reviews for: listing #86356 - Bryson City, North Carolina Cabin rental

Cozy Mountain Cabin 2 miles from Nantahala River and N O C
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Nantahala Gorge
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $150 /nt
    $875 - $950 /wk

sort by:

Great cabin

Review submitted: May 26, 2014   Date of arrival: May 18, 2014

Absolutely loved everything about the area. The NOC was amazing. Rode the GSMR and had a wonderful day. Went to the Joyce Kilmer Forest, it was beautiful. Went to Deep Creek campground and hiked to the 3 waterfalls, beautiful. Annette and Mickey were so very helpful whenever we had questions. Nice place to stay, nice area. Couldn't ask for anymore for a vacation to get away from it all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place to Relax

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 24, 2014

Our first time at the mountains and we had a great time at the cabin it was very clean. Everything was well organized. Extremely cozy awesome place to be in. Stonewood Cabin gets 5 stars. Definitely a place to come back, thank you Annette and Mikey.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Another great time

Review submitted: February 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 30, 2014

We had a wonderful family trip last year and planned a girls weekend this year. We had another amazing time. The cabin is very relaxing, very clean and has everything you need. The owners are wonderful and check in with weather reports including parking ideas to keep you safe. We had a hard time getting up to the cabin after a crazy week of weather. They got it all worked out and got us and ALL our luggage to the door. We will return again. Every experience we have had with this rental has always been wonderful. Thanks again For all your help and another great vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

THE MOST AMAZING,COZY CABIN.

Review submitted: January 25, 2014   Date of arrival: January 2, 2014

We absolutely LOVED the CABIN! what a beautiful and amazing place! so ,so clean and cozy. The setting is so beatiful and relaxing, and it is very clear how much thought ,love and care you put into this cabin. We couldn't have possibly needed anything we didn't have available. The beds were so comfortable and the kids loved the loft. The view was spectacular and the sound of the waterfall was amazing. We were trully blessed during our stay. The kids absolutely loved playing with snow for their first time in their life. The owners (Mickey and Annette) are super amazing, very helpful in providing information about everything and anything. We very much appreciated the time, effort and details you provided to make sure we had a great time. We have never seen a rental property of any kind like yours. It is definetely a MUST STAY! Thank you so much again. Our time in this cabin was the very best. One that we will always treasure forever and a place we will love to visit again. May the Lord continue blessing your cabin with his amazing peace.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Simply cozy getaway!

Review submitted: November 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 31, 2013

The cabin was the perfect place for our family to vacation! We enjoyed the landscape, made use of the fire pit area every night, took long walks in the mountains, and sat on the porch to reminisce about our day adventures. Awesome accommodations inside the cabin (kitchen, bedrooms, etc) and a great spot to nearby cities too. Lastly, the owners are SUPER wonderful, very helpful in providing information about everything and anything! It is a MUST STAY at this cabin for your next vacation! We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Mountain Family Retreat

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 21, 2013

This cabin was wonderful for our family of four, for well-needed time away in the beautiful mountains of NC. The home is well-equipped, as we lacked nothing during our stay. It is simple but artful in its design and decor. The natural setting is amazing. Quiet, peaceful and lovely but not too remote. Great area for campfires in the evenings...firewood is provided. The location is great, as it's a short drive to all the outdoor adventures of Nantahala and the Appalachian trail. Bryson City is about 15-20 minutes from the cottage, and is a nice, authentic small town with a few good restaurants and a large grocery store. We hope to return to the Stonewood Cabin for another nature/mountain in the near future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Felt like home away from home

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 23, 2013

We had a great time at the cabin, and hope to be back in the future. It was very clean, and we loved everything about it! It's obvious how much you guys care about your guests and that is wonderful. It really felt like a home away from home. Thanks again and I wish you continued success.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved our stay in the cabin

Review submitted: August 24, 2013   Date of arrival: August 12, 2013

We loved our stay in the cabin. We are planning to come back again next Spring or Summer. I love how the place is away from it all but yet so close to the local attractions. We really fell in love with the place and the area.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a fantastic time

