reviews for: listing #85834 - Helen, Georgia Cabin rental

*** Little Big Bear Log Cabin ***
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $95 - $95 /nt
    $475 - $570 /wk
    $1,300 - $1,500 /mth

sort by:

"Old Country Charm!"

Review submitted: August 19, 2014   Date of arrival: July 19, 2014

Wow! As soon as we stepped inside this cabin we knew we could totally relax. This cabin exudes warmth and old country charm. The black, wood stove, contrasted against the golden-red woodtones, left us with the impression that we had turned back the clock and were enjoying the pleasures of the early pioneers. Adding to this atmosphere are Native American artifacts tastefully adorning the cabins interior. Thankfully, all the necessary conveniences are here, along with a most desirable atmosphere.

It is situated geographically in the mountains of northern Georgia, where the air is clean and light. If you enjoy the mountain regions of New England, you are in for a treat. There are numerous farms, lakes, country towns and restaurants, and nearby "Alpine Helen" (a "Bavarian" styled village). You will want to bring a camera with you.

The cabin itself sits in a nicely wooded area, where it is both quiet and private. It has a well equipped kitchen, gas grill (new), washer and dryer, A/C, and 4 large ceiling fans. Our boys appreciated having "Dish" TV, and appropriate DVDs for viewing in the evening.

Sandy and Ralph are an endearing couple who own the cabin. They are most eager to answer any question, lend advice, and attend to any unforeseen matter that may come up. You couldn't ask for more. When we departed we knew that we now have two new friends whom we hope to see again.

Owners response: Wow, We were speechless after reading your review. Thank you so much. We really do take pride in our Property. Being Private Owners and having complete hands on takes a lot of work, but so worth it after reading your review. All our hard work shows through to our guests. We try to make everyone's stay wonderful and personable. Looking forward to seeing you again my friends. :)

We want every guest to feel SPECIAL and take home WONDERFUL memories.

You deserve a Great, Affordable, Clean,and Private Getaway.

Watch for specials, WE POST SPECIAL RATES THROUGH OUT THE YEAR.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cute as a Button

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: June 3, 2014

Loved our stay at this cabin. Very clean, roomy and private. We loved it. Kids really enjoyed the fir pit. I loved the porch swing listening to the water fall. Lots and lots of things to do here. I just wish there was a gas grill. The owners were great. They met us there answered all our questions. Provided great ideas. There are maps and flyers for area attractions, we found that very helpful. Its so easy to find your way around. The cabin is situated perfect for getting to Clarkesville, Helen, Sautee. You are just a few miles to each area. Hiking Tallula Falls was a challenge, well worth it. We will be back next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words. We work hard at keeping our cabin very clean, comfortable and well stocked for our guests. You asked we deliver, we just purchased a new gas grill. we will have it on the covered porch so that if it rains you can still grill out.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

amazing

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: June 23, 2014

We had a wonderful time. The owners were so nice. They met us there and let us look around to be sure we were satisfied ( HOW COULD YOU NOT BE SATISFIED) and to answer any questions we had. The cabin looks exactly like the photo's. No surprises when you arrive, we loved that. It was so clean and cozy. Sandi and Ralph really provide so much for the home. Napkins, paper towel, trash bags,everything you have at home is there.
The zip line was so much fun. The cabin is so close to everything. We had no problem finding it, or getting around. we were just minutes from everything. Yet the cabin is so private. the restaurants up there are wonderful. We tried a place called Tucker"s in clarkesville. it was fabulous. We can't wait to go back. We already booked our next visit to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Very happy you enjoyed your North Georgia Mountain visit. Look forward to seeing you again. We are hands on owners. We take the photos and manage our property. I am pleased that our hard work and ability to provide a great vacation spot for all shows through. We really want everyone to be able to afford a safe, clean, comfortable home to enjoy a few days of much needed and well deserved R & R.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy Getaway

Review submitted: March 7, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

Beautiful cabin. Nice and cozy. Loved our weekend stay. Everything you need for a lovely getaway. Thanks so much!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

What an amazing place. Thank you for opening your home. We had a great time. Cabin was very clean. Everything we needed was right here. You thought of everything. Meeting you and your husband was a pleasure. Don't change a thing. Our stay was great. See you in October.

Sincerely,
Laura

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Home

Review submitted: September 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

Your home is beautiful. Thank you for letting us stay the one night and on such short notice. You are very sweet and gracious.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for the amazing weekend!!!

Review submitted: September 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

I want to thank you for the amazing weekend!!!
Your home is beautiful!!! Everyone really enjoyed the stay!!!
I hope that you'll extend me a welcome to your vacation home again in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy Mountain Getaway!

