reviews for: listing #86298 - Puerto Morelos, Yucatan Cottage rental

Casita de Playa- Beach Front Cottage
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Bahia Petempich
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $651 - $651 /wk

sort by:

awesome stay

Review submitted: June 25, 2014   Date of arrival: April 29, 2014

I was in Puerto Morelos for a 3-week stay. I rented a very nice [but far pricier] VRBO just south of town for the first part of the trip. For the last part of my vacation I stayed in this casita - it was awesome. It's a cozy fit for no more than two people. It's a room off of the garage in a gated single-home property. The sense of security was very helpful. The property owners [Ken and Joanne] were tremendous and very friendly. I've rented approximately 15 times using VRBO and they were the most accomodating hosts I've ever had the fortune of meeting. They are very excited to show guests the beautiful barrier reef just off shore for snorkelling [you need to take a boat out to it - too far to swim to]. Mittens the cat was a nice visitor in the morning as I enjoyed my coffee. The small pool on site was great for sun tanning and for cooling off. The small kitchen set up in the casita allows you to bring in some groceries and have lighter meals on site. It is a bit of a drive to get to Puerto Morelos, but it never felt like a burden. The one time that I needed to do laundry I simply took everything to the laundromat in town for a small fee. Ken and Joanne designed and built their retirement home and they really did it the right way. The water filtration system is very well done and useful [no lugging heavy water jugs around]. I look forward to a return visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It's true... this place is "Paradise for Two"

Review submitted: May 15, 2014   Date of arrival: October 7, 2013

This review is so ridiculously overdue! The only excuse I can offer is that the experience we had a Casita de Playa was so amazing that it defies description. We spent a week in October 2013, and even now (almost a year later), I still think back on that trip as the best vacation I've ever had. The Casita is perfect for a cozy, romantic getaway for two. The king size bed is truly comfortable and the kitchen has everything you need to prepare your own meals. Everything was very clean and having safe, drinkable water – even in the shower and pool makes this place a real stand-out. “The pictures do not do it justice.” I think most every reviewer says that – and for good reason!

Ken and Joanne (and Mittens) were great hosts. I was apprehensive at the idea of staying on someone’s property where they live, but my concern was proven to be completely wrong. They were so helpful and kind- going to great lengths to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. As others have mentioned, snorkeling with them is not to be missed. You will definitely want a car; the short drive to Puerto Morelos gets you to many wonderful restaurants and pubs, and day trips to several ruins are very convenient.

Casita de Playa offers a vacation experience you won’t find anywhere else. The privacy at the pool and on the beach was a big part of our enjoyment. I could have spent days and days lounging by the pool, sipping a drink, and reading with the cool ocean breeze and the relaxing sound of the waves… wait, I DID do that. We can’t wait to return and try and top the amazing time we had last year! Thanks, Ken and Joanne for a vacation we’ll always treasure.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanks to our new friends!

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

The owners, Ken and Joanne are the best hosts and guides we have ever come across renting vacation homes. I honestly feel as though we've made new friends after staying with them.

This description is 100% accurate. You will not be disappointed in the rental, the grounds and amenities, or the helpfulness of the owners. Everything you need and beyond is provided. Everything is as clean as you could want. I'd check with Ken and Joanne about any gear you might want to borrow, rather than pack. My wife and I are avid snorkelers, and we could have just brought trunks, and used their gear, even offering to lend us an underwater camera.

Their love of the Puerto Morelos reef and park comes through in every interaction you will have with them. As others mentioned, they even offered to take us to the reef in their own boat, and show us the great diving locations. There are scant options for meals nearby, so plan on renting a car. La Pepitas 20 min. away in Puerto Morelos is a great place. Ken and Joanne recommended to us.

So, book this property, and stop worrying. Come enjoy the Bahia Petempitch area as much as we did, and meet our new friends, Ken and Joanne.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanks to our new friends!

Review submitted: April 28, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

The owners, Ken and Joanne are the best hosts and guides we have ever come across renting vacation homes. I honestly feel as though we've made new friends after staying with them.

