reviews for: listing #85583 - Sonoma, California House rental

Ladera House
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  6
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $700 - $1,000 /nt
    $4,500 - $5,000 /wk
    $12,000 - $12,000 /mth

sort by:

Awesome retreat!!

Review submitted: July 25, 2014   Date of arrival: July 16, 2014

This home was so wonderful and comfortable to stay in! We had a group of nine women - all cousins from across the country - and no one wanted to leave!! Everything you need is there - the kitchen is very well appointed and the bedrooms and baths are lovely and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and wouldn't hesitate to go back!! Highly recommended for a group!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wedding weekend in sonoma

Review submitted: June 19, 2014   Date of arrival: June 13, 2014

I agree with the previous reviews - the pictures do not do it justice. Ladera is a very special, beautiful home, and so much nicer than staying at a resort. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

OUTSTANDING!!!!

Review submitted: May 22, 2014   Date of arrival: May 11, 2014

We had 5 couples & were exceedingly pleased!!! Absolutely NO COMPLAINTS or criticisms!! Wonderful time. & Dave was so accommodating !!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family trip

Review submitted: May 2, 2014   Date of arrival: April 25, 2014

We rented this house for a weekend. 10 adults 25yrs - 32yrs and one 2yr old. The house was amazing and the owner was very accommodating. Beautiful view, clean, and a comfy robe for everyone! We took a vineyard tour Saturday it was close enough for us to visit 5 wineries. One room and bath is above the garage, perfect for a 2yr old and his parents. I highly recommend this house it made our trip and have us great family memories.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exceptional country villa

Review submitted: March 13, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

This is the third time visitors of ours from out of town have stayed at beautiful Ladera House. They love it! The five couples enjoyed the expansiveness and the privacy of the house as well as the lovely scenery of hills, grasslands and groves of trees. The owners are gracious and welcoming. Nice touches abound throughout the villa.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Valentine's wine country weekend getaway with friends

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

Our weekend consisted of five couples staying at this property. I agree with the other reviewers that the photos don't do this property justice. The home is beautiful and so well maintained by the owners. They really care about their house and have included everything you would need (and more!) to make your stay comfortable. The kitchen is more than fully stocked, there is a hot tub with a spectacular view, and they have a pool table. The five bedrooms offer enough privacy for everyone, and the common areas are wonderful when everyone wants to gather around to chat or relax. We loved the fireplace and the deck! The views are amazing with beautiful trees surrounding the property, and many deer and turkeys are around the property. We even heard an owl! The road is a little tricky for first timers, so I suggest arriving during daylight if possible. Once you are familiar with the road, it is no problem. The place is in a really peaceful setting, yet it is so conveniently located - easy drive to the Glen Ellen Market, Sonoma Square, local parks, and the many wineries. Our group had an amazing time, and I highly recommend this property!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wine Tasting Weekend

Review submitted: February 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

The pictures and description do not do this property justice! We had a group of 5 couples for a wine tasting weekend. We all had plenty of room to be off by ourselves and the "gathering" areas were spacious enough for our enjoying each others company. The grounds were spectacular and gave a sense of being on top of the world. The patio heaters came in handy for chilly evenings.
The property owner and property manager were both very nice and it really is true...they go out of their way to please their renters. They had everything you could ever want to make your stay enjoyable. Loved the music system and pool table too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular Home for a family gathering!

Review submitted: October 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

My family and I stayed at Ladera house for a weekend in October and we were completely blown away! The pictures truly don't do it justice. We have rented vacation properties throughout the world, and I must say this is one of the nicest places we have ever stayed! The views are incredible and you have total privacy. The layout of the house is great too, with 3 floors and 5 bedrooms there was enough space for the whole family. The location is within 5 minutes of the Glen Ellen Market, so we cooked in and enjoyed the house both nights. Dave, the owner, was a pleasure to work with and you can tell he takes great care of his home. We also really appreciated the extra toilet paper, towels, plenty of dishes and glasses etc, that are lacking in a lot of rental properties. We hope to be back again in the future!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

five couple friends trip to wine country

Review submitted: October 19, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

From the booking process with Maurine to the time we left to come home, everything was well thought out and taken care of. Communication from start to finish was excellent. The owners are great, really nice people. Now to the house. If you are looking for a house to accomodate a large group with a peaceful, secluded setting that is close to everything but seems like it isn't close anything, this is the place!!! The house is large enough for everyone to have their privacy when needed, with a great room that opens up to a large patio area across the back overlooking the valley. Spectacular views!! the deer and turkey come out with the sunrise in the morning. Then you come back from back from a day in the wine country to enjoy visiting about the day with your friends on the patio viewing the sunset and then the stars. We had a great time and having this as our home base helped make it that way.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The bookclub ladies.

