reviews for: listing #86351 - US Virgin Islands, Caribbean Villa rental

St Croix on the Beach--Breezy Beach-enjoy the quiet east end
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  St. Croix East End
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,800 - $2,800 /wk

sort by:

Perfect for Families

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: July 3, 2014

Beautiful !!! Very spacious and clean. With 3 bathrooms and 2 VERY large bedrooms, it was perfect for our family. We loved being so close to the beach and being able to hear, see and smell the ocean. The Owners and Manager were super friendly and helpful. The view was breathtaking.
Wifi signal was pretty weak which was fine with me but my teens were lost without their tech stuff. The pool was a wonderful place to hang out at night.
The landscaping was beautiful.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Oceanfront luxurious solitude

Review submitted: May 4, 2014   Date of arrival: April 6, 2014

This private home has open space with a most beautiful glass dining table on the covered lanai with the full view of the ocean, manicured grape trees and other blooming shrubs where the birds and mongoose entertain over morning coffee and early evening dinners. The freshwater pool cleaned two or three times a week is a relaxing change from the tossing surf. We wished there were screens on the glass sliders to allow the night breezes in, but the well positioned ceiling fans kept the interior comfortable. Closing the sliders just before dark is a necessity to keep the biting insects out. We grocery shopped once each week at the big Plaza Extra on Centerline Road, stocked up on wine, and made ourselves at home cooking meals inside and preparing picnics daily for our excursions to the several beaches on the island. Rarely will you ever find a rental home on the beach for as reasonable a rate and as enjoyable as Breezy Beach!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We thank you so much for your helpful review. We would like to assist future guests with some added clarification regarding some of the natural "residents" of St. Croix (our evening/DUSK insect "friends"). In our guest information and helpful hints info/book, we emphasize an awareness of the flying insects which become active just before the sun goes down until just after full darkness sets in. In this house guide/information we recommend closing the glass doors to the porch during this interval of insect activity(1 hr before to 1 hr after sunset). After the darkness has settled in, guests have the option to open the glass doors again and enjoy the evening breezes and sounds of the local tropical creatures before evening retirement with the glass doors again being closed and secured for the nights rest. Enjoying the tropical beauty of St. Croix does require a few minor concessions to the natural "residents" (our insect friends) of the island.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rest and Relaxation

Review submitted: April 1, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

My wife and I spent 2 weeks at the Breezy Beach House and we enjoyed the peace and serenity of the property very much. We had the entire beach to ourselves the whole time we were there and the privacy of the pool was outstanding. I highly recommend this property for those looking to unplug and get away from it all for a while. We will definitely go back again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

We stayed here for our 20th anniversary & it was everything we had hoped for. It was nice to not be "contained" at a resort. Whether relaxing at the secluded beach, lounging by the pool, or just relaxing in the hammock, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The local restaurants offered excellent food. We also went out to Buck Island with captain Llewellyn and explored the local towns. We would like to return in the near future and perhaps bring our 3 teenagers this time. Lee, the owner, and Amy, who met us at the airport were a pleasure to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our third vist as special as the the first...

Review submitted: November 24, 2013   Date of arrival: November 2, 2013

My wife and I have done a fair amount of travel in recent years which includes four anniversary trips to St. Croix. We have stayed at Breezy Beach the last three trips. We thoroughly enjoy the privacy and relaxation offered by this ocean front beach house.
Whether lounging around the pool, sitting in the beach chairs at the water's edge or dining at one of the island's many great restaurants, it's an easy adjustment getting used to the island lifestyle.
I could go on and on about this place but the fact we have stayed there three times should say it all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise Found!

