reviews for: listing #86194 - Pacific Beach, California House rental

Amazing Ocean View Home with pool/waterslides
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $650 - $750 /nt
    $3,850 - $4,200 /wk

sort by:

Exceeded Our Expectations

Review submitted: July 25, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

We lucked out and found this gem of a home relatively late in the season. It far exceeded our expectations. It was very well equipped, containing absolutely anything you could need. There was even a large array of kids books and games in the closet. This house would be amazing for entertaining thanks to a backyard, pool, and outdoor kitchen that are unlike anything I have ever seen. When my kids first saw the backyard they declared that they were not going to leave the house for the whole week. We did however leave anyway and found that the home is in an incredibly great location. It is minutes from the I5, Seaworld, Mission Beach, La Jolla, Bel Mont Park and so much more. I could not have asked for a better spot. The home also has absolutely unbeatable views from the back yard. We watched the fireworks at Seaworld every night and the fireworks on July 4th were the best I've seen as we were able to watch 8 different shows all at the same time over the backdrop of the ocean, bay and city. I can't more strongly recommend this home as a vacation rental. The owners were great and greeted us on arrival to make sure that it all went smoothly. We hope to be back soon.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We enjoyed meeting your and your wonderful family. We look forward to your next stay. :-)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful vacation spot!!

Review submitted: June 5, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

This was a wonderful Memorial weekend get away with a group of girlfriends and the house was perfect. The pool and waterslides were amazing. I highly recommend this place for groups, family events, etc. Very fun place and great location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best vacation ever!

Review submitted: May 14, 2014   Date of arrival: May 3, 2014

This was our best family vacation yet! That's what our entire family said about this property. The pool and the spacious house was wonderful. The location in La Jolla was great. It is centrally located but not right in the middle of a busy city. Visited Sea World, San Diego Zoo, and Legoland. But we could have just enjoyed the pool and the beach close by and done none of the others. We had a few little problems (what house doesn't?) but April and Michael were speedy to take care of them. They were easily accessible for our needs and considerate of our privacy. Everything was clean and orderly. There was just about everything supplied from beach towels to children's games and furniture to cable and wifi. The kitchen was stocked well with even some spices, flour, sugar and more. It was a wonderful week of fun and relaxation and the pool, jacuzzi, water slides and bbq area were fantastic and worked out well for our family reunion with toddler and a baby included. We didn't have to go out to eat and fight the crowds with the barbeque, so quick and easy to do. The only thing missing is air conditioning. There are adequate floor fans in all the rooms but if we had visited later in the year, it would have been too hot for us. It helped that the nights cooled things down. To be fair, as I searched for a rental, though, I found that many rentals don't have air conditioning in the area. I would like to recommend to the owners that they upgrade the twin beds. They were uncomfortable and very squeeky, noisy to lay on. The other beds were nice and comfortable though. I would recommend this rental to friends and would rent again in the future if we vacation in the San Diego area again. Thank you April and Michael for helping add to our family memories!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Love hearing when families have a memorable vacation! We enjoyed meeting all of you and look forward to your next stay. Thank you so much for the feedback on the twin beds. We strive to make improvements to make it the best experience possible for our guests and can't do that without valuable feedback. We will look at replacing the twin beds before our next guests arrive. Take care. April and Michael

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Time in a Beautiful Setting

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: December 31, 2013

Our extended family of 10 rented this home for the purpose of traveling from the east coast to the area for a wedding. We had 4 wonderful days leading up to the wedding and this home offered us everything we could have for, from the lovely interior to the absolutely stunning backyard area (which is where we spent all of our time), the owners met us on arrival and immediately made us feel comfortable and welcomed.

Great experience and a place that I would recommend to anyone visiting the area!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great stay

Review submitted: January 1, 2014   Date of arrival: December 16, 2013

Great stay!! The house was very clean, updated, and had a lot of amenities for babies, toddlers and young kids. The pool was great and had a very nice view.
Definetely would come back!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you Carmen. We look forward to seeing you again on your next vacation to San Diego. Wishing you and your family a blessed 2014.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Beyond expectations

Review submitted: December 31, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

We are a family of 13 ranging in ages 7 months - grampa of plenty something, we arrived from Alberta Canada temperature of -30 C so coming to San Diego was unbeleivable. The house was exquisite the pool, hot tub, outdoor kitchen, the interior of the house was way beyond expectations. We got more than we expected, the hospitality of Mike and April was so friendly. We would go back there in a heart beat.
We returned back to Canada after 13 hrs of flying back to a snowstorm so it was quite the shock from coming back from such luxury to that.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: It was lovely having your family stay over the holiday. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. :-)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great stay!!

