reviews for: listing #86844 - Hot Springs, Arkansas Cottage rental

Beautiful Lake Hamilton Cottage w/ Deck Extending Over Water
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Lake Hamilton
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $100 - $147 /nt

sort by:

Perfect Cottage

Review submitted: August 3, 2014   Date of arrival: August 1, 2014

This cottage was absolutely perfect. Everything was comfortable, clean, and relaxing. We enjoyed our stay very much and will be returning. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay or any more accommodating.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's great to hear you enjoyed your visit at the cottage !!
I appreciate your nice review.

Thank you
Marie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: July 3, 2014   Date of arrival: June 27, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the cottage. The view of the lake from the deck is spectacular! The cottage is very clean and looks exactly like the pictures. Marie is very helpful for anything you might need. Can't wait to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad to hear you and your family had a great visit at the cottage!!

Appreciate your nice review and will look forward to your next visit.

Have a Happy 4th of July

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful

Review submitted: May 14, 2014   Date of arrival: May 8, 2014

We enjoyed our stay the cottage was beautiful. The view of the lake was so peaceful. Even though it rain my first two days I still enjoyed it. I would love to rent all four cottages for my family. Loved it. Marie was so helpful. Thanks again for making my birthday unforgettable. Three days went to quick I hated to leave.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Anniversary Getaway

Review submitted: May 6, 2014   Date of arrival: April 28, 2014

We knew we would be coming back the moment we pulled up, such an amazing little cottage. The pictures are exactly as described and previous reviews tell the story. We were close to so much but felt like we were worlds away when we were sitting out on that deck. I have and would recommend this cottage to anyone looking to travel to Hot Springs. Thank you Marie for helping making our 2 year anniversary that much more memorable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to the cottage.
Will look forward to your next visit.
Thank you,
Marie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful cabin!

Review submitted: April 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 26, 2014

My husband & I rented the cabin for our elopement at Garvan Gardens, and we were incredibly happy with it! It is extremely well-stocked - just in case you forget anything =) It rained most of our stay, so we weren't able to use the deck much. It was a wonderful rental, and we definitely plan to come back soon.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your nice comments. Basically, all guest need to bring are clothes, toothbrush and food !! Not too many clothes since there is a full size washer and dryer in cottage.

I'm sure you had a beautiful elopement at Garvan Gardens. Beautiful surroundings for sure.

Thank you so much,
Marie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review of #290041

Review submitted: April 27, 2014   Date of arrival: April 13, 2014

Loved our stay at the VRBO cottage. Marie was very helpful with directions and helping us schedule and reschedule our stay. Found the cottage to be well maintained, stocked and clean. Would recommend replacing the king sized bed mattress. (Too soft). Have already passed on the listing to some other people. Planning to return ourselves and bring our ski boat the next time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for visiting and will look forward to your next visit. So glad you enjoyed your time in Hot Springs.

Thanks again,
Marie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

SERENITY!!!

Review submitted: April 22, 2014   Date of arrival: April 16, 2014

This cottage lives up to it's billing and then some. It was lovely, bright, clean and so relaxing. The deck is pure awesomeness!! Marie was so sweet and patient with me when I needed additional directions. I posted pictures of the cottage, deck, lake, azaleas, etc. on Facebook before I got home and my family has been calling for the contact info. Thanks, Marie!!!

Owners response: Thank you for visiting the cottage and hope you will visit again. Guest like you are a pure delight !!

Enjoy your summer !!

Marie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Serenity

Review submitted: December 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 2, 2013

We had a wonderful time! The cottage offers serenity with a touch of elegance. We hope to experience each season at the cottage.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for visiting the cottage. We certainly enjoy having visitors like you!!

Marie

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Cottage

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: November 6, 2013

Absolutely adorable cottage on Lake Hamilton. Very close to all the action. Clean, cozy, and had all the amenities like home.The weather was perfect and my husband and I had a great time. Definitely a place for fun, shopping, or just plain ole relaxing. The owner Marie was an absolute joy to work with. Very accommodating. We plan to go back and will stay there for sure.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Oct Vacation 2013

Review submitted: November 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

My husband & I really enjoyed this very beautiful, clean home & the view from the deck. It is very close to shopping & restaurants. If making a trip to Hot Springs, would definitely recommend this home for your stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Anniversary trip

Review submitted: November 15, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2013

We loved our stay at the cottage! Our second time to get a place from Marie. She is A-#1 to work with. Everything was in order. The only thing we had to buy was our food. We look forward to going back again. Thank you Marie!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's nice to hear you enjoyed celebrating your anniversary at the cottage.
We will look forward to you visiting again.

