reviews for: listing #86405 - Turtle Bay, Hawaii Condo rental

Ocean Hideaway. Ground Floor End Unit! Last Min.Special!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Turtle Bay East
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $99 - $119 /nt
    $700 - $800 /wk
    $2,500 - $2,800 /mth

sort by:

Lovely property. Great value. Nice improvements.

Review submitted: May 9, 2014   Date of arrival: April 9, 2014

We've stayed at the hotel in recent years and found this to be a great value in comparison. It was nice to have a large kitchen to prepare quick meals. The kitchen was just remodeled so everything is brand new. It appears that some of the furniture is also new. The manager was very friendly and the booking process was easy. The condo was clean and well stocked. Everything went smoothly from day one and we had a wonderful Hawaiian adventure during our week here. Waimea Falls Park was lush and the waterfall was gushing....and of course the weather was perfect as it always is on the north shore. We'll be back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely property. Great value. Nice improvements.

Review submitted: May 8, 2014   Date of arrival: April 9, 2014

We've stayed at the hotel in recent years and found this to be a great value in comparison. It was nice to have a large kitchen to prepare quick meals. The kitchen was just remodeled so everything is brand new. It appears that some of the furniture is also new.

The manager was very friendly and the booking process was easy. The condo was clean and well stocked. Everything went smoothly from day one and we had a wonderful Hawaiian adventure during our week here. Waimea Falls Park was lush and the waterfall was gushing....and of course the weather was perfect as it always is on the north shore. We'll be back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

First Disappointing Experience Using VRBO

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

From the photos, this unit looks very nice. From the majority of the reviews, I was willing to overlook the one-star ratings, thinking they were likely left by hard to please customers. Having recently completed our stay at this property, I must strongly urge all who read these comments to heed the warnings outlined in the one-star reviews. I feel personally disrespected by this owner, and am beyond angry that I was led to believe this would be a perfect unit for travel with my young child. Upon first entering the unit, we were overwhelmed by a musty, mildew-like odour. Our purchase of several air fresheners masked this smell but I was left with genuine concerns about the air quality in the unit for my pregnant self and my toddler. I have lived in tropical climates and rented many units in such areas and have NEVER encountered an odour so overpowering. Upon closer examination, and repeated warnings for flash flooding in the area, we began to wonder if such floods had affected the unit in the past (In light of damage to wood at bottoms of cabinets, lifting floors, discolouration on baseboards/walls, etc.). The unit is dirty and in a state of disrepair. Doors and cabinets are peeling and fail to remain properly closed. The carpet in the bedroom is old, filthy, and crunchy when you walk on it. The "bamboo" flooring in the living room is lifting in many areas. The bathtub/shower mechanisms are in need of repair, and the surfaces so old they are incapable of being made clean. My toddler was unable to bathe, only shower, for our entire visit as I would not permit her to sit in the tub in its blackened condition. The furniture is dirty and worn with an indescribable "ick" factor. The kitchen was poorly equipped, with no hood fan, making dinner preparation essentially impossible. Day 3, we discovered the dryer is not vented outside, but instead inside the unit through what appeared to be a swamp cooler. This resulted in hot, humid air overwhelming the unit. A call to the owner confirmed this was the correct installation, and it was suggested that we open the doors and windows to let the trade winds blow through. With temperatures rarely below 85, this was unhelpful advice and we were forced to run the dryer only when we were away from the unit and then attempt to cool it later through use of the single AC unit in the living room. Previous comments about sound issues from the upstairs unit are also entirely valid. Overall, our first negative VRBO rental experience

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Short but sweet

Review submitted: October 19, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

Booked this condo at the last minute after checking many other places. Rates have gone up everywhere this year and so this is a really great value. We were here once before and had a good experience. The manager was very helpful and prompt and easy to work with and she showed us in when we arrived and she took 10 minutes of her time to answer all our questions.

During my stay everything was in working order and neighbors were quiet. The condo is a tad bit older in some regards but it has all the key upgrades like flat screen TV, new washer/dryer, good appliances, etc. The beach gear was a real plus. The pillows were the most comfortable I have ever slept on at a vacation rental or hotel. Weather was perfect too.

Hope to see you again. Aloha.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Perfect for our family!

