reviews for: listing #86559 - Fernandina Beach, Florida Condo rental

Right on the Beach, Beautiful Views from all rooms
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  The Terraces
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $200 /nt
    $900 - $1,200 /wk
    $2,000 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Best-situated condo. at Terraces at Beachside

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

Having stayed in this building and in this specific condo. during past Fernandina Beach visits, we still think this is one of the most convenient locations (ON the beach AND 30 minutes/walking distance to town) to most of the things we like to do in the area. Additionally, we've found this condo. in particular (top floor, corner unit) provides the best view and quietest noise level of all in the building.

The owners communicated with us cordially and quickly, and provided thoughtful details throughout the condo. that helped make our stay all the more enjoyable.

We enjoyed a wonderful over-Christmas stay here and would absolutely stay here again during a future visit to Fernandina Beach!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from Home

Review submitted: August 18, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

My husband, myself and our son and his girlfriend arrived on a Thursday. We parked underneath the building with both our cars. Our room had its own parking space and we used one of the hotels parking spaces for our other car. When you step out of your car there is a lock box where you enter a code that they have sent you. This will give you your one room key. You then will proceed to the elevators where you will have to enter a separate code. We then went down the hall to a very clean condo. On the right as we walked in there were two beach chairs hanging from hooks then a bath with a shower, sink and commode. You then inter the living room with sliding door to the full balcony and a full kitchen with 2 bar stools and a 6 chair and table eating area. There is also a closet with a small stackable washer and dryer. On to the far right is a queen bedroom and bath with a 2 sink, commode, separate tub and shower. This bath also had beach towels. To the far left is a twin bedroom with a door to the full balcony. This room has a separate wall a/c. There is a tv in both bedrooms and the living area. We had all the amenities that we could have ever needed or wanted. The swimming pool is shared with the hotel. Out in the buildings 3rd floor hallway is a storage closet for this condo. They had shovel and bucket, 2 boogie boards, 2 bikes, one was in better shape then the other but they both worked, beach umbrella, beach bag, kite, etc. The beach is straight back. There are a few palm trees in the view and to the left there are buildings. One of which is a beach restaurant that has ok food. A block down the road is a convenience store that you can pick up a few things that you might need. The city of Fernandina Beach is two miles down the road. There is lots of nice places to eat, carriage rides, and shopping. A mile down the road is Fort Clinch, Amelia Island light house and Egans Creek marsh you can walk or bike. Next door is Elizabeth Pointe Lodge. We would walk over there for a wonderful buffet breakfast and sit outside on their veranda. They serve sandwiches 24/7 which can come in handy. Jacksonville is around an easy hour away and has a zoo, museums and gardens. The only thing that might bother you is on Friday and Saturday nights the restaurant, Sandy Bottoms that is next door does get loud but it is over around 11pm so it did not bother us. We felt that this condo was a great deal and made us a wonderful Home away from Home. Enjoy.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great family spot!

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 5, 2013

Our family of five just returned from staying in Kathy's amazing condo! The condo itself is very well appointed - great comfy, clean, not deteriorated furniture. The bathrooms are perfect as well as the kitchen. As far as use - there's nothing left wanting at this condo.

As for location - it's perfect!!! Very uncrowded beach with lifeguards stationed directly in front of the condo. Perfect for a family with little kids. From being in the condo to being down on the beach takes all of five minutes. On top of that - Fort Clinch State Park - rated the best in Florida two times over - is literally two minutes drive from the condo. Trails, history, fishing, playgrounds - it just added another notch of fun to this vacation.

Lastly - Kathy is a great owner. Easy to work with. Delightful and thorough. You'll love this place and these people! This is the first review I've ever written. I always wondered if the owners were just making up the stuff and posting it online to boost their place. NOT TRUE! I wholeheartedly recommend that if you are looking for a beachside condo - there's none better than this one!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best place on the island !! Could not have been more happier. Great views !!