Review submitted: December 30, 2013   Date of arrival: December 16, 2013

It is a great house, with a marvelous pool and jacuzzi. Everything was great during our stay.
The owners are great people also!! Definetely we would return to this house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect stay in dream home for family of four

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 2, 2013

Our family of 4 from Wisconsin felt so at home here (with a room to spare). The house and yard is better than the pictures. Very clean and comfortable. The pool and backyard are amazing. The owners were helpful in providing recommendations before and during our stay. Loved taking a quick swim in the morning and soaking in the hot tub in the evening. Very easy access to downtown San Diego and the cute beach towns along the coast. We liked just hanging at the house but did get to the zoo, La Jolla Shores for surf lessons at Surf Diva, and the highlight of our trip was getting married on the beach. So much fun to be "LEGALLY married" after 13 years together!. Thank you California for supporting same-sex marriage. We would definitely (and probably will) stay here again--and next time, wind willing, we will also get to parasail at Torrey Pines.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was wonderful having your family stay at our vacation home and celebrate such a special occasion. We look forward to seeing you on your next San Diego vacation.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful resort style home in a picturesque city!!

Review submitted: July 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 24, 2013

Our stay at this property was superb. Our family chose this beautiful area to celebrate my parents 50 wedding anniversary and enjoy some R&R. This house has all of the amenities imaginable and was fully equipped with everything you could possibly need; it has spacious living areas inside and out, fully equipped kitchen, outdoor kitchen with a separate wine/drink fridge, jacuzzi overlooking the pool, and the most amazing pool, which has impressive water falls and slides (which were enjoyed by the kids and adults alike, including my 79 yr. old father!!), it also has a hidden sitting area on the very top where you could enjoy beautiful views of the ocean and the pool below. Luckily for us we were here at a time when Sea World had a fire works show every night, which was an awesome bonus to be able to enjoy it from the top of the water fall. This home is centrally located to La Jolla and San Diego which provides convenient routes to many attractions, April and Michael Solis have taken the time to assemble tourist informational pamphlets/maps/guides, which helped us create a very enjoyable and varied itinerary (I recommend the following to name a few; Sea World, San Diego Zoo, San Diego Maritime Museum where you can also take a boat ride thru the San Diego Bay, Drive to Coronado Island and have some ice cream at the Hotel Del Coronado, La Jolla - Children's Pool, where you can also snorkel and go kayaking, Venture thru Old Town San Diego which has good mexican restaurants, and Seaport Village, and don't forget the Gaslamp Quarter) This house far exceeded our expectations, its very well maintained, beautifully decorated, extremely clean and in a very safe neighborhood (we slept with our windows open), The Solis, are very responsive and attentive. I would highly recommend this home to anyone who wants to have a fabulous vacation. Thank you Solis Family for having such a beautiful home for us to enjoy!!! We plan on coming back very soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise - home away from home!

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

My family and I went to San Diego for my brothers wedding and stayed 10 days at this home! Upon arrival, we were met by April and given a thorough overview of the home. All I can say is it was nothing short of paradise! We couldn't have dreamed of a better overall experience. Centrally located we had access to everything SoCal has to offer. The only problem was we didn't want to leave the house! Begininng with the beautiful landscape, pool, jacuzzi and views, we felt like kings and queens! I've rented vacation homes on vrbo before and haven't been let down yet but this by far was the best choice! Every and anything we could possibly need was provided by April and Michael. If you have any question or concerns, please don't hesitate to book this property. Hard to believe but the pictures really don't do the home justice- breathtaking is all I can say from top to bottom. No amenity was forgotten and we needed only to enjoy our vacation in the lap of luxury! We all agreed we will never stay in a hotel again! April and Michael, thank you on behalf of my family for delivering one of our best vacations yet. We will be back no question about it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Pacific NW - Sunshine seeker

Review submitted: May 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 25, 2013

This house was everything it was described to be and more. April was a fantastic owner and so helpful and respectful of privacy. She even had a welcome package for our group's special event... such a gracious host! On top of the warm receiving, the house was beautiful, spotless, and well equipped with all our weekend needs (towels, pool toys, DVD player, views, BBQ, heated spa, etc.). It felt like walking into a vacation with a nice California breeze blowing through the modern, clean, and elegant rooms... and the view!!! Grocery stores were about 5 minutes away, and we pretty much had everything we needed to have the most enjoyable weekend of 2013 so far!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Unique place like having a resort all to yourself!

