reviews for: listing #86139 - Tahoe Donner, California Chalet rental

Upscale Mountain Lodge*Best Backyard in Tahoe Donner*Hot Tub
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Chalet
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $225 - $400 /nt
    $1,575 - $2,800 /wk

sort by:

Great Stay!

Review submitted: November 20, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2013

This is a great place to stay in the lake Tahoe area! We loved it. It was clean, the hot tub was awesome, and the beds were comfy! The owners were easy to deal with and extremely helpful. We will go back to stay here again! It is in a great location. Truckee is fun and has everything you need, and there are lots of ski areas close by. Its not far from Tahoe City either. We like it better than the south shore area of Tahoe! It's a gorgeous quiet getaway with beautiful trees to see in the backyard. Can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Truly satisfied

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

All I have to say is we cannot wait to go back! We travel often and I have never felt so compelled to write a review. Everything from booking, to check out was wonderful and done with ease. Everything was very clean. The towels were fresh, soft and had a clean sent. We couldn't have asked for a more organized and accommodating kitchen. From the simplest kitchen tool, like a peeler, to a panini press, we were taken care of. They even had extra paper towel, toilet paper, aluminum foil, sandwich baggies and more. The hot tub was clean. The yard was beautiful. The beds were super comfortable. Judy was extremely sweet and we felt that she would be available if we needed anything. They even had a book filled with helpful information alphabetized. The best part about the book was that the opening was filled with a bit of humor. If you go... you will read about apples and know what I mean. The most difficult part about writing this review, is that I fear you may book your stay on a date that I want to come back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

All that it is described to be and more!

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

My family, friends and I had a very comfortable stay at Pine Marten Lodge. The cabin is exactly as pictured. It had all the amenities you may need to feel right at home. Extremely comfortable beds, stocked kitchen, comfortable furniture everywhere! From the living room, dining room and outside. We had such a great time lounging in this home. We took advantage of every inch of it!

It's summer, so we spent a lot of time in the backyard. Loved the hot tub, grill, bonfire pit and hammock. Truly a great stay in the great outdoors. We most definitely will be reserving this home again!

The owner, Judy, is super easy to work with. Very prompt with correspondence. This was my first time using VRBO and I'm impressed with the ease of making reservations, communicating directly with the owner and the check-in/check-out process.

Thank you Judy!! We appreciate sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

so lovely, restful and comfortable!

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 30, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely, restful stay at your beautiful home. You have everything so well stocked, from soft towels to hair dryers to basics in the kitchen, so it truly felt like we were staying as guests in someone's home. The master bed is so wonderfully soft and comfortable and I am extremely picky about this!

The first day out, as we were hiking in a remote area some 20 miles away, we discovered we had lost the house key. I found a place to email the owner, who promptly sent me the number for the property manager. Upon return to the house, we found a newly replaced house key in the lock box. Thank you for a wonderful time and we will certainly return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best of the best. Would definitely stay here again!

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

First off, owners are very friendly and helpful. They assured us that our stay would be great and they indeed were right. The cabin itself is absolutely beautiful. Feels like home away from home, yet it still has that cabin feel to it that everyone wants out of a Truckee/Tahoe trip!

They had extras of everything! Plates, spoons, forks, towels, paper towels, toilet paper, etc. Everything was clean upon arrival. The beds, sofas and chairs are all comfortable. The hot tub worked perfectly. The grill cooked our steaks very well (or rare depending on how you like it). Location is great! Truckee is a beautiful town itself with a lot of options of things to do. If Truckee isn't your cup of tea, Tahoe is just a short drive away!

I cannot stress how perfect our weekend was and a great deal of it is because of this cabin. Without a doubt, I would stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Spring Break

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

My family had a great time at Pine Marten Lodge. The house was even better than the photos, beautiful furnishings, fully stocked kitchen, etc. Had to drag the boys downstairs from the loft and the xBox after a day of skiing. Judy was great to work with, promptly answering our questions. Property management company dropped off some items within an hour of calling them. We would return again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun Fall Vacation!

