reviews for: listing #86149 - Lake Arrowhead, Georgia House rental

Lake front home, Arcade, Hot tub, swim-fish-boat
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $325 /nt
    $1,095 - $1,795 /wk

sort by:

A relaxing family reunion!

Review submitted: June 17, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

From the moment we walked in to your beautiful home we all felt relaxed! Your house was great for our large group (7 adults and 3 kids) with plenty of room to spread out. The house was beautifully decorated with a very rustic feel but all the modern conveniences. We spent our days on the dock...swimming, canoeing, fishing...very relaxing! In fact we had two fish frys with all the fish the guys caught! We cooked homemade dinners each night in your very well equipped kitchen, had drinks on the deck, played games downstairs, tried out the hot tub and played cards on the screened in porch. A great way to connect! This was such a quiet spot on the lake and your house shows off the natural outdoor beauty through all the large windows. We loved having a large dining table to all eat together at. We had several backyard visits from some local deer, geese and ducks...very fun for my kids! The guys played a round of golf at the local course and we ventured out one day, but other than that stayed home and were never bored. There is a lot to keep you busy or to just relax if you prefer. The listing was just as it was described, and Rob was easy to work with. The house was very clean and well taken care of. We loved the extra touch with the gift basket. I would recommend this house highly and hope to make it back one day. All in all, it was a relaxing reunion and a great way to catch up with family! We miss it already.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Family Home

Review submitted: April 24, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

We spent a wonderful week at the Leyden's lake house. The house was extremely clean, which is super important to us all. :) It is situated beautifully on Lake Arrowhead. The lake is very accessible due to the paddle board, canoe, kayaks and hydrobike. We enjoyed them all. My husband really enjoyed fishing off the dock everyday and evening. He caught 25-30 fish during the week we were there. Our four year daughter loved the house and coaxed us down to the awesome game room every morning after breakfast for some game time. She also loved the hot tub. It is very clean and well-maintained.The kitchen is completely equipped with everything we needed to prepare meals there. We felt very much at home and are very pleased with the choice we made. Honestly, we really only have wonderful things to say about the home. Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Most Relaxing Vacation Ever !

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

This home is everything it says and more! We never really considered vacationing at a lake house because we are usually ocean beach people but while looking at Georgia VBRO homes this house popped up and we fell in love with it right away and thought we would give it a try! Sooooo glad we did! The peacefulness of the cove is unbelievable and it was so nice to have everything right in our back yard! literially steps away! We had six young adults all in their 20s and never heard once that they were bored! They were either on the boat fishing or exploring on some sort of water toy, the girls went to the outlet shops that were only about 15 min away and we enjoyed our one rainy day with a short trip to Atlanta to the aquarium. There are plenty of places to pick up groceries all within 5 to 10 min. if u want to cook or there are plenty of places to eat out all within 20min. We were pleasantly suprised at how relaxing it was and spent many hours soaking up the sun on the dock and floating around on the lake. We did make one trip to the pool one evening and it was beautiful but prefered the lake and if golf is your thing bring the clubs! There are at least 3 golf coarses within 15 min. and the guys played 2 and had a great time! We would recommend this home to anyone! Lots to do or nothing at all to do for all ages! We will definiatly have to consider this home for future vacations! Well worth the 10 hour drive from Ohio!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are never bored either. We try to stock the home with a lot of games and we add new arcade games to the game room frequently. Try our other home on the lake which has a real theater room. We have numerous boats at the home also. Thanks for staying at our home.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

GORGEOUS LAKE/MOUNTAIN CABIN

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 26, 2013

Our family LOVES nature....this is exactly what we found at this beautiful cabin at Lake Arrowhead. We were outside most of the time from eating on the deck, fishing, hiking, watching the wild life visit our backyard, feeding fish and ducks off the deck to having our private "swimming pool" right off the dock. Our children floated in their tubes and mom even dozed off in her float right off the backyard. At night, the sounds of nature were tranquil and peaceful. What a wonderful time we had together as a family and made many memories. We will defintely turn to your home. Thank you.

