country style...beautiful fireplace...nice TV...good dining area. The beds are super comfortable, and the kitchen is well stocked.
The property is so pretty and well maintained...lovely gardens, spacious grounds. It is situated close to town.
We had a wonderful time, and hope to return soon.
Thank you, Jake and Judy!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Marie & Walt Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed our home. It's been a pleasure for us too having you stay here and build up some great memories.
Thanks, Looking forward having back soon.
Warmest Regards,
Jake & Judy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful!

Review submitted: April 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 3, 2014

What a beautiful home! Warm and inviting. Very clean, has everything you need. Great location. We can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Don & Shannon, Thanks for your review. Judy and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for keeping our home so neat and tidy. We are looking forward having you on your next vacation get away. Have a GREAT WEEK!
Warmest Greeting,
Jake & Judy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best few days away from the Big City!

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

We had a wonderful week at JJ Mountain Retreat. Beautiful location very comfy with plenty of room for our entire family. Everything we needed was there!! Our kids & their friends had a great time. Also Cabin is close to the Village where we did a little shopping and enjoyed the Lake. We will definitely be coming back again for the Summer concerts! Thank you for sharing your home :-)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Super Comfy

Review submitted: March 29, 2014   Date of arrival: March 23, 2014

The house is very well stocked. The furniture in and out is very comfy. The 3 king size beds are great. Super nice yard and decks. Lots of space to enjoy nature and all the birds. Spa on back deck is great. My only complaints are the carpet is in poor shape and needs a good cleaning and the t.v in the master is very small. There is a nice, big t.v in the living room that is not in the photos. That was a nice surprise since we stayed up late enjoying the large selection of movies in front of the large fireplace. Owners are easy to work with. I am glad that they share thier house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Hi Lisa & Ken
Thanks so much for taking. the time to gave us your review. Also thanks for bring to my attention regarding the carpet, I had the carpet cleaning company come the following Monday to clean all the carpet . Judy and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forwarded. having you back Have a great week. Thanks!
Judy & Jake

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Stay

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

We stayed at Jake and Judy's home for the weekend and it was perfect. There were 3 couples and we had plenty of room to stretch out and get comfortable. The decks are nice for relaxing and taking in the surrounding nature and the fireplaces keep the living area and master bedroom nice and cozy. The family photos all around are a comforting addition. We thought to add one of us for future renters but didn't get around to it. Although we weren't able to get the hot tub functioning, the stay was still really nice overall. We played ping pong in the garage and drove down to the lake which wasn't too far away. We used the grill on the main deck to cook dinner both nights we were there which was nice. We're thinking of making this an annual trip! Thanks Jake and Judy!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much! Judy and I are glad that you had a great time and that our home felt like home to you. I call our service pool-man and let him know that the system or control buttons are not functioning properly. Looking forward having you back. Have a great week!
Warmest Regards Jake & Judy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Book

Review submitted: January 17, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

12/30/13- 1/02/14
Thank you for allowing us to stay in your home. We had a memorable New Years with our friends and family. We hope to have the opportunity to do this again next year!
The Carlos & Herman Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Book

Review submitted: January 17, 2014   Date of arrival: November 28, 2013

11/28/13 - 12/1/13 Thanks for opening up your lovely home to our Family. What a Blast we had! Happy Holidays!
Best The Craig, Deena & Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Book

Review submitted: January 17, 2014   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

12-23-13
We came back again and so ejoyed our third visit with your wonderful home! We hope to back again next year and all the following years to come! We brought our associated pastor along this time and we are all ready to go down the hill once again! We really needed this time! we are deeply refreshed!
Our Love & Appreciation Vince & Vicky

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas in the Mountains

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

We loved our time in the mountains. This is the 2nd Christmas we have stayed here. Everything we needed was in the home. Whatever we needed in the kitchen we were able to find. It is like coming to your own get away home. The place was decorated for Christmas including a Santa hat for the elk head. Unfortunately there was no white Christmas but that is beyond the owners control. Staying in a home allowed us to spread out and not feel cramped. The bed in the master bedroom was very comfortable. Plenty of closet space and drawers enabling us to unpack and put everything away. My wife wants this place since it feels so much like our place would be if we had a mountain home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

So good the first time we had to come back!