Review submitted: April 29, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2012

We visited Pine Martin Lodge in early November just in time for what I think was the first snow fall of the season. It was beautiful! The house is lovely and was the perfect set up for us with 3 couples and a 5 year old. There was plenty of space, very comfy beds and a very well equipped kitchen. We had a great time outside in the backyard enjoying the the hot tub and the fire pit and, of course, throwing a few snowballs.
The location is great as well. We were able to easily get to Squaw Valley and Tahoe City.
We'll be back for sure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

cozy thanksgiving

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 22, 2012

we had such a great time spending thanksgiving weekend at the pine marten lodge! We made many meals in the well-stocked kitchen (we even made waffles!), enjoyed the private hot tub, played games by the wood burning stove, and slept real well in the comfortable beds! There's a wonderful trail at the end of the block, that leads to national forest land, and was great for long dog walks. The proximity to Donner Pass, Lake Tahoe, and even Reno was quite convenient. We would definitely come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wedding getaway

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 13, 2012

excellent home. House cleaning misunderstanding cleared up near instantly with no hassle. Convenient for the location of my wedding. Great outdoor space. Helped make my wedding a day that will always be remembered. Home owners very attentive as well. Very pleasant experience and will use again if needed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best backyard in all of Tahoe Donner

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

I'm already going to book for the same time next year. For those coming in summer, the backyard is hands-down the best yard for entertaining and enjoying at any hour of the day. There is always a sitting area that is shaded while another is receiving sun. I was able to read my novel rotating to the various areas in her yard welcomed by the most comfortable outdoor furniture ever. When you come indoors, you are greeted with luxury sofas and chairs that make a huge difference from other rentals that have rental type furniture that begin to sag or not support after an hour or so. I had the pleasure of sleeping in every bed in the house and can attest that every room has a 'master bed quality' mattress and bedding. Many times when I invite guests, I feel guilty because the master usually has a nice mattress and the others are 15plus year mattresses that are tolerated by the guests. These beds (even the top bunk) are incredibly comfortable and luxurious. We had a dinner party for 16 and there were ample place settings, wine glasses, and sitting areas to make it a success. I hosted for some serious 'foodies' who were amazed at the chef quality items in the house. WIFI was fast and XBOX a huge hit with the kids. Finally, the communication with the owners (over 30 messages) was prompt and accommodating while their property managers came to replenish any items we might be low on within hours of our call.Outstanding rental and could hardly believe that such a nice property would be rented out. I felt extremely grateful that the owners would let us share in their beautiful home and will be back in 2013.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful family vacation

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: February 5, 2012

The pictures showed exactly the lovely interiors of this home - all very luxurious. We all had a great time and would stay there again and recommend this property!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Warm and Welcoming Home

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: December 18, 2011

We stayed at Pine Martin just before Christmas and had a delightful stay. The house is lovely, well furnished and just as described. The kitchen is very well stocked beyond what you'd expect for a rental. We love this location too. And it was delightful dealing with the owner's too. They care about their home and it shows. We'll be back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exactly as described! Pictures are accurate!

Review submitted: November 20, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

Flexible owner accomodated our spontaneous first trip to Truckee. We felt very comfortable in this house and with somewhat gloomy weather it was nice to have the games and movies and the hot tub as an adjunct to our entertainment. Great resource binder for the local area. Would definitely stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a great way to spend time with the family!

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

I have stayed in a number of homes in Tahoe Donner...and this place is a real find!

The home itself is extremely comfortable...and feels like a home instead of a house. The beds are ridiculously comfortable. The kitchen is well stocked...and my wife isn't easy to please! Plenty of towels for the whole family. The hot tub was hot and ready to go! Our family spent every night out by the fire pit...which is absolutely beautiful! The house was well stocked with firewood. The hammock was a great little spot...looking straight up into the towering pines. The outdoor patio table was perfect for our dinners. The house is equipped with WiFi...so I was able to get a little work done! The house itself is located in a very quite neighborhood...but is a quick drive to all of the amenities. We enjoyed the private pool and hot tub at the Trout Creek Recreation Center. We enjoyed the private beach at Donner Lake...

Really...you will love this place. On top of it...the owners were extremely responsive and attentive...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Tahoe Donner House!

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

We stayed in this house in mid October. It was a great time of year to be in Tahoe. Leaves were turning, the weather was warm in the day and chilly at night. The house was set up perfectly to enjoy these conditions. It has a great backyard - perfect for kids to explore. It also has a beautiful deck, a BBQ, a hot tub and a fire pit. We made a fire in the fire pit each night and sat around eating smores with the kids. The layout of the house is very functional and the upkeep of the house is excellent. The kitchen is also very well equipped making cooking easy. The rental process was simple and convenient.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great accommodations in a perfect place for a get away retreat!