Owners response: Thanks for coming to our home. I see deer and other wildlife every day when I am at the lake. I am glad you had a great time. Come again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic vacation, AAAA+++++

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 27, 2013

This is the second home we have rented from Rob and Jen and we do not know which one we love best! We stayed on the lake all day. The kids were swimming off the docks all day and my wife and I enjoyed all the water toys. We especially loved the hydro bike. The kids loved the arcade with all the video games and table games.

We will be back next year... We just do not know which house we love better! Thanks Rob and Jen.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for renting both of our homes. I can't wait to see which home you choose for next year! Me and my wife still argue which home is the better one!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

WONDERFUL VACATION!

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

We had an outstanding time staying in this vacation home.....the home was spotless and had absolutely everything that you could think of!! We also rented the pontoon boat for the week and our children loved it! From fishing, swimming or just out taking a ride it was just what everyone needed... The owner was only just a phone call away with any questions we had...very attentive. We drove into Canton several times to: eat at restuarants, pick things up at grocery store and to catch a movie. We also drove to Amicalola State Park on our last day - what a wonderful surprise! Our family loves to hike, rock collect and the Falls were absolutely beautiful! We had a wonderful week and would highly recommend to anyone considering renting this property. Something to consider are the roads around the lake community and we weren't able to swim directly off the dock, but other than that NO problems with anything! House was beautiful, clean and just like being at HOME!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are sorry you did not choose to swim off the dock but we hope you enjoyed the 2 large community swimming pools. Lake arrowhead is a spring fed lake and is rated the cleanest lake in all of Georgia according to the DNR. One of the swimming pools is new and the other one is in the shape of an arrowhead and they are both available to our renters! We are on the north end of the lake with some of the widest areas available for swimming without being in the way of motor boats. We are glad you got a chance to enjoy the many water toys our home offers with each rental like the hydrobike, canoe, kayaks, paddle boat, and the paddle board! Thanks for renting our home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful View

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

The view was incredible. The house was fantastic. Fully stocked with anything you could possibly want in the kitchen. The kids loved the game room. There was plenty to do with all of the water toys off the dock. It was very relaxing. We used the boat daily and caught over 50 fish.. Go to Jordan's Smart Mart at the bottom of the hill and buy worms.. They worked the best. We did travel to go horseback riding, white water rafting, tubing, and even the Georgia Aquarium. Nothing was more than an hour away.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review. The fish are definitely biting this year! To get the big ones we recommend renting the pontoon boat that we have at the home. The home is very secluded but there is a lot to do. You are about an hour from Atlanta and an hour from river tubing, white water rafting, etc. Thanks for coming to our home.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

The home is gorgeous and the lake is spectacular. The owners were great! Very welcoming and accommodating. There was something for everyone to do, kayak, canoe, paddle board, paddle boat and the water bike was a big hit. Everyone in our group wants one now. We also rented the boat for a week, which was by far the most fun part of our vacation. Having access to a private lake was unbelievable, we are from the Northwest Suburbs of Chicago and any lake or river near us is so crowded that it's hard to fully enjoy yourselves. Here, we felt like we practically had the whole lake to ourselves.The kids and the guys caught tons of fish, gigantic blue gill and some nice large mouth bass. Us girls spent a lot of time hiking the trails or relaxing on the deck with a good book. The community offers so much more, golf, swimming pools, play parks, etc. but we never ran out of things to do at the house. Waleska is close, but if we needed anything we went to the town of Canton, it was only a 15 minute drive and offers everything. We had a wonderful vacation. Thank you to the Leyden family for sharing their lovely home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Business and Pleasure

Review submitted: January 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

Our family spent the weekend at this home and couldn't have had a more enjoyable time. We had so much fun with the watercraft. My son, who I thought would be in the game room the entire time because we visited in January, never left the lake. We got lucky with some very mild weather! I cooked some pretty involved meals in the well equipped kitchen too.
Monday and Tuesday my business partners and I had a corporate planning retreat for our restaurant management teams. We had plenty of room for eight people to sleep comfortably and some pretty heated rounds of Golden Tee.
We will definitely start our search for the next vacation with this home.
Thank You very much for the hospitality.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Tom. I appreciate the great comments especially someone from the restaurant industry. My wife tries to keep the kitchen well stocked with items for people to utilitize for their great meals and entertaining. We have another great home on the same lake with a movie theater. Next time you might want to check that one out.
There is plenty of things to do at our home even in the winter. We have the great arcade, board games, and hiking trails. I am glad your family/friends were able to utilize all the boats including paddle, canoe, kayak, and hydrobike.
We will see you next time!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spectacular home and view.