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

Words can not begin to describe Breezy Beach. Our family spent six glorious days here. It is exactly as described, but better. It is unlike anything I have experienced - your own private piece of paradise. If you want a place to relax and hear the sounds of the ocean breezes then look no further. The owner is one of the best I have ever worked with from beginning to end. We loved staying on the East End, and found many wonderful restaurants. Great lunch at Ziggy's - and just really nice guys! We loved Blue Water Terrace and Cheeseburgers in Paradise. I HIGHLY recommend Breezy Beach - we hope to return someday! Thank you for sharing your piece of paradise with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Location - Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2013

The stay at Breezy Beach was incredible. The house was even better than the pictures. Nice open floor plan with plenty of space for my husband & I and our 2 teenage boys. Every morning we opened the sliding glass doors all the way open so we had an open air living space. The sounds of the water and the breeze that came through the house made it so relaxing. The pool was in excellent shape and was used every day! From booking the house to the moment we arrived, when Pam met us at the airport, we felt taken care of. We followed her from the airport to the house, and she even stopped at the grocery store so we could pick up a few things for the morning.

Driving around the island was easy to get used to (on the left side). Nice short trips to anywhere on the island. Driving through the rain forest and to many of the beaches was great fun. We especially liked the Jeep Tour. The tour guide takes you to places on the island you would never go on your own. The tide pool was our favorite.

I highly recommend Breezy Beach for a family get away. Relaxing, beautiful, well maintained and sights and sounds you will not believe.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A week in paradise

Review submitted: May 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

We wanted to stay longer after a week there. It's was a secluded and relaxing Shangri La. The recommendations on places to go and restaurants were spot on. It was our 35th wedding anniversary and the best vacation we have ever had in the US or abroad.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

tranquility base

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

Both the sky and the ocean are warm and inviting. The plantings between the home and the beach, those of seagrape in particular, are outstandingly well distributed and manicured. The seating on the front deck was very comfortable and the views colorful and unusually rich in the sounds of the sea.

There is a seagrape on the shore a few steps away, whose canopy provides great cover from the sun while the vista and the soft coral sand, crabs and seabirds dance and swirl, sing and cackle in endless drama.

Snorkeling is dreamy. I saw several hawksbill turtles, stingrays and multitudes of unnamed juvenile and adult fish in the first 45minutes of my first of many swims in Grapetree Bay.

If you shop for and bring home breakfast and lunch materials, there is no reason to leave during days of ultimate warmth and serenity, charm and ever caressing breezes. Let your heart rate drop and breathe. Breathe some of the cleanest air there is. Stare at the sparkling sea at mid-day and drift across its surface.

If you feel so inclined, there are several hiking loops that wind through, over and around a nearby Nature Conservancy property. They begin just a ten minute walk from you backdoor. The trails are well maintained and offer spectacular views and multiple swimming and snorkeling opportunities. Be sure to follow the trail past Isaac's Bay to its eastern terminus, follow the contours to cliffs that jut out toward the prevailing trade winds and watch giant swells crash thunderously blue and foamy. Bring a map and you'll find the place. It's well worth the hike.

We've rented many homes on St. Croix in many locations, from mountainsides to beaches and Breezy Beach is our favorite. While the home and its location provide peace and quiet a car easily provides the rest of what you need. There will be many returns.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

very nice ( très agréable)

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

it's was a big pleasure to visit ST CROIX, as we are from near Paris, it was very pleasant , to be welcomed by PAM
all is exactly as on the photos, all was perfect
very calm
As the swimming pool were not clean when we arrived (a lot of wind ) and as my husband can't swim in the see, the owner has asked to the cleanning man of the swimming pool , to do the necessarry very quiclky
Many thanks to the owner to be so reactive to help us
DOMINIQUE FROM FRANCE