Thank you

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great cottage

Review submitted: October 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2013

It was everything they said it would be and more. The view was wonderful, loved the deck it was great for morning coffee and evening happy hour. Everything we needed was already furnished with the little extra touches that made it special . Will make a point of coming again. Loved it!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A weekend to remember

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

We thouroughly enjoyed our stay at this clean, charming, & beautiful cottage. Everything is just as pictured only better. My husband and had a wonderful time relaxing and enjoying the peace & quiet at this lovely home away from home. The owner has truly thought of everything and we will defintely return again.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for visiting the cottage. So happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We appreciate you and hope you will visit again.

Sincerely
Marie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The cottage was just as pictured. Delightful stay.

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 27, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this beautifully decorated cottage with such a great deck. We watched the sun rise every morning, enjoying our coffee and watching the geese and fishermen. The cottage is in an excellent location, close to everything you might want to do. The list of restaurants came in handy, so thoughtful of the owner to compile for the vacationers.We recommend Rolando's downtown and the art gallery, also Fox Pass Pottery. Great time we didn't want to leave but will definitely be back. Most definitely recommend to friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so happy that you had a delightful time while visiting the cottage !!
Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. We will look forward for a return visit from you and your husband.

Thank you
Marie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We loved our 'Comfort Cottage'!

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

The pictures of the view from the deck are not exaggerated in any way, it sits over the water! Sitting out there on a beautiful Hot Springs summer morning was incredible. The cottage is immaculate and has all the comforts you need for a very relaxing stay, tucked in the back of a cove right on the lake. You are minutes from great places to eat, boat rental locations, the Belle, you name it, all minutes away yet you are completely away from the noise of Central Ave. Marie was a pleasure to work with and was always responsive to our attempts to contact her. We have already committed to returning to our 'Comfort Cottage' on the water. We would highly recommend Marie and this great cottage for a trouble free, relaxing stay in Hot Springs. You just cannot go wrong with this one!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great getaway!

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

This was an awesome place to stay. Great view of the lake and perfect location for a quick run to town. Everything you need is within a few minutes drive. Cozy little cottage was just perfect for me and my wife. Would love to stay again. Wish I would have had a boat for the personal boat slip. Very enjoyable trip.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for visiting the cottage. It is nice hearing that you enjoyed your stay on the lake. Enjoy your summer !!

Sincerely
Marie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

CARTAGdallas

Review submitted: May 2, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

Cottage far exceeded our expectations. The location, beautiful landscaping, and huge deck on the water provided the greatest spot for fishing, reading, feeding the ducks, and just resting. The accomodations inside the cottage met all our needs for comfort, cleanliness, and charm. We're already anxious to come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent rental

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here over the Easter weekend and loved it! It's in a great location and has everything you'd want or need for a relaxing stay. We will likely be back. :)

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing Stary

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

Quiet, relaxing stay for our anniversary. Cottage was beautiful and well kept. It was a cool weekend, but we were able to enjoy the deck swing on Saturday morning. Ms. Marie was very helpful and accommodating. Not really a negative, but shower is extremely small...no room for two! Loved our weekend in Hot Springs! Ms. Marie recommended Luna Bella restaurant for dinner and it was AMAZING! You do need reservations during race weekends. Would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxation in Hot Springs

Review submitted: January 31, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

Fabulous stay at this property. Situated only minutes from everything we wanted to do (Oaklawn race track, the baths, restaurants) as well as the lake. King bed has a memory foam matteress which we found comfortable, but as a frequent traveler for business I know that doesn't work for everyone. Next trip to Hot Springs will definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We loved this cottage

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

My husband and I loved this cottage. It was so cute and in a perfect location. We can't wait to come back in the late Spring or Summer to see it when the water level comes back up. The deck and view was great!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

True Enjoyment

Review submitted: January 5, 2013   Date of arrival: December 31, 2012

First time for anything; had an excellent stay; cabin was clear and comfortable and all amenitites were there; beautiful view and quiet; wish we would have had more time to stay; a definite next time stay since we are in hot springs monthly.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your nice comments. Will look forward to your next visit.
Marie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just could not have been better!

