reviews for: listing #86376 - Santa Rosa, California Villa rental

Perfect for Two Couples! Wine Bar/Private Hot Tub/ WiFi
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $349 - $349 /nt
    $2,100 - $2,100 /wk

sort by:

Two Days and Nights of Bliss

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 30, 2013

We had this glorious villa to ourselves for two summer nights. The hospitality was top-shelf, the accommodations offered all the comforts of home (and more), and the local was brilliant. Shirlee anticipated our every need and we didn't want for anything. This is a truly serene oasis while on the road through the California wine country. My husband was so comfortable and happy, he didn't want to come out with me to explore the environs. What a delightful feeling to return to the villa at the end of a full day and it actually feels like home, but sweeter.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful wine weekend

Review submitted: February 20, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

This villa was a wonderful place for two couples to stay. We arrived late on a Friday night and Shirlee was their to greet us. The villa was stocked with breakfast items which was so great! After a long day we enjoyed the hot tub. This is located near so many wineries and restaurants. The location is quiet and tranquil. We will definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Queen of Hearts

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

such a great location. The owner was as sweet and knowledgeable as can be. couldn't ask for a better accommodation for two couples. the stocked refrigerator was an added bonus!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Perfect for Wine Country Exploration

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

We stayed at the Villa for our honeymoon and our first trip to Wine Country. It was perfect! The Villa is quiet and charming and close to many Wineries. It had all the amenities that we were looking for. Shirlee is fantastic and we appreciated all her wine country knowledge and recommendations. She stocks the Villa with the perfect assortment of breakfast foods and we loved the convenient picnic bag/cooler and used it to pack our own lunches and snacks in between tastings. I highly recommend this property to anyone looking for privacy and a touch of Tuscan charm. We will be staying here if we ever have the opportunity to visit wine country again. Thank you again Shirlee!
Sincerely, Dan and Deb Dean

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 

Fabulous place to stay

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 19, 2012

This property is a great place to stay while exploring wine country. It's very close to so many great wineries. Shirlee is fantastic hostess and provided a wonderful place for us to stay. Everything was perfect. We would love to return again.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

Fantastic Stay

Review submitted: September 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

Our son and daughter in law brought us here for vacation. It was great. Couldn't have asked for anything better. Shirlee was very pleasant and helpful with info on anything we needed. The villa was perfect and top notch. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Old friends getting together!

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 22, 2012

Perfect Perfect place to stay!! Shirlee accomadated the four of us like no other place we have stayed!! We met with some of our oldest friends for wine tasting and shopping in Sonoma and Napa! The location of the Villa was the best! We had beautiful flowers in our rooms, refrigerator full of breakfast food, great vegetables from the garden and of course Shirlee!! She is a wonderful lady and made us all feel so welcome! We will return again and again!! Thanks again from the four Italians from Utah and Washington!! Ciao

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Great Holiday Rental!

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

My wife and I and two close friends shared this great retreat over the Memorial Day Holiday Weekend. We were pleasantly surprised at how conveniently located it was -- not too far from SanFran, not too far from literally hundreds of wineries. Shirlee was very warm and accomodative. As others have put in their reviews, we too were greeted with a bottle of wine, and breakfast items in the fridge. Thanks Shirlee! We'll be back!! - Joe and Brenda

Helpful votes: 23 / 24

 

Wonderful Villa

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We recently stayed three nights at the Wine Country Villa with some friends and had a wonderful experience. The Villa was spectacular. It was very clean and beautifully decorated. Shirlee added the extra special touch with fresh roses in every room. It made us feel like we were in a Villa in Tuscany. The patio isn’t big in the back but it was very nice and cozy. There are two small tables and they also had fresh cut flowers and cloth napkins on display. The hot tub was a refreshing way to end our day or start our morning. Shirlee was wonderful to work with and did everything possible to make our stay very enjoyable. We would definitely stay here again on our next Napa Valley retreat. Thanks Shirlee for an enjoyable time.

Helpful votes: 26 / 26

 

Perfect vacation villa

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

The Wine Country Villa was perfect. Shirlee was fantastic- she made sure that we had everything we needed and was really helpful with suggestions of places to see and wineries to visit.
The house is great for 2 couples, and the rooms are well laid out and well sized. It felt like a home away from home, and easy to feel comfortable in. Great spaces, wonderful back patio and hot tub area as well.
The property is centrally located for the Sonoma area, and we found it convenient to everything. I would highly recommend this property to couples looking for something more intimate and personal than a hotel in a heartbeat.
We had a great stay and look forward to returning!