Review submitted: April 26, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

I was attracted by the waterfall/pool in the backyard and boy was I not disappointed. This is a little private gem and worth every penny. The owners have done an awesome job creating a little magic back of their home. Thanks for the wonderful memories of my time spent here. We'll have to spend more than few days next time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Family Vacation

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: April 7, 2013

We just returned from a fantastic week in San Diego. We had three generations together and this house fit us all to perfection. What you see in the photos is very accurate but somehow the place is so much more! Our grandsons are 11 and 12 years old and they absolutely loved the pool, slides and hot tub. Everywhere we went they couldn't wait to get home to swim!

We had four adult children from Dallas and Chicago all in need of a restful vacation from their hectic lives in big cities and this hit the spot with each and every one. The recent addition of and outdoor cooking area was wonderful as we cooked most nights and just enjoyed each other and our surroundings.

The owners are such lovely young people. Very helpful before and during our stay.
The family we all wish we could have as neighbors. My husband and I have rented homes on line several times prior to this trip and this one definitely ranks at the top.

What else can I say. Lovely home, lovely family, beautiful part of the country. If you ever get the chance take advantage of it, you won't be disappointed.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for the compliments. I especially like the "young people" part. lol! We enjoyed meeting your family and we look forward to seeing you on your next San Diego vacation.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 14, 2013

This is a wonderful home for a family vacation. The pictures do not do it justice. The back yard was much more than we expected, great to keep the kids busy. Everything was very clean, all our needs were met and everything well stocked. The house is very roomy so we never felt crowded, even when we had friends over. It is also in a very quiet neighborhood, but located within just a few minutes drive of the beach, Seaword and the Zoo. We really enjoyed our stay here and will rent this property again if we get the opportunity.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

It Was Almost Like Fantasy Island!

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

Pool was amazing!!! April & Michael went to great expense to create this MIRAGE! We had so much fun!!! The waterfall & slides are amazing!!! The whole family (11 of us), from 6-71, had a fantastic time! Because of favorable scheduling, April was able to go out of her way to open the house to us a couple of hours early, to accommodate our early arrival in San Diego. The pool, as promised, was heated to 85! In March - 60-70 degree temps, it was great! With their latest technology, you control waterfalls, slides, pool and plant & rock formation lighting, etc. Even Dad & Great Uncle spent 5 hrs. in the pool with little ones, while the ladies went to the wine country in Temecula (Fabulous!). Their newly added & covered super grill/burner/frig/counter area with bar seating for 8 people, was the best! Barbecue's were great! Frig held food & drinks for 11 people. Quite convenient, when it was time to put out all of the food! The beds were EXTREMELY comfortable, washer & dryer worked great, big living room/family room (Great Room Area). With a couple of chairs from the patio, we easily sat 11 people in the dining room & had some great family gatherings. Did find a couple of things that we needed, and on contacting April, she was over in no time at all, providing what we needed. She obviously took our expectations & needs as her #1 priority. She truly cared about our experience! If you can pull yourself away from the house, there's Disney, Universal, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, The Beach (you are about 15 minutes from Pacific Beach & probably 30 minutes from Coronado & Silver Strand Beaches - THE BEST!), Kayaking, Whale Watches, Dolphins, Snorkeling, The Wine Country, Trolley Tours, Great Shopping (La Jolla is very close), Great Restaurants, and on, and on, and on. YOU ARE THERE!!! They even thought of those little extra things for the kids, like sidewalk chalks, bubbles, videos, games, toys, etc! LOTS to do! A week is surely not even close, to enough time, to do all! The past year, has been a very personally trying time for our family; and we want to thank April & Michael for being on top of things, to make it a fabulous & memorable vacation for us! We definitely would recommend this home for your next very special vacation & we definitely plan on coming back here on our next trip to San Diego!

Susan, Mike, Kim, Ryan, Gail, Carol, Amanda, Anthony, Ambrielle, Alexa, & Braedon

Owners response: It was pleasure meeting your family. I'm glad you mentioned all of those attractions. Not everyone knows that we have wine country so close by or whale watching, etc. I just updated our brochures in the house this week and put some of those attractions you mentioned. We hope to see you on your next vacation to San Diego. April and Michael

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

It's Almost Like Your Own Private Fantasy Island!

