reviews for: listing #85483 - Captiva Island, Florida Townhome rental

Luxury Beach Front Townhome with Ocean/Sunset Views and Pool
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  South Seas Island Resort
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,950 - $5,990 /wk

sort by:

Favorite Family Vacation…EVER

Review submitted: May 27, 2014   Date of arrival: May 17, 2014

Sunset Dreams was everything it promised it would be! We took our two grown daughters, son in law, 2 year old granddaughter and friend. The condo was perfect! It was super clean with great beds and linens, big bathrooms, perfect kitchen. It had everything we needed to make our vacation stress-less. Everyone had plenty of space to spread out and there was plenty of space for us all to be together when we wanted to hang out inside (which was only first thing in the morning and late in the evening). The views are amazing! Every evening we spent on the beach watching the sun go down. Absolutely the most amazing sunsets I have ever seen. The condo is a very short walk across a narrow, quiet road to the beach. This was important to us as we knew we would want to go back and forth from beach to condo every day without a hike. It took less than a minute to walk from condo to our beach set up! Captiva is a VERY short drive or a quick walk from condo. That was nice also. We saw several other properties while we were there but we would not have chosen any other. Sunset Dreams is perfect! Perfect condo in the perfect location. If you are wanting a lot of action, this area of the beach is not for you. It was very peaceful and quiet. Almost like having the entire place to ourselves. The pool is also very close to the condo and was quiet. The owner suggested several things to do, places to eat, etc. That was very helpful. We ordered groceries from Jerry's in Sanibel and had them delivered the day we arrived. We also ordered beach equipment from Island Rentals which was all waiting for us when we arrived. Although, the condo provides a lot of beach stuff we could have used. We rented a "coupe" from YOLO in Captiva as well as Stand Up Paddle Boards. The Island Store in Captiva has everything you would need also in the way of groceries, etc. They also had some very good homemade pastries! The guys went on two different fishing trips out of Ft Myers and had lots of fun. It was just a super easy, fun, relaxing vacation! Kingfisher property managers were very helpful before and after the trip. We didn't need a thing during our vacation. I will recommend this property and Captiva to all my friends. Thank you, Dan and Kingfisher for allowing us to stay in Sunset Dreams and helping to make our Summer 2014 vacation a memorable one! Hopefully you will allow us back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Vacation in Perfect Location

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

I was looking for a place to take my family on a beach vacation. My Mom recently passed away & her leaving us took a toll on our entire family. I wanted my family to spend a week together having the time of our lives & creating memories we could always remember & cherish. I took my 33 year old son & his girlfriend, my 37 year old son, his wife & their 2 year son. My husband is 60.

This place was perfect for the wide span in ages we have in our family. We had a perfect view of the sunset from the upstairs & downstairs balconies. The beach was so close it was perfect. With the wagon and beach chairs provided, going to the beach with a 2 year old was made easy. In the morning I watched the sunrise from my back veranda or walked to the dock on the bay at the back side of the property. I cannot say enough about the location which was perfect. Water on both sides & sunset & sunrise views!

The property was beautiful with a very nice pool & jacuzzi. The upstairs master suite was a special retreat for my husband & me. Everything you could think of the owner has provided. There was internet access, a desk & work station, a shower with dual shower heads, a large tub & of course the views....

There was a large table on the back veranda downstairs where we all got together also & enjoyed the view of the palm trees. This place was well appointed & will not disappoint. Plenty of room so we were not on top of each other & beautifully decorated. Great views from every room!

The owner helped me with planning the trip by providing me with a rental company who delivered a crib & other items for the 2 year old. He gave me tips on where to rent bikes, etc. Dan and Kingfisher vacations were awesome! Quick to respond and very helpful.

My tips for your trip:
- Check out all the toys in the storage shed at back of car port before buying things like pool toys and boogie boards. Even a special screen with handle for shell collecting.
- Take the flashlights that you will find in the villa & go to the beach at night. Watch the crabs run :)
- Snails come out at night by pool walk way.
- Go dancing at "The Key lime Bistro". Fun place.
- Eat at "RC Otters", great wait staff & great food.
- Join the crowd that comes to watch the sunset at the "Mucky Duck".
- Rent a pontoon boat & go to Cabbage Key Island for lunch. We saw so many dolphins on the way that came right up to our boat!
- Go kayaking & see manatees.

We saw dolphins, stingray, pelicans, manatees...
Enjoy! We did, thx Dan!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 19 / 20

 

Sunset Dreams in Captiva

Review submitted: February 23, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sunset Dreams a beautiful multiple story twin town home on the Gulf of Mexico!! The home was beautiful, exquisitely appointed, well maintained and exactly as promised. The owner was quick to respond and helpful when we were deciding where to stay. He answered all our questions and provided me with more pictures and a long list of things to do on the Island and other helpful tips that come from knowing a place well.

