reviews for: listing #8549 - Winter Haven, Florida House rental

Florida Lakehouse Vacation Rental - Executive Level
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $165 - $225 /nt
    $1,150 - $1,600 /wk

sort by:

Relaxing, roomy, beautiful views, great hot tub!

Review submitted: June 1, 2014   Date of arrival: April 25, 2014

Our family and 2 other families came down together for the AAU Florida taekwondo tournament held at Polk State College. We had a really fabulous stay. The house is clean, open, and relaxing. There was plenty of room for everyone to have their space, but there was also nice living spaces to share. We played cards, shot pool, swam, and hung out in the hot tub. The view of the lake each morning was beautiful! For dinner, Giovanni's is great, and they deliver! I would highly recommend this property.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Florida Vacation

Review submitted: May 31, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

We've stayed in this home now on numerous occasions and we've always had so much fun. This year we absolutely loved all the new leather furniture, sectionals and Lazy Boy chairs. It's such a comfortable environment to all hang out in together and the space is designed so everyone's not on top of each other. As always, the home was clean and tidy on our arrival and the owners have always been warm and inviting. One of these days we're going to get a boat and come enjoy the gorgeous lake. One of our favorite things is grilling out on the screened patio while the sun sets over the lake. Heaven! And the kids never want to leave because they always say they love having their own "hotel pool with diving board". If you've got a family and want to play together and hang together, this is a great house. It has great character.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Friendly

Review submitted: May 31, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

This was a great home for our family. Very spacious and lot of things to do with the kids. We stayed for a week, but didn't want to do theme parks every day. We spent the first two days at Legoland and then decided to take the 3rd day off. The kids really enjoyed the extra large pool, especially the diving board. We loved the views of the lake too. This home also has full size ping pong, billiards and foosball which we enjoyed as a family. In fact, we ended up hanging out at the house for several days, saving $$ on theme park tickets.

It was also nice to have the extra space as my parents were able to spend a few nights with us and everyone had their own room. This home would be perfect for two families to go in together. The bedrooms have extra beds and there's lots of floor space as well. The home also has good privacy and is located on a cul-de-sac which was good for the kids to play outside.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Florida vacation

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

We've stayed in this home now on numerous occasions and we've always had so much fun. This year we absolutely loved all the new leather furniture, sectionals and Lazy Boy chairs. It's such a comfortable environment to all hang out in together and the space is designed so everyone's not on top of each other. As always, the home was clean and tidy on our arrival and the owners have always been warm and inviting. One of these days we're going to get a boat and come enjoy the gorgeous lake. One of our favorite things is grilling out on the screened patio while the sun sets over the lake. Heaven! And the kids never want to leave because they always say they love having their own "hotel pool with diving board". If you've got a family and want to play together and hang together, this is a great house. It has great character.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Great Vacation

Review submitted: September 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

We were looking for a home that would be a getaway for the family. The kids wanted to stay in Disney property, but my wife and I really wanted something where we could relax and be away from the rat race. We found it in this home. Although it's about 30 minutes from Disney, it's an easy drive...all highway. And, the nice thing is that it is in a quiet neighborhood and sits on a beautiful lake so we were able to feel like we were in a private setting, yet close to everything. The kids absolutely loved all the games and the huge pool with diving board. My son probably went off the diving board a hundred times one day. The furniture appeared to be very new and there's a lot of space to relax and unwind...very comfortable. We really hated to leave as we had so much fun. We'll look forward to a ping pong tournament rematch next year. Thanks for allowing us to rent your lovely home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Great vacation home in a quiet setting

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We come to Central Florida every year to enjoy the warm weather and take in a bunch of the theme parks. We decided to go with a larger vacation home in Winter Haven this year and we're glad we did. Upon walking in we were pleasantly surprised by the fact that this home had brand new furniture. The photos on VRBO did not reflect the new furniture yet, so that was a nice touch. This home is very spacious and clean and is located on quite a large boating lake. We didn't bring a boat, but did venture out on the paddle boat at sunset a few nights. That was nice. There are lots of games like billiards and ping pong and everything was very clean. The pool is very large and was a good temperature to cool off from the heat. The home is located on a lake and it is Florida, so there are some ants and things outside, but nothing that we don't have up north. The two large screened in areas are very nice to hang out in and we found ourselves grilling out almost every night. We had a good time and had some much needed time to unwind. Great location and home. We'll be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great place for families

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

What a wonderful place to come for some much needed rest and relaxation! The house is great...loved bring able to sit and watch the birds while we had our coffee in the morning. Just sitting outside and listening to all the birds and the lake sounds is so peaceful. The week went by sooo fast.