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

Pool was amazing!!! April & Michael went to great expense to create this MIRAGE! We had so much fun!!! The waterfall & slides are amazing!!! The whole family (11 of us), from 6-71, had a fantastic time! Because of favorable scheduling, April was able to go out of her way to open the house to us a couple of hours early, to accommodate our early arrival in San Diego. The pool, as promised, was heated to 85! In March - 60-70 degree temps, it was great! With their latest technology, you control waterfalls, slides, pool and plant & rock formation lighting, etc. Even Dad & Great Uncle spent 5 hrs. in the pool with little ones, while the ladies went to the wine country in Temecula (Fabulous!). Their newly added & covered super grill/burner/frig/counter area with bar seating for 8 people, was the best! Barbecue's were great! Frig held food & drinks for 11 people. Quite convenient, when it was time to put out all of the food! The beds were EXTREMELY comfortable, washer & dryer worked great, big living room/family room (Great Room Area). With a couple of chairs from the patio, we easily sat 11 people in the dining room & had some great family gatherings. Did find a couple of things that we needed, and on contacting April, she was over in no time at all, providing what we needed. She obviously took our expectations & needs as her #1 priority. She truly cared about our experience! If you can pull yourself away from the house, there's Disney, Universal, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, The Beach (you are about 15 minutes from Pacific Beach & probably 30 minutes from Coronado & Silver Strand Beaches - THE BEST!), Kayaking, Whale Watches, Dolphins, Snorkeling, The Wine Country, Trolley Tours, Great Shopping (La Jolla is very close), Great Restaurants, and on, and on, and on. YOU ARE THERE!!! They even thought of those little extra things for the kids, like sidewalk chalks, bubbles, videos, games, toys, etc! LOTS to do! A week is surely not even close, to enough time, to do all! The past year, has been a very personally trying time for our family; and we want to thank April & Michael for being on top of things, to make it a fabulous & memorable vacation for us! We definitely would recommend this home for your next very special vacation & we definitely plan on coming back here on our next trip to San Diego!

Susan, Mike, Kim, Ryan, Gail, Carol, Amanda, Anthony, Ambrielle, Alexa, & Braedon

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house was terrific!

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 14, 2013

We have had a great time here in San Diego. All the way from Ontario, Canada. It was great to leave behind the snow and cold, and enjoy your sunshine. The house was terrific! The pool & hot tub were a BIG HIT! The kids were always ready to leave the zoo, Legoland, or whatever to head back to THE POOL! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed our stay-cation!

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 15, 2012

Thank you for allowing us to rent your Beautiful & Fun house! We live in San Diego but felt miles away and truly enjoyed our stay-cation. :-)

Also thank you so much Solis Family for being flexible with our schedule, we truly appreciate it. Your little La Jolla escape was exactly what we needed after going through a 9 month deployment! Also we have decided when we buy our next house your husband HAS to design our pool. Thank you again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Can't get enough of the beautiful view!

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

We 3 families came together to attend a wedding. One from Jacksonville, Florida, one from Fargo, ND and one from Vergas, MN. We were fortunate enough to find this beautiful house w/view and fabulous water park. What a find. We were able to spend time together, come and go as we liked and a washer & dryer. What more could we ask. We'll certainly tell others about our stay here. Hopefully we can do this again. Can't get enough of the beautiful view!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We'll Be Back!

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

Our family visited from Williston, N.D.. We absolutely loved our stay in your home. We were so excited that we did not have to be in a hotel room! We enjoyed the pool & water slides (of course). But we also enjoyed having all of the luxuries of home- a kitchen, BBQ grill, blankets, washer/dryer, cable, off street parking, etc.

We were very busy each day until late afternoon/early evening & it was so cool to "go home" for the evening & get a good night's sleep each night.

we can't wait to visit your city again. "We'll be back!" Bless you and Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

