reviews for: listing #86220 - Bonaire, Caribbean Villa rental

Bonaire Sunset Villa / 4-10 persons
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Hamlet
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,435 - $3,905 /wk

sort by:

dive with ease

Review submitted: June 19, 2014   Date of arrival: June 4, 2014

THis is the perfect place to stay if looking for somewhere away from hustle and bustle, but close to diving sites. THe Cliff dive site is right off the back-it is SO convenient for an early morning or late afternoon dive. THe snorkling right off the back of the house is excellent too! There are several other dive sites within a 5-10 minute drive. The property is set up for divers and worked superbly for us. We traveled with another family (9 of us all together) and at no time did we feel on top of each other. Plenty of space indoors and outdoors to find some privacy. THe grounds are beautiful! Photos represent the property perfectly. Everything was very clean and well-maintained. Owner was easily accessible, very gracious and willing to help with anything. THe kids enjoyed the use of the pool at Hamlet Oasis 20 steps away. Do not hesistate to book this property.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Flora, Fauna, Comfort, Privacy!

Review submitted: May 2, 2014   Date of arrival: April 11, 2014

Sunset Villa is comfortable and special. This was our 2nd stay there and we're already planning another. The house is great for groups and also has enough space to find some privacy. The kitchen, outside BBQ, and 2 choices of tables accommodated our group of 8 easily. The flora and fauna were enjoyed from a variety of patio, garden, and ocean view chairs. Lamber arranged our 2 car rentals so that the snorkelers and divers could have different schedules. Wondrous in so many ways. We're still floating in the tropical memories.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Villa!

Review submitted: February 17, 2014   Date of arrival: February 5, 2014

First I would like to say that Lamber, the owner, was great to deal with in booking this villa and also very conscientious about returning emails promptly. Also, Lamber would go out of his way to make sure everything was perfect for your stay. We got to the villa late at night and Lamber had stocked the refrigerator with snacks, beer, wine, cheese etc and also supplies for breakfast the next day!
Our group of 10 adults stayed for 10 days. We all said we would come back to Sunset Villa if we came back to Bonaire.
The villa is set up great for 10 people with each bedroom having an ensuite bathroom. The kitchen is large enough for cooking meals and has lots of cupboards and counter space to work on. Even though the villa is great, it is the outdoor areas that make is superb! There are lots of gathering areas and 2 tables that seat 10 people, as well as a charcoal grill for outdoor cooking. We spent most of our time in the garden areas. There is also a swimming pool a short walk away (less then a minute walk) for cooling off. Also on the property are some lockers for hanging your snorkel or dive gear and also rinse tubs.
Our group are avid snorkelers and snorkeled many shore reefs around the island, but found the best reef to be right in front of the villa. There, we saw many octopuses, eels, turtles, rays and many other fish.
If you are considering going to Bonaire, you won't find a better place to stay than Sunset Villa!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful villa, garden, location; gracious host

Review submitted: January 4, 2014   Date of arrival: December 14, 2013

I don't often return to a vacation spot (there's so much of the world to see!) but I just might return to this waterfront gem. The ocean-front garden was beautifully landscaped and our family would congregate there in the late afternoons in anticipation of the gorgeous sunsets. The location is walking distance to Captain Don's, just far enough from town to be away from the hustle and bustle. And the dive/snorkel site "Cliff" is directly in front of the villa. We travelled with my parents and my 3 children, including a 4-year old who "snorkeled" on a raft with us. Beaches are somewhat hard to come by on Bonaire, but there is a sandy approach to the sea just a few villas over, which was much appreciated by my mother and daughter. But most able-bodied people will be able to traverse the pieces of coral that make up the shoreline in front of the villa without much difficulty.

Lamber was a gracious and accommodating host. He arranged our transport from the airport to the villa, where he met us upon our arrival to show us around, give us keys, etc. He even stocked the fridge for a wonderful breakfast - much appreciated after our red-eye flight. Lamber also arranged our car rentals for the week and had an agent deliver them directly to the villa. When the water stopped working briefly one afternoon (some work was being done to the main line down the road), Lamber was very responsive and was able to reassure us that it would be restored within the half hour.

The house itself is quite spacious and would be good for a family or group traveling together as each room has its own key. The kitchen appliances are all high-end and we made good use of the waterfront charcoal grill. My kids loved the pool and climbing the poolside palm trees. For divers, there is a shop where you can rent tanks, etc. right in the same development.

All bedrooms have airconditioning and ensuite bathrooms, save the one bedroom on the first floor, whose bathroom is just outside its door so it serves also as the main bathroom. Each bathroom has a shower, but no bathtub. There also is an outdoor shower, 2 dive gear wash tubs and a lockable outdoor closet for gear.

We also enjoyed a 1/2 day sail with Woodwind to Klein Bonair, which boasts some of the best shallow reef snorkeling in the world - a must do! Our favorite beach was Te Amo, just across from the airport: turtles, squid, octopus, tons of fish. Cliff also was excellent and we saw turtles, angelfish, butterflies, parrotfish ...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Totally Awesome!!

