reviews for: listing #86365 - Kihei, Hawaii Condo rental

Sept/Oct. Open, Oceanfront/View,Free Wifi,Parking,Pool!!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Luana Kai Resort
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $170 - $219 /nt
    $1,190 - $1,533 /wk

sort by:

Very comfortable, great location in Kihei

Review submitted: May 4, 2014   Date of arrival: April 23, 2014

Condo and property are immaculate.
Jean is such a gracious and hospitable host who made our stay in her home a great pleasure. Lovely upgraded kitchen with well stocked pantry made cooking breakfast and dinner a snap. The sheets and bed were very comfortable and we all slept really well. The condo is in a great location not far from a private beach and is very private and peaceful. The lanai was a great place for relaxing and I saw a landscaper maintaining the premesis each day. Close walk to coffee, gelatin and shopping. Would stay here again, not just for location and price, but Jean was great to work with, very sweet and trustworthy!!! Thank you ?

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Accommodations

Review submitted: March 8, 2014   Date of arrival: February 17, 2014

We stayed at Jean's condo for 2 weeks in Feb/March 2014. The condo was outstanding on the quiet end of Kihei Rd. This is a very nice condo with an island color scheme. The furnishings were comfortable both inside and on the lanai. There is air conditioning but you can get a nice breeze moving if you use the ceiling fans and keep the windows open. Everything was there for our use. The only thing you need to bring is a change of clothes, perishable groceries and a toothbrush. The cupboards were well stocked with almost everything imaginable including aloe vera for my husbands nasty sunburn. Having a washer and dryer in the unit is a great advantage. The laundry detergent & fabric softener were provided. The kitchen has all kinds of stuff you might need including a mix master, food processor etc. We have made several trips to Maui and have never stayed somewhere that was so well stocked. The condo was very well cleaned without a speck of dust anywhere. The floors shined. The gardeners are meticulous. Not a single blade of grass was out of place. The area around the pool has several bbq's and an outdoor kitchen. The pool and hot tub were nice and didn't have excessive chemicals used. Jean was very attentive to our needs. She answered phone calls and replied to all emails within minutes. She provided a lovely gift basket for us filled with coffee, potato chips, chocolates plus other goodies. She has a book of information in the condo with recommendations for restaurants, activities, etc. I would highly recommend this condo for anybody that needs a two bedroom. I wish there was a way to leave more than 5 stars because this place is a 10. Thank you again Jean for sharing your lovely condo with us. I cannot wait to go back. We will most certainly rent from you again on our next trip.

Owners response: Thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our condo. I want all our guests to feel like home. I know you mentioned A/C in your review. As of June 2, 2014 the A/C is no longer offered. The beauty of the Luana Kai design allows soft trade winds to move through the condo. I hope you can stay with us again in the future. Thanks again!!
Jean

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Repeat-Worthy Property!

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: September 10, 2013

Jean has put a lot of time and effort into making sure this property feels like home. Good quality furnishings and recent remodeling, slate and hardwood floors, granite countertops, and newer appliances all add to the great location to make your stay one you'll remember. The unit is outfitted with thoughtful decor, has local artwork gracing the walls, and provides little extras that we so very appreciated. For example, washer and dryer are in the unit, along with soap, for convenience. The pull-out sofa bed was perfect since I was traveling with my two kids and our Au Pair - there was plenty of room for everyone. Beach chairs, coolers, boogie boards, and all the things you would want to use (but not necessarily buy and drag home) during your stay were available, and the kitchen was stocked with appropriate amenities and seasonings to cook meals at home.

The location is great if you like South Maui. The beach at the complex is perfect for walks, watching the sunset, and playing in the shallow waves. Shops and beaches for swimming and snorkeling are just a short walk or drive away. The pool area has MANY gas grills - no waiting in line! Additionally, a sink, stove, fridge, and microwave comprise an outdoor kitchen for cooking and dining al-fresco. The pool isn't large, but is perfect for little ones to expend some energy and have a great time.

Compared to our previous condo rental experiences, this just felt right, and I can say I would love to be a repeat renter!

