reviews for: listing #8613 - Sea Ranch, California House rental

The Casa Pacis Home - Fabulous Ocean Views
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  The Sea Ranch
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $205 - $205 /nt
    $1,230 - $1,230 /wk

sort by:

Restful Retreat

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: July 31, 2013

We had a great week's stay at Casa Pacis with our two young children. The house is exactly as described on this site and the photos provide a very accurate picture of what you'll encounter in this cozy home. This was our first trip to Sea Ranch and we found this home to be ideally situated. It has an unobstructed view of the ocean and easy access to miles of hiking trails. Our twin girls loved having the freedom to run along the trails and were thrilled to see deer, jack rabbits and tons of birds around every corner.

Klaus, the owner, was very helpful. The logistics of renting the place were flawless. He obviously has a lot of experience answering every question you could possibly think of and some you probably couldn't. Between the information that he sent us before we arrived and the resources available in the house, we felt really well prepared to enjoy or time at Casa Pacis. We can't wait to return to Sea Ranch!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Another Delightful Visit to the House of Peace

Review submitted: May 8, 2013   Date of arrival: May 1, 2013

We've stayed several times here at Casa Pacis, and continue to enjoy the warm comfort of the house and the completely responsive stewardship of the owners to maintain the house in a very clean and comfortable condition. Klaus is extremely professional in making the rental arrangements and providing comprehensive rental information about both the house and the surrounding area.

The house itself is classic Sea Ranch, with some great features. First is its location: It sits alone with no near neighbors near the end of a cul-de-sac, so there is no traffic (not that there is much traffic anywhere in sea Ranch) but the location gives it great privacy. Second:It is very close to Walk-On Beach and the Bluff Trail, some of the best views and beaches in Sea Ranch. Finally: The house is very well equipped and stocked with things that make it both charming and convenient, from the gas BBQ (no need to bring briquets, etc) to grill your dinner, to the tandem bike, to the well-equipped kitchen, to -- well, you get the idea.

The house offers great views from the deck, bedrooms and living room, and the loft has a charming swing that is great for watching the sun set on clear days. We also saw a number of whales migrating north this year, while sitting on the deck.

The hot tub is a favorite spot to relax after a hike.

In short, we've always enjoyed Casa Pacis, and plan to return many more times.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Truly Peaceful

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

This was our first time at Casa Pacis and it was everything advertised. The house is clean, well maintained and the owner is extremely responsive and prompt with every step of the transaction and communication. I have stayed many many times at The Sea Ranch and this house is ideally located. Very close to the bluff trails and a beach but far enough back that one doesn't feel they have to content with passers by if you want quiet and privacy. I enjoyed reading the FAQs and at first thought it cute and quaint but clearly they (the owners) have been asked and had to deal with just about everything so they make sure to try and cover it. Their attention to making sure you enjoy your stay is commendable and I would stay here again and they were a pleasure doing business with.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Casa Pacis: Nice place and responsive owner

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

Casa Pacis is a nice (in the traditional and interesting Sea Ranch style), peaceful (away from other houses and distractions), and well-equipped (nicely provided kitchen, electronics, WIFI, etc.) house. The property is well maintained. Unfortunately, when my wife and I were at the house, we had a couple of problems – a window blind broke and we had objectionable heater noise in the master bedroom. The owner was responsive to correcting the problems, and I doubt other guests will be affected by them. The check-out housekeeping requirements were also a bit confusing and a burden for us, but the owner was open to receiving feedback. Within days, a clear and very fair new policy was implemented. It is reassuring that in addition to providing a nice place for guests, the owner is interested in their satisfaction and is responsive if problems arise.

A note on activities: The house is a good place to relax and get away from it all – it even has a small library of books. Outdoor possibilities are fantastic: Numerous walking/hiking trails that offer a variety of land and ocean settings. We saw whales, seals, pelicans, and deer on our walks. There is good street cycling because roads in the Sea Ranch complex are lightly traveled (guests can use a couple of bikes at the house, but we brought our own). We discovered hidden beaches and groves of woods here and there.