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

It was just perfect! Cottage was everything as advertised. It was clean and ready for. The kitchen met our needs to prepare a Thanksgiving dinner! Beds were nice, TV super, loved the shower and the deck was awesome! The cottage provided our family a relaxing place to enjoy the holiday.

We will be back!

Maria was so helpful and answered our questions quickly.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for visiting the cottage and I appreciate your nice review. I will look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely
Marie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice view and close in to town.

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

Open layout (basically a one room cabin) was just fine for the wife and I. Great view from the deck, just off the main drag but far enough from the road to be quiet and private. We had fun with the ducks, and geese, although our Yorkies were all kinds of agitated by them. Nice place, has everything you need, the shower is tiny, so turn in tight circles (arms in).

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful place!!

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

Everything about this home was wonderful! The location is amazing, with a deck as large as the house stretching over the water. The bed was extremely comfortable, the kitchen and appliances nicer than my own at home, and all the amenities you could ask for. I highly recommend a stay at this property--I only wish we could have stayed longer!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so happy you enjoyed your vacation at the cottage !!! Maybe some day I will get to visit your beautiful Washington state area. Thank you for visiting.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great Labor Day weekend getaway

Review submitted: September 14, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

We thoroughtly enjoyed our stay. The cottage is clean and well stocked. The Labor Day fireworks were awesome, and we had a ringside seat! Really enjoyed the deck and feeding the ducks. Hope to make it back soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Appreciate you choosing our cottage to visit. I heard the fireworks were amazing on the lake. Hope you will visit again. Thanks a bunch !!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cute cottage on the lake

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2012

This Cottage is BEAUTIFUL!!! Tastefully decorated, very clean--in an excellent location, very quiet neighborhood---all you could ask for in a relaxing stay. The only reasons I give the cottage a good and not excellent review is that the air conditioning control is not efficient and we were up and down turning air on and off because the thermostat was not working correctly. The pictures of the cottage-- while beautiful and showed the cottage off, it just made it look like it had two rooms to me, that the bedroom was in a room to itself, however the cottage is only one big room, and a family such as ours with our son wanting a room to himself was not ideal. My husband and I will definetely return when we plan to come alone.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for visiting the cottage and will look forward to your next visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great end of summer vacation.

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

We had a wonderful week in this studio style cabin. The cabin was decorated in soothing yellow and blue. It was well maintained and the everything was in great working order. We really enjoyed Hot Springs National Park, the Fordyce Nuseum, Garvan Gardens, the Lake Hamilton Belle dinner and dancing cruise, and just relaxing at the cabin. Great restaurants all around and close to a Starbucks for my Starbucks addict spouse. The moon was full the week we were there and we really enjoyed sitting out on the deck, looking up at the sky, chatting and sipping wine. The internet connection was great for the the one morning I had to dial into work. Good cell phone service also.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and visiting the sites around Hot Springs. Thank you for your nice comments. Would love to have you back again.

Sincerely
Marie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Best Getaway Cottage on the Lake

Review submitted: July 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

I have never rented a cottage before and I was a true sceptic. I called Marie and emailed her several times and every time she answered me quickly. Even before we left, she texted me.

We drove up and it was just as she described - Beautiful and peaceful. I brought a lot of stuff, but she had everything.

The furniture was so clean and comfortable. It was so cozy and wonderful! My family loved it and will be back real soon.

Thank you Ms. Marie for a great vacation!!! We loved the cottage and the atmosphere inside and out.

Zack and Apryl
Bossier, LA

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Apryl & Zack,

Appreciate you visiting the cottage and glad you had a wonderful time.
I will look forward to you visiting again !!