Sunset Dreams is a wonderfully spacious with lots of separate areas for everyone to enjoy and a huge living room and dining area for everyone to come together! The house has a wonderful large parking space under the home and a darling private elevator for bringing up your luggage and groceries. This elevator was listed in the amenities and I thought oh that is nice but after traveling from Minnesota and buying groceries for a week at Whole Foods in Naples, I was very grateful not to have to carry everything up to the kitchen and 3rd floor bedroom!!!

Location is a priority for us and it was located on the North end of the Island with a perfect view of the gulf!! The road does run between the Gulf and the property but was not noticeable from our gorgeous loft bedroom with a wonderful balcony. The beautiful landscaping gave the property privacy and beauty. We watched the sunset each night on our balconey and slept with the sliding glass door open to the sound of the waves at night which was pure heaven. It was a short walk on the beach into town and we ate outside at the Mucky Duck several times and avoided the parking problems which was another plus for this property!!

I would highly recommend this property to friends. Our family continued to comment all week on how I scored with this property!!! We haved stayed on the Island before and this is our new favorite property!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Perfect Setting

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: January 17, 2013

What a fabulous home! And that is what we felt like as soon as we walked in - home! This house is a real treat. From the fun, bright colors and art to the comfy and smartly arraigned furniture it makes you feel right at home immediately. The views of the beach and gulf are amazing. We enjoyed them from the house and the beach itself which is just a short trot across the street - beach chairs provided along with a wagon to cart all your beach stuff across the road. You feel like they thought of everything at this gem! Our 3 boys could not believe they had 2 Wii units and 2 guitars for Guitar Hero. They didn't play much because they were at the beach, pool or investigating the island, but the cool factor was still huge! Speaking of the pool, its very nice with a great hot tub and we made many round-trip treks from the beach to the pool and back again. Round trip it's about a minute walk, again a perfect setting. We found the deck off the 2nd floor master suite of the house to be our favorite congregating place. It has the best view and we would enjoy coffee there in the morning, soak up the sun with a book in the afternoon and a glass of wine in the evening watching the sunset. We felt every detail was thought of at this great property; from the soft blankets to the big, bright bath rooms to the colorful dinnerware to the cute checker table in the front window which out boys throughly enjoyed playing as they watched the people shelling on the beach in the mornings. We parked our car upon arrival and didn't get in it again until we were heading for the airport home. No need! Town is a short walk up the beach and we also rented bikes from Yolo and explored the whole island. Plenty of towels both for beach/pool and showering. We had a great time. much of which had to do with this amazing home and the time and energy the owner has put into creating a haven for R & R. In the past, we have always stayed in South Seas while on Captiva, but in the future, we will be staying here.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Family Vacation, Wife's 40th Birthday Celebration, (SUP) Stand Up Paddleboardering adventures

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

Dan,

We had an amazing week staying at your beautiful home. My only regrets are that we couldn't stay longer and that it has taken me a couple of months to write a review. We have four active children, ages 5, 7, 9, and 11 and this was the perfect home and the perfect vacation. For our first couple of days the gulf was extremely calm, and all of us enjoyed diving for shells as we snorkeled and paddleboarded in the gulf. Saw a handful of stingrays, fish, etc.. but pulled up a ton of beautiful shells, before they had a chance to wash ashore. As the wind kicked up a bit the small swell was wonderful for the kids and I to ride the waves on their SUP's and boogie boards. For the remainder of the week, depending on wind direction we spent all our time on the sound side (Pine Island Sound) exploring the canals that lead to and from Braynerd Bayou on our SUP's. It's an easy paddle over and the canals with their mangrove trees alive with crabs were wonderful to explore. We paddled among 6 - 8 Manatees on the way to or from the Bayou each day. The manatees were very curious and friendly like a golden retriever. We also saw several dolphins, small hammerhead sharks, rays, and more fish leap out of the air than I can possibly count and too many birds to mention. The kids felt so adventuresome paddling with ease through the tight canals and Bayou - it's truly another world! The accomodations are exactly as advertised - truly a spectacular place! The kids room, wii, pool, throwing rocks to knock down the coconuts across the street, shelling, wildlife - it all was a great adventure - Thank you for everything.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Piece of Paradise

Review submitted: November 6, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

We can't say enough about this property. In person is even more spectacular than the photos. The owner is very easy to work with and they have thought of everything you could possibly need or want. You won't find more comfortable surroundings, feeling at home from the moment you arrive. You have the best of everything-ocean on one side of the townhome to watch dolphins and go shelling, the bay on the backside with a boat dock for fishing and watching the manatees. A beautiful pool is right outside your door so you won't be lacking things to do. Make sure you rent bikes so you can enjoy Captiva and Sanibel. Such a beautiful island and we'll be sure to return to this home!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Location - Beautiful Home

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

This was our fourth time vacationing in Captiva, but this was the first time we had rented this home. We knew the location would be perfect, but the property itself was more than we had hoped for. The house is a great design for a family or group of friends -- lots of space to be together, and plenty of balconies and small areas to retreat to when you need some down time. The décor and personal touches really made it feel like home. The upstairs master suite was very spacious and luxurious. I wish my own home had as nice a bath. The other bedrooms are just as nice, and the half bath and second full bath allow plenty of room for everyone. The kitchen has everything you need, and the appliances are all top quality.