Helpful votes: 25 / 25

 

Charming retreat in Wine Country

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

We had a perfect weekend in wine country in this charming a very well located villa. It is within very easy access to the major vineyard areas, yet quiet and peaceful. The villa has a lovely decor with very comfortable furnishings. It is immaculate and welcoming. The owner provides a fully stocked kitchen for breakfast, as well as offering a complimentary bottle of wine, wine passes, and a picnic cooler for outings. She even puts fresh flower arrangements throughout. After long days of winery tours and tastings, we were glad to relax out in the lovely garden and hot tub. We were visiting with our son and his wife, so we all appreciated the well designed space with the two bedrooms and two bathrooms. You could spend a lot more, and get a lot less! This is an excellent value and we will definitely return.

Helpful votes: 29 / 29

 

Perfect for two couples!

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

Our stay at the Wine Country Villa was wonderful. We arrived late on Thursday evening from the East Coast and Shirlee met us with a bottle of wine and refreshment platter. She was very gracious, with lots of tips for our tour of Sonoma wineries. The Villa is close to a connecting road to Napa Valley, so we were able to enjoy one day in Napa as well. The Villa was perfect for 2 couples with a beautiful patio complete with hot tub. We would not hesitate to stay there again!

Helpful votes: 34 / 34

 

Wine Country Villa

Review submitted: October 15, 2011   Date of arrival: September 28, 2011

This was the perfect place to stay in wine country. It is centrally located with Kendall Jackson winery up the street and many great wineries both north and south of the villa. It was very clean and modern and Shirlee really made it feel like home with breakfast foods, cut flowers and a bottle of wine to welcome us. My husband and I stayed with another couple and the villa is perfect for 2 couples. Shirlee was very helpful in recommending things to do and places to eat. She recommended Willie's Wine bar, just around the corner, and we had a great meal there. The hot tub was perfect to relax in at the end of the day. Hope to stay here again.

Helpful votes: 37 / 37

 

canadian travelers

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: September 7, 2011

The villa was exactly as the pictures on the website. It was delighful. Shirley has an eye for detail from the fresh cut flowers to the breakfast items that were in the fridge. We had a great time there. The villa is very well maintained and was immaculate when we arrived. You could tell she took pride in her villa. It was a very nice decorated and well appointed . Shirley was very helpful and friendly. As the ad states it is perfect for two couples.I would absolutely recommend this property. The hot tub was a welcome retreat at the end of a busy day. Hope to make is back some day and will absolutely rebook this villa.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 35 / 35

 

Great find in North Sonoma County!!

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

Beautiful, clean, quite cottage. Great location. Close to everything. More like a bed and breakfast. Fridge was stocked with breakfast foods on arrival. We did not cook but could have. The kitchen was fully stocked. Very private. Hot tub was great. Hope to stay here again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 39 / 39

 

One of the Best Ever

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 26, 2011

The accomodations are beyond excellent. The location is private and quiet. The operators are friendly and helpful with tips on what to see, where to eat, etc. Rooms and exterior are clean, spacious and meticulously detailed, with a full kitchen, flowers, fresh fruit, etc. A private outdoor patio is ideal for dining or lounging in the hot tub. The location is ideal for a wine tasting tour in the Alexander Valley or Dry Creek and other surrounding venues, or a quick trip into Santa Rosa.

We would not hesitate to recommend the Villa to anyone.

Thank you Shirlee for a great stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Dave & Liz,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write an excellent review! It was a pleasure meeting you, and I’m very happy that you enjoyed your time in beautiful wine country.
Looking forward to your return…
Warm regards,
Shirlee’

Helpful votes: 37 / 37

 

Great Place To Stay

Review submitted: November 12, 2010   Date of arrival: October 4, 2010

Two couples celebrating our 60th birthdays stayed at Shirlee's wonderful villa. It was immaculate and beautifully decorated. We were welcomed by a wonderfully charming Shirlee, who has given every attention to detail from the flowers, to the decor, to the breakfast items provided. We would definitely stay there again. It was a really nice, relaxing time.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 40 / 40

 

The Perfect Retreat!

Review submitted: November 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 17, 2010

During a recent visit to Wine Country, we stayed at the Wine Country Villa with some friends (another couple)...what a fabulous "home away from home!" The pictures were just a preview to the wonderful home we were welcomed into by Shirlee. All the extra touches were covered, and we really felt like a special guest. The hot tub was a great ammenity to come home to after a "hard" day of wine tasting, and the location of the Wine Country Villa was central to everything we needed! We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 34 / 34

 

Perfect home away from home!

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

As the listing says "perfect for two couples." We spent 4 nights at the villa with our friends and it was a great place to be! The house was clean and quiet with all the amenities you need. The stocked fridge made for stress free mornings and there was plenty of food to get us off on a great start for our days out and about. The location was good for visiting a variety of wineries and restaurants. It was obvious the owner took pride in her villa and she was very helpful with suggestions and providing us coupons for wine tastings! We would certainly recommend this property to others and would stay here again when we come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 33 / 33

 

Pefect location and setting!