Thank you,
Marie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hot Springs Trip

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

Beautiful place! I highly recommend this lovely lake cottage. Once we got there we did not have to go anywhere....it was just peaceful to sit outside on the deck! Loved it!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Clarence & Sandy Woodard

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

2nd time to visit. Cottage was very clean and springtime views were great. Will return soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Clarence for your return visit !! We love having such nice people as you visiting the cottage. Sincerely, Marie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Perfect Get-Away spot

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

This was our second trip to this cottage and it was the best. The furnishings and decor are very uptodate. There were no foul smells. Everything was fresh and clean. We sat on the deck and enjoyed the stars and lights of the distant shore. This year we ook our boat and the had the perfect place to dock it under the patio. No wet seats in the mornings! Thanks for providing this opportunity. K & K, Newbern, Tn.

Owners response: Appreciate you visiting the cottage a second time and will look forward to your next visit. Thank you so much !

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lake Hamilton Cottage

Review submitted: December 31, 2011   Date of arrival: December 28, 2011

We had a wonderful time at this cottage! What a relaxing and peaceful getaway, yet only minutes away from all the conveniences of Hot Springs. Thanks to Marie for making everything so pleasant!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for posting your comment. Appreciate you and your family for visiting. Hope you will visit again!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Veteran's Day Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: December 31, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

This is an absolutely, wonderful little cottage! My husband and I spent three nights here and were very satisfied! The cottage was exceptionally clean and had everything we needed. It is close to everything but also has a or private feel. We enjoyed grilling and relaxing on the deck. This location is great for couples who want to have a peaceful getaway. Thanks Marie for making our stay wonderful!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your nice comments.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fall Vacation

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 3, 2011

This cottage is super clean and has a great view of the lake. Caught a huge catfish from the patio deck off the living room. We have no negatives about this cottage and will return next year.
Clarence and Sandy Woodard, Jonesboro, Arkansas

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Appreciate your nice comments on your visit !!
Thank you...

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home Away from Home.....VERY RELAXING!

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 12, 2011

This is the first time experience ever renting a cottage like this. I must say Marie made it an awesome experience. We arrived and hour early in Hot Springs and took time to find the cottage....as soon as we found it, we were too excited and couldn't wait till 3pm. The outside was beautiful and flowers and large trees were surrounding the front enterance. Upon check in time, my girlfriend and I pulled up and went in to observe the place we've reserved and it was breath taking. We were in absolute amazement of how this place looked. The pictures don't do the place justice....it's a MUST see in person kinda place. I'm a VERY VERY pickey person and notice the smallest details and this was a place of perfection. I loved the back deck. That was my favorite place being by the water....and I'm not an outside kinda person as my girlfriend is and she lived outside on that deck. I'm more business. The place was so quiet and comfy. We got to meet the ducks and feed them...very friendly too. I must say this is a place that we will definately come back on our next vacation. Marie was again an awesome lady as well as a great host.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for posting such a nice comment. I appreciate having nice people like you visiting the cottage.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Magical

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed here the last weekend of June, 2011 and it was quite simply the nicest, most relaxing, most ‘magical’ vacation we have ever had. The cottage was lovely, the deck overlooking the lake was absolutely wonderful (I spent two hours in the morning, and then again in the evening, enjoying the lake) and the overall ambiance of the place was quite serene. The cottage is quite close to grocery/shopping (less than a mile to Albertson’s!) and not far at all to the area attractions of Hot Springs. I highly recommend the Fordyce museum and the Quapaw baths if you want to do something in the park, and taking a drive out to Cajun Boilers for some good local food… and venturing a little further to see Lake Ouachita (which is quite majestic). All of those things were fun – but truly my favorite time on our trip was hanging out with my husband, either watching the big screen TV or out on the deck in the early morning and late evening, talking and viewing the lake. PS- Marie, sorry it took me so long to get back here and type up a review. We hope to stay at your place again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to post such a kind review. We appreciate you visiting the cottage and certainly look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely
Marie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lake Hamilton Cottage

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 13, 2011

This is the second year my husband and I have rented this beautiful Lake Hamilton Cottage. We absolutely adore this place. It is comfortable, unique, and feels just like home. The owner changed out the bed this year and was it ever comfortable. We are water people. We bring our boat and enjoy the comforts of Lake Hamilton right out our door. We plan to return in 2012.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate you visiting our cottage 2 years in a row and look forward to you visiting again in 2012......Marie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place!!!