Review submitted: November 27, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2013

We were so excited to finally arrived at the Flamingo Airport in Bonaire on Sunday October 6th. Lambert was there with 2 trucks for the 5 of us to load our luggage and dive equipment! We followed him to the truck rental and rented 2 trucks. That's right, trucks rather than convertible cars!! We then followed Lambert to the Bonaire Sunset Villa. Wow!! It is breathtaking. So big and spacious and clean! Of course the view is spectacular. It is right on the beach. Totally awesome.
Lambert gave us a tour of the house -- so spacious we got lost after he left!! Each guest has their own key to their decorative bedroom with their own private bathroom. Nice!! The dive shop was within walking distance two doors down which was heaven. As soon as we unpacked we all walked down the stairs to the beach and snorkeled!! Lambert was generous with groceries including wine and our wonderful vacation began.
The accommodations are to die for. The kitchen is huge. There are so many dining options outside the villa but our favorite was the beautiful handmade dining table under the trellis overlooking the ocean with breathtaking views.
There were so many private diving locations that each day was a new experience. We so loved buying fresh tuna instead of splurging out for dinner about 3 different nights! The outdoor grill is a must for us and we put it to good use! The outdoor shower was divine. We stocked it with soap and shampoo since we were all using it every day after diving/snorkeling.
We highly recommend Bonaire Sunset Villa. We would return in a heartbeat. Thank you again Lambert!
Elaine and Lynn, Don and Cynthia and Bob! :) :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect house for a diving vacation

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

Upon arriving at the airport Lamb?rt had us picked up by a van that held all 6 guys and our luggage and dive gear. When we got to the villa Lamb?rt was there to great us with cold beer. He gave us a tour of the house and answered all of our questions. After that he showed up a few times during the week to drop stuff off and to talk about out stay. He genuinely cared about our satisfaction and did anything we asked of him.

The house was great. Six guys and five rooms-so two had to share. We couldn't figure out how to seperate the beds, but we also didn't ask him for help. After a long day of diving, the two friendsd crashed and didn't mind sharing a large bed, but we should have asked how to split them. All bedrooms were large and well lit. TV's and a safe and fridge in each. Clean and comfortable. There was plenty of room to find your own space, as long as you didn't mind fighting off mosquitoes. The view from the back sitting areas was great and we used every inch of the house. Trucks were deliverd to our house for getting around and while they got us where we were going, they were pretty worn out. The dive shop is around the corner and very convenient for getting more tanks.

Everyone on Bonaire was friendly and made us feel welcome. We cooked all but two nights in his modern kitchen, and the two nights we wend out we walked to our restaurant. Two rinse tanks were a great asset and it is set up very well for divers.

If I go back, I wouldnt take a chance on going anywhere else. It was a great week!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect house for a diving vacation

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

Upon arriving at the airport Lamb?rt had us picked up by a van that held all 6 guys and our luggage and dive gear. When we got to the villa Lamb?rt was there to great us with cold beer. He gave us a tour of the house and answered all of our questions. After that he showed up a few times during the week to drop stuff off and to talk about out stay. He genuinely cared about our satisfaction and did anything we asked of him.

The house was great. Six guys and five rooms-so two had to share. We couldn't figure out how to seperate the beds, but we also didn't ask him for help. After a long day of diving, the two friendsd crashed and didn't mind sharing a large bed, but we should have asked how to split them. All bedrooms were large and well lit. TV's and a safe and fridge in each. Clean and comfortable. There was plenty of room to find your own space, as long as you didn't mind fighting off mosquitoes. The view from the back sitting areas was great and we used every inch of the house. Trucks were deliverd to our house for getting around and while they got us where we were going, they were pretty worn out. The dive shop is around the corner and very convenient for getting more tanks.

Everyone on Bonaire was friendly and made us feel welcome. We cooked all but two nights in his modern kitchen, and the two nights we wend out we walked to our restaurant. Two rinse tanks were a great asset and it is set up very well for divers.

If I go back, I wouldnt take a chance on going anywhere else. It was a great week!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Diving with 5 friends

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

I just finished a wonderful week of diving with 5 friends. The Sunset Villa and the owner Lamber were terrific. From the minute we arrived until we left the owner checked in on us to make sure our stay was memorable. The villa was in excellent condition and well stocked with all the utensils needed to prepare all your meals if you desire. The diving amenities were top notch. We utilized the pool and found it very relaxing to enjoy a cocktail after a day of diving. You can't go wrong to stay here when you come to Bonaire.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sunset Villa Is A Great Place To Stay In Bonaire!

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

Each year a group of guys and I go diving, and this year we went to Bonaire and rented Sunset Villa from Lambert. There were 6 of us, so two of the guys shared the downstairs bedroom, and the rest of us had a room to ourselves.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and I would highly recommend renting this house from Lambert if you have anywhere near the right number of people. I'm not sure how small a group would be too small. He prices it by the person, so if in doubt, just ask Lamber!

The kitchen is nice and roomy and was recently remodeled and has a nice granite counter-top, under the counter lighting, etc. All of the modern kitchen appliances, all in great shape. We cooked most evening meals here and while I was not the one doing the cooking, it seemed that the guys that did cook had everything they needed.

One of the best things about renting this house is Lamber himself. He was VERY helpful via email all throughout the planning and booking phases, and he was provided all sorts of additional information about Bonaire, dive options, etc. We did, of course, pay for the rental, but the whole experience felt more like we were visiting a friend that happened to own the house and we were borrowing it from him.

The houses in The Hamlet, where this villa is located, are closer together than it looks in the pictures on the website. But that was no problem, and the way the housese are built, you get plenty of privacy from the adjacent properties.

Also, I remember when I was first looking at the pictures and description of this house, I was not 100% clear whether it was actually on the ocean or not. It definitely IS on the ocean. Not all houses in The Hamlet are. And that back patio is awesome; you have a million dollar view of the sunset each evening, and there is a large table you can enjoy your meals at, and there are I think 4 nice chaise lounges with nice comfortable pads to relax in as well. I spent a lot of time out there!