DO NOT RENT THIS HOUSE

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

In the past, I have rented 5 homes in 5 different states (Fla, Maine, NY, Hawaii and California) they have all been great experiences. This by FAR WAS THE WORST. This was definitely not a "luxury rental" that the owners advertised. The owners recently added on a jacuzzi to the pool area and had some other work done which has caused structural problems in the home. When we were there we faced:
1.Plumbing issues-the toilets clogged repeatedly-I was not expecting to have to plunge toilets while still paying for a "luxury rental". Our last day there, both first floor toilets overflowed. None of the showers provided adequate water pressure or heat.
2. Electrical issues-one night our children were in the pool and all the lights in the pool and the house went out. The owner asked us to go to the circuit box and flip the switch-the circuit box (located behind the garbage) was clearly over run and was hot to the touch. Michael (the owner's husband) did try to come out and address this issue-but these structural problems were beyond his control. Needless to say, we did not let the children use the pool after this!
3.All the kitchen appliances were faulty and outdated. The stove had only one functional burner for our stay. The toaster oven never worked. The kitchen was one of the main reasons we rented this home.
4.The linens were soiled and the beds/pillows were very uncomfortable.
5.The house was advertised as having elderly/disabled accommodations-of which it had none. This was also one of the reasons we rented this home as one member of our party is elderly and disabled.
Michael tried to understand our point of view and tried to solve some of our issues, but they were out of his control. April, on the other hand, was argumentative and defensive and her response really ruined our vacation. We did ask for a refund but she ignored our request completely. Do not believe what she says in her rebuttal, as you can see she has responded to everyone's comments with a defense-it is just her personality to be defensive. All in all a very disappointing experience-don't make the same mistake with your family!

Owners response: We welcome suggestions and depend on input from our guests for improvements, but we
don't feel this is valid feedback. We'll let the review from the guests who left just prior to this guest's arrival and previous reviews speak for us. Most of the appliances and linens are less than 4 months old. When we do find something isn't working we immediately fix or replace it. We are in a water conserving area so the homes and hotels have low flow toilets and showers, but we have never had complaints or had anyone overflow the toilet. The only valid
point is the fuse did trip on the 5th night of their 7 night stay.
They were very angry and wanted their money back. My wife emailed a friend who manages 40
vacation rentals in the area and found 2 other comparable rentals
nearby by 630am the next morning. We arranged with the property
manager to pay for it ourselves and help them
transfer their belongings. They wouldn't look at the links to the
houses or consider leaving. Instead they made treats of what
they would do if we didn't give them a refund in cash. We sent
an electrician who could not find anything wrong and assured them that the house & pool were safe. During the
conversation with the person making the threats my wife discovered it
wasn't Yumna, the person who rented the house, but one of the unauthorized people
above the 8 people on the agreement who had been staying at the home.
This person was the one we checked in and had been implying that she
was the renter during the stay. Yumna wasn't there when we met at the house at
the agreed time at checkout & that's why my wife stopped
conversation with them. We advertise as wheel chair accessible under the
guidelines by home away, but we do not advertise as having
accommodations such as a handicapped shower or hand rails. The only
request made by Yumna was a noon check in at no additional charge
because an elderly person in their group would need to rest after the
long flight from New York. We accommodated her request. We have met some wonderful people
through renting our home and never had any issues prior to this. Unfortunately due to this experience we will have to ask for ID and a credit card at check in. We hope our future guests understand.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An excellent spot

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 7, 2013

We had a great family vacation in San Diego, largely due to the great accommodation. The location on Mt. Soledad was great for views and biking. The interior was clean and spacious allowing for our family (parents + 4 kids) and grandparents (2) to sleep and live comfortably for the week. The exterior was a highlight - great BBQ grill and pool. The kids enjoyed every minute in the water (heated to be used comfortably in March). April and Michael were accessible and helpful for any needed help. We look forward to returning.

Owners response: We enjoy renting out our home especially when we get to meet such nice families like yours. We look forward to your next visit!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Kisskeys Stay

Review submitted: January 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2013

April and Michael -

Thank you so much for sharing your home with us. You have a beautiful state and an even more beautiful house. We are absolutely in love with your pool and the rocks, slide, mini-sitting area on top, waterfall, and shower are incredible! Just what a group of Minnesotans needed. :) We appreciate you providing the pack-n-play as well as having booster seats - so helpful when traveling with little kids. You really had everything we needed.

We made some great memories and hope to return in the future! Thank you again and cheers to a great 2013!

The Kisskeys

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect location

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2012

This house was Perfect! The location was great... close to the beach yet private and quiet. It was nice waking up to our own private pool and views of the ocean and bays. The layout was very spacious and comfortable. The kitchen was very well stocked and everything was clean and well kept. We could tell the owners take pride in their property and were very pleasant to deal with. I highly recommend staying here and will definitely do so again during our next San Diego trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Family Holiday

Review submitted: September 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

What can I say!
We are a family of eight from the UK ranging in age from 15 to 80. The house, views, accommodation, location and particularly the pool were exceptional.
We toured California using the house as a base, visiting Disneyland, Universal Studios, San Diego Zoo and San Diego restaurants, shops etc.
The pool provided a relaxing and fun way to spend alternate days just chilling out with a barbecue and beer.
There are shops and restaurants within five minutes drive of the house and the easy access to freeways gave my shopaholic kids plenty of opportunities to visit designer outlets!
The owners were available for advice and I would recommend the house to all ages for a fun, relaxing and comfortable stay.
If we come back to San Diego (and I hope we do) this is where we will stay.

