reviews for: listing #86812 - Bryce Resort, Virginia House rental

Belle Vue - Picturesque Ski Slope, Mountain & Golf Views
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Bryce Resort
  • sleeps  11
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $149 - $199 /nt
    $1,049 - $1,299 /wk

sort by:

Loved it!

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: July 21, 2014

We loved our stay. Gorgeous house. Very clean. Great views from decks. It was such a relaxing week!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wedding Destination

Review submitted: May 21, 2014   Date of arrival: May 15, 2014

Lots of family in for a wedding and this was the perfect place to 'feel at home' during a busy time. The setting is beautiful and the amenities in the house impeccable. We are sorry that we were not able to enjoy some of the activities in the area. There is something for everyone. Views from the house wonderful...you can hear the water below. Everything you need is in the house already! We will definitely be back to the area and stay at this house! Homeowner is very helpful and quick to respond to questions! Thanks so much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice house, remote location

Review submitted: November 29, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

Wonderful house, as beautiful as the pictures. Remote location yet gas and Quickie mart at bottom of hill. Also the ski resort just a minute away with nice restaurant / bar with good food and prices. Nice view of the hill too. Plus a few summer thing to do there. Most of the ski resort is closed in the summer. Pool nearby but never visited it, a quickie grill was right there. Any main street is a 20 min drive along the vacant roads with lovely views. WV was just a drive west but really no place to visit. ANY town is a hour drive away, as I said it's remote. There are a few tourist places (caves) but warning of the hour walk with no place to sit, as well as many antique stores abound. The house has a good TV setup and cable selection. The internet was wireless DLS at 256K, so basically it's dial up. One person using it was slow, two and you crawled. No streaming (like YouTube), even basic videos would not work. For $15 more a month they could get 720 (almost a MB). So no kids bringing IPads trying to face book or face time. Oh so lovely house and the screened porch was great. There are houses all around you on the hill, but few, if any are being used in the summer. Our kids could not come w/pets and we got a refund ! We had a great time but our gas bill was at least 4 tanks due to the distances. Great steak house at Woodstock !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Week stay at Belle Vue

Review submitted: September 17, 2013   Date of arrival: August 22, 2013

My wife and I came up from Florida for a few days with the grandkids. We had a great time. Belle Vue is the best vacation rental we have booked (in the past we stayed at Deep Creek lake, Outer Banks and Hilton Head). The cabin was totally modernized, super clean and had everything we needed. Ate on the deck every night and the view was great. Area was fun for the kids, would have even been better if the owners association were more open, but they had a fantastic time at the lake and Shenandoah Caverns.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Belle Vue, Bryce Resort

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

We had a wonderful vacation over the Labor Day weekend 2013. Though the visit was short, and there was a fair amount of local sight-seeing to be done, we also managed to enjoy Belle Vue, and everything that it had to offer. Everything about the property was just perfect - the manner in which it had been designed, furnished, equipped and maintained, and of course the view, which was just fabulous. We would love to go back for a longer holiday, someday!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: July 21, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

The house was just as described. Everything was well kept. Drawers and cabinets in the kitchen were labeled. This made things easy to find and to put away. We did find the knives a bit dull which made cutting vegetables difficult. The screened porch with beautiful views was a nice treat for us. We thought the canoe rental price at the lake to be very affordable. The custard stand near the entrance to the resort was a hit with the children as was a visit to the Rt. 11 Potato Chip factory and the covered bridge. Call in advance for days and times to see the potato chips being cooked. Shenandoah National Park and Luray Caverns were about an hour away. New Market Battlefield was about 30 minutes away. Just make sure you go to the official one. There are two next to each other.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your feedback! Please note I have since provided a brand new 15-piece knife set with sharpener.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Spacious and Lovely Home at Bryce

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 8, 2013

This is a beautifully decorated and furnished home. It was also very clean. We had a wonderful time just relaxing and enjoying the picturesque views and wildlife.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Lovely Stay!

