reviews for: listing #85558 - Bahamas, Caribbean House rental

Tranquility on the Atlantic w/ocean kayaks
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Green Turtle Cay
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $275 - $350 /nt
    $1,950 - $2,450 /wk
    $6,000 - $8,000 /mth

sort by:

Paradise Found!

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

This house sits on the most beautiful property with unimaginable views! Tranquility is the perfect name for the house and it is the perfect place for a relaxing and peaceful vacation. The owners are so helpful with answering any questions before your trip. The people on the island are friendly and provide great service- from the caretakers at Island Property Management, to Seaside Carts (golf cart rental), to Syd's Grocery store, to Brendal's Dive center, to Sunset Marine & Boat Rentals. It was a fantastic experience! We hope to be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

jackie

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

We had a wonderful time here! "We" are two married couples, in our early 60's. The house was excellently set up for two couples with "equal" bedrooms. The house is just as pictured.
It is well cared for, clean, and spacious enough for us. Important to the husbands was that the TV worked so they could watch the Olympic hockey, but really, we were too busy to be watching TV very much! When we arrived the property management people were there to greet us on the dock, as promised by the owners. The golf cart rental person was there to greet us and give us our golf cart, as promised by the owners. Yes, you do need to rent a golf cart! Everything went very well!
On the island, the people were wonderful. All the people we encountered were very warm and friendly.
We flew into Marsh Harbor. You do have to take a taxi to rendezvous with the ferry that takes you to Green Turtle Cay. That costs about $90.00,cash,just so you know. There is a fee for the ferry also: $13.00 per person, also cash, just so you know. Our taxi driver was Amanda, a very warm, lovely, informative woman, who also arranged to meet us for our return trip to the airport.
We rented a boat.......which seems to be a good thing to do.....IF you have someone adept at boating and reading maritime maps. It can be fairly dangerous boating long distances as the water depth changes abruptly, seemingly in the middle of nowhere, with nothing around. If you have no boating experience, hiring someone would be my recommendation. Coco Bay is a delightful place to go to swim in gentle water....float on a noodle or two... or set up a chair and read. Very calm and quiet bay.
Food: While the people at Sid's Grocery are delightful, choices are EXTREMELY limited. There is another grocery, but it is also very small. We did not go in there. We bought breakfast makings and ate the rest of our meals at a restaurant. If you are planning on cooking in-house for a group for a week, it might be difficult!
Warning: 1) Most, tho not all, places of business (including restaurants!) were closed on Sunday, especially "in town," New Plymouth. 2) You can't be in a hurry to eat! Food preparation is slow at restaurants, but we were ok with it. 3) If you have teens, this cay probably isn't the place for you.
Again, the house was a lovely place on a wonderful lot with a stunning view of a blue, green, turquoise sea. We thank the owners for sharing!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Love that View

Review submitted: December 1, 2013   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

From the arrival at the dock with Julie waiting to pick up our bags and lead the way, and Marilyn waiting with our Sea Side Golf cart this trip could not have started out better. After arriving at the home on a short trip from the dock you realize you are only steps from beach and beautiful water of the Atlantic Ocean. All of the rooms face the ocean for a fantastic view from all. The house was well equipped plenty of towels both bath and beach, linens, and extra pillows. The kitchen had all pots, pans, utensils, dishes, glasses and silverware needed. Richard and Chris responded promptly and they were very helpful throughout the reservation process and up to arrival as our times changed due to late flight. The people of Green Turtle are very kind and helpful so be prepared to do lots of waving as you pass. All of the restaurants we tried the food was fresh and delicious, we dined at Macintosh's for dinner and lunch a great choice not to miss, The Wrecking Tree was probably a tie with Macintosh's for favorite dinner spots had lunch there twice, and The Green Turtle Club has great staff and wonderful menu for a more upscale casual meal . Our only regret was we did not stay longer as Mother Nature was not kind for a few days and on part of those days we got enjoy her as she lashed out across the ocean from the comfort of our living room what a view.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Tranquility on Green Turtl Cay

Review submitted: October 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 16, 2013

Spearfishing trip with my son to GTC. Tranquility could not have been nicer. 40 feet from the beach made the daily commute pretty nice! We shall return!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Experience

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

The house itself is lovely and very open and airy. I was surprised to find all the kitchen gadgets, beach towels, hats and sunscreen. What nice touches! The home is right on a wonderful stretch of beach with superb snorkeling on the reef 100 yards out. We had a few sharks circling us on our kayak out there which made for great stories. They were only nurse sharks and not to be feared; i was delighted and my husband was jealous that he did not see them too! We had a marvelous time at Tranquility and would not change a thing. We will visit again one day......

