reviews for: listing #86200 - Amelia Island, Florida Condo rental

Oceanfront on Amelia Island
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Amelia South
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $250 /nt
    $1,025 - $1,500 /wk
    $2,075 - $2,250 /mth

sort by:

Great week

Review submitted: September 20, 2013   Date of arrival: September 3, 2013

I've stayed on Amelia Island during the summer for years, and at this condo complex many times. This was my first visit to this rental. The unit is exactly as described, it's delightful. The owner provides excellent communication and is very easy to deal with. Im would stay here again and recommend you do also!

Owners response: Thank you! I am so glad you enjoyed my condo, especially after staying in other units in the same complex.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding!

Review submitted: June 16, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

My family rented this beautiful condo for a week and our stay was wonderful. The condo is located on the second floor which is easy access with or without the elevator. The furnishing are comfortable and updated, but the most outstanding part of our stay was Pam. Pam was helpful, gracious, and pleasure to work with. We love the condo so much we are buying one. Pam is a local realtor and has gone over and beyond in helping us with the purchase. I would recommend this condo for all the reasons above and it's location. You can walk across the street to a local restaurant for lunch, dinner or an afternoon cocktail. If you venture into town there are some great places to eat and drink. Our 25 year old sons where with us and they went out one night and used Affordable Taxi Service for transportation, the cost was only $20.00 to the condo. Priceless! The building was one of the first condo buildings on the island. I found the building maintenance to be very good. You can not go wrong choosing the is unit. Wishing you a wonderful vacation!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you! You two are great and I am so thrilled you liked it so much you decided to buy a unit. Yours is gorgeous and will be a great vacation spot, too. See you here next week!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great condo

Review submitted: May 26, 2014   Date of arrival: May 17, 2014

What a great place! Very clean and spacious. It had everything you could need. The kitchen and master bath remodel are great. We really did see dolphins from the deck-twice! The owner is great to work with. Responds immediately to requests. Hope to go here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and what a treat to see Dolphin! On rare occasions in the Winter Right Whales can be seen.
Glad you like the new bathroom. Thank you and come again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Not quite as good as I'd expected from the pictures and previous reviews.

Review submitted: October 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2013

This was my first time using VRBO, and my first visit Amelia Island.
I chose this condo because, from the pictures, the decor looked much nicer than other units offered in the same building.
The owner was great to work with - very responsive and answered all questions promptly.

I felt that the previous 5-star reviews were slightly misleading. This condo is kind of like me - many good qualities, but tired and in need of a face lift!

So I'm writing this review to try and give a more accurate description of both the good and not-so-great things about this condo.

I would actually rate it 3 1/2 stars if that were possible.


The biggest disappointment was the shag carpet. I assume it is original to the building, from 1974. I was happy I brought slippers and flip-flops.

Some wallpaper is peeling, there is some mold around bathtub. The dining room chairs are literally coming apart. The bathroom cabinets also date to the 70s. The master bath has "popcorn" walls.

The kitchen is nice and has been updated; stocked with more than enough items.
The living room furniture is newer and nice.
The master bedroom king size mattress was VERY comfortable.

The location and view are both very good. The balcony is large and peaceful, not too close to the pool, with a clear view of the ocean from the second floor. Some wood molding has broken off the storage door on the balcony, but the balcony furniture is in decent shape.

I found the washing maching, but could not find a dryer - maybe it was behind one of the two locked doors. Not a big deal, but would have been nice, especially if I'd stayed longer.

We only stayed 4 nights. I might shop around some more before my next Amelia visit, and I'll certainly take VRBO desciptions with a grain of salt.
Again, this owner is great to work with and hopefully will make some nice updates.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: I know opinions are subjective, but you made some good points. I am sorry you were less than satisfied with the condo and I wanted to address some of your concerns. The carpet is actually Frieze rather than Shag and is only about 5 years old (this is the third carpet I have had in the condo) and gets cleaned several times a year. Once the Condo Board approves the new sound proof wood-look vinyl I may install that surface. The bathroom tile is original and there is some mildew inside of the grout and no amount of bleach seems to get it out. The walls are not popcorn, but are a finish the previous owner put in. The master bath is slated for a complete remodel in November. The second bath does have small piece of wallpaper that is peeling and I will glue that down until I am able to redo that bath. Regarding the dining room chairs, you are right the weaving is coming undone on 3 of them. I love that set and want to keep it and have not yet found a way to restring them. They are safe to sit on, however. Thank you for the reminder that I need to finish that storage door on the porch! The whole storage area was taken down when the deck was redone and when they put the door back they jammed it in and I had to rip it out and that tore the trim on the side of the door. One of those things I just did not get around to taking care of. Since I have a full size washer and dryer they are in separate closets. The dryer is in the hall closet and you have to turn the knob to the left to open, rather than the right. I wish you had called so I could have addressed that for you. I try to be available to help in any way I can. I am glad you found some things satisfactory and ultimately enjoyed your stay. Amelia Island is a great place and I hope you return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Stay

