reviews for: listing #85966 - Washington, DC House rental

Renting Big & Small Houses Next to Attractions Metro/Parking
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $400 /nt
    $1,365 - $1,750 /wk

sort by:

Family Reunion in Washington DC

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

This was the first time we rented houses instead of going to a hotel. This is much better than a hotel.

We had a great time in Washington DC. We rented both of these houses. We had a large party which filled both houses. Below are our pros and cons to the rentals. As you will find, the pros defiantly outweigh the cons.

Pros:
1: Plenty of space for a large family
2: Owners were easy to deal with
3: Neighbors were nice
4: Safeway Grocery Store close by (both houses)
5: Metro close by (both houses)
6: Plenty of parking (Missouri)
7: VA Hospital close by (Missouri)
8: Tourist area only 7 miles away (Missouri)
9: Tourist area within walking distance (Kentucky)
10: Great place for the price
11: Internet service worked great
12: Forest Glen Army base close by (Missouri)
13: Air Force Base Close by (Kentucky)

Cons:
1: Definitely not Handicap accessible – Too many steps and no handrail on the stairwell (Inside)
2: Traffic – even though the house is only 7 miles from the attractions, it takes 30 minutes to drive to the museums (Use the Metro if you can – the owner can do nothing about this)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We were happy to have rented to the guests. They left both houses in a decent condition and they wanted to pay for something that they had damaged. We told them not to worry as we were pleased by their honesty. Both houses have a stairwell but one house has no handrail (the walls are close and can help to support body). One house has a full bathroom on the main level for anyone unable to go upstairs. The other house has a half bath on the main level.
There are several attractions in different parts of D.C and most attractions are about a mile from one house and four miles from the other house. It takes way less than 30 minutes to drive to attractions except certain streets are closed, protests or events going on. Most importantly you should avoid driving during rush hour traffic.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect deal, great location and great experience

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2011

We were very fortunate renting this house and we strongly recommend this house to anyone. We spent days looking for a nice place for the eleven of us before deciding on this house. We cleaned after we left and we were refunded the cleaning deposit. We really had a great stay and had no difficulties walking to some touristic sites. Parking at the house is free whereas other places will charge you a fee. There is also a bus and train station within a few minutes walk. There is a huge Safeway grocery store within two minutes walking distance and we found this to be extremely convenient. There is also a liquor store about a minute away and lincoln park is about a quarter mile away. The neighborhood is safe and close to the White House, Capitol building, Navy Yard, Washington Monument. The house was very clean and had necessary supplies, so you don't need to take towels, sheets, comforters, soap. The house has four queen beds, an air bed, a sofa bed, three Tvs with cable, wireless internet and a Playstation video game. The rate is very reasonable compared to other places and you will get a discount if you are a repeat renter.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Very beautiful house and great experience

Review submitted: December 25, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2011

The owner has two houses in DC and we were able to get exactly what was good for us. The neighborhood was safe as the house is on slightly busy street. The house is close to most touristic attractions and it was an easy commute. The house was very clean and fully furnished with towels, sheets, kitchenware etc There is private parking and free street parking for many vehicles. The metro is within walking distance and there is also a bus stop next to the house. There are three queen beds upstairs and there is also a twin bunk bed upstairs. There are three air beds and two sleeper sofas in the house. There are multiple chairs in the dining room plus additional folding chairs. The house has three TVs, PlayStation 3, wireless internet, and a beautiful Windows 7 desk top computer. We were nine of us and we were very comfortable at this house. The rate was way less than what we expected and we got back our cleaning deposit for cleaning after we left. We expect to rent this house again because the owner provides discounts to repeat renters. You also get a discount when you book less than 72 hours after receiving his first email.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

my experience

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 26, 2011

This was our first time renting a vacation home. Our experience was one that will bring us back to DC again, and for sure we,ll be stayig at this same property. It,s beautiful, quiet and closer to everything we wanted for fun. we only paid $9.00 renting a cab to the night club... Their price is good. just hope the rates don,t change.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Nice house but not so nice location

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

Overall we had a pretty nice stay at this house. This rental is just about exactly as it is pictured. The rental management is very professional and the communication prior to our arrival was excellent.
PROs:
* Nice, recently remodeled row home
* Reasonably priced
* Great communication from rental management
* Has lots of extra features like a playstation, dishwasher, extra bunk beds, barbeque, etc.
CONs:
* Exterior of house (and entire neighborhood) is kind of run down.
* Several maintenance items needed attention prior to our arrival.
* This house is not in a good area. We did not feel comfortable walking to the bus stop to get to the metro so we drove and parked at the nearest train station. Every night we heard sirens go by and after doing more research, we found that this area has more crime than we expected. We got even more concerned when two different taxi drivers asked us if we were sure that is where we wanted to go.

Bottom line... Nice house interior and management, but did not like the location at all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: There is no area in Washington, DC that is unsafe during the day. No disrespect to anyone but Washington, DC is not Juarez, Mexico. There is a police station located half a mile from this house, so there is a lot of police presence in the area. This house has a security alarm and it is located on a slightly busy street with cars driving by and people walking their dogs. The guest was never threatened by anyone or witnessed any crime, so we are surprised that six of them would be scared to walk to the bus stop. We know there is no area in Washington, DC that is similar to a war zone.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful house in great location

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 12, 2011

This was my third trip to DC and this house was definitely the best. The house
was very clean and had everything we would expect. We had no difficulties riding
the metro and parking at the house was not a problem for our guests. Lots of
beds, towels, and linens were provided. We found lots of menus, tour maps and
information at the house, which was very helpful. I have told my co-workers to
rent from Sam when they visit DC.

MANY THANKS

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Clean, Comfortable, Convenient, and Secure.

Review submitted: July 15, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

We were extremely happy staying at this house and this will always be our first
choice. Easy access to public transportation and free parking at the house made
things easy. Most of the items in the house looked brand new and the house was
very clean. Probably the biggest house in the neighborhood and the
neighbours were very friendly. What we paid for the house was more than
a perfect deal and we hope to get the same rate next time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review