reviews for: listing #86910 - Albrightsville, Pennsylvania House rental

Kilmer Trail
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Towamensing Trails
  • sleeps  25
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,000 - $3,000 /wk
    $6,000 - $10,000 /mth

sort by:

Husband's 30th Surprise Birthday

Review submitted: April 2, 2014   Date of arrival: March 20, 2014

We have been home for ten days now and everyone is asking "When can we go back?!". We all had the time of our lives! I originally booked this home to celebrate my husband's 30th birthday with all of his friends, and get to enjoy the scenery while they hit the slopes. They loved the downstairs game room so much they chose to stay in and have a ping pong and poker tournament instead! I absolutely loved the enormous deck, there was plenty of room, great view (we even saw wild turkeys while sitting there!) plenty of privacy to make it feel like a real get a way from reality. We had 22 adults, there was plenty of sleeping room, no one was ever stepping over someone else, the kitchen was phenomenal for cooking-everything you could ask for was there- and with the dining table it was a focal point the entire time. The pictures listed on site do not do this house justice it is far larger and more spread out than originally expected- it far exceeded all of my expectations as well as my guests!! I highly recommend this home to anyone and everyone, it was by far one of the best experiences for everyone involved! Thank you Colleen for making our stay possible and phenomenal, we will definitely return in the future!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great NYE gathering!

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

Great time had by all. The game room downstairs is amazing. Would 100% stay here again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AWESOME!

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 20, 2013

My family and I stayed for the week of Christmas. The place is way more impressive in person! There was plenty of space for the 22 of us. The game room was a hit, the living room space with the large floor to ceiling windows was just a plus, it made for such a beautiful scenery. The kitchen was fulling stocked with everything you need to make a huge Christmas meal. We love this place.....oh and the owners were great!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Pocono Vacation Ever

Review submitted: December 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

We had such a GREAT time at this beautiful house. Colleen was so accomodating and answered all emails and phone calls right away. Never once did I have to leave a voice message for her. The house was beautiful as stated! The place was very clean upon entering. We can't wait to go back and would definately recommend this property to a friend. Everyone in our group LOVED the shuffleboard the most. It was played EVERY day. There was a container of large legos that the little ones had out everyday. The great room was perfect for watching movies and the dining area was great for our large group. We turned the table sideways and added another folding table. Thanksgiving dinner went off without a hitch. We saw deer and lots of turkeys right in the backyard. We went on hikes 2 days at Hickory Run State Park. Both hikes were so much fun and the scenery was AMAZING.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great weekend

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

This house was perfect for our golf weekend. We had 14 guys stay at the house, it's plenty big for all to sleep well and play well. The game room with the wide screen tvs, shuffleboard, ping pong, darts, bar, and room to watch football is perfect. The kitchen and table were great for feeding all and the deck is spectacular on a sunny fall weekend. We will definitely come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

amazing house for people that want to have fun.

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

This house had everything. Most of the groups time was spent in the game room. Personally I spent 10 hours on the shuffleboard table. Everyone complemented what a great weekend it was. I wish we could rent this place every year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing stay!

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

We had a wonderful retreat for a group of school teachers...18 in total! And there was more than enough room for everyone. The house was immaculate and very well stocked. The view from the back patio was great, and overall we had an amazing time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

50TH WEDDING ANNIVERSARY

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

My whole family got together at the house to celebrate our parents 50th Wedding Anniversary. We all loved the house, especially our parents, they were so happy to have the family together in one place. We were able to have a good time, the family room was awesome, we had a family championship where you will play shuffle board then move on to the pool table, then to footsball, the kids loved it. We will love to come back next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

We had a great time at the cabin. The game room was a hit. It was perfect for getting our family together to spend some quality time. The only advise I would give is to bring a foam mattress topper for added comfort in the beds. Kitchen had everything you need. Thanks for helping us create some memories.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: July 11, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