Review submitted: September 27, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

The property is magical, prestine, with beautiful views. A fun game to play is "What is missing in this place?" Answer "Nothing!" Our visit was a 10++

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bachelorette Weedend

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

We rented out this house for my sister's bachelorette weekend. There were nine of us girls. This house was amazing! We couldn't have asked for a better house. It had such a beautiful view and it was very quiiet and peaceful. There were deer that would even come up into the yard near the house. The house was very spacious with a nice big patio overlooking the beautiful scenery. The owners were very accomadating and very helpful. They made suggestions on where to go in the area and the house was furnished with everything that you needed. They even had a Welcome basket filled with goodies when we got to the house. To top it off the hot tub was amazing. It was so nice to relax and just hear nothing but nature all around us. We went to the Ledson Winery and Vineyards in Sonoma and it was absolutely beautiful! We also had dinner in Sonoma at The Girl and the Fig which was amazing! I highly recommend them. Our waiter was outstanding! We also had dinner at Flavors in Sonoma another night and their food was outstanding! We had such a great time and experience. I would defintely come back and stay in this house again for another girls' trip! .

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous!

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 8, 2013

We have the best time at this beautiful, very well maintained and fabulous location home. 11 Ladies celebrating their birthdays could not have enjoyed themselves more!! Better than presented in description with nice homey decor and touches. The owner Dave was very kind and showed
us around and explained everything and we could not have been happier. Fully stocked Kitchen, pantry, pans, dishes - Water and Robes in Each room was the best touch. Lovely area with lots of wild life viewing from the balconies - will definitely come back. VERY close to wineries and places to eat -we hired a Chef Matt Bennett for a birthday dinner and he was amazing.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely chateau

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

We and friends from out of town rented Ladera House for the second time. It is a beautiful house in a private country setting. The owners are very helpful and generous and the decor makes you feel that somehow Italy, Sonoma Valley, and family home had all merged with the best of each.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Ladera House

Review submitted: April 28, 2013   Date of arrival: April 18, 2013

We had a fabulously relaxing stay in this beautiful and well-maintained home. There was plenty of room for 7 adults to be together and also to have some privacy. The views from the veranda are superb, and only the prospect of many wine tastings was enough to get us out of the house each day. By evening time we were all happy to head back to the peace and beauty of the hills. A couple three bottles of just-bought wine and some dinner provisions from Sonoma Market, 599 Thai Cafe, or the wonderful Portuguese restaurant La Salette, and we were as content as could be. Some port, some hot tub time, and a star-filled sky completed each evening.

Owner Dave was a delight to work with. He and his wife created a lovely, comfortable, and inviting home, and my family and I are grateful to have had the opportunity to experience it!

Owners response: Thank you for such an articulate and expressive review! Now I will try LaSalette for take-out…I had never thought of that! We are thrilled you loved the place as much as we do. Hope to see you back sometime.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Spring Break with family

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

This was the most wonderful spring break I have ever had. I rented Ladera House for my family (husband,3 sons & daughter-in-laws). We all had our own space and it was the most relaxing home. The location is central to all the wineries in Sonoma and an easy drive to Napa. In the evening we ate at the local restaurants (delicious!!) or would stop by the cute market in Glen Ellen and pick up groceries for dinner. The deck is incredible!! Morning coffee watching the deer or evening cocktails watching the turkeys run - and the view... WOW! The kitchen is great and fully stocked. I've been telling all my friends about this beautiful home! Highly recommend!!!

Owners response: Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted you had such a perfect experience. We endeavor to make sure everything is perfect for our guests, so it is so gratifying to hear back from you. Hope to see you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WOW...the PERFECT place to enjoy the company of friends!

Review submitted: February 22, 2013   Date of arrival: February 13, 2013

This beautiful home exceed our expectations! We had intended on eating out every evening. What happened was buying food and lots of wine and enjoy the company of friends! A short drive to the store in town, but the seclusion and rolling hills - well breathtaking! From breakfast in the morning with coffee and the deer family that visited every morning to wonderful dinners with all the amenities! Thank you...we will definitely be back!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bachelorette Weekend

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: November 8, 2012

I would recommend this home to anyone and everyone who is looking for a gorgeous and relaxing stay in the California wine country. The home has everything a group could ask for! Fully stocked kitchen, hot tub, and gorgeous views of the area. The only neighbors we saw were the deer. We went there to celebrate my upcoming wedding. The balcony was very large and private. We could sit and enjoy the wine we purchased on our visits to several wonderful wineries only 10 min away:) Thank you to the owners of the home for all of the provisions that helped make our short stay so easy.
Corrine