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 6, 2011

Great place. Perfect for a small family. After a day of playing on the lake, it was so easy to come back and relax at the cottage. We will be back next year.

Owners response: Thank you and your family for visiting the cottage and will look forward to your next visit..

Thank you,
Marie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We LOVED it!

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay and hope to be able to go back soon :) We took our twin 8yr olds and I was concerned that it might be cramped - it wasn't at all. It was really nice to have all of the comforts of home -washer/dryer, dishwasher, etc. The kids LOVED fishing off of the dock and caught alot of bream. We rented a party barge and it was really nice being able to pull it in right under the deck. Thank you, Marie :)

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Shannon for your nice comments. Sounds like the whole family had a wonderful vacation!!. I just received your request to book 3 more nights in August...You kinow you had a great time if you re-book before you ever get back home from the first visit.

Sincerely,
Marie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful deck overlooking the lake!

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the cottage was just the right fit for our family of four! The deck was absolutely perfect for grilling and just relaxing and visiting. We have visited Hot Springs several times over the years, but had never stayed on Lake Hamilton. We brought our boat and really enjoyed the beautiful lake, the boat slip worked out great. Thanks again Marie, we hope to be back soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

We are a couple who rented from Marie last week, while in town to attend a reunion. The cottage is lovely, clean, and comfortable. Great bed; nice appliances; and in this summer's heat, great a/c! We especially enjoyed our morning coffee in the swing on the deck. Ducks and geese came by to visit us; we saw several turtles and numerous fish. Contrary to a previous review by a disgruntled guest, we never encountered any snakes. In fact, there weren't even any mosquitoes, or other bugs! The location was great as well--it didn't take long to drive downtown to the reunion events or sightseeing, but the cottage is tucked away peacefully by the lake. Close enough for shopping and dining, without the noise and traffic. Marie, we truly appreciated your efforts to make our stay a pleasant one, and it exceeded our expectations.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for visiting the cottage!! We certainly enjoy nice families like you and hope you will come again.......

Marie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Fit

Review submitted: May 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 25, 2011

My husband and I were very please with the cottage. The enviroment lent itself to the rest and relaxation that we had been looking forward to. The images on-line portrayed the unit very well. It was beautifully laid out and the decor was just right. The amenities were great and included everything listed on the site. The cottage as well as the grounds were very clean, and well maintained.
My husband attended a convention during the day which left me to enjoy the day overlooking the lake in total comfort. Blissful!! It had the feeling of being miles away from everything, but you were not. We were close enough that he return each day for lunch and a break. The third day I ventured out. I didn't have to go far to find some great shopping.
Marie made the experience stress-free. She was very professional and timely with the information that we needed for our stay. She even called while we were there to make sure everything was okay.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I enjoy having renters like you, makes all of this worthwhile. Please come again, your always welcome.

Marie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

More Than Amazed !!!

Review submitted: April 30, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

When I first arrived at the cottage i was extremely pleased and once I opened the front door that completed my amazement! A wonderful studio cottage, clean, comfortable, laid out perfectly for rest and relaxation. The deck and fishing was awesome (caught enough for dinner!) and the location right next to the mall and central avenue was a bonus. Relaxing on the deck was marvelous, screen door open and drink in hand, it was the perfect place for me to finally give my brain a break. I have seen some negative review or two but i have found no problems at all with the acommodations or the wildlife (except the occasional mallard that quacked at me...LOL!). The neighbors were quiet and everything was wonderful. I WILL DEFINITELY BE COMING BACK! If you want to relax (especially married no kids or a single person needing a break) I STRONGLY suggest you make arrangements with Marie to stay for a weekend. She was absolutely great to work with, made sure i had all of the right information and even called Saturday to ensure everything was good. Thanx so much Marie for allowing me the use of your wonderful cottage!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Snake Infestation

Review submitted: April 28, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

I rented this property for 2 nights the weekend of April 22nd, 2011. In the late evening of the first day there, while trying to feed the ducks, I noticed numerous (more than 10) long, black snakes swimming toward the food I was throwing to the ducks, The snakes were comming mostly from under the 2-story deck, which belongs to this property. I cut my stay short and did contact the owner about this issue, most of all to ask her check with the wildlife agency and get help with getting the snake infestation under control. Also to see how she will handle this issue before I write the review, as I did not want to affect her business and thought she would be concered about her guests safety. I asked for a refund for a 1 night I did not use, as I barely slept the one night I spent there.
Unfortunately, I was not able to reach agreement with the owner. She claims that in all the yers there she never saw even one snake-which I truly find VERY hard to believe. As you can deduct I would not recommend this property to anyone I know.