Review submitted: September 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 21, 2013

My wife and two daughters had such a good time at this mountain retreat, they just begged to come back! Just what we needed for a quick get-a-way.

Did some hiking following the trail maps that were in the "activity bin." Our first outing was a hike to Heart Rock. A fairly easy trail, just follow the blue hearts painted on the rocks along they trail. Great view, nice for a picnic, but make sure to bring water. Our second hike was to the Indian Rock Camp to see where the native peoples stopped to mill their acorns in the rocks. There's a nice marker at the location... again, a nice hike on an easy trail. One note of caution... the parking lot is on the opposite side of the street from the trail head, so just cross over and go past the fire station to get to the trial. Again, don't forget to bring water.

The best part was coming back after an afternoon of hiking to relax in a nice, warm, bubbly hot tub on the back deck!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: John & Pat. Thanks !! Glad you had a great time . We enjoy havening you both and kids. There arenmany nice trails in that part of San Bernardino. Glad that. You enjoyed it.. Looking forward having you back.
Thanks
Jake & Judy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful Retreat

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

If you want a few days away in a quiet, peaceful mountain setting , this is it. We stayed for 4 days and had a wonderful time. We used all the games in the house, watched a few movies, visited the Beach Club and went hiking. The house is well equipped, beds are comfortable and the kitchen is spacious. I loved the deck in the early mornings. Thank you Jake and Judy for making this an easy choice for our destination.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Gretchen
Thanks for letting me know that you have enjoyed our home.
we have been blessed to have such nice people stay at our home!!!
Thanks for your kind works and keeping our home so neatly when you departed.
Thanks hope to see you soon back.
Warmest regards
Jake & Judy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Jake and Judy Mountain Retreat

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

Just have to say AMAZING. The house was easy to find, had adequate parking, beautiful scenery and very family friendly. Everything you needed in the kitchen was available. The owners were easy to get a hold of and so very friendly. The beds are so comfortable and cozy. I dont think i want to stay in any other cabin but this one on my future visits.

Thank you Jake and Judy for allowing my family to spend the best time in your beautiful house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Shaun I am glad that you enjoyed our home. Thanks for taking you time and letting us know. We enjoyed having you. Judy and I will be looking forward having you back soon. Have a great week! Thanks!
Warmest Regards
Jake & Judy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

I just would like to thank Jake for allowing us to use their beautiful house. I try to go up the mountains every year to get away from the city and I can honestly say this was the best "mountain vacation" I have ever had. Dealing with Jake was an absolute pleasure.

The house is beautiful and has everything that you will need. No better way to start each day than sitting at the back patio watching the birds with a hot cup of coffee. I personally love to grill and to me nothing was more relaxing than being in front a grill feeling the cold night of the mountains.

I would definitely love to go back to this house the next time I get away from LA...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Alan & Family Thanks so much for your recommendation. It sure was a pleasure having you and knowing that you enjoy the backyard. Judy and I will be looking forward having you again.
Wish you Great Success.
Warmest RegardsI
Judy & Jake

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best kept secret in Lake Arrowhead

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

Been here several times over the years with family and friends, as always it is the best mini vacation! Beautiful cabin with all the amenities needed. It is big & plenty of room for all our kids to enjoy. We also love the backyard, it has the perfect patio to enjoy an early morning cup of coffee, or an evening glass of wine. It was only a 10 min drive to the village(which me & the kids love) We look forward to this trip every year! Can not wait to get back up here this Summer for the Village concerts!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Diana & Family It been a pleasure having you and family. thanks for thinking of us and your kind words. Thanks
Warmest Regards and Best Wishes
Love Judy & Jake

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the Christmas Tree!!!