This description is 100% accurate. You will not be disappointed in the rental, the grounds and amenities, or the helpfulness of the owners.

Everything you need and beyond is provided. Everything is as clean as you could want.

I'd check with Ken and Joanne about any gear you might want to borrow, rather than pack. My wife and I are avid snorkelers, and we could have just brought trunks, and used their gear, even offering to lend us an underwater camera.

Their love of the Puerto Morelos reef and park comes through in every interaction you will have with them. As others mentioned, they even offered to take us to the reef in their own boat, and show us the great diving locations.

There are scant options for meals nearby, so plan on renting a car. La Pepitas 20 min. away in Puerto Morelos is a great place. Ken and Joanne recommended to us.

So, book this property, and stop worrying. Come enjoy the Bahia Petempitch area as much as we did, and meet our new friends, Ken and Joanne.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 8, 2014

Very nice and cute,clean ,the hosts Ken and Joahn are great people,and very helpfull,strongly recomended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It was a lovely cozy beach house with access to swimming pool and sea.

Review submitted: March 25, 2014   Date of arrival: March 10, 2014

My husband and I were thrilled with our cozy little get-away. The beach house was well equipped with kitchen, king sized bed, large screen television and a separate sitting area upon entry. Owners were delightful and respectful of our time, giving us plenty of space. Owners also took us on a snorkelling adventure, to the Mesoamerican Coral Reef, located nearby complete with pictures of our adventure. We would definitely go again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Litlle paradise....

Review submitted: January 23, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

Early this month my wife and I stayed at Casita de Playa for 10 days and we had a great time. The photos are very accurate, and the beach is just a doorway away! Most days were spent walking on the lovely beaches and playing in the water. The owners have all the equipment for snorkling, if you wish to do so. The villa itself has everything you need, for nice romantic getaway, for two. The owners, Ken and Joanne are great hosts, and we can't thank them enough for their kindness and help when we needed it. They keep their grounds and pool very immaculate, it's just beautiful. Once you come there, you know that you are in good hands. Just about 10 minutes walk by the beach, we enjoyed our selves in nice resort for evening programs, when we felt like, to do so. Just about 10 minute car trip to the south, there is a lovely litlle town of Puerto Morelos. The town has many good restaurants, bars and shops to choose from. All at a nice slowpace. One more thing, every place we went, we felt very safe and welcomed. I would recommend this villa to anyone, who wants to spend nice vacation, away from crowded place. For us, it was perfect. The owners will help you any way they can. I know we will make it back one day .... Thank you Ken and Joanne!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Vacation!

Review submitted: November 19, 2013   Date of arrival: October 20, 2013

We(husband & wife) recently spent two weeks in this delightful guest house! Everything was exactly as it was described. The accommodations were very comfortable and we had everything we needed. The kitchen was well equipped. The owners were very helpful, answering any questions we had about the area. (They are delightful people!) They were very good at making us feel "at home" without intruding. We have vacationed in the Yucatan Peninsula many times and we rank this vacation as one of the best. The location is close to Cancun and Playa del Carmen for sight seeing and activities with a very relaxing place to call "home". We will definitely return in the future. All in all, a delightful place!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for 2 that like to explore

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

If you like to go exploring this is a perfect place. It is centrally located between Cancun, Playa and Puerto Morelos and not too long of a drive to Chichen Itza. Even though you'll likely explore, we still spent several hours and an entire day at the cottage and beach right outside Ken and Joanne's house because it was quiet, relaxing and beautiful. The cottage is clean and has everything you'd need. Joanne and Ken were especially helpful in giving us information regarding the area including setting up a tour with a fabulous tour guide at Chichen Itza and snorkeling equipment. A car is essential because the cottage and house are out of walking range to any town, but that gave it a more romantic (private and quiet) quality. We loved it!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely stay