Our routine was a morning walk and shelling, often lunch somewhere in town, beach or pool during the afternoon, then something on the grill and dinner at home, either outside or at the nice dining table. All sunsets were viewed from the master bedroom balcony, which really makes the place extra special. The gulf view is priceless. We never ran short of things to watch for – manatees, dolphins and sea birds are all right there.

The property around the house is spacious, extending from the gulf-side road to the bay. And though there was a family in the next unit, most of the time we felt like we had the whole area to ourselves. For the days we spent at the beach, the house had good quality beach chairs and umbrellas, and plenty of towels. All we needed to bring was the sunscreen.

The place definitely lives up to its pictures, and the owners could not have been more kind. We’ll definitely go back to this lovely and cared for home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Paradise!!!

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

Beautiful! I would rent this place every year! We went there for a week and could have stayed forever! This place as every thing you need from dishes to checkers! There is nothing more relaxing than sitting in the two from chairs of the living room, drinking coffee and watching the ocean-Dolphins jumping!

I give this place 5 Stars--Clean, beautiful decor, right across the street you have your private beach! It's wonderful!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Sunset Dreams

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2012

We have stayed in different condos thru the years and hands down this is the
nicest condo we have been in. Spent time in the morning watching the dolphins
and watching the amazing sunsets in the evening.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place

Review submitted: November 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

We had a family reunion over Thanksgiving and chose Captiva for weather, beaches etc. Sunset Dreams more than met our expectations. You feel right at home as soon as you enter, with it's bright colors, great views, roominess and classy appointments. You really don't have to leave the place, as the beach is right across the street, the private pool right behind the unit and a fishing dock just beyond that. 6 or 7 restaurants are within easy walking distance, although you need a flashlight at night because of limited street lighting. Safety is not an issue . We will definetely be back. Some places are not as attractive as their advertising but this one sure was. Can't go wrong!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Fantastic

Review submitted: November 25, 2011   Date of arrival: November 7, 2011

One of the best places we have ever been to. Great compliments to the owner and Kingfisher vacations. They really care for you! We will be back soon!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

What a Place!

Review submitted: October 22, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2011

This is quite a property! The house is set up beautifully and comes with a spectacular view of the sunset! A 10 yard walk and you are on the beach, or if you prefer, a 20 yard walk and you are at the pool located behind the house. The house is located such that a nice stroll on the beach will get you to several really nice dining establishments. For those of us who have to stay in touch with the real world, even on vacation, the house has a wifi system with a fast connection. My wife and I were really impressed with this property. So much so that we are planning another trip in the near future, but this time we'll be bringing some good friends with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

The amazing villa

Review submitted: September 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 21, 2011

I stayed in this villa on the 21 st of august and it is a really nice place the villa is amazing the lounge and kitchen and beds are outstanding this us the best villa in captiva by miles it has a wonderful view and a wonderful beach to walk on to from the villa and have a swim in the sea and watch the fantastic sun come out and go out for lunches and dinners there is a of things to do I would recommend this amazing villa to anyone

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The House Was Amazing

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

"We all screamed "amazing" when we walked in the house because Mom hadn't showed us the pictures. It felt like home after just 1 day. The commute to the beach (20 seconds) and Sunsets were the best!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

Our stay here was wonderful. The ocean and sunset views are amazing. The place is loaded with comfortable luxury and set up for plenty of family fun!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our week in Paradise

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

We had such a wonderful time at Sunset Dreams, we wanted to let everyone know. The condo was amazing just as we were told, it was very clean and just as the
pictures show, beautifully decorated. Everything, except food, was provided. We
shopped for our food in Fort Myers, it was cheaper there than locally.
The private beach was just across a small road, and it was loaded with shells.
Shelling was one of our favorite past times. We came home with quite a few.
There is the Shell Museum is in Sanibel and is worth visiting. We also visited
J.N."Ding" Darling's Wildlife Sanctuary and Tarpon Bay, which we enjoyed both
places. At Tarpon Bay we went Kayaking and on a pontoon boat around the bay,
and saw pelican island, where the pelicans come back to every night. My most
favorite were the Great Blue Heron, that I followed on the beach.
The places we like to eat were the Keylime Bistro and the Madhatter. The sunsets were also breathtaking.
We had a wonderful time, and I would and have recommended this Sunset Dreams to
my friends. We will be gong back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review