reviews for: listing #85662 - Galveston, Texas House rental

Fabulous Designer Restored Historic Home near beach!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $995 - $1,450 /wk
    $2,650 - $3,250 /mth

sort by:

Great Vacation Get Away!

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

Thank you so much for opening your home to my family! We had a wonderful time. After long, fun days at the beach and Galveston sight seeing, it was so nice to come home to a beautifly restored 'home'...not a hotel. With 3 small children, we had all of the necessities that we needed! We had to 'baby proof' a few things in the house and we brought a baby gate for the stairs. The neighborhood was quite and the home is centrally located on the island. We were close to so many fun activities! We look forward to our next visit to the island!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Michelle, thank you. I'm so glad you guys had a nice week on the Island. Please come visit us again soon. Robert

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation 2012

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

This home was absolutely perfect for my husband, adult children and myself! Comfortably accomodated 6 adults and allowed for a "true" family vacation experience, versus everyone being separated in hotel rooms. Will definately plan to stay here when we return to Galveston!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much Kyle and Cathy, I'm glad to hear you had a nice time. I really like to make sure that this home doesn't feel like a sterile vacation rental so I'm glad you enjoyed it. Come back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Descriptions were spot on

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

We enjoyed our stay. We were well advised on what our expectations should be and were happily surprised. My wife and our 4 children stayed here and were very comfortable. Plenty of appliances to use if you need to cook. Everything was in great working order.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you. I am glad you guys had a nice trip. PLease come back and stay again soon. Robert

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Home!

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

I cannot say enough positive things about this house! This is one beautiful house that is wonderfully decorated with all the modern conveniences while still leaving enough original fixtures to really feel the history behind this house! The premium bedding and towels were a definate plus that you usually do not find for this kind of money. The speaker system that plays throughout the house really set the mood for our stay with lots of 'beach' music in every room. The kitchen had everything we needed and more with a large dining room table for our meals. It is just a short walk away from the beach and dining. It was also nice to be able to do our laundry between trips to the beach so everything was nice and fresh! You won't find a better house at this price without paying refundable deposits and extra cleaning fees!! The only thing I would recommend is that if you are traveling with small children (which we weren't), I would bring along your child safety gate for the stairs. They are steep and would be difficult for small children to navigate without supervision.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Shannon, thank you so much. I am glad that you enjoyed the home. I hope you will come back and stay again soon. Robert

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Labor Day At The Beach

Review submitted: September 7, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

On fairly short notice we were able to easily book with Robert, the lump sum process is much easier than the typicaly deposit/refund route. We found the home just as described, if not better. The location is very convenient to the Seawall and is highly recommended for anyone wanting a very nice, relaxing stay in Galveston with some history thrown in. The home decor and coziness is just wonderful. We will definitely come back and stay here again. Thanks so much Robert for a great Labor Day weekend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much! Glad to hear you had a great holiday weekend!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WONDERFUL HOME!

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

Our family loved our Stay in this home. Everything we could possibly need was there and easy to find! There where tons of cooking utensils, spices, dishes, blankets, towels, cook books...you name it it was there! It really felt like we were at our own home. The house is very well decorated with a very modern feel with a touch of vintage and beach! The beach is a very short walk and anything you might need at the beach is ALSO at the house (Umbrella, floats ect.) There are plenty of great places to eat and a Kroger and Wal-Mart within 10 minutes from the house. It’s in a great location for easy access to several tourist attractions. Although not every house is a stunning as this house it was a really neat experience seeing all the different older house in the historic district and Like Robert said a lot of his neighbors are in the process of upgrading! I would recommend the house to anyone and we will for sure be coming back next summer!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful house in perfect location

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

After not having a true family vacation in four years, I finally got all three of my kids (ages 21, 17 and 12) to agree on going to Galveston for a few days in celebration of my daughter's 13th bday. We wanted to stay in an historic house on the east end, and Robert's house with its decor stood out among others in photos.

We enjoyed every aspect of the house, from the continual sunlight in the kitchen windows to the cool and quiet upstairs bedrooms to talking on the front porch with Otis, the neighbor across the street. My daughter and her friend took the master bedroom, and they loved hanging out on the upstairs porch in the evenings after going to the beach. My boys stayed downstairs, with my oldest son's favorite room being the formal living area. My husband relished having his morning coffee on the front porch steps while reading the paper, and we both appreciated having a garage to store our motorcycle and trailer while there.

Robert has provided all the necessary comforts, including two chaise lounges and umbrellas for the beach. I enjoyed utilizing the kitchen with its extra tall counters and gas range, neither of which I have at home. The washer and dryer got a lot of use, and I was so glad to not have to bring back dirty laundry.

We met Beau, Robert's groundskeeper, on the morning of our departure. He was as friendly as everyone else had been and offered his help should we return. Another bonus was the little grocery on the corner, which has enough convenience items to keep one from making trips outside the neighborhood to bigger chains. Being in this house reminded my husband and myself of neighborhoods where our grandparents lived, and we are already planning a trip back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I'm really happy that you guys had a great trip and hope you'll come back to see us soon! I work really hard to make sure that the house is comfortable and not the "normal" rental vacation home!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 20, 2011

Four of us chose this place for a long weekend, to get away from nearby Houston where we had travelled to for business. It's conveniently located near all the local sites so walking to the beach and restaurants was no problem (a plus because finding parking at the beach was almost impossible.)! House has recently gone through a reno - so 19th century charm is met with all the necessary modern conveniences in the kitchen, bathroom and elsewhere. Cozy breakfast nook and large dining room also made it difficult to leave. I think we stayed in for at least half of our meals! The huge photo that hangs in the stairwell, depicting the house immediately after the 1906 hurricane is a pretty cool touch!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review