Owners response: Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on adding as much as we can to the enjoyment of your vacation experience. Glad to see you made the most of your trip and we hope you come back to visit again soon

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Girl's Weekend Fun!

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

My girlfriends and I were excited to have a night to get together, cook and talk in a way we haven't been able in many years (since careers and families have come). We loved the house, especially the pool and the deck. We were comfortable and able to make delicious meals, and we had exactly the experience we were hoping for. Everyone was helpful and the house was perfect. Our only regret was that it was only one night.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic house!

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

I recently stayed in this lovely house with my parents, husband and 4 year old son. I'm not sure which if the 'boys' enjoyed the waterslides in the pool most! The house was ideally placed for seaworld, gaslamp, the zoo and La Jolla beaches, but we were always keen to come back to enjoy the pool.

The view of the 4th July fireworks made our trip, but the 'normal' nightly ones from seaworld were pretty amazing too. The viewing terrace at the top of the waterslides is perfect.

Many thanks to April & Michael for their excellent recommendations for restuarants & golf courses, and for attending to the loss of tv so quickly (my husband had pulled the cable out!!). The interior of the house was very well finished and stocked with everyday essentials such as laundry/dishwasher tabs/herbs etc.

We had a wonderful time and would like to thank you very much for sharing your lovely house with us!

Rachel Targett & family xx

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent

Review submitted: July 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

Great Holiday home, My Party of 10 enjoyed every inch of this wonderful holiday home. The swimming pool was great especially the water slides and the impressive waterfall really did make the place look that bit more spectacular. We watched the fireworks from Sea World from the viewing point in the evenings and made the most of the awesome views across the San Diego bay day and night. You will need to hire cars because San Diego beaches/shops is a 5 minute drive but well worth it.

San Diego is one of the nicest places I have ever been to and the holiday home really did make our stay that much more comfortable and enjoyable. We made use of the BBQ and the well equipped Kitchen most evenings, we were very sad to leave this home as it started to feel like our own. We were fortunate enough to meet the Solis family who were very accommodating and friendly people, easy to contact and always followed up on any queries/questions we had during our stay.

On arrival we found a welcome folder on the table, the folder consisted of information on the house, i.e. how the showers work, rules and advice on how to maintain the swimming pool and when the bins need to go out etc. Towards the back of the folder there is a list of places to see whilst staying in San Diego and Restaurants to go to etc. We tried to get to all of the places but sadly ran out of time. I’m speaking on behalf of my group when I say we really couldn't ask for anything more the Solis Holiday home is one I would recommend to anyone and everyone. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to stay again in the near distant future.

Many Thanks

J. Crouch

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Amazing Holiday Home.

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

Great Holiday,

I have just returned back to the UK after spending a week at this San Diego Holiday home and i must say it was wonderful.

The Location was lovely (Hire car or own transport needed)

The Accommodation was superb...

There was 10 of us staying at the house and we had plenty of room inside and outside of the holiday home.
We used the swimming pool every day without fail, the water slides were excellent and the pool was always at a good temperature and beautiful. The viewing point at the top of the pool structure is breath taking. We all gathered to watch the fire works from Sea World most evenings. We made good use of the BBQ and relaxed around the poolside. The info pack when we arrived was very helpful and we tried to see everything the Solis family advised us to do. San Diego is beautiful and i would love to visit again. I would certainly use this home again as this home provided everything we needed to enjoy our stay.

This Holiday home really did tick all the boxes and April and Michael were very quick to respond to any questions/queries we had. We had the pleasure in meeting both of them and the kids during our stay and what a lovely family they are. Helpful, Honest and Accommodating.

Great Holiday home, We were all very sad when we left for the airport.

Many Thanks to the Solis family on making our visit to San Diego a successful one and we would all recommend staying here.

Thanks again.
Jonathon Crouch

Owners response: Thank you for your review. We try to accomodate our guests' stay to make it a memorable vacation experience. Your group was so kind and we hope to see you all again in the future.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Awesome Home

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 16, 2012

The property was great. It was very clean and comfortable. The owners were very nice and helpful. My four grandkids, ranging in age from 3-7, had a great time. There were alot of toys for them to play with, both in the house and outside in the pool. The grandkids were a little small for the water slides but my two adult sons loved it. The pool is heated and a few of the days were overcast and the pool was great. The location was close to all the restaurants, beach, grocery stores, etc. The kitchen could of used more glasses, plates and smaller pans but it was stocked with all the other cooking items. I would definitely recommend this house for families. If I would ever return to San Diego, I will definitely rent this house again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Debbie,
We enjoyed having your family stay at our vacation home. You are the perfect guests for us and we welcome your return visit anytime. Take care. The Solis Familiy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House!