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 6, 2012

This home meets every expectation. It is beautiful and the view of the lake and the fall foliage just added to the experience. The home is very clean and extremely well stocked with everything you could possibly need. The large dining table allowed for a great place for the family to share a barbecue and time together. The gift basket and phone call let us know the Leydens really care about their renters and want to ensure they have a great experience!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We loved having your party stay at our home. My family was glad that you and your family was able to stay at our home and celebrate a wedding nearby. It was great to find out that you are from the same area I grew up in. Have a great trip back to upstate NY!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: October 28, 2012

We had a great time in this beautiful home on Lake Arrowhead. There was something for everyone! The kitchen was stocked with everything you would need to make preparing meals a breeze. The kids enjoyed the water toys while my mom enjoyed sitting by the warm fire. The arcade/game room was a hit in the evenings. The view of the lake and the foliage was spectacular.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for renting our home. There is plenty to do at Lake Arrowhead even when the temperatures are cooler. The fall is a beautiful time to go to the lake, the leaves are spectacular. You can still get on the lake with the kayaks, canoe, paddle boat, and hydrobikes. The home is stocked with games, arcade/game room, and large tvs and entertainment systems. There is a big hot tub to enjoy outside as well. As you mentioned, my wife tries to have a well stocked kitchen, she appreciated you noticed. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful vacation home

Review submitted: October 28, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

Our small group just got back from spending the weekend in this house. It is exceptional with views that are awesome. The home had a lot of amenities and many extras we were not counting on. The view off the deck and/or dock is so very relaxing. The home is exceptionally clean and I would highly recommend it for a relaxing vacation or long weekend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review. You vacationed during a great time of year. The fall foliage was beginning to peak and the weather was still nice in the seventies and low eighties. I will let the cleaning staff know that you complimented the cleanliness. Thanks for staying at our home and I hope to see you next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Adams Family Retreat

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

Our family had a wonderful time at this beautiful lake house. The house was very clean and the kitchen was very well equipped. We enjoyed the pontoon boat and other water toys. The weather was perfect and the foilage was so colorful all around the lake. The owner was so cooperative, and we all want to visit this place another time. We would highly recommend this property to anyone desiring a quiet, peaceful, yet entertaining environment.

Owners response: I am so glad that you were able to see the foliage around the lake in the fall. The best times to see the leaves change are mid October to early-mid November. Thanks

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Adams Family Retreat

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

Our family had a wonderful time at this beautiful place. We enjoyed the boat and other water toys...the game room was awesome....the kitchen was the best supplied ever rented in a resort home/condo. We definitely recommend this place for a vacation getaway. The owner was so accomdating for us!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad you noticed the well equipped kitchen. We love to make exquisite meals when we are there. We frequently rent vacation homes/condos when we go to the beaches of Florida and we are lucky to find enough silverware/dishes for 4 people! We have pizza stones, crock pot, blender, margarita machine, toaster oven, rice cooker, toaster, baking pans, serving dishes, full set of dishes/silverware/glasses, etc. Thanks to your whole clan that took the time to write reviews.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Adams Family Celebration

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

Our family truly enjoyed this week-end at this beautiful place. Our three sons/daughter-inlaws and grandchildren loved the house, games, paddle boats, and our two days on the pontoon boat. We all agreed to plan another trip to this delightful place. The weather was perfect and even though the water was a bit chilly, the children had to jump in! We highly recommend this place, and the owner was so accomodating for us!
Adams Family

Owners response: We are glad your family had a great time. We look forward to your next visit! The water is certainly brisk in October, but worth the swim. Thanks for spending time at our home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation!!!!!

