reviews for: listing #85702 - South Haven, Michigan Cottage rental

Historic Ice House Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Lower Scott Lake
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $175 /nt
    $900 - $900 /wk

sort by:

Very nice with a couple of problems

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 26, 2013

This cottage is very attractive, unusual and in a peaceful setting. The decor is appropriate to the history of the cottage, very creative, and quite homey. I really thought I was going to love this place but a couple of things ruined it for me.

I am not a neat freak by any means, and I do as little housework as I can. So before reserving the ice house, when I read the review from the person who complained about the shower and the well water I thought she was being ridiculous. But not any more. The water is hard and there are the usual iron stains in the toilet and all over the tub surround. Now, the toilet is unattractive, but there's not too much you can do about iron stains and it didn't bother me. However, the shower was simply disgusting. In my opinion, you don't have a plastic tub surround with iron in the water -- of course it is going to be horribly stained. And it is. But I also believe it was dirty. I cannot say for certain as I did not try to clean it, but it had the appearance of soap scum that my shower gets. I also found someone's hairs in the shower when we arrived. There was one of those rubber tub mats on the bottom of the tub. In my experience, you put one of those down right before you shower and remove and rinse it when you are done. Otherwise there will be mold or mildew underneath. Since the mat was there when we arrived and the tub and surround were so horrible in appearance that I could barely manage to get in, I certainly wasn't going to look underneath the mat. I tried not to think about it. The other terrible thing about the shower was that there was no water pressure. It was pretty much a trickle. This was the only thing about the bathroom that really bothered my husband and kids. I am guessing that the hard water left deposits in the shower head, clogging it and preventing the water from flowing. Regardless, when you spend $175 per night you expect a halfway decent shower! Finally, there was a large patch of mold on the wall next to the sink. It appeared that that is a recurring problem, as the paint looked as though it had been bleached in the immediate vicinity of the mold. So this is a water problem in an exterior wall. Just imagine what is behind that drywall! Seriously, get a new tub and put in tile instead of a surround, get a new showerhead, and fix that water/mold problem!

I'd tell you about the dirty sponge and stained, wet dishrag left in the kitchen sink but I am out of space...

Owners response: First, we would like to thank you for the nice things you said about the Ice House. Secondly, we would like to respond to your allegations that the shower had not been cleaned. We go through the Ice House between visitors and clean very thoroughly sweeping, vacuuming, mopping and sanitizing every surface as is appropriate. The bathroom is always thoroughly cleaned as we feel that it is imperative to provide our guests with clean and sanitary conditions. Yes, we do have hard water and we have added a filtration system to help control it. There are hard water stains in the shower but it is clean, always. We have plans to control the staining involving a new product from Rustoleum but, because the product is new, and the turnover in the Ice House rapid, there has not been time to apply it without disrupting a vacation. All linens are fresh and clean, bleached and line dried for each new guest. We would also add that we leave the guests with 3 phone numbers at which we can always be reached if they have any questions or needs during their stay at the Ice House, because we would like to address any problems or assist them in any way possible during their stay. Had these guests called us we would have addressed their difficulties immediately.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice, quiet retreat

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

We had a great time at the Icehouse! We stayed with four adults and three young children and there was plenty of room for everyone. We were all able to sleep upstairs with the youngest in a pack and play. We cooked almost every night and everything we needed as far as cookware and dishes was available. The night we didn't cook, we ordered from Pizza Plus (the homeowners' pizza place) and we all loved it. The house is in a quiet area on a nice lake. When Doug saw my husband and five year old son fishing off the pier, he brought out some bait. The drive to the beach in South Haven was easy. We went twice since the lake by the Icehouse isn't really good for swimming.

I would highly recommend the Icehouse if you are looking for a quiet getaway. It is comfortable and clean and the owners are very thoughtful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect vacation spot not far from Chicago

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

Please read my review through:
We were the party of four adults looking for a lake view short time vacation spot away from Chicago but not too far from it since I left my elder mother by herself. Ice House proved to be everything we dreamed of. However, I would like to give the heads- up for consideration.
1. No separate bedrooms, just two queen beds separated by the dry wall. My husband snores and my habit of carrying the earplugs everywhere saved the nights for everyone. Otherwise, be warned.
2. One of the queen beds is not as long as we all used to. I am 6'10" and I had trouble fitting in. Fortunately, our friends couple are smaller people and they did not mind switching the beds.
3. Kitchen supply is REALLY limited; just 5 ceramic plates and 7 tea cups; everything else is plastic and in a very limited quantities. The frying pans are way past their usage time.
These points are nothing if you come prepared. Other than that, it is a really really really nice place very close to the beautiful South Haven and Saugatuck towns. The lake view is breathtaking at sunrise and sunset. Free WiFi makes a lot of difference too. The per night cost is more than reasonable. Fishing is good. Swimming, boating, barbecuing... what else is needed for the a nice family vacation?
And the last but not the least, the owner is heavenly friendly and helpful.
All in all, it was a wonderful vacation and was nothing short of 5 stars.
Irene

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Cottage House!

