reviews for: listing #85606 - Seneca Lake, New York House rental

The Farmhouse
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $100 - $225 /nt
    $700 - $900 /wk

sort by:

Scenery in the country

Review submitted: May 30, 2014   Date of arrival: May 30, 2014

We have stayed here as a family on two different holiday long weekends and loved our visit each time. The scenery is beautiful and the land is great for our kids to play games on and our dogs love to just run and play fetch for ours. The back deck is such a nice place to eat all your meals at or for playing board and card games at late into the night. The farmhouse is comfortable inside and the a/c units keeps the house cool. The host are wonderful people to deal with and make you feel right at home. We will be back every year to enjoy the wonderful accomodations at the farmhouse.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What A View!

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at The Farmhouse. A delightful step back in time. The house was just as it was described and the owners were so pleasant and willing to help and answer any questions. We really enjoyed the farm fresh eggs for breakfast!! We really appreciated being able to bring our dogs with us. The house is so close to many activities, yet quiet, peaceful and relaxing. Many thanks Mary Jane and Ernie. We enjoyed talking and visiting with you and we are definitely planning another vacation to Seneca Lake and The Farmhouse!! Thanks again for everything. Coopersburg, PA

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's always a pleasure to host guests who are so very respectful of The Farmhouse, especially when it comes to bringing their pets. This always makes for a win-win situation! We look forward to others enjoying the fantastic view and the entire Finger Lakes region.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Get Away Weekend

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

This quaint Farmhouse was absolutely perfect for our long weekend. The description is exact. The home is clean. The owners are extremely helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our late afternoon/evenings relaxing on the back porch over looking the gorgeous mountain side. Our Boston terrier loved playing in the yard and also lounging on the porch. ( if you are out late at night don't forget bug spray, you are in the country). The location to town is literally a minute but you would never know it from where the home sits. If you want ideal location with some relaxation, this is your place. You are minutes from the wine trails and Watkins Glen race track is only 20/30 minutes away. If you enjoy a little cardio then take an afternoon walking the trails at the state park admiring the gorge (remember to bring your sneakers). The home had everything we needed but if you forget your shampoo or razor, Walmart is right down the road. We ate at Mr. Chicken and the Mexican restaurant (they are both good and priced well) We heard Bleachers is very good too but we ran out of time. Thank you Mary Jane, Mike, and Ernie for a great weekend and for the fresh farm eggs they were super yummy. We will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

PERFECT in every way!!!

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 10, 2012

If I could give it 100 stars I would!! I stayed for 7 days on my honeymoon and could not have asked for anything better. The house is adorable, quiet, and comfortable, and the views are breath taking! The owners are wonderful and took excellent care of us. My husband and I can't wait to go back. We hope to visit every year.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It always makes us feel good when guests enjoy The Farmhouse and the attractions in the Finger Lakes area. We look forward to seeing guests year after year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great for families and good friends

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. It was quiet, peaceful and just right. The owners thought of all the details one might need to have a comfortable stay - and we have rented many-a-house in our time.

We had grandparents and a toddler in our party, and the house was great for the whole group. The view is lovely, and the town of Watkins Glen is literally 3 minutes down the hill.

It was just really perfect. Thank you and thank you. We would come back again without a second thought.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Farmhouse

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

We were only at the Farmhouse 2 nights, but I wish it could have been longer. We were impressed with the cleanliness of the property and the description of the property was accurate. The view from the yard where we watched the sunset is spectacular.
The owners, Mary Jane and Ernie both stopped by to welcome us. Instructions and suggestions were written and easy to understand.
The Farmhouse is just a short distance from the town and the park where we went swimming. And of course a trip to the gorge was exciting too.
I would recommend The Farmhouse to anyone visiting the Watkins Glen area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Convenient location and beautiful views

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

If you are looking for a place that has beautiful views, is clean, and close to everything then this is your place. We had a wonderful weeks vacation and enjoyed the lake views, the farm views, and wine country. We were able to visit several lakes in an easy day trip. There are many waterfalls nearby to visit as well. The owners Mary Jane and Ernie were available for questions and catered to our every need.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We always try to make our guests feel right at home. If they need help in any way during their stay, we're here for them. When we see them smiling, we know they're enjoying themselves!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Farmhouse - great landing spot for wine weekend!

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

Great location - This was a terrific location for our wine tour weekend. It's a 5-minute drive to the beginning of the wine route as well as downtown Watkins Glen. The Farmhouse is beautifully situated on a ridge overlooking Seneca Lake. It's surrounded by farm so there are no neighbors to worry about!

Great customer service - I had let Mary Jane know that the 7 of us were visiting to celebrate my husband's 30th birthday for a wine tour weekend. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by Mary Jane to show us around. On the kitchen table was a bottle of local wine along with a 30th birthday card! Plus, she brought us 18 eggs from the farm since there were 7 of us staying.

The rental description is completely accurate. The property is an older farmhouse but well-maintained. We had 7 but it could definitely sleep 8. The only downside is that there is just 1 bathroom. We were able to comfortably get ready for our wine touring but just something to keep in mind for larger groups.

I highly recommend the Seneca Lake Wine Trail and the Crooked Rooster Brew Pub in downtown Watkins Glen (we ate dinner there both nights)!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent time at the Farmhouse

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

Hi,

Our group had a very comfortable and relaxing time at the Farmhouse.

Mary Jane was an excellent host. She was able to accommodate us on super short notice (e.g., bedding). Mary Jane met us at the house and even brought along barbeque utensils for us to use. The beds were very comfortable.

We were driving on our way to New York City in July and stayed for only a short while. We'd definitely stay here again!

The Gorge at Watkins Glen was amazing!

Thanks again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Farmhouse Rental

Review submitted: September 11, 2011   Date of arrival: August 31, 2011

We were thoroughly satisfied with our stay in this home. It is a clean, well kept home. The property and landscape are beautiful, and it is a quiet, quaint home away from the hustle of the city. It is a perfect place to just get away and relax and enjoy yourself. The owners were wonderful, and checked on us frequently to make sure we were taken care of. There were trees to pick fruit from and farm fresh eggs waiting for us when we arrived. We also enjoyed the fresh produce from local vendors as well. I would highly recommend this vacation rental for someone who is looking to get away and spend some time in the country. The price is great too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Deal - Beautiful Location

Review submitted: July 24, 2011   Date of arrival: July 21, 2011

This farmhouse is indeed charming and well setup for a stay in the fingerlakes region whether you are taking in the racing at Watkins Glen, leaf peeping, wine tasting or oogling the many falls and georgeaous gorges.

All of the rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished. This is a not so rustic farmhouse but not ostentatious wither. The kitchen is tricked out with everything you could want. If you had an extra person the sofa (not a sleeper) is really comfy and could easily pinch hit as an extra bed.

My favorite part of our stay was breadfasting on the deck which overlooks Watkins Glen and the beautiful trees and hills on the other side of Seneca Lake. The breeze on the deck was wonderful and hummingbirds were morning visitors to the hanging baskets.

The owners went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to provide anything we needed. They could not have been nicer and, believe me, the house was spotless!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We always enjoy meeting guests from other areas of the US and Canada and make it a priority to ensure their stay is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review