Owners response: This lady wanted to rent the cottage initially for 1 night but my policy is a 2 night minimum. Subsequently, she reserved the two nights.

The family who checked out the same day of this ladies arrival had called and wanted to stay an extra two days because they did not want to leave but it was already reserved for this lady coming in that day.

Friday evening at 6:09 the day of her arrival she called me for directions because she was lost. She was 1 block away and I was on the phone with her until she arrived at the cottage. I never heard from this lady again until several days later via email after she had returned home.

The email stated she saw a snake infestation and had left the cottage a day early and wanted my response "before I leave a feedback about the rental on your website". I don't know if she left a day early or not I never heard from her while she was there..

I called the family who was in the cottage who checked in after this lady. I informed the family of the email I had received and I wanted to check on my property. The guest started chuckling and stated no such sightings, not even one. I also called a Hot Springs resident to go to the cottage and double check and the response was the same. Had there been an issue YES, it would have been taken care of. I informed the lady of my findings based on the above confirmation from these families.

The norm would be to contact the owner upon arrival if such an occurrence had taken place. I would have gone to the cottage while she was there so she could show me what she was talking about. She had called earlier regarding the directions but fails to make a call about a snake infestation while she is there. Why even stay one night if that's the case. This lady conveniently waits several days after she is long gone then sends an email and wants a refund.

The reason "we did not reach an agreement", I would not give her a refund. Therefore, she stated she had other venues she would take which obviously was posting on my site but I already knew that from the very beginning. I could have easily given this lady a refund and would have never heard from her again but I did what was right. I have principles I live by and I expect the same from others.

Marie

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

The Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 19, 2011

This was the first time my husband and I have been able to getaway in over three years. This cottage was absolutely perfect for us. The interior was simply elegant and the perfect size. It was so relaxing to be able to sit on a beautiful deck over the water and have a cocktail. We had a great time fishing, and we were only a few minutes from everything - great restaurants, the bath houses, art galleries. We wished we could have stayed longer! We will definitely be back, and soon I hope.

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We appreciate people like you and look forward to your next visit.
.
Sincerely
Marie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just what we needed...

Review submitted: March 17, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

We traveled from East Texas to Hot Springs for our sons Spring Break. We were only able to stay for a long weekend but it made us realize that the next visit will definitely be longer! The cottage is exceptionally clean and the decor is very nice. The location is great (close to stores, restaurants, downtown area, races, lakes, churches, or anything you need). The deck is so relaxing! Our son fished off the deck (the water was a little low) and didn't catch anything the first evening so we decided to drive to Lake Catherine (about 20 minutes away) the next day to see if he could catch anything there. We worked at it ALL day long and finally gave up and came back to the cottage. There was still a little daylight left so he tried once again and as soon as his hook hit the water, he got one! And another, and another.....They were small but he didn't care! This is just a perfect place to stay if you want a clean, neat, comfortable place to stay. We had a great family getaway and highly recommend this place (and even the cottage next door that we stayed in one night as well). Marie is so sweet and seems so friendly. She will answer all of your questions and help you with anything you need. Stay here....you'll be glad you did!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for visiting the cottage and I appreciate your positive feedback. How nice of you and your wife to spend quality time with your son during spring -break and enjoying yourselves. You made special memories for him that he will appreciate later in life.