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Sheer Perfection

Review submitted: April 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 4, 2013

Perfection best describes this rental. Perfect communication with owner - a true gentleman and clearly interested in your comfort and happiness. Perfect logistics - the on-island management company makes entry and exit smooth and easy. Perfect location - midway between the town and the club and literally on the best beach. Perfect house design - wonderful spaces for togetherness or time alone and views galore from inside and out; both with and without shade. Perfect amenities - everything included and in working order, well cared for, neat and clean. We can’t wait to return!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Mike Ridgeway

Review submitted: September 21, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

We had a GREAT TIME!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect from start to finish

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

1st time visitors, we stayed for 2 weeks. Everything on the website is accurate about the house. It was clean, new, well maintained, comfortable and everything worked. We stayed with my wife, our kids and my parents, worked out fine with kids on the pull out couches upstairs. Owner was a delight to work with from start to finish. A great place to go whether you want to relax and watch the amazing views from the house or if you want to explore GTC. The location is mid - island, perfect for golf cart exploring or bike riding. Best beach on the island is 200 feet to your left. Make sure to rent a boat well in advance. Snorkeling was great, the wind can limit where you go boating so be patient. We rented from Donnies and it was fine. Weather in June was warm but perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you John for taking time to review Tranquility and for the great review ! We hope you'll return to Green Turtle and our house. We're very glad to hear that you and your family had such a nice vacation.
Our best to you and your family,
Richard

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Green Turtle Cay beach house vacation

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2010

Our family (myself, my wife, and 3 children ages 6, 8 and 10) stayed at Tranquility for a couple of nights the week before Christmas. The house was beautiful. The water temperature was a bit nippy initially (I would estimate it to have been around 74 degrees F), but we got used to it quickly and we had a great time swimming and building sand castles on the beach. The beach is literally right outside the house. We used the kayaks to go to a small beach on the other side of the lagoon (during low tide). The kids loved it. We rented a golf cart which gave us access to the whole island and was very convenient. The hosts are very helpful and friendly. All in all we had a wonderful time and I would highly recommend this place. We hope to come again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Best Vacation Ever !!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: October 2, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

We've traveled all over the world - Europe, Tahiti, Maldives, etc. but the location of your home and the island of Green Turtle was one of the best experiences ever. It was the perfect choice for what we wanted - Beautiful location, Isolation, Friendly people, and a relaxed atmosphere. My wife and I were seriously talking about moving there. Anyway thank you for a perfect home and beautiful location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: This review was actually the last paragraph in an email which Patrick sent to me after returning from our home on Green Turtle.
It was so nice to read that I asked him to duplicate it as a review for our site .Thank you Patrick !!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Tranquility at Green Turtle Cay - Didn't want to leave

Review submitted: July 3, 2010   Date of arrival: June 24, 2010

We just got back today from 8 wonderfully relaxing days at Tranquility (Green Turtle Cay). This beach front home is much more than depicted. The interior was bright and open, so many beautiful views from all the windows. There were only two of us, but there is plenty of room for larger groups. Spent many hours sitting at the high table on the balcony enjoying the breeze, reading, soaking up the sun and view, and listening to the lull of the beautiful multi-colored blue ocean. The Kellers (owners) were so friendly and helpful, providing all kinds of information for us prior to arriving. The property management company met us at our dock and made sure we were well taken care of. The local residents were all so friendly. Went to Sid's grocery store almost every day. Ate at Harvey's several times. Be careful of the Goombay Smashes at Miss Emilie's Blue Bee - they're strong :). Loved our golf cart transportation during our stay. I highly recommend this island and staying at Tranquility. I truly hope to come back next year and this time bring the entire family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Still heavenly