Since you are renting from an individual owner, you can choose to dive with any operator you want to. But just 200 feet or so away from this villa is one of I think 5 locations of Dive Friends, so we chose to use them. They were a great choice! Also, Lamber can make reservations for you at Dive Friends and get you a little discount on the cost of your diving (including boat dives), which we did.

Another cool thing about diving with Dive Friends that I learned during this trip (about the ONLY think Lamber did not think to tell me a

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Excellent, comfortable and well maintained property and garden - it has a really homely feel to it. The property has the use of a beautiful pool at the Hamlet Oasis which is opposite the house.
Lamber the owner is incredibly helpful, kind and welcoming and made sure we got the best out of our holiday.
From the back garden of the property you walk (about 10 seconds!) down to the dive site 'Cliff' which we found was one of the best on the island. We snorkeled and saw something new every day (always a riot of colour underwater), including turtles and enjoyed swimming up to Uncle Don's to watch the Tarpon.
The view from the property is amazing and the sunsets are spectacular. The garden is idyllic and has some shady spots for when you're not in the water.
A fantastic week enjoyed by all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Bonaire Sunset Villa and Lambèr are fantastic!

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

Our group of 9 arrived at different times on Saturday, June 1, 2013. Lambèr made everything from our transportation from the airport to rental cars a breeze. He is an informative, accommodating and gracious host. I would highly recommend the villa and letting Lambèr handle many of your details.

The villa was well maintained and clean. What you see on the web is exactly what you get with the Bonaire Sunset Villa. You almost feel the need pinch yourself every time you walk out the back door. We really enjoyed our group dinners at the large table by the water. The sunsets are fantastic! The bedrooms all have air conditioning, so we were very comfortable. The main living area is not, but the breeze kept it from becoming too uncomfortable. We spent most of our time on the back porch and by the water. The landscaping gives everyone, even with a large group like ours, somewhere to relax.

The villa is also set up perfectly for divers. From the rinsing sinks to the tank bench/storage to The Dive Friends Shop (just around the corner) to the beautiful reef steps away.....it was great! I have never been on a dive trip where the diving is SO convenient.

Be prepared to become friends with the villa's permanent resident.... a large Iguana that lives near the stairs and trees that are back by the water. It was fantastic to see him hanging upside down on the trunk of a tree right next to my wife without her even seeing him. She got startled....to say the least and we all had a great laugh. The encounter didn't seem to phase "Iggy" (that's what the girls named him) at all.

The only negative comment I have about the whole week is about the mosquitoes. There were a couple of evenings when they were troubling, but nothing some repellent and the zappers provided by Lambèr couldn't handle. For some reason, there were a couple of people in our group that they liked more than the rest of us.

I highly recommend the Bonaire Sunset Villa for any large group going to Bonaire! You will be happy you did!

Let me take this last opportunity to thank Lambèr one more time....WE HAD A BLAST!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Fantastic Vacation at the Bonaire Sunset Villa

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

Our April visit to the Sunset Villa in Bonaire was all that we hoped it would be! The temperatures were in the 80's, the sky was blue and sunny, and the water was warm and filled with beautiful tropical fish right in the waters in front of the villa. My son and I enjoyed snorkeling around the nearby reefs; while my husband, daughter & her family, enjoyed the splendid scuba diving areas along the shoreline within short drives from the villa.
The Sunset Villa is ideal for a family rental with its five bright and airy bedrooms with lovely ocean views, its large kitchen to accommodate all of us preparing our breakfast and lunch, the outside grill for cooking our dinners, and the wonderful table under the arbor where we ate all of our meals enjoying the ocean view and breezes and sunsets. The outside closets, sinks, bench and shower, make preparing to scuba and rinse off afterwards, an easy process. Everything is so convenient and well laid out. Even the Dive Shop is only a short walk for rental of equipment and air tanks!
Our host, Lamber, was very helpful in getting us reacquainted with the villa, renting a truck for us, giving us a discount voucher for the Dive Shop and suggesting some wonderful nearby restaurants. This was our second visit to The Sunset Villa and we hope to return again next year! It offers everything we want in a vacation ~~ beautiful surroundings, tranquillity and easy access to all the things we want to do.

Marlene & Jack Smith
Plaistow, NH

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exceptionally Fine House and Owner

Review submitted: April 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

Just returned from a week at this house and found everything to be excellent. The house is as pictured, the snokeling and diving are exceptionally fine right off the garden. Lamber, the owner is fun and very helpful. The kitchen is well appointed including some basic food for your arrival; beds and bedrooms are very comfortable and outdoor tables and furniture are great. Our entire group of 7 adults and 2 teenagers found it to work very well with different areas to go to for quiet reading, group discussion of the day's adventures or watching the sunsets, parrots, or other birds and wildlife. Everything was wonderful and we have been to many VRBO houses. Thank you Lamber for sharing your piece of Paradise with the rest of us.
Exceptional in every way.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WOW....