We hope to be back soon and often. Thanks for the hospitality.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reminiscent of a summer camp bunk house

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

First, I would say the lake is beautiful, but if you don't have a boat to access it, this is not the place for you. The dock doesn't go far into the water and you'll find yourself wading through all of the creature filled grasses (we did see water snakes). Don't rely on the paddle boat that gets you nowhere, slow.
As for the house, it would be great for a youth outing or young men's retreat. There are plenty of gaming tables, but don't expect comfort. All of the couches have lost all support. The pool is very warm (in July) to the point of almost uncomfortable ( even though we didn't run the hot tub once, which spills into the pool. There are some slight issues with cleanliness such as stained sheets (although not dirty), mildew all over one shower curtain, and drainage problems in a tub. The entire pool deck was filthy when we arrived. its under a birdcage so it shouldnt be that difficult to keep clean, but we had to sweep it ourselves. big problem with hoards of black ants on the decking. i tried to let my baby crawl around, but she would quickly be covered with ants (although, theyre not biting ants.) Oh, and the diving board is simply a narrow jumping platform. It's not a spring board and does not bounce in any way. That was a disappointment for the kids.
There was a significant leak while we were there, during a storm and there is some busted tile that's dangerous and in need of repair. My son deeply cut his toe on it. Also, every time the air comes on downstairs, it makes a loud crashing sound that sounds like a slamming door. I never got used to that. Could just be a dirty filter.
Thirdly, we tried to contact the owners a few times about some questions and concerns. Tried email with no acknowledgement and spoke to the owner once on the phone. He said he would call back, but never did. We've been home for a week.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: For the whole story, this renter called three days prior to check out and said they accidentally booked one too many nights and asked for money back for the last night. We already passed up another rental for that date so we declined. It seems to have entered into the equation with this review because I personally spoke with Eric and the only issue he reported was a small window leak, which we repaired immediately. In fact he said they were having a great time boating and swimming every day. Nevertheless, we address all reviews and hope they make us better. Some notes:
The paddle boat is pedal powered. It's not designed to go fast. The lake is up and down with the rains, which is typical of Florida, but the dock was 14 feet into the water at the time of this review and it doesn't affect usage of the dock. This is the first time anyone has complained about the pool being too warm. Most people want it warm. The diving board is not an olympic spring board, just a commercial diving board. The kids that come usually love it. We have 2 powerful air conditioning units and I'm not sure what the complaint means here. They work excellent and cool the home in 2 different zones. The pool deck did have some pollen and leaves that made it through the screen due to torrential rains over the past 10 days, and as soon as we saw this we had it cleaned immediately. We've owned this home for 12 years and have been on VRBO as the longest running property. We are a Christian family that cares about our guests and we are always available by mobile phone for anything.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Lots of space. Great views. Quiet setting.

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

Our family rented this home with another family. There were 9 of us in total. This home has lots of open spaces and plenty of room. The setting on the lake was great...very relaxing with lots of wildlife. One of the best things we liked about this home is that it is on a cul-de-sac with a very large circular drive so the kids could play outside with basketballs, skateboards, football, etc. Also, the pool is very large and the kids loved the diving board. Although this home is about 30 minutes away from the theme parks, we liked the fact that it is in a quiet setting where the adults could sit out on the patio after the kids went to bed. Easy, keyless entry made coming and going a breeze. Owners were kind and provided everything we needed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great views. Private setting.

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

This was our first time renting this home and our family had such a great time. This home is quite large and there was plenty of room. The pool table, ping pong table and other games were enjoyed by the kids all week long. The home was nicely furnished and very clean, and the views were incredible as the sun sets over the lake. We enjoyed sitting out on the patio with the grill cooking and watching the sunsets. The neighborhood is quiet and the pool is very large. We especially liked sitting in the hot tub at night. This was a good experience all the way around.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks Shannon for your reply. We appreciated having you as our guests and look forward to your return. Blessings to your and your family.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

We Learned A Lot

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

We have rented fishing cabins and vacation condos before, but this was our first experience renting a vacation home, so weren't sure what to expect. There were many issues that needed addressed, but we were hesitant to contact the owners for most of them, since they were "minor". We did have a major problem with the dryer not working, and the owners sent someone out to check it out and replace it promptly. After we came home, we composed a letter with all the other issues and received a prompt response, followed up by another response listing each issue and how they had addressed them. IF the next renters have a similar experience, please post a review to warn others. IF the next renters have no major issues, please post that review as well, so others can rest assured to rent this home in the future. It's a lovely setting and the pictures don't really do it justice. The owners were easy to contact and responded promptly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Not as advertised

