reviews for: listing #86232 - Carlsbad, California House rental

Thanksgiving Available-Walk to the Beach 4BD/3BA
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Waters End
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,200 - $1,500 /wk
    $4,800 - $6,000 /mth

sort by:

Home away from Home

Review submitted: June 27, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

This rental property has given us our best rental experience. As I told the owner, this home is so well appointed, clean and comfortable that we were surprised that it would be rented out to the public.
Everything in the home is in perfect condition, including the kitchen with all of the dishes, cooking supplies, etc. All of the towels, bedding and other supplies appear to be new and in A-1 condition.
The neighborhood is quiet and friendly. It is a gated community with no through traffic, a large clean pool, Jacuzzi and playground. Everything is kept up and in excellent shape.
Across from the development are restaurants and shopping. This is an upscale neighborhood. The commuter train is a 5 minute walk and the beaches are close by.
All in all we had a great time and I would recommend this home rental for anyone visiting the San Diego area..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, John. We are always happy to hear that our home lives up to our guests' expectations. We strive for complete accuracy in the listing and complete satisfaction from our guests. It's a wonderful home in a great location. Please come back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ideal working vacation!

Review submitted: June 15, 2014   Date of arrival: May 5, 2014

My ski team recently conducted a physical training camp in the San Diego area. The team's coaching staff, 6 men, rented this property for 3 1/2 weeks. This property could not have worked out any better! We put in long hard days that included workouts at nearby Poinsettia Park, daily cycling on the Pacific Coast Highway, a daily commute into a gym in San Diego, some workouts on the beach and some surfing on our days off. Having a large, tidy, well organized garage was key as we do travel with a considerable amount of sports equipment including road bikes. The open kitchen was ample and ideal for 6 adults on differing schedules to cook for ourselves as we did take most of our meals in the house. Everyone in our group had a comfortable bed and more than ample personal space. Normally, with all our gear and personal affects, our group would be tripping over each other in one property, but not here. The house is well-designed for everyone to have space both for their belongings and to get work done. The commute into the city was easy. Access to the beaches was easy. The house is beautiful. It's well decorated with beautiful artwork and extremely comfortable. Exceptionally clean and tidy, It seemed like we were the first guests to have stayed there! This house could not have been any better for us! We will certainly be looking to reserve it again in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location! Location! Location!

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: January 16, 2014

Our family of 6 (my in-laws, myself and my husband, our three year old and our baby) enjoyed a wonderful vacation in this beautiful home in January 2014. The house does not feel like a "rental", but rather is very comfortably furnished and tastefully decorated with great artwork. It is a very large home, but still has a "beach house" type of feel to it which we loved for our California vacation! The kitchen is gorgeous and well equipped, there is a dining table that can accommodate 8 people, and we enjoyed hanging out in the cozy and very comfortable family room area. The backyard is small, but charming with gorgeous trees. There was a resident hummingbird in one of backyard trees on our visit that kept our three year old interested for hours! The bathrooms are worth mentioning, they are all gorgeous, clean and luxurious feeling. All of the bedrooms are very comfortable, and the master is beautiful, with all the windows around it and the big trees you'll feel like you're vacationing in a fancy treehouse! The only thing I would change about the house was the white fabric furniture in the living room and master bedroom sitting area…slightly stressful with small children around!
The home's proximity to the pool and playground area was fantastic for our family, and the pool area is incredible. The convenience of a shopping centre (grocery/liquor store, drugstore, restaurants, Starbucks) being a 10 minute walk or 2 minute car ride away was wonderful.
We found Carlsbad to be a perfect home base for our Southern California vacation. The home itself is less than 10 minutes away from Carlsbad Village (which is charming and has a great farmer's market Wednesday afternoons!) several beaches, Legoland, and the premium shopping outlets. It is an easy half hour drive into San Diego to check out the sites around there, and only an hour on the freeway if you want to head up to Anaheim for the Disneyland experience.
Jim and Margaret were friendly, efficient and professional to rent from. We would certainly recommend their home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks very much for your wonderful review. Please come back! You all were terrific guests and we appreciate the way that you treated our home. Regarding the cushions on some of the furniture: the cushion covers are all cotton and we find it easy to throw them into the washer and dry them upstairs on the bannister -- good as new!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An Unbeatable Experience

