reviews for: listing #85732 - Traverse City, Michigan House rental

"Fair Haven" executive home on Silver Lake- sleeps 18
  • bedrooms  8
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  7
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  18
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $6,800 - $8,000 /wk

sort by:

Fair Haven

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

Planning for our family vacation began a year ago and once we found this property and all it offered, our expectations were high. Reality exceeded our expectations. Home is beautifully decorated and very comfortable with plenty of areas for anyone seeking some time alone. Having a private lake at your doorstep complete with small beach and boats was a plus. Location is perfect, not too far from Traverse City or any of the other places we wanted to visit. Jen is a delight to work with and a very helpful resource.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

We recently stayed at Fairhaven for a week and had an amazing vacation. Our group consisted of 9 adults and ten children (aged 9 months to 8-years-old) and the property was comfortable for everyone in our large group. It is truly a beautiful home and much larger than it appears in the pictures. Upon arrival, Jen met us at the home with the key and went over any questions we had about the house and the area. The layout of the house is such that everyone had their own space to retreat to and their own bathroom, all of which is nice when vacationing with a large group. The kitchen downstairs was also convenient for those staying on the lower level and the kids really enjoyed the playroom on the upper level. That said, even though the house was gorgeous and everything we hoped for, nothing beats the view of the lake; the pictures really don't do it justice! Sitting outside on the deck or down on the beach around a bonfire was a favorite pastime of our group.

The Traverse City area is also great because there are restaurants, a mall, grocery stores, etc. all within a 5-10 minute drive from the house. We also really enjoyed going to downtown Traverse City and shopping at the specialty boutiques (about a 10-15 minute drive). It seemed like there were plenty of other options if you want to get out and explore the area, however, it was also very nice to just sit at the house and relax.

The only issue we experienced was a ceiling leak but Jen and Matt were extremely responsive and had it taken care of right away so it was a very minor disruption that ultimately didn't impact our stay. Overall, I would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking for a large home on the lake in the Traverse City area. Thanks again, Jen and Matt for a beautiful vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely perfect

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

We spent a year planning a major family reunion to celebrate several key milestones. A nothing could have been more perfect than Fair Haven. The house is magnificent and seemed to have everything we needed for lots of home cooking, games, boating, and general relaxation. And perfectly designed for the purpose - room for a puzzle table, lots of family gatherings around a large table, plenty of room on the covered deck overlooking the lake, a good stack of wood for the firepit pit and smores, and lots of space for each person to have quiet, private time or a good summer nap if desired.

Jen and Mike do a phenomenal job of welcoming you, handling all details, and then letting you have your own time in the house - but they are there if you ever need anything.

Great location to fan out to the magnificent Sleeping Bear Dunes, Mackinac, Traverse City itself. Health care is about6 miles away (we used it) and Meijers (with a Starbucks store) was only 5.1 miles away (can you tell how many times we went there?). Glorious fresh meat and fish and vegetarian dishes, fruits and vegetables all close by. And lots of great restaurants in TC, though we made most of our own in the lovely kitchen.

We also rented a boat to add to the kayaks and canoe provided. Great trips out with the grandchildren on a lake that wasn't too busy. Hummingbirds, glorious flowers, shade and sun, lawns for games - absolutely perfect.

Thank you so much, Jen.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Impressive home, committed service

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

The Fair Haven home is every bit as impressive in person as it looks in the photographs. Our family of 14 (a mix of young children, parents and grandparents) stayed here in August 2012 and we had a really enjoyable week.

The home and grounds are kept in top condition and seem almost new, and were very clean on check-in. No smudgy windows, sketchy appliances or piles of dirt in the corners here. The bedrooms are all reasonably well-appointed and the terrific kitchen and porch were our centers of activity.

Our only critical observations: The plumbing seems to be very sensitive; we got a little lecture about not flushing bricks or bath toys during check-in but a little more candor would have been appreciated. And the surrounding area beyond Silver Lake isn't much, mostly busy and unattractive retail corridors. But pull in the driveway and that part just entirely goes away.