Owners response: We are always pleased when our guests enjoy the tropical beauty of St. Croix as much as we do . True to its name "Breezy Beach" does occassionally have palm fronds blown into the pool from the surrounding Palm trees, we do our best to assure regular pool maintenance (2x per week), and I , as well as our on-island mgr (Pam) are always available during your stay to answer any questions or should an unexpected need arrise at Breezy Beach.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

highly reccomended

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 22, 2012

Me my husband and my 4 kids ages 10-4 plus my sister stayed here for a week. Pam met us at the airport and let us follow her to the house so we didnt get lost. When we arrived at the house at around 9pm it had not been put together for our stay (beds were unmaid, chairs and tables from outside were inside exc.) But the owners were very good about it, they put us up in a resort for the night and had someone there to get it ready for us the very next morning. They called us and apologized and also pro-rated our rent. We were more then pleased with the way it all turned out. The house itself is super cute and the pool was very clean. They had 2 hammocks and lots of outside seating/lounge chairs. Its basically located right on the beach and for our stay it was very very private. We were the only ones on the beach. Which we loved! They provided a grill, which we used almost everyday. The beds were comfy and there was definitely enough room to sleep 7 comfortably. the Kitchen was well equipped, there was a cooler with wheels in the bedroom closet that we filled with waters for our longer car rides. If your worried about not having air conditioning, don't be you wont need it. It was in the upper 80s for the duration of our stay and the house was perfectly comfortable with the windows open and the fans on. If I come back to the Island I will definitely stay here!

Owners response: Thanks so much for your patience and understanding with my mistake in scheduling the opening and cleaning crew on your arrival day. We have since instituted a "double-check" system for crew scheduling. We were very happy to learn that the remainder of you stay was quite enjoyable. Thanks again for choosing Breezy Beach, Lee and Murrie.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

My wife and I with our five children (ages 4 to 14 years) had a wonderful 8 nights/seven days in St Croix. Breezy Beach/property 328063 was just what we were looking for, a paradise get-a-way. The pool maintenance gentleman came 3 times, and we saw a few friendly people at the beach, otherwise it was solitude! Now, one of my favorite places on earth is the nearby Issac's Bay, definitely better than Jack's Bay (which was also nice). We loved opening the wall of windows on the back of the home to enjoy the view, wave sounds, and gentle breeze. We all ejoyed the pool, the kids loved using the pool. We also went to the rainforest, to Buck Island (with Mike on the Jolly Roger), gift shopping in Christainsted, to several restaraunts, and to church on Sunday. I also did a 2 tank scuba dive off the wall at Cane Bay. The owners are helpful and easy to work with. Pam with the property management was so helpful, and acted as a personal guide going to and from the property... thus eliminating any stress which might have occured finding our way. Thanks for such a great spot to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Ben----it is always a pleasure to share our home with a family that appreciates the tropical beauty that ST. Croix offers.---Lee and Murrie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Time at Breezy Beach!

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

We had a lovely time staying at Breezy Beach! Be sure to check out the short hike to Jake and Issac's Bay and the hermit crab races throughout the island! The house was wonderful and the views are spectacular! Thank you Breezy Beach for a wonderful vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly Recommend!

Review submitted: April 27, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

We really enjoyed our first trip to St. Croix. The house was wonderful and the pictures don't tell the whole story. The view from the back of the house is fabulous. There is a constant breeze and the sounds of the Caribbean will lull to sleep at night. We really appreciated Pam meeting us at the airport. The house would have been very difficult to find, especially at night. Good to hear that the cable channels have been expanded - that was really the only negative, and a minor one at that. We had a great week and highly recommend Breezy Beach. We definitely plan to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words , it is a pleasure to share our home with guests that appreciate the wonderful tropical beauty that St. Croix has to offer.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Breezy Beach

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

We spent a week over Christmas as Breezy Beach with our two teenagers (14 and 16). I'm so grateful that we rented a house rather than stay at a resort. The home was nice and the view was breathtaking. Very relaxing to sit on the patio in the shade or by the pool in the sun. The walk to the beach is quite short. The water was rough so when we wanted to swim we visited other beaches. Nearby Cramer Park has much calmer water and was nearly deserted. The pool was cold so we didn't swim in it. The owners have anticipated most of your needs including beach towels. Don't plan to watch TV as there are virtually no channels. And there's no DVD or VCR so don't bring movies to watch at night. We felt very safe in the house. The rental agents were very helpful in getting us to and from the airport. The pictures accurately depict the house. The owners were cooperative and helpful. I would recommend Breezy Beach.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Recent Breezy Beach upgrades (April 2012) include a new flat screen TV, upgrade of the cable service from 30 channels to 70 channels and a new DVD player with a modest library of DVD's , bring your favorites.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A week in paradise