Review submitted: August 24, 2013   Date of arrival: August 5, 2013

As usual, we had a fantastic time at the cabin and the surrounding area. The kids just love the loft and are just in love with the area. Everyone had fun, and Woody caught up on his beauty sleep! I hope we can come back to Stonewood next year. The new hardwood floors look great and the cabin is just stocked so nicely.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had A Wonderful Time

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: April 25, 2013

We had a wonderful time. The cabin was perfect for us and we enjoyed every minute. Everything was great, although I could not work the heater in the living room. Everything else was perfect. Thank you again for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceeded Our Expectations

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

We had a great time and the place exceeded our expectations. When we go up again we will surely rent your cabin.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stonewood Cabin is a great place to stay when visiting the Smoky Mountains & Nantahala Area

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

Out stay at Stonewood was a lot of fun. The Cabin is well equipped, firewood is supplied, there were no hidden fees and they even took the garbage away. We were close to everything, right up the road from the Nantahala Outdoor Center and just a few miles away from Bryson City. We had never been to the Mountains in late Winter, didn't know what to expect but it was awesome. The Winter "views" are amazing. We fished in the Nantahala river and caught lots of trout and we did a raft fishing trip down the Nantahala as well and that was really fun, splash suits and all. The owners were very helpful during the entire process of choosing and finally renting a cabin. We would recommend this Cabin to anyone who goes to the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cabin perfect for our family

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the cabin, and all agreed that it would be a place to which we want to return. The only thing that could have made our trip better, is if we would have had more time to stay. The cabin was perfect for our family. Your decorating style and attention to details made it even more special. The coffee table binder (info book) was impressive and left us with lots of ideas for things to do on future trips. Thank you so much for providing such a relaxing, beautiful setting. We can't wait to return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect

Review submitted: February 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

This is exactly what we wanted. Very cozy, clean, great location and had everything we needed. The owners could not have been more thougtful or helpful with their advice and concerns for us. They even made sure we knew that icey weather was expected. All the direction and suggestions were so helpful. I loved all the details you have thought of, from the fire pit ready to go, to the ingles advantage card with the key! We will be back! The boys loved their room upstairs, they thought it was the coolest.. Thank you again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are very happy you enjoyed your winter getaway! We look forward to having you as guests again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

One of the easiest rental weeks we have had

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

Quoted from an email we received - We had a great time at the cabin. We definitely took some of your activity suggestions. The trip to Wayah Bald was well worth it. We rafted at the NOC - just down the hill - that was great for convenience - we did a 3:30 trip and got back by 7 pm for dinner and evening activities. We also did some of the things we had planned from other trips - tubing at Deep Creek and hiking the Alum Cave Bluffs Trail, exploring Bryson City and Franklin a bit. Your cabin information book was incredibly helpful in figuring out where things were and how they worked. All in all this was one of the easiest rental weeks we have had - not stopping for keys, etc, not having to figure out where to get firewood, or where the nearest grocery store was were great conveniences.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The cabin was the perfect home base

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

Quoted from an email we received - I cannot begin to tell you how much fun we had!!! It was great to have fun doing the things that we love to do together. What a week - we kayaked, zip-lined, rafted, hiked and swam. The cabin was the perfect home base. It was wonderful to come home to such a comfortable, cozy,home after a hard days play. We had quite an adventurous time on the river. Thank you for everything and your amazing attention to detail! I don't think we can wait a whole year to return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a grand time

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

Quoted from an email we received - We had a grand time at your cabin with our friends. It was clean, well-stocked and well organized. Your book of how to operate the various appliances, the things to do and the menus were most helpful. Your directions to the cabin were right on the money.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great cabin and wonderful time!