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 18, 2012

The expierence at Ice House in Pullman, MI was amazing, the owners are the nicest people you will ever meet, they left us guides, fishing equipment, a kayack, a canoe. We brought our own dishes and cooking supplies but they had all of that just in case we needed it. The view was amazing, you backyard is literally the lake. Me, my spouse along with my 2 daughters enjoyed every bit...not to mention we got cookies as a welcome gift that were delish! We will most def return to this location!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Need a shower!

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

On a positive note, the cabin is nice and clean and the owner is kind and available if needed. My children loved the fishing. On a negative note, the plumbing is horrible. I refused to take a shower in the extremely old and small tub/shower unit. The shower has two temperatures: very hot and very cold. Likewise, the cabin provides well water for its patrons. I was not ok with this, maybe you will be. I was frustrated that it was never mentioned in the description. Additionally, I was not happy with the walk out beachy lake front. While the lake is beautiful, you have to walk through much muck to enter it. I would have loved to use the kayak, but it would have extremely difficult to launch from the area. Finally, if you plan on using the day bed, think again. It is basically a child size set of box springs with three couch cushions on top. Finally, bring ant spray; they invaded the kitchen despite wiping up counters, etc.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Our tub shower unit is fiberglass, modern and the same size used in any home or hotel. It is a five foot unit. All cottages in this area are well water, there is no city water available. It was not mentioned because, to us, it is the norm. No chemicals, no chlorine. There is a very long dock available to our renters which can be used to launch the kayak and canoe if you prefer not to walk through the beach front. There are two trundle twin size beds under the queen and full size beds for visitors use, adequate for our maximum of six, as well as a fold-out chair in the closet and the antique day bed in the living room area. We are fastidious about our cleaning and have never ever seen ants in the house; including our cleaning after these visitors left. Visitors should understand that this is a lake, not a swimming pool.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

We LOVED the Pullman IceHouse! We will be back!

Review submitted: July 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

We are so pleased with our stay at the Pullman Ice House. The photos do not do the cozy home justice at all. It was very roomy & a perfect cabin setting. The lake was, quite literally, just out the backdoor and was so peaceful. The owners generously supplied a paddle boat, a kayak, a canoe and all the fishing gear we needed. The yard is more than ample for any family yard games you could play. With Lake Michigan being so close - just a short drive away - this was the perfect getaway setting from the hustle and bustle but still close enough to enjoy. The cabin was stocked well with dishes, cups, silverware and all the kitchen utensils you could need and the bathroom was also well stocked. We had a great time and can't wait to go back next year. Our children have already decided this property will become a new family tradition.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank You for your kind words about the ice house on Lower Scott Lake in Pullman...we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our little "diamond in the rough".

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Early August Stay

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

My husband, my sister, her fiance and I came to stay at the Ice House for a weekend in early August. We had a great time! Upon arriving at the house, we had a note from the owners with home baked cookies that were wonderful! The house was extremely clean and had everything we needed- linens, towels, shampoo, kitchen materials, salt, pepper, etc. The house was exactly as promised and we had access to a paddleboat, canoe, fishing poles, a gas grill, patio furniture and a fire pit. The house is close to both South Haven and Saugatuck, and we spent a bit of time walking around each of those cute towns. However, we had the most fun just hanging around outside the house. We made smores at night, swam, boated and fished during the day. The owners gave us a free pizza from their pizza store, which was really good! We will definitely be going back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

August Weekend Stay

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

My husband, my sister, her fiance and I came to stay at the Ice House for a weekend in early August. We had a great time! Upon arriving at the house, we had a note from the owners with home baked cookies that were wonderful! The house was extremely clean and had everything we needed- linens, towels, shampoo, kitchen materials, salt, pepper, etc. The house was exactly as promised and we had access to a paddleboat, canoe, fishing poles, a gas grill, patio furniture and a fire pit. The house is close to both South Haven and Saugatuck, and we spent a bit of time walking around each of those cute towns. However, we had the most fun just hanging around outside the house. We made smores at night, swam, boated and fished during the day. The owners gave us a free pizza from their pizza store, which was really good! We will definitely be going back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

August Weekend Stay

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

My husband, my sister, her fiance and I came to stay at the Ice House for a weekend in early August. We had a great time! Upon arriving at the house, we had a note from the owners with home baked cookies that were wonderful! The house was extremely clean and had everything we needed- linens, towels, shampoo, kitchen materials, salt, pepper, etc. The house was exactly as promised and we had access to a paddleboat, canoe, fishing poles, a gas grill, patio furniture and a fire pit. The house is close to both South Haven and Saugatuck, and we spent a bit of time walking around each of those cute towns. However, we had the most fun just hanging around outside the house. We made smores at night, swam, boated and fished during the day. The owners gave us a free pizza from their pizza store, which was really good! We will definitely be going back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great place, spacious

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

Great place, clean, and the owners were great! The lake this is situated is small, but it was right next to it! The place was spacious with a great big view of the lake. Short driving distances to Saugatuck, South Haven, and Holland. Outside area was also very nice. The deck and lawn area are great for cookouts.

p.s. The free pizza that came with place may be the best pizza I have ever had.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review