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: February 27, 2010

This is our 5th trip to the Cay and Tranquility in four years, and I cannot imagine staying anywhere else on the island. The listing description is accurate, and the photos reflect the well cared house in its wonderful setting on the beach. Richard and Chris keep this place well maintained, reflecting their love for house and the island. We recommend Tranquility and Green Turtle Cay to anyone looking for relaxation, sunshine, surf, fishing, and yes, Tranquility. Both Green Turtle Club and the Bluff House have good dining rooms and the restaurants in town have good varieties of food for all tastes, but don't miss the conch in its many varieties. Bahamian bread at Sid's is great toasted for breakfast.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Best Birthday Surprise....Ever!

Review submitted: April 21, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2009

"Tranquility" has found a place in our family's heart! My husband, brother and I surprised mom for her 60th birthday by whisking her away to "Tranquility." Definitely the best thing we have ever done! Having been to Green Turtle before, we knew about the island's beauty and character. What we didn't know before this trip was how fantastic our home away from home was going to be!
First of all, the location of Tranquility is the best you are going to find on the island. Overlooking the lagoon, and situated right on the beach with a reef right in front (lobsters galore!!!), it was amazing. We would wake up and walk out to the beach to snorkel. The kayaks made it even more accessible. The house is about halfway between New Plymouth and Green Turtle Club, making it easy to go for the "big night out!"
Second, the home is designed perfectly for the beach. The view from the kitchen made cooking dinner much more appealing! The kitchen was stocked with the essentials we needed and the house was very clean and comfortable. We used the deck for every meal...how could we not??? And the outdoor shower was so lovely!
And, as an added bonus on our trip, the owner even had a birthday cake sent over for our mom! This is the wonderful thing about renting from the owner directly. You feel like you are staying at a friend's home and they genuinely want you to have a fantastic time and enjoy their home as much as they do. We will definitely be returning to "Tranquility" as soon as we can. We have found our Green Turtle home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Couldn't have been better

Review submitted: February 10, 2009   Date of arrival: January 31, 2009

What a wonderful, wonderful place. The view is astonishing, the house is exceptionally comfortable and the waves at night rocked me gently to sleep. Every amenity is available with every appliance, gadget or comfort needed. The ocean view is amazing and the water incredibly beautiful. I could not have had a better time. Not to mention all of the fish I caught that I had to take pictures of because no-one would believe me! :-)

Feb. 2009

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Coming back again

Review submitted: November 1, 2008   Date of arrival: June 6, 2008

My wife and I have been here 3 times, I have been 5 times all told, since '05, and cannot get enough. The location is ideal for relaxation, and it is God's work at its natural best, such a beautiful place. The people are marvelous, and the seafood is fresh and tasty, conk (sp?), snapper trigger, wow!!! A spotless place, well maintained and equipped, Direct TV/DVD/stereo, movies. Be as active as you want at your own pace. We have been all over the world, this is incomparable, we are captivated. Recommend it to the best of friends, but not to those who cannot appreciate peace and beauty.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

The Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: March 18, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

My husband and I discovered Tranquility in 2005 and have returned every year since. Green Turtle Cay is a slice of heaven on earth. The views from the home are unparalled...the Atlantic water has numerous shades of blue and aquamarine...simply breathtaking! Here's what you can look forward to...morning cup of coffee watching the sun rise, long walks on a beautiful stretch of beach, and snorkeling in crystal-clear water protected by a reef. The home is very conveniently located...it's a short golf cart ride to the village of New Plymouth and the island's two resorts, Green Turtle Club and the Bluff House. The residents go out of their way to make visitors feel welcome. Not to miss...Pineapple's, Sundowners, Miss Emily's Blue Bee Bar, and offshore fishing (including a picnic on the beach) with Lincoln Jones. My husband is a fly fisherman and the bone fishing on Green Turtle is superb...two years ago, he caught a "Ghost of the Flats" which weighed 10 lbs, 7 oz! Be sure to contact Ronnie Sawyer for a bone fishing trip. You can also wade the flats at Gillam and Coco Bays. The owner of Tranquility provides excellent customer service and the fully furnished home has everything you need for a wonderful, relaxing vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 23 / 23

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review