Thank you for providing a great spot for us, Jean!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Condo - Clean and neat

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

A great place to stay. The property was as advertised, the condo was very clean, modern and spacious. It was also well stocked with all the essentials. The pool area was clean and well maintained, our children enjoyed it very much. The location in Kihei is so close to many amenities and a great number of first class beaches. The owner Jean, was very responsive to all our questions and a genuine delight to deal with. Our family of four thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we will absolutely be booking this condo for future trips to the island. Look no futher if you want to spend time on the Island.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our stay in Luana Kai Resort

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Our condo in Luana Kai Resort was just perfect! The place was very clean and well equipped. We recommend it for friends and family. Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

More Than Promised!

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 19, 2013

We rented Jean's 2 bedroom condo and absolutely LOVED it! Jean was wonderful to work with, she was so attentive and answered all the questions I had without complaint. Everything described in her ad was as promised or better. When she said that she had all the little things we would need (ie: condiments, cooking spray, beach towels and chairs, coolers, etc...) that was an understatement! The only things you need to bring are your clothes, toiletries and food - every single other thing is there for your use. It's a good thing we arrived late and didn't have time to shop until the next day, as we would have bought a lot of things that Jean already had there. This is a very spacious condo, and with the loft bedroom and bathroom upstairs it just felt so spacious and airy. There is a/c but we never needed it. There are brand new huge fans (2) and we had them going, and closed the curtains for a few hours in the afternoon when the sun was on that side and it was a nice temperature. It was so great to have the washer and dryer in our own unit. All of the appliances look new and the kitchen has been gorgeously renovated. Jean even thought about the lanai and how to get the best view of the ocean. She has a taller table and chairs outside, so when you are sitting you can see the ocean perfectly! I looked at all the other units around us and they all had low table and chairs, so they would be looking at the railing and not the ocean! We so enjoyed looking at the water every morning and every night from that great vantage point. We spoke to a lot of people by the pool and some were not happy with their accommodations in other units. Either they were very dated, or they used the resort cleaning staff (Jean has her own cleaning person who is meticulous!), or their unit was not what was promised. That is not the case here at all, we could not have asked for more. Wanted to mention how great Kihei is too - lots of great stores, a fresh fruit/veggie market just down the road and all kinds of good restaurants if you want to eat out. Tip: Shop at Foodland (ask for their discount card), best prices on the island. We found the produce at Costco to be very disappointing and wished we had just shopped at Foodland in Kihei from the start. Thanks Jean for sharing your condo with us, we have given your info to a few friends already and we will definitely be back!

Owners response: Thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our condo. I want all our guests to feel like home. I know you mentioned A/C in your review. As of June 2, 2014 the A/C is no longer offered. The beauty of the Luana Kai design allows soft trade winds to move through the condo. I hope you can stay with us again in the future. Thank you again!!
Jean

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing Property in Kihei! 5 Stars!

Review submitted: December 27, 2012   Date of arrival: December 16, 2012

Amazing Property, Condo was beautifully decorated and included everything you could hope for in a beach vacation home. Besides all the small kitchen appliances, the cupboards were even stocked with oils and 20 or more spices. The surprise basket of snacks was just another added bonus. The owner, Jean, didn't miss a thing. Thank you so much for everything, we could not have asked for or expected more in a fine hotel. A++

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Maui Vacation

Review submitted: November 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 19, 2012

My family stayed in this condo and had a wonderful time--the condo is very well stocked and the grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. We had a view of the ocean and pool. The pool/hot tub area was wonderful with six gas barbecues--very convenient for dinners. This condo suited our needs and was close to everything. The beach that it is on is not the best for swimming, but great for walking on.

Jean, the owner was wonderful--lots of good information. I would definitely rent this condo again.

