reviews for: listing #86312 - Sequoia, California House rental

Hafuma Ranch
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $290 - $350 /nt
    $1,800 - $2,100 /wk
    $5,000 - $7,000 /mth

sort by:

Peaceful Getaway

Review submitted: April 1, 2014   Date of arrival: March 21, 2014

Surrounded by a peaceful farm filled valley, this was a picturesque place to stay. We had a wonderful time walking around the surrounding area, playing pool in the game room, sitting around the fire pit at night and swimming in the pool. Also, we caught a few fish in the pond! I would definitely stay at the Hafuma ranch again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing and Fun!

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: October 17, 2013

Family including 8 mo old grandson and pets enjoyed 5 nights at Hafuma Ranch. The home although retro to the early 70's was very comfortable and clean. We caught a few little fish in the pond, but saw several larger fish who loved to tease us by popping up their heads and jumping. We visited during the Springville Apple Festival and enjoyed visiting the booths and seeing the history of the small town. The giant sequoia's at the Ave. of the Giants were amazing and only a short drive from the property. Early morning started with coffee and a soak in the jacuzzi, then sitting on the large porch and reading for hours or playing fun games with the family and tossing a fishing line to the pond. With the sound of cows in the pasture and birds all around. Evenings were spend by the fire pit, playing pool in the pool house and enjoying the quiet of the ranch. We will visit again sometime, maybe make a holiday week of it - plenty of space for large family.
Would like to see some upgrades to the retro appliances, but really have nothing but great things to say about our time there.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for family reunion

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

Hafuma was perfect for our family reunion! We are four separate families (six adults) with five kids (ages 8-13) among us, and the house was big enough to accommodate us comfortably. The children were thrilled with the layout of the house and all the amenities. We fished, played paddle tennis, used the archery supplies, swam, and hiked up the hill behind the property. Our city kids were especially happy to have a cow to pet! We had expected to spend more time in the national parks, but the drive was longer than some of our more carsick-prone members could handle more than once, so we ended up staying at the house on what would have been a "park day." That was fine -- there was more than enough to keep us happy at Hafuma! We never got the hot tub to heat up, and the toilets were a little reluctant to flush all the way, but neither thing was a big deal. The house was clean and was just as advertised, and Jeff was easily reachable when we had questions. Thank you so much for a great vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

A fun and funky getaway

Review submitted: August 1, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

Hafuma Ranch was a blast. This house was so much fun for our entire group. Everyone felt like they had the place to themselves because the layout was perfect for a large group. The décor was a blast, the pool was awesome, the views just incredible. Star gazing kept us all up late wishing on falling stars. The honor stand down the road has the best oranges we have ever ate. If you are looking for a good place to stay while exploring the area(Sequoia/Kings canyon) look no further. Hafuma Ranch really delivered.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Hafuma Ranch Stay

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

The location description was accurate and the pond, pool, Jacuzzi and pool table were a source of fun for the boys. The owner was very helpful in answering questions and the handyman/caretaker came over promptly when the cows got loose. Added bonuses included boys excitement in catching fish in the pond and discovering the bullfrog in the Jacuzzi that had serenaded us nightly.
We enjoyed seeing the amazing Sequoias and hiking the Trail of 100 Giants.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Best Vacation Ever :)

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

Very nice place with activities for all age groups right at the Ranch. Strongly recommend it. We actually cancelled an outing just to be able to spend the entire day enjoying the activities the Ranch had to offer. Swimming, Spa, Tennis, Hiking, Fishing and a Pool table. Also has a beautiful deck. Very spacious and the vast open area outside was just right for the large group we had.

- Memorial Weekend 2013

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Retreat at Hafuma Ranch

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

Very nice place! I highly recommended. We came with a group for a planning retreat for our church, we got everything done while working surrounded of beautiful views. Photos don't show all the beauty this location offers. Thanks Jeff for sharing your place with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Retreat at Hafuma Ranch

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

Very nice place! I highly recommended. We came with a group for a planning retreat for our church, we got everything done while working surrounded of beautiful views. Photos don't show all the beauty this location offers. Thanks Jeff for sharing your place with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hafuma Ranch

Review submitted: May 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

I have taken my family to Hafuma Ranch on five occasions. In the summer, the kids love the diving board and swim-up bar seats...we hand them smoothies through the window. They also love to hang out and play pool and pinball downstairs while the adults enjoy the most gorgeous view from the deck in the late afternoons. I'm not an artist, but the view was so amazing that it inspired me to paint on canvas. We also love the fact that they have a Jacuzzi and WiFi. On our last trip my husband took the kids on a hike that they all loved. We've also taken some really fun bike rides in the nearby mountains. During one trip we went to the Sequoia's and that is something everyone should do at least once. Each year there is also a rodeo in town which is interesting to experience. There really is a lot to see and do. We just love this ranch....we'll go back again and again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful vacation!