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

This property was PERFECT!!! We stayed one week and there was plenty to do. We enjoyed our time on the kayak, canoe, water bike, the pontoon and out swimming on the lake! The scenery from the deck was absolutely amazing, saw several deers during our stay, enjoyed feeding the ducks and the koi pond was such a beautiful detail added to the home. The downstairs game room was fun and added some memorable family moments that were priceless! We hope there will be a discount offered for returning customers ;)!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for renting our home. We appreciate the great comments. We are adding 4 more video arcade games to the game room (golden tee, classics, megatouch, bowling) and hope you can experience them next year. I enjoyed meeting you and your family/friends and we look forward to seeing you again! Thanks, rob and jen

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great week on the Lake

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying in this wonderful lake home for a week, everything you need is in the home but the outdoor space is top notch we rented Robs boat for three days and had a great time fishing and swimming in the beautiful waters of Lake Arrowhead, we also used the paddleboat and the water bike, so much to do we never got the kayaks or canoe out we were so busy w/everything else. The owners are wonderful to work with if you have any problems they are extremely responsive. We were there to look at property and buy at Arrowhead and being able to stay at this lake home made us want to move even more, we would definitely stay here again! Thanks for a great time!!!

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thanks for the great comments! I hope you found a place to purchase on the lake. I would love to have you guys as neighbors in the community. See you at the clubhouse.....

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A fantastic relaxing getaway!

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

We rented this house for summertime family vacation, and were extremely impressed with the property. It was better than the listing, by far. Very clean and well-maintained. The property owner was extremely helpful, answering tons of our questions before we arrived and even mailed back a pillow we accidentally left behind!

This house has everything you need: Every piece of cookware/bakeware you can think of, spices and other basic condiments, a gas grill, plenty of board games, books and video games, even a computer with a guest logon. The house was big enough for all 10 of us to gather around the table for meals and board games, or spread out for quiet time. We didn't rent the pontoon (3-day minimum rental), but there were plenty of water toys to keep everyone entertained. We had a toddler and a 10 and 11 year old, and there were plenty of activities to keep everyone busy.

The nearest grocery store (Publix) is about 20 minutes away, so I recommend you pick up everything you need so you don't have to go back! Also, there is a convenience store closer if you need milk.

The house has wireless internet, but cell service is sketchy.

My kids are already asking when we can go back! I've recommended this property to many of my friends.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a fantastic, relaxing getaway!

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

We rented this house for a summer family vacation, and had a fantastic time! The house has everything you need, from cookwar and a gas grill, to board games, to video games, a computer, even some condiments (spices, coffee, etc). The house was big enough for all 10 of us to gather around the table for meals or board games, or to spread out for quiet time. We didn't rent the pontoon (3-day minimum rental), but there were plenty of other water toys to keep the adults and kids entertained. We had a toddler and a 10 and 11 year old, and there was enough to keep everyone busy. The landlord was extremely helpful (even sent back a pillow we accidentally left behind!).

The nearest grocery store and other civilization such as restaurants is about 20 minutes away, so I recommend you pick up everything you need in one trip so you don't have to go back, and cook meals at the house. But there is a little convenience store closer if you need milk.

The house has wireless internet, but cell service is sketchy (at least for Verizon).

My kids are already asking when we can go back!

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words. We also thoroughly enjoy the remoteness of this location and the opportunity to get away from city life and very hectic schedules. Knowing that some visitors feel the need to stay in touch with friends, family and business, we have made sure we offer both wi-fi and a land line for ease of communication. We have found that most mobile services do work in the community. There is a restaurant at the clubhouse called the Highlands Grill, which is approximately a few miles away, within the community. We hope to see you again next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mike

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

A wonderful week in a fabulously maintained home. The photos although great do not do the actual home and view justice; it is a beautiful location with great ammenities. We had our children and grandchildren totalling ten with ample sleeping and play areas. The home was well maintained and the recreation was superb; canoe, kayaks,hydrobike (at the home), community pools and a great golf course at a very reasonable rate. As soon as we can nail down dates for next year we will be contacting Rob who was a fantastic host with genuine concern about our having fun during our stay. Great memories for our 2012 vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Centrally located Lakehouse

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

This Lakehouse property could not have been more perfect for our first family gathering. We traveled from Florida, Georgia, North Carolina and Alabama to be together for a much needed family vacation. The owners have thought of every detail that you could want or need to make your stay pleasant, enjoyable and fun.

