reviews for: listing #86461 - Idaho Springs, Colorado House rental

Skier's Delight, Secluded Mountain Retreat
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Mill Creek Park
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $300 - $350 /nt
    $1,700 - $1,700 /wk
    $6,000 - $6,000 /mth

sort by:

Greg R.

Review submitted: December 31, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

My family had a good time at Russ's home. We had six adults and three children (2 that were 1 year and under). We appreciated the big kitchen and nice dining room plus the family room was very adequate. Beautiful scenery! Nice place to get away. Thanks, Russ

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gates Property

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

VRBO from HomeAway

Please Revise
Your Review
Thank you for submitting your review. The purpose of the review system is to give future travelers additional information about the vacation rental.

To ensure the integrity of our review system, and to be fair to other travelers and owners, a review must conform with our guidelines before it can be posted on our website.


The review you submitted does not meet our guidelines and cannot be posted at this time for the following reason(s):

Your review contains personal or business contact information.

You can find the review guidelines in full at:
guidelines page




Once you review the guidelines, please resubmit the review. Please make sure to check all fields (including the title and body) and ensure that they comply with our guidelines.

Like many website that accept and our post user-generated content, VRBO has adopted policies that conform with the Communications Decency Act (in the United States) and the EU Ecommerce directive in the European Union. While there are many facets to these regulations, at the most basic level these laws require that user-generated content be the result of your efforts and your efforts alone. A review must be in your own words. We cannot modify or change the content of a review, nor can we tell you how to change the content to conform to the guidelines because giving you guidance as to what to say is the same as modifying or editing it ourselves. You can resubmit it by clicking on the button below. Your current review is displayed at the bottom of this message.

Resubmit Your Review


Review #[123345] Review Title

We recently spent 3 nights / 4 days at this property and had a blast! We have 11 in total, 7 adults and 4 children ranging from 2 - 12 and they all had a great time. The setting was perfect for what we were wanting - seclusion, stream, mountains and wildlife. The owner was very accommodating and the property was very comfortable. We were extremely satisfied and highly recommend it to others!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heavenly Gates

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

We just finished a 1 week stay at Heavenly Gates.Truly a secluded home away form home. It was everything we had hoped for. The description of the property was perfect. The stream running through the property was wonderful, we woke up each morning listening to it with our morning coffee and it started the day of perfectly. Russ was great to work with and answered all our questions before we came and left his cell phone number if we needed him. There is ample shopping in Idaho Springs, and many close attractions to visit. We spend alot of time fishing at the nearby lakes and also enjoyed the Georgetown train and mine ride.I would definately recommend this property. It was well equiped and stocked with the essential including a waher and dryer. We will surely stay here again.
Thanks Russ for the opportunity to spend time in you wonderful retreat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great weekend getaway!

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 27, 2013

We spent three days for a girls weekend at Russ's house in June. It was a great location, not too far from home, close to Idaho Springs and still felt secluded. The layout of the main level was spacious. We enjoyed cooking our meals in the kitchen and hanging out having movie time in the comfortable living room area. The deck was the highlight of it all! We loved having our coffee in the morning outside and our afternoon wine and appetizers listening to the creek below. Russ was wonderful to work with. He even had a bottle of wine waiting for us when we got there. A nice touch. Thanks for a great weekend away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pat Angel

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

We stayed here with my children, their spouses and children, so we had varying age groups. We all loved the beautiful area, the river in the back, the hiking areas, as well as the easy access to all of the other places we wanted to go and do. The layout of the house was perfect for a family. We appreciated all of the help Russ gave us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great spot

Review submitted: February 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

Our extended family(2 couples, 1 single and two kids) stayed here last summer. Location of the home gave you the feeling of being away from it all, but close enough to get back into town quickly. Really loved it! Great hanging out space, big kitchen, big master bedroom and bath, great porches. Idaho Springs is a great, slower pace mountain town. Loved our stay! Our only complaint, it is minor, is that the queen bed in the second bedroom was very uncomfortable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoyable retreat

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

We really enjoyed staying at this mountain retreat. It has a great kitchen area and plenty of room for a large family. We had a great time and really liked the beautiful mountains that surrounded this cabin. It is located near a national forest with lots of hiking trails. Thanks for a great stay.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family fun for all

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 11, 2012

My family and I stayed at this wonderful mountain retreat for 4 days and we left wanting more. I would highly recommend this home away from home to anyone wanting rest and relaxation. Russ, the owner was very helpful and accommodating.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heavenly Secluded Retreat