We had 20+ people staying at the house and there was plenty of room for everyone. The house was beautiful and well appointed. The beach and pool in the development was full 3 of the 5 days that we were there so we couldn't use that amenity, but with all of the lakes nearby that's not much of a problem and it was a holiday weekend. I would definitely recommend this property.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

special retreat in the woods. room galore=fun for all

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

the owner colleen is wonderful to deal with and answers questions timely. the house is as good or better than described---awesome set-up. many special features in the house from the entertainment side, to the many refridgerator options, to the great basement rec. room. beds are comfortable and large, and the outside deck is wonderful. i highly reccomend this property

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great house, wonderful owner, awesome ammenities

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

the owner colleen is fabulous to deal with, answers all questions timely and accurately. the house and the property are beautiful, everything is there for a large gathering with family or friends.the rooms are spacious and the basement playroom is perfect for any age group. the kitchen is well equipped and the deck was outstanding, we had dinner saturday night out on the deck with 23 people and we had plenty of space. i highly reccomend this property.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great, Spacious, Comfy Home!

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

My friends and I were impressed by this place. The home was very comfortable, clean and roomy. We were amazed at the quality. The game room was all that the description says, and more. Namely the world class shuffleboard table! It was great to have flats screen TV's even in each bedroom, that actually work! The huge outdoor deck with its new gas grill was the perfect place to BBQ. The kitchen and dining area was fabulous. And the living room was the perfect way to spend our rainy Saturday, while enjoying some funny movies on the 60" flats screen!

The owners are friendly and provided good customer service!

I would definitely recommend this home rental, as we will be repeat customers later this year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place, so spacious, so comfortable!

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

My friends and I were impressed by this place. The home was very comfortable, clean and roomy. We were amazed at the quality. The game room was all that the description says, and more. Namely the world class shuffleboard table! It was great to have flats screen TV's even in each bedroom, that actually work! The huge outdoor deck with its new gas grill was the perfect place to BBQ. The kitchen and dining area was fabulous. And the living room was the perfect way to spend our rainy Saturday, while enjoying some funny movies on the 60" flats screen!

The owners are friendly and provided good customer service!

I would definitely recommend this home rental, as we will be repeat customers later this year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great, Comfortable, Spacious Home!

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

My friends and I loved this house. So spacious, so comfortable, so many tv's!
The huge deck and new gas grill made for an excellent bbq.
The basement game room is amazing, the shuffleboard table is first class!
The large living room made the perfect place for our group to enjoy movies on the huge flatscreen tv.
The kitchen and dining area was fabulous, even the attached sun/breakfast room was huge!
It was really cool to have a working flatscreen tv in Every bedroom.

We would definitely rent this home again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome weekend

Review submitted: May 17, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

Our stay was truly an unforgettable experience. Colleen's house was definitely amazing. The house was accommodating for our large party with plenty of extra room to spare. The location was convenient and the amenities such as the game room added a fun filled stay. Despite the large party the house provided comfort to all without a crowded space. The enormous deck and BBQ grill were a big hit during the daytime festivities. We highly recommend this home for all your vacations needs. We look forward to renting again in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best House in the Poconos!

Review submitted: May 16, 2013   Date of arrival: May 2, 2013

I've stayed in many houses in the Poconos over the past 20 years & this is by far the nicest of them all. We were there for a long golf weekend. The basement is out of this world. My personal favorite is the shuffle board. The house is huge. The only problem was determining where everyone would hang out. For as nice as the basement is, the kitchen is large & is the perfect place for your group to congregate. Colleen was super with the entire process. I would highly recommend this house.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great for Big Groups

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 4, 2013

I stayed at this home for an extended weekend with a large group of friends (20 people). The house was perfect for us because of its large size. We had plenty of space and never felt like we were on top of each other. The game room kept us entertained and the bar was a nice addition. I stayed in the master suite that had a huge bathroom with a jacuzzi tub and we also had our own private balcony. Every year our group of friends get together for a mountain trip and this house was by far the best house we have rented. Colleen was great to work with as well and answered all of our questions promptly. I would highly recommend this property!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good time

Review submitted: May 14, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

great house. very clean. a lot of fun.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

MAGNIFICENT PROPERTY!!!