Review submitted: January 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 24, 2012

Dear Ones
How can I ever thank you enough for allowing us to come "Home" for Christmas? Something I always longed for since I was a young girl,was like a dream fulfilled!!It has been the best gift we could have ever given!
We will be back to "Home" once again!
Many Blessing & Much Love
Vince & Vicky

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Jake & Judy

Review submitted: January 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2012

Thanks you so much for sharing your beautifull mountain retreat. We felt at home the minute we opened the front door. Everything was perfect. we hope get the chance to come up and stay here again.
Thanks You Again
Tom & Barbara Fullerton

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Jake & Judy

Review submitted: January 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 13, 2012

Our Family had a wonderfull, relaxing time at your Lake Arrowhead Home. Your home's cozy feel and beautifull decorations put us in the christmas spirit. This was the perfect get away. we look forward to returning in the future. Thank you for allowing us to stay & make some fantastic memories.
John,Marina & Naomi

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Mountain getaway

Review submitted: December 9, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

My family and I had an absolutely relaxing, wonderful time. Jake and Judy's home is very spacious, well kept, on a beautiful piece of land...it was the exact mountain retreat we were looking for.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Hi Vickie & Family Thanks for considering our home. Judy and I are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay. Wish You the Very Best in the coming year!!. Happy and Blessed Christmas.
Warmest Regards
Judy & Jake

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Five Perfect Days at Lake Arrowhead

Review submitted: November 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

The beautiful mountain home of Jake and Judy had everything one could ssk for in vacation getaway accomodations. The spacious living room/dinning area had a large gss log fireplsce surronded by comfortable leather chairs and a leather couch, Direct TV, and a large large dinning room table in the dining area. The home was tastefully decorated giving it a relaxing feeling. The large kitchen was equipped with every kind of modern appliances and well stocked with dinnerware and cooking utinsels. It was built on a sunny slope, so it was bright and cheerful inside and out. Lake Arrowhead Village and the town of Blue Jay were easily accessable, where visitors have access to supper markets, drug stores, resturants, and all types of casual shopping. We are looking forward to another relaxing vacation at Jake and Judys Mountain Retreat in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Jake & Judy Mountain Retreat

Review submitted: November 6, 2012   Date of arrival: October 15, 2012

On October 15,2012 we arrived at Jake and Judy's beautiful mountain home in Lake Arrowhead. the house was completely cleaned before our arrival so there was nothing for us to do except start enjoying it. Anything we could possibly have needed was there. We felt like guests in a much loved home - cozy,beautifully furnished and comfortable. The weather was great and we enjoyed the Jacuzzi and sitting out on the decks in comfortable chairs reading and relaxing as we admired the beautiful landscaping and birds that came to the feeders. Our dog, Keiko, adjusted to this house right away and er started out each day with an early morning walk throughout the area. It was close to Blue Jay and Arrowhead Village which was fun to walk through and we ate at Bill's Family Restaurant in Blue Jay[great food]. Our granddaughter Rachel,husband Greg and their 4 kids came up for the weekend. the kids really had fun using the ping pong table, Foosball table, and many games that were available. Of course they thought having a TVw/DVD&VCR in each bedroom was pretty cool. They also used the Jacuzzi went to the Oktoberfest Celebration in the Village and went fishing. Rachel and Greg even found some time to relax with kids around, We look forward to visiting again in 2013.

Best Regards
Frank & Colleen

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Jake & Judy Guest Book

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 25, 2012

Dear Jake & Judy
We want to Thank You for allowing us the opportunity to enjoy your wonderfully home. We cannot express enough
How comfortable your home was. We are leaving with many special memories and we hope that we come back
again soon to make many more ++ Thank You for your Hospitality.
Bill & Rocio

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Guest

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

Jake & Judy
Your home is so warm and lovely filled with lovely memories. We especially like the balcony and the cosy yard.
Thanks for supplying so many things for us. We appreciate it very much.
Warm Wishes Kindra / from France

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home Away from Home

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

We rented Jake and Judy's house after the 4th of July. When we arrived, the house had not been cleaned yet. However, we placed a quick call to the owner and the housekeeper arrived within minutes. I can understand how there might be some confusion with the way the holiday fell during the week. This house feels like a home without being too crowded with personal items. It is clean and well kept. I felt the pictures online do a great job of letting you know what you are getting. If we return to the area, we'll definitely try to stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Julie
Thanks.Judy and I are glad that you enjoyed our home special that the pictures on web site does justice for our home.
Thanks every so much for staying at our home.
Warmest Regards
Jake & Judy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Enjoyed the Retreat