Review submitted: October 23, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

After being greeted by Shirley, she gave us the tour of the Villa and many resources for our winery expeditions. The fridge was stocked with an amazing variety of breakfast foods, which was perfect before setting out for the day. What a pleasant surprise to not have to worry about groceries!

The Villa is gorgeous, calm and inviting, and perfect for 2 couples. The hot tub was inviting after a day at the wineries. The atmosphere and ambiance were wonderful for our time away. Thank you Shirley, for providing an amazing Villa for our stay. We will recommend to others and hope to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 33 / 33

 

Wonderful Getaway

Review submitted: September 26, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

We (2 couples) stayed here for 2 nights. Everything was perfect. Shirlee' greeted us on our arrival and was very helpful showing us the house and recommending a restaurant for dinner. She left wonderful breakfast items for us which were greatly appreciated. The house is just as pictures show , spotless with wonderful special touches including beautiful fresh flowers. If we ever get back to the area, I would love to stay there again. Thank you Shirlee'

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 34 / 34

 

Beautiful villa with lots of amenities!

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 14, 2010

We have stayed at the villa twice and our second visit was just as beautiful as our first! Shirlee took very good care of us (excellent breakfast items provided), and dinner recommendations.

The villa is centrally located, with great wineries within a short drive and excellent hiking nearby.

We travel with a couple friend, and there is plenty of room for the four of us.

We will stay there again!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 36 / 36

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 14, 2010

This is our 2nd time staying at Shirlee's villa, and it just seems to get better each time! The villa is perfect for 2 couples, and it's a beautiful place to stay. The extra touches like fresh flowers and all our favorite "treats" waiting for us are a lovely bonus. It's so nice to visit wineries during the day, go to the great restaurants nearby for dinner, then come back to the relaxation of the hot tub. When we return to Sonoma (hopefully sooner rather than later), we won't consider staying anywhere else!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 34 / 34

 

Review submitted: February 17, 2010   Date of arrival: February 17, 2010

I came to Santa Rosa to participate in Levi Leipheimer’s King Ridge GranFondo bicycling event. My wife and I wanted a place close to the start line, but away from the crowds. Wine Country Villa more than satisfied our needs. We were immediately welcomed by Shirlee, along with an immaculate, inviting, quiet, secluded place complete with fresh flowers, organic food for breakfast, great restaurant recommendations, and even fresh veggies from their garden! Our daughter and son-in-law joined us and it was the perfect place for the four of us. We hope to be back again next October.

Helpful votes: 34 / 34

 

What a special treat.

Review submitted: October 3, 2009   Date of arrival: September 21, 2009

Wine Country Villa is now my favorite place to stay. My birthday trip with long-time friends was enhanced by the private and beautifully appointed villa. The rooms were spotless with gorgeous linens and decor. Soothing but rich colors set a serene tone. The garden hot tub was secluded and directly out the patio door; no dashing from your room to a distant, crowded tub. The outdoor patio was the perfect setting for our breakfast. Shirlee provided all the morning necessaries, fruit, coffee, cream, yogurt and more. She even helped us with dinner plans at Willies Seafood Bar. Another spot we will revisit. We are hoping to return very soon for a longer stay.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 33 / 33

 

Review submitted: October 3, 2009   Date of arrival: October 3, 2009

The highlight of my birthday tour to Alexander Valley was our stay at Wine Country Villa. Very private and beautifully decorated with charming small details that made us feel at home. Shirlee greeted us on arrival, helped us with dinner plans, provided supplies for our morning breakfast and made us feel truly special. What a perfect birthday treat. The only problem was, we did not stay long enough. Next time we will!

Helpful votes: 33 / 33

 

The pleasure and serenity of my stay in the Villa

Review submitted: October 29, 2008   Date of arrival: October 24, 2008

Finally I found a vacation rental without people making noise above me and below me and in the hallways! The owner stocked the refrigerator with a wonderful array of foods and drinks. The whole place is spotless.........it was a total pleasure staying here....

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 29 / 29

 

Beautiful down to the last detail!

Review submitted: October 29, 2008   Date of arrival: August 13, 2008

We recently had the pleasure of staying in this beautifully appointed home, while entertaining out-of-town family members. Shirley was not only an attentive, perfect host, but has an eye for detail that makes each room so beautiful, especially the gorgeous, romantic bedrooms, each one with it's own private bath (fresh flowers in both the bedrooms and bathrooms!) Everything was done in warm, soft colors and exquisite fabrics. So beautiful! We especially enjoyed the hot tub in the private garden. The patio had a bistro cafe feel. We were surprised to see she had even left fresh goodies for our breakfast in the refrigerator. What service! Even cold bottled water and a nice veggie basket with fresh produce. We would definitely come again.

Helpful votes: 32 / 32

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review