reviews for: listing #86652 - New Orleans, Louisiana House rental

Bijou on the Bayou
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  15
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $275 - $375 /nt
    $1,795 - $2,495 /wk
    $4,500 - $4,500 /mth

sort by:

Perfection

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 13, 2012

We LOVED this house....First thing I did was take pictures to show it off....I loved the out door living space and spent huge chunks of time outside...We had everything we needed during out stay....We have family in the area and they spent most of our stay with us because it felt like home! I will definitely be back. I was close to everywhere my family and I wanted to be....It was the best money we have ever spent on a vacation..

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

A lovely place to stay

Review submitted: April 3, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

Plenty of room inside the house and outside for parking or just enjoying the large backyard. Beautiful view of bayou - we enjoyed listening to the birds sing and watching the water wildlife. The house was open and spacious. The house is close to grocery stores, restaurants and shopping. We would definitely come back if given the opportunity. Owners are very nice and respectful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Vacation Home.....

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 19, 2013

Our stay at Bijou on the Bayou during Christmas was the perfect choice for what we needed. We have done several vacation rentals by owner and this was another great experience. The house has an open floor plan allowing enough room for us all to be together with loads of space. The outside area was fabulous. It had a large dock to fish, a BBQ pit(which we used and it it worked well), and a fire pit. We took full advantage of all the property had to offer and really enjoyed our stay. I had to get in touch with Nick(the owner) a few times and he got back to me immediately, answering all my questions and addressing any issues I had. Overall, it was a wonderful holiday and hope to return in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: We certainly appreciate all feedback but especially positive ones so thank you very much. We work hard to make sure all our renters have a great time and will continue to keep adding new things to our property to make it an enjoyable experience for all.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for our large family gathering!

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

We had a wonderful time during our stay at the bayou house. There was plenty of room for the 15 family members and we took advantage of the sleeper sofas. We did bring one twin size aerobeds for one of the children. The kitchen was a good size as we had several cooks getting our thanksgiving dinner ready! Nick couldn't have been nicer and the whole check-in and check-out went smoothly. My only recommendation to Nick would be to add some table lamps! The grounds are large and very well maintained. Although it was chilly during our stay, the guys all enjoyed throwing a football around and the kids had plenty of room to run around! We would love to come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House

Review submitted: November 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 28, 2013

Thank you for the use of your property! There were five ladies from Oklahoma that traveled here for the American Dental Association Meeting. We felt at home and truly enjoyed the little time we were there. We commuted back and forth to New Orleans daily for our meetings and really enjoyed relaxing at the house in the evenings. Fell in Love with the town of Slidell! We really struggled finding extra bedding however, we made it work. Even enjoyed the back yard and the new "add on". Disappointed these OKIE girls didn't see an alligator one. We were in hopes that we would see at least one swim down the canal for a visit. All in All, we would stay here again and enjoy it as much as we did the first time! Thank you

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

our stay

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 2, 2013

We rent homes multiple times a year and I would say this is just fair. The house and property are nice, but It wasn't very clean, when we pulled one of the mattresses out from under one of the beds there was lots of dust, hair, and candy. We had trouble finding enough sheets for all of the beds. We had originally planned to have someone stay on the bottom floor, but once we saw it, we thought better of it. bugs, dark....my kids called it the "dart dungeon".
The most disappointing thing about the trip was we had to leave early because of a tropical storm. The owner called (Thursday am)and wanted to move all of the furniture from the bottom floor to the top floor. He agreed to wait until Friday, maybe Saturday to move the furniture and said he would "work with us" on the money for leaving early. We changed our flights and had planned to leave Saturday morning. I called him Friday and let him know we would be leaving and by that time the storm was weakening and shifted paths. When I asked about us leaving he never offered to "work with us" or refund us any money, He said "that's life on the gulf coast". In hind site....the storm never hit and we could have stayed...but we didn't know that and we changed all of our travel plans based on his plans to move all of the furniture. We would have never thought about leaving if he wouldn't have called and told us how our cars would be flooded. Also beware of the resident alligator who sleeps on the back lawn. I think the number of people that the house is claimed to sleep is overstated. We will not rent this property again.