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 28, 2013

The description was accurate. The property was very clean and well maintained. We loved the spacious setting. The children had plenty of space to play. We appreciated the well equipped kitchen and Internet availability. We visited the farmers market at the nearby Bryce Resort in the morning. It's about an hour's drive to Shenandoah Nat'l Park and Luray Caverns. The owner was readily contactable and very prompt with the refund of the security deposit. I'd recommend this to anyone who is looking for a home away from home kind of stay and willing to drive out to neighbouring attractions.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Charming Thanksgiving GetAWay

Review submitted: January 6, 2013   Date of arrival: November 20, 2012

The photos did not do this house justice. It is charming, very spacious, beautiful views, and all the amenities of home. Well laid-out kitchen with all the essentials, and everything was very clean. Owner was very helpful - I had not done VRBO before so was a little hesitant and had a million questions, but all worked out very well. There are vineyards and orchards near by. Be sure you find Cave Ridge Vineyards and take time to do the wine tasting and ask about their night time upstairs activities - check it out!! There is a nice indoor pool in the Basye Community Center - I wish we had brought our swimsuits!! We did not try the restaurant, although we went down to look at it - everyone was very friendly. We just ran out of time. This part of Virginia is lovely. I would definitely recommend this house to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wouldn't stay any place else!

Review submitted: January 5, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

Arrived Sunday afternoon for a New Years family trip. First time to the mountain for us, fifth time for our daughter. House was spotless. Daughter commented that it was the nicest house she had stayed at over the years she'd been coming to ski. The view is AMAZING! Were able to watch the skiers come down the mountain at midnight and view fireworks from the comfort of our warm living room! The house is stocked with all the kitchen tools you could ever need. We used the gas fireplace whenever we were in the house and loved it! There are two nicely appointed living areas, one we never used as we just didn't need the space. There were 5 of us and our pooch, and we were never crowded. The bathrooms were very spacious and very clean. There was also a powder room on the first level, so no one was ever waiting for a bathroom. The owner of this property is very easy to work with and you can see the pride of ownership in her home. We will be going back during the warm weather just to sit out on the multiple levels of decks surrounding the house. We also appreciated the gas grill and used this to cook our New Years Eve dinner. Parking was not a problem with our two cars, and you could easily fit three and probably squeeze in a fourth. (This is not a property that is suitable for anyone with mobility issues.)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Get-Away!

Review submitted: November 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

A wonderful get-away! Nicely updated. We rented it for a small college
reunion and it was great to have two living/den areas when the kids wanted
to get away from the adults (and vice versa). For meat lovers make sure
you stop by the Shenandoah Farm Market (route 263) for wonderful, local,
grass-fed steaks and lamb chops (whenever I rent out in this area I bring
my own tank of propane just in case the one at the house is out...it wasn't
needed, but it's good grilling insurance!).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can’t wait to come back!

Review submitted: October 1, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

Thank you so much for the use of your gorgeous house! My boyfriend and I needed
some solitude with access to hiking and this was perfect! We loved the views of the
mountains with sight of the occasional deer. It was great having the availability to
cook our own meals- you’ve thought of everything! We’re already talking about
bringing a big group of friends there for a weekend vacay from the city. Can’t wait
to come back! Especially when those ski slopes open up. Thanks again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Place to Escape, Relax, & Enjoy

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

Absolutely fantastic! We stayed at Belle Vue for a long weekend and our stay was wonderful! The house is beautiful, with tons of deck area where we enjoyed relaxing and taking in the view of the slopes and mountains, sipping wine, grilling out, and playing games in the evening. The décor and accommodations are top rate. I agree with the previous reviewer that the beds/bedding were very comfortable, and the upgraded kitchen had everything you needed for your stay! We went golfing and visited the driving range...great for the weekend golfer. The nearby lake and relaxing walks in the neighborhood were an added treat. We've rented elsewhere in Bryce and Belle Vue is probably one of the nicest we've seen....Both for the accommodations and for the location/views. You definitely get what you pay for and more! Looking forward to coming back when the slopes are open!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for a family getaway

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

We rented two properties in Bryce resort for my wife's birthday. The latter was much more rustic, so the husbands stayed their while all the wives came to relax at Belle Vue. It was immaculate! I knew the owner had pets, but you wouldn't know it. The beds were incredibly comfy. Everything was new and all appliances were upgrades from the standard. The house is luxurious, and well worth the price of the stay. Parking enough for 6 cars with the adjacent grass lot. Beautiful view of the ski slopes. I would love to see how it looks in the other seasons. The renter returned our security deposit back within 24 hours. The only concern is whether or not a 2-wheel drive car would be able to make it there in the snow. The roads leading to it are paved, but rather steep in some parts. We were very pleased with our stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I greatly appreciate the glowing review. For anyone who might be worried about making it up to Belle Vue in the snow, I have a 2-wheel drive car myself and I have never been up there in conditions that prohibited me from making it up. That's not to say it couldn't happen, I guess... However, there are 2 different ways to get up to the house and the one less commonly known is not as steep. I can certainly help with directions in either direction.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review