Review submitted: August 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Would highly recommend this to everyone. Clean, everything was there. A/C's worked perfectly !!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful condo.

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 5, 2013

Very spacious and clean. Had a wonderful time. Already planning on going back down. Loved it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation!

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 18, 2013

Enjoyed the incredible view from this Condo. Very clean,comfortable & well appointed, Fernandina is a lovely town & condo is close to Historic district where there is shopping & eateries. We hope to be back to Kathy's lovely home again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent rental - best view in the condo complex!

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 3, 2013

We had a great time and were very impressed with the condo. It's right on the beach on the top floor with a balcony that goes across the length of the unit.

We rode bikes one day (that the owner has in storage on property) and it was super fun.

This place is a straight shot to Downtown Fernandina where there are lots of cute shops, restaurants, bars, etc.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

T&M

Review submitted: March 7, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

This is a wonderful condo and is fully equipped with everything we needed to make our stay a wonderful experience. The view was great as well as the convenience of walking to the ocean. February 2013 was a little cool, but a light jacket was all that was necessary. We met so many wonderful people during our visit. The downtown area is a great place just to walk around, and the side streets were great too. Owners are great to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Find

Review submitted: January 11, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

Absolutely wonderful condo!!! We were there for a week for the Gator Bowl and while the outcome of the game was not pleasant the condo was very pleasing. We created a few problems for ourself by not bringing the lockbox and foyer codes, but Kathy and Jonathon were quick to solve our mistakes(Thanks Again). The condo has everything you need and then some like the two bikes. Best of all is the corner floor to ceiling window in the bedroom, produced wonderful views of sunrise and moonrise. Would stay here again, in fact already planning a trip back this summer.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful experience

Review submitted: October 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 8, 2012

What a wonderful experience! The condo is beautiful, the view is beautiful and the owner went out of her way to make this a positive experience. The property is well maintained and immaculate, very well stocked with every essential. Plan on returning and spreading the word about this condo.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Rested and restored

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

We had such a wonderful time. The view from our balcony was just what I hoped it would be. The unit was clean and easy to be in. I am certain we will return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 18, 2012

Girl's beach trip to Amelia Island was awesome! Condo was very clean and well stocked. Loved that I didn't have to pack my own beach towels! We were within walking distance to a restaurant and convenience store. Close to historic Fernandina Beach and shopping. I hope to get to stay at Kathy's condo again. Can't say enough good things!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Ohio

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We had a great time as we always do in Amelia Island. The condo was great, plenty of room for our family of 5. Lots of items provided for the beach; chairs, umbrella, towels, shovel and pail. The condo was clean and we would definately stay again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely Oceanfront Condo

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2012

Beautifully furnished condo and very safe and clean. Easy beach access. Downside was view, smells and sounds from Sandy Bottoms restaurant directly in front of condo. Website photos do not show that this restaurant is so close or that a partial view is of the roof and it's various air conditioners, etc. Also, a guitarist sings most nights until 11:00 - even with doors closed it can be heard clearly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

BEST money spent for our family getaway!

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

From the moment we walked in, the first thing my kids did was run to the windows and they were in awe with the view! The oceanfront panoramic view from the windows are true to the pictures described in Kathy's rental property. The condo was very modern and kitchen was fully equipped. We love to cook and even on vacation, we enjoyed being able to make our meals, while enjoying the ocean fresh air and breath-taking view.

This was our very first time on Fernandina Beach, and the location was key! Everything was accessible, from the elevators, to the short walk from the boardwalk and right on the beach. I was literally watching my husband and daughter play in the sand, while I was sitting on the couch from the condo. This beach is truly amazing, and we all enjoyed the white sand!

The condo was clean when we had arrived, and we were all very impressed! The beach bikes were a plus for my husband and I, as we were able to take a nice bike ride up and down the beach....very romantic and so serene! I fell in love watching the moon and the sparkling ocean everynight we stayed, and woke up refreshed and excited to look out and open the blinds again first thing in the morning! Our beds were very comfortable and the condo provided extra sheets and thick blankets. Also, there were plenty of towels and 3 beach towels which was enough for my party of 3 adults and 2 children. There was a washer & dryer, and laundry detergent provided, so it was not a problem for us!