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

We recently stayed at this property for 8 nights. The home was acurately portrayed on the website with the pictures and description. The pool was amazing and every bit a cool as the photos! The home was very comfortable and well equipt with everything we needed during our stay. My only suggestion is to upgrade the pillows in a couple of the bedrooms.

The homeowner was great to work with. She was very responsive and helpful with any questions or requests. She even sent us coupon for half off at the local amusement park. If we come back to the area we will definitely try to book this home again.

Sincerely,

The Forsters

Owners response: Thank you for your comments. We enjoyed having your family at our vacation home and we look forward to your next stay. We will look to upgrade the ones that are not synthedic down. I like them better than the firm ones too. We appreciate your suggestion. Sincerely, Michael and April

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Spring Break San Diego Style for Family of Four

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

This house is in a really convenient location to all that greater San Diego has to offer and has spectacular views. The backyard, private waterpark playground is to die for. It's the number one reason to rent the house.

We have rented and stayed at more than 6 vrbo homes and have had great expereinces in the past. This was no exception, although it did not live up to expectations. Broken faucets, hot water that didn't work, heat that was turned off, kitchen pots and pans not up to snuff to cook in, etc. However - the owners went out of their way to right all the wrongs within hours of my emailign them. But when you pay so much per night for a house, you expect to check into somethgin that doesn't cause you panic that the week is going to be dreadful.

The next day held the biggest surprise. A pool that was so cloudy that when the pool maintenance guys showed up for servcice (and we were already in the pool) - they declared it unsanitary and gave us instructions on how to treat it with massive amounts of clorine over two days. Once the cloudiness dissipated, we found beer cans and cups at the bottom of the pool. I found this unacceptable since we paid so darn much for the house due to the lovely pool. The owners were apologetic and I hope that they can come up with a better maintenace scheduel in the future.

I will say that they offered us a refund (half the daily rate) for our troubles - which was very nice. And to be fair they can't know how badly some renters will treat their house (I'd have been livid if I were the owners - and I bet they were). At the same time, I hope they implement better cleaning and maintenance checklists to assure all new arrivals that the house is as advertised.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We appreciate our guests' feedback & take it very seriously as we want our guests to have nothing but the best experience. We have a very good house keeping service, pool cleaning company & gardeners, & I check the house myself between rentals to make sure our standards are met. This was the first time we've had a guest complain about the condition of the house. We open the cupboards to check for cleanliness & that everything is accounted for but we missed noticing that one of the pans wasn't up to par. It looked like the previous guest burned something in a pan & had trouble cleaning it so they hid it under a large pot. I would like to clarify that it was not all the pots & pans. The guest suggested we provide non-stick pans so I immediately went out and purchased a set of non-stick pans for her & brought the Cusinart pan to our home to clean. She had a point that some guests might not be familiar with cooking & cleaning in stainless steel pans. The water & heat in the house were not broken. I received an email from the guest that the heat wasn't working so I immediately went to check it out & it seemed to work fine. I called our electrician just to make sure & was told it was fine. When we told her this she said she never turned on the switch because she thought we should have done it for her, so we paid an electrician to come out for no reason. She sent an email stating the hot water was not working. My husband went to the house to show her how to use the shower controls & one was turned too many times to the left. He turned it to the right a couple times to tighten it. We are going to put additional instruction on operating the showers in our "house manual" as these new energy efficient shower heads can be confusing. We heat the pool to 85 degrees & that requires extra chlorine. When we have back to back guests its common for our pool service company to leave extra gallons of chlorine to put in during the week. I was shocked about her statement that it was "unsanitary" as I checked the pool the day she checked in. The pool company said they just told her that the chlorine levels were low so additional gallons should be added the following day, but it was safe to swim. This family experienced a family emergency & had to fly home two days early. We felt bad & offered to refund them $300 & a credit towards future stay. The guest replied that she wanted $500. We try to make all of our guest happy, but obviously fell short with this guest.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We absolutely loved our stay!