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect 50th Birthday Celebration

Review submitted: October 25, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

Ladera House was the perfect place for friends and family to gather from around the country for a surprise birthday weekend for my husband. Host Dave got us situated and left us well supplied with wine and snacks. The amazing kitchen had every possible tool, pan, plate or gadget that a house full of cooks could need. Every bedroom and bathroom was beautifully appointed. We loved opening the French doors for plen aire dinners and sitting on the balcony overlooking the beautiful countryside. The fireplace and jacuzzi put things over the top. Wonderful hosts and amazing home. ENJOY!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Couldn't wait to tell you!!!!

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: October 9, 2012

I write this review while sitting in the outdoor living area at Ladera house. Everything you could want in a home away from home. We came to the Sonoma Valley for our daughters wedding and we shared Ladera house with the grooms family. The festivities are over and almost everyone has gone home. We all were so taken by the views,the comforts and the ability to have privacy when needed. Ladera house made what could have been a very stressful time very relaxing. The calming views, the wildlife, and the fantastic weather were more than anyone could ask for. We were able to cook and have sit down family meals every night and getting to know each other. Waking to the quiet mornings, opening the wall size glass pocket doors and having my coffee while the crisp morning air let me know fall is near. This has been one of the most amazing vacations I have been on. The town of Glen Ellen has a great market for all your needs.

Recommended for: girls getaway

Owners response: Ladera House is in the Heart of Wine Country, close to Sonoma Valley Wineries but definitely in a peaceful country setting. You can’t walk to Starbucks but we do provide Peet’s coffee and a great setting with many amenities. The house is also big enough so that there are areas to be private.

For a Wedding in Wine Country or just a getaway to read and reflect, you will enjoy your stay with us.

Thanks for your review while still there. Hope to see you again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

On behalf of our group, we wanted to say thank you so much for providing the perfect venue for our stay. Your house is beautiful, with spectacular views and a great floor plan. We all had our own private space and the common areas were just the right size for our group. The fact that you had a fully stocked kitchen was helpful, since we enjoyed being there so much we cooked in every night. The extra touches were great - water in every room, lots of towels, and the gift basket was a big hit. My friends especially loved watching the deer munching on oak leaves. It was a very special time for us.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Even Better Than Expected

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 2, 2012

After seeing the pictures of Ladera House I had my doubts about whether it was going to be as nice as it appeared. It wasn't...IT WAS EVEN BETTER! Nine members of our family spent a week there and the environment was so incredible we even passed on a couple of nights of eating out choosing to EAT IN instead since the kitchen has everything we needed to prepare meals. What a view, what a house, what a week!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Week at Ladera House

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 11, 2012

We had a great week at Ladera House! Two families, one with grown kids (post college) and one with two teens (total of nine people) enjoyed the house which served as the center for a great food and wine adventure. The house is beautifully appointed and well built, with disappearing doors that enable you to incorporate the veranda and its views of Mt. Sonoma with the kitchen, dining room and living room area. All of the five bedrooms were great, but the master was spectacular. Great teen room down on the third level. The private setting was enhanced with deer and wild turkeys gracing the property from time to time. We spent about 1/3 of our time in neighboring Napa Valley, a 1/3 in SF and a 1/3 in Sonoma. Enjoyed low-key Sonoma the best! Would definitely return and definitely recommend. Owners were gracious too.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Outstanding and Beautiful Value

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

We had a fabulous time in Sonoma and we owe so much credit to the wonderful experiences at Ladera House. The owners were so welcoming and the hospitality was amazing. The way that they stocked the home, the welcome gifts were a very special touch, yet the beautifully maintained home and the special amenities to this home are amazing. Not to mention the spectacular views, the beautiful wildlife and the location were all amazing. We would like to return again in the future and can only tell future renters that the value you get for your money at Ladera House is fabulous. Thanks so much for all your support and please know that we had a very special and relaxing time at this beautiful property.

Thanks again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: This family was wonderful and treated our home like it was theirs. We're so glad they enjoyed themselves and would welcome them back anytime. It's families like theirs that make vacation renting a pleasure, interesting to meet and knowing they enjoyed our beautuful wine country lifestyle.--Dave & Jeanette

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful home in serene setting - perfect get away for 10 good friends!

