reviews for: listing #86917 - Waikoloa Beach Resort, Hawaii Townhome rental

35% off a Waikoloa Villa on golf course-- now $165/nt.!!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Colony Villas
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $165 - $250 /nt
    $990 - $990 /wk
    $4,000 - $4,000 /mth

sort by:

Great value / Great stay

Review submitted: July 14, 2014   Date of arrival: June 19, 2014

Family of four had a blast here, felt right at home in paradise! Property is well kept and surroundings offer lots of ammenities: Pool(s), Tennis, bbq, fitness, you name it and this is in the heart of waikiloa village. Other satellite things provided were above and beyond expectations (bikes, snorkeling gear)...definetely recommend!

Owners response: We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time in our Villa in Waikoloa Colony! It is great to hear that our guests are making use of the bicycles and beach equipment. Thank you so much for your kind winds, we hope to host you again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely Perfect Vacation!

Review submitted: January 11, 2014   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

The villa was absolutely perfect for us. It was clean and well stocked and in a perfect location.
It was so nice to come back to the Big Island. We were all very upset when it was time to leave.
There is nothing that I can think of that you need to improve about the Villa.
Regards,
Tammy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

critters

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

The house was gorgeous, just like pictures. However we had some unwanted guests upon arrival. There was a 3 inch cockroach in the kitchen to greet us and birds in the attic that tapped on the ceiling above our bedroom all night. When we complained to the rental company they were unwilling or unable to compensate us in any way. We were told the cockroaches are considered pests and there is nothing they can do. They sent someone two days later with a quick fix for the bird problem but they found their way in again after one quiet night. Beware if you rent this property.

Owners response: We strive to give our guests the best possible experience when on their vacation. We have an excellent and meticulous cleaning company which cares for our home and is there before and after every guest. Pests are part of Hawaiian life and ALL condos are treated for them as part of the owners association on a regular basis. We responded immediately to each call from the guest and had the on-site manager address the birds who had worked their way into the attic space from an outside vent. An extremely rare occurrence which had not previously been experienced nor has it since. This guest demanded a full refund for their entire stay which we agreed to do if they chose to relocate, which they did not. We encourage you to read the other positive reviews we have received from very happy guests and not judge us based on a rare event and a guest's single moment in time perspective. Please recall, they chose to stay.

Helpful votes: 3 / 7

 

Excellent Vacation Location

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 26, 2012

We have stayed in several condos around the world and I will have to say this one surprised us! This location was warm, well furnished, well-kept and felt like home. We sat on the lava rock berm just outside the front door in the mornings and watched the sunrise come up over the lava fields. After that, every morning we had coffee on the lani and watched the golfers work their way down the 10th Fairway (All the literature states this complex is on the 15th Fairway but when we placed the golf course it was the 10th hole.) The condo is close to the pool and club house. The complex is gated and makes it a good place to stroll around at night and get your exercise. Just outside the front gate is the club house for both the Kings and Beach golf courses (we played both courses, they are challenging and fun.) You can literally walk to the driving range from the gate. Waikoloa is a great location to much of the island. Traffic on Hawaii (Kona) is much lighter than Maui or Kauai. About 10 minutes north of the condo is Hapuna and 69 beaches, absolutely outstanding! The condo has items you can take to the beach. A-Bay is very close. You can then go for a stroll on the beach, sunset pictures from here or behind the pond for fantastic. This was one of our best stays and we will definitely be back! Thanks to the owners staff, they are very helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Our Excellent Colony Villa Experience

Review submitted: February 11, 2012   Date of arrival: January 29, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at this Colony Villa. From the beginning, the owners were in touch and helpful with every step of the rental process. We arrived to exactly what was pictured on the website. Immaculate, beautifully kept grounds greeted us as we drove in the security gate to our Villa. The Villa itself was, again, as described in the ad. It was awesome! It too was immaculate and well stocked with everything we needed. The pool and BBQ area were just steps away, which was great, as we grilled every day.. We are walkers, so every morning we enjoyed scenic walks around the golf course. The Villa is in a great location,there is no traffic to deal with. This was important to us, as our main purpose in visiting this island was to drive around and enjoy its unique beauty. We highly recommend this Villa. Would we stay here at the Colony Villa again? Most Definitely!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