Owners response: We always look forward to responses especially positive, of course, but even when there are concerns or things we can work on we do the best we can to remedy any issues to make our home the best stay possible for our renters. However, as most can understand, some guests are very hard to make happy regardless of your attempts. As you can see from our many reviews before and after this clients stay, we have had very positive responses from our renters and when there was an issue, it was quickly resolved. This renter was apparently upset at the situation regarding the tropical storm and took it out on us with their review, not even speaking to us about the matter or their concerns.

NOTE: Please disregard any information regarding comments of our home not being able to sleep as many as it suggests. This is completely incorrect and is only noted by renters who falsify information on their contract and don't tell us how many people are staying there. Due to cleaning costs we don't put more sheets than are needed by the renter.

During hurricane season, there is always a possibility that a storm may come up during the September time frame although, Its rare. We do have a provision for this in our contract and offer a credit of a portion of the rental (which other rental companies don't have) under the circumstances of a direct hit or mandatory evacuation because of a hurricane. However, the comment "this is life on the Gulf Coast" was expressly said regarding (our) discontent with having to deal with the losses due to hurricanes on the gulf coast and not to our renter in any manner. The renter at the time seemed understanding of the fact that we may have to come and raise furniture off the lower level to the top in which we WOULD have returned there money. This was a possibility if the tropical storm had hit Slidell as it was currently projected to do. As with all gulf coast tropical storms/ Hurricanes, they can take a turn at the last minute for better or for worse. While things looked ok, we are always concerned about the renters safety first. We gave the renter the option of staying or leaving but warned that if they stayed and it took a turn for the worse it could result in damage to there vehicles if it flooded. Again, had the storm hit dead on, we would have credited the amount, it didn't and the client decided to leave the day before there original planned date which with a week's stay is an extra free day anyway.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Excellant house

Review submitted: October 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 7, 2013

There was 7 of us in our party, all senior citizens. We all thoroughly enjoyed this lovely house. It was clean and had everything a person would need if they were in their own home. The house is located close enough to get to anything you would like to see. The owners were very helpful with all of our questions. We really enjoyed New Orleans and highly recommend everyone to take the tour bus around the city. We also enjoyed a swamp tour that we took.

All 7 of us would highly recommended it to anyone visiting Louisiana. Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The House

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 19, 2013

My biggest concern with this property is the fact that you are advertising it for sleeping 15 people! We showed up with 11, and had exactly 3 beds. Two couches that were not even pull out sleeper couches. When I called you said to go to Wal Mart and buy air mattresses. That is not what I call the house being able to sleep 15 people. The house is beautiful, don't get me wrong. However we were told there was a grill there and yes there was, we took a picture of it becuase it was damaged and i was worried we would be blamed for it. Thank goodness we were not but we had to fix the grill before we could grill. It was also advertised as a game room downstairs...that consisted of a table and four chairs with a refrigerator! When i called about no tv (because we were told there was a 50" tv downstairs) I was informed the flooding took it and they hadn't had time to replace it. I unfortunately think you definately need to revamp your advertising for this home. It really only sleeps 8 at the most and that is one person sleeping on each couch, and two people in each of the three beds. There is no way you should be advertising sleeps 15. We then went to wal mart to purchase air mattresses which was something we were not planning on. When you say it sleeps 15 I am expecting 11 people to have a place to sleep! Again the house is beautiful but can NOT sleep 15 people or they need to advertise that for them to bring in air mattresses there is another cost on top of it(which is what we were told when I called them). Would we come back to this house...yes with 8 people not 11.

Owners response: Thanks for your review. We understand that from time to time renters don't take the time to review the contract therefore they maybe surprised when they get there if they didn't know what to expect. At the time of this clients stay there were 3 beds and 3 couches enough to sleep about 10 comfortably, however the contract stated that the game room could be used to sleep additional people if Air Mattresses were rented (it costs additional cleaning for the mattresses and all the bedclothes there fore we had to charge for it). In this way the 4th bedroom could be used for the additional guests.

The great news is that since this guests stay, we have replaced 3 of the couches with brand new Sleeper Sofa's, Added two Trundle beds under each of the 2 queen beds, added a futon to one of the rooms upstairs, and added 3 couches and two more futons to the game room which can now sleep at least 4-6 adults or 7 children. It will have a new 46" LED TV in two weeks.