If the lake and the amenities of a hydrobike, paddle boat, kayak and canoe weren't enough, they have provided family friendly board games, wii gaming system and of course internet access.

The kitchen was spacious and well equipped as each family took their turn at preparing the evening meal.

The cozy bedrooms complete with nice bedding and comfy beds was an added bonus to retire for the evening or even take an afternoon nap.

Once nice surprise was the sound of the tree frogs in evening and the sweet melodies of the various birds in the morning. Occasionally we also had the privilege of being greeted by deer in the morning while having coffee out on the deck.

Can not wait to book this spot for next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our First Family Vacation Together

Review submitted: July 1, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

We had family traveling from South Carolina, Florida, Georgia and Alabama for our first family vacation together and it could not have been more perfect than staying at the Leyden Lakehouse.

Every amenity that we could need or want was provided. We enjoyed waking up to the sounds of tree frogs and birds every morning and most mornings were greeted by deer in the neighbors yard. During the afternoon, some us took full advantage of the lake. We paddled boated in and out of the coves, kayaked, canoed and even tried out the hydro bike. Floating out on the lake seemed to be the favorite of our stay.

The home is spacious enough without feeling like you couldn't be apart of the day to day comings and goings. We enjoyed cooking in a well stocked kitchen with all the utensils and cookware you could need or want. And the kids couldn't believe there was internet hook up and a Wii game! Needless to say they had a blast too! Retiring to our bedrooms at night and sleeping on comfortable mattresses with freshly laundered sheets was the icing on the cake for us.

The owners have gone above and beyond our expectations and can not wait to make our next reservation at the Leyden Lakehouse for our annual family vacation!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent vacation spot

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

This is a beautiful home. You can tell that the Leyden's want you to feel at home. The views are wonderful and the spot in the cove is perfect. We all enjoyed the kayaks, canoe and water bike. This is definitely an ideal spot for a vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

My new favorite place!!

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

My family loved this home! The house is comfortable and well appointed. There was plenty to do, indoors and out. For quiet rainy evenings we took advantage of the books, magazines, and board games. We found all of the tips on the darts for the dart board broken, but then discovered plenty of replacements in the cabinet! That was a nice surprise considering a cabin we stayed at once did not have any usable darts or replacement tips. We mostly stayed busy outside. The pontoon boat was great for fishing and touring the lake. There was always someone in the kayaks and on the water cycle. We fed the ducks from the dock and loved the koi pond. The kitchen was stocked with all utensils and spices. There were also plenty towels and extra bedding if needed. The lake is quiet and so clear it was unbelievable! The owner was very helpful and gracious! We can't wait to return!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Family Vacation!!

Review submitted: May 20, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

We arrived to the cabin greeted by a gift basket and the owner gave us a tour of the house and use of the Pontoon boat. What a beautiful cabin and the scenery did not disappoint. Saw so many deer that we stopped counting and had one deer come to the water to drink. Visited the clubhouse and had dinner there the night before we left. We enjoyed the water so much we never had time to golf at their new Golf Course. We definitely made use of their boat and my husband was like a little kid because he caught so many fish. He ended up catching thirty bass and just as many bluegill and to make his trip perfect caught a seven pound bass. We had two days of rain but that didn't even dampen our vacation,we just made use of all the indoor games and still went out on the boat. What a great family vacation with our grown kids and never was a dull day. We used every water craft that they had to offer and even though the water was a little cold at first we enjoyed the swimming. I can't say enough how beautiful it was and how much I am looking forward to returning!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place for a family get-away