Marie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Anniversary Trip

Review submitted: March 11, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2011

Excellent property for a couple. All went well and was as advertised. Loved the location. We will try it again during the summer when lake activities are going full swing. Deck was simply awesome. A nice bottle of Francis Ford Coppola wine awaited us, which was a nice touch.
Bed was very comfortable.
Could use a small dresser.
Thanks, Marie

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

WOW

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

My wife was extremely happy we did not stay in a Hotel for our weekend getaway. This cottage is bright and cheerful and we have all intentions of returning to make good use of the lake. The deck is perfect to watch the sunset and relax.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Everything & More 1/ 7-9 / 2011

Review submitted: January 9, 2011   Date of arrival: January 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed for our 3rd anniversary. It was everything you could have wanted and more! The place is clean, neat, and well taken care of. We would recommend to anyone. They even have a KING size bed now...which was very comfortable!!! The deck outside was very big and nice. We hope to return in the summer with our children and boat!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Perfectly Chic Chick Pad!

Review submitted: December 7, 2010   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

Just returned from a perfectly wonderful mother/daughter weekend of Christmas shopping, eating, drinking, and being very merry while at your great lakeside cottage. From the chandelier to the shower cap I forgot to bring, you have thought of everything necessary to make one feel cozy and pampered. The temperature outside actually allowed for some great deck-sitting, star gazing one night, a wonderful view of Lake Hamilton, and the ever-present opportunity to make fast friends with the resident ducks and geese. All that and literally a couple of minutes away from the mall, Fisherman's Wharf, and some great spas. Hope to come back this summer with the boat! Thanks for sharing!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

The Perfect Cottage Retreat

Review submitted: November 24, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

Dear Marie - Thank you for sharing your cottage with our family!! It exceeded all our expectations and we didn't want to leave. We can't wait to come back again.

For anyone interested in staying in the Hot Springs area, you should make this cottage your home-away-from-home. It is located on a quiet, wooded lot on Lake Hamilton, but only 5 minutes from numerous restaurants, grocery stores and other amenities and 15 minutes from Bathouse Row. The location is the perfect combination of seclusion and convenience. The cottage is immaculate: newly renovated, clean, well-equipped, charming and inviting. The washer/dryer was a plus since we have two very young children. But the most amazing part of the cottage is the large deck overlooking the lake. We spent a lot of time relaxing on the swing, staring at the view of the water, while our children played on the deck (which is even baby-proofed)! This cottage is truly the perfect get-away; and Ms. Marie Bell was a pleasure to work with!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Just Perfect

Review submitted: October 29, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2010

Our stay was just perfect. The cabin is clean and neat inside and everything is recently remodeled and well done. The kitchen is fully equipped with full size appliances. The front door is at street level and the back door opens onto a very large deck that sits over the boat slip. It worked wonderfully for me to just go down the stairs from the deck and step into my boat and I was ready to fish. We spent most of our time sitting on the deck and we cooked outside on the propane grill. It rained one day while we were there, but we didn't even care. We just went inside and watched it rain through the full-height windows across the back wall. Wonderfully relaxing! We are already wondering when we will be able to go back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Never want to leave

Review submitted: October 17, 2010   Date of arrival: October 12, 2010

Thank-you for making everything so wonderful. Your cottage is charming, beautiful, up to date, has all the comforts of home, quiet & relaxing, comfy bed, games, reading material....I never want to leave !!! We enjoyed breakfast with the geese, we fished off the balcony to try to catch the "big one" who was swimming around....but mostly just fed the minnows & turtles. I can't wait to get back next summer, I can't imagine staying anywhere but here.......we had the most wonderful anniversary !

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Darby,

Thank you for visiting the cottage. We are so glad you had a wonderful time, The "Big One" will be waiting for you next summer. Marie

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Perfect!!!

Review submitted: September 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

This was our first vacation with our 15 month old daughter. We really could not have asked for a better experience. The owner has thought of everything with this cottage. If there is a place that should be called "perfect", this is it! Our daughter caught her first fish ever off the dock. She also got to feed the ducks and geese. She was so excited. It was so much fun to watch her. We made so many wonderful memories on this trip. The deck has netting all around and also has a safety gate at the steps. With this cottage, you can be right on the water, but feel safe about having a child out on this deck. That is the main reason we chose this cottage over the others, plus it is super cute. The owner just happened to be in town when we were there and she is so nice. We definitely will be planning another trip to this cottage.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Donna and Don Johnston, Rogers, Arkansas

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 14, 2010

Although I broke my foot and elbow a week before we were to use the cottage, we came on and had a wonderful time. The cottage was absolutely perfect and we woke up every morning to a wonderful view. Everything we needed was there and with me in a wheelchair, the open space inside the cottage made everything perfect for me to get around. We are definitely planning another trip in 2011 and rent this cottag. Hopefully I will stay healthy and we can take our boat this time,

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Beautiful lake house with a fantastic location!