Review submitted: May 10, 2013   Date of arrival: April 25, 2013

STOP LOOKING, AND CLICK THE RENT BUTTON ALREADY. The images in this listing simply do NOT do the property justice. I hosted a Bachelor Party for my brother and over 20 men, we ALL fit more than comfortably in to our own sections of the home. There's a plethora of rooms to crash in, all of which are well sized. Each room features a ceiling fan, which is tremendous. There's a TON of seating space in the main room and the kitchen is very well laid out for cooking massive feasts as we did.

I simply cannot say enough positive thing about this rental, and I would not hesitate to rent again. I have shared this listing with many of my coworkers and friends, it's the kind of place you boast about!

NOTE FOR FUTURE RENTERS:
(1) The DVD player in the main room is NOT connected to the audio system, don't waste your time
(2) The main A/V unit has a blow component and will clip power if pushed at even moderate volumes, keep it at a reasonable level. My friend stayed here last year and claimed the same.
(3) The water valve is adjacent to the filter unit in the basement laundry room
(4) There's a coffee maker and a heft of cooking pots, pans, knives, and the like, which is awesome
(5) Bring your beer with you, the liquor stores up there charge a stupid amount extra over a more developed suburban area.
REASON for 4-START REVIEW
The owner was non-responsive in the time leading up to / during / after the rental. I shouldn't have to ask about when to expect a $1k security deposit refund, particularly when we left the place pretty darn clean.

Owners response: I am glad your stay was good overall, I apologize if you feel the communication was not great, I looked back through my emails and we shared 12 emails back and forth from the time you rented until your check in. As far as the security deposit goes, we return security deposits within 7-10 days after your check out date not based on the cleanliness of the home, but due to fines that were issued in the past to previous renters. It takes about a week for me to receive them so I need to protect myself. You checked out on the 28th of April and your security deposit was returned through home away on May 6, that is only 8 days.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Friends Get together

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

It was an awesome stay at this for 3 nights.We were 14 people and all of us really enjoyed it.Beautiful location,Wonderful house plan.The Bar and game room are simple superb.What I liked most the big dining and living area next to kitchen in the 2nd floor,where we had most of our fun.We all really loved it except few minor issues like iphone connectivity to sound system..etc
Good and quick response from the owner Collen for all the questions/issues
Looking forward to stay there again in summer!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

50th Birthday Celebration and family get-together

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: March 22, 2013

Our celebration was wonderful. And the house was spectacular! We have a very large family and everyone was thrilled with the accommodations.We basically stayed in and enjoyed being together. The game room and the games we brought with us allowed us to enjoy one another.It was a very good time with many laughs and reminiscences. Gaglianos supplied the pizza and hoagies and Candlelight Caterers served us the Birthday Celebration. It was perfect!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Again...

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 10, 2013

Staying at this house 2 years in a row has been amazing. We all forgot how much we loved the place, from the HUGE gameroom to the spacious rooms and kitchen this rental has it all. We had a party of 15 and at no point did it even come close to feeling crowded, the basement was the perfect retreat for the guys to watch playoff football while the girls had the entire upstairs to themselves. Colleen was so easy to deal with and we can't wait to go back. I hope you all enjoy your stays as much as we do.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Shhh, Don't tell anyone else

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

In a way I was hoping not to be asked to write a review, that way I could limit the potential for this property to be unavailable the next time I wanted to rent it. But, I was asked and I am more than happy to share my thoughts.

To sum it up, the house is so perfect that we had trouble getting people to leave it to go skiing. The weather was a little on the damp side the first day, a fine mist, and that was all the reason most needed to convince themselves to stay around the house that day. I soldiered on, and I have to admit, I was envious of those who stayed behind for a relaxing day around the house.