The grill is fine and is an outdoor brick fire pit grill which, while being older is still preferred by all our guests to a normal small charcoal grill. However we will be rebuilding it and making it a bigger one in the month of September.

We have also cleared the bayou grass that was blocking entrance from boats.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Bijou Rental

Review submitted: August 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 9, 2013

The property is located on the bayou close to lake Ponchatrain, New Orleans, swamp tours etc. The upstairs of the house is well furnished as depicted and the central air conditioner works well. Larger parties should note that house is furnished as a 3 bedroom unit on the second floor. At the time of our rental the following issues were noted with the property. If renting a boat, access to the dock was blocked by extreme vegetation overgrowth in the bayou. The screens on the sun porch were damaged which allowed wasps to nest in the ceiling fans. A missing septic tank cover in the back yard left a 18" x 2 foot deep hole in the back yard that pose be a hazard.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We certainly appreciate all the positive responses we always get including the ones in this review of our property. However, we realize from time to time, there may be some things that need to be handled to update the property. We periodically review the properties needs, especially after our renters leave to make sure all things are up to date and any damages or taken care of. The ones mentioned here have either already been taken care of or are in the process.

In this case, we were not aware of the overgrowth in the bayou inlet until this renter notified us. The overgrowth literally happened over a month period of time and now we know what to do to control it in the future. We realize that our Bayou provides a enjoyable experience from Fishing to swimming to boating and that if the waterway is clogged then our renters may not be able to bring a boat up to the dock if in fact they would like to. That's why we have already taken the steps to correct the matter by hiring local professionals to clear the overgrowth and expect it gone by September 2013.

We pride ourselves on keeping a clean, safe, and fun place for all to vacation and create lasting memories with friends and family and will always continue to do so. We have many very happy renters and reviews to attest to that.

Please come see for yourself!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Vacationer

Review submitted: June 2, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

The stay was great!!! My family came all the way from South Dakota and stayed at this house for a week. We couldn't be happier! The place was really clean, and user friendly. The owner answered all of our questions quickly, and gave some great advice on what to do in the local area. Highly recommend staying here for anyone with intentions on going to New Orleans or the surrounding area. Beautiful place!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bijou

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 2, 2013

This home was in a GREAT location for going back and forth to the jazz fest. The grounds were
beautiful and the beds so comfortable that my sister and brother-in-law both needed to look and
see what kind they were!! That speaks volumes for any place that you rent!!
The owner Nick was very helpful and responsive to any questions or concerns we had.
Thank you Nick.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

MRHC

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

WONDERFUL DIGS WOULD RECCOMEND TO ANYONE, HOUSE VERY CLEAN AND ACCOMADATING TO OUR GROUP.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place!

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2011

My friends and I rented this condo for a girls weekend and it was GREAT. There were 5 adults and 2 babies and we had plenty of room. Much of the sleeping space is in a room off of the garage but we did not use that for our small group. It is a beautiful condo with a great view of the bayou in the back yard! The property was very clean and looked just like the pictures on this site! The owners of the condo were very helpful and great to work with. Everything was handled very promptly and professionally and my security deposit was refunded quickly and easily. I highly reccommend this porperty if you are looking to be close to New Orleans but don't want to stay in the city!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Home Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

We stayed a week and LOVED the home!! The access to the bayou was wonderful. The house is open and exactly as the pictures on the website. We were very pleased with the openness of the house and the new dock and entertained almost every day we stayed. Interaction with the owner was extremely easy and he was very nice and informative. I'd rent again in a heartbeat!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our "Summer Home"

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

Bijou is a wonderful home away from home for me and my family. We come home to Slidell every summer for our basketball camp and other charity events. Year after year we rent Bijoy and feel right at home. We love it there! Feels like home - very comfortable and comforting for us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place - Great People - Great Stay

