reviews for: listing #86525 - Salem, Oregon House rental

Retro Northwest Classic Willamette Valley Wine Country
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  11
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $130 - $270 /nt
    $865 - $1,795 /wk

sort by:

Gnich73@gmail.com

Review submitted: March 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 21, 2014

The house was more than adequate for a weekend girls getaway. The kitchen was amply supplied for a few meals we prepared but the house was centrally located for enjoying a few meals out, shopping and site seeing

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay in Salem,OR

Review submitted: December 27, 2013   Date of arrival: November 13, 2013

Excellent place for a couple families or one BIG one. Thou there were only 2 of us, it was nice to have the whole place to ourselves. No surprises with expectations. A matter of fact, the outside pics on VRBO do not do the place justice. The landscaping is very nice, & overlooks a tree farm. But best of all, the owners did exactly what they said they would do to accommodate my Mother & I. Thx!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thanksgiving weekend family event.

Review submitted: December 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

Excellent setup, clean and well appointed with essentials.
The kitchen sink disposal was not used (sign said broken and 'don't use'). A nuisance for the cooking crew.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: The garbage disposal sign says "Do Not Use", it does not say "Broken". It is in the contract: "DO NOT USE THE GARBAGE DISPOSAL as some odd plumbing in the basement makes the system
susceptible to clogging. This also means put kitchen scraps in the garbage rather than down the drain. If it is found that the plumbing and/or septic system or have been clogged, you could be charged damages." Because of the odd plumbing I have found it easier to simply ask guests not to use the disposal. Since this guest was planning on a large party, we could have talked ahead of time about the careful usage as long as they were willing to risk a plumbing bill.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Davis wedding

Review submitted: August 1, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

We had an amazing time!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Wow! What a great house!

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 16, 2013

We were so comfortable in this great property! Four couples came up for the BMW motorcycle ralley. It was wonderful not to have to worry about being in a hotel and to be able to cook our own meals. The property was very comfortable for the 8 of us, we are so glad to have found it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Roomy home with everything you would need inc Wifi

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

Chose this home for the space to stretch out. Large rooms. Rec room with ping pong table was a big hit. Beautiful grounds. Close to downtown Salem. Home exactly as pictured. No surprises. Great view from every window. Small park across the street with playground. 10 minutes from Riverfront park and huge playgrounds picnic areas. Would have given a 5 star if not for a few minor issues.
One bathtub-but door doesn't lock, light in master shower out, section of carpet in basement bedroom damp for entire week. Owner willing to send someone but we asked to wait till we checked out.
We would stay here again. Great house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed the house. I have spoken with the cleaners about the damp carpet and the lights as those problems should have been caught. This is the first I have heard about the bathroom door not locking, I will get a workman out to address that.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

family gathering for wedding

Review submitted: June 21, 2013   Date of arrival: June 3, 2013

We rented the house for one week to gather as a family for my daughter's wedding in Salem. We needed the 11 sleeping places and all of them proofed to be very comfortable. The house is all we could have wished for, beautifully located, very spacious, contained everything we needed from ironing board to recliners, internet and even a rec room with table tennis. Everything, including the grounds was well kept and very inviting. In any house things can go wrong and we had a hard time to get the dishwasher going the last day, but I am sure the owner will read the note we left and take care of it. She has been wonderful in answering our questions and providing us with information from the start. I would not only recommend this property to a friends, I am seriously considering renting it again, it was so lovely.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AWESOME HOME!

Review submitted: December 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

We were the other family that stayed in this home with "Michael J." for the softball tournament. Two families of four...plenty of room! The view is amazing and the space is perfect! The kids took over the lower level of the home (that is where the game room is located).

While the rest of the team stayed in hotels and RV parks for a week....we were livin' the dream in a house where we cooked meals, did fresh laundry to take home and lots of space to call the trip a true vacation!

PS: Our girls came to Salem to compete in the 2012 ASA Western National Championships and they came home...NATIONAL CHAMPIONS! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Home and Views

Review submitted: September 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

This was our second stay at this home. We love it's classic mid-century decor and the big, comfortable layout that's perfect for an extended family visit. The house is very clean and well supplied and all communications from the owner were prompt and responsive. The views from this location are wonderful. Beautiful landscaping as well.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

House was excellent for a small family get together for my Mother, five siblings and their families. Rooms were large and easily accessible. Kitchen worked well for cooking for 20 to 25 people with no problem. House was immaculate and felt very well maintained. Property was beautiful with the large oak tree and evergreens, definitely an Oregon home. Plenty of parking and would be easily accessible for any person with handicap on upper floor. The home made you feel like you were in a family home, light and airy. We would recommend highly.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding!