The accommodations are second to none. Everything is as advertised which is a rarity these days. We had our very own shuffleboard table for the weekend! When does that ever happen? The kitchen was fully stocked. There was nothing missing, nothing! Everything we reached for was there. Communication with the owner was pleasant & prompt. Took care of every last detail w/of ever once speaking!

There were 6 families sharing the house, 25 people in all, 12 adults & 13 children ranging in age from 3 to 15 and all remained entertained and occupied the entire time because everything was thought of by the owner ahead of time, from the bevy of flat screens in every room, to the wifi, the wii gaming system, pool table, ping pong, darts, fooz ball and the competition grade shuffleboard table which the adults spent hours playing.

So much care was taken in providing a first class experience for the renter by the owner that you will be inspired to leave it pristine for the next group of renters. There, I shared my secret with all of you. Now make sure you take care of it and keep it between us or it will be yet another one of life's infrequent jewels that is no longer available to enjoy because someone never learned how to respect someone else's property. A little too preachy? Probably, but thought it should be said.

Enjoy and make sure it's perfect for me again next year, cause I will be coming back. Thanks again Colleen.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The perfect "Man Cave"!

Review submitted: January 11, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

It was the house of my dreams for my expanding family. When you enter, the first things the kids (big and small) see is the Game Room and two big TV's. It is way more spacious than the pictures can show. Lighting is everywhere and so are the windows. Our visit was at the height of a recent snowstorm, so we had snow for the ski buffs. The down side was snow on the large deck and on the ground for parking and walking areas. When it freezes and re-freezes, it can get slippery. The large upstairs family room was perfect for a late Christmas present exchange and the fireplace the nice touch every night. Our entire family (minus one) got caught up in the regional flu and we all got hit with a 24+ hour bug..the ample supply of bathrooms came to our rescue. My greatest memory was coming out of the basement bedroom and seeing the aftermath of fun. The bar looks like a party had just hit. The grown children had a great time last night, and I didn't hear anything! We gave the newlyweds the King size w/ jacuzzi. There are alot of remotes to go with the AV equipment to this and that, not easy for us oldsters to figure out. Large -size grocery stores are a bit far away, so plan your lists out or you will have to pay more nearby. My favorite room was the sun room off the deck. We called this one the "quiet room", good for conversations when others are sleeping. This house is awesome, roomy and would find it a pleasure again to visit! Colleen is great to work with and took good care of us. I'd like to see a summer rental as it looks like my kind of walking area for nature and outdoor actvities.

Owners response: I am so glad you had such a great time, spending time with family is wonderful. I am sorry to hear everyone got sick though, but hopefully it was towards the end of your trip. Sorry to hear about the ice, being an hour away sometimes its hard to know when snow hits up there. I look forward to hearing from you in the future, I would love to rent to you again you were fabulous renters.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great week/weekend getaway house!

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

This house was exactly how it was described in the listing and my friends and I were very pleased with all the amenities.

We especially enjoyed the game room and made great use of all the games and the bar!

It was very clean and the homeowner was very available whenever we had a question about something.

Would recommend this to any of my other friends and I hope to be able to book this house again next year!

Owners response: Glad you had a great stay and I looking forward to renting to you again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Weekend with Friends

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 7, 2012

The house was as advertised! Plenty of space to spread out and relax and the entertainment/games offered a much-needed distraction. The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed and the bedrooms were spacious. The owner was very responsive to the few questions we had. Would certainly recommend to friends/families and would stay again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Time to Relax!