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

I'll start by saying that I'm from Slidell. I had guests coming in town and wanted an on-the-water, bayou retreat to entertain my guest for the weekend. This place fit the bill perfectly. The house was beautifully decorated and as comfortable as my own home. The kitchen was spacious and allowed for great entertaining, satellite TV to catch the football games, and enough space in the house to spread out sleeping arrangements. The new dock was great and provided a great place to entertain and park my boat. The canal to the bayou on the back of the house did have one small obstruction in it (a log), but it was still navigable in a 20ft aluminum bay boat. The short canal provided access to beautiful Bayou Liberty which leads out to the infamous Lake Pontchartrain. We enjoyed boating, fishing, crabbing, grilling, eating, football, and were even blessed with good weather for all of the above. The owners were a snap to work with and we have nothing but praise for their property, accommodations, and professional handling through the booking process. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfect for R&R

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

My family is from California and we stayed one week in this rental home while in Louisiana for a family reunion. The open concept was great for mingling. We also enjoyed the backyard deck and lush grass. The home was just the right distance from shopping and easy access to the freeway on trips to New Orleans. There were a few items that required remediation (sagging master bedroom mattress, funky downstairs game room where the TV & refrigerator didn't work, plus worn chair covers & tablecloth in the kitchen). With a few fixes (that the owner states will be taken care of), we enjoyed our stay and will consider this rental again if we're in the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We appreciate your positive review remarks and welcome any constructive criticism we can use to improve our property and make it a great place for all to stay and enjoy. This is however the first time we have had any complaint on the mattress which is somewhat new so that will be addressed next week. All of our furniture is either somewhat new or maximum of 2 years old with the exception of a few pieces. As everyone, Im sure, can understand there can be a lot of wear and tear on a home so we have to periodically go through and replace items that have been damaged. We do this quite often and one of those items are the chair covers. In fact we are replacing the table and chairs with a new set next week. I assume that the funky downstairs was referring to the refrigerator that had not so fresh fish left in it, then unplugged by one of our renters. this has been taken care of.

We thank you again for staying with us and look forward to continuing to improve on our property and hearing even more positive feedback.

Thanks,
The Owner

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place - Great People - Great Stay

Review submitted: October 20, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

I'll start by saying that I'm from Slidell. I had guests coming in town and wanted an on-the-water, bayou retreat to entertain my guest for the weekend. This place fit the bill perfectly. The house was beautifully decorated and as comfortable as my own home. The kitchen was spacious and allowed for great entertaining, satellite TV to catch the football games, and enough space in the house to spread out sleeping arrangements. The new dock was great and provided a great place to entertain and park my boat. The canal to the bayou on the back of the house did have one small obstruction in it (a log), but it was still navigable in a 20ft aluminum bay boat. The short canal provided access to beautiful Bayou Liberty which leads out to the infamous Lake Pontchartrain. We enjoyed boating, fishing, crabbing, grilling, eating, football, and were even blessed with good weather for all of the above. The owners were a snap to work with and we have nothing but praise for their property, accommodations, and professional handling through the booking process. Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our "Summer Home"

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

Bijou is a wonderful home away from home for me and my family. We come home to Slidell every summer for our basketball camp and other charity events. Year after year we rent Bijoy and feel right at home. We love it there! Feels like home - very comfortable and comforting for us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Home Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

We stayed a week and LOVED the home!! The access to the bayou was wonderful. The house is open and exactly as the pictures on the website. We were very pleased with the openness of the house and the new dock and entertained almost every day we stayed. Interaction with the owner was extremely easy and he was very nice and informative. I'd rent again in a heartbeat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Really Nice Place

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 13, 2011

My family and I stayed there and was very happy with it. We were there for my daughters wedding in New Orleans and it worked out great. There were 10 of us total for a few days and 6 for the majority of the time. The location was nice and the condo was very clean and we had plenty of room. The owner was extremely pleasant to deal with and everything went smooth. It looks just like the pictures on the website. In fact my parents liked it so much they wish they could move it back to their place in Kansas City.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great place!

Review submitted: November 11, 2010   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

My friends and I rented this condo for a girls weekend and it was GREAT. There were 5 adults and 2 babies and we had plenty of room. Much of the sleeping space is in a room off of the garage but we did not use that for our small group. It is a beautiful condo with a great view of the bayou in the back yard! The property was very clean and looked just like the pictures on this site! The owners of the condo were very helpful and great to work with. Everything was handled very promptly and professionally and my security deposit was refunded quickly and easily. I highly reccommend this porperty if you are looking to be close to New Orleans but don't want to stay in the city!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review