Tim and Pat

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise

Review submitted: September 1, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2012

Aloha! This is a great property. The grounds are beautifully maintained. The pool and outdoor kitchen along with many grills were a wonderful treat for nights that we opted to cook our own meals. The beach closest to the property was not the best for swimming, but that is ok since there are MANY nearby. The location in Kihei is perfect! I found the owner of the property is easy to get ahold of to answer questions regarding the property before we committed to staying here. And she provides a wonderful list of recommendations for excurssions to restaurants to try. I would highly recommend staying at this location. I myself am counting the days until I have enough vacation time saved up so I can return! Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: September 1, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2012

My husband and I traveled with our two adult children, ages 21 and 19 to this lovely condo last August 20-29th. The property is well managed and maintained beautifully. The condo has everything you could want from home without having to pack it - everything except a can opener, at least I couldn't find one! :) The location in Kihei is PERFECT. There is not a great swimming beach right at the property, but there are MANY just a short drive away. The beach in front of the condo is lovely for watching the sunsets though. The owner of the property was very pleasant to deal with and was available for any questions that we had before we arrived. She supplied a very helpful book of area attractions and eateries that she and past guests had recommended. I will be counting the days until I can return! Mahalo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Barbara for staying with us. We appreciate the feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry you could not find the can openers, we have two. We have an electric one in the lower kitchen cabinet and a manual one in the kitchen drawer. Hope you can stay with us again in the future. Again Thank you.

Jean

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazingly family friendly condo!

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2012

Luana Kai was such a lovely part of our amazing visit to Maui! The condo is better even than the description. The decor is bright and cheerful, spotless and inviting. We love to cook and couldn't have been more happy with the beatiful kitchen, fully stocked with everything you need to create gourmet meals.
The public areas are clean and well tended...literally not a leaf out of place. The pool and hot tub area are great for relazing and socializing...we met other kids to play with our son and had a ball. The ocean outside the property is lovely and sunsets primo. Another plus is the location, which is central to the attractions of Maui...beaches, Lahaina, Hana etc...
Working with Jean was so easy and she was very helpful in preparing for our trip. Can't say enough about how much we enjoyed this experience.
We had a wonderful stay in this property and we plan to visit again ASAP!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sehr freundlicher Kontakt und Top Condo

Review submitted: March 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2011

Die Anlage und das Apartment sind sehr Ordentlich und gepflegt. Man muss wirklich nichts mitnehmen, das Apartment ist voll ausgestattet mit allem was ein normaler Haushalt auch hat und das ist Top Qualität ! Wir haben das Apartment aus Deutschland gebucht und können es nur empfehlen bzw. werden bestimmt wieder kommen.

I`m loving it ! Thank you Jean !

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

The best condo eperience ever!

Review submitted: November 1, 2011   Date of arrival: September 8, 2011

Jean,

Your condo was absolutely everything you said & then some! We couldn't believe that we were so fortunate to find such a great affordable condo on Maui! Our September stay was special as we were celebrating our 10th anniversary on Maui which is where we lived when we met. We brought along another couple who had never been to Maui and they trusted us to choose something that they would be happy with as well. From the minute we walked in the door we were at home! The condo is beautiful & had every single item we needed (I even have the same Pier One lamps in my family room:). The only purchase we made was for perishable items as everything else was already there. The quality of the condo, pool area and the location is outstanding and we couldn't have made a better choice. Thank you for all you do to assure our comfort & make our time on Maui special!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Great place

Review submitted: October 26, 2011   Date of arrival: October 17, 2011

The Condo was absolutely perfect and very clean with updated ammenities. Beautiful view from the Lanai and a short drive to plenty of dining experiences. I will definitely be coming back and staying agian. The owner is very helpful with things to do while in Maui.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Awesome location, cant wait to go back!!

Review submitted: October 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 2, 2011

First of all, I just want to say that the pictures do not do any justice! The condo itself is nicely updated and very "homey" feeling. We had everything we needed(beach towels, chairs, coolers). The owners do a really good job of having all the necessities there for people to use!! It was a well taken care of grounds, the common areas were always clean. We liked being able to go to the pool and BBQ out there.
There is no doubt in my mind that we will be back, and I will stay in this condo, for sure! The location made it very easy for everything.
Another thing I liked was the the owners made it very easy to contact them, everytime I had a question, she would repond very promptly. Also, she returned our security deposit very quickly!!
Over all it was a great vacation and awesome rental