Review submitted: October 28, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

Absolutely loved this place! It's even bigger than the pictures make it seem, and it is setup to be a relaxing getaway place with nothing to do but have fun, play some games and watch TV. The owners are easy to work with, and they let us check out late since no one else was coming in right away. I would highly recommend this place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Funtastic Game Room, house close to State Park

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

We chose this house for our mini-vacation this year because it was large enough for our family of 13. Each married couple had their own bedroom and the grandchildren also had bedrooms. It was also close to home-since we only had a few days to be together, that was a necessity. We enjoyed Hickory Run State Park on Saturday before arriving at the house. The location was great-felt like you were in a secluded mountain cabin-even though it was in a development. We enjoyed using the game room in the house very much, We had a progressive suffleboard tournament with a winners and a losers bracket, complete with soda can trophy which our grandson made with a soda can and aluminum foil! Our children and grandchildren have all said they would enjoy returning to the house for another vacation. The owner was very accessible to answer questions while we stayed in the house. A great vacation!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kilmer Trail #229

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

My siblings, their families, and my family gathered in home for our one week family hiking and outdoors vacation. We had a total of twelve people. House had many (and all very nice) bedrooms plus plenty of bathrooms. We have rented other nice vacation homes in the TN mountains, Finger Lakes of NY and in the hills of southern OH. This Kilmer Trail home was the cleanest with the most generous sized bedrooms and absolutely the best game room. Home does not have large outdoor yard to play volleyball or throw frisbee like other homes we have rented but it was worth the trade-off. I recommend this home to nature lovers and those looking to hike, kayak, and swim or rent paddle boat due to home being in private community with lake and pool. (Note: It is a 10 minute car ride to lake and pool. Not close to tell kids to walk on thier own.) We loved our stay. Owner was easy to communicate and work with. Our security deposit was returned in a couple days of checking out. We like the fact that the home had a securtity entry code rather than delaing with getting, keeping track and returning keys. Home has many large TV but way too many remotes for us to figure out. We could not figure out the cable or digital TV and never found the DVD player despite having a remote for one. But this was minor inconvenience as we wanted to hike and explore area. We would rent this house again if we ever vacation again in or near Albrightsville, PA.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Weekend in the woods

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

We had a group of 13 guys, and had a great time. Game room, grill and fantastic wrap-around porch. Very comfortable accommodations. Also close to tubing. Thanks Colleen.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AMAZING !!!!!!

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

This place is amazing !!!!!!!. The work that was put into this magnificent house is unbelievable. There is so much space and places to do things within the house. we were able to fit 12 people very comfortably with tons of room to spare. The Downstairs bar area complete with Shuffle board, pool, pong, foosball, dart board and poker tables were out of this world. The bar area had plenty of room to entertain friends and family. The Bedrooms were very comfy and each had their own HD television. I spent some time in the "great" living room where we watched sports on TV and had a few drinks with friends. The huge wrap around deck is also another great feature. You can fit a ton of people on this deck. I would recommend this house to anybody that wants to stay in allbrightsville. This house is not that far away from Skirmish Paintball or even the grocery store. You are also minutes away from Jack Frost / big boulder. The owners are exceptionally friendly and easy to get in contact with any time of the day if you have questions about the property. I would have to say this place makes you feel rich and high class. The price is also fantastic. I would definetly stay here again in the future. This house has got to be the best one in Allbrightsville. I give this house 10 stars !!!!!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Awesome House

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

This house is perfect for a getaway with family and friends. Very spacious, lots to keep you occupied and stores close for all of your needs. Beautiful view from the huge deck and an overall feeling of comfort. Would definitely recommend!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home

Review submitted: March 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 14, 2012

No complaints. Owner was very helpful prior to arrival and was not needed once we arrived. House and property were both clean. Very nice deck and grill. Inside is very spacious, more than enough room for sleeping. Game room was as advertised. The living room couches were very comfortable. Entertainment system (TVs/stereo/video games) was top notch. Highly recommend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tannersville home

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 9, 2012

The house is beautiful and awesome for a large crowd. Adults, teens and children will love staying at this house. The game room was amazing and kept us entertained all weekend. The place was very clean, the kitchen was well stocked with all the equipment you could need. Large, open rooms made it very comfortable for all. We had a lot of fun, many laughs and created wonderful memories for the families involved. Owner was very easy to work with. Looking forward to going back next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Great!!!!