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

We picked this house because of its central location--we wanted a place to get our family together for a week (us, two grown daughters and their families including five grandkids). We hoped for a pleasant place with activities for the kids and a place for the adults to relax. From the beginning, this house exceeded all of our expectations! Rob was very welcoming and made us feel at home right away. The house is beautiful with lots of windows and decks to take advantage of the great lake views and all top-of-the-line amenities like a convection oven and granite countertops in the kitchen. There was room to park three large SUVs. For sleeping, there was plenty of space for a couple of air mattresses since we decided not to use the sleeper sofa. The large dining room was the scene of many family dinners and board games. However, it was the dock and the lake where we spent most of our time. The canoe and pedal boat were each big enough for 3 or 4 people and the 2 kayaks were easy to use for even the 8-year old grandson. Everyone's favorite though was a "boat" which is sort of a bicycle mounted on pontoons. There was usually a queue waiting to take this out for a trip on the lake. We saw deer feeding in the yard and caught fish off the dock in the mornings and evenings. The house was stocked with lots of fun things for all ages; we played video games and bumper pool and darts and several board games. We shared the cooking and relaxed on the decks. The house had plenty of space for multiple groups to be doing different things at the same time without getting in each others' way. In all, this was the perfect get-away for our family and we're planning to come back again. We highly recommend this house to everyone!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lake Arrowhead

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

We loved the house! The view of the lake was incredible and the weather actually cooperated. The kids (overgrown teenagers loved the downstairs and enjoyed the game room immensely). The bed in the master bedroom was super comfy and the kitchen was amazing. Tiny note - bring coffee filters and soap. It was very clean and well kept with all the comforts of home. Plenty of towels and linens.

The owner was very accommodating and easy to work with. We would definitely go back to this house again.

Thanks!

JHuffman

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Awesome House, Beautiful View!!!

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

We were in the Canton area for a family wedding and this was a perfect location. Just outside of town on beautiful Lake Arrowhead. The home was clean and well maintained. If you are looking for a place just outside of Atlanta to get away for a week on the lake then take a serious look at this property. We are from Texas and would return again if we are ever back in the area. We had a welcome basket when we arrived which was a special touch and totally unexpected.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas on the lake

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 19, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our Christmas vacation with our family! My thirteen year old son and his friend had a blast with the kayaks and canoe. They went all over the lake. The shark bedroom was enjoyed by our younger guests and the adults relaxed in the huge living room and kitchen. We cooked all but one meal the week we were there! It was nice for everyone to be able to sit at the large dining table together. We have rented many places and usually people have to sit in separate rooms, but this one held everyone!
The lake was so quiet and we loved having coffee and looking out at the ducks and geese every morning.
Thanks to the Leyden's for making our Christmas one to remember! We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

SL

Review submitted: October 8, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

This is a beautiful, peaceful home. It was clean, comfortable and spacious. The pictures do not do it justice. This was a perfect place for a family vacation. Our daughter and her family went to Disney World prior to meeting us at the lake. After one day she said they had more fun at Lake Arrowhead than Disney! The owners have thought of everything to make our stay perfect. They even made a welcome sign and left a big basket of goodies to greet us! We had a wonderful time and plan to return again next year if we can.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful!

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

If you are looking for a beautiful, relaxing place to spend time with your spouse and/or family... you've found it! We spent 2 nights here with our daughter and 4 grandsons. I wish we had had more days off.. we could have spent a week there surrounded by the beauty, water, and wild life. The owner, Rob, was wonderful ... very nice! He met us at the house to give us the keys, and to explain details about the house. The split level, 2 story house was clean and comfortable, with all the amenities of home... including a secluded hot tub on the lower level porch overlooking the lake. We highly recommend this place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

September in Georgia

Review submitted: October 3, 2011   Date of arrival: September 24, 2011

This house is fantastic, comfortable, and located perfectly on the lake. This house is beautifully decorated. The pictures do not give it justice. The owners answered our emails within hours when we had any questions. Also helped us when we left items behind, so gracious.
At dusk the deer come out and are so close! The sunset & sunrise are breathtaking.
The fishing was great and the pontoon easy to use and clean and comfortable. The water is so clear you can see at least 10 foot down.
Even with rain predicted we were surprised at how quickly it cleared up. No day was wasted. Truly a keeper and plan to enjoy it again!
Recommending this property is a joy, everyone should experience life like this at least once.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing family holiday!