Review submitted: December 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

My entire family -- including a toddler, 2 teenagers, and 2 adult children -- enjoyed a delightful stay in this pristine property for 2 weeks early last summer. The home is everything it is advertised to be and more -- the pictures do not do justice to the small, private gem that is the back yard. Despite the great diversity of our family, it met all our needs beautifully.

All arrangements were as described and our stay went off without a hitch. We had some (very positive) interaction with both the owners and the caretaker due solely to their determined efforts to quickly correct some minor issues left in the wake of a careless renter that preceded us.

We enjoyed reading and dining on the quiet of the back patio, walking the neighborhood, lounging by the community pool, the proximity to beaches, and the amenities of nearby Carlsbad.

The only thing that was even remotely negative in our experience was also one of the biggest assets of the property -- its meticulous condition. My wife and I were in a state of semi-constant vigilance to make sure the kids didn't spill or spoil. The white chairs in the Family Room were a particular concern.

That said, if the worst thing you encounter in a rental is that it's just too nice, you've landed in a good spot. All-in-all this was an unbeatable experience and I couldn't recommend it more highly.

Owners response: Thanks very much for this wonderful review. It is a great pleasure to hear that our home lives up to our description of it. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Comment from December 2012 Guest

Review submitted: December 17, 2012   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

Wow!!!  Your home is perfect!! It's beautiful Jim!! The pictures don't do it justice!!! We love it!!!
Merry Christmas!!!

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Terrific home away from home

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

This home is exactly as described with a place for everything and everything in its place. The owners' attention to detail, complete with two comprehensive instruction manuals (one for general information, one for appliances) left no possible question unanswered and also provided helpful recommendations about the neighboring area. In addition, the owners were available directly and always very responsive (via email in my case). There is a property manager for the site but I never had cause to contact him. The owner’s housekeeper comes once mid-stay, then again at the end. Cleaning cost is additional to rent so the tidier you are, the better.
This gated community is wonderfully maintained. Children freely run and bike around the neighborhood and the mostly “Resident only” traffic makes it a somewhat safer prospect for them to do so. We spent much of our vacation walking a few doors down to enjoy either the playground at the park or swim in the pool. The home’s proximity to beach, Legoland, Outlet mall shopping, Ralphs grocery store, Coaster train and freeway is extremely convenient. Despite being so close, we hardly noticed any traffic noise from neither train nor freeway because of the home’s location.
Our party of 4 adults and 4 kids resided quite comfortably due largely to the fact that there were several “sitting areas” in and around the home. Aside from the living room, the enormous Master bedroom had its own lounge area with access to outdoor balcony seating. Seating was also provided at the front porch, the back patio and kids played in the gated front courtyard when home, allowing everyone their own space. We really enjoyed the home and had a wonderful stay there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for this very nice review. We appreciate hearing from our guests and you all were the perfect guests. Please come back!