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

It is apparent from the moment you enter the house that your stay is going to be memorable. This is a perfect house for a family to spend some quality time together--large, comfortable rooms and beautiful surroundings. Somehow, one gets the feeling that this house has been the site of many good times in the past, present, and will be in the future. I would certainly recommend this house to anyone for the unique decor, well-maintained appearance, and an owner who is very responsive. I look forward to staying there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Superb setting!!

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2012

My son was getting married in Salem and we needed a place tostay and have the rehearsal dinner. This was an absolutely perfect location. Everyone that walked in the door to attend the dinner was absolutely in awe of the surroundings. Plenty of space for people to mill about and visit. The deck was wonderful. Great place for coffee in the morning. It was fun to watch the deer walk through the back yard. The house is filled with everything you need. It is exactly as it looks in the photos. The owner is very nice to work with. Sarah, my family and I thank you for giving us an opportunity to stay in this lovely home. We have lots of new family memories and stories to share thanks to the time we got to spend together in your home. This is definately a place that we would rent again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place to Stay!

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

We were in Salem for a western softball tournament for our 12 year old daughter - this place was perfect, with lots of room, a well appointed kitchen, and laundry. The girls had a great time with the ping pong table and running around the garden. The house reminded us our our parents house with a lot oranges/gold/brown in the decor - this place is great. We were impressed with how clean and well taken care this house is - enjoyed our stay! Thank you!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect home away from home!

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 13, 2012

This is a great property! The owner was very easy to work with, and responsive to all questions.

The house was just as described and all listing details were accurate. The kitchen/family room has plenty of space for gathering, the living room provides another large gathering area, and there is a game room downstairs with ping pong and shuffleboard.

We greatly enjoyed our stay here. Everything was clean and very comfortable. The yard and views were beautiful. We had a great view of Mt Jefferson. The house was well-equipped with everything we needed.

We traveled from Texas for my son's wedding. We were able to spend some time at the coast. I would greatly recommend stopping at the Devil's Punchbowl, where you can enjoy the views of the coastline, stop at Mo's West for clam chowder and enjoy the tastings and self-tour at the Flying Dutchman Winery.. all at the same stop. I would also recommend visiting Yaquina Head Natural Area where you can visit the lighthouse as well as the coastline area where you can see seals, and explore the tidepools. This is a great daytrip from the house.

We hope to stay here again on any return trips.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Place for Family Gathered for a Wedding

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

This was a perfect place for us to stay--we ranged from 5-10 people for 6 days and never felt crowded! Our group included individuals from ages 18 to 80; all attending a wedding north of Salem in Portland and another celebration south in Eugene--so perfect location for us. The living room and kitchen area were so comfortable and great for visiting. The beauty outside the house was incredible--wide variety of flowers, amazing moss-covered trees (we live in a desert), and great views from the deck. It was spotless and well-maintained--the photos are totally accurate. The owner was very responsive when we had to adjust our dates. I would definitely recommend to friends.Much better than a hotel--cheaper and so conducive for visiting. If you get a chance, drive up the historic Highway 30 along the Columbia river gorge--northeast of Portland.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Setting

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

Lots of room, beautiful setting

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful and spacious

Review submitted: April 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 28, 2012

Very large and comfortable home. Beautiful view of the woods, a tree farm and snowy covered mountains. User friendly kitchen. Great location, close to downtown but very quiet ontop of the hill.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Classic Northwest Home Central Wine Country Location

Review submitted: February 22, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

Our stay at this lovely home was wonderful in many ways. The house was located in a lovely area and was maintained beautifully (including the visiting deer). There was enough space and amenities to accommodate several family members coming in from all parts of the country for my son’s wedding in Independence. The owner was responsive and kind. I would love to stay there again during my next visit to Salem.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Neat , clean and roomy

Review submitted: November 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

Eight of us stayed here two nights when we went to Corvallis for the Husky-Beaver game. The house was wonderful, the game not so wonderful. Plenty of room for us all, enjoyed the beautiful landscaping and the view of the city. We would stay again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Belvedere

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

What a wonderful home, has everything you can think of... two refrigerators, washer and dryer. Beds are very comfy. Bathrooms are so clean as is the rest of the house. A very nice neighborhood, quite and peaceful. I would recommend it to my friends. It is so much better in person then in the photos. Reminded my family of the Brady Bunch house....had a great time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great home and location

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

This home was perfect for our family of 5. Each of our kids had their own rooms and there was plenty of space to spread out. It was the perfect location for visiting family and friends in the Salem, Dallas, Albany, and Amity areas. The interior decorating is not super modern, but that was not a concern for us at all. They had all the necessities for cooking, relaxing, watching TV and surfing the net. The home was very clean and enjoyable and the outdoor grounds are beautiful. Easy communication with the owner for rental information made this a clear choice for us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review