reviews for: listing #86155 - Maalaea, Hawaii Condo rental

Wheelchair Accessible Ground Floor 2BR Makani a Kai
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $155 - $220 /nt

sort by:

Fantastic ADA accessible condo

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 13, 2014

As a travel agent specializing in accessible needs travel, it is always a little frightening when you deal directly for clients with a homeowner. But based on reviews I took a chance. Everything worked out great for my client who had accessible needs. I now plan to use this condo for all my accessible clients who want a condo in Hawaii. My client couldn't stop talking about how nice it was and how it met her needs perfectly.

Recommended for: people with disabilities

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Filthy and NOT Wheelchair Accessible

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 29, 2014

We have been coming to Hawaii for years and this was our 1st trip to Maui. Our Son is in a wheelchair so having accessible accommidation is a must for us. We checked out this condo as best we could and got a lot of info from the Owner so felt pretty good about spend a lot of money to stay here. WOW what a shock when we arrived. The pictures really don't do this place justice because what you can't see in them is the filth. I have travelled all over the world and into some 3rd world countries and this place would be a dump over there. The carpet is a 60's style shag and arrears to never have been cleaned. As with any tropical location, there are a number of bugs, which the owner can't help, but what he can do is fix the screens so they stay outside. The screens don't fit properly and have gaps around them so at night, there are more bugs in the unit than outside as they are attracted by the light. When you get up in the morning, the bugs are all gone, guess where, in the 60's shag carpet. It's alive. The few tile floors that are actually in the unit are so dirty from cob-webs, dead bugs and never having been washed, that it left us feeling sick just looking at it. The owner advertises this place as Wheelchair accessible, but it's obvious that he has no idea what that really means. The doors are too narrow for a wheelchair to get through, the Shower is all tiled, but there is so little space in the bedroom and there is a very steep ramp going into the shower area that it is very hard to wheel into. The shower head is at standard height and isn't adjustable, so if you are in a wheelchair, you can't reach it. I assume that the owner feels that putting a few hand bars on the walls, makes it accessible. Getting back to the Shag carpet, it is so thick that a person in a wheelchair will have troble wheeling though it. The complex itself is very nice and well maintaned, but unfortunatly this unit is the dog of the complex and as we were to find out, everyone who lives there, knows it. If you are looking for a unit that is complely accessible, there is one in this complex that I wish we had of rented... do more investigating to find it and don't rent this unit unless you want to live in total filth...

Owners response: This is an unfortunate review from a disgruntled guest. Although it is very clear that our unit is a NON-SMOKING unit, he insisted on smoking in the unit and had to be repeatedly spoken to by the resident manager. Apparently he had a problem with being told what to do. Please consider the source and scroll down to see other reviews that refute his claims. I’ve copied a few here but you can just scroll down to see their entire reviews.
-
Condo has a fantastic roll in shower and is full accessible. The 2 bedroom is reasonably priced for the area and the entire complex is lovely.
-
It is very hard to find such a lovely setting and it is fully accessible!
We found Jon's accessible condo to be very comfortable, well thought out and nicely appointed.
-
Handicapped accessibility was done well and everything was clean and nicely appointed.
-
The location was private, the unit impeccable.
-
Jon was extremely helpful and responsive to any request we had regarding access, or if we had any questions/concerns regarding the condo that required his attention. He made effort to ensure we were comfortable and enjoying the condo and our stay.

The condo itself is very spacious and clean. The kitchen had every item and appliance we needed to make some fabulous meals and relax and feel as if we were at home.
-
When we arrived it was a pleasure to find the condo clean and all the needs we could want
--

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Accessible Accomodations in Paradise

Review submitted: October 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 30, 2013

My stay with my family at this condo in Maui was excellent! It was a cute condo that had all the accomodations we were looking for (Roll in shower, etc). It was close to the ocean, had all the comforts of home, was centrally located, and had privacy. We loved to go to the beach right where the condo was located to enjoy the sun, the ocean, & the luxury of a non-crowded beach. We even saw sea turtles swimming in the ocean near us! The owner, Jon and his fiance were more than helpful! I really didn't want to go home! I highly recommend this property!! Hopefully we will be back soon again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect accesible condo on lovely white sand beach

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

This condo is in ideal location .Most of Maui is crowded but this stretch of beach is wonderful for walking and swimming.
Condo has a fantastic roll in shower and is full accessible.The 2 bedroom is reasonably priced for the area and the entire complex is lovely.
It is very hard to find such a lovely setting and it is fully accessible! Kitchen and second bedroom is fine.
Internet is in the condo as well as some beach equipment.
Owners are terrific

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Convenient and Accessible!