Tips: Bring slippers as the owner asks that outdoor shoes not be worn in the house. We liked this because the floors and carpets were very clean. Also be prepared to dress in layers: The weather changes almost daily (fog on some days and full sun on others – typical of the northern California coast). Know what California’s seemingly most common native shrub-vine, poison oak (Toxicodendron diversilobum), looks like and avoid it. There is none on the property, but it crops up near trails. The Surf Supermarket in nearby Gualala on Hwy 1 doesn’t look like much from the road, but we liked it a lot better than the Gualala Supermarket across the street. Check out the nice selection of local artisan breads at Surf.

Owners response: We are grateful to conscientious reviewers such as Mr. H.. They keep us in touch with what our renters like to find when they open the door to the vacation home, where to stay for the next days they have paid hard-earned money for. It has been, and will continue to be, our high priority to honor their trust in us by offering the best value we can.
On the very day when the reviewer departed, even before we were able to address the issues raised by him, new renters arrived, who just now responded to my security deposit refund, "Thank you! We felt it was the best vacation we’ve ever been on. It truly is a house of peace. We’ll be back! - C...y." During the last twenty+ years of making Casa Pacis available as a vacation rental home, we have enjoyed a great number of similar e-mails and guest book entries.
With appreciation to our renters and reviewers,
K&G H

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Relaxing, Mellow, and Beautiful

Review submitted: September 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

A remote beautiful location. The drive up from SFO was pretty wild (lots of twists and turns and fog), but worth the trip. I thought the central coast of CA was beautiful, this area is rugged and...well...wild. Every night we sat out on the back deck at dusk and listen to the ocean and watch the deer wander around in the meadow...and the stars. Amazing. The property itself is well kept up, tidy, with all the amenities you need. We hung out at the house and also explored the area. Took a trip over the mountain to Philo, explored Gualala, and took a morning to check out the light house at Point Arena. When we were there it was pretty foggy, except for our last day. Nonetheless, it was a relaxing trip for my wife and I and our two toddlers.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Yes, while Sea Ranch is in season year-round, it can happen during the summer months that we have some fog -- but this is much less frequent than for most of the Central California coast, due to the "banana-belt" location of Sea Ranch. But it's beautiful up here rain, fog, or shine! The other side of the curves is that the nearest traffic light is some 50 miles away ...

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

This place is amazing

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

This is a totally wonderful place -- a cluster of well-spaced, modern houses on a bluff with spectacular overlooking a pristine beach. They blend perfectly into the environment, so you have a feeling of great privacy; in July, there were wildflowers everywhere, seals sunning themselves on the rocks, and 2 baby deer in the backyard (no joke!) The house has every possible amenity and is totally comfortable. The environment is gorgeous.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Serenely Private and Romantic Retreat

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 11, 2011

Serene Casa Pacis sits by itself near the end of a cul-de-sac above Walk On Beach. The only sounds you might hear are the ocean and the warbling of the birds. This was our second visit to Casa, and reinforced our experience of last year that this is truly the "House of Peace". The Casa is a superb romantic getaway. After a day of hiking on the bluff or among the towering redwoods, we would soak in the very private hot tub, enjoy the sunset from the swing in the loft, and a glass of champagne by a toasty fire in the wood-burning fireplace. (The owner provides lots of wood -- a nice touch.) The Casa is well furnished, equipped and maintained so that we had no surprises during our visit. The owner is very knowledgeable and easy to contact, so details of our rental were easy to arrange. Our security deposit was returned promptly.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Fabulous Location, Views and Privacy in a Very Comfortable and Romantic Location

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 9, 2010

Casa Pacis is a romantic and peaceful place, with its wood-burning fireplace, private hot tub, and great view loft. We greatly enjoyed celebrating our Silver Wedding anniversary there and plan to return.

Fabulous location with great ocean and meadow views, and excellent privacy. Quiet, secluded location very close to Sea Ranch bluff trail and famous Walk-On Beach. Comfortably furnished, well equipped and maintained. Wonderful places to sit and enjoy the view, read, or just be in the moment.

Easy rental arrangements: fast, friendly responses from owners; fair pricing; simple process for both deposit and final payment; super-fast deposit return. It is a pleasure to do business with such knowledgeable owners.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 22, 2008   Date of arrival: July 22, 2008

We only recently became aware of this wonderful "guest book" feature provided by VRBO/HomeAwayConnect.
Please also see our numerous guest book entries on our own, dedicated web site ("acviews") with regard to this property.
We hope to welcome you soon as new renters, or among the many guests who choose to come back to this charming chalet again and again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review