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

Ladera House was the perfect spot for our group to celebrate turning 50! The home is spacious with plenty of room to gather together yet also has private bedroom/bathroom arrangements. The kitchen is amazing and completely stocked with everything you could need. A wonderful "welcome" basket of wines and snacks was even waiting for us when we arrived. We enjoyed cooking breakfast together and even canceled dinner reservations one night and put steaks on the BBQ so we could spend more time at home. The location is quiet, rural and very beautiful. We enjoyed several wineries in Kenwood and Glen Ellen, which are generally within a 15 minute drive; we especially enjoyed olive oil "tasting" and the brick oven pizza at Figone's. the owner, Dave, was fantastic, meeting us when we arrived, showing us all the amenities of the house and making sure that we had everything we needed. They have thought of every detail, including stacks of cozy blankets to use on the deck, lots of books/movies/music to enjoy, robes and water bottles in every bedroom along with very nice quality linens. We had a wonderful time and highly recommend this property for families or groups looking for a quiet get-away spot of rural luxury.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulous House! Looking Forward to Our Next Stay.

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 19, 2012

I stayed at this property for a long weekend with a group of 10 girlfriends. We loved the house! It exceeded our expectations, and we are all thinking of excuses to return. There are some great pictures posted on the site, but the house and views are even better in person.

Overall, the house is spacious, private, pristinely clean and has wonderful amenities that are easy to use, including a hot tub, grill, fireplace, stereo/speaker system, outdoor heat lamp for a chilly night, etc. Importantly, all of the bedrooms are comfortable and nobody from our group left feeling like they got stuck with a bad room. We even saw the deer and wild turkeys that other reviewers have mentioned in their posts. The owners are very nice, and they will be as responsive as you need them to be if you have questions.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Ten friends came to Sonoma

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

This house is beautiful, with a splendid view. Ten friends came to visit and spent the weekend here. They loved it. The house is elegant and yet very livable and each bedroom is beautifully decorated. We held a room-draw because the bedrooms are different (2 share a bath, one is somewhat separate from the main area). Yet after the weekend each couple said that ANY bedroom would be wonderful. The kitchen is very well equipped. The owners are extremely helpful. Though in the country, the house is within easy driving to many wineries and restaurants in Sonoma Valley and only about 3 miles from Glen Ellen.. Our friends, who have visited us each spring for seven years now, staying in different places say, "We want this house next year!"

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family reunion at Christmas

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2011

We gathered for the week of Christmas and had a family reunion at the Ladera house. The layout of the house was perfect in accomodating our large family. We loved the wrap around deck and enjoyed sitting out there in the morning with our coffee and in the afternoons with our cocktails. The view from the deck was beautiful, sunrise and sunsets.

The owners provided so many special touches to the house it made us feel as though we were all at home. They went out of their way to decorate the house so that we all felt a holiday spirit as we entered the home. Robes were provided in every room which was a treat since luggage is so limited these days when traveling by plane. We cooked quite a bit and were pleasantly surprised that the pantry and drawers had spices and food items. We would recommend the following: purchase a toaster that can handle 4 slices versus 2, improve the coffee maker (suggest the single cup type which accomodates different taste) and fix the stove top.

Oh, lastly, the owners also left us some very nice wine and provided us firewood for the fireplace that we throughly enjoyed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Place wtih Beautiful views.

Review submitted: November 30, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

The property has four full baths and an half bath. The house had everything you need in an amazing setting. The porch was fantastic for dinning and relaxing. The only thing we needed was blow dryers, there was only one for the entire house. I would suggest each bath have a blow dryer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Charm & Delight in Abundance!

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

A large group of us stayed at Ladera house for my wife's 30th birthday recently. The owners were beyond accomodating (including water in all the rooms and a chilled bottle of bubbly in the fridge).

The property itself has an excellent Mediterranean villa charm. The back wraparound deck opens fully to the dining and living area. We were so happy with the main floor we never even used the basement entertainment area other than the bedroom for one of our guests.

The view from the property is a stunning look into the valley and much wildlife (deer & turkey) was visible in the area.

We would certainly consider renting this beautiful home again, we loved it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Charm & Delight in Abundance!

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

A large group of us stayed at Ladera house for my wife's 30th birthday recently. The owners were beyond accomodating (including water in all the rooms and a chilled bottle of bubbly in the fridge).

The property itself has an excellent Mediterranean villa charm. The back wraparound deck opens fully to the dining and living area. We were so happy with the main floor we never even used the basement entertainment area other than the bedroom for one of our guests.

The view from the property is a stunning look into the valley and much wildlife (deer & turkey) was visible in the area.

We would certainly consider renting this beautiful home again, we loved it!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review