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

My husband and I have traveled all over the world, to find this spot was like finding a hidden gem! It is a lovely home with an amazing view! Every time you look out the windows it's a treat! The leydens have done a magnificent job on everything! It is so comfortable and clean! It is kid friendly and never lacked a thing! I can't say enough about our stay and look forward to being there again soon!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks for all the great comments! We enjoyed having you and your family stay at our home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Reids (West Newbury, MA)

Review submitted: September 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

Thank you very much for providing a beautiful home and location for our vacation. Whenever I told anyone we were going to "Hot-lanta" in August for vacation, they thought we were nuts! (actually, we weren't quite sure what to expect). Waleska is about an hour outside of the city, in the mountains. The weather was wonderful, hot, but not humid or uncomfortable. We were outside more than inside the nice air conditioned house. The views are beautiful (I would love to go back in the fall for the changing leaves.) The remodeling was great. Everthing was new, working and very clean. We were a group of 2 couples and 2 kids. We all had our own rooms and were very comfortable with more than enough room. Thanks again for sharing your home with us, we would love to come back and would highly recommend to friends and family.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful home in a beautiful location

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 20, 2011

What a fabulous rental property that feels just like home. This HUGE, open, airy home sits nestled on a beautiful, privately owned lake. The house sits on a very quiet part of the lake, but we used the pontoon and just a short boat ride down is the open part of the lake that is plenty big for tubing or skiing. So something for everyone. We anchored in one of the many coves and the kids swam and played for hours. They very much enjoyed feeding the ducks and fish both from the pontoon and off the dock. We didn't fish, but I could see that there was plenty of opportunities to "catch dinner" if we had wanted. The house has a very large main floor, with a beautiful, well stocked kitchen. The dining room seated the 6 adults and 3 children easily. We enjoyed the board games, the Wii, the bumper pool and even used the frozen drink machine for some strawberry daquiris. Plenty of bathrooms for everyone to get ready the one time we took the short drive to Canton for dinner. In the morning we often saw deer frolicking around on the lawns, and even saw one on a neighbor's dock trying to figure out how to get a drink from the lake. The owners are putting in a hot tub shortly, and that will be a great addition to this already great lake home - might have to come back this winter to try it out.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Home! Great Time!

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

This is a beautiful home and the owners go out of their way to make sure that the stay is as comfortable as ever. We have 2 children (5 and 10) and could not have asked for a better place to spend a week. Thanks Rob!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dan, I enjoyed meeting you, your family and friends. We appreciate your comments and hopefully we see you next year! Thanks Dan

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I felt so at home

Review submitted: July 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

I felt so at home when we first walked in and saw "Welcome Keseric Party", along with the basket of goodies. Our week was A-Maz-ing!!! We were all on the dock and boats from surnrise to sunsets!!! My kids caught SO many fish! Not including tomorrow morning, my oldest one caught "27" fish! WOW! We would love to come back next year, hopefully for 2 weeks. Everything was PERFECT!! Thank you, thank you, thank you from my heart, be safe.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spectacular View

Review submitted: July 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

We selected this house for our vacation honestly for the large dining room table with its spectacular view. It did not disappoint!
We took full advantage of all the water toys and the girls caught quite a lot of fish!
The elegantly boxed games are a great idea. The girls had a monopoly game going that lasted several days.
Your lakehouse is lovely and the location is ideal. This is the most completely outfitted kitchen that we have encountered in all of our renting.
Thanks for everything, especially you, Rob, for all the extra care you took to make sure we were comfortable.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We took full advantage of everything

Review submitted: July 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

We took full advantage of everything this wonderful place has to offer. We used the boat, kayaks, and canoe everyday. We watched movies and played the wii on the tv with the amazing picture. We played many games of twister and clue also.
The boys enjoyed having the "mancave" downstairs to themselves and the adults loved sitting out by the grill listening to music.
The lake is absolutely beautiful and so clear you can see your toes and the fish swimming under them. We loved our stay in your lakehouse and hope to return someday.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you so much for an absolutely fabulous stay!