Review submitted: March 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 5, 2013

Our stay was everything we expected,,,and more! Us six adults had a wonderful week. Once we (or a couple of us) learned the roads to get to town and back, it was time to leave. So...we are for sure going back! The house is very inviting with the gathering table outside in the beautiful breeze. The sunsets are amazing as well. Just the anticipation of waiting for that "green flash" is relaxing in itself. Good thing the Rum Runners(food and drink restaurant just down the road) is open late!
Lamber is a very caring and wonderful owner. Checks in for any needs that may arise, answer all our questions,,,,were to eat, dive, shop. You name it...we asked him! If you love to dive, snorkel, read, relax, eat or drink,,,,you have come to the right place! The pictures that are posted are very true to the property. It is true that one of the best dive sites is right out the front of the house! The other sites are just a hop skip and a jump away. Don't forget to go see the Donkey's at the foundation site and when they sell you carrots to share....get at least three bags,,,each! I hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did. Truely an amazing vacation spot.
Party of 6 from MN.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Property and Owners

Review submitted: March 3, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

We have recently returned from a 2-week stay in this beautiful villa. This was our 5th year visiting Bonaire for a winter/diving getaway and the first year we were fortunate enough to find and stay in this property. The house is wonderful, the outdoor garden area is even better and the owners' handling of property and service to guests is unparalleled! We've already rented for 2 weeks, next year, during the first week of our stay!

Lamber (the owner) was quick to respond to any emails or questions from the time we booked the property. Transportation was arranged and waiting for us when we arrived at the airport and Lamber welcomed us, as soon as we stepped out of the taxi, to give us a tour of the villa. He took care of renting a vehicle for us too; it was delivered to the villa an hour after we arrived. Everything was so convenient! While he waited for us to arrive, Lamber found the internet wasn't working and had someone troubleshooting it before we even knew it was down. This is the first property manager/owner I have known to be so proactive and caring about the condition of their property.

For our diving needs, we took Lamber's suggestion and rented tanks from Dive Friends; just a few steps away from the villa. They have 3 other locations around town to exchange tanks so we found them to be very convenient. Everyone was so friendly and helpful.

While we weren't out diving and exploring the island, we spent most of our time in the garden, enjoying the view of the water and relaxing outdoors. The garden is beautiful, quiet and secluded, and the grill is a fantastic bonus. We spent many evenings cooking fresh fish on the grill. From our experience, it is rare to find such a nice, large outdoor grill in a rental property, plus there's a very nice 5-burner stove and double oven in the well appointed kitchen. It easily saved us several hundred dollars, not eating out every night.

When it was time to depart, Lamber and Jaqueline were there to say good-bye and thank us for our stay. A few hours later we called to tell him we ran into a snag at the airport and might need to rent the villa one more night. Before we knew it, Lamber was at the airport, looking for us to offer assistance. He knew our rental car was gone. Luckily his next renter wasn't due in for a couple days so he brought us back to the villa and helped w/ arrangements to get us back to the airport the next morning. It is treatment like this that will keep us coming back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Beachfront with Easy Living and European Flair

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

We stayed over Christmas - we are a family with two boys in college. Our experience:
-arrive at the villa and there is already some food in the refrigerator. Yum!
-snorkel right from your own beach and see lots of fish there - house reef excellent
-rinse out your gear outside & hang things to dry in the outside closets
-BBQ in delightful garden where hummingbirds, parrots roam
-Nice washer/dryer to do laundry so you return home with some clean clothes
-Great kitchen with gas stove to cook gourmet meals
-Quiet neighborhood
-Close to town - we rented a truck but we saw many people walking or biking into town. There is a grocery store within walking distance.
-Close to dive shop (easy walk) - and the best snorkeling - 1,000 Steps, Karpata, Andreas 1 & 2 and of course the best snorkeling of all right at the house itself.
-Did I mention there are several outdoor living areas where you can read a book in the shade? For those of us who want to be outside and not get sunburned this is the best. Great lounge chairs with comfy cushions so you can read in the shade and still glance over at the Carribean Sea and check out the divers and the hummingbirds in the gardens.
-Best of all is the very gracious and thoughtful owners of the house. Lamber personally helped us over the phone every time we called. Need directions to the windsurfing place? Check. Need directions to Karpata? Check. Need a reservation at the Argentian restaurant? Check.
-Of course in every garden of Eden there is a snake. In this case the only drawback I can mention is that there are mosquitos. We have them at home too in the summer. Only wish they weren't so bothersome.
-Confession: I hesitated to write this review because this place is so fab that I wanted to keep it to myself.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Don't hesitate - book this now!

Review submitted: November 25, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

Our group of 7 just returned from Sunset Villa on November 17 after a week’s stay. The November weather was perfect. After reading the reviews and corresponding with owner, Lamber, we knew we had found the right place. Sunset Villa is a precious gem….and perfect for a group. In our opinion the uniqueness of the villa is due to the beautiful and well-planned living spaces – open floor plan with huge kitchen, balconies, several outdoor seating areas, seaside lounge chairs, and creative well-maintained garden. This added up to a perfect retreat to spread out in, yet allow for privacy. We spent 90% of our time outdoors. The men took over most of the cooking on the outside custom grill, and we dined seaside each evening watching the sunset. Our private A/C bedroom/bath were a welcome retreat each day. The villa is Safe, Quiet, and Perfect for divers and snorkelers. Nice station for gearing up/rinse tanks/lockers. We wasted no energy walking through the garden and down the steps to the sea. How convenient! Snorkelers can spend hours investigating the corals in front of the Villa. For divers, we dove all over the island, but most often at the Cliff which is a dive site directly out from the Villa. Took in our first night-dive there where the wall of coral was unbelievable (sighting a seahorse made my week)! Lamber was our self-appointed travel guide. He arranged airport transport, vehicle and tank rental, provided a cell phone, mid-week cleaning, stocked us with our first breakfast (appreciated after our overnight flight), and checked with us throughout the week to answer our questions. He is very knowledgeable and truly enjoys making a memorable and effortless trip for his guests. Even after the trip, he has contacted us about something left behind. The location of the Villa is awesome. It’s a short walk to Bonaire Dive Friends Scuba Shop (5 locations on the island) who offers friendly and complete services. Across the drive we would relax in the nice swimming pool in the mornings and late-evening. The guys spent ½ day Deep Sea Fishing and our group had a blast on a ½ day ATV ride to the East Side. Went to town several times for ‘just one more scoop of Gelato’. While it sounds like we were very busy, the most enjoyment came from our time at the Villa where we could go at our own pace with water activities, RELAX, prepare meals, sip a ‘drink of the day’, watch the sunset, dine next to the sea, and rest up to do it all over again. Thanks Lamber!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ideal location and over the top service!