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

Our family of 4 (kids are 6y & 9y) arrived right past midnight on Sat night (Sun morning, really). The property manager, Beverly (bless her heart), stayed awake, buzzed us in and gave us a quick rundown of our condo. If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place for you. But for a family like ours, looking for a place where the kids could feel at home and nothing is too fussy, THIS IS YOUR PLACE. First of all, the price was unbeatable. It was an incredibly reasonable amount for a week's stay, including cleaning fees and taxes. The condo is one bedroom with a king bed and cools down nicely with just a fan and an open window (and I usually like my rooms super cool). The bed is comfortable and Beverly's linens are all clean and fresh. The kitchen, albeit dated, is clean and has everything you need. We hit Foodland (right down the street) and stocked up on breakfasts and snacks and were good to go. There is also a Kahuku Farms stand just down the road with all fresh fruits, fried bananas, BBQ chicken and pork skewers, and cold coconuts. We also kept going back to Ted's Bakery in Sunset and the Grass Skirt Grill in Haleiwa. The living room has an a/c unit and 2 couches (1 hide-a-bed) that worked perfectly for my kids. It also has hardwood floors and a lanai with access to a little common yard area. My kids were very safe out there, playing around while we got ready for stuff. The unit is on the ground floor, with a private parking spot right out front and located right across the parking lot from a private, heated pool. The unit also has a brand new washer and dryer that works fabulously. The whole complex is gated and feels pretty safe. The walk to the resort (and beach) is the eqivalent of about 3 blocks but is very "resorty" feeling: i.e. by the golf courses and along a private drive. And, of course, you are just a short drive to everything North Shore has to offer. We stayed here early to mid-March and the waves were still pretty big. Aside from the cove by Turtle Bay Resort, very few beaches on this side of the island were swimmable for my kids - teens and adults, yes - kids, no. Aside from that, it was a wonderful trip. We hit Kailua on the East side, a day trip to Honolulu and the Dole plantation was awesome! Lots to explore on North Shore... we stayed very busy! I would recommend this place and especially this unit to anyone looking for a home base for their active family. Mark and Beverly were a breeze to work with!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Hassle free, clean, beautiful condo.

Review submitted: November 19, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

Stayed at this condo from Nov 1 - Nov 8/12. Check in process was quick and easy (even when arriving late at night). Condo had everything I needed, ate most meals there. Condo is clean and well stocked with everything you may need. Would definately do a return stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Very Clean & Wonderful View

Review submitted: November 9, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this condo. It was very clean and well taken care of. The setting was idyllic. The condo is a close walk to the beach and many wonderful restaurants. I would highly recommend this spot to anyone looking for a relaxing piece of paradise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Great location. Clean and bright accommodations.

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: September 11, 2012

Second time here. Great spot. Great value. Everything was clean and in working order. Nice lanai. Plenty of beach gear. We used the surf board twice and it saved us from renting a longboard and hauling it around. King bed was nice. Bedroom had black out curtains which was great. Management was on-site and very helpful. The extra large stackable washer/dryer in the unit was a nice addition since last time. Thank you for letting us stay in your wonderful home. We will see you next year. Aloha!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

a disappointment

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

This is our first disappointing experience after several rentals through VRBO and other such sites. While it may be the perfect rental for a group of young surfers or families in search of accommodations where their children don’t have to be careful with their surroundings, others will find it tired, scruffy, and in need of a good cleaning. While all our homes have quirks and maintenance issues, this condo needs serious attention before it is suitable to be offered as a rental. The kitchen fittings are peeling and chipped. The set of dishes appears to have lost many pieces. There are not enough glasses. The bathtub is stained and the mechanism broken. The toilet paper won’t stay on the crooked holder and falls into the waste can. The sink and toilet have plumbing issues. The living room curtains don’t close, and although it seems private, other renters did walk by daily and most nights. There needs to be a light over the dining table, the only surface to work. There was no key provided to the front door dead bolt, and no promised information packet. While we didn’t inspect for cleanliness, we kept noticing indications that it’s in need of a thorough cleaning (just look up at the bathroom vent, as an example).

We found the dishwasher full of dirty dishes, with food pieces and sludge stuck to the door. After finding the first two dishes in the cupboard to be dirty (greasy stuff had been wiped off of a plate, leaving smears, and the other, a bowl, had green slime in it), we washed all the glasses and dishes. The flatware and kitchen implement drawers need to be cleaned. Crumbs are inevitable. Both the sliding glass door and the screen door to the lanai were off their tracks, making locking up difficult, and likely impossible for a small person. As a previous poster wrote, you hear every step, every chair movement, from the unit upstairs. Fortunately for us, the family there with children left early in our week.

