reviews for: listing #85658 - Imperial Beach, California House rental

Beachfront Gettaway minutes from Coronado
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Imperial Beach
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,500 - $4,000 /wk

sort by:

Lovely family vacation home.

Review submitted: July 6, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

We had such a wonderful family vacation at this beach home. The beach was just outside the door...perfect fit for our family..I would give this beautiful home a perfect 5 stars but the beds were not in good shape. Other than the beds the place was beautiful. I have been going to Imperial beach for the last 30 years and was so glad to be that close to the surf, it was truly a special week for us.

Owners response: I serched for new beds as soon as I got words of your concern . New memory foam bed will be delivered and set up in 2 days. Thank you for your feedback so we may improve our services. Hope you will enjoy the new bed when you return next year. Thank you again for taking the time to help us give our guests the best vacation they can have.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect!!!!

Review submitted: July 2, 2014   Date of arrival: June 11, 2014

We found this gem of a house, owner and management team at the end of 2013. Because most owners refuse to allow events on their property, our search was very trying. We found this particular property and fell in love with it. The pictures don't really do it justice because it looks smaller in the pictures than it really is. At first, we thought the shape resembled a shot gun style home but in our visit prior to the rental period, we found the space much bigger. There is a 26" wall that separates the property and the beach, which made beach access little difficult for our elderly guests. We bought cinder blocks and placed them on both sides of the wall and used those as steps, which worked perfectly.

The owner allowed us to have our wedding reception in the house, about 35 people. Kya, our rep, was absolutely wonderful and great to work with. She was always available when we called or had questions about anything. Everything was completely EASY and stress free. We had our wedding right outside on the beach in the evening before sunset and then the reception followed. Because there is an empty lot on the left of the house and a twin rental house on the right (who was also having a wedding reception), we didn't have to worry about sound issues with neighbors. We had a great time, the staff and owner were soooo easy to work with and the location and house is perfect for many events. The owner provides a lot of amenities in the house, so you don't have to bring things like towels, extra chairs or cooking appliances. There is a pretty good sound system in the house too so you don't have to bring your own. There was a plethora of cooking grills that were at our disposal. I would definitely rent this house again. If by chance, you look at pics on google earth or google map, the pictures had not been updated so we thought the neighborhood was quite sketchy from those old and outdated pics. So, don't be negatively swayed by google earth. It's located on the absolute best part of Imperial Beach, close to the pier and next to a brand new Marriot (Pier South Resort).

The owner allows you to move the furniture to suit your needs as long as you put it back to its original formation. The view from the Master Bedroom is to die for. I just can't say enough about this property. This rental property is perfect, well-kept, and beautiful!!! Because of our stay, we fell in love with Imperial Beach and can't wait to return!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful getaway!

Review submitted: March 2, 2014   Date of arrival: January 8, 2014

As a young family with a newborn, this was the perfect getaway. We deserved a much needed vacation and this beautiful, clean, and peaceful home brought us much joy and excitement. This house is gorgeous. We felt very comfortable and pleased with all the amenities. It was a home away from home with spectacular views. We enjoyed taking lots of pictures at the beach which was just a few steps from this house. We highly recommend this home to anyone who loves the beach as much as we do.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time next to the beach!

Review submitted: March 2, 2014   Date of arrival: January 13, 2014

We wanted to write a review for this beautiful vacation getaway because we had such a great time. We were excited to be able to stay at such a great house that was located right on the beach. Everything we needed was available in the house for us. We loved falling asleep to the sound of the waves and then waking up early to walk the beautiful pier. There are cute places within walking distance to grab breakfast. We would recommend this rental to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rented beach house for wedding party

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

Two families rented this house together for a wedding. We had plenty of space and the rooms accommodated all of us perfefctly! My kids loved that they could walk right off the back patio and be on the beach. That is where we spent most of our time and on the top deck, of course. The views are beautiful and the beach is very clean. The house was clean, spacious, and has everything you need, even toothbrushes in case you forget one. The only thing you will need is food to put in the fridge as the house is fully stocked (towels, TP, shampoo, soap, all kitchen ware, bbq's, etc.). There is also a great farmers market on Friday's about a 5 minute walk down the beach by the pier! We could not have asked for a better experience. Thank you for offering this house up for rent! We would definitely stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Friend and Family Reunion at beachfront house

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

I was very pleased with this rental property. It included almost everything that we needed for our stay - we just brought our self and clothes - was clean and well maintained, looked exactly per photos listed under "view property" section, and exceeded our expectation. We were a total of 4 families, each couple with 2 kids. This property was perfect for us. My friends from the East Coast not only enjoyed the beach but also other attractions like LegoLand and SeaWorld. One bonus for this property was to watch a firework from the roof desk, so beautiful! It's highly recommended for a friend/family get-together.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Wedding Weekend!