Review submitted: November 6, 2012   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

After reading all the fantastic reviews about this Sunset Villa, we couldn't believe there actually existed a property so perfect for our needs - but there it was! The reviews are NOT stretching the truth! The 5 air-conditioned bedrooms allowed plenty of privacy for the 10 in our party, yet the large kitchen and spacious patios were perfect for large group meals. We ended up eating in all but one night because it was so easy. The kitchen was outfitted with everything we needed, and the grill, in view of the ocean, was set-up in a perfect location and was large enough to handle food for our large party. The owner, Lamber, even suggested a "local" place to go for fresh fish, and we ended up grilling tuna that had been out of the ocean for less than a few hours! Lamber was also extremely helpful arranging early morning pick-up at the airport, the delivery of rental cars, breakfast supplies for our first morning there, and provided a cell phone so we could contact him with any questions or needs. He even stopped by the Villa a few times to see how he could help.

As a group containing both divers and snorkelers, we enjoyed walking right out of the backyard gate, taking 10 steps, and being in the water. There were lots of amazing fish to see close to the Villa, and it was safe enough the 11 year old with us could go snorkeling on her own anytime she wished. The Cliff Dive site was a short swim away, and we thought it was one of the most interesting places to dive - right out of the backyard! We were even able to do night snorkeling/diving, visited by the resident Tarpon. The Villa is set up with dive lockers, drying racks and rinse sinks, so it made dealing with equipment very painless.

It was also a huge bonus that there was a dive shop, Dive Friends, less than a 5 minute walk away. Dive Friends handled our referral dives so that some of our divers could complete their certification, and their multiple locations were handy in dropping off/filling tanks. They were also extremely helpful in setting up our group not only with dive gear, but suggesting local attractions. We took a kayak/snorkel tour of the mangroves and a sailing tour (with dinner and a snorkel) to Klein Bonaire thanks to their suggestions.

I can't say enough how marvelous this property is. We recommend this property to others and plan on returning in the future. Visit the property's website to view a full video tour. We watched it many times before arriving! Thanks Lamber!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bonaire Beauty

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We had a group of nine people stay at the Villa during July 2012. Working with Lambèr, the villa owner, was great - he was friendly, responsive, and helpful during both the reservation process and our stay. He answered my many questions quite quickly via email as we were preparing for our stay and reserved rental trucks for our group at a very good rate.

The villa itself is quite spacious with a large, well-equipped kitchen. We found ourselves cooking most of our meals there, and we'd usually eat them on the patio or at the lovely table next to the ocean. A couple nights we grilled out there as well. The villa seems much larger and nicer in person than it does online which was a nice surprise. (So many places look good in photos but not so good in person.) The backyard was quite beautiful with its many plants, flowers, hummingbirds, parrots, and the occasional lizard.

Having an excellent dive site in our backyard really spoiled us! Most mornings a few of us early risers would go out for a dive before the others woke up, and it was just as great to do a night dive out there, accompanied by the resident tarpon. And of course having our own large rinse tanks and secure dive lockers made the whole diving experience a breeze.

There is a dive shop just a few houses down although we didn't know about it before arriving and had already made tank arrangements elsewhere. Next time I'll use that shop. There is a small grocery store a few minutes away across the main road, Captain Don's is a five minute walk, and Buddy Dive is just beyond that, about a one minute drive.

If I return to Bonaire I will stay in the villa again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing vacation in a perfect location

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

We have been to Bonaire 9 times in the past 15 years. This two week trip was the best vacation we have ever had there. Part of the magic was this absolutely perfect villa that we rented from Lamber. There were eight of us and we were able to spread out and enjoy our space, while still feeling we were all together.

We had 4 children with us ages 9 to 12, and they especially loved the easy access to the beautiful snorkel/dive site right off the back patio. Having our meals by the sea on the blue mosaic table in the garden never got old. I had such a wonderful view of each evenings sunset that I took a picture and emailed to my co-workers and family back home just to tease them.

The house itself was modern, completely updated (including a new kitchen), very clean and had every amenity we could have asked for, including a very popular blender. The seaside BBQ grill got lots of use. We always had plenty of clean towels and the cleaning persons came twice a week while we were there and did a great job. The house was designed to make us always feel secure from the locking dive equipment storage areas to the in room personal safes in each room.
Finally, Lamber was the perfect host. He checked in with us just enough to make sure we had everything we needed, but never too much. We will go back to the Bonaire Sunset Villa on all of our future trips.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best vacation rental EVER!!