Review submitted: September 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 28, 2011

Our family had a wonderful time at the Pine Marten Lodge. We were looking for a place that we could take our two small children and enjoy family time in the outdoors with great accommodations. The house has everything you need to feel like a home away from home. We had a great time telling stories to each other around the fire pit, grilling on the BBQ, relaxing in the spa and playing xbox upstairs in the loft. We truly had an amazing time and the house didn't disappoint us at all. We look forward to returning in the winter.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

OMG!!

Review submitted: September 7, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

This home was WONDERFUL. It was everything the ratings had said and more. Immaculate, tremendous attention to detail, gorgeous backyard with hot tub, firepit, dining table and even hammocks. PErfect for any get together. The beds were so comfortable. The house is quite spacious, in a lovely street near walking trails, close to stores, hiking, swimming and every wonderful thing Tahoe has in the summer! We had a fabulous time and will be back for sure. The owners are gracious and so helpful. It was a special time for our family! We are so grateful for Pine Marten.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wish we were there now!

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 17, 2011

Beautiful house. Kid friendly. Very clean and comfortable. Gorgeous back yard.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

TIME AWAY IN THE MOUNTAINS

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

WONDERFUL HOME WITH ALL THE AMENITIES. THE SETTING IS PEACEFUL AND THE LAYOUT OF THE HOME IS GREAT FOR FAMILY GATHERINGS. ACCESS TO TRUCKEE, TAHOE, SIERRA NEVADA IS LIMITLESS. NEIGHBORS ARE WELCOMING. OWNERS ARE GRACIOUS AND ACCOMMODATING. WE WILL BE MAKING THIS OUR BI-ANAL GETAWAY LOCATION.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2011

We had a fantastic stay. Your house was a home from home with everything we could have possibly needed. Its all the little touches that make the difference, the extras in the kitchen, the firepit was a hit with all and we spotted pine martins, deer at breakfast time just walking past the window and we even turned into amateur birdwatchers thanks to the many books you provided which helped us to find out the names but sadly no bears although we took that to be a bonus. Went swimming in Lake Tahoe at one of the secret coves, hiked up Eagle Falls, walked round Spooner Lake, cycled round Donner Lake which was incredibly good value thanks to your residence card. We shall tell our friends and hopefuly you will get more visitors from Scotland. Thanks for all you help and advice along the way it was very much appreciated. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to relax with family and friends!

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Pine Marten is a warm and inviting home with new, tasteful furnishings. We enjoyed dining on the patio under the pine canopy, roasting marshmallows in the fire pit, and soaking in the hot tub. The kitchen is fully stocked, the bed is comfortable, and the location is convenient to all the Tahoe Donner amenities. We took full advantage of the swimming pool(s), equestrian center, and private beach access at Donner Lake. The owner is friendly and responsive to any questions you might have. We hope to enjoy it all again soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Summer Holiday!

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

We stayed at Pine Marten Lodge for a long weekend at the end of June as part of our trip to California and loved it - so much so that we're already planning on going back! The house is spacious, beautifully decorated and equipped with everything you need for all the activities on offer in the Tahoe Donner area. The house has a big deck, with a new patio and firepit area amongst the trees and is a perfect place to chill out on those summer evenings, not to mention a dip in the hot tub with it's own built-in sound system! We were a group of eight adults and there was plenty of space and parking for all us all. Pine Marten Lodge is in a peaceful neighbouhood and everything is only a five minute drive away including the local stores, restaurants and activities - our favourite things on this trip were the beach at the members-only Donner Lake resort and riding our bikes along the Truckee River.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cherished Memories !

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 19, 2011

Pine Martin Lodge was key in terms of location, amenities (grill, hot tub, and fire pit) and comfort (bedding) to allow our families to truly enjoy each other in a beautifully surrounded environment (nature-trees, lakes, rivers, ) and a wonderful community of people!

Highly recommend Pine Martin Lodge!

Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can't wait to return to Pine Marten Lodge!

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

Pine Marten Lodge is a the perfect getaway house for summer or winter. We stayed for a long weekend in the summer and with so much to do in the Tahoe Donner area, we will definitely be making a return trip. The house is ideally situated for activities on Donner Lake and Lake Tahoe and it's just a short drive to Squaw Valley ski resort, which is perfect for families. All the local amenities including restaurants and grocery stores are a 5 min drive away.