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

Our stay at the Imperial Beach House was excellent! We rented it for our daughter’s Wedding Weekend. Friday night we hosted the Rehearsal Dinner of Lasagna, garlic bread and salad with about 40 guests filling the house with laughter and fun, from the living room, to each level’s balcony overlooking the wonderful beach. The bridal party and our close friends and a few family members of 16 enjoyed sleeping over, not once feeling crowded, but comfortable and relaxed. The morning of the Wedding our Hairstylist and Makeup Artist set up their work space in front of the picture perfect living room windows with a view right in front of the pier and awesome beach. The Bridal Party enjoyed being pampered in such a lovely place, more like a spa! That night after the Wedding in nearby Coronado, some of our close friends and guests stopped by to enjoy a nightcap and take in a moonlit beach stroll. The next morning, my husband and I enjoyed our Jacuzzi Bath before hosting a Sunday morning Brunch with the Newlyweds returning early afternoon after their honeymoon night at their nearby Hotel. We then celebrated our son’s birthday with everyone still there, hanging out, enjoying each other, the sun and the water, and even flying our pirate kite on the sand! There were plenty of clean and crisp beds, bedding, chairs, a stocked pantry, barbeque grills that we did hamburgers and hot dogs on for Sunday afternoon that all ages enjoyed. This Beach house is in superb condition and we loved it! It was even better than the pictures! We can’t wait to stay again for a family get together. And our host Doriana is so sweet and knowledgeable. Thank you for a perfect weekend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Excellent Vacation Getaway!!!!

Review submitted: December 27, 2012   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the beach house recently and it was amazing. The thing we loved the most was being able to wake up to the waves crashing every morning and seeing the ocean from bed from the master bedroom.

It is literally on the beach which means I was able to make my coffee, open the patio door and within 15 seconds my feet were in the sand!!

The home has all the conveniences you need and it's so close to downtown San Diego and Coronado. Which was great for us when we wanted to do some sightseeing and dinner in the evenings.

Hopefully we will be able to experience this little piece of paradise again soon.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: December 9, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

We rented the house for a special get-away on a long weekend with our adult children. The place totally lived up to the way it looked in the pictures and was advertised online. Everything we could need was provided and the place was all we hoped it would be. The agency representative we dealt with was helpful and very friendly and courteous. The only thing we might change if we could do it over would be have a little more sunny weather. But even the overcast sky and bit of rain didn't dampen our enjoyment of this house and the time we had at Imperial Beach.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wedding on the beach

Review submitted: October 9, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2012

We were looking for a beachfront rental that could accommodate a small wedding on the beach and found this house. It worked out perfectly! We rented the house for a week and as the wedding got nearer, out of town relatives, wedding rehearsal, etc were all taken care of at the house. Fortunately the large hotel next door was closed and under construction so we enjoyed an unpopulated spot for the most part. It also has a twin building sharing the patio but was unoccupied at the time. The house lended itself perfectly to a large gathering with the livingroom and kitchen downstairs and the the bedrooms upstairs so the wedding party could get ready privately. The only barrier (literally!) was the concrete berm in front of the house. We erected makeshift stairs over the 2' wall for the guests. You can access the sand by the alley next door which was fine for the wedding procession but a long way around. The weather was beautiful and it will be a wonderful memory. I would recommend the house and Dariana was very helpful in arranging the rental.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