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 25, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful vacation during which we spent 10 wonderful days at Bonaire Sunset Villa.
There were 9 of us and our every wish was fulfilled with the Villa.
It is perfectly located directly on the ocean in front of a wonderful walk-in dive site, the Cliff, which was great not only for the divers but also for the snorkelers in the group.
There were good restaurants and bars within walking distance of the villa.
The house is beautifully appointed with comfortable furnishings (even the beds), individual bathrooms and a well-equipped kitchen for the cooks in the group.
While we frequently talked of going out to dinner we found that our favorite table was right in our back yard and we spent many hours chatting and dining al-fresco by the sea at the gorgeous outdoor dining area.
There was plenty of room for everyone to spread out and have private time for reading, watching the parrots and hummingbirds, having private conversations or just taking in the beautiful views of the sunset and Klein Bonaire.
Lamber was the consummate host. He not only arranged for rental cars to be delivered to the house but also had a driver who was waiting for us at the end of our long flight. He included some provisions for our arrival, including beer/wine and cheese/crackers for the evening and coffee for our first morning (very appreciated!) He was quick to provide help whenever we needed it and dropped by often to check on us. He was so helpful in giving suggestions for diving, eating and other entertainment that it took much of the guesswork out of our trip.
The house was exceptionally clean and the washer/dryer was a huge bonus.
We also really appreciated the use of the nearby pool. Hot afternoons were made pleasant when sitting in the pool or under the palm-tree shade with a good book.
I would absolutely recommend this villa to any type of group, whether it be a family, multiple families with kids, or just a great group of friends.
The photos provided are great but the villa is even better than the photos show!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A DELIGHTFUL SETTING AND WARM HOSPITALITY!

Review submitted: April 28, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

We arrived at Bonaire at 4:30 AM and Lamber had arranged for someone to meet us and direct us. We stopped at the airport rental agency to pick up a truck; and were then taken by van to The Sunset Villa where Lamber greeted us. Others were still in the house, so we stowed our luggage in a shed and Lamber gave us a tour of the area, pointing out grocery stores, good restaurants and points of interest. Upon our return to the villa, he treated us to breakfast at Captain Don’s. Next we went to the Dive Friends to arrange for scuba and snorkeling gear for everyone. By the time we returned to the villa, we were able to enter and move in. Note: Lamber had gone out of his way to accommodate our early arrival and use our time to best advantage. He had provided discount coupons for the scuba diving and also for the truck, which he arranged.

The villa was lovely! There was plenty of room for our children and grandchildren (teenagers) to spread out and enjoy their time privately and together. The kitchen was large enough to accommodate eight of us milling around and putting together our breakfast or lunch to enjoy together at the table just outside the screen doors or under the grape arbor which overlooks the sea. We dined on several barbecued meals under the grape arbor, while we enjoyed the beautiful sunsets. As we gathered the dishes from the table, we were treated to spectacular star gazing!

Lamber has thought of everything to make the gearing up for scuba diving go easy. There’s a long bench where everyone sorted out their equipment for the dive. The two wash tubs make cleaning the equipment easy and efficient and the two closets hold all the necessary gear. And the outside shower was handy to rinse off ourselves!

Don’t miss the two adirondack chairs in the middle of the garden area where you can relax and feel the gentle ocean breezes while enjoying the flowers and the sighting of parrots, other birds, and scurrying iguana.

Lamber went above and beyond the hospitality code. He not only accommodated our 4:30 arrival, but also, worked with us to retrieve a missing piece of luggage; which we wouldn’t have gotten until much later in the week. He gave us the use of his cell phone and checked in several times to make sure all was going well. The beautiful Sunset Villa was a big part of making our visit to Bonaire so special, but the hospitality of Lamber made us feel so welcome and comfortable that we felt very much at home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Seafront Villa

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

We have just returned from a family holiday in Bonaire and Sunset Villa was a fabulous find. Lamber made the whole booking process very easy, arranged 2 different airport pick-ups, sorted a hire car for us and even bought us some groceries. He provided a cell phone for us to use, and delivered some lost luggage when it arrived. He also checked-in with us a couple of times during the week to make sure that we were happy with everything. The mid-week cleaning and fresh linen/towels was an unexpected bonus.

The villa has lots of different sitting and relaxing areas, depending on whether you want sun or shade, and several places to eat - the big bbq was used a lot! The facilities for divers are excellent - there are large sinks for rinsing gear, places to store and dry kit, and a great bench to store tanks or put kit on. The shallow reef is excellent for snorkelling and spotting fish (and turtles!) and we explored the Cliff dive many times, seeing tarpons, blue chromis, angel fish, parrot fish and many more.

Would we return? Definitely - as soon as we can.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Place on the Island

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

My wife and I, along with 6 friends, just returned from a week long stay at the Sunset Villa and all I can say is that if you are looking for a 'home away from home', you need not look any further than the Sunset Villa. The property is simply AMAZING, the owner is one of the friendliest and most attentive people I've had the privilege to meet and the house reef is AWESOME in both directions. Here are a few specifics that really stand out in my mind:

1. The owner made booking the property super easy and even arranged for our rental car and unlimited dive tanks... all we had to do was get Bonaire and we were ready to explore and dive.
2. Upon arrival our group was met by the owner who gave us a tour of the property, had bought a few provisional supplies to tide us over (including some Champangne for the group) and provided all the information you would need to live on Bonaire... including a cell phone for the group's use
3. We had one of our group loose his luggage en-route and the owner worked with the local officials to help get his luggage to the island... service really above and beyond the call IMHO.
4. The Villa has a huge kitchen with beautiful appliances and a large grill in the back, so we ate most of our meals at the Villa enjoying the sunsets from the ample seating in and around the gardens.
5. The Cliff dive site is simply fantastic... This being my second trip to Bonaire and 3 to the ABC's, I'd rank it one of the best.
6. The dive facilities (lockers, gear-up bench, rinse tank, showers) are perfect if you are a diver (see also #5).
7. The bedrooms are very large, with really nice bathroom, comfortable beds, cable, safes, mini fridges and super quiet... really, each is like a little oasis.
8. I received an e-mail from the owner this morning just making sure we got home and thanking us for staying with him... again, service above and beyond!