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

Our family of four, including a 6- and 9-year-old, and sister's family of three stayed at Jake & Judy's during the 4th of July week. Making the arrangements was easy and Jake was very good about e-mailing back answers to questions. The Retreat was very comfortable and clean, and the kids loved exploring the backyard. We did not use the hot tub, but we BBQd out on the deck and enjoyed sitting in the mornings and watching the variety of birds at the birdfeeder. It was an easy drive to Lake Arrowhead, Arrowhead Village, and Lake Gregory (where my daughter enjoyed the waterslide, kayaking, paddleboat, and a foam paddleboard that both kids could lay down on and paddle around; they also had aquacycles which we did not do). We would recommend this property to friends for family vacations. Thanks Jake & Judy for sharing your Retreat!

Owners response: Hi Jeff & Family
Judy and I want to Thanks You for staying with us at our home. Glad that you enjoy the backyard. I was a great pleasure having you. Looking forward to your next stay.
Warmest Regards
Jake & Judy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Getaway

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

Beautiful home! Jake & Judy's mountain retreat is just that, a lovely family mountain home. You don't feel like you're in a rental at all. Nice location, close to Arrowhead but very peaceful and quiet. The grounds are wonderful and make you feel so secluded. We wish we had another day or two to really relax there. Maybe next time. We really enjoyed our stay! I do recommend getting directions from Jake before driving-our GPS left out several details and turns.
Thanks so much,
Kathy

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Kathy & Family
Thanks so much. Judy and I want to Thank You special that you enjoy landscape it is nice and quiet with a few benches to relaxes and enjoy view or just sit read a good book. Thanks for keeping our home so clean and tidy. Hope to see you back soon!!!
Warmest Regards
Jake & Judy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great time in a great home

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

We had a great time in Jake and Judy's retreat. It was a beautiful home with great amenities. Jake was more than accommodating and accessible in answering our questions before and during our stay. Definitely would recommend this place to our family and friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: J P and Family Thanks for your kind words. It was our pleasure having you at our home.
Thanks for keeping our home so neat and tidy. Looking forward to your next get away.
Have a great summer!!!
Thanks
Warmest Regards
Jake & Judy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Mountian Jewel

Review submitted: May 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

This cabin is an absolute Gem! If you are considering a place to stay look no further. Jake and Judy's Mountain Retreat was just beautiful, from the lovely interior to the amazing garden. The cabin is loaded with amenities and fun activities for all ages. It is the perfect location to relax and enjoy the fresh mountain air. It is also conveniently located near Arrowheads main shopping center and easily accessible from the main road. Can't wait to come back!

Thank you Jake and Judy!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Kelly & Family
Thanks so much. Judy and I are so happy that you enjoyed it a lot. Thanks for keeping our home so tidy and clean. We will be looking forward in having you back.
Warmest Regards to your all. Have a great weekend.
Love Judy & Jake

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Guest

Review submitted: February 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

Jake & Judy
We had a roaring good time. The house is great. It was so nice of you offering your home to stay.
We relaxed and we both love it !!!!
PSS I love how you decorated! Thank you so much.
Dan & Jennifer

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Guest

Review submitted: February 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

We enjoyed couple of days of relaxation. Kids loved fousball and ping pong. Thank You
Keith & Kristine

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Guest

Review submitted: February 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 2, 2012

Dear Jake & Judy
From the time we walked in. We felt we were home in our mountain haven! Much deep refreshing, Your loving touch
and God's presence. Pease. Joy. & Love. Shout !! We really are very thankful for being led to this wondrous place! Thank You.
What Vicky didn't say is that we will be back - I hope it will be many times. We would love to meet the family that has poured so much
Love and faith into this home. God Bless You.
Vince & Vicky

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Jake & Judy Mountain Retreat

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

Dear Jake & Judy
Thanks you for opening your mountain sanctuary to us. We feel rested and more peaceful because of what you two created. We appreciate all you do to bring Peace In the
Heart & Joy to so many !!!
Keith & Lynn

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous Home

Review submitted: February 18, 2012   Date of arrival: January 31, 2012

My wife and I loved this cabin. She wants to buy it and move here. It is so peaceful. All that you could want is provided.