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our week stay! The cabin is cozy, very clean and comfortable. The pictures of the cabin are exactly how it looks. We loved the cabin decor as well. There was so much to do in the surrounding areas and we were given some great advice by the owner about things to do during our stay. It was so nice to enjoy the porch swing and hear the sounds of nature all around. It was very peaceful. Our family absolutely loved it!!!
Dell, Sheri and girls

Owners response: Thank you for all the kind words. We take pride in our rental property and love to share it with others. It was a pleasure to meet your family. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dear Ralph and Sandi

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Thank You for an absolutely beautiful place to stay! My husband and I will be back!! So peaceful and homey for a very relaxing weekend.
Thank You

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Blissful Getaway

Review submitted: March 8, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

We loved our stay here!

This was the great escape from our hectic everyday life that we needed! The location is perfect, close to everyhting yet tucked away in it's own quiet nook that seemed to drownd out everyhitng but the sounds of nature. The first night we were there it rained and the sound of the rain on the tin roof against the crakle of the fire we made in the wood burning stove made for the most amazing nights sleep! (The log cabin bed was very comfortable, that may have helped as well LOL) Helen was the most romantic little German town that has to-die-for food!!! We recomend you try the zip line if you like adventure! We can't wait to visit again in the summer time to tube down the river!

The cabin was immaculate! If you don't want to go out to eat the kitchen is equipped with everything you could possibly need to cook a gourmet mea.

We have found our new vacaion spot and can't wait to go back again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed yourself. We look forward to having you again.

We now have the fire pit redone and ready.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Guest Stay Review

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 20, 2012

We loved staying here!!!! It was so comfortable and peaceful to be there that we felt at home. We had plenty to do with the towns in the area as well. This was perfect for our family get away from everyday life just to relax and enjoy eachother. We will definetely be back!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We truely enjoy meeting our guests. We want our home to be your home away from home. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are private owners so we really try and give all our customers that personal touch. We enjoy extending our family every day.

Remember if you ever want to plan a surprise we can get the cabin ready for your memerable weekend (wine,chocolates,roses,ect...) We can keep a secret :)

We are always just a phone call away........ :)

Sincerely,
Sandi & Ralph

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Well Worth Every Penny

Review submitted: February 14, 2012   Date of arrival: January 8, 2012

We will never stay in a hotel again. Your cabin is beautiful,cheaper than a hotel and very romantic. We loved the wood stove. Everything we needed was there. Very clean. Minutes from all area attractions. Horse back riding was wonderful. Tallulah Falls was beautiful. Thank you for all your ideas. Nothing we did was disappointing. We look forward to seeing you again this summer. We have our new vacation spot.

Thanks for everything,
Walter & Trista

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Perfect Romantic Getaway

Review submitted: February 14, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

The cabin was very clean, beautiful decore and very cozy and comfortable. I love that it is centrally located and very easy to get to.
The zip line you recommended was great fun and right down the street. That was truely the best vacation we ever had. Everything was very close by. The restaurants were awesome. Everything you recommended was terrific. Helen was a little taste of Germany in the USA.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Truely enjoyed our stay

Review submitted: February 14, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

We truely enjoyed our stay! We love this cabin and hope to return really soon. Thank you both so much for sharing your loving home with our family.
God Bless You,
The Marks Family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

we love the cabin

Review submitted: November 6, 2011   Date of arrival: November 2, 2011

We love the cabin. We will be back in the spring. We have found our home away from home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best place ever

Review submitted: September 24, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2011

We just love your cabin. It was so easy to find and get to. Helen was right down the road and it is truely a spectacular area. We loved the zip line down the street from the cabin. The restaurant (Sautee Cafe) you recommended was wonderful,thank you. It was such a pleasure to meet you. The kids just loved that they met a native american, and ate there cerial from pottery bowls you made. We can't wait to see you next year. YES we will be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful

Review submitted: September 24, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

Thank you for a really nice time at your cabin. We love the decore. We had a great anniversary. We will be back... :) Thank You for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

Enjoyed our stay. We just wanted to give you a small token of our appreciation. Thank you for your hospitality. We will definately be contacting you soon for another stay! Beau (corgi) enjoyed his first trip to the mountains also!
Thanks again,
Candi and Misty

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: August 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

The cabin was just like you see in the photo's. Everything we needed was there. Very clean. We had a great time, we will be back.
Thank you and God Bless you,
rosalva

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charming Mountain Cabin in the Woods

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

Our expectations were met based on the information provided for renting the cabin. Maps and information on the area were furnished for our use. The setting was very comfortable and charming. We would visit again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review