reviews for: listing #86407 - Hilo, Hawaii Studio rental

Studio at Coconut Palms - sleeps 2- 4
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Kalapana-Seaview Est
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $48 - $88 /nt
    $300 - $500 /wk
    $850 - $1,575 /mth

sort by:

Loved Puna & Coconut Palms

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: April 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Coconut Palms! It is on a rural side of the island and did not disappoint being in a neat location. We loved going to the local farmer's market only 1/2 block away on Saturday and the sheer beauty of the area was lovely. The home had two rented studios as well and we had fun meeting the others that stayed there. We even had friends rent a studio and join us for a few days which was very convenient! The 3 bedroom home allowed plenty of space for our family of 5. Only two small critiques - I could not find the cheese grater for the life of me (it may have been there but I could not locate it) and it would be appreciated to have mattress pads on the beds for hygiene-sake and comfort. These two small things do not diminish or take away from the fact that we were very satisfied with our stay and hope to return in 2015! We felt the home provided excellent value. The photos and description were very accurate and the property was clean and comfortable. Miguel even paid my son $5 to catch a local chicken - which he proceeded to do (only for entertainment purposes, mind you). It was quite memorable to say the least! We highly recommend Kopoho Tide Pools for snorkeling (some of the best we've EVER experienced), The warm water pool, The Sunday drum circle at Kehena Beach, The lava flows visible only 10 minutes away in Kalapana. Tasty ice cream and grub at the Kalapana Cafe about 10 minutes away. There is plenty to do in the area but be aware this is not on the main drag - it's a bit off the beaten path which we sincerely appreciated and loved. Thanks for having us! See you in a couple of years!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great stay in Kehena, HI

Review submitted: July 6, 2014   Date of arrival: June 27, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the three bedroom house in Kehena. It was very comfortable and had all the amenities we needed to make our stay pleasant. We were located close to the ocean and enjoyed the day trips to several beach areas. The volcano park was about 30 minutes away and definitey worth the trip to see the sights there. It was off the beaten path which was just what we wanted. There was a grocery store about 20 minutes away which had everything we needed. Would recommend this rental to anyone wanting a comfortable stay in a rural part of the Big Island of Hawaii. A great value!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our tenants from 'Cirque Du Soleil'

Review submitted: January 18, 2014   Date of arrival: January 15, 2014

We recently were honored to have visitors stay in our 3-5 BR house from 'Cirque Du Soleil'. They stayed 3 days and left a very thoughtful note when they left.

Andre and Susan,
Thank you so much for letting us stay here at your beautiful home. We all had a lot of fun. We got home late last night so I didn't want to call to wake you.

We signed this program for you! Our show is called Amaluna!
Hopefully one day you can come see it live!

Hope to see you again soon! MAHALO!
Love Antonio, Di Di, and Amy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Getaway

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 9, 2013

Been there many times but my first renting the house. Awesome! Had a great time with the family. Thank you again Andre!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Aloha Andre and Susan - Thank You so much !

Review submitted: July 11, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

Aloha Andre and Susan,

Thank You so much for allowing us to stay in your home on The Big Island. It's a beautiful place and we enjoyed staying here very much.

The sea breeze was incredible, it kept the house nice and cool . We slept like 'babies' because of it.
David, Ellen, Alexandra and Jacob C.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wish we could have stayed longer!

Review submitted: June 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

This was a review that was placed on another website. This tennant stayed in our studio w/ two beds.

Great location with plenty to see and do in the area. I recommend renting a Jeep and go exploring. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I enjoyed my time here.

Review submitted: June 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 12, 2013

This was another review written on another website of mine. We have a farmers market every Wednesday night down the road and it draws vendors all the way from Kona. This was a post written by another vendor who chose our reasonably priced studio to stay the night.

Susan has a great quiet place to spend a night or a few nights. I enjoyed my time there!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved it and would recommend it to others!

Review submitted: June 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 2, 2013

This was a review posted on another website about our studio. This couple was on their honey moon and I gave them the option to upgrade to a cottage if they wanted and this is what they posted.

We stayed one night in the studio, before upgrading to the cabins down the road.

The studio would have been sufficient for what we needed but it was our last few nights on the island and we thought we deserved a bit more space and to be closer to the water.

We found the studio to be clean, and have everything that we needed. Wifi, TV and a fan. It was clean and tidy and was nicely decorated.

The building itself is shared with other guests, who we found to be lovely to chat with, and you would never really know they were there. It was also great to have boogy boards there to use.

We would recommend the studio to those traveling and don't require a massive space. It was clean and comfy and had everything we needed.

If you can afford a few more dollars then do consider the cottages over looking the sea that Andre and Susan have. The cottages were lovely for our last 3 nights.

We loved the table and chairs out the front of the cottage where we could eat our breakfast whilst the sun came up. I also appreciated having access to a washing machine and dryer and a few extra towels.

Although we did not meet Susan we did have the pleasure of meeting Andre and we appreciated him turning up on the day we checked out to make sure we had a pleasant stay. On checking in, he also provided us with a map of the area and some hints and tips on what to do, which we really appreciated too. He was a great host.

One word of advice, if staying at this studio or cottage then do some food shopping in one of the towns as you are driving there as the shop down the road has basic food, however it is very expensive (for example $10 for a loaf of bread). The cafe however is reasonably priced and makes a yummy breakfast. The cottage has a fridge and plenty of cupboard space for food items if you wanted to cook yourself.

I do wish we stayed longer in this area and we miss the little cottage. We loved it and would recommend it to others wanting to explore this side of the island.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I enjoyed staying at Susan's place so much.

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 3, 2013

Susan, I have written a quick review of your place below... sorry I was not able to post it myself..... if you feel like it please feel free to leave me a review as a guest. Thanks!

"I enjoyed staying at Susan's place so much. Everything was provided for that the traveler wouldn't expect if one stayed at a regular hotel. There is a full kitchen, parking and laundry facilites provided right on site! And free to use! You are situated just across the street from a dramatic black sand beach... and all for a great price. Thanks again Susan for making my vacation to the Big Island that much more enjoyable! Best!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Oceanfront cottage not as expected

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 6, 2013

We really thought we were getting a more handicapped friendly place, I was able to cope, but given we had no other choices, made the best of it.

we could be in the purple house – which now we were told only had a kitchen dry sink- instead it had NO sink! According to Wikipedia “The dry sink is a basin that is not connected with a plumbing system.”
(that means no sink unless going down the steps to the outside to wash dishes counts) – and could use the other cottage for four days – but would have to move back and forth. The cottage that we thought was originally contracted had somehow disappeared from the picture. It was no longer a viable space for us to use for our week’s stay. The two (2) cottages that we did stay in never had more than three (3) minutes of hot water. In the two of three cottages we occupied, many of the simple things one looks for in a “furnished kitchen” were missing, sugar and a cutting board being glaring examples. Brooms and dustpans appeared toward the end of our stay. Instead of shampoo, we only had hair conditioner provided. We had TV and “dish service” but no clue as to what channels were available or how to find the dish guide channel. We had GREAT wireless Internet in the “full sink” cottage, but due to the router location, only a few spots in the “sink-less” cottage had more that a single service bar. The listing talked about a shared grill, but we could find no outdoor lighting for it, nor was there a fire starter or anything to light (Grill tools and starter fluid showed up the last three days we were there stowed near the washing machine.)

As an added attraction, the laminate flooring was bubbling up, creating a tripping hazard. The watered dish soap was no thrill either.

To sum up, Andre is a nice guy, he tries really hard, but we will not deal with him again. The cottages are going to be really nice once he gets them stocked better, get more air circulating in them, and figures out the dry sink situation.

Despite all these problems, we had a good stay, without the issues able,, it would have been GREAT! Oh well......

Owners response: First of all, I am a nurse and I do sympathize w/ the fact that you feel 'disabled'. You can certainly label yourself disabled but I look at it as 'physically challenged'. You seemed to get around ok when you were here and I was surprised that you complained about the cottage w/ the 8 steps. You initially wanted a studio that had a full set of stairs and being the compassionate person that I am, gave you an ocean front cottage for 1/2 the price w/ the option to go to the Gumamela Cottage that was on the ground floor for no extra charge. You gladly accepted this and now you complain to the world that I was bouncing you around from one unit to another. Gee whiz, it was your choice. I can't believe your complaints now when you had said it was amazing.
Jay, I should be the one to complain because you totally 'trashed' both of my cottages unlike I've ever seen - in any of my places. I saw the aftermath...your garbage was all over the place in both cottages. It seemed to me that you purposely went out of your way to do this and I didn't even charge you a cleaning fee either.

Also, the other complaints you had are unbelievable. The internet here is very good in all units, nobody has ever complained about it - just you.
Also, when you mentioned the BBQ issues, did you know that I drove all the way to Hilo the next day to get everything that you could have needed for a BBQ and placed it in the utility room for you to use, but you never even used it anyway. Can't believe you complained about the dish soap. Did you know that dish soap containers dispense dish soap better if a little water is added.
Another thing, we don't ever buy conditioner by itself. That conditioner you spoke of was shampoo w/ conditioner.
The floor you complained about was really an exaggeration. These are brand new units and that small part of the floor near the couch is settling in.

You also complained that I told you that we had a dry sink in the cottage. You even went as far as to 'define ' it for some reason, when I never even mentioned a dry sink. I did tell you that it was in the utility room.
Also, I want you to know that I never mislead ANYONE as you insinuated. Jay, you told me you were disabled and therefore - being the person that I am, I really wanted to be kind to you and help you out - because of your disability. It was obvious that you weren't feeling well upon arrival - you both looked pretty sick . I certainly hope and pray that life improves for you.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our family loved our four day vacation !

Review submitted: April 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 8, 2013

This was a note that our last tenant left. The family rented the 3 BR house.

Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your house with us. Our family loved our four day vacation at your home. I will send more comments when we get back to California.

Huong Ng...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

'A Most Enjoyable Stay'

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 4, 2013

Coconut Palms now has 3 ocean front cottages at Kehena Beach in addition the the studios and 3 BR house in Kalapana-Seaview Estates.

One of our recent guests stayed in one of the new cottages called 'The Gumamela Cottage'. We named it the 'Gumamela Cottage' as there are many beautiful gumamela (hibiscus) that surround the cottage.

Our tenant wrote a note when he left and we wanted to share it with you.

We value the communiques that we receive from our tenants and utilize that info to make our place even better.

Here is what he wrote:


We had a most enjoyable stay in Gumamela Cottage! The place had everything we could ask for! Having a gas stove, microwave, hot water, and a fridge to keep things cold were all convenient to have available. Though it seems that we were out in the middle of nowhere, you really don't feel that you are isolated. Going to sleep every night to the song of the cocqi frogs for me was very relaxing. I wish we had some of them at home. We had plenty of things to do when we were here - there is never nothing to do. We spent a lot of the time away from the cottage so it was nice to come back to it at the end of a busy day and relax. We will certainly pass on the word to our friends and family that your cottages are great places to stay on The Big Island.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

' A Great Week and Best Bargain I've Ever Had'.

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 26, 2013

We have a guest book that we leave in our vacation rental and this is what Donald wrote. He came w/ his son and stayed about one week in our 3BR house and a night in the cottage to complete his stay.

Andre, Thanks for a great week and a wonderful place to stay.

This is the best bargain in vacation rentals that I have ever had in the U.S.

The house and cottages are beautiful with lots of thoughtful amenities added.

Thanks again,

Donald

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful accomodations !!

Review submitted: March 27, 2013   Date of arrival: March 11, 2013

Carlos & family stayed in our new oceanfront cottage @ Kehena Beach.
This cottage is < 1 mile from Coconut Palms at Kehena Beach and runs $110/night. This is what they wrote.

Dear Andre & Susan,
Thank You very much for the wonderful accomodations. You have done a great job creating a comfortable and homey environment. We loved staying here and was perfect for kids as well. This cabin feels very private and the way you have arranged it. We would recommend it to anyone, especially for an extended stay. The amenities that made it particularly convenient were the washer/dryer - which was a great surprise. It was a nicely equipped kitchen and comfortable bed.

Thank You Bonnie & Carlos from Oklahoma City

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

'Lovely Stay'

Review submitted: March 27, 2013   Date of arrival: March 7, 2013

Another of our guests left a note. We leave a guestbook in the room which we use to get feedback on our house, studios and cottages. We find the comments very helpful and we learn what we are doing 'right' and what we can do to improve as well. Our goal is to make you feel at home.

Lovely stay, we enjoyed the bike and the sound of the rain. Also, we enjoyed the frogs and crickets at night. Mahalo S & B

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A great Place !

Review submitted: March 27, 2013   Date of arrival: March 13, 2013

We found this nice note after our tenant had left.

Thanks for the great place...we really enjoyed ourselves.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"A magical time - loved The Island"

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

A recent guest came w/ her young daughter and stayed in both our studio and then transferred to our ocean front cottage @ Kehena Beach because the days she needed were completely booked at Coconut Palms.
This is a note she wrote and left on the counter:
Dear Andre, Susan and Miguel,
Thank You for a magical time - loved the island and great hospitality...see you again - Thank You - best place ever !!. Have a great day!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The cottage is so comfortable and pretty - love it

Review submitted: March 2, 2013   Date of arrival: February 25, 2013

A note that was left from our tennants from Japan

Dear Susan, Miguel and Andre

Thank you so much! This cottage is so comfortable and pretty, You've got a wonderful place here! We will be back again ! We enjoyed Big island so much, it is amazing and we love it!
Thank You again and see you later. P.S. Miguel, Thank you for the beer.

Nate & Yukari from Japan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed our stay

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

This was an e-mail I received from a satisfied tennant in January.
John and pat stayed one week in studio #1 - which has a queen bed, bath and kitchenette. This studio runs $300 per week plus tax.

Aloha Andre and Susan.
Thank you so much for everything. Loved the east side of the big island.
I was going to share your VRBO site, but I couldn't find Coconut palms on it.

We will certainly keep Coconut Palms in mind when we make our plans for next year. The $800 / month quote you gave us sounds do-able for one month.

Mahalo, John and Pat

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I'll recommend your place to my friends!

Review submitted: January 25, 2013   Date of arrival: January 22, 2013

Mahalo ! We really enjoyed staying here. I'll recommend your place if any of my friends plan a trip to The Big Island. ALOHA !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Saturday Farmer's Market, half block away. Owner Andre is great.

Review submitted: December 21, 2012   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

I stayed in the studio facing the street. On the narrow side lanai, just outside the sliding glass doors, you can see the Pacific. From the large shared lanai that is connected, there is decent quality snorkle gear of various sizes including fins. The coquis are a little loud at night (and roosters in the a.m.) so glad I brought my earplugs because you'll probably want to sleep with the windows open. The Farmer's market is mauka (toward mountain) about half a block. Andre, the owner, is always friendly and helpful. The place was clean and there were plenty of extra towels in the community pantry in the hall. Satin sheets on one of the beds was a pleasant surprise. You can slow down to Hawaii time here. Kehena Beach is a nearby "clothing optional" black sand beach that has a gathering and drum circle on Sundays (about a 2 mile walk each way). The surf is very powerful here so only very good swimmers should swim here (in my humble opinion). The warm ponds, Pohoiki Bay hot pond, and tide pools aren't far. It rains on this part of the island fairly regularly, but when it rains, it seems to not last very long; the sound is quite relaxing. The result of it being rained on regularly here is there is so much lush greenery and vegetation everywhere. This location is fairly close to a place where you can hear live music on some nights (Uncle Robert's). It's also fairly close to the point where Pu'u O'o lava is flowing into the ocean (get a tour guide). There's a terrific grassy lawn park at the entrance to this subdivision which is a great place to throw frisbees. Other notes about the studio: full sized fridge, microwave, DirecTV, The only sinks are in the bathroom and outside down at the bottom of the stairs. I'd rank the beds above average and seem relatively new. All their water (including bath/shower) is triple-filtered (plus UV filtered) drinking water. The rocks are sharp here so the only warning is you'll want to avoid running around in the yard or driveway barefooted. Hurry up and get there in order to slow down and stop. Amazing farmer's markets in Pahoa and Keeau. Got to try longan, rambutan, and papaya in Hawaii - longan and rambutan are exotic fruits that are aphrodisiacs; mildly sweet. Just beware, flies love their juices so I'd avoid eating them at the beach, or in the woods for that matter. When I return, I will strongly lean toward staying here again. Aloha!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

So Much To See, So Little Time.

Review submitted: December 14, 2012   Date of arrival: December 2, 2012

Our family of four stayed for 4 days; We loved the clean and spacious house and the fully equipped kitchen. Andre's house is right at the center of all the activities. The view to see the active volcano is better from Kalapana side (10 minutes drive) then driving 19 miles on the Chain of Craters Road in the National Volcanic Park. Kapoho Tide Pool is a must to see! We have never seen better coral reefs than this area. We really appreciate that Andre gave us an enlarged map and marked down all the local's secret spots. We wish we had more time to stay at his home; our family will come back for another vacation soon! For any one wish to visit the Big Island, I recommend the book of "Hawaii The Big Island Revealed" by Andrew Doughty. We have learned a lot from that book.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I recommend the Big island and Coconut Palms

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 3, 2012

Peaseful area



Left on 11/27/2012 for a stay in November 2012


I stayed Coconut Palms from 3 to 15 Nov. 2012 and I loved it. I've been living in the city (Tokyo, Singapore) so it was just perfect for me to feel the nuture. You can see many stars at night and many rainbows!

I am so happy to visit this island cause I met generous people including andre and Susan. I went there alone without a car so they helped me a lot when I arrived. It was so dark and I was scared. (Please use a car!)

I also stayed some B&Bs; and Sheraton Kona, but this area was the best for healing myself. Peaceful and silence.
If you haven't decided which island to go, I recommend this big island and Coconut Palms is great to stay! Thank you so much, Andre.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It is really the best deal in the area!

Review submitted: November 17, 2012   Date of arrival: November 3, 2012

This was a review written by our tennants from Germany on another website.

Barbara & Peter
Munich, Germany


Great Stay!



Left on 11/17/2012 for a stay in November 2012


We are a young couple and rented the house beginning of November for a few days and loved it! The house is very well equipped, spacious and clean. Although it was just the two of us, there is enough space for at least 6 people (the house easily accommodates a big family) but also ideal for couples. The sunrise in the morning from the balcony is really romantic!
Andre showed the house upon arrival and recommended some great activities and bars nearby. He and Susan are really friendly and were always accessible. From the very first second we felt at home.
Also plenty of equipment for outdoor activities e.g. snorkel gear, bikes were available. We loved the quiet and friendly neighborhood. The Puna district is beautiful, a great place to explore. The lava viewing area is just at the end of the road and the Volcano National Park has a much better accessibility from this side of the island. The house is located about 15 - 20 minutes drive to Pahoa and the next grocery store.
And one last hint: As andre is happy to pick you up in Pahoa upon arrival, a navigation system is not strictly necessary, however we found it really helpful as it is easy to lose your way at night without a GPS device. It gets pretty dark and there are almost no street lights.
If you are looking for a peaceful and non-touristy location for your holiday, this is the place to stay! It is really the best deal in the area (but we would even say, probably the best deal on Big Island).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect accommodation!

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 15, 2012

I stayed at Kalapana Coconut Palms with my husband, two young children, brother in law and niece and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The house was roomy enough for all of us (with space to spare!) and was comfortably appointed.
There was another family staying in the attached 1 bedroom (and I seem to recall Andre telling us there was a third guest in the studio) but we never heard a peep from any of the other guests! In fact we would have easily gone the entire stay without even knowing anyone else was there if not for the fact that we all showed up to check in at the same time.
There are only a couple of things that I would bring up, and these are only suggestions not complaints: Firstly I would recommend that the owners stock a few staple items in the kitchen for guest use such as sugar and coffee, there was nothing provided which we hadn't anticipated having just come from a fully stocked vacation home on Oahu.
Secondly the beds are all quite small - I don't think any of the beds were larger than a double (feel free to correct me if I'm wrong, Andre!). Considering that my 3 year old often climbs into our bed early in the morning this was a big disappointment to us - especially since we had a King bed the entire time we were on Oahu.

Having said that, we all agreed that if we were to return we wouldn't hesitate to stay at Coconut Palms again! Not that I anticipate it happening anytime soon since we're all from Australia haha!
Thankyou so much Andre, we had a fantastic time in your beautiful home. Mahalo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Well aloha Chela ! We are so glad that you loved the place. We hear that a lot. The house does have a queen bed in the master bedroom downstairs and double beds in the other bedrooms. We use a queen bed ourselves and love it. It's certainly large enough for us. We do usually have coffee and sugar in the far cabinet to the right. Sorry you missed it. Looking forward to your return at some point and we will have coffee on the table for you. Mahalo and aloha for now ;).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect for relaxing and the scenery was stunning!

Review submitted: October 27, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

This was a recent review written by a tennant who stayed in Studio#2

I really enjoyed my weeks stay at Coconut Palms and Susan and Andre made my stay very comfortable. They met me there upon arrival and it was all "easy street" from there. The apartment was pristine with many extra amenities. I found the location perfect for relaxing on the Big Island and the scenery at this locale is stunning in it's own right! Can't wait to return

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mahalo!

Review submitted: October 27, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

I truly enjoyed my stay Coconut Palms. The efficiency apartment was perfect for me and my daily wandering and exploring.Andre and Susan couldn't have been more helpful and made my visit absolutely trouble free. The apartment was pristine and perfectly located for my purposes. I love the area and wouldn't mind having a place of my own there.
I would recommend staying at Coconut Palms to anyone at any time. So beautiful and relaxing. Hope to return soon! Steve Lutz. Ocean, New Jersey

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mahalo!

Review submitted: October 27, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

I truly enjoyed my stay Coconut Palms. The efficiency apartment was perfect for me and my daily wandering and exploring.Andre and Susan couldn't have been more helpful and made my visit absolutely trouble free. The apartment was pristine and perfectly located for my purposes. I love the area and wouldn't mind having a place of my own there.
I would recommend staying at Coconut Palms to anyone at any time. So beautiful and relaxing. Hope to return soon! Steve Lutz. Ocean, New Jersey

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A very nice place to stay!

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 5, 2012

My family of four adults stayed at Andre's place in Sep 2012. Overall, we found the stay very comfortable and pleasant. The house has all the amenities mentioned in the website. Andre was very friendly and professional at the same time and showed us around the house once we got there. He was kind enough to give us a map of the area with good places to visit marked on it.

Also, he was very prompt in answering our calls when we were there and was helpful when we asked him for additional supplies like torch lights. The phone line in the house helped us overcome the problem of not having ATT signal in the area. Also, the WIFI connection was great and Andre has a Direct TV connection in the house.

The house was a great place to stay in. The lanai was very beautiful and we enjoyed every bit of the house. Thanks Andre and Susan for sharing your lovely house with our family!!

Owners response: Aloha Ashwin & Lalanthika,

Well, I want to thank you for the kind words. You know, it's my goal to make our place and 'your experience' here the best that money can offer...and it certainly is. There are places near by that charge $175 per night and don't offer what we have (i.e.) direct TV and WiFi for just $88/night.

I was thrilled again tonite to hear from a tennant who is in the house now and when I asked him 'how are things going? he said 'we love it, it's quiet, beautiful and we are having a great time.

Anyways, we will continue to improve on what we have here in beautiful Kalapana-Seaview estates. Thank you again and we appreciate your business..please come back. Andre/Susan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved our time at Coconut Palms

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 26, 2012

This was a review that was entered on another website from Napua.



We loved our time at Coconut Palms!



Left on 07/04/2012 for a stay in June 2012


My two girlfriends and I stayed at Coconut Palms from 6/26/12 - 6/29/12. When we arrived at the house, it was just as described in the ad so there were no surprises. The layout is spacious and could easily fit a nice sized family. I slept in the bedroom loft and loved the view from it.

I have at&T; phone service, and it was rare that I had a signal in Kalapana, Pahoa and even some parts of Hilo so it was great that there was WiFi at the house. We loved the kitchen amenities, washer/dryer and the lanai (deck), which we utilized quite a bit for breakfast & lunch.

The neighborhood is quiet and everyone is friendly and waves at you. We used the bikes from the house and biked throughout the neighborhood and had a blast - we saw two horses walking the street and actually got caught in the Kalapana rain - we loved it!

This house is definitely located off the beaten path and it was just what we were looking for. We loved exploring the Puna District and had a blast at Uncle Robert's awa Bar (every Wednesday night).

One of my girlfriend's mother owns vacation rentals on O'ahu and she commented on how professional she thought andre was (I agree) when he met us at the house and was nice enough to show us around and give us a map of the area. He took the time to explain where a few things were in the nearby area.

I am originally from O'ahu, but I love the Big Island and try to make it there every time I'm home in the islands. I will definitely be back to Coconut Palms and Kalapana!! Loved every minute of it and now that I'm back in DC, I'm already looking forward to the next time I'm home...

Thank you so much, Andre, for sharing your lovely home with us!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous place to stay!

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

This was our first trip to Hawaii and we were traveling with kids (11&13), this home was a wonderful choice. The owners are kind and helpful, the home was located in a perfect area to see all the sights on the Hilo side. The home was clean and had everything we needed. Pleanty of snorkel gear for all of us, chairs, towels, well equipped kitchen and pleanty of linnens as well as the little extras we didn't think about... ie: Hydrogen Peroxide to clean out our snorkeling wounds :) Andre was a great help in giving us direction to the nearby attractions that we may have otherwise missed, and the nearby store/bar/cafe (Uncle Awa's) at the end of the road was a fun place to hang out and visit with the friendly locals. The guided hike to the hot Lava (Kalapana Cultural Tours) is a must see for those that can handle the walk, poking the hot lava with a stick was my son's favorite part of vacation. We look forward to our next visit and will definately check to see if this home is available again! Thank you Andre and Susan!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love to hear from you and want to convey our appreciation to our tennants for choosing 'Coconut Palms' as your place to stay while on your vacation in Hawaii. We are flattered by your comments and really appreciate the fact that you take the time to write down your experience here.

Also, we do stock our medicine chest w/ Hydrogen Peroxide etc... and products that may be useful for abrasions. As a Registered Nurse I expect that these types of mishaps will occur when people are out swimming, snorkeling or hiking around the beautiful island here.

We work very hard to keep our place clean, safe and comfortable - as we want you all to return. Mahalo and aloha for now. Andre & Susan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We enjoyed your place ! (studio#1)

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 25, 2012

This was another note that was left by some happy tennants who stayed 3 days in our private studio w/queen bed. We also have a private studio w/ 2 double beds as well for just $48 per night for stays > than 2 days. PoShan paid $163.31 total for 3 days in our studio and was not charged a cleaning fee either.

Hello Andre, we wanted to say THANK YOU, we really enjoyed your place.
Po Shan
China

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Winter Escape

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed in both Studios for 6 weeks each. We found the description of the studios very accurate. There were no surprises on our arrival and I found Andre, Susan and Miguel very friendly and helpful. We had no major issues while we were there and the couple of small ones were looked after immediately. We used the Studios as our home base and we toured the Big Island from one end to the other. We played golf in Hilo (45 minute drive) regularly and enjoyed the drive and the Golf coarse was the best value for my golf dollar ever. Many days we did not travel far as the snorkelling and whale watching close by were excellent. and the Market in Kalapana on Wednesday and Fridays were fun. The entertainment and ambiance there were great. We made several day trips to the other side of the Island. They were fairly long days but again very enjoyable. We visited Volcano National Park, Mauna Kea, South Point, Green Sand Beach, Punalu u Black Sand Beach and Akaka Falls, all easy day trips. We snorkelled with the Manta Rays on the Kona side and with Turtles at Kapaho Tide Pools, and spent endless hours by the Ocean. We hiked out to the Flowing Lava across the older Lava flows (with a guide and a few other people) and it was an amazing day. These are just the things I can think of off the top of my head. The house was a very pleasant place to sit on the deck and relax. We were never bored. We were off the beaten path but close enough to it to enjoy it all. Needless to say it was wonderful and many thanks to our hosts. I did make a couple of suggestions to Andre before we left and I am sure he will look into them.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: Well 'aloha' Bernie ! We miss you and your wife already. After 3 months, you were like family. We are so happy that you loved the studios at Coconut Palms and it's a testament as to how 'liveable' these units can be for the long term (3 months). That is a record ! We were glad to hear that you were able to see some whales off the coast along with the other sea life as well. Well Bernie, we hope that you come back to stay next year (perhaps the 3 bedroom house - eh?). We promise a deal that you can't refuse. Mahalo and aloha for now Susan, Andre and Miguel

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guests From Iowa

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: February 12, 2012

We stayed for two weeks at Coconut Palms and had a wonderful time. The house is nicely furnished and comfortable for an extended stay. Andre is a great person to rent from. He even took us out to see the lava flow one evening. This home is two blocks from a great local Saturday farmers market and about five minutes from a Wednesday night food and Hawaiian music fest. The neighborhood is quiet and about eight blocks from the ocean. You definitely need a car for site-seeing. It's about 40 minutes to Hilo and two and a half from the Kona area. The black sand beach is just down the road and the tidal pools aren't far. Everything is within driving distance. I would definitely recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Aloha you two ! Gee, thank you very much for the positive comments. We are glad you had a great time staying at Coconut Palms. You know, Miguel and I enjoyed taking you to the lava flow and I enjoy the hike every time. It is really a fascinating experience watching the lava come down the hill towards the ocean and it's a natural event that very few people on earth get to see - but you did. After you left, we had tennants that actually got a quide to take them within a couple feet of the molten lava and 'Judy' was able to put a stick in it...she was so excited and brave! Anyways, the ongoing lava flows are adding ground to Hawaii and it is growing in size...and you were able to witness this fascinating natural event. Hope you two come back, we enjoyed having you. Mahalo and a fond aloha !

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Visitors from Iowa

Review submitted: February 25, 2012   Date of arrival: February 12, 2012

These tennants came from Iowa and stayed in our private, fully furnished 3 bedroom home w/ spiral staircase @ $500/week.
Marcella wrote a note on a napkin which was found on the counter and Lisa left a note on the stairway.
Dear Andre, We had a great time ! Thank you for taking us to the active lava flow - it was a wonderful site and experience.
We wanted to let you know that we washed all the sheets and towels for you..thanks again Andre!

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We are from Denmark and enjoyed our stay very much

Review submitted: February 14, 2012   Date of arrival: February 7, 2012

This was a note that was left for me today from my tennants that came all the way from Denmark.
Hi Andre, we've enjoyed our stay here very much, it's a wonderful place you have here!
We've left a couple of things for you.... Aloha, Anders, Rosa and baby Sonya

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 

Great money saver

Review submitted: January 20, 2012   Date of arrival: January 10, 2012

What a great deal! We stayed in the studio and it was very clean and comfortable. We spent most of our time out playing, so we didn't need anything fancy and this place does the job perfectly. The location was awesome and there are so many fun things to do in the area. Andre was so nice and made things very easy and we would definitely stay here in the future. The farmer's market right around the corner is amazing if you are there on a Saturday.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Comfort, Cleanliness and Convenience at Coconut Palms

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: December 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Coconut Palms for over one month and enjoyed the clean and spacious three room section of the house. There are many great things about this place; I will mention three.

(1) The third floor (tower) not only provides a great view but is a marvelous place to sleep at night (warm gentle breeze). Also, it is a nice place to watch TV late at night. (2) The second floor has a full refrigerator, microwave, stove, flat screen TV, bathroom (one of two in the house), a double entry to a relaxing lanai and a beautiful cherry wood spiral staircase to the third floor room/tower. It was clean and had all the necessities for cooking. (3) The first floor has two bedrooms, a full bathroom, and an all important (to me) washer and dryer. The washer and dryer allows us to travel light as we can wash clothes every few days.

Besides the attributes of the house, Coconut Palms in located near the ocean (it can be seen from the lanai and tower). There are many things to do and see nearby. As my wife and I like hiking, we spent many days at Volcano National Park which was a mere 45 minutes away. With a little research you will find scores of visitor friendly places to visit in a fifty mile radius.

Finally and IMPORTANTLY the owners are great people. Andre (and Susan) are friendly and helpful owners. Here is one example. During our stay the WiFi (router) failed. Andre did not hesitate to remedy the situation. Within a few hours he quickly had a new one was installed which help us stay in touch with job requirements on the mainland.

We have visited and rented homes in Hawaii since the early 1980s. Please believe me when I say this is a very good deal as our stay at Coconut Palms was an outstanding one.

Peace and enjoy Hawaii!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Aloha Andre from Germany

Review submitted: December 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2010

I stayed 7 days in November 2010 (excuse me I forgot to write the review) in Coconut Palms. It was a pleasure for me to meet Andre. He was a very friendly host. He even sent a device for my iPad that I forgot in the room to my home address in Germany. Thank you again. My room in the second floor was comfortable and quiet. I enjoyed my stay in a very interesting region. Hope to come back soon from Germany to Coconut Palms and Andre and his wife.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great home base for seeing the Big Island

Review submitted: December 3, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2011

This house was great for seeing the whole Big Island. The house was very clean and well laid out.The two downstairs bedrooms were separated from the main living area so that we could have privacy. We thorougly enjoyed the washer and dryer. Being from Texas, we were a little concerned about no A/C. We never needed it since there was a constant breeze. The upstairs loft had a great view. The spiral staircase looked like an expensive piece of furniture. We loved the new black sand beach less than five miles from the house. I would definitely recommend this place to any one who wants to see the Hilo area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We are referring our friends to Coconut Palms !

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 5, 2011

This is a message that was left on our voicemail today from a couple who stayed in the private studio w/ queen bed facing the ocean.
'Andre & Susan, We just wanted to call and thank you so much. We really had a great time and we are already recommending your place to our friends. We are passing your business cards to everyone. We already have some friends that will be calling you in a couple days because they are going to Kalapana in the next few weeks. Thank you again and keep in touch with us.' Khalid and Polly

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We are referring our friends to Coconut Palms !

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 5, 2011

This is a message that was left on our voicemail today from a couple who stayed in the private studio w/ queen bed facing the ocean.
'Andre & Susan, We just wanted to call and thank you so much. We really had a great time and we are already recommending your place to our friends. We are passing your business cards to everyone. We already have some friends that will be calling you in a couple days, because they are going to Kalapana in the next few weeks. Thank you again and keep in touch with us.' Khalid and Polly

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We stayed in one of the studio's. Wonderful stay!

Review submitted: October 1, 2011   Date of arrival: September 15, 2011

We stayed in one of the studio's. Wonderful stay, close to Everything we wanted to do. Spotless and comfortable. Great location, kitchenette had everything we needed, bikes and snorkel gear also available. Quiet neighborhood, and we could not hear the other tenants. Convenient to the volcano, Pahoa and the coast, beautiful location. Thank you for making this available!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful stay,close to Everything we wanted to do

Review submitted: October 1, 2011   Date of arrival: September 19, 2011

We stayed in one of the studio's. Wonderful stay, close to Everything we wanted to do. Spotless and comfortable. Great location, kitchenette had everything we needed, bikes and snorkel gear also available. Quiet neighborhood, and we could not hear the other tenants. Convenient to the volcano, Pahoa and the coast, beautiful location. Thank you for making this available!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Kalapana

Review submitted: September 24, 2011   Date of arrival: September 12, 2011

We stayed in one of the studio's. Wonderful stay, close to Everything we wanted to do. Spotless and comfortable. Great location, kitchenette had everything we needed, bikes and snorkel gear also available. Quiet neighborhood, and we could not hear the other tenants. Convenient to the volcano, Pahoa and the coast, beautiful location. Thank you for making this available!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Home - we were impressed !!!

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2011

This was a note that we received after the customer left today.

Dear Susan and Andre , Thank You so much ! We washed all the linens & towels for you. This is a lovely home - we were impressed especially with the circular stairs. Aloha Greg

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything was Super 10 0ut of 10 !

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

Thanks Andre. Everything was Super ! We will write you in a few weeks and we give you a 10/10 on internet. Marc-Andre' from Quebec

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You Very Much For Your Hospitality

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 22, 2011

Dear Susan and Andre
Thank You very much for your hospitality. We enjoyed our stay at your wonderful house very much. P.S. the bedding and sheets are all washed Mahalo ! Koriatov family

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A QUIET AND BEAUTIFUL PLACE TO REST

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 17, 2011

Thank you for providing us with a quiet and beautiful place to rest. We love being able to sit outside at night and not be bothered by the invasive sound of cars. This place is a perfect vacation spot. I never wanted to leave. I left you some beautiful flowers. It's the least we can do.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A BEAUTIFUL ROOM

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 15, 2011

Aloha Andre. Thank you so much for a beautiful room. I will recommend your rental to others. Mahalo! - Clayton and Laura

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Aloha Andre & Susan

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 17, 2011

Our customers often leave notes and I found another today on the hallway wall.


Aloha Andre, Thank You so much for a beautiful room, I will recommend your rental to others. Mahalo Clayton and Laura

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A quiet and beautiful place to rest !

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 15, 2011

Customer left a note today (8/24/2011) about their recent stay in one of our studios at Coconut Palms.

Thank You for providing us with a quiet and beautiful place to rest. We loved being able to sit outside at night and not be bothered by the invasive sound of cars. This place is a perfect vacation spot. I never wanted to leave. Enjoy these beautiful flowers, it's the least we can do. Signed Christina and Jacob.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is the best experience I ever had in renting

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

This is the best experience I ever had in renting a vacation room.
It started with the first contact when I received a call from Andre the owner. He described and explained everything so excellent so would not get misled or a wrong expression. When we arrived he was very welcoming and helpful with settling into our short vacation right away. During his busy days he would take the time and help with everything from providing items we forgot to take or buy on our trips to the towns or discussing things to do. He immediately helped us out when we lost our key to the rental car on the last day. He made phone calls and drove us to to the rental car place in Hilo. He made our vacation the most wonderful experience. Thank you Andre!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Aloha abounds

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

Guest: Spiralmom(Eugene, OR)
Date of Stay: 05/11/11 Review Submitted: 05/24/11

My party was in a jam for accommodations and Andre gave us a great rate in a pinch! His studio was clean and open with many options. The main house was beautiful, the huge porch was the icing on the cake. He was open and friendly and offered extras such as snorkeling gear and bicycles for rides to the beach. I would highly recommend it, cause we are definitely staying there next time we visit The Big Island!! Mahalo and Aloha

Owner response:Hi Eron, we really enjoyed you and the family and do hope that you come back. Coconut Palms now has a NEW internet provider w/ 'super fast internet' and it is guaranteed to be reliable for everyone to use - whether you are renting one of the completely private studios off to the side or the beautiful 3 bedroom house w/ the love loft. Susan and I hope you and your lovely family return here at Coconut Palms. Aloha and mahalo for now.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I have never found such a great deal!

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

Date of Stay: 05/10/11 Review Submitted: 05/26/11

I have never found such a great deal on such a nice place anywhere. Andre did everything he could to be helpful, from providing detailed instructions to the house to stocking the kitchen to allowing us the use of the snorkel equipment in the garage. The snorkeling was fantastic, thanks Andre! Everything was really clean and we had more space than we knew what to do with. The gorgeous little bedroom at the top of the spiral stairs in the loft was a paradise. Going to sleep with the sound of all the frogs was super. If you rent with friends, be sure to call dibs on the upstairs room right off. The other two bedrooms are on the ground floor and each has it's own patio door. Tons of balcony space upstairs with comfortable patio furniture and an outdoor table for dining. Barbque downstairs, washer and dryer, big screen tv for down time. The place gets nice light and a pleasant breeze. The location was great, about 25 minutes from Pahoa. It's about 40 minutes to Hilo heading north, and I think it took us about 45 minutes to get to Volcanoes National Park heading west. Only about 10 minutes away is a great black sand beach and a cool little hippy colony with a cafe and a little bar. Snorkeling in the tide pools was about 20 minutes in the opposite direction. Running in the morning along the beach listening to the waves and seeing the flowers could not be beat. If you had told me I could find a place like this for the money we paid before I found this little gem I would have laughed at you. We are SO coming back here again.

Owner response:Well Aloha Karen, Gee whiz ! This has got to be one of the best reviews I have ever heard. Susan and I were 'very touched' by your thoughtful and comprehensive comments about your experience here - you really did love the place. You know, we do 'pay attention' to our customers comments and 'act on' any suggestions or feedback in an effort to improve Coconut Palms and the service we provide. We really do 'get it' and realize that if our customers suggest something - we better listen. Anyways, we hope you return and when you do, there will be a surprise waiting for you. Mucho Mahalo Andre & Susan

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A very quiet location to relax and unwind

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: April 26, 2011

Date of Stay: 04/26/11 Review Submitted: 06/22/11

My husband and I rented the home from Andre. Not only was he very helpful with answering any questions about the location, but gave us excellent advice about where to go for sightseeing and some of his favourite places to shop (Pahoa fish market has the most excellent fresh fish!!!) Since this was my first time renting online, I was a little leary about what I was renting. But upon arrival, with Andre greeting us, and showing us around the place, I felt right at home. The home was perfect! Very clean, very spacious and very quiet -- It was great for star gazing at night, and enjoying a morning coffee on the balcony! Being in Kalapana, we were only a 10 minute drive to the black sand beach and only a few minutes farther to see one of the newer lava flow areas! You are less than an hour away from the Kilauea National Volcano Park, and the drive there is easy to do! I would recommend staying here for anybody who wants to get away from the city, so that you can relax and unwind.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest: Lahela(Waikane, Oahu)

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

Date of Stay: 06/02/11 Review Submitted: 06/23/11

I wanted to be able to relax and cleanse from my Oahu life, for my 30th birthday. I couldn't have found a better place! Mahalo nui loa e Andre! We were truly "off the map", which is what I wanted. There was more than enough room for my ohana to be comforable. The value is beyond words! Only recommendation I have: darker curtains in the downstairs master bedroom. Other than that WE LOVED EVERYTHING!!!!

Owner response:Aloha Lahela, Thank you so much for the positive comments and I agree that this is the best deal around. We will continue to provide 'the best vacation rental experience' for your hard earned money - as long as we can, and we love hearing that people really appreciate Coconut Palms and Kalapana.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest Comments

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: December 1, 2010

Dan Vincennes, IN
Review Submitted: July 27, 2011 Date of Stay: July 2011
We stayed 11 days and were very satisfied. The ocean breezes were consistent, the views gorgeous, the neighborhood friendly and colorful. The 3BR/1.5Bath unit is in great condition with plenty of towels and linens. The water filtration works great and the water is fine for drinking (although a big "jug" of bottled water was there as well) I'm looking forward to a future stay(and I lived on the Big Island for 10 years previously).
We had a great time.

Mahalo nui loa Andre.
Sarah Arkansas
Review Submitted: July 25, 2011 Date of Stay: February 2011
I had a wonderful time here. This is a lovely house, clean and attractive, with lots of extras. Andre is just downright sweet and was very helpful to me. I will stay here every time i get the chance!

Coconut Palms is located in beautiful Kalapana, a great place to enjoy Hawaii.
5 Wow, I loved this place. It was so close to everything and the building is brand new and very clean.
adam Portland, OR
Review Submitted: July 24, 2011 Date of Stay: June 2011

We stayed at Coconut Palms and had such a wonderful vacation. And it was so clean, which is very important to me. The building is just a year old so everything is in great condition. It had a full kitchen, fridge, sink, dining room and all. I would love to have this as my home all year round.
Kehena beach is so close so we spent a few days suntanning and swimming there. One morning (go early) there was a pod of dolphins we swam with..that was a big wow for us. Kehena is black sand from the lava and so pretty.
Andre, the owner, made all the difference as he is so helpful and really cares that we have a good vacation. I find this to be very unusual as most vacation rentals managers don't really care.
The lookout bedroom (3rd floor) is amazing with all the windows and a 360 degree view, so when you come with family be sure to get dibs on this room!
Another day we went to the Kapoho tide pools and snorkeled..another wow place. The fish and coral is so pretty. We loved what a great location Coconut Palms is to everything we wanted to do. Another day we went to the Uncle Roberts' Awa bar (local hawaiian family) and listened to hawaiian music and one lady even got up and did some hula that was so enchanting, from here we walked out to a brand new black sand beach as he lava created it just a few years ago.
Thank you Andre.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Pleasure in Paradise

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

We stayed 11 days and were very satisfied. The ocean breezes were consistent, the views gorgeous, the neighborhood friendly and colorful. The 3BR/1.5Bath unit is in great condition with plenty of towels and linens. The water filtration works great and the water is fine for drinking (although a big "jug" of bottled water was there as well) I'm looking forward to a future stay(and I lived on the Big Island for 10 years previously).

We had a great time.

Mahalo nui loa Andre.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Dan, Thank You so much for the nice comments and it was a pleasure talking w/ you. We want you and your wonderful family to come back again soon...I know that you loved the barbecue so I will be sure to put a couple Ahi steaks in the freezer for you - is that a deal ! There will be another bike as well - promise ! Mahalo nui loa to you and family as well.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous place, Fabulous host!

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

I had a wonderful time here. This is a lovely house, clean and attractive, with lots of extras. Andre is just downright sweet and was very helpful to me. I will stay here every time i get the chance!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Wow, I loved this place. It was so close to everything and the building is brand new and very clean.

Review submitted: July 24, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

We stayed at Coconut Palms and had such a wonderful vacation. And it was so clean, which is very important to me. The building is just a year old so everything is in great condition. It had a full kitchen, fridge, sink, dining room and all. I would love to have this as my home all year round.

Kehena beach is so close so we spent a few days suntanning and swimming there. One morning (go early) there was a pod of dolphins we swam with..that was a big wow for us. Kehena is black sand from the lava and so pretty.

Andre, the owner, made all the difference as he is so helpful and really cares that we have a good vacation. I find this to be very unusual as most vacation rentals managers don't really care.

The lookout bedroom (3rd floor) is amazing with all the windows and a 360 degree view, so when you come with family be sure to get dibs on this room!

Another day we went to the Kapoho tide pools and snorkeled..another wow place. The fish and coral is so pretty. We loved what a great location Coconut Palms is to everything we wanted to do. Another day we went to the Uncle Roberts' Awa bar (local hawaiian family) and listened to hawaiian music and one lady even got up and did some hula that was so enchanting, from here we walked out to a brand new black sand beach as he lava created it just a few years ago.

Be sure to be there on a Saturday morning if you can as we walked not a block to a local farmers market at a place called Space...how charming and we even had our breakfast there...be sure to ask Andre about it. Well, I just had to share all this with everyone as reviews help me so much to choose good places to stay. Thank you Andre.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hello Adam, I think I should hire you as my advertisement advisor. Gee, I appreciate the kind words and am really glad you all had a great time over here. Feel free to come back ANYTIME !

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Comfortable and Accomodating

Review submitted: June 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

Andre was extremely accomodating. We had a booked at a hotel in Hilo, only to find out that is was not such a nice place to stay. I contacted Andre at 7pm and on the same night, we were arrived to this rental. We booked the two studios as the 3 bedroom was taken. None the less, we spent two nights here. The beds were comfortable. Lynn was very informative about things to do. They have information for local services like a personal chef, massuse, or tour guide available at the rental. We had a great time while we were there, and were much more comfortable staying here than the place we had originally booked in Hilo. The prices are unheard of. Our stay was very reasonably priced. A word about Hawaii... there are bugs and they are to be expected. If the lights are on, they will come. Lynn was nice enough to warn us about this. We quickly understood what she was talking about. If you are afraid of bugs, this is not the place for you. We were not expecting the bugs so it was a bit of a surprise for us, but we dealt with it by keeping the doors shut and the screened windows open. The rental itself, is clean and modern and comfortable. The beds were comfortable. We would stay here again. We had a great time. Thanks Andre & Lynn.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha, glad that you loved the place and you are certainly welcome back anytime. We always ask tennants to avoid leaving the outside lights on at night because 'everyone knows' that lights attract insects' any where that you go in Hawaii . Some people forget or disregard what they are told and find a few cane beatles outside on the porch lights. This is normally not much of a problem to most people as we keep our land cleared around the house. During the day, insects are not an issue at all. Please don't let a few harmless cane beatles scare you away from Hawaii because that would be a shame. LOL Mahalo and aloha.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wonderfully off the map!!!!

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

I wanted to be able to relax and cleanse from my Oahu life, for my 30th birthday. I couldn't have found a better place! Mahalo nui loa e Andre! We were truly "off the map", which is what I wanted. There was more than enough room for my ohana to be comforable. The value is beyond words! Only recommendation I have: darker curtains in the downstairs master bedroom. Other than that WE LOVED EVERYTHING!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Aloha Lahela, Thank you so much for the positive comments and I agree that this is the best deal around. We will continue to provide 'the best vacation rental experience' for your hard earned money - as long as we can, and we love hearing that people really appreciate Coconut Palms and Kalapana.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

a very quiet location to relax and unwind

Review submitted: June 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 26, 2011

My husband and I rented the home from Andre. Not only was he very helpful with answering any questions about the location, but gave us excellent advice about where to go for sightseeing and some of his favourite places to shop (Pahoa fish market has the most excellent fresh fish!!!)
Since this was my first time renting online, I was a little leary about what I was renting. But upon arrival, with Andre greeting us, and showing us around the place, I felt right at home.
The home was perfect! Very clean, very spacious and very quiet -- It was great for star gazing at night, and enjoying a morning coffee on the balcony!
Being in Kalapana, we were only a 10 minute drive to the black sand beach and only a few minutes farther to see one of the newer lava flow areas!
You are less than an hour away from the Kilauea National Volcano Park, and the drive there is easy to do!
I would recommend staying here for anybody who wants to get away from the city, so that you can relax and unwind.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Good Deal, Great Location, Nice Home

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

Andre was so sweet to meet us at the house after our flight got delayed and we had trouble finding the place after dark.

The home is very nice and a great deal. It was in the perfect location for us: close to the heated pools along the coast, the lava-covered beaches, and even for driving the Saddle Road and around Mauna Kea. Our HAWAII THE BIG ISLAND REVEALED was helpful in giving us some tips of local things to do!

We loved the local market for a fantastic Ono fish breakfast. Be sure to stop at the Farmer's Markets to get STRAWBERRY MANGOs.

We were disappointed that the balcony bed was a double (though we understood - since it's up spiral stairs), and that there was a plastic sound to the mattresses on each of the beds. (?) We awoke in the morning to tropical birds, a dog barking, and a child running up and down the stairs and stomping in the studio apartment in the house. Oh well.

Still a great deal and a great location. Thank you for your hospitality, Andre. Congratulations on your wedding and mahalo again!
Colleen

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Owners response: Aloha Colleen, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are getting quite popular and more families with kids are staying at Coconut Palms and kids will be kids. Hopemyou return soon and thank you for the congrats..I feel blessed to have found this very special person.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This place is an amazing deal!

Review submitted: May 26, 2011   Date of arrival: May 10, 2011

I have never found such a great deal on such a nice place anywhere. Andre did everything he could to be helpful, from providing detailed instructions to the house to stocking the kitchen to allowing us the use of the snorkel equipment in the garage. The snorkeling was fantastic, thanks Andre!
Everything was really clean and we had more space than we knew what to do with. The gorgeous little bedroom at the top of the spiral stairs in the loft was a paradise. Going to sleep with the sound of all the frogs was super. If you rent with friends, be sure to call dibs on the upstairs room right off. The other two bedrooms are on the ground floor and each has it's own patio door. Tons of balcony space upstairs with comfortable patio furniture and an outdoor table for dining. Barbque downstairs, washer and dryer, big screen tv for down time. The place gets nice light and a pleasant breeze.
The location was great, about 25 minutes from Pahoa. It's about 40 minutes to Hilo heading north, and I think it took us about 45 minutes to get to Volcanoes National Park heading west. Only about 10 minutes away is a great black sand beach and a cool little hippy colony with a cafe and a little bar. Snorkeling in the tide pools was about 20 minutes in the opposite direction. Running in the morning along the beach listening to the waves and seeing the flowers could not be beat. If you had told me I could find a place like this for the money we paid before I found this little gem I would have laughed at you. We are SO coming back here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Well Aloha Karen, Gee whiz ! This has got to be one of the best reviews I have ever heard. Susan and I were 'very touched' by your thoughtful and comprehensive comments about your experience here - you really did love the place. You know, we do 'pay attention' to our customers comments and 'act on' any suggestions or feedback in an effort to improve Coconut Palms and the service we provide. We really do 'get it' and realize that if our customers suggest something - we better listen.
Anyways, we hope you return and when you do, there will be a surprise waiting for you. Mucho Mahalo Andre & Susan

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Aloha abounds

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 11, 2011

My party was in a jam for accommodations and Andre gave us a great rate in a pinch! His studio was clean and open with many options. The main house was beautiful, the huge porch was the icing on the cake. He was open and friendly and offered extras such as snorkeling gear and bicycles for rides to the beach. The only thing to improve on is the internet connection. He claims there is a sketchy at best connection (if you hold it in the right direction), though we were never able to successfully connect.
Overall I would highly recommend it, cause we are definitely staying there next time we visit The Big Island!! Mahalo and Aloha

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Eron, we really enjoyed you and the family and do hope that you come back. Your right, the internet 'was spotty' and I'm sorry that you never were able to get online but the problem is finally solved as of 5/28 as I have been working on getting a fast, dependable internet provider out here for years and finally found one. Coconut Palms now has a NEW internet provider w/ 'super fast internet' and it is guaranteed to be reliable for everyone to use - whether you are renting one of the completely private studios off to the side or the beautiful 3 bedroom house w/ the love loft. Susan and I hope you and your lovely family return here at Coconut Palms. Aloha and mahalo for now.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

Tennant from Alaska who stayed 9 nights in one of our private studio writes:
Mahalo Andre - very sad to leave. Loved staying here! Thank You again and again for opening up your heart & home to me. Cindy

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

A customer from Australia writes: Andre, Thank You for the use of Coconut Palms, we really enjoyed staying here.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Beautiful, clean, brand new house with plenty of space

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

My wife and I loved the house and staying in Kalapana to see the lava flows as well as explore Kilauea. The house is large and everything is new, clean and maintained.

The owner took several of our calls and emails with no problems.

The night time walking lava tour is recommended, going to the local beaches and small towns like Pahoe.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The best vacation spot for us. We'll be back.

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 6, 2011

This was the best vacation rental experience I ever had, from the beginning when inquiring about the place to the very last minute. Andre was so wonderful in accommodating us every day. He helped us find the best things to do and took us even to some spots we would not have found. He helped immediately when we had a problem with loosing the key to our rental car in the ocean. We love to come back as soon as we can.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Sabine, glad that you and Mo had a great experience. You do have to come back because there is so much you haven't seen yet. Give me a call when ready...mahalo

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful, clean, perfect in every way!

Review submitted: February 20, 2011   Date of arrival: February 3, 2011

We stayed in the studio apartment in the house, and it was perfect for the two of us. It was immaculately clean, and nicely decorated with 2 comfortable beds. The house is new and in an excellent location for exploring Puna. There is a lovely lanai around 3 sides of the house (from which you can see the ocean) with a table and chairs where we ate all our meals. In one direction we could see the sun rise over the ocean,and in another we could see the sunsets. On our last day there was a giant double rainbow right in front of the house. We loved walking in the safe, quiet neighborhood and shopping at the wonderful farmer's market (just a half block away.) Our host, Andre, was so welcoming and helpful.
We loved the studio and Puna so much we cancelled two other reservations, so we could stay longer, In all we stayed at three other places on the island all of which were much more expensive and not nearly as nice as this studio. What a bargain!
We loved the black sand Kehena Beach, and the Aloha spirit we found everywhere in the area. SeaView Estates is beautifully remote with wonderfully clean air which makes the stars seem so huge and bright. Most of all we loved the peace we felt there.
We are planning to return as soon as possible. It was by far the highlight of our time on the Big Island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha, Now, this one of the best reviews I have ever had. I'm very flattered by your thoughtful comments. I hope you and your daughter do come back. Maybe Susan and I can take you out to the Kalapana cafe' for an Ono Burger when you come back. Hope to see you again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 6, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

We love this place, Andre, can we stay another day? This is the best place that we have ever stayed at - it is PERFECT! Thank You

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 6, 2011   Date of arrival: January 25, 2011

Andre, we heard of it in Costa Rico but experienced it in Hilo, Hawaii. We took the extreme UF zipline experience this day. Our guides (Josh and Daniel) were great. We are in our sixties and a little pudgy. They handled us safely and respectfuly even when we needed an extra hand. Even the trip up the hill in the van was fun! I give 5 stars to you guys. for a chance of a lifetime and another experince crossed our bucket list. Kocur, Florida

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 6, 2011   Date of arrival: January 3, 2011

Thanks andre. We had a great time and we DEFINITELY will be back, this place is GREAT! Bob and Jolee

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 6, 2011   Date of arrival: January 31, 2011

Thanks, the accomodations were excellent for our family. We enjoyed this end of the island.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 6, 2011   Date of arrival: January 11, 2011

We really loved the studio - it was perfect. Thanks for letting us use the bikes and snorkeling equipment. We had a blast. if you ever need a reference, they can call me.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 6, 2011   Date of arrival: January 3, 2011

Andre, this place is great. We DEFINITELY will be back. Thanks Bob & Jolee

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Off the beaten path, good rates, but not very clean!

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 5, 2011

With a good cleaning, the upper ocean facing studio could have been 5 stars. I made it a point to arrive before dark and found the property locked up tight. Had to drive back to the main road for a cell signal to contact Andre. He met me promptly, but seemed somewhat surprised by my arrival. At a glance, the accomodations looked good, but while getting settled in, I realized how dirty the place was. I can be comfortable in a tent as well as the Westin, but do expect lodging to be cleaned between quests. More than just hanging fresh towels and taking the trash out. Wiping down the counters, cupboards, refrigerator and changing the sheets seem like givens? Andre has a quiet spot a few minutes from the lava and beautiful sunrise shoreline, but when I find previous guest's personal belongings amongest the dust balls and grit under the furniture it's obvious the housekeeping standards are lacking. This place has potential, but didn't meet the mark during my visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: I would not take this renter too seriously for several reasons. He did surprise me by the way he projected himself upon arrival (angry, confused, frustrated, and alone). He appeared to have a challenging trip and clearly did not follow basic instructions that were typed out for him-which is unusual unless you are 'impaired' in some way. I found out very soon what the problem really was after finding 'several empty containers of alcohol' laying around the deck and in the trash can. One of these bottles fell off the side rail on to the cement deck below...which demonstrated total disregard for the safety of renters below . Anyways,I got the impression that this 'person' seemed to be looking for a better deal and was willing to go to extreme lengths to find 'something wrong' with the place so he actually moved beds and TV's to find some dust - because there was nothing else to find. This person clearly wanted a bigger discount and went to any length to try and get one - I believe. I can't regard this persons info as credible 'at all' considering the circumstances and alcohol involved. Please read all my other reviews and decide who you chose to believe. Coconut Palms is very popular and most people can't wait to get back here. I go out of my way to make 'everyones experience a happy, healthy, and memorable experience. Mahalo

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lava watching, black sand, and tide pools

Review submitted: October 29, 2010   Date of arrival: October 21, 2010

My family and I stayed in the two bedroom part of Coconut Palms on Oct 21 as a one day diversion from our two weeks in Waikaloa (kept us from a night drive back across the island). It was a great central location for doing things in the Puna district of Hawaii. The lava watching was just minutes away (although most of trail was closed for us due to recent outbreak of lava, so we only saw from great distance), the picturesque black sand beach at Kaimu likewise is close, and the wonderful snorkeling at the tide pools in Kapoho is just a short drive away along the beautiful coast. The nearby hamburger stand at the southwestern end of Hwy 137 at Kaimu has great food at very reasonable prices. My wife had the best Ahi sandwich she's every had there.

The unit is quite new, clean and spacious inside with a large 2nd level deck outside, featuring a nice view of the ocean and neighborhood . The kitchen is well equipped for all your cooking needs, and there are plenty of windows and fans to keep a nice breeze flowing. Having one full and one half bathroom is a very welcome feature. The only slight negative is the spotty internet reception, the TV, however, works well. Also, Verizon cell phones (CDMA) do not work at all in this area. The outside grill is a bit small for any serious grilling.

Coconut Palms looks just like the pictures. Andre is a helpful and knowledgeable host, eager to make your stay enjoyable. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Coconut Palms and would stay here again if we're ever back in this area. We'd recommend this place to any friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Feel the Hawaiian breeze!!!!!

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: October 18, 2010

This was my first trip to Hawaii. I went to Honolulu first for a wedding, then flew to the Big Island to get away from the hussle &bussle and be adventerous. Traveling with my 1.5yo daughter made me very aware of safety issues. With Andre's reassurance and my experience at Coconut Palms, it was the most pleasant portion of my trip. The air was so fresh, and the BREEZE made me melt into the seat on the deck. And the studio was very clean---thank you!!!

If you drive down the road, there's a great warm pond to relax in. The times I explored the area was never over crowded. I met really friendly locals and enjoyed the fresh Ahi caught by fishermen everyday from the Pahoa fishmarket. The kitchenetts provided was more than enough to prepare quality meals!!! I made breakfast and dinner everyday day I was there. I'd recommend having a car to allow flexibility with exploring the beautiful drive around the whole island!!!

When I have the opportunity to, I will definately come back with my husband (and maybe the two older children)!!! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: September 22, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2010

A great place to stay .A short distance from the Ocean .A paradise to be hold .The owner,Andre,
goes way out of his way to make you feel at home at Coconut Palms and at reasonable prices .You
can not beat it anywhere .Five star plus in my books .

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Excellent home base!

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 14, 2010

We were very comfortable in the house. It was everything we needed for a home base and so close to all the Puna beaches and attractions! We went to the Champaign Ponds every morning to startt he day in warm water, and sometimes at the end of the day too. The house had a huge kitchen, and big living room. It was nice to have our own rooms, and really brilliant to have use of the washer/dryer! Hope to return after the loft is finished!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Beautiful home, relaxing vacation...

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: September 9, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Coconut Palms for three days at the end of our vacation. The house is beautiful and new, Andre was helpful with information, and we were close to the Kapoho tide pools and the lava flow area. Although I did get a handful of mosquito bites - it was cool and breezy out on the porch where we ate, read and relaxed. The best part of our time there - spending time getting to know Bill and Greg - tenants in the room rentals. We hope to come back with the whole family next year. Thanks again!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Paradise in Paradise - Fabulous Hosts

Review submitted: August 21, 2010   Date of arrival: August 19, 2010

Our stay at Coconut Palms in Kalapana - Sea View Estates was fantastic all-round. Andre and Mila are great hosts that helped us plan and enjoy a relaxing and beautiful vacation. The home is beautiful with great amenities, fabulous views, great breezes with lots of air circulation through the house, and no problems with mosquitoes. Really close to many sites and recreation choices including the Volcanoes National Park, black sand beaches, thermal ponds, snorkeling areas, and other options for fun and relaxation. We would definitely stay here again if we come back to Hawai'i.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great Place to Stay!

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: June 27, 2010

Coconut Palms was a great place to stay for our family trip to the Big Island. Andre and Mila were super helpful and accommodating. Having breakfast on the lanai and just relaxing, reading a book there and looking at the beautiful changing sky was so lovely. Plus there are tons of things to do nearby. The bikes were fun to tool around on in the neighborhood. We rode to the black sand beach and down to the great view at the entrance park as well. The house is very quiet and the stars at night are fabulous. A great location for doing everything, comfortable and lovely setting and just overall perfect. Andre went above and beyond to be helpful when we forgot something on the mainland and even mailed us a library book we left at the house. Coconut Palms was a super vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

awesome!

Review submitted: May 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 12, 2010

Coconut Palms is truly amazing! Me and my friends had a GREAT TIME enjoying the awesome sunrise and sunset views, the hiking and lava viewing and many more. The place was so RELAXING and out of this world! You are REALLY in paradise! We appreciate the PERSONAL ATTENTION provided to us by the owner, Andre. Thank you so much. We HIGHLY recommend COCONUT PALMS to everyone...and we look forward to coming back!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Review submitted: January 26, 2010   Date of arrival: January 26, 2010

Andre and Mila have outdone themselves in creating a gorgeous and sparkling new comfortable home for visitors fortunate enough to find themselves in this spectacular paradise. Begin your day by smelling the sweet Hawaiian air while enjoying breakfast on the lanai and then end your day gazing at the truly brilliant display of stars in the night sky. We HIGHLY recommend Coconut Palms and look forward to our next visit!!!! Karen and John

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review