Review submitted: July 16, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

Thank you so much for an absolutely fabulous stay! The house is beautiful and comfortable, the yard and dock are great, and we had so much fun in the lake, boating, swimming, and kayaking. All the kids loved it, and the adults got much needed rest. This is a special and peaceful spot, and we hope to return next May! We will be looking forward to it, and thank you for your exemplary hospitality! Best wishes

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for sharing your beatutiful home

Review submitted: July 16, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

Thank you for sharing your beautiful, peaceful home with us. Watching from the deck in our yard to fishing everyday, we had an amazing time with each other. We will be coming back in warmer weather so we catch more fish. The neighbors were great and we felt very at ease knowing everyone is a neighbor who comes through the community gate. Rob thanks for taking the time to bring over the new paddle boat. What a great place ot spend withe the best wife on the planet!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We will be back!

Review submitted: July 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

The house was beautiful - Not your average rental! The entire property is furnished beautifully inside and out. There were 6 in our party and we had more than enough room to do our own thing. The lake view from the dining room, kitchen and game room is fantastic. The kitchen is fully loaded and very clean. There is plenty to do with the availablity of a boat, pools and golf. We spent several evenings in the game room playing bumber pool. The kids really enjoyed the koi pond. All the bedrooms and bathrooms were very clean and comfortable. The rental process was extremely easy and resonably priced. We have rented lake houses up north that were shabby next to this place and cost a lot more. We will definately make the trip down again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

FANTASTIC VACATION SPOT!!

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

This is an ideal vacation home for 2 families. We have 2 kids (9 & 11) & rented this home with another couple that have 3 kids (10, 14, &15). The home was just as described & so clean, which is very important to us. Rob was so kind to meet & orient us to the property. He & his wife have done a super job making this home inviting & relaxing with little touches. The kitchen is completely equipted with everything from a pizza stone to a crock-pot. Everything you need is there! The livingroom furniture is very comfortable w/ a great TV, although we stayed indoors very little! We stayed busy each day using the pontoon boat, kayaks, & paddle boat (there is also a canoe available - we just ran out of time). The yard is lovely & it was such a joy to see the ducks, geese, & deer each day. After a long day of enjoying the great outdoors, the bedrooms & beds were so comfortable! Great linens & plush towels. Our children have traveled quite a bit & they voted this vacation a "10!" We look so forward to enjoying this property again. Rob & Jen - this was a fantastic investment for you to make! Thank you for your hospitality & we look forward to renting from you again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Waleska Lake Arrowhead

Review submitted: June 19, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

The property was clean and ready to use upon arrival. The children really loved seeing the deer in the yard and using the boats.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Jon! We enjoyed meeting your family. Everyone tells us they see wildlife like deer on a daily basis.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Look at no other house!

Review submitted: May 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

This is the most beautiful vacation home that we have ever stayed at. The spectacular views' start as soon as you walk in the front door. Hardwood floors, grand window's overlooking the lake with stone fireplace, accents and flat screens. The owner's ensure your needs are met with every luxury item under the sun including all cooking utensils, Weber Grill, wireless network, home computer and large washer and dryer. The house sits in a beautiful part of the lake that offers peace and serenity, large dock for fishing with the kids, kayack(s) provided and a paddle boat. The owner's will rent their rocking pontoon boat for a fair price. This is a great way to see the lake. Sitting on the deck, you will see lots of birds and wildlife. The neighbors are wonderful, helpful and very good people. This is the house.
We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Weekend getaway

Review submitted: May 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2011

Our stay at the house was great. My son caught lots of fish, and we really enjoyed the paddle boat and kayak. Rob went out of his way to take care of every detail. Thank you!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Phyllis, we enjoyed having you and your family! My wife and I are happy that your family enjoyed themselves as much as we do at our lakehouse.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review