reviews for: listing #86372 - Hauula, Hawaii House rental

Big, Modern Sandy Beachfront Home...With All The Amenities!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $395 - $395 /nt
    $2,765 - $2,765 /wk
    $11,850 - $11,850 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Laidback life

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: November 16, 2012

Two of us are from Nova Scotia, two from Florida and one from Lake Louise, Canada. Love the laidback life on the north shore - wind, waves, mountains, turtles, ohana - nothing better than that. The windward side is the place for us. Some of us here many times since 1965, some of us here for the first time. All would come back. Truly an aloha house.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family holiday of a lifetime

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: November 11, 2012

Thank you so much for allowing us to spend our family holiday of a lifetime in your fabulous home. The sounds of the sea and serenity are breathtaking and we loved every minute. Sadly time to go home to the cold.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Felt so comfortable and so relaxed

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: October 17, 2012

Aloha! This is absolutely a great house! We felt so comfortable and so relaxed! The views from everywhere are just breathtaking. We loved having breakfast and dinner on the patio and hearing nothing but waves crashing. Our children had so much fun with all the toys, and so much space to move around. We will never forget our time here. Thank you so much for opening our beautiful home to our family. "Mahalo"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fab holiday

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

Thank you so much for letting us stay here. We had a fab holiday and loved being so close to the sea. We used all the sea toys and had loads of fun. I wish I could stay longer but it's time to return to chilly England.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just married

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: September 9, 2012

On August 25th, 2012, we were married and we decided this was the place we wanted to come on our honeymoon. So 5 of our wonderful friends packed up their bags & came with. These past 8 days have been filled with memories, beach, sun & beer! Thank you for the wonderful place to spend our time and make some awesome memories.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

As amazing as last

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: October 8, 2012

Round two! This time with family and just as amazing as last. Twice in one year - spoiled for sure. Hope it's not too long before the next...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great time

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

We had a great time at the house and exploring the island. The views here are breathtaking. Next time we will be back with the kids.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Never want to leave

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

We had such an amazing time here - the house had everything we could possibly need and more. We loved playing on the beach and exploring in town. We never want to leave!! Thank you so much!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We'll be back

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

Joe & Bella:

Your home is truly beautiful and breathtaking. One week is not enough time to enjoy the beach and the views. Thank you for opening up your home so others can enjoy the beauty! We'll be back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Family Vacation

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

What an amazing family vacation! The beaches along the north shore are beautiful and each provided a special memory! We all enjoyed the tourist hot spots in Honolulu, surfing in Waikiki, and swimming/snorkeling in Shark's Cove. Waimea Botanical Garden and waterfall took our breathe away...

Thank you for the comfortable and convenient accommodations! The Windward Beach House is wonderful and we look forward to a return visit! Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a Blast

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

Great house, great views, great location! We had a blast here - thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Home

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

My family and I have had the time of our lives here! You have an amazing home with breathtaking views. Everything we ever needed was here in your home! From the bottom of our hearts, thank you for sharing your home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely Beautiful

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

We stayed here for a few days and it was absolutely beautiful. The house is lovely and the surrounding town is adorable (Papa Ole's rocks!). Thanks for opening your space to us. We have truly enjoyed spending time hanging, ukulele playing and exploring. Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Completely at Home

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

Aloha! We really enjoyed ourselves here, and found ourselves feeling completely at home. We will be back. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

AGAIN, PLEASE...SOON!

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

AGAIN, PLEASE...SOON. (thank you for opening this beautiful home to us)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Very Happy New Year!

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

Happy New Year! And thank you for sharing your home. Your attention to detail and upkeep made us feel most welcome.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

How Lucky We Are!

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: November 15, 2011

As I sit here, the waves crash and my body still feels the rocking motion from being tossed around in the surf. This was my first trip to Hawaii and I will always remember it. Our vacation did not really begin until we got to the second floor of this beautiful house and went out the back door to the balcony. The five of us stood slack jawed at how lucky we were to stay in paradise. Thank you for having us as guests. We hope to be back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Heavenly House

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: October 29, 2011

We stayed for six nights with four adults and three kids. This house was heaven! There was plenty of space for all of us. The beach was the best part. We had a blast playing in the sand with all the beach toys. I would definitely come back. We BBQ'd and ate dinner every night on the beautiful deck. It is such a private yard. The house made for a great vacation. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Once-In-A-Lifetime Trip!