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Excellent Place to Stay

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

Our family loved your place. We felt right at home. When we go back to Maui we will only stay at your condo. Thank you for taking the time to make our stay so pleasurable! We would HIGHLY recommend anyone planning a trip to Maui to stay here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

maui condo

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

Everything was wonderful about condo.owner was great to work with.Location of condo was good easy to get to activities and airport.
we would use condo again and also recommend to others

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Home Base in Maui

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 4, 2011

We recently spent four nights at this lovely condo in Maui. The location was great - close to everything, but it's all the little touches the owner has added in that made it so much more special. She really had everything covered - from beach chairs, towels, boogie boards, etc. Plus a wonderful granite kitchen and fantastic lanai which made staying in just as much fun and as comfortable as exploring the area. The pool area at night is really special - lit by torches - it made for some wonderful sunset watching.
Loved it and hope to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Price, Comfortable Stay, Fantastic Owner

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 4, 2011

What a comfortable place to stay. Located in the middle of Kikei easy access to everything. The shopping is great and the dinning is great you must try Sarento's. After your day of touring & shopping, you can relax in this home away from home. The only thing better than this condo is its owner, she was an absolute pleasure to work with, ultra fast responses. This unit is highly reccommended. Thanks Jean.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This place is a steal!!! Great location, beautiful!!!!

Review submitted: May 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2011

This condo is ideally situated to explore South and West Maui. Its a short 5 min trip to many of the Kihea restaurants, groceries, flea markets and shopping. Only a 20 min drive to Wailea and 45 min to Lahaina.

Jean is very hospitable and makes sure you have everything you need to enjoy yourself. The condo is very spacious with an upstairs and a downstairs bedroom and bath each. The kitchen is beautiful and well-designed and has every utensil you could possibly need. The grounds are georgeous and well maintained and the pool area is fantastic with a fridge to keep your food and beverages from the sun. While it's not a swimming beach by the condo, the sunsets are amazing and a nice swimming and snorkeling beach is only a 5-10 min drive away.

The condo has beach chairs, towels, coolers and a washer and dryer. Just bring your bathing suits!

I highly recommend this condo and I am a Homeaway and VRBO vacation villa owner as well.

Well done Jean!!

Alicia

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic location, wonderful condo!!

Review submitted: May 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2011

This condo is ideally situated to explore South and West Maui. Its a short 5 min trip to many of the Kihea restaurants, groceries, flea markets and shopping. Only a 20 min drive to Wailea and 45 min to Lahaina.

Jean is very hospitable and makes sure you have everything you need to enjoy yourself. The condo is very spacious with an upstairs and a downstairs bedroom and bath each. The kitchen is beautiful and well-designed and has every utensil you could possibly need. The grounds are georgeous and well maintained and the pool area is fantastic with a fridge to keep your food and beverages from the sun. While it's not a swimming beach by the condo, the sunsets are amazing and a nice swimming and snorkeling beach is only a 5-10 min drive away.

The condo has beach chairs, towels, coolers and a washer and dryer. Just bring your bathing suits!

I highly recommend this condo and I am a Homeaway and VRBO vacation villa owner as well.

Well done Jean!!

Alicia

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Holiday Retreat

Review submitted: April 9, 2011   Date of arrival: March 7, 2011

This condo is a perfect getaway. I loved the vaulted ceiling of the condo it felt so much larger and having 2 bedrooms with queen beds was great especially if you share it with 4 adults. We were looking for a nice 2/2 condo to share with our parents which were visiting us from Europe. This Maui vacation was a surpise Birthday gift for my dad who turned 80.
We had a wonderful 8 days which we’ll never forget.
Enjoying all our meals on the lanai, from early morning breakfast (listening to the birds and enjoying the view), to walks on the nearby beaches, sightseeing trips, and ending our day watching the sunset while enjoying a glass of wine... this property is great!
Jean the owner provided all the amenities you'll ever need for a pleasant stay. From a welcome gift basket which was such a special touch to a well stocked gorgeous kitchen, and everything that you'll need for a day at the beach....cooler, beach chairs, mats and towels. This condo is tastefully decorated, well maintained, and clean.
We would recommend this property to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday in beautiful Kihei, Maui. Mahalo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise

Review submitted: March 6, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

I recently returned from a week at Luana Kai and I can't say enough great things about Jean and her condo. It was perfect, the condo has everything that you could possibly need, she hasn't missed a thing. The location is great and there was never a lack of parking when we returned from our adventures. The condo was spotless with a great pool and bbq area and a beautiful lanai to sit and watch the sunsets. I would definitely recommend Luana Kai to anybody planning a trip to Maui, I can't wait to go back!!! Aloha and Mahlo Jean! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place for families

Review submitted: December 9, 2010   Date of arrival: November 23, 2010

My husband and I have not been to Maui for 32 years so we were a little nervous about where to stay. We were taking my 97 year old dad for a last trip to Hawaii and we wanted it to be special, yet affordable. Jean's place turned out to be the perfect place.When we got there we were greeted with a complimentary bottle of wine and a lovely basket of goodies. The kitchen was wonderfully stocked with existing condiments and lots of dishes and utensils.The bedrooms were big and spacious , each with their own bathroom. The lanai had a view of the ocean and we loved to sit out there in the evenings to enjoy sunsets.My dad spent a lot of his time out there reading and soaking up the sun. The pool, hot tub and BBQ area was great and a wonderful gathering point to talk to fellow travelers. The location is also great- handy to nice beaches and stores. But I think the most important thing was Jean, the owner herself. She made every effort to make sure we had a good holiday and took particular interest in our situation. We really felt we were at home at her place. We had a wonderful time and would go back. Thanks Jean!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 10, 2010

Everything you need for a perfect gateaway you will find it in this place. Very spotless and the location is just perfect not to far from the beaches and shopping center. We stayed there before the renovation and my mother and sisters just loved it. We have been to a lot of places and by far havent felt like how we felt staying at Luana Kai. Jean had made the place so comfortable to where you would consider it as a home away from home because it is. I would recommend this to place to everyone, all ages. I just love everything about it, there isn't any other words that would describe my stay there but "Perfect". Thank you so much Jean for making my vacation the best I ever had.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: October 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 8, 2010

My family and I enjoyed our stay there. My family has a hard time adjusting to anywhere that isn't home, but this time was different they didn't wanna leave...It is truly home away from home. The condo was well presented and it is exactly what you see online. The location is perfect just minutes away from the main road and shopping center. The neighbors and staff were friendly and you really get your moneys worth. After this experience we officially made it our place to stay whenever we are heading to Maui. Thank you so much for such great hospitality and looking forward to staying there again. Mahalo Nui Loa!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Nice and Comfortable Place

Review submitted: October 11, 2010   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

Jean was great in getting me all the details before our departure. It was a very nice place and we enjoyed our stay very much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Stay

Review submitted: October 11, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

We loved Luana Kai. From our original contact with Jean to our arrival and stay at the condo, everything was fantastic. Jean was super friendly and helpful, she included all kinds of suggestions for restaurants and things to do. She even added the extra touch of welcome treats and a fresh pineapple! The condo was everything we wanted. It was clean,comfortable and provided for all our necessities. The bed(we only used one) was very comfy.The internet connection was convenient and the laundry facilities were a bonus. The grounds are very well taken care of, including the pool area and Bbq's which were spotless and the water was perfect. We would definitely book again! Stay here...you won't regret it.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Luana Kai

Review submitted: September 17, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

We stayed in this condo this spring, just before it was renovated.
Jean was super friendly with the booking process and even helpful with tips while staying in Kihei.
We loved the condo, it had everything we needed. The beds were very comfortable, it was very clean, had internet access and the in-house laundry was a bonus!
The grounds are beautifully manicured and taken care of.
We used the pool...very clean, and liked that there was a fridge there to store our snack & drinks... and restrooms too, so you don't have to go all the way back to your condo in your wet swimsuit. It looks just like the listed photos.
All-in-all, we'd love to stay there again and would definitely recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review