2nd Time Staying at this Waikoloa Colony Villa

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

We've stayed at this lovely villa twice -each time for 2 weeks and have thoroughly enjoyed the accomodations. Our teenage boys loved the downstairs bedroom with ceiling fan, the bicycles, and the living room TV/stereo set up. We loved being close to the pool, barbecue grills and the tennis courts. Thanks for supplying tennis racquets - we appreciated not having to pack any. The photos posted on the website are accurate as well as the description of the amenities. We loved the location on the golf course - it was very peaceful. And we appreciated having a hose on the lanai to rinse our scuba gear. We frequented the Queens Marketplace for quick lunches and used the dive shop extensively to rent tanks. We hope to be back next summer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Fantastic vacation

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 25, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed the two weeks we spent in the villa. We found everything clean and comfortable. The kitchen had everything we needed to fix our meals, and, just as important, everything needed to clean up afterward. Little touches like a new scouring sponge were thoughtfully provided—no one wants to come into a kitchen and find someone’s old scouring sponge. We felt at home from the moment we arrived, and we were very sorry to leave at the end of our two weeks. An unexpected bonus was the friendliness of the neighbors, some of whom are permanent residents, who left fresh mangoes for us on the Lanai. I’d never seen a mango outside of a fruit salad, but the neighbors explained that you cut them open and eat them like a cantaloupe. It’s hard to overstate how convenient this villa is to everything that we wanted to see and do. You could spend three times as much to stay five minutes closer to the beach, but why would you want to? A-bay has one of the nicest beaches in the islands (even after significant tsunami damage), and it has several public parking areas just minutes from the villa. In the morning A-Bay has turtles that you can find if you watch carefully or snorkel at the south end. Our favorite beaches, Mauna Kea, Wailea, and Hapuna, are only ten or fifteen minutes drive away, and offer the finest swimming and snorkeling in the known universe. We came to Hawaii for scuba diving, and Blue Wilderness Adventurers in the Queen’s Shops and Kohala Divers in Kawaihae provide boat dives and rental equipment. Other dive shops are in Kona, much farther away. We didn’t eat out much but we have heard that there are some very fine and expensive restaurants nearby. The King’s shops area has a reasonably priced (for Hawaii) food court, and the pizza place in the Queen’s shops comes highly recommended. We had a memorable vacation at this villa and we are anxious to return some day, as soon as we collect enough frequent flyer miles again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

July 2011 stay at the Waikoloa Colony Villas

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 21, 2011

My family, which includes myself, my husband, and four children, ages 5-17 stayed for two weeks at this condo. We had a wonderful time and found the condo to be clean and very well maintained. The pool/spa is very close, and a great way to relax at the end of a busy day of sightseeing. Suzie was extremely helpful and responsive. We found that the sofa bed mattress was not comfortable for sleeping, and Suzie immediately made arrangements for a memory foam mattress to be delivered, which made the bed perfectly acceptable. We found the location to be really great, with a lot of beautiful local beaches within a short drive. For our family and length of stay, we were glad to find a Costco nearby. The dining area accommodated the six of us very nicely, and the living room furniture was extremely comfortable.

We had a truly wonderful time, and found that this condo met or exceeded our expectations. We would absolutely recommend this condo, and stay there again whenever we were visiting the Big Island!

Thanks again Suzie for helping to make our stay so enjoyable!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

New York Family

Review submitted: June 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

We stayed in this Villa in July 2010 and could not have been happier. Our family of four were on our dream vacation to Hawaii and this Villa made it perfect. Everything was top notch from the sleeping accomodations to the kitchen appliances. The owners were very helpful and on-call if we needed them. We felt completely comfortable in this place we called home for almost two weeks. We hope to plan another trip to the Big Island and would LOVE to stay here again. The only complaint was when our vacation was over and we had to fly back to New York.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

I stayed 10 weeks at this property

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

This property was very comfortable, and the staff at the gated Waikoloa Colony Villas were always kind and helpful, as were the staff at Helli Brothers, LLC. If you stay here, you may want to consider arranging for a pass to park outside, as the garage stall is very small. The property is located close to a wonderful grocery store (Island Gourmet) and excellent dining and shopping at the Kings Shops and there are many top-notch restaurants and snorkeling spots within a few minutes drive. This unit is nicely furnished and the Wi-Fi connection is outstanding. It felt like a second home to me and staying there was one of the best travel experiences I've ever had. Thank you, Helli Brothers!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Mahalo

Review submitted: April 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2010

We found this villa to be the perfect spot to spend our two weeks on the Big Island. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare food and clean up afterwards. The bedrooms were comfortable and private. The property has been well maintained and is in top notch condition. We enjoyed our tours around the island and enjoyed the nearby restaurants, Canoe House, the Macaroni Grill, and loved the shops in the King's and Queen's. A wonderful holiday spent in paradise.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Place!