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Great property and I highly recommend a stay here. This property had a beautiful view of the Ocean. The cabinets were well stocked with everything you need for a pleasant stay. The washer and dryer was a great benefit to help you pack light if need be. In a great location for places to eat, etc. The pool was a great added benefit. Would stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your satisfaction!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amelia South

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: May 22, 2013

We had a wonderful trip at the end of May and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the condominium. The unit was well cared for a d had all of the items that we needed for an enjoyable stay. The ocean view from the balcony was great and the weather was just about perfect for the entire stay. We enjoyed the shopping and restaurants in the area and hope to return another great visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to get out and enjoy the beautiful area. Did you go to Fort Clinch State Park? That is a real treat. Also, thank you for taking the time to write a review.
All the best , Pam

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amelia Island Oceanfront Visit

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 18, 2013

Nice property, terrific location.

Newly updated kitchen, two bedrooms, two baths.

Owner is accomodating to requests as we planned to arrive late so she had lights on in the unit. Further, she provided several restaurant recommendations as the owner lives on Amelia Island.

Owners response: I am so glad you had a good stay and enjoyed the condo. We do have some terrific restaurants around here! Thanks, Pam

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Stay at Amelia South

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2012

We had a great experience and thoroughly enjoyed our trip. The owner was a dream to work with, the property was clean and well maintained,had a washer and dryer in the unit, a lovely balcony with a view of the beach and even books and games. The kitchen is well stocked with pot/pans and utensils so you can enjoy a family meal as well as all the great restaurants that are nearby. My husband, myself and our 8 year old daughter were joined by my in laws and we had plenty of room and didn't feel as if we were in a hotel.We enjoyed the shops in downtown and eating out.Sliders and Baxters were especially good. I would highly recommend this property if you are looking for a relaxing vacation at the beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your satisfaction. I am thinking of adding some DVD's in addition to the books and games that are there, so glad to hear you enjoyed those items. Thank you!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We had a great time!

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

From the moment we got to the condo we were impressed. This condo was located in a great spot on the beach and also within the complex. We would stay here again.In fact, We didn't want to leave. The dining in this area is the best on the Atlantic coast. Management at the condo was very helpful and nice. Pam was easily reached for any questions. There were a few things that needed to be fixed in the condo like one cabinet door was broken in the kitchen and the CD player didn't work.The large balcony was a dream.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at my condo and the ultimate compliment is to want to come back, thank you! My apologies about the cabinet - I got swamped at work and just plain FORGOT to come by and fix it. I am usually on top of any needed repairs. I didn't know about the CD player but will check that out. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We loved this place!!

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

GREAT location! Very clean and owner is very easy to work with. I would recommend this condo to anyone. My family, including my teenage daughter and her friend, thorougly enjoyed it and look forward to staying here again!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you!! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This place is GREAT!

Review submitted: July 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

We just returned from a wonderous week at this condo on Amelia Island. Pam was very easy to deal with, and answered all our questions promptly. This was our first time using VRBO and we were hesitant. The entire transaction went smoothly. Plenty of space and all amentities. Nice to use the stairs instead of waiting on the elevator. Easy access to the pool and the beach.The unit is just as pictured (or better.) Local shopping/restaurants are easy to drive to.

We hope to return next summer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the kind review!! I am thrilled that you were happy with the condo and the area. I agree that the 2nd floor is so convenient, yet offers a great view. Thanks! -Pam

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Really Nice Condo

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

Just got back from a really nice weekend here. There is absolutely nothing that this condo is missing except you!! It is well suited for the family that enjoys meals at the condo or it's centrally located to all the favorite local restaurants. It is very quick and easy to get unloaded and to be in the pool or on the ocean in minutes of arriving here. This is a really nice place and my family looks forward to returning here soon. Thanks for everything!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review