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: October 23, 2011

Today we leave this beautiful place. My sisters and I have made beautiful, lifelong memories here. The house has been perfect for us. More than we even imagined. Shawn, thank you so much for making our once-in-a-lifetime trip perfect. From reservation to checkout, you have been wonderful! Thanks from the bottom of our hearts!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ahh, the sweet sound of the ocean!

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

Thanks for having us! Beautiful place to relax and take it easy for the start of our holiday! Love the house and sound of the ocean. We will be back!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exquisite Piece of God's Creation

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 22, 2011

We were so fortunate to be able to join our friends on their 20th wedding anniversary trip. You have a fabulous vacation home! Everything is so beautiful in a comfortable setting. Hauula is definitely an exquisite piece of God's creation. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Home Away From Home!

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2011

Family of five - really enjoyed listening to the surf first thing in the morning and while falling asleep at night. Great location. Enjoyed being away from the hub bub of Honolulu Very peaceful home away from home. Would recommend to friends and family. Beautiful home!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great for Families

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

We are a family of three sisters, plus our mom, one sister's husband and son, and one sister's daughter. Seven of us.

Thank you so very much - this island is wonderful, your home was perfect for us, and we could not ask for more!! We were all here for my niece's wedding, which was fantastic...a mix of a traditional wedding with a a touch of Hawaii.

For myself and my daughter, this was a holiday, the first in my life and very much needed after the death of my son. The only problem is that I need several more weeks and if I could afford it, I would have booked a few more weeks. Would love to come back, but for much longer.

It was our mom's first time to Hawaii and because of her age, she may not get back. My daughter is ready to stay forever! The sisters are thankful that we got to have this time here with our mom. Many thanks for opening your doors to us!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Attention To Detail

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

Thank you for sharing your home with us. Your attention to detail was noticed. I have co-workers who vacation in Hawaii and I will recommend your home. Thanks for the wonderful memories!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous Place

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2011

What a fabulous place....we had a great time! The home is perfect for kids and adults. The morning sunrise is amazing! Thanks for sharing your place.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Holiday Never to be Forgotten!

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

We are from Germany and the Netherlands and had a wonderful time with our 3 & 5 year old sons. The house is lovely. We enjoyed snorkeling, swimming with dolphins and the wonderful nature! Now, our holiday is over - but we will never forget! Aloha & Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Time @ Beautiful House!

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 22, 2011

We had such an amazing time staying at this beautiful house! You truly do provide absolutely everything anyone would need to feel right at home and have a ton of fun. The setting with the beach right in front of the house was perfect. It was to be out of the busy city! Mahalo & Aloha.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We loved it!!!

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 19, 2012

It wasn't easy to select the perfect place to stay by looking online, but once we found this we knew that it was IT....and boy were we right! The listing and website are very accurate. A group of 7 of us (2 couples, 3 singles) ranging from mid 30's - 60, family and friends, all stayed for a week of bliss. Well, 5 of us were there for a week and the one couple only came for a long weekend and wished they could stay longer. The bedrooms and sleeping areas were all comfortable, and you can fall asleep listening to the surf. The landscaping is beautiful. The house itself provided plenty of room to eat together as a group or to hang out on our own. The kitchen was wonderful and we prepared nearly all of our meals at the house and ate together. The grill was easy to use and had the most impressive grill cover. We used the washer and dryer and all of the beach equipment daily, and there were plenty of towels and linens for all. This is an extremely swim-able location, well suited for children or folks who aren't strong swimmers or real comfortable in deep water. Yet, it was also great for snorkeling and kayaking. The area is very convenient to the North Shore or swimming/snorkeling up at the Turtle Bay Resort. There are two grocery stores just a few miles up the road. Tamura's Market is closer, cheaper, and has alcohol, while the Foodland is more extensive but does not sell alcohol (good place for souvenirs) - just give them your phone number to get the Foodland discount card! We recommend you buy local produce (at the stores) as it is fresh and very reasonably priced...and there are a few fruit stands along the road near Turtle Bay as well. There's a post office nearby. Shawn was great, the rental arrangements and payments went so smoothly, and the rental guide book is well worth reading as soon as you get there. Even taking out the trash was made easy because everything was so well explained! The highest compliment I have is that it didn't just feel like our home away from home - it *was* our home. I felt safe and secure and I had everything I needed right there. It's not a negative - but do be careful getting in and out of the driveway as its on a bit of a curve and it's not easy to see traffic. This is the place to relax and have fun with loved ones and ENJOY IT ALL because you will want to stay forever!!