Review submitted: May 7, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Our group of 4 adults and 6 kids stayed at Hafuma Ranch for a week and had a wonderful vacation. While yes, the decor is a bit dated, it certainly contributed to the home's charm. The kids had a great time playing in the game room and swimming in the pool, especially after a long day of exploring the area. The house is spacious, with plenty of room for all of us to spread out. It is central to many areas of interest, with streams for fishing very close by.
Our family had a wonderful time here and would love to come back again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful settting, lots to offer, needs a little work...

Review submitted: February 22, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

We enjoyed our time at the Ranch, what a beautiful setting! The house was clean and spacious. The pool keeper who stopped by was friendly.

The house is definatley out of the 70's and the property, decking and ponds could use some TLC. On the other hand the property amenities were great: pool, spa, pool table, gas outdoor fireplace, paddle ball court, etc.

Owners response: Thanks Seth,
Glad all went well. The Koi Pond covers come off next week as it's real cold. The fishing pond is natural from water that flows down and eventually gets to us from Mt. Whitney.

Thank you very much.
Come on Back

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect For A Mini Family Reunion!

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

My parents, sister and family, and my family spent a wonderful week at Hafuma Ranch. The house is spacious, with big rooms and easily accomodated the 10 of us (with a queen blow up mattress). Between the pool, spa, pond, paddle ball court and pool table, there was plenty to do at the house. We also visited Balch Park, which is stunning! We rented horses and rode through the redwoods and even went to the Kern River (2 hour drive) for some white water rafting. Hafuma Ranch is a great property and there is lots to do in the surrounding areas. Swimming at night under the full moon with firepit burning is magical. All in all we had a fabulous week!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Top of the line -

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

This was a an awesome place, we were in the area to finish up some personal business and comming back tot his place every night was great. If you can't relax in this place then you never will. Fully equipped, neatly maintained and interesting tidbits all over the house. You would never be able able to find a place to stay in this nice in a price range near this. If you have never been to the Sequoa National park stay here and make the trek up Balch Park road and check it out. I won't be a spoiler and give away all the secrets and charm of this wonferfull home but for those who appreciate the finer things in life this will be an event of a lifetime

Enjoy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hafuma Ranch - an entertaining property

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

Our families with teenagers spent 3 nights at Hafuma Ranch. With the pond, the pool, the tennis court, the property itself was an entertainment. There was spacious living space inside. The best is the view of mountains from any corner of the house. We did enjoy Hafuma Ranch. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Really unique property in a great setting.

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 12, 2012

This is a fun, comfortable house that has a lot of personality. Pool and game room are awesome, outside fire pit was great at night. Great place to stay while relaxing in a country setting and have some fun. Owner was very helpful and accommodating. The property was clean and although the house can use some TLC, everything was functional and no problems regarding the property. I would recommend this place to anyone staying in this area, far better and more economical for groups versus staying at any motel/hotel.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Nice Family Vacation

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

We rented the house as a last family vacation before our kids go off to college. All 4 of us had a wonderful time. The house is beautiful, inside and out. The views are breathtaking. Having the pond was great, my husband and I fished every day. All 4 of us played on the tennis court. Unfortunately, Balch Park was closed due to snow, but taking the main entrance to Sequoia was only about an hour drive. There is a small store in Springville, that has great tri-tip sandwiches and the people are so friendly. We enjoyed playing pool with the kids and relaxing in the hot tub at the end of the day. It rained our last two days there, but with so much to do in the house, it was no problem. We would definitely stay here again when we decide to go back to Sequoia. The owner, Jeff, is very nice and easy to work with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sisterhood retreat

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

Some of the girls from my sorority rented the house to hold our sisterhood retreat for a night and the place was great! There was a lot of space, which was perfect for our needs. The weather was beautiful this time of year as well. Fantastic place to get away from the everyday stresses and just relax! My only complaint was that there were some issues with the WiFi working all the time and as college students, we were hoping to get some homework done on our trip. Other than that mild hiccup, I would definitely come back again!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your response. I'll look into the wi-fi for future guests.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay.
Jeff

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice Property to unwind & enjoy!

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

My Family Had a great time, staying at this home. The property is huge with it's own cattle, pond, pool & Spa, tennis court, nice giant game room with pool table (seprate from house), and amazing views of the mountains and surrounding city. First thing every morning I looked forward to opening the curtains from the floor to ceiling windows that wrapped around the entire back side of the house, views are breathtaking. Walked the property in the am so peacefull, and saw a few deer too. The Koi pond is so pretty at the entrance of the home. Master bed/bath is enormous, and private on one side of the house, and other bedrooms down the other side. House was very clean, and in good condition. It had all the necessary items needed for bedding, bathrooms were stocked, and the kitchen had stocked cooking tools & dishes. We enjoyed the pool & spa after our horseback riding day, and to cool down after our hikes. We enjoyed boating at Lake Kaweah, a large and clean lake, about 45 min drive, So worth it. They have pontoon rentals, and fishing. Horse back riding @ Balch Park, super windy drive up hill 1 hour, but pretty. The Sequioa tress were everywhere at the top. Wish we would have only made this trip up instead of going to the other entrance (tourist side) which is crowded and is another super windy drive to get to. There is a nice gas station/ convience store on the way up by lake success (only a few miles away). Has a Subway sandwich inside and lots of snacks etc.. Nice employees too. We would stay here again for sure if we came back to the area. The property is very relaxing, lots to do, and the owners are very nice to work with. Thanks for a nice time Jeff.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Plenty of room for everyone