Review submitted: March 30, 2010   Date of arrival: March 17, 2010

We were so happy to have the place just as it was described in the review. I was a bit concerned about the beds, and they were so comfortable (minus the pull out bed, but what pull out is comfortable?)! Having the A/C was a necessity to us when we were trying to find a place, but to be honest the trade winds that blew at night were so comfortable that we didn't use it much. It was in a great location, close to A-Bay (a bit far to walk but an easy and close drive), a nice walk to the Hilton Waikoloa, and though you could walk to The Kings and Queens Shops, we opted to drive. The place was stocked well and very clean! The owners communicated very well prior to our arrival. We absolutely loved the Mauna Kea beach (only about 10 miles North). You have to get there early, but it was so worth it!!! The owners had a couple of ice chests (a bit worn out), umbrellas to use, a beach chair and a couple of fins (size women's 8/9), along with sands toys for the kids. On site there was a great kids pool (a bit of a walk from the unit) and another beautiful waterfall pool that was so close to the unit. They were very clean and well kept up. The complex was very quiet and well maintained! Everything about it really made us feel comfortable and at home. Thank you!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 20, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

We just returned from a fantastic 2 week stay at the villa. Location is perfect and the villa has everything and anything you could need. Everything was as stated and i would highly recommend this proprty

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 25, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

My husband and I, along with my sister and her
husband, stayed in this villa for a week in early
November. The villa was extremely comfortable and
very nicely appointed with plenty of space for 4
adults. The pool is just a few steps away from the
villa and the pool area is equipped with two gas
grills that we used several times. The villa is a
pleasant 1.5 mile walk to the King's Shops, and an
easy drive to many spectacular beaches and
snorkeling areas. I've had the opportunity to stay at
both of Mark's vrbo properties (in Chicago and at
the Waikoloa Beach Resort). Both are very well
appointed and well managed, and Mark is very
responsive to any questions.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 18, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

WOW! Our trip to Hawaii was amazing! Your villa was PERFECT for us. The location is just right and the size was just right too. We really enjoyed the homey feeling, the pool/hot tub and the luxury accommodations. We used your boogie boards (Hapuna Beach was the best!), cooler, etc.

Thanks for all of the tips and suggestions for our trip too, our favorite was snorkeling at Waialea Beach and then a hike to a remote lava tube somewhere off of Saddle Road.

We definitely recommend this property for the location and comfort and hope to come back soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 19, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

My wife and I spent a wonderful week here in April of this year (2007). The villa was beautiful, clean and well equipped. The garage was a great feature so we could keep the top down on the car all the time!

The Waikoloa Beach area has a nice, upscale feel and we walked the short distance (probably 1/2 mile or so) to the beach at the Marriott several times. Great snorkeling in a sheltered beach! We're really glad we chose this location- we could be isolated and read quietly on the lanai when we wanted, or head to Kona or even to King shops (nice restaurants) when we wanted to be around people. The Hellicksons were responsive and answered questions for us promptly. This is the way to go on the Big Island. everything turned out just right for our trip. We'll be back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 14, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

My wife, daughter and I just spent last week at the Villa. It was everything we expected and more. The other comments below say it all. Great location, great amenities and very comfortable.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 17, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

We recently returned from a week stay at this property and we recommend it highly! The villa is very clean, comfortable and equipped with all the appliances and home furnishings that make it feel like your home away from home! We very much enjoyed waking up each morning and enjoying a cup of 100% Kona coffee on the lanai overlooking the lush green golf course!

The kids really enjoyed the pool and playing tennis and my wife and I enjoyed the quiet and peacful atmosphere of the entire complex! As for location, it is tops! It is very close to many fine beaches and top resorts and the provided beach accessories (towels, mats, boogie boards, coolers, umbrella) made those beach visits easy!

The owners were very easy to work with and provided excellent occupancy instructions and communication! We are very happy we chose this property it is a great value for all that it offers and we would definitely stay here again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 19, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

We stayed at Mark's property in early July.The condo was everything and more than what we expected. If you are staying in the Waikoloa area it is a great find. Clean, well maintained, well decorated, very well equipped and very comfortable. My kids were especially pleased with the boogie boards and bikes. Definately a 9 out of 10.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 25, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

We just returned from a week's stay at Waikoloa Colony Villas. This condo is every bit as impressive as the pictures show. My wife and two teenage daughters didn't want to leave. It's not just that the place has everything you could want, it's also that everything is done so well. All appliances and furnishings are high quality. The rooms and beds are very comfortable. Bedding and towels were great. Leave your beach towels at home, they've got you covered. The unit is in a quiet portion of the development (no construction issues), and very close to the pool. We used the garage every day which was very convenient. It's about 20 minutes north of the airport, 30 minutes north of Kona. Very close to some outstanding beaches (10 minute drive). We highly recommend this property.