The house itself is spacious, clean and peaceful. We were a party of eight adults and we all were accommodated really comfortably - there is lots of break-out space including a cute little loft space and a cosy and light filled lounge, so we were never under each others feet and were able to totally relax. There is a beautiful deck with a hot tub and it's own sound system, and a brand new patio and fire pit for the summer evenings. The house was really well equipped, with every you might need to host big family dinners.

Lake Tahoe is a fantastic location for a holiday. With so much to do - hiking, cycling, swimming, water-sports, fishing to name but a few - you just want to get out and spend time in the beaustiful alpine scenery. The owners of Pine Marten Lodge were so warm and welcoming, and really go the extra mile to ensure that you have a wonderful vacation at Pine Marten Lodge. I can't recommend this house enough and will definitely return as soon as we can!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Summer Vacation

Review submitted: July 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

We LOVED our stay there. You had everything we could ever want or need for our stay – nice comfy beds, great overstuffed furniture, coffee maker, hot tub, great outdoor patio surrounded by towering pine trees and a fire pit! We enjoyed every bit of it. And your location is unbeatable. We were able to spend our days at Squaw Valley hiking, driving the gorgeous South Tahoe and checking out Eagle Falls. Summer is amazing here and we hope to come back in the winter!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Summer Vacation

Review submitted: July 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

We LOVED our stay there. You had everything we could ever want or need for our stay – from nice comfy beds and great overstuffed furniture to a great outdoor entertainment area with grill, hot tub and fire pit! We enjoyed every bit of it. And your location is unbeatable, we were able to easily get to Squaw Valley, Tahoe City and just a bit further, but a lovely drive, we went to South Lake Tahoe and Emerald Bay. We hope to come back in the winter!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place in the mountains!

Review submitted: July 21, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

Dear Pine Marten Lodge,

We LOVED our stay there. You had everything we could ever want or need for our stay – nice comfy beds, great overstuffed furniture, coffee maker, hot tub, great outdoor patio surrounded by towering pine trees and a fire pit! We enjoyed every bit of it. And your location is unbeatable. We were able to spend our days at Squaw Valley hiking, driving the gorgeous South Tahoe and checking out Eagle Falls. Summer is amazing here and we hope to come back in the winter!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great luxury house in the forest

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

Our family recently stayed at Pine Marten Lodge and we had a really wonderful time, loving the house and the area. The house is just beautiful. It is furnished luxuriously with fine attention to detail. It has extremely comfortable and large beds and a great kitchen which was easy to use. There is so much space here that there is room for everyone to relax. We loved sitting out on the large deck covered in comfy chairs and eating delicious local food from the giant BBQ. There is a new large patio area next to the house where we could sit and eat in fine style. Huge trees are everywhere and our favourite place was sitting around the fire pit watching the stars through their branches...fabulous. The hot tub was great too and certainly added a ’wow’ factor for children and grandchildren alike!
There is masses to do in the area which seems to cater for everybody’s tastes. We specially loved swimming early morning amongst the trees in an outdoor heated pool nearby and watching the pond skimming event at Squaw Valley just along the road!
We are all hoping to come again to this great place and would recommend it to anyone wholeheartedly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pine Marten Lodge

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

Our family recently stayed at Pine Marten Lodge and we had a really wonderful time, loving the house and the area. The house is just beautiful. It is furnished luxuriously with fine attention to detail. It has extremely comfortable and large beds and a great kitchen which was easy to use. There is so much space here that there is room for everyone to relax. We loved sitting out on the large deck covered in comfy chairs and eating delicious local food from the giant BBQ. There is a new large patio area next to the house where we could sit and eat in fine style. Huge trees are everywhere and our favourite place was sitting around the fire pit watching the stars through their branches...fabulous. The hot tub was great too and certainly added a ’wow’ factor for children and grandchildren alike!
There is masses to do in the area which seems to cater for everybody’s tastes. We specially loved swimming early morning amongst the trees in an outdoor heated pool nearby and watching the pond skimming event at Squaw Valley just along the road!
We are all hoping to come again to this great place and would recommend it to anyone wholeheartedly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good for summer and winter weekends!