We plan on coming back many more times.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Vince & Vicky
Thanks for staying at our home. Judy and I would loved to have you back. Thanks for Guest Book and kind words.Thanks for keeping our home so clean and neat. Have a great week
Best Regards,
Judy & Jake

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Perfect Getaway!

Review submitted: November 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

We found this gem on a spur of the moment getaway - but instead we found a favorite retreat destination! It's private, with beautiful views of the hills and it's as if you are in the trees yourself. Jake was who we spoke with when booking the reservation, given the short notice, he was very accommodating and even checked in with us to see if everything was ok- very gracious! I am torn about writing a positive review, because I would rather keep this place a secret! My family had never seen blue jays before, we put a scoop of bird seed out and the birds came, blue jays, wood peckers and some that I have no idea of, but the kids were amazed to see the birds. This place is perfect for a family, lots for kids to do (or not to do if they want to just chill).
We brought our groceries and cooked so we could stay in while the weather was stormy. They have everything that you would need to make this happen (which is what we prefer). The beds were super comfy, we all slept great. One word to the wise, there is a beautiful golden retriever that jumped into our van and wouldn't come out - he was skinny and shaking. Don't be fooled as we were - he is not a stray, starving dog... he lives across the street. He is completely harmless, but we were worried. He is a handsome con artist :)
We dearly loved our stay and are already trying to plan our next visit up! Thank you for opening up your home Jake and Judy!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi John I am glad that you enjoyed our home, Our home was so well tide up when you left really appreciated it..Thanks so much for your can kind words, Judy & I will be looking forward having you back. Have a great Holiday Season.
Best Regards
Judy & Jake

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home review for Jake and Judy

Review submitted: October 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

This well mantained home is located in a quiet area surrounded by beautiful trees, has a well equipped kitchen,the bedrooms are fit for royalty. We were there for two months during the summer and we love it,we enjoyed all the amenities of a five star resort. The bakyard garden is gorgeous a place for relaxation the only noise come from the singing of the birds. We love the ouside deck where we sip wine and enjoyed the sunset. This is a home for all seasons.
The owners Jake&Judy are amazing host/hostess they are kind,thoughtful and caring they make you feel like part of their famly.
Thanks Jake and Judy for sharing you wonderful home with us. Maria Mary and George

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Maria, Mary & George,
Thanks for your kind words It's been a pleasure having you all their. Thanks agin for your kindness. Judy & I would like to have you back next year. Have a great holiday season.
Warmest regards,
Jake & Judy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing accommodations!

Review submitted: October 26, 2011   Date of arrival: October 20, 2011

We were delighted that the pictures on the VacationRental site were exactly as we found the house....very tastefully decorated, warm and inviting and perfect accommodations.
..the kitchen had all the gadgets and tools needed
..the beds were all very comfy
..towels galore for showering or after hot tubbing
..this property offers space to gather and places for privacy
..very clean
..loved the fireplace in the master bedroom
..the house was quiet inside
..there's peanuts to feed the birds

Jake and Judy are very gracious host/hostess. They were responsive to questions before we got there and had handy all the literature anyone would need to find eating places, hiking trails, points of interest in the area, etc.
We were in the hot tub early in the morning to see the moon overhead and the rising sun on the mountains to the west.
I'd certainly recommend this place to anyone; my family is already wondering when we can go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks Nancy & Bob for your review on web page. Judy and I are so glad that you enjoy your stay. We will be looking forward seeing next time.
Best Regards
Judy & Jake

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Treasured gem - home away from home

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

Well stocked kitchen with everything we needed to celebrate our friends reunion.
Clean and spacious. Relaxing and welcoming. Birds chirping right outside the deck.
You can't ask for anything more! Thank you for your hospitality and generosity , Jake .
Will return again and again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Michelle Thanks for letting us how you enjoyed our home. It was a great pleasure having you.
Wish you all the very best. Have a great week!!
Jake & Judy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Clean and relaxing place to unwind