Review submitted: February 17, 2013   Date of arrival: February 5, 2013

No response from the email so we'll use this. Not a good experience. The lock box combo was inaccurate making for a trying experience just to get in in the dark. Directions for pool and spa use are completely outdated. That really didn't matter anyway because the spa is not operational as a spa. More frustration and wasted time. As a group of 6 senior softball players over 65, we would not have rented if you had been upfront about the non-functioning spa. Soothing aches and pains after playing was a key factor in our accommodation choice. A spa without hot water is not a spa, just as an air hockey table without air is not air hockey. Your internet pictures do not do justice to the age and lack of TLC afforded the property.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Our apologies for the lock box combo which was inaccurate. It was a simple typo on our part. However, one phone call to us and we gave the correct code so there was no delay. The spa is 100% operational and this renter never called to ask about it. The breaker next to the spa timer was simply tripped and with one flip of the switch, everything fires up perfectly. Our cell phone numbers are on all paperwork so if there is ever an issue, we will address it right away.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Would recommend this home

Review submitted: October 21, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

We came as a family of 4 and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at this lake home. For starters, the kids loved all the games that were in the home including a pool table, ping pong table and foosball table. We had many games at night and created some wonderful memories. The views of the lake are so serene and visible from almost every room in the house. The kitchen was nicely furnished and the decor was comfortable and welcoming. The kids especially enjoyed the pool with diving board and spent much of the time water logged. Although we had to drive about 30 minutes to get to Disney, it was sort of a nice calm down and then we had lots of room and quiet time away from the hustle and bustle. We will plan on coming back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words! We enjoyed having you as our guests and hope to see you again in the future. God bless.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fun, fun and more fun

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

To the owners: we've rented homes in Central Florida for years, and usually opt for one of the villas in the planned communities. This time we went for your home because we thought it would provide a unique experience for the kids. We were SO glad we did. In addition to your home having a great layout for kids and additional guests, the lake was such a nice and relaxing feature that we will never forget. We all sat out on the patio most nights with the grill on and watched the sunsets over the lake. The pool was also a feature that made your home one of a kind. The pool is larger than some hotel pools and the diving board was something the kids couldn't get enough of. There were lots of things to do both inside and outside this home. My husband and I actually got to relax and talk because the kids were always occupied. The home was well maintained and clean and there was plenty of parking when we had friends visit. We created lots of lasting memories at your home. Thanks for letting us use your beautiful home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Needs a lot of upkeep

Review submitted: September 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

We were pretty disappointed with the quality of the home. One of the reasons we chose this property was for the screened in pool. When we arrived, there were entire sections of screen that were torn off and numerous holes in the screens that allowed plenty of FL mosquitos to make a nice dinner out of us. We could not just hang by the pool as a result. We either had to be in the pool or be slathered with bug spray. Given the various places where duct tape was used throughout the home as a "quick fix" (often unsuccessfully, as duct tape doesn't stick to many surfaces well), it's not like somebody wasn't aware of the problem. We also found the bed in the Master bedroom very uncomfortable and my husband and I did not sleep well. Mildew and cobwebs were also a mainstay both inside the house and all over the pool area. We were greeted on a number of days by very large cockroaches inside the house. My husband and I are not high maintenance people, but we do like things to be clean and maintained. This property did not meet those requirements. The home does have a lot of space and numerous beds and baths to accommodate multiple families. The foosball table and other entertainment features are also good for kids. If it weren't for these things, I would have given it one star. We were also disappointed that when we called the owner the response was that they had not received such complaints in the past. A couple of days later somebody came out and fixed the screens that were most problematic, but there were still plenty of holes for bugs to get through. I wish I were writing a different review, but this was our experience.

Owners response: This is the first questionable review on this property in 10 years. We were the 1st property listed in VRBO in this area and have a stellar background. In this case, due to a bad storm, there were a few screen panels that did get ripped. We called a repair company but they were 5 days backed up with all the requests. We applied some clear screen tape as a temporary fix. 3 days into this rental, the repair company came and put new screens in. Additionally, during this storm, some water intrusion happened in the laundry room which stained part of the ceiling. We hired a licensed roofing contractor and repair specialist who has sealed it and replaced the ceiling area. All is well today and our home continues to be a top rental. We've owned this home for 10 years, and the mattresses are all Sealy Northstar mattresses which we have never received any complaints on. They are very nice. We are a Christian family that lives in Tampa and have ALWAYS been over the top about the service and quality we provide. We are sorry this couple wasn't happy but we did all we could.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Had the best time I didn't want to come home.