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2012

Our stay couldn't of been any better. When you first arrive you first walk into the massive game room which is totally first class, from the 2 big flat screens to the shuffle board and ping pong/pool table. It was where we spend 90% of our time. All the bedrooms were spacious and very nice. We lucked out and got the master suite with the huge bathroom with jacuzzi tub (that was very relaxing). Colleen couldn't of been a nicer person to rent from, she was very helpfull anytime we called with a question. We can't wait to rent again next January.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2011

This house is outstanding! Read the other reviews, they aren't kidding.

I would absolutely recommend it to any large group. If your looking to stay in the Poconos with tons of luxury and space, this is the place to be.

Best of all, the owners are fantastic and easy to work with. One of our renters forgot a laptop and they shipped it to us. You really can't find nicer people.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Incredible vacation house!!!

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2011

I cannot recommend this house enough, my 15 friends and I had a terrific experience. The house is everything described on the website, spacious with more than enough places for all of us to sleep. A great bar/game room area, parking for all of us, large kitchen with seating, prep/area, big freezer/fridge, and most importantly a coffee maker. The audio/visual systems were a breeze with the Logitech controllers, we watched cable, DVDs and played video games on all the tvs with no problems. We grilled out on the deck as well. Which leads me to the best part: there was unforecast snowfall, and I didn't want to track snow into the house from the deck, so I called the owner asking where the shovel was. She told me where it was, and if I couldn't locate it offered to come out to the house and shovel for me. Finally, and probably the highest compliment, comes from my friend who owns and rents out a house himself in New York: He said this is how everyone should supply and outfit a house for vacationers, and he plans on renting the house next year with his friends and family. I know I'll be back myself as well when the occasion calls for it.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Gorgeous house with all the bells and whistles!!!

Review submitted: November 30, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

When we first started to look for a rental this one was a little out of our price range but bellieve me this home is well worth the price, you will not be disappointed with this house!!! The pictures online do not do this house justice at all! We had our entire family visit for Thanksgiving week - 15 adults and 2 children...we had more than enough room for everyone to dine together, hang out, or watch separate movies etc!! Everyone was very comfortable! The game room was amazing and the draw for the majority of the trip! Shuffleboard kept our attention for hours on end! Hosting a huge Thanksgiving meal here was easy, all the items needed to cook, bake, and serve over 15 people easily was available, new and clean. There was plenty of room in the fridge, wine rack, and beverage fridges too. The deck is huge with a new grill and new patio furniture. Everything is very upgraded, new, clean, and extremely well kept! The house is central to shopping and outdoor activities. All the space, bedrooms and upgrades in this house including the TVs, game room, and kitchen make this house the best we have ever stayed at in the Poconos by a long shot! I will be recommending this house to all of our friends and family as well as looking to rent it again in the future. Simply amazing!!! Thank you Colleen!!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Successful Vacation!

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

House is amazing. Very remote with lot's of privacy. HUGE driveway which is good for having multiple cars. One of the best game rooms I have ever been in outside of going to a bar or an arcade. Tons of space and beds with a huge kitchen.

Only thing missing is a hot tub.

Owner was very organized and very helpful with any questions that needed to be answered.

Turnaround on the security deposit return was very quick.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Expansive, Lovely Place in the Poconos

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2011

Went here for a group trip during August 2011. The pictures do not do justice to the size of the house - it is very, very big. We stayed with 20 people and there was plenty of room for hanging out and sleeping for everyone. The kitchen was well equipped and all the rooms were clean and tidy. Stereo systems in the basement and on the first floor let us play music off our iPods throughout the house. There are nice TVs everywhere. The gameroom was great - we had a blast with shuffleboard, ping pong, pool, and foosball.