I know I'm leaving out about 100 other reasons for staying at this property, but If you are reading this... just stop looking at properties and contact the Bonaire Sunset Villa... you won't be disappointed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Better than we could have imagined! Lamber is a perfect host!!

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

We just got back from our stay at the villa, and everything was more than wonderful. Lamber arranged a van to pick us up at the airport, greeted us upon arrival at the villa, led us on a quick tour of the place, had some groceries already there, and then checked in with us a couple of times to make sure everything was working well. We had 8 people in our group, and we never felt crowded. We loved the many different sitting areas, although most of our time was spent at the table and lounge chairs just up from the water. The BBQ was a HUGE hit. The garden landscaping is beautiful. This was our third trip to the island, and our best in terms of places to stay--really. We've already recommended the villa to our friends and would return in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Find for Family/Friend Vacation

Review submitted: February 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

Sunset Villa was a wonderful find and certainly exceeded our expectations in both comfort and convenience.
Lamber was a gracious and attentive host who went out his way to ensure we had a wonderful trip. He helped out with everything from rental vehicle glitches to dive class reservations. The villa easily accommodated our group of 9 and is wonderfully set up to allow both shared time and private moments. There are storage areas for dive gear, wash sinks, and a shop to pick up dive tanks just a short distance from the house.
There are 2 great communal dining tables, an outside grill, and well stocked kitchen. The gardens are beautiful and give a real sense of privacy to the villa (which is in a small community of homes). We spent most evenings watching the sunset from the oceanside deck and "dining in".
Three bedrooms have direct ocean views and all are comfortable, nicely decorated and have their own bathrooms. Mid week cleaning/fresh linen service was also a bonus. If you need some quiet time, you can also escape to the privacy of a second story deck or even head up to the rooftop!

Into the water "pleez"! Just a few steps out the back door and you are snorkeling in a beautiful reef have fantastic shore diving. It doesn't get much nicer...
Thanks Lamber for your hospitality, It's thumbs way up for Sunset Villa!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

PERFECT 2 week family vacation

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

Having travelled to Bonaire a dozen times since the 1980's we have experienced many different accommodations available for diver's. Bonaire Sunset Villa exceded our expectations in providing both a great location for shore diving and dive shop access and also a spacious and comfortable home that felt like our own the minute we walked in. Our host, Lamber went out of his way at every turn to make us welcome and accommodate our needs. We were definetly spoiled with this location. We look forward to our return trip to Bonaire. We never tire of the charm of this island that most people have never heard of.
As a seasoned Bonaire traveller we highly recomend Bonaire Sunset Villa.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Christmas 2011

Review submitted: January 22, 2012   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

A superb villa at a superb location. Most of you are likely familiar with Bonaire diving and its laid back atmosphere never disappoints.
What made this stay special was the villa we decided to use this year. The location was as advertised directly on a dive site. The villa is designed to acces this dive site to the fullest with direct stair access, and the villa has all the conveniences of a dive hotel with wash tanks / outdoor shower etc.
The villa gardens were well kept and beautiful. The villa itself exactly as the pictures show ... except more roomy. Each room is tastefully decorated and the cleaning service prompt. The views of each showy sunset could be enjoyed from the garden or the upstairs patio.
And lastly the extra touches and attention made by the owner more than met our expectations. He really cared about our experience.
We highly recommend this villa to anyone travelling to Bonaire! For anyone vacationing with kids ... this place is very kid friendly.
Our favorite restaurant was Unbelievable (yes that's what it's called) but nothing beat BBQing in the back yard with ocean smells and sounds. If you get a chance, snorkel and kayak the mangroves from Cai beach!
The Bell family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bonaire Sunset Villa -- Jump Right In

Review submitted: December 11, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Nine of us descended on this villa at the end of August. Loved its location -- you can walk out the back door, down the path and splash into some of the best diving we found on the island. We had both scuba-certified folks and just snorkelers and both saw a wide variety of fish and fauna. There's a full dining area under a sea grape arbor along the water's edge which was where we had dinner almost every night. Couldn't have been nicer.

The draw back for us was the hanging out area inside. Each bedroom has air conditioning but the main living room area and kitchen did not. While the temperature was bearable, the mosquitos nearly did us in. We don't know if it was the time of year, the weather, or the location of the villa, but they made our stay challenging. Without the mosquitos, the villa was pretty much close to perfect.

The owner did everything possible to make us feel welcome, including arrange for airport pick up and drop off and our rental cars. The dive shop is within walking distance as are some smaller grocery stores and some dive resorts with good restaurants.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for the review. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the villa beside the mosquitos. About the living room and the kitchen, we already did put some extra ceiling fans.
We don't like the mosquitos either but the point is, they are living on the island. Sometimes there are more and sometimes less.
Thanks again for the review and hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Caribbean Get Away