Review submitted: July 24, 2011   Date of arrival: July 21, 2011

Our whole experience was positive right from the initial contact. The house owner, Jake, is a true gentleman and was happy to meet our needs. The home is spotless and warm. It is loaded with amenities including a gas BBQ unit, fans, fully loaded cable channels (i.e. HBO, Cinemax, etc...), hot spa, spacious kitchen, quiet outdoor patio area, use of kayak, 2 fireplaces and comfortable king size beds in all 3 bedrooms. We rate this retreat highly and recommend it without reservation...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: John & Jan
Judy and I are glad that you enjoy yourself it was a great pleasure to meet you both. Hope that in the future you need to get away that you think of us. Thanks so much John for taking you time and let us know how you enjoyed your stay.
Have a great week.
Jake

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

An awesome retreat!

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 13, 2011

WE had the best time at Jake and Judy's Mountain Retreat! The home is absolutely beautiful and every amenity has been provided! The home is spacious and spotless and there is so much to do! They have games, ping pong, a Jacuzzi and so much more! The property surrounding the home is gorgeous and the neighborhood is awesome! We will definitely be returning for another fun filled weekend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Cindy thanks for your review. Judy and I are so glad that you had a great time.
Hope to see you on you at the next vocation with us. Have a great day.
Best Wishes
Jake & Judy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful home!

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

What a beautiful home! The backyard is so peaceful and serene. Everything we need for the weekend was there. Very clean. Lovely decor. Comfy king size beds.

Ourchildren were able to enjoy the pingpong table!

Thank you for a great weekend!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Shannon & Don Thanks so much. looking forward seeing you at the next time you want to get away. Glad that you enjoyed it so much. Next timeyou will be able to use your credit card. We have set this up now.
Thanks
Jake & Judy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

AMAZING vacation home!

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 15, 2011

Amazing vacation home! You will not be disappointed! We stayed two nights and felt like we'd been on vacation for a week. The home is immaculate, fully equipped with everything you will need, and very spacious. It's very relaxing to sit in the comfortable chairs on the balcony while enjoying a lovely view of the huge, gorgeous garden. The kids enjoyed exploring the yard (there is a lot to explore) and playing in the lot next door. The house has a Jacuzzi and the garage is filled with all kinds of games such as ping pong, foosball and a mini pool table. All three of the bedrooms have extremely comfortable beds with excellent quality linens provided. We used the owner's access pass to a private beach where you can swim, lounge, rent kayaks and purchase treats from the snack bar. There is also a binder in the kitchen that has all of the local activities and restaurants listed. We took advantage of using one of the maps to help guide us on a beautiful hiking trail. This home provides EVERYTHING! We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much. It was just a great pleasure to have you stay at our home.
Best Regards
Jake & Judy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful!

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 20, 2011

Lovely grounds and so relaxing! Very clean and organized. The beds are comfortable and we all slept like a babies. And the kitchen was great for our family meals. Thank You!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mary Thank You I am glad that you enjoy our place. Let me know the next date you need me to block out for you. Looking forward seeing you back.
Have a great day.
Jake & Judy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome place

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 15, 2011

What an awesome place!!!! It had a great kitchen with everything we needed to make meals. It was great we didn't have to bring a thing! Also the beds were incredible! Better than what I have at home. The kids loved the yard, ping pong table and game table. Their is a TV in every room. It is decorated so cute!
I can't wait to go back!

Owners response: Linda Thanks for taken the time and for letting us know that you enjoy your stay. It a great pleasure for having you at our home. Hope to see you soon.
Have a great week.
Jake

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Like living in a large treehouse!

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

Great vacation home with plenty of space to stretch out. Feels like your own personal tree house. Well furnished. Relaxing. The hot tub was a great plus!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Ted & Juanita Glad that you had a great time. Sorry that we didn't have lots of snow that week..We sure got some following week. Which was late in season, you just never know. Hope you had a save drive home.
Thanks
Jake & Judy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding!

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: April 20, 2011

Great cozy place with huge spacious rooms. We really enjoyed the spa and backyard. Great place to relax and unwind!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Matt Thanks so much for letting me know that you and your friends enjoyed it so much. Have a great 4th of July.
Best Wishes Jake & Judy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review