The one criticism I could make about the property is that the yard wasn't much to behold; I would have liked a bit more outdoor space onsite for catch, frisbee etc. However, the outdoor deck is huge, and there were plenty of public facilities nearby for sports activities.

In general, I would not hesitate to rent this house again. Thanks for a great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Amazing Pocono House with a great game room!

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

My experience was more amazing than I thought it was going to be. The house in incredible. There is so much space through out the entire house. It says it sleeps up to 22 but I think it can actually sleep a lot more. We had 18 of our friends stay for the weekend and we all had a blast, especially in the game room. The game room is every mans dream for a mancave. You will never run out of things to do. We hardly keft the house. The house was very clean and well maintained. The deck is huge as well, with plenty of sitting space. The next time I vacation in the Poconos, Im coming back.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Pictures don't do it justice. Beautiful!!!

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

This house was perfect, we were three families with a total of 16 people 10 kids!! There was room for everyone and the house was spotless. The kids loved the downstairs and we loved having them down there! We travel together every year and this was the first time we had to bring our own linens but it was easier than I thought and the kids loved having thier own sheets and pillows. DO NOT HESITATE to rent this house you will not be disappointed. They thought of everything from the folding table in the master closet (that the kids did thier crafts on) to every utensil you could need, to a folder full of local things to do. We loved our stay and would highly recomend the house to all!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

beautiful house!

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

I stayed here for memorial weekend and the house was in excellent condition. I love the entertainment floor as well as the spacious 2nd floor. My friends and I had an excellent time. The owner was really nice about everything and very helpful. The only problem was the air conditioning, Colleen sent someone to fix it immediately. I would definitely come back because of the location and for Collen. Thanks again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Big, amazing amenities, only minor complaints

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

The house is huge, has lots of bed/couch space, and an amazing gameroom/basement. Overall, it's a phenomenal space for friends to get together (the only checkbox relevant below is "girls getaway" but it's ideal for those who want to play games and watch sports), and very fairly described in the ad/posting here and on VRBO. For the amount of space and the quality of the amenities (technological, furniture, game tables, kitchen, etc.), it's also well-priced. As an FYI, do not count on having a yard of any kind. It's basically the indoor space, a big very nice deck, and the large gravel driveway.

The only reason I am not giving 5 stars is that there were a few kinks with our experience, almost all likely explained by the fact that we were the first renters the house had ever had, and so a few details the owners hadn't foreseen. But Colleen was very fair and professional in addressing our limited concerns. So while our experience was 4 stars, I'd bet yours will be 5 stars. I would say my main constructive criticism is that they should have a linen service available -- it's a drag on the vacation to have to have everyone bring their own sheets and towels, and we would have been willing to pay for it, but it just wasn't an option.

I have to give special mention to the shuffleboard table, which is not something I'd ever seen before (its rarity likely explained by its huge size), but everyone there loved playing.

In sum: great place, good to deal with the owners, and the posting accurately conveys the situation at the house.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Huge, pristine, and high-tech

Review submitted: May 16, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

This place was much nicer and larger than the pictures did justice. It slept 22 with ease with plenty for everyone to do. All high end video and audio equipment with detailed instructions. It also had iPod and iPhone cables for the TV's, this allowed us to play our music and videos on the large flat screen TV's. It would be perfect for families as there is a separation of space when necessary. Often times we had movies playing on one floor with sports on another without bothering each other. Dual zone heat and AC kept us comfortable. There was also plenty of parking. I would definitely recommend this to others and intend on staying here again. Also, in a pinch, the owners were very flexible as I had guests who arrived early from out of town. We were allowed early check in to accommodate those guests without penalty.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

great bachelor pad

Review submitted: May 16, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

We had 18 guys up for a bachelor party and the house was perfect. Tons of space, amazing game room downstairs and TVs to satisfy everyone's sports-watching needs. The house has everything you could want and is close to nearby paintball and rafting.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review