Review submitted: December 5, 2011   Date of arrival: November 16, 2011

Sunset Villa is the perfect place to get away for a while and enjoy the Caribbean. The house is set up to be comfortable for two or for many. My wife and I stayed there in November 2011 for a week and we had a great time. The best part for us was the great snorkeling that is available right from the property. Just a few short steps down to the ocean and you are surrounded by hundreds of fish. Some of the special sights for us included a large school of blue tang, lots of colorful parrot fish, a lobster hiding in the reef, and a large tarpin that swam through one afternoon. Back on shore we were entertained by the birds and lizards that frequent the garden. There is a wonderful gormet kitchen and outdoor grill for cooking, and a grocery within walking distance to pick up the fixings for snacks or a meal. For those days when we didn't feel like cooking, we walked over to the restaurant at the nearby dive resort. Our hosts were wonderful, making sure we had everything we needed to enjoy our stay, and offering recommendations for things to see and places to go. We definately recommend Sunset Villa for your Caribbean get away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

30 Year Wedding Anniversary Trip/Vacation with Family and Friends

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

We've just returned from our stay at this property & were thrilled with the location (nice community just north of Kralendijk), amenities, & owner. The house is a perfect place to stay for divers, with a wonderful set up for the storage, staging and post dive rinsing of equipment. Two major dive resorts (Captain Don's & Buddy Dive) are within walking distance. A smaller dive operation, Dive Friends, is even closer - a good place to pick up/drop off tanks on a daily basis. The entrance to "The Cliff" dive spot is at the foot of the stairs off the back patio of the property. For those guests who would prefer a pool, there is one next door you can use.

We reserved this villa through a realtor, but I would recommend going directly to the owner. He is a wonderful host and can assist with car rentals, initial grocery delivery, contracting a chef to come to the house to cook for you, recommendations on local restaurants and more.

We arrived on the island at 4:30 a.m., and were met at the airport by a representative of the owner, who showed us the way to the property. The owner met us at the villa so he could assist us with becoming acclimated to the villa by leading us on a tour. Before leaving, he provided us with his business card and told us to contact him at any time should something come up. He also stopped in throughout the week to ensure we were not in need of anything and all was going well.

The pictures provided on VRBO cannot truly show how lovely the villa & garden are. The table under the grape arbor was our favorite place for dinner at the house, & the table just outside the screened doors was perfect for breakfast. Lizards were frequent visitors all day/every day and most nights we saw a hermit crab on the walkway that leads from the waterfront to the house. On two occasions, we saw an iguana near the arbor.

Each of the four bedrooms on the second floor has a bathroom en suite, while the bathroom for the master bedroom (ground floor) was conveniently located just outside of the bedroom door. The rooms were clean & comfortable and each had a safe for storing valuables, plus a set of keys to that bedroom and the house. The kitchen was well appointed & included a dishwasher -- a wonderful addition when a large group is vacationing together.

We highly recommend this villa and plan to provide information about the villa to the many dive shops with which we do business.

Danki, Lamber, for your hospitality and the use of your lovely home!

Owners response: Thanks for your really nice review.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay, in the villa and on Bonaire. It was nice meeting you, your family and friends.
It would be very friendly if you provide the flyers of the villa and my businesscard. Thanks.
Hope to see you some other time in the villa, or somewhere else.
Kind regards, Lambèr.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Family Vacation Spot

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Sunset Villa was the perfect location for our family vacation. We had 10 people staying in the house including 2 small children and it never felt crowded. The open floor plan is terrific for traffic flow and visiting with family. The landscaping of the gardens was beautiful and well planned. The patios and shaded outdoor dining areas were wonderful for enjoying all parts of the day. The storage and rinsing facility on the side of the house was ideal for cleaning and storing dive equipment.

The house is conveniently located within walking distance of 3 professional dive shops (Dive Friends, Captain Don's, and BuddyDive). The entrance to the "Cliff" dive site is directly in front of the house and was the best dive that I enjoyed during out week stay.

Finally, the hospitality of the owner was wonderful. Lamber helped make the week one our family will never forget. When we return to Bonaire, we will certainly stay here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Honeymoon with family on Bonaire

Review submitted: April 16, 2011   Date of arrival: March 24, 2011

We came to Bonaire with a big part of our family (including our 18 month old child) and got married on Klein Bonaire.
Actually the villa was just perfect for us: Lots of space for all people to sleep and recover, various possibilities for sun bathing and the ocean (and one of the best dive and snorkel sites of Bonaire) right in fron of the house. ('Cliff' is a really nice dive site with a smal cliff underwater, lots of morey eels and big tarpons that accompany divers while night diving. This also means that from time to time (not often, but regularily) other divers use the entry right in front of the villa's garden).
We had a nice wedding ceremony on Klein Bonaire and afterwards we had a party with 10 people in the garden of the villa with a good catering service that was also partially organised by the owner of the villa.
The place is also great for childreen, as the access to the ocean is separated by two fences (that still do not block the view to the sea). There also was a children's bed organised.
As we had also three divers with us, I also have to mention that there are very nice storage and cleaning facilities for dive gear in the garden of the house and a filling station for Nitrox and air is only a 60 seconds walk away. For a night dive, you just walk out of the garden into the sea (and after the dive you just drop your gear into the cleaning bath and take your 'decompression beer' from the fridge ;-)).
If you like lizards, birds or hermit crabs you'll find lots of them in the garden - we also had a short visits in the garden from iguanas and frogs.
Overall perfect for divers and families.
After our visit the owner asked us, what to do better in the house... well there was not much to say: it was just perfect for us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: We try to do our utmost best to let the people, who rent the villa, feel "more or less" at home. There is a 24 hour telephone number you can call in case of problems or if you want any other information about dive spots, the island, restaurants or whatever.
As mentioned in the review, one of the nice things about the villa, even when you are with a bigger group of people, (dive)friends, family or reunion group, you still have places in and around the villa to relax by your self.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review