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Hi Jeff. We had a great time at the ranch. Beautiful views! Plenty of room for everyone and the dogs. The only disappointment was the arcade games didn't work. We are planning a white water rafting trip for next summer, if it's in your area, we would love to rent the ranch again! Vivian

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

Hi Jeff, Our stay at the ranch was fabulous and 4 nights was really not enough, may be because we went to Sequoia National park for 2 days and went to Balch park twice. We missed the white barn landmark and the GPS took us up to the upper Tule river area to make a U-turn and it took us a day to go and come back. For us this is the first time staying at a ranch and all of us really liked it and you allowing us to come early on Thursday made it even better. Our kids loved the swimming pool and the pool table. F (the huge parking in the front was great, and I had no issues) for some. The need to lift and lock the entrance gate may be little discomfort for some. The complaints will depend on individuals, for us our only complain will be that 4 nights was not enough. I really missed the fishing part, I didn't know how to setup the fishing rod and didn't had time to figure it out. We all enjoyed our stay and wanted to write our comments in the guest book, but we could not locate it. I want to thank you for allowing us to stay one extra night, it made a lot of difference for us. I want to come back to this ranch property again, next time for a week may be late spring next year. I will keep checking for deals on this property. I will check with other and let you know their feedback as well. Regarding the book, I am not sure if it is ours, let me know what book it is? I will check with the other families and get back to you if it is ours. Regards Chandran

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

We went to Balch today horseback riding really beautiful. The owners were very nice. Long windy drive but worth it. We drove to lake Kaweah and rented a boat on Tuesday, lake and water were perfect. Kids had a blast! We purchased some small blow up rafts and tubes that we are leaving here for the pool. We don't have a pool and thought your future guests could use them. Wednesday we drove up the tourist way to the sequoia national park. Pretty, but long drive. Balch was a jewel wish we had just gone there instead. We love the cows, the kids have named a few, and the dogs love to sit on the deck for their up close view of them. We all had interesting conversations about the underground tunnel to the pool/ game room, wondering how the concept was thought to build it. You have a nice piece of land. I'm sure there are lots of memories made here. Thanks for the fun! I'll send you a picture of us. Joanne

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Plenty of room for everyone

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Hi Jeff. We had a great time at the ranch. Beautiful views! Plenty of room for everyone and the dogs. The only disappointment was the arcade games didn't work. We are planning a white water rafting trip for next summer, if it's in your area, we would love to rent the ranch again!
Vivian

--
Vivian

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

Hi Jeff,

Our stay at the ranch was fabulous and 4 nights was really not enough, may
be because we went to Sequoia National park for 2 days and went to Balch
park twice. We missed the white barn landmark and the GPS took us up to the
upper Tule river area to make a U-turn and it took us a day to go and come
back. For us this is the first time staying at a ranch and all of us really
liked it and you allowing us to come early on Thursday made it even better.
Our kids loved the swimming pool and the pool table. F (the huge parking in the front was great, and I had no issues) for
some. The need to lift and lock the entrance gate may be little discomfort
for some.

The complaints will depend on individuals, for us our only complain will be
that 4 nights was not enough. I really missed the fishing part, I didn't
know how to setup the fishing rod and didn't had time to figure it out.

We all enjoyed our stay and wanted to write our comments in the guest book,
but we could not locate it. I
want to thank you for allowing us to stay one extra night, it made a lot of
difference for us. I want to come back to this ranch property again, next
time for a week may be late spring next year. I will keep checking for deals
on this property. I will check with other and let you know their feedback as
well.

Regarding the book, I am not sure if it is ours, let me know what book it
is? I will check with the other families and get back to you if it is ours.

Regards
Chandran

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

We went to Balch today horseback riding really beautiful. The owners were very nice. Long windy drive but worth it. We drove to lake Kaweah and rented a boat on Tuesday, lake and water were perfect. Kids had a blast! We purchased some small blow up rafts and tubes that we are leaving here for the pool. We don't have a pool and thought your future guests could use them. Wednesday we drove up the tourist way to the sequoia national park. Pretty, but long drive. Balch was a jewel wish we had just gone there instead. We love the cows, the kids have named a few, and the dogs love to sit on the deck for their up close view of them. We all had interesting conversations about the underground tunnel to the pool/ game room, wondering how the concept was thought to build it. You have a nice piece of land. I'm sure there are lots of memories made here. Thanks for the fun! I'll send you a picture of us.

Joanne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Really sleeps 10

Review submitted: July 3, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2010

This place was fun. We took two families. Actually had 12 (6 adults, 6 kids). Kids ran free, we relaxed. Took a drive up to the Kings river and the sequoias. Great location for a trip to the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peace and quiet!!

Review submitted: July 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 2, 2010

Great place to hang with the family. Stayed at this ranch a year ago. It was kept up well. Had fun hiking, fishing, and just sitting by the pool. I will go back again if it is available.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review