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: February 19, 2013

Last month my husband and I stayed at Casita de Playa for 5 nights and we had a great time. The photos are very accurate, and the beach is just a doorway away! Most days were spent discovering the lovely beaches and playing in the water. The owners have all the equipment to snorkel the beautiful turquoise waters if you have to notion to do so. The villa itself has everything you need, and more! Ken and Joanne are great hosts, and even left us a bottle of wine to welcome us. What a nice surprise! They keep their grounds and pool immaculate, it is beautiful. We enjoyed a lovely wedding at Moon Palace, which is just a 10 minute car trip to the north, and lovely meals in the town of Puerto Morelos which is just a 10 minute car trip to the south. We love that town, so many restaurants, bars and shops to choose from. All at a nice slow pace. We felt safe every place we went and felt very welcomed. I would recommend this villa to anyone. For us, it was perfect. The owners will help you any way they can. I know we will make it back again, hopefully in August when the whale sharks are visiting. Thank you Ken and Joanne!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet and peaceful with great hosts

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 24, 2013

We spent a week in the guest house when we came down to visit a friend in Puerto Morelos at the end of Feb. Ken and Joanne are great hosts, balancing between making you feel at home with good conversation and giving you lots of personal space. They even took us out snorkeling one day just because they love to do it themselves. Joanne takes great underwater photos and gladly emailed copies to us. We enjoyed the pool and patio and the bench beside the ocean is a wonderful place for your morning coffee.

The quest house is perfect for two, well maintained, clean and Ken has put in a sophisticated water purification system making tap water some of the best we have ever had (coming from BC, Canada that says a lot).

You will need a car to get around as there aren't many restaurants within walking distance. We found a good rate and pretty convenient to rent from BlueWay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Quiet and relaxing with great hosts

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 24, 2013

We spent a week in the guest house when we came down to visit a friend in Puerto Morelos at the end of Feb. Ken and Joanne are great hosts, balancing between making you feel at home with good conversation and giving you lots of personal space. They even took us out snorkeling one day just because they love to do it themselves. Joanne takes great underwater photos and gladly emailed copies to us. We enjoyed the pool and patio and the bench beside the ocean is a wonderful place for your morning coffee.

The quest house is perfect for two, well maintained, clean and Ken has put in a sophisticated water purification system making tap water some of the best we have ever had (coming from BC, Canada that says a lot).

You will need a car to get around as there aren't many restaurants within walking distance. We found a good rate and pretty convenient to rent from BlueWay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Life in paradise! It's NEVER been this good.

Review submitted: February 27, 2013   Date of arrival: February 5, 2013

We stayed in the casita for two weeks in February, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The owners made us feel completely welcome on their property, and provided so much local knowledge of the area, that we felt like locals ourselves.

The casita is a very comfortable home away from home, with everything you need to make your vacation experience the best that it could be. The king size bed provided for restful evenings, and the air conditioning was very much appreciated, since we hit some unusually warm weather during our stay. With the suite being just steps from the beach, we spent many hours on "beach patrol" and found the location to be very relaxing, not nearly as busy or congested as Cancun or Playa Del Carmen.

We rented a car for our trip, since we knew that we would spend a lot of time travelling the Riviera Maya to visit the ruins and cenotes. It's probably a good idea to have a car for this location, since it's a bit of a walk to catch the nearest collectivo. You can do the buses, but a car makes getting around much easier. All those stories you hear about driving in Mexico are false. We had NO trouble with police, gasoline attendants, or driving at night. The road system is great, and cars are very affordable to rent.