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

I stayed there with my daughter (13) and 7 other people, including 9 & 5 year old boys. There was plenty of room for sleeping. One bed we didn't even use. No fighting for bathrooms !!! Loved sitting out by the lake in the morning drinking juice. The pool was clean and cool. The pool and ping pong table kept the kids amused when we were at home. Having two TV's was nice (even though I never watched them). And it was a short drive to restaurants, stores and friends that lived close by. Really hated to leave.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful home - tranquil surroundings

Review submitted: December 21, 2010   Date of arrival: December 4, 2010

Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us. I loved that you could see the lake from just about every room in the house. The spacious layout was much appreciated for our family as we didn't feel like we were on top of each other. The kids played pool, ping pong and foosball non-stop and we hated to leave. The home was clean and well furnished and in a nice neighborhood so the kids could play outside and shoot baskets too. We'll be back next year for another get-away and hope your home will be available.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Eagle Lake

Review submitted: November 18, 2010   Date of arrival: November 2, 2010

A lovely, spacious home in beautiful surroundings. The home is tastefully decorated, with plenty to do to occupy large families. As a group of girls, it was nice to have enough bathrooms for everyone!
We spent the days in the Orlando theme parks, the beach at Tampa and on Segueways. However, the best times were relaxing at the home in the hot tub, enjoying the pedalo on the lake, feeding the local birdlife [Sandhill cranes and Ibis] and watching the glorious sunsets.
The owners are polite, friendly and extremely easy to contact and deal with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Eagle Lake

Review submitted: November 18, 2010   Date of arrival: November 2, 2010

A beautifully situated, lovely spacious home. The beds are comfortable in tastefully decorated rooms. There are enough bathrooms to avoid any arguments when several women are staying together!
We spent day trips in Tampa, Orlando and in the local malls, experiencing the theme parks, segueway trips and great exchange rates. However, the best times were spent relaxing at the home in the hot tub, watching the sunsets on the lakes, feeding the local birdlife and paragliding over the lake.
The owners are easy to contact, friendly and polite.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome Time in Florida

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

This is the first time we've rented a home for vacation and we'll never stay in a hotel again! Your home was just perfect for our family. The layout is so nice because we were never on top of one another as there is so much to do and so many places to hang out. We thoroughly enjoyed all of the games you have there and we even had our own ping pong tournament which we will never forget. The pool was so nice and the diving board was an extra special treat for the kids. Next time we are going to rent with some friends who are going to bring their boat. The lake looks like a perfect lake for tubing and skiing. Thanks again for making your home available to us. We will be back next year again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Comments from the Byrds

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

I wanted to let you know that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your lovely home very, very much. You really have a nice property there and have done a great job keeping it maintained.
All of us had a terrific time on the lake, in the pool and enjoying all of the activities inside as well. It was well worth the drive for all of us and everyone felt very much at home.

Thank you again and maybe we will be able to make use of your home for another family get together sometime soon.

Kind regards,

The Byrd Family

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great home and even better views!

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

This was our second stay at this beautiful home and we found everything to be just wonderful. This home has incredible views of the lake where we could sip our coffee while watching the birds and wildlife. And, we brought our boat and the family did a lot of water sports while we were there. The home is incredibly clean and very well maintained and has a lot of amenities. We highly recommend this property if you are visiting Winter Haven or the Disney area. P.S. The pool is huge and totally private which we loved!
- The Smithson Family

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks For the Memories!

Review submitted: June 2, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

We just wanted to say thank you for renting your lovely home to us. Our family had such a great time at your lake home. The kids fell in love with the paddle boat and fishing and just loved all the games you had for them to play. My daughter learned how to dive for the first time and all the kids spent countless hours in your pool. (We were surprised how large your pool is!) Everything at your place was just perfect including the beautiful sunsets over the lake. You can definitely expect us to be back again soon!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great house!

Review submitted: June 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

We stayed at this home for a week and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. To start, this home has an excellent layout with views of the lake and the pool from just about every room. We had a lot of family join us for the week and we were surprised how we were not on top of each other. The bedrooms are layed out very well and there are 4 bathrooms to accommodate us all. The kids just LOVED both the pool (with diving board) and the gaming area. Even the adults got into the action playing billiards and ping pong. It was just an excellent home for us and we will certainly be back again in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review