Review submitted: November 19, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

My wife and I just returned from a fabulous anniversary trip to St. Croix. Having been to the island on a previous trip that we both thoroughly enjoyed, we decided to return. Although we had enjoyed our stay at the Divi Carina Bay resort on the previous trip, we were hoping to find something a little nicer this trip.
I began my extensive on-line travel research about six months prior to our anniversary literally tagging hundreds of options on the island. I built a spreadsheet listing amenities, rates and included comments about each property derived from web page content. I used the exercise to narrow the field to roughly a dozen options and then contacted property owners directly for additional information. After careful review I kept coming back the Breezy Beach property. My wife and I found the ocean-front aspect to be an appealing intrigue. We booked our stay several months in advance and hoped for the best.
The booking process was very easy and dealing with the owners and real estate broker managing the property was a pleasure. Pamela, from the brokerage firm managing the property, met my wife and I at the airport with a smile. We soon realized one of our bags was missing so Pamela assisted my wife with filing a claim while I picked up the rental car. We then followed Pamela to the Breezy Beach property where she walked us through the house and got us acclimated to the place.
It was dark when we first arrived at the property so we didn’t fully appreciate the place until the next morning when we opened the expansive patio doors exposing the stunning tropical sunrise and fresh ocean breeze. We were mesmerized by this view our entire stay. Words and pictures cannot do this view justice. It’s something you have to personally experience to fully appreciate.
We easily navigated the island in our rental car (keeping left) for day trips through the rainforest on the west-end, shopping in Christiansted and eating out at a variety of great restaurants with spectacular ocean views. My wife and I found the quiet and relaxing island atmosphere we were looking for and so much more during our stay at Breezy Beach. We hope to make Breezy Beach our special anniversary spot every year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

WOW

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Myself my boyfriend and his parent stayed here for a week and were amazed with everything about ths place. It started with the Realtor who met us Amy ( who by the way is the best I have ever met she helped with us everything and was so kind and helpful.) The owners are so nice and understanding about everything. The place is breath taking. We would wake up in the morning and sit by the pool and look at the ocean. The water is so blue it's unreal. At night we would have all the windows open and listen to the the sound of the ocean as you sleep. The house has everything you need. It's away from the town you truly feel like you are on your own private island. I would recommend anyone to stay here. My family and I will be visiting again next year. Thanks for all your hospility. See you soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Summer rental

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

Just returned and had a great time. No problems with this beautiful house on the beach. It has everything you need to have a great time. Used the pool and snorkeled every day. Best place to snorkel is about 50 yards to the west of the house. We drove while there and saw a good deal of the island. We decided that the east end is the best place to stay for us. It is easy to feel that you are on your own private beach as we saw few people at grapetree beach while we were there. Had a good time at Cramer park a short drive north of the house. A good beach for small kids. There is the casino not far away if you like to gamble and I would suggest Duggans Reef restaurant just a short drive on the north side of the island. Lee and Pam were very helpfull as they say in St croix "no problem". If you like the pictures you will love the house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Million Dollar Views!

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

We had a wonderful time in St. Croix. The views were outstanding and the beach was very private. The house was perfect for our family. Our son went on a coconut hunt as soon as we arrived. They are plentiful! He and our daughter loved exploring the yard and beach. We dined at many of the local restaurants. Duggan's Reef was our favorite. The food was outstanding. We also snorkeled over at Buck Island with Caribbean Sea Adventures. Make reservations and go early in the week then you can get a repeat trip for half price later in the week! Paul and Jill's Horseback riding is also a lot of fun. You will learn a lot about the rain forest. Had a great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a Home!