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Beautiful lake house with a fantastic location! It seems so secluded in a small cove surrounded by towering pines and flowering mimosas. Yet, there is a busy shopping mall, marina, restaurants, and even a health club within walking distance or a short drive.The deck is so nice, we hardly ever left it. We enjoyed feeding the geese and ducks from the deck and dockside. Although it can be unnerving when they leap out of the water to snatch the bread from your hand. Bring some binoculars to check out the wildlife, many passing boats, and massive lakehouses on distant shores. The tasteful decor, modern appliances, and large flat screen tv will make you regret that you didn't book a longer stay. Hope to stay agian soon!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 10

 

Lakeside Cottage

Review submitted: July 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2010

My husband and I loved staying at this beautiful lakeside cottage. We enjoyed swimming, fishing and especially enjoyed relaxing on the deck overlooking the lake. The cottage was clean and furnished beautifully, including a lovely chandelier!! The cottage was well supplied and the owner is delightful. We will definitely be back!!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Spectacular!

Review submitted: July 22, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

My wife and I wanted a get away, while we had stayed in a bed & breakfast downtown before we wanted something different. WOW did we luck up and fine it. This place is surperbly decorated, very modern decor and the layout is very spacious. It has been newly remodeled with no expense spared. Lots of openness and windows. Thanks for sharing your cottage with others, by providing the waterfront view. Ladies you will definately not be disappointed with this choice. We will be back! Mr & Mrs. Tennessee

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Absolutely Wonderful

Review submitted: June 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 8, 2010

The nicest place we have ever stayed at. Everything you would ever need is there. We cooked in and the kitchen was perfect. The owner was great to deal with. You really could not ask for more. A++, Thank You.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Perfect couple's retreat!!

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 24, 2010

I stayed at the cottage with my husband and we absolutely loved it!! It's a perfect size for a couple or even a couple with one to two children (there is a futon in the living room area). It is totally updated, clean, very well decorated, and has a great kitchen. The floor plan is totally open though so you only have privacy if you are in the bathroom (not a problem for a couple or small family). The deck is wonderful and the covered boat slip underneath was so convenient. There are also a few other cottages very close by (one is owned by the owners of this cottage) which would be great if you had a group. We can't wait to plan our next trip!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Weekend Retreat

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

We stayed with our 2 year old at the cottage which is great for little ones he had plenty of room to play and he loved the deck overlooking the lake Marie even had a baby gate up to keep him from going down the stairs off the back deck. She has so many extras she definitly pays attention to detail from anything you need in the kitchen as well as the bath! We would love to stay here again! We give her cottage and customer service a 10+!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Adorable cottage

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights in April. The cottage is wonderful. Furnishings are nice, bed comfortable, kitchen new and well equipped. The owner even left some food goodies for us. The deck is large, the view fabulous. We want to stay again! Soon!! The yard is landscaped beautifully. I highly recommend this cottage to anyone who wants a relaxing getaway. The owner is very pleasant to work with and we really appreciate her!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Birthday Weekend

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

This is the Cutiest cottage house with the Best deck to fish off of. We caught a 10 pound catfish the first morning we were there. We are for sure going back and would love to stay at this same house. I give it a perfect score 0f 10. We also met the maid- she was a sweetie- she was cleaning another cottage next door).

April
Dallas,Texas

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Absolutely beautiful cottage

Review submitted: April 4, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

My fiance and I had the pleasure of staying in this gorgeous cottage recently and wished we could have stayed longer! It has everything you could ask for in a vacation home: a HUGE deck on the lake, a washer & dryer, a ginormous TV, brand new appliances in the kitchen, and a very comfortable bed.

The icing on the cake was how friendly and helpful the owner, Marie, was in all of our communications.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review