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 14, 2012

Our family visited from Williston, N.D.. We absolutely loved our stay in your home. We were so excited that we did not have to be in a hotel room! We enjoyed the pool & water slides (of course!). But we also enjoyed having all the luxuries of home - a kitchen, BBQ grill, blankets, washer/dryer, cable, off-street parking, etc. We were very busy each day until late afternoon/early evening & it was so cool to "go home" for the evening & get a good night's sleep each night. We can't wait to visit your city again. We'll be back! Bless You & Thank You!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Impressed

Review submitted: November 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 3, 2011

This house was a amazing vacation rental. I've never seen a pool like this one before. Double water slides with a view from the top and sitting area. The kids loved it. It has a great view of San Diego beaches and there was fireworks from Sea World which was really nice. Very clean and modern looking house. The owner was very nice and attentive on responding to my questions. There are tons of shopping areas nearby. Garnet Ave is a huge attraction area with so many different stores and restaurants you can find anything you need right down the street. If you are looking for a vacation rental I definitely recommend this one. I hope to use this one again in the future.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Who needed La Jolla when we had this place!

Review submitted: November 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

We rented this wonderful house from this cute couple and planned to visit our family in La Jolla. Well we ended up having dinner at our place and swimming almost every day! What a gorgeous house. It was super clean when we arrrived which is huge for me....but it was so well maintained as well. We have rented other houses on Homeaway and none have compared to this beautiful place! We are coming back for sure.

Owners response: Thank you! We enjoyed having your family at our vacation home and we look forward to seeing all of you again. The Solis Family

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful home...super cleans and really fun!

Review submitted: August 20, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

We enjoyed this vacation home so much. Right when we walked in, I just knew we were going love it! The house was very clean, well maintained and very comfortable. We have 3 small children and when we vacation I have a very high expectation...and we don't like to worry about our children making messes. We felt completely comfortable the whole time. This house was so cozy, clean and kid friendly...we dreaded leaving. It's all our kids have talked about since we left.
The owner was so kind and helpful, she even has a guest book at the house with all her favorite restuarant suggestions, things to do in town....it was a great guide in answering our questions. Her booking process was very simple...not complicated with alot of rules and busy paper work.
The beds were all very comfortable and the kitchen was fully stocked. Now..... that's just the inside of the house---outside, they have the most beautifully landscaped backyard and pool. All the lush palmtrees and plants, felt like a resort. The water slide was a hit with my older son... We enjoyed hanging out at the house so much it was the perfect vacation rental. We really want to come back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed having your beautiful family stay at our vacation home and hope you come back to San Diego next summer and stay again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful, large home adn great location

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

We stayed at this home with my husband and six other adult family members. The owners didn’t want to rent it yet because they wanted to make additional upgrades, but we were in town for a wedding so they made it work for us. We really appreciated it and didn’t see the need for additional upgrades as it was terrific the way it was. The house is very large and ideal for a family to spread out or gather together. We hosted a dinner for other family members who were in town for the wedding and had no problem accommodating more people for a back yard bbq. The owner met us at the house to make sure we knew how to run the water slides and showed us around the house so there was no guessing as to where to find things. We had several wonderful unexpected surprises like a basket with some of the local fruits/vegetables and wine so we could relax and enjoy ourselves after the long flight. They thought of everything! The pool was fantastic and the water was very warm even at night. The yard and deck are also very nice and the views are “amazing”. We were very impressed with the comfort and quality of the linens. Everything seemed fresh and new. I also loved that we could be inside the house cooking or hanging out but watch out to the pool through all of the windows so the cooks didn’t feel like they were missing out on the outside conversations and fun by the pool. The owners were easy to reach and lovely to deal with from the beginning. They provided information on good restaurants and attractions to see during our stay. I would recommend Beaumont’s for dinner. The food and live music was a great experience. I would highly recommend this rental to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

This property was much better than we expected. Setting up the rental was easy and the owners were very responsive to our questions both by email and by phone. The house looked much better in person than on the website. It was apparent in every detail that the owners take pride in the appearance of the house and the comfort of their guests. We felt like we were staying at a 5 star retreat. The back yard was beautiful and provided unlimited entertainment for the children as well as the adults. We planned to go to Sea World the day after arriving and the kids wanted to stay and swim instead, which was more than fine with the adults. It was quite spacious for our family of ten, six adults and four kids. The location was easily accessible. We were close to the beach but didn't have to deal with the beach traffic, noise and parking. The house is located in a very nice and quiet neighborhood. The kitchen is well stocked with essentially any piece of equipment you'd need to cook a meal. Our family vacations together every year and we plan on coming back again. We would recommend this property to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review