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 20, 2011

We've been to St. Croix many, many times and have always stayed in a hotel. This year we decided to stay in a house. The pictures on the website do this home no justice. This home is so spacious. The kitchen is well equiped with dishes and utensils. The appliances also all worked well. The master bedroom has a king size bed that was firm and comfy. I slept like a baby listeng to the sounds of the breeze and the surf! The MB also has a full bath with a large walk in shower. The guest bedroom has two queens and a twin be. They were equally as comfortable. The GB also has a full bath with a tub/shower. There is also a bathroom with a walk in shower off the kitchen. The greatroom looks out onto the seaside galery with a spectacular view of the sea. The pool is very nice and we spent much of our time there. The owner and Pam, the local caretaker were very accommodating. I use a wheelchair and can get around some with a rollator walker and if you can manage a few steps to the front door, the rest of the home is totally hc accessable. The home is as far out on the East End as you can go, so a car is a must. There are many fine places to eat nearby and the main town of Christiansted is only 20 minutes away. We were sad to leave and would rent this home again in a heartbeat!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Secluded, quiet, and perfect

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

This house sits just yards off the beach, with views of the ocean from the porch that the pictures only attempt to approximate. No need to ever eat inside with a dining table facing that setting! The clear blue waters invite snorkeling and swimming, and walking east along the beach can be either leisurely (along the beach) or a great hike (up the hill towards Point Udall, which is the easternmost point in U.S. territory). You have seclusion without isolation, as several homes are nearby, but rarely did we see anyone else along the beach. A casino and the Divi Resort is about 1.5 miles away. Small to medium-sized pool off the porch was ideal, for the few times we didn't spend on the beach or out around the island. You'll probably need to rent a car, however, as stores/Christensted are about a 10-15 minute drive away. Great value, and a great week. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great house! Beautiful island to vacation!

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 6, 2011

I have traveled all over the world and no place has been as beautiful as the island of St. Croix. This is an amazing house with a beautiful view of the gorgeous turquoise water and the white sandy beach. There are huge sliding glass doors that face the beach, we opened these doors every morning, it was like the whole wall was removed and you got the feeling you were right on the beach while you ate breakfast on the porch. I loved the island culture and experience, the people are lovely there are many things to do if you choose to, but it also gives you the feeling you are on your own private island. The house was very spacious and had everything you would possibly need. I plan to return again as soon as possible!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise Found!

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

Our family was able to go to sleep and wake up to the soothing sounds of the ocean. The view from the house to the ocean is just breath taking. Every morning we had breakfast while watching the waves roll in. The beach is nearly a private oasis and we often had it entirely to ourselves! If you just want to grab a book to read, the pool is a perfect lounging area with palm trees adjacent. The kitchen is fully stocked with equipment for preparing full sized family meals. Christiansted is just a short car trip. There are many restaurants within 10-20 minutes, but we opted to eat in most days to stay pool and beachside while dining. From the house, taking a 15-20 minute hike, there is a path to Issac's Bay, which had some of the most beautiful snokeling I have ever seen! Issac's Bay is part of a park reserve and is only accessible by foot. This was one of the most relaxing vacations I have ever taken! I hope to be able to return every year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Total Relaxation

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

The pictures of this house are very good, but when you walk thru the front door and see the view out back, the pictures just don't do it justice! Wonderful home, very relaxing, comfy beds, couches. We did not turn the TV on once, spent the days outside, reading, swimming, snorkling, exploring, napping. Amazing breezes and the sound of the ocean just take all your troubles away. If you like hiking, Jacks Bay is about a 10-15 minute walk up the road, beautiful scenery and secluded beach, we found baby turtle tracks into the ocean! We rented a car and did day trips as well to Buck Island, Cane Bay, etc. Highly recommend staying at this home if you are looking for total relaxation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review