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

Quoted from an email we received -

We are so appreciative when we can travel with our dog. We absolutely loved the cabin. It was perfect for us - so cozy and clean and it felt like a cabin. Often you are just going to a house in the woods and I prefer the cabin feel. The pictures you had on the walls were great! The location was outstanding. The weather did get a little cold so we were not able to have an outside fire (too windy) but we did get to Tsali on both days and listened to some blue grass down at NOC, found a great coffee bar and Nantahala Brewing Company in Bryson City. We both hope to get back there sooner than later. Thank you again for a great cabin and a wonderful time!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful home and a beautiful setting

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 30, 2012

Quoted from an email we received -

Thanks for everything. We really enjoyed staying at the cabin. It was exactly what we needed, beautiful home and a beautiful setting.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

R & R and FUN

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

Quoted from an email we received -

Hi Annette & Mickey!
Thank you so much for sharing your cabin with our family. We signed the guest book and I could have written a book about how wonderful it was and how much fun we all had! We absolutely loved the area and the river, and could have stayed another 3 or 4 days! Our girls just got out of school last week so we all really needed time away together as a family and our vacation to your cabin was just what we all needed for R & R and FUN! Thank you both again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Vacation

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Quoted from an email we received -

Dear Annette & Mickey,
Thank you so much for everything. We had a wonderful time and all the suggestions and advice you gave was so helpful. Again thank you for everything. This was the best vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2008

We had a wonderful time at your cabin. I think we tried to do everything on your list of favorite things so we were very busy! Your suggestions were awesome. We tubed Deep Creek, white water rafted the Nantahala, visited Joyce Kilmer, took the Tail of the Dragon to Tennessee, visited Wayah Bald, hiked the Appalachian Trail around the NOC and up to Wesser Bald, and toured Cherokee including Mingo Falls and Clingman's Dome. Due to the unpredictable weather in the evenings, we did not go to the outdoor drama. We did end up going to Tsali and we were glad we did it. If anyone wants to bike Tsali without committing their day to it, I'd suggest going on the day the Right and Left Loop are open to bikers. We took the Right Loop which allows you to take a cut-off so the trip is 4 miles vs 8-11 miles. That was plenty for us since we had our dog with us. We also took an 11 mile trail suggested by the NOC that ran along the Nantahala River on FS 3088. It was a lovely trip and we could bike beside each other. We really appreciated being so close to NOC and enjoyed spending time there eating and watching the river. Both kids had such a good time that they tried to persuade us to call you to see if we could stay another week! I've really missed having coffee on the front porch this week. That was a very important part of our morning ritual and the kids enjoyed coming out to join us. What a beautiful part of North Carolina. Thank you for sharing your cabin with us.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 17, 2010   Date of arrival: April 27, 2009

We absolutely LOVED the cabin. We were telling everyone about it here and want to return again in a couple of years with more people. Our honeymoon was perfect! Everything about it was great, the weather, the people, the activities. We had a great time! The gift basket was an awesome touch. I couldn't think of one thing I didn't like about the area, I even talked to NOC about job opportunities. We were truly blessed during our stay. Thank you again so much!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 17, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

The cabin was awesome and we had a great time in the area. We kayaked, mountain biked, hiked, swam, tubed and swam some more! The kids had a great time. We told them about the bears and most mornings when our daughter woke up she would take her books or her notebook and pens and sit outside on the porch and wait for a bear to appear. She was disappointed that she never got to see them. Thanks again and I'm sure you will see us again! Have a great summer.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 17, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

We had a great vacation and enjoyed the cabin! We very much appreciated the time and effort and details (even down to the Ingles Advantage card) you provided to make sure that we had a great time. The directions to everywhere were invaluable. Our sons will talk about the whitewater rafting trip for years to come. We visited Fontana Dam, hiked in the national park, tubed in Deep Creek, biked Cades Cove and saw a bear cross the path right in front of us! My husband and son are train buffs and rode to Dillsboro, while our more cosmopolitan son and I enjoyed the afternoon having a great cup of coffee at Great Perks, complete with internet access, and we explored the towns of Bryson City and Dillsboro. We'll come to the area again for a long weekend so we can tour the Biltmore House. We have rented from VRBO and HomeAway for many years and in many different states, but you win the award for being the most thoughtful and helpful landlord - truly committed to making our vacation a great one. We will recommend your properties to all of our friends and family who want a special trip to the Great Smokies.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review