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Perfect Beach Front House

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

Stayed for a week with a few friends. The house had it all. It was perfect for those lazy days and a good jumping off point for North Shore and down Windward side of island sightseeing. It's also close to those Yummy Shrimp Trucks and road side fruit stands. In the area I would definitely recommend Kahuku Grill, Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, and Ted's Bakery.
As soon as you opened the front door of the house you could hear the surf. It was great for lulling me to sleep. From almost all of the rooms you could see the Ocean and you felt as though you were on a ship. The Ocean directly behind he house was swimmable and most of the time we were the only ones in sight. There were tons of water equipment to use. i.e. snorkels, fins, body boards, kayaks and life jackets. We also got to enjoy a couple of sunrises from one of the house decks.
Shawn the property manager was very helpful booking, answering questions and provided all the info needed for a fun stay. I also want to note that the house was the cleanest and most organized rental we have ever experienced. We all agreed that this beach house is good bang for the buck.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Fantastic!

Review submitted: April 13, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

My family and I had a great time at this wonderful home literally right on the beach. It was just what I expected it to be and just as beautiful as the pictures and descriptions depict it to be! My two teenagers were worried there wouldn't be anything to do.. however, they loved swimming and body boarding at the beach right outside the back door and my husband loved to take out the kayak and snorkel. Everything you need is there! We loved going to the many & various beaches to play and to watch the surfers. The management is wonderful, providing all sorts of info about the area and recommendations. We were able to plan our whole stay just by the recommendations. We loved it so much that we were actually disappointed with Waikiki and all felt that we wished we would have just rented the house for the entire time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

awesome place

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 8, 2011

Great house, pictures are exact. Awesome home with unreal location and view. Swimming in the ocean is 10 feet from your deck. Air conditioning in every room, close to everything yet still private.
Shawn was very friendly and helpful, I would recommend this to anyone. I stayed with my wife, three kids, and in-laws and it worked out wonderfully.
Great value, and I hope to stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Watch the Sunrise and Listen to the Waves!

Review submitted: March 9, 2011   Date of arrival: February 10, 2011

We stayed in this house for 5 days the beginning of February 2011. We wished it could have been 5 weeks! The location is beautiful, the surf literally came up to within a few feet of the deck at high tide. We laid in bed and watched the sunrise over the ocean. The beach is beautiful and just the people from the surrounding houses are around. I loved the quiet, this is not a place to party it is a place to relax. There is a bit of street noise from the highway out front but not enough to bother you, the waves are louder than the traffic most of the time.
Everything we needed was there, toys, lounges and a super well equipped kitchen. The house is very intuitive, when you need something it is right where you think it should be. The beds were very comfortable and everything was clean, clean, clean!
Shawn, the manager lives next door and is super nice. He has put together a very helpful book about restaurants and attractions in the area that is on the kitchen counter. The pictures and description on the website are accurate. It actually looks better in real life than the wonderful pictures in the listing and on the website.
I am so glad we rented this home and we can't wait to go back! My only suggestion is however long you are planning to stay, double it!
As the only other review has the disclaimer that they are relatives of the owner I will put in my own disclaimer---I found this listing on Homeaway and didn't know anyone involved in the property. This was my first experience renting a vacation home and Shawn and the property have me hooked on doing it again and again for future vacations. 

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Looking forward to returning!

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

What a beautiful home! The location and accommodations are amazing. We will definitely recommend this home to everyone we know. We are looking forward to returning soon! Thanks for everything.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing time...beautiful house!

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 15, 2011

We had an amazing time in this beautiful house. Wish we could have stayed longer. You have a beautiful house with everything one needs to be accommodated with. We would definitely like to stay here again. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Really! On The Beach :)

Review submitted: February 10, 2011   Date of arrival: January 3, 2009

I am now over 50 years old. I was raised in Monterey california and loved to surf as a teen ager. To live ON THE BEACH on Oahu was a dream come true. I snorkeled, swam, fished, canoed, rode the break at the beach reef all in my back yard :). I especially enjoyed just sitting on the back patio with a beer and family and looking at it and pinching myself. Yep it is true. Of course the short drive to the Pipe and Waiamia bay was special. I went there to watch the young guys surf. Way better than looking at magazines.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Full disclosure: guest is a relative of ours.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review