Review submitted: June 30, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

Having stayed at Pine Martin Lodge in the ski season (so much snow!) it was really nice to come back and stay in the lodge in the summer time. The house was once again easily big enough for 8 adults and 4 year old, with comfortable bedding for everyone.
The activities that you can make use of in the summer are really good too. We hiked the trails around the Tahoe Donner resort, and used the swimming pool next to the gym. We also had a great time down at Donner Lake, where there is an exclusive Tahoe Donner area for members and guests.
Great place to stay in the summer, as well as the winter time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: So glad that you and your family from Scotland had such a lovely visit! We enjoy the home so much in the summertime - glad that you did, too!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pine Marten Lodge

Review submitted: April 16, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

Pine marten lodge was very comfortable and clean. We loved the mission style decor. It had every comfort of home. The hot tub was nice and they allow dogs. We were pleasantly surprised that you would never even suspect pets had ever been in the house. The spacious backyard was filled with snow for the kids and there was no other houses in view when looking out the back windows. It had a very private feel. We liked the convenient location close to Tahoe Donner ski area and the snowplay area and Safeway. There is a nice open loft but rearranging of furniture may be required to keep an active Toddler from climbing and falling over the balcony. There is no street parking allowed but the 1 car garage and drive had plenty of room for 3 cars without having to move cars to get out. We really enjoyed our stay.

Owners response: We are extending the loft area this spring, with built-in entertainment center, in order to create an even bigger and better play area for kids! Also, street parking is only restricted during winter, due to the enormous amounts of snow and plowing necessity. During the summer, street parking is allowed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful trip! A winter wonderland! A beautiful home!

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

We just got back from a great 3 days at Pine Marten Lodge to celebrate my son's birthday! The house was just perfect for our two families, including 5 boys who loved the hot tub, Xbox and endless snowball fights in the snow forts they built in front of the house! The adults also loved the hot tub, the beautiful furnishings, the natural light coming in from all the wonderful windows, and especially, the awesome beds and bedding! So comfortable and relaxing - we loved it! And, I have to make special mention of the wonderful owners and how accommodating and helpful they are. Judy and I talked several times while we were planning our trip, and her genuine warmth, caring and attention to detail made me know before we even arrived that our stay would be just what we were looking for. I have rented many times over lots of years in the Donner Lake area, and will definitely be staying at Pine Marten Lodge again on our very next trip!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Updated Cabin

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

We had a wonderful time at Pine Marten Lodge, it easily accomodated our group of 12 and the spa was a hit with the kids and adults alike. The furniture and linens were brand new and fabulous, we slept in the master bed and felt like we were staying at a high end hotel. The owners were very kind, easy to reach and generously gave us a complimentary late check out since day light savings began the morning of our departure. Overall great stay, I would definitely recommend it!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Great lodge in a great location"

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: January 24, 2011

Pine Marten lodge is a fantastic place, with all the facilities you need for a get away in the Mountains. It's location in the Tahoe-Donner area is really great for Truckee and the surrounding Ski resorts which are really closed. Tahoe-Donner itself has lots of outdoor activities and my nephew really enjoyed the snow-play they do at the resort. The Lodge itself is really spacious, with a great master suite and plenty of room for us all. We were a party of 5, and there was loads of room for us all to do our own thing - as there's a great mezzanine above the dining area with another sofa and TV! There's a super wood-burning stove too and a high galleried living room which looks out over the pine trees out the back. The hot tub is a great feature which we all really enjoyed! I would definitely stay here again when going back to Lake Tahoe

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful weekend getaway house!

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

We had two families with young children (total 11 ppl) stay at this roomy place. We had a wonderful stay. The house had everything we needed - a fully stocked kitchen with thoughtful amenties like coffee and tea, condiments and all the kitchen electronics you could use; toys and sleds for the kids; a great hot tub to soak in after a day of skiing/boarding; comfortable newer furniture and beds and extra amenities like multiple big screen TVs with movies and a XBOX with games. The house is in a great neighborhood on a not busy street so the kids had fun playing outside the house in the snow and sledding outside. We'll definitely be back again to stay at the Pine Marten!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful weekend getaway house!

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

We had two families with young children (total 11 ppl) stay at this roomy place. We had a wonderful stay. The house had everything we needed - a fully stocked kitchen with thoughtful amenties like coffee and tea, condiments and all the kitchen electronics you could use; toys and sleds for the kids; a great hot tub to soak in after a day of skiing/boarding; comfortable newer furniture and beds and extra amenities like multiple big screen TVs with movies and a XBOX with games. The house is in a great neighborhood on a not busy street so the kids had fun playing outside the house in the snow and sledding outside. We'll definitely be back again to stay at the Pine Marten!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review