great escape

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

Loved our week on the beach. Close to restaurants, bars, etc... Great walking beach - no rocks and plenty of people watching opportunities. House was beautiful but could use some maintenance. Some doors and windows could use screens and would have kept the pests out. The master bedroom could use a new bed. The roof top deck was great to sit back and enjoy the evening after a day on the sand. House came fully furnished with small cooking appliances galore but missing an adequate outside grill. I would definately love to stay in this house again. The minor inconveniences were outweighed by the great location and well-appointed house.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: We are sorry for the inconvenience of missing screens. Due to the height of the sliding glass doors, the screens have to be special ordered. They are in the process of being made during your stay. We will put them up as soon as they arrive.
Esthetic is actually the reason for our choosing not to have a standing out door grill. We do not want a giant rusting gas grill ( which they tend to do very quickly due to moisture from the ocean ) to take away the beauty of the oceanfront patio or the rooftop deck. We have multiple portable electric grills that could be brought out to be used, they are easier to be cleaned and put away again out of sight when not in use. We just want everyone to be able to sit and enjoy the pato and the rooftop deck amid their magical surroundings without clutter and unsightly appliances. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Thank you for being our honored guests. We look forward to your next stay when you are in need of another great escape by the beach !

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We love our house on Imperial Beach

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 19, 2012

Our trip to San Diego was fantastic from start to finish. We loved our house on Imperial Beach. It was beautiful, spacious, clean and on a great beach. We liked that it was easily accessible to all the places we went to visit . Mission Beach for surf lessons. La Jolla for kayaking. Coronado for shopping and to visit Sea World. The best days were right on Imperial Beach where we enjoy walking the beach in the mornings seeing dolphins swim by and watching the surfers .
Thanks for providing such a great home for our vacation.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A really cool place

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

Thanknyou for graciously allowing us to rent your beach home. My family enjoyed our brief stay and my daughter and her friends found the place really cool. She had a great birthday party.
We loved that your house was overlooking the ocean. The deck and balcony was a great place to enjoy it. The view was amazing even if it were cloudy while we were there. It was close to food shops. The beach was clean and the neighborhood really quiet. My husband and I even walked to the pier late night. Your house is well stocked with items that a vacationer would need to have a comfortable stay. The beds are clean with comfortable sheets and pillows. Towels are generously stocked with soap and toothbrushes available as well. We were a group of 12 people but the house can very much fit a few more. There are even foldable beds available. Great for either short or long term stay. Thanks for the wellcome basket too ............
I would without reservation recommend this rental.
We would definitely contact you should we decide to plan another vacation by the beach.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This house is outstanding!

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

We recently rented the house and found it incredibly comfortable, functional, and fun ! The views are superb, and having the beach as a front yard was certainly an advantage !

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family beach vacation

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Great house, as advertised, nice well appointed house. Friendly check in staff, awesome beach. Everyone from 1 to 74 loved it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Welcome to paradise!

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

If you want a luxury getaway then this is the place for you!
We rented this home for ten days when our son was graduating from college and our daughters were graduating from high school. We wanted a beach front home for a get together and for our out of town guests.
This home exceeded all our expectations we ever had for a rental! It was immaculate and it was supplied with everything you could ever need and more !
The photos online do not give it justice at all. It is far more amazing when you see it in person.
We highly recommend this home for your next vacation. I know it is a little costly but it is worth it !
We will rent this home again in a heartbeat!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Stunning house right on the Beach!

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: December 28, 2011

What a house and what a view! The master suite looks right at the beach and the ocean. Plenty of room to sleep and very well kept and clean. Wi-fi was a great bonus and the location was very convenient too.

Owner provided great customer service as well as a well stocked kitchen/dining room plus miscellaneous movies, games, DVDs, etc.

Our kids enjoyed being able to play in the sand right adjacent to the house and we loved looking at the incredible views.

We'd highly recommend this rental to anyone wanting a large, fun house with lots of space and sleeping needs. We'd come back here in a heartbeat.

Thanks for a wonderful time and vacation with a fabulous setting and views!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sand at your feet, what more can you ask for!

Review submitted: March 28, 2012   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

This house is absolutely amazing! It is literally on the sand and the view is gorgeous!

The interior has very lively decor and the house is immaculate. The space is huge and can hold multiple generations in a family or a large group of friends. Flat screen TVs are perfect for the evening movie if you ever get tired of watching the sun set over the ocean from the 1st floor patio or the rooftop balcony. Free wi-fi makes research on local eats easy (no working on vacation!). Nice kitchen is great for cooking breakfast. If you're more low-key, great coffee goes well with the green eggs and ham at Katy's Coffee Shop down the street and there is a local creamery for your ice cream needs a few blocks the other direction.

Would definitely stay again. Hope you have as great a time as we did!