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

We found this condo to be "just right" for our family vacation on Maui. The location is central to everything we wanted to go. Handicapped accessibility was done well and everything was clean and nicely appointed. Our family went around the island primarily sightseeing (Road to Hana, Haleakala, Lahaina,)and scuba diving, In the evenings the condo location was convenient to restaurants, but nice and quiet when we came back to sleep. Friendly residents gathered most evenings around the pool as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous unit, great location

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

I stayed in this unit with my son and his family - including two toddlers. The location was private, the unit impeccable. Even though none of us use mobility aids, the wheelchair accessibility was very handy for walking two littlies into the shower.
Makani A Kai is the nicest property in Maalaea, beautifully laid out and very well maintained. The on-site manager was a dream. The grounds are perfect, and the building sparkle. And the ocean is...fabulous.
Be sure to visit the aquarium - it's just down the street.
The owner was most helpful, even suggesting where to rent cribs.
I would highly recommend this unit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay at Makani a Kai

Review submitted: March 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 21, 2013

Great location, well equipped unit, wonderful long walking beach and our boys loved the ocean being right at the end of the condominium complex. Quiet, dead end street, so very little traffic. Very private unit, as it is situated at one end of the complex. Felt safe and comfortable - friendly neighbours and accommodating owner. Loved the accessibility to the entire Island from this complex.

We all enjoyed our stay and would definately come back to this unit on a future visit to Maui.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Maui Accessible Vacation Rentals

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 7, 2013

Location was great as it was centrally located for all the activities we wanted to participate in. The condo complex is on the waterfront. It was an easy stroll for all of us to the beach. Even though there is a park near the complex it was a very quiet location.

Comfortable furnishings.

Easy owner to communicate with and helpful onsite condo manager.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a blast!

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

We really enjoyed our 2 weeks at the condo! I am quadriplegic, and everything was accessible for me, & easy for my wife. The unit has quiet & privacy, yet just steps away is the beach, pool, bar-be-cues, laundry, parking...everything was perfect! We rented an accessible van from Wheelers, & a really nice feature of this condo is that it is so centrally located. We were only a 10-30 minute drive from from just about anywhere you'd want to go...really fun going to Kihe or Lahaina, & there must be a hundred beaches to visit along the way...but good luck finding one nicer than the one right at the condo! 4 miles of paradise out the back door! And you don't have to share it with a hundred people like you do at the big resorts. We enjoyed many afternoons at the pool & beach all by ourselves. It was amazing, thank you Jon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

maui access

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 13, 2012

wonderful location and beautiful development.The central location and excellent beach was perfect.
We thought the accessible bathroom was great and this made the trip possible for our family.Our son really appreciated the bathroom and its access..The condo was somewhat dated with shag rugs and cumbersome furniture making it difficult for a wheelchair.
The location is near the parking lot but it is quiet.The kitchen needs updating.No dishwasher.
The condo is clean,the owner friendly and the other accessible condo owner outstanding.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Maalaea Condo Review

Review submitted: December 5, 2011   Date of arrival: November 17, 2011

Our son is in a power wheelchair and traveling with him is always something of an adventure. The crux for him is a decent roll-in shower with a hand-held spray head. This shower was great, with plenty of room to maneuver. Ramped vans, shower chairs, and patient lifts are all availiable on Maui though the van, in particular, is not inexpensive, This condo afforded our son ready access to the pool and beachside grassy area, which was perfect. Carpet in bedrooms and living room could be a problem for some disabled people, but was not an issue for us.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Accessible Maui Get Away

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

We found Jon's accessible condo to be very comfortable, well thought out and nicely appointed.

Jon was extremely helpful and responsive to any request we had regarding access, or if we had any questions/concerns regarding the condo that required his attention. He made effort to ensure we were comfortable and enjoying the condo and our stay.

The condo itself is very spacious and clean. The kitchen had every item and appliance we needed to make some fabulous meals and relax and feel as if we were at home.

The condo grounds are very well maintained and the view from beach area is stunning. We spent many a day just soaking up the surroundings and sun from the lawn area right next to Sugar Beach.

Hopefully we will be able to plan another trip to Maui and Makani a Kai in the near future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paraplegic aand family

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

we arrived on the 26th of December and left on the 9th of January

when we arrived it was a pleaseure to find the condo clean and all the needs we could want (rice cooker,phone, right down to toilet paper) awesome.

the stay was very good in that we had privacy and yet time to visit with the other quests and owners

access to evrything is great and I wheeled over the whole place right down to the beach.

the location of this condo is the best you will find as you have access to the whole island from this spot, you are in the middle of the island. having a vehicle is a must where ever you stay if you wish to see the whole island. You do have access to the harbour and many shops, food and tours within walking distance of the condo.

the chance to sit on the beach in front of the condo and watch the whales and sun tan is a great way to spend the day.

We enjoyed our time here and will return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 4, 2010

Our family had a fantastic stay at Jon's place in Makani A Kai. We always felt safe as our next door neighbor was the friendly building manager.

Jon's unit in particular was perfect as it provided an affordable, yet up-to-date 2 bed/2 bath accomodation. I did my research and could not find a better deal.

The area is fantastic if you don't mind wind (apparently Maalea Bay is a windier area of the island); our family loved it. Notwithstanding wind, the area is ideal because of its central location to every corner of the island; it makes for a perfect base camp.

Additionally, the beach in the area is very low key. Other areas like Napili have hoards of guests but the Maalea Bay affords a higher degree of privacy and serenity.

Thumbs way up to Jon and Ron (the building manager) for being such great hosts.

Thanks Jon!

Owners response: This traveler did visit during a windy week on Maui. Most of the year it is not a problem.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 6, 2009   Date of arrival: May 6, 2009

Please submit your comments or suggestions here. We appreciate the feedback!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review