Dave Raichle
Charlotte, NC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 3, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

I highly recommend this property! The owners are great to deal with - we received such good inside info on places to see! The wireless internet was invaluable for our family and our teenage sons loved the proximity to the Hilton. This community is great for families and so convenient - a shuttle from the main gate every 15 minutes to the Hilton and Kings Shops. We used the bikes, boogie boards and coolers every day - we enjoyed the unit so much we ate almost every meal at "home" and it's location is perfect for island exploring. A great find! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 12, 2006   Date of arrival: April 1, 2006

I had a fantastic stay at the Waikoloa Colony Villas.

I will definitely try to stay here whenever I am on the Big Island!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 27, 2006   Date of arrival: January 1, 2006

We have just got back from a wonderful week at the Colony Villas. As other guests have mentioned, the place is almost new and has everything one could want in a rental. It is tastefully decorated and very comfortable. In addition, the owners are great to deal with- great communication, very helpful (we left some stuff behind and received it just a few days later) and overall very professional. We wouldn't hesitate to go back!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 12, 2006   Date of arrival: January 1, 2006

Our family stayed in Waikoloa Colony Villa for a week over New Year's 2005-2006. What a treat! The unit was neat, clean, pleasantly decorated and well supplied with everything we needed. In such good condition, it seemed as if we were the first to use it. The towels, boogie boards and cooler were used nearly everyday and being a family of six, we appreciated our kitchen fully. The owners were friendly and responsive throughout the reservation and occupation process. The neighborhood was clean, quiet and a terrific location to relax in. The shops, Anaeho'omalu Bay and petroglyphs were just down the street. Our six year old loved the hula lessons at the shops. Our new, young snorkelers were comfortable in A-bay's calm water and were immediately rewarded with fish and turtles left and right. Further explorations of the island were easy with the highway so close. We will definately stay again on our next trip to the big island!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 11, 2006   Date of arrival: January 1, 2006

We had the opportunity of spending Christmas on the Big Island with our family. In the two weeks we were there, we had a chance to explore about every part of the island. How nice it was to come back to the Colony Villas each evening and relax by the pool or soak in the hot tub. Our first week was spent at a different location in the Waikoloa Beach Resort area, with our final week at Colony Villas. There was no comparison as the Colony Villas provided a more relaxed, family environment during our stay. The location is central to the best beaches and sights of interest. It was great to have information about these areas available at the condo for quick reference. The quality and ameneties of our condo were very convienent with cable, dvd, and wireless internet... keeping everyone happy. The King Shops, just around the corner, were a delight during the holidays. They had constant entertainment and enough variety in the stores to keep my wife and daughter happy. We are hoping to make it a regular tradition.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 1, 2005   Date of arrival: December 1, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Big Island 14 nights, Oct 29th - Nov 12th 2005 in this Waikoloa Colony Villa at Waikoloa Beach Resort.

Let me just say, there's nothing better than after traveling most of day to get somewhere and you walk in the door, about 11pm at night, and you're immediately thrilled w/ your choice of rental property. This townhouse worked out perfectly for us. This is the location you want to be. South Kohala/North Kona weather is fantastic and there are several top notch hotel restaurants, as well as a couple good ones in the local Kings Shops only a few minutes drive away. Also very close to several of the island's best beaches for swimming/snorkel/etc and golf courses. It was clean, spacious, and almost everything is new as this complex is only a couple years old. It's also very secure as it's in a gated community and there's a 1 car garage which connects right into the kitchen. We made good use of everything provided in the townhouse, including washer/dryer, refrigerator/freezer/icemaker, microwave, dishes, pots, cooking/eating utensils. The boogie boards and cooler were also put to good use. They even have several oversized beach towels. The Master Bath is gigantic and all the bed linens and towels are newer and high quality. They have both 802.11g/b wireless and an 802.3 Ethernet cable if you bring a laptop.

The pool and hot tub common area is very well taken care of and not many people seem to use it throughout the day so it isn't crowded at all.

The owners have excellent communication skills when dealing w/ them to book your stay. I highly recommend this villa over the hotels in the area. It's perfect for a family, or 2 couples traveling together, or even just for two. Getting a nice 2 bedroom townhouse beats paying the location's exorbitant hotel prices and you get a whole lot more for your money.

Aloha,
Tony & Danielle
Glendale Heights, IL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review