On the plus side, the location is great, and the new washer and dryer top rate. The owners kindly allowed us to check in four hours before the contract time.

While the unit’s location and layout make it an ideal choice on paper, I felt disrespected by the owner. We expect better from VRBO listings.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 7 / 10

 

Back In AZ

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

Sorry to say our experience was less than desirable. Unfortunately for us the upstairs unit had a family of approx. 10 people, 8 being kids, who constantly ran back and forth thru their condo sounding like wild Indians on the war path. Attempt to calm them with negative results. Shower has leak and reported it so we wouldn't be blamed & also the noisy neighbors, but they already knew about the leak and couldn't do anything about noisy neighbors. So we did not stay at the condo very much to eliminate having to listen to the noise. Better luck to the next visitor.

Helpful votes: 6 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another Great Week!

Review submitted: October 29, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

Hi Rob
I always wanted to send you an email to let you know we had another great week at your condo in October 2010. Loved the updates you made to the condo. Your new property manager was extremely helpful. I believe her name was Beverly? I received an email from Hawaiian Airlines today with a special deal going on and I feel the need to book your condo again!!!

Sue

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

Rob, I spoke with both my daughter and youngest son. They said they enjoyed the condo---apparently they both spent time there on separate occasions.
No complaints and they said it was in a great location.

Wish I could have been there myself but it just didn’t work out this time.
Thanks again for allowing us flexibility on the place and thanks also checking in with me.
John

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

We were very pleased with this condo. It is well supplied, spacious, very clean and in a great location. We will definitely consider coming back. I don't know if other condos in the complex are as nice as this one, but we feel this one was good value for the money. The property management staff were also helpful and had no troubles arranging for us to extend to a later check out time to accommodate a late evening flight.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 24, 2010

Dear Rob,
I want to thank you for the great vacation we had staying at your condo at Turtle Bay October 24 - 31. This was our first time in Hawaii and it won't be our last. We loved the area your condo is. So peaceful and relaxful. We enjoyed discovering the hiking trails at Turtle Bay. I would suggest having information in your condo on how to find the trails. The beach at the resort was a great place to spend the day. The swimming area was a safe place to swim and snorkel. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Turtle Bay

Review submitted: March 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

This was the best Hawaiin experience ever! Golf, Snorkel, Surf, eat, drink, or just lay by the pool. No better way to stay on the North Shore

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Exactly what we needed ! Laid back but elegant - Super relaxation!!

Review submitted: March 18, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2010

This condo was the cutest !! The end unit, situated on the green belt is such a perfect location for relaxing on the Lanai. The upgrades are wonderful, attention to decorative details make you feel at home - just too cute for words !! Very well stocked for preparing meals and entertaining. North Shore is the only way to see Hawaii'...such a laid back, relaxed atmosphere while still having access to world class restaurants within WALKING distance - we will return many times to enjoy this adorable condo! THANKS FOR EVERYTHING !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Aloha spirit.

Review submitted: March 18, 2011   Date of arrival: February 2, 2011

Thanks for sharing a bit of the aloha spirit. Our stay was great. The management was friendly and helpful. The quality of everything was good for the price. The location was above average as far as the condos here are concerned. We really enjoyed having a surfboard for our use. We would stay here again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Poor communication, would not refund deposit.

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: June 29, 2010

My experience was not a good one. When we arrived we spent the first 4 hours trying to kill mosquitos. The back door had been left open and the place was infested with them. We go bitten multiple times.

There was a note in my contract that said I needed to leave the place in the condition I found it. My bad, I did not pay attention and did not see this. So when I left and had not washed the towels and bed clothes,

I only found out about the fact there was a problem when I contacted the owner to request my deposit back. He refused and kept my deposit to pay for the cleaning he had not anticipated. I acknowledged that he should be compensated for my mistake, however I disagreed that it would cost my full deposit for the unexpected cleaning. However he would not discuss anything, ignored my messages requesting a reasonable solution and kept my money.

While I am partially to blame, the overall experience could have been a positive one if the owner treated me in a more professional manner.

I will not be staying there again.

Owners response: David was on a tight budget and had asked us to discount the cleaning fee. We agreed based on the condition that the condo would be left in the "general clean condition in which it was found". (As he noted above, this was even added to the rental agreement) Turns out the condo was actually left in far worse shape than average, and many linens were ruined. Naturally we kept his security deposit, which was basically just what the original cleaning fee would have been.

Helpful votes: 10 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review