We are definitely coming back, we are in love with the beach and our stay in the condo was amazing! I have already referred this property to my girlfriend and her family, whom had suggested Amelia Island to us. Kathy (owner of condo) was so nice and accomodating, as we had made a very last minute booking for that weekend. I just had a good vibe renting from her and a very good feeling about the rental! The previous comments are true, Kathy is very easy to work with and I am very satisfied with the service!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Condo right on the beach!

Review submitted: March 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 5, 2012

We stayed in Kathy's condo for our girl getaway and we had a wonderful time. The condo is very nicely decorated and has everything you could need. The view from the balcony is amazing, we loved watching sun rises and just sitting out there watching everything going on on beautiful Fernandina Beach! Everything is so close and the restaurant next door is a must, wonderful food! Kathy was great to work with and we will definitely look forward to coming back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Swooping pelicans, cresting dolphins

Review submitted: February 12, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

Everyday we enjoyed the activity and changing moods of the ocean. We watched pelicans and gulls skim and scoop. Dolphins delighted us each day, sometimes in pairs, sometimes in pods. At times, the ocean was tranquil, at others, crashing and foamy. Some days were calm and others were windy. (If it's a foggy day at the beach, head inland just a few blocks and you may find sun!) It made for an entire gamut of views just outside the window. There were also fan-driven parasailors, colorful kites, and frolicking dogs to watch. All that could be enjoyed without even leaving the condo. Outside on the beach, you could stroll, bike (owners provide bikes), or sit and relax.
The condo was very clean and had all the necessary items. We like to cook, even when on vacation, and we found we had enough cooking utensils for our needs. There is a washer/dryer but it is small, which is necessary to fit the space. Just remember you'll need to wash more frequently. We found nothing that was lacking in this condo. We would suggest a bench by the door for easier shoe removal so sand is not tracked through.
We love Fernandina Beach. There are not many towns that can boast a town center with great shops and restaurants (Brett's and Lulu's among our favorites), a state park and fort, a trail system and a beach all within a mile and a half stretch. Then there's the Saturday farmers' market! We certainly have those in NJ, but not with amazing homemade breads, pastas, meals, olives and local honeys, orchids and organic produce. And, while you're there, enjoy a well-made cappuccino or smoothie.
The local history museum is a little gem (be sure to go for the tour). There is a trolley tour which we plan to take the next time there. We went on a lovely, informative cruise out to Cumberland Island with Captain Pajama Dave. For a new experience, we tried a segway tour and that was great fun. Nearby Georgia provided several days of exploring on St. Mary's, St. Simon's and Jekyll Island. We spent time exploring the different beaches and neighborhoods of Amelia Island as well. Check out the recreation center early in your stay as they provide many opportunities for further activities and events. I was so sorry our timing caused us to miss swimming with manatees.
We loved our time at this condo and in Fernandina Beach and would love to return. It is a location we could consider for future residence. I can't imagine that you could be disappointed there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Time

Review submitted: October 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 28, 2011

We spent our 33rd Wedding Anniversary there,hope to come back for our 34th.The condo has Beautiful Views, the picture's are very accurate. The owner was very helpful with information. Everything was perfect. The condo was very clean and the building and grounds are well maintained. Very convenient to the Historic Downtown. Fort Clinch State Park is just a couple blocks away. The beach is Beautiful !! Very nice to take walks on. I would RECOMMEND this property to everyone !!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful condo & great location

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

My family enjoyed our stay in this beautiful condo! It was right on the beach (with lifeguards on duty) and close enough to the downtown area to take a very short drive to eat & shop. Everything was bright and clean inside and well-maintained (furnishings looked new throughout). The owners were wonderful to work with and had great communication with us prior to our arrival. We'll definitely try to stay again in the future!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review