We can't say enough positive things about our time in Puerto Morelos, except to say that we'll definately be back. Also, a personal thank you to Ken and Joanne for making our stay so memorable and enjoyable.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Rest and Relaxaton Delivered

Review submitted: February 10, 2013   Date of arrival: January 28, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a winter escape from Chicago, a quiet space to unwind and recreate. "Paradse for Two' was all we hoped for, and more. We have visited the Puerto Morelos area before and have enjoyed the beach life and the quiet, laid back pace of this small fishing village. Our goal was to walk the beach, lounge by the pool and enjoy the hospitable local culture. The guest cottage was more than comfortable for the two of us with a great bed, quality towels and furnishings, and a completely equipped kitchen. If starting each day with a mug of coffee and a stroll along the beach is your pleasure, come here. The grounds of the home are surrounded by a stone wall, and attactively landscaped by your hosts. The pool area and palapa are perfect for sun or shade, and the beach front features a small grove of palm trees that give just the right amount of privacy from the rest of the beach. Your hosts are snorkleling enthusiasts and were kind enough to take us to the reef for a visit. Everything in the listing was as advertised. The property was immaculate. The hosts were welcoming and helpful in answering all of our questions. Having a car is a necessity. It is only a 20 minute drive from the airport or into Cancun, a ten minute drive to Puerto Morelos. We picked up groceries and beverages at the Cancun Walmart for breakfasts and snacks and took advantage of restaurants for a meal each day. We also paid a visit to the Jungle Spa outside of Puerto Morelos, and will definitely return again for the best massages we have ever had. We are looking forward to a return visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

our stay at casita de playa

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: February 19, 2012

My husband and I spent a week at Ken and Joanne's cottage, as we had a wedding to attend at the Azul Sensatori. It was quite convenient , only 5min walk away. We were given good tips and ideas from both Ken and Joanne on interesting places to see. Renting a car made it possible to get around, Cancun just 15 mins. away.
Ken and Joanne couldn't do enough for us, as they accommodated us as part of their family. It is also highly recommended to have travel medical as my husband got ill and had to be hospitalised. Ken and Joanne were there to visit him regularly, which gave him comfort knowing that he was not alone in Mexico. I would highly recommend casita de playa for a quiet time away. Thanks to Ken and Joanne for all they did to make us feel at home.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great week on a private beach.

Review submitted: February 26, 2012   Date of arrival: February 13, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our week in the cottage. Comfortable accommodations, Port Morelos and Cancun only 10 to 15 minutes away, loved walking the beach. I do recommend renting a car. Loved going to Port Morelos for lunch and then Cancun for dinner. If you want peace and quiet to just enjoy the sun, beach, and pool, this is the place. Tulum, Xel Ha, and other attractions within reasonable driving. Great place for a couple of any age.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Definitely "Paradise for Two"!

Review submitted: February 25, 2012   Date of arrival: February 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week in February while attending a wedding in Puerto Morelos. We absolutely loved the place! The owners; Ken and Joanne were very accommodating and full of helpful info and recommendations. The cottage was lovely; it was clean and had everything you needed for a comfortable stay. The location was perfect. The rental is closely situated between many attraction points. With a car rental, Cancun and Playa de Carmen were easily accessible for shopping, dining or adventure. Casita de Playa has great access to a wonderful private beach with great snorkeling. Ken & Joanne gave us a personal tour of a close by coral reef with wonderful snorkeling and photo opportunities. Hot afternoons were spent relaxing in loungers and enjoying the crystal clean and refreshing backyard pool. We couldn’t have asked for a more relaxing holiday! We would highly recommend a stay at Casita de Playa.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Opinion of Casita de Playa

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 4, 2011

We found the listing was accurate describing the location and the listing photos accurately showed the appearance and amenities of the rental. Everything was very clean and well maintained. The KS bed was especially comfortable. The kitchen was nice and had everything that we needed. It's a great place, because there is easy access to Cancun and Playa del Carmen. The cute fishing village, Puerto Morelos, was only only a few minutes drive and had lots of fun restaurants and places to shop. The blue water is wonderful and I just loved the white sand beach. The snorkeling righting front of the house was great and they had all the equipment. The snorkeling out at the reef is really spectacular! The beach and pool were very private, and relaxing in a hammock under the palapa was delightful. The owners Joanne and Ken were very pleasant and helpful with information about the area and recommendations for places to go and things to do.I would freely recommend Casita de Playa to anyone, especially for a romantic get-away, and look forward to my next visit. To be really comfortable here, I do recommend you have a car.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review