About the service: The home managers genuinely seemed to care about our stay and those plumbing issues were attended to quickly and with concern. And we had a completely random problem with a smoke alarm/home security system at 2 a.m. one night and were able to immediately reach Jen and Matt on the phone; Matt was there 15 minutes later to solve it. Really impressive. (It was a defective battery, by the way, and when Matt swapped it out we could see he had dated the battery with permanent marker when installing it in June. He had dated the battery! Who does that? Sort of speaks to the level of detail here.)

There's a great little beach and dock. Jen helped us book a chef for a couple nights and a boat rental. Gorgeous sunsets over the lake. Neato big-screen TV downstairs. Small gas grill worked well. Fire pit on the beach. Thick towels, nice furniture, et cetera.

Owners response: A great big thank you for all of the kind words and observations! We are always very pleased when guests take the time to submit a review as we try hard to make your stay enjoyable. I would have to respectfully disagree with the comment that the plumbing is sensitive. In the two seasons that Fair Haven has been rented, this is the first, and only, plumbing issue that we have had.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Impressive place, committed service

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

The Fair Haven home is every bit as impressive in person as it looks in the photographs. Our family of 14 (a mix of young children, parents and grandparents) stayed here in August 2012 and we had a really enjoyable week.

The home and grounds are kept in top condition and seem almost new, and were very clean on check-in. No smudgy windows, sketchy appliances or piles of dirt in the corners here. The bedrooms are all reasonably well-appointed and the terrific kitchen and porch were our centers of activity.

Our only critical observations: The plumbing seems to be very sensitive; we got a little lecture about not flushing bricks or bath toys during check-in but a little more candor would have been appreciated. And the surrounding area beyond Silver Lake isn't much, mostly busy and unattractive retail corridors. But pull in the driveway and that part just entirely goes away.

About the service: The home managers genuinely seemed to care about our stay and those plumbing issues were attended to quickly and with concern. And we had a completely random problem with a smoke alarm/home security system at 2 a.m. one night and were able to immediately reach Jen and Matt on the phone; Matt was there 15 minutes later to solve it. Really impressive. (It was a defective battery, by the way, and when Matt swapped it out we could see he had dated the battery with permanent marker when installing it in June. He had dated the battery! Who does that? Sort of speaks to the level of detail here.)

There's a great little beach and dock. Jen helped us book a chef for a couple nights and a boat rental. Gorgeous sunsets over the lake. Neato big-screen TV downstairs. Small gas grill worked well. Fire pit on the beach. Thick towels, nice furniture, et cetera.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for the whole family!

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

Our entire family of grandparents, four sets of sons and daughters and five grandchildren found an unending amount of things to do and places to see in the Traverse City area. After all of our activities of sight seeing, hiking, biking, wineries, canoeing, restaurants, etc., we came home to the most beautiful, spacious, impecibly decorated home imaginable. The fouteen of us found plenty of space to be together or to find alone places when needed. Fires on the private beach were nearly an every evening occurance. The huge deck for reading, chatting and wine became our family's favorite gathering spot. We loved the well maintained gardens with the enchanting path to the beach. As beautiful as the pictures are, they really don't do the house justice. Personal touches included welcoming flowers, wine and dried cherries and were such a thoughtful treat. Jen Smith made sure we had everthing we needed and was available throughout the wee if we had any questions. We will definitely go back to Fair Haven!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A piece of paradise!!

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Our stay at the Fair Haven was beyond excellent. The house was extremely beautiful and very clean and well-maintained. It looks like a model home. We were greeted with fresh flowers, a bottle of wine and dried cherries. The description of the property is very accurate but one really needs to see the home to appreciate its beauty. Our family truly felt at home while staying at the Fair Haven. We hope to make the Fair Haven our destination for a family vacation next summer. There were several of us staying in the home ranging in age from late 70's down to 2 years of age and the home provided something for everyone. The location of this home is great as you feel secluded from the fast pace of life yet you are only minutes from many of the great activities, shops, restaurants, etc that Traverse City provides. Many thanks to the owners for allowing us to share in their piece of paradise on Silver Lake!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review