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 

Priceless house yet affordable. Great owners

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

We have rented a house in Carlsbad each summer for the past 4 years. We stay for 4 months to miss the hurricane season in Florida. This year we have found our perfect house and intend to rent it every summer from now on, if the owners are agreeable.
Everything about this house is excactly what we desire (and should be wonderful for you too.) It is a 3 bedroom 3 bathroom, with a large office that can convert into a 4th bedroom (there is a fancy blow up bed already in the room.) Since it is only my wife and I who are renting, the only bedroom that is important to us is the master. The entire master area is ideal. It is big! The room has a king bed, a sitting area with a huge flat screen TV in it, and is always comfortable since it has 4 windows for cross ventilation. Most nights we actually add extra blankets for cozy sleeping. The bathroom is huge also. It has 2 sinks, lots of storage space, a sepaarate bath and shower, and anything that you can possibly desire.
The great room downstairs is perfect. It is a good size (fits 6 comfortably to watch TV), 8 or more for a dinner party. The dining room seats 8 and then we have the kitchen. It has everything! Everything works! Everything is new! The owners have thought of everything and equipped it accordingly (there are pieces of equipment that we don't know what they are used for.)
Here is an example of how cool this house is- in the downstairs bathroom, when you walk in the owners have installed a motion detector that turns on the light. Talk about luxury and convenience- wow!
Now let's talk about the owners- Margaret and Jim. I have never met a nicer, more competent couple. I would love to be their friends. They have been ideal owners, making the house perfect for use and answering any needs that we may have. Their "white binder" answers all of your immediate questions and if you have any other unique desires, email or phone is always answered promptly.
As you can tell by my gushing superlatives, we love this experience. The house is priceless yet affordable. The owners are great. The location is easy for anything that you can plan, a comfortable walking distance to the beach. The coaster train is nearby so if you desire to take a day trip to San Diego, it is easy.If you are seeking a house to rent, you will be ecstatic renting this one.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, folks, for this wonderful review. We love our home in Carlsbad and it's great to see that you love it too! We could not have described our home better ourselves. Thanks again. Please come back!

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

5 Stars ++++

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

What a wonderful home away from home. EVERY detail was thought of...I can't say it any other way but it was PERFECT!
The home is decorated beautifully and very comfortable for our family. The owners were very helpful with the opening instructions and closing instructions and they provided a handy guide for the local area! We walked to the Pacific ocean very morning for a lovely beach walk and the community is gated, so the security and safety issues were never a concern,
We loved the open living concept and had such fun family times together! We were just a few homes away from the heated pool and hot tub and this amenity was such a nice feature to have,
Highest recommendation for this home on VRBO.
The owners are prompt in responding to any questions and I hope to stay in the home again in the future!
Thank you again for sharing a lovely home with our family~
Holly Devoto

Owners response: Thanks, Holly, for this wonderful review. It was a great pleasure having you and your family as guests in our home. We appreciate the care and attention that you gave to our home and very much hope that you will return as guests soon!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: November 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 24, 2011

We stayed here for 1 month at end of summer 2011 and we could honestly not have asked for more! We were a little hesitant at first because gated communities are not really our style (myself, my husband, 1 year old daughter, grandma and sister) but I was so pleasantly surprised at the resort-type feeling at this rental. The house is lovely, homey and plenty of space for everyone, especially in the ultra-roomy master. The community pool is half a block away but no noise from the house. The beach is a 10 minute walk off the main roads and the train is super convenient for a day trip into San Diego. It took no time at all for us to feel right at home in this welcoming space. The one thing I found a little difficult was keeping the white furniture clean especially with the baby toddling around (dry cleaning is at renter's expense), so we just kept sofa and armchairs covered up with beach towels.
Owners were helpful and welcoming. They leave a detailed instruction booklet for all the house's amenities and general workings, with a property manager that was very personable and quick to respond to any questions we had.
All in all, we had a delightful stay and we would all recommend this rental to anyone looking in the Carlsbad area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thanks, Amanda, for this wonderful review. We appreciate it very much and look forward to having you as guests again soon!

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Wonderful home, great place to stay

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

Our family stayed at this home and had a truly wonderful time. The house is in a great location, especially for children, as the pool is just a few minutes walk away and the neighborhood is very kid-friendly. The home is immaculate with great amenities - all you would need for a vacation stay. The owners were so kind, helpful and thorough with their instructions for all of the appliances, etc. They went out of their way to ensure that our stay was comfortable. I would absolutely recommend this property to others, and we hope to come back here as well.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks very much for your very nice review of our new home in Carlsbad. You were the first-ever guests in our home and we were honored to have you as our guests. We are very happy that you like our home as much as we do! Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review