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Beach Front Rental!!!

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

This house is quite simply amazing! Some friends and I were looking for a beach location that could house 4-6 of us for New Years Eve/New Years Day, but we also wanted a peaceful location that would allow us to enjoy New Years in class and comfort. The location is right on the beach and a simple 100 yard walk to the water. It was furnished nicely, with plenty of space for people to sit and talk in large groups, and it had all of the necessities for cooking, dining, etc. The floorplan downstairs is open so that those in the kitchen and living room are all together and can see the amazing view of the ocean. As indicated by the other reviewer, the windows (Both downstairs and up) are both plentiful and large, allowing for great natural light during the daytime to complement the views.

The rooms upstairs are roomy, pleasant, and well adorned. The master bedroom has a huge walk in closet, a nice bathroom, a fireplace, a small patio, and a large window for seeing the Ocean. While you sleep you can hear the waves breaking and moderate temps easily by opening the sliding glass door to the patio.

The surrounding area has sufficient shops within walking to distance to purchase anything you may have forgotten to bring along and there is a local bar that is a nice spot as well, if you are so inclined.

We ended up having four of us at the rental and there was more than enough room. Everyone loved the location and we all agreed that it was going to be one of our regular rentals for get together's moving forward. We have rented beach front properties before and often they are too busy or crowded, which negatively impacts the experience, but this place was exactly what we wanted. I cannot express enough how impressed all of us were with this location. We would all higly recommend this house!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Beach Retreat for a Family or Large Group!

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

This house is quite simply amazing! Some friends and I were looking for a beach location that could house 4-6 of us for New Years Eve/New Years Day, but we also wanted a peaceful location that would allow us to enjoy New Years in class and comfort. The location is right on the beach and a simple 100 yard walk to the water. It was furnished nicely, with plenty of space for people to sit and talk in large groups, and it had all of the necessities for cooking, dining, etc. The floorplan downstairs is open so that those in the kitchen and living room are all together and can see the amazing view of the ocean. As indicated by the other reviewer, the windows (Both downstairs and up) are both plentiful and large, allowing for great natural light during the daytime to complement the views.

The rooms upstairs are roomy, pleasant, and well adorned. The master bedroom has a huge walk in closet, a nice bathroom, a fireplace, a small patio, and a large window for seeing the Ocean. While you sleep you can hear the waves breaking and moderate temps easily by opening the sliding glass door to the patio.

The surrounding area has sufficient shops within walking to distance to purchase anything you may have forgotten to bring along and there is a local bar that is a nice spot as well, if you are so inclined.

We ended up having four of us at the rental and there was more than enough room. Everyone loved the location and we all agreed that it was going to be one of our regular rentals for get together's moving forward. We have rented beach front properties before and often they are too busy or crowded, which negatively impacts the experience, but this place was exactly what we wanted. I cannot express enough how impressed all of us were with this location. We would all higly recommend this house!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing Getaway!

Review submitted: November 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

What an absolutely beautiful place to stay! I was here with my brother and sister-in-law who came to visit me, and we found it to be wonderful, restful, and peaceful. There are large windows on all floors that look right out onto the ocean. You can have breakfast on the deck and hop over it for a walk on the beach afterward, or you can sit on the roof and watch the sea. At night while you sleep, you can hear the waves crash.

The house has several lovely bedrooms and bathrooms, and it's really well-laid out. We were really comfortable staying here as 3 people, but we could have had a large group or been just two people and felt equally as comfortable. The kitchen is perfect for cooking together, and the living area is relaxing. Everything was immaculate and very well-maintained.

Nearby, there are shops, restaurants, coffee shops, an incredible pretzel place, and a pier that's fun to stroll. Imperial Beach is a cute spot to walk around. If you have a car, bigger grocery stores and a CVS are a short 5 minute drive away. San Diego itself is only about 20 minutes away, so you can go downtown to Balboa Park or the Gaslamp to sightsee and then return to a restful spot at night. Coronado is also only about 20 minutes away, and that was a lot of fun, too.

After this weekend, we all felt like we'd been on a week-long getaway. It was so peaceful to sit in the comfortable chairs that face the windows and just look out on the beach, the beach-goers, the surfers, and the waves. This house gave us the perfect blend of being able to "go and do" and to just sit and rejuvenate. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a beautiful beach stay in Southern California!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review