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: August 2, 2012

The owner, Russ, was kind enough to rent to us for only four days and three nights in August while we attended a wedding in nearby Georgetown. Seven adults were delighted with our accommodations. The attractive house was clean and comfortable. Russ was friendly and attentive....even including a bottle of Merlot for our arrival. My family and I would certainly return to this home for a winter vacation to ski at nearby resorts if the opportunity ever arises.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quite getaway

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

I would have to say overall myself and my family had a good time. I would not suggest toddlers be at this location due to the stairs that lead down to the bunk beds. It was confortable but the bunks are down there.If you want your kids by you, that would be difficult to do. I would not want my little ones next to the stairs, that would be scary so we had to watch the toddlers and make sure they did not go near there. Overall, the stay was pleasant and beautiful! The owner was exceptional! I felt I could tell him my concerns, if anything, and he was understanding. Do not try and get there in the dark. We left late and got there late at night. Barely any lighting. But we made it. If you want a place to go where it is away from it all and very peaceful..this is your place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Only wish we had more time there!

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

Everything was great! We had no complications hosting a rather large group here at the house. We enjoyed the location and the beauty that the scenery brought! It was secluded enough to be away from everything, but close enough to run into town and grab food. Overall, we had an excellent experience and would like to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

Wonderfully relaxing. The forest surrounding the place is beautiful. A great place to hike

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Honymoon retreat

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

My new wife and I used this house to hold or wedding party before the ceremony and then kept it for another week after the ceremony for our honymoon. It is a beautiful house in a great location. It is large, holds a lot of people, and it was awesome to fall asleep to the creek flowing by every night. The layout of the house is a little odd, but once we found everything it was quite enjoyable. The two bunk beds downstairs are very comfortable, but the stairs to get down to them are very short. I am 6'6" and the gap from stairs to ceiling was abou 4'. It seems it was added later. All in all a wonderful place to stay. It was well priced and we had a great time. Russ was great to work with and that alone makes this place a great find.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: The spiral staircase going downstairs is a bit tight. It was designed that way to avoid using up any more room than was necessary in the living room. It opened up the 300 square foot nicley finished downstairs bedroom from the first floor.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great late snowy weekend!

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

Called Russ a week before we were looking to book the house for my friends 30th bday and thankfully he was able to squeak us in. All my friend wanted was a beautiful secluded place where we could play some acoustic guitars and enjoy some nature. This beautiful house totally hit the spot especially with the late season snow falling while we settled in. Russ not only was incredibly friendly but completely accommodating. We were able to sleep 10 of us comfortably and just loved the the ability to step out side and here the babbling creek. Really couldn't have asked for much more. I will be totally recommending the house to friends and family and would love to get back up there myself as well. Thanks Russ!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Attractive Property

Review submitted: December 24, 2011   Date of arrival: December 10, 2011

We came up with a group of friends for the Georgetown Christmas Festival. The place is a little off the beaten path, but we were happy for that. It's a beautiful place, and I bet it's even prettier in the summer or fall. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The dining and living rooms were large and great gathering places. The only snafu we ran into is water pressure. We couldn't do dishes in the sink while someone was showering (the first and only shower attempted). We would recommend this to a group of people- probably best for families as only two rooms are really set up for couples.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: I do have a binder with insructions on how to use different appliances, gas grill, wood stove and that water pressure varies depending on taking showers, doing laundry, and using the dishwaser at the same time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Chillin House

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 23, 2011

We were 10 guys who rented the house for a bachelor party. Had more than enough room for us . The deck over looking the creek was amazing. The firepit was the perfect place to sit around and have some drinks. More than enough plates and utensils from cooking to grilling. Close to the ATV and white water rafting place. Resturants were within 5 mins drive. Overall, its one of the best places we have rented for our getaways.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic property!!!

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

My husband and myself had a wonderful stay at this mountain retreat! What can you say it was just perfect!
Especially opening the windows and hearing the river water rushing was unbelievable and was just so relaxing for us! Then, peering off the deck you saw
the river.. it was really beautiful and so awesomel! Not to mention that the owner Russ was so accomodating and the reservations were so easy to make. Plus, he was very kind and considerate and the home was spotless when we arrived! There was plenty of bottled water and condiments if we needed them! The beautiful wildflowers all around were to die for,too. Plus, the gorgeous mountain view! To much to mention and hiking was fun! We would definitely recommend
this property if you want to get away and just relax from the hustle and bustle of the City! Everything was perfect and we absolutely loved it! Thanks so much Russ will be back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 4, 2011

We had a fabulous time in Colorado. Your house was wonderful. We have used VRBO many times for rentals all over the place, but yours was the best stocked of any place we have ever been. It was really nice to actually have enough silverware and dishes for 9 people and plenty of pats and pans to choose from. The bottle of wine upon our arrival was really a